Bakkies blow for SA
Bakkies Botha has failed to recover from a back injury and will be replaced by Andries Bekker for South Africa’s clash with Ireland.
As reported by this website on Wednesday, Botha was always doubtful to feature in the Croke Park Test, and it was confirmed on Friday that he will play no part. The Springbok lock picked up a back injury in the Italy Test which was exacerbated in the flight from Udine to Dublin.
Bekker comes off the bench to replace Botha while scrumhalf Francois Hougaard will now join the replacements. Danie Rossouw, who will start this game at No 8, will cover at lock.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

November 28th, 2009 at 12:32 am
SSSSSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHHHIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Andries better step up and put in the game of his life!
too bad it happened so late other wise would have been better i reckon with Danie at lock, Burger on 8 and DP or Deysel on 7…
November 28th, 2009 at 12:33 am
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
We’ve lost the Enforcer dragon. Terrible!
We needed him to counter O’Connell!
But Andries has looked solid in recent weeks. Needs to make the step up in a big game
November 28th, 2009 at 12:37 am
Without Bismark now, we don’t have too many Enforcers. Awful news. The smart move would be to put Danie at lock with Deysel at 8. We can’t afford to have our locks sitting on the wing like Bekker LOVES to do. The only thing that would make this worse is if KANKOWSKI was also playing.
Either way this is not our best pack. Spies, Juan, Botha, Bismarck… totally different to the TN.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:45 am
We need Schalkie to get involved in a serious way and take on the role of the enforcer, with help from Danie.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:59 am
great opportunity for bekker.bakkies in all honesty wasn’t playing his best rugby these last few weeks and in any case is a waliking yellow card so the boks won’t need to worry about that.bekker is the new superstar.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:08 am
@Valkyrie:
Oh yes, he is the new Bryan Habana. What a superstar.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:16 am
@Kobus Kitty: good riddance to blue bull bakkies botha trash,yes sir.hail the real new superstar andries bekker not a ****** grim reaper like that blue bull ****.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:24 am
@Valkyrie: Go to bed. You’re not thinking clearly…
November 28th, 2009 at 1:28 am
@Valkyrie:
Botha is a machine, a work horse and he hits the ruck harder than anyone in world rugby. Ask Adam Jones. He is the backbone of the Boks forward pack.
Bekker on the other hand is a glory boy who stands out in the backline and on the rare occasion when he does hit the ruck, he’s ineffective. He doesn’t have the skill, strength or experience Botha has.
Hopefully he gets an injury and goes off within the first 10 minutes, so we can have Deysel on and Danie at lock.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:29 am
the bok team is slowly but surely turning white and blue hoops again and the process will be completed just after 2011.good rddance to the blue bull trash rugby will be long overdue by then.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:31 am
@Kobus Kitty: you are an absolute disgrace wishing injury on a fellow saffa.sies man!
November 28th, 2009 at 1:37 am
@Valkyrie:
Oh shame, she’s a WP supporter.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:37 am
@Kobus Kitty: bekker is a better quality rugby player and human being than bakkies botha.he will be the greatest and you better get used to that fact.he will be the supreme athlete,the king of locks.all future superstars will be dressed in white and blue hoops and bekker will be leading the way.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:40 am
@Valkyrie:
How is he a better quality rugby player than Botha? Explain why, don’t just state things. I don’t care what type of human being Botha is outside of rugby, he is one of the two worlds best locks.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:41 am
@Kobus Kitty: you gonna talk about 2009 the way the english football fans talk about 1966.enjoy the last few weeks of 2009!
November 28th, 2009 at 1:42 am
@Valkyrie:
He may be a better Himan being however he is not a beter enforcer type lock
This is a big loss. Bekker and Victor are similar type players.
Also as a WP supporter I dont rate Bekker as a great lock
He does not put in the same work load as Bakkies at all.
I would have moved Danie to Lock if we had spies, instead of Bekker
But thats it.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:43 am
human sorry
November 28th, 2009 at 1:43 am
@Kobus Kitty:
I have to agree 100 %
November 28th, 2009 at 1:48 am
i’d like to see some stats regarding bekker’s supposed low work rate. he was one of the most productive tight forwards in the s14
November 28th, 2009 at 1:50 am
@CoachPete: ‘better enforcer’…ffs we are playing rugby not busy with mafia wars!bekker don’t need that **** associated with botha to show the world he can play great rugby.we won’t be missing botha today.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:51 am
Let hope smitty explains to bekker he is not at newlands where the ball does get to the wings sometimes.
Bekker is going to have to play much tighter, and more agressive.
If things dont work with bekker then I can see maybe a switch for Danie going to lock and Dysel at 8
One plus Bekker is more used to wet blustey newlands so could help
November 28th, 2009 at 1:55 am
@Valkyrie:
I just happen to disagree. I ice hockey you have an enforcer and rugby too
I love Bakiies agressive play.
I dont care what you or others say about his approach to the game. This is not tiddly winks.
South African play their rugby aggressivly.
Bekker is no Bakkies Full stop.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:55 am
@ali: totally agree with you.bekker was always involved in the game for the right reasons and his great work-rate impressed me mightily this year.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:59 am
@ali:
I Dont agree
if he does not get injured,he is not providing the same work rate as bakkies
There are no stats kept for locks work rate, except the results when bakkies is on the field
Bakkies is huge in rucks and mauls and collision areas.
Anyway I respect people who disagree but its my opinion
November 28th, 2009 at 2:03 am
@CoachPete: you are right,bekker is no bakkies because he don’t need to be a thug to force his will on the oppsition.his greater rugby ability is all that’s needed to subdue the opposition instead of maiming them.bakkies got side-tracked with all these enforcer **** and forgot how to play rugby.hopefully the beating that he took from the french will give him a new pespective on rugby.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:06 am
@Valkyrie:
We will just have to disagree.
I was also talking about his rugby playing ability
He plays on the edge and yes has a bit of a reputation, but
your talk of thuggery aside, he is still a better lock than Bekker
November 28th, 2009 at 2:07 am
@Valkyrie:
Its the same reason why I like Bismark Dup
November 28th, 2009 at 2:09 am
@Valkyrie:
Which team do you support???
November 28th, 2009 at 2:11 am
@CoachPete: you are right coach,we will just have to disagree on this one.in any case speedy recovery to bakkies.bekker will be the man today!
November 28th, 2009 at 2:14 am
@CoachPete: wp/stormers and sometime i am a bit one-eyed when it comes to wp players i know.will try to change next season.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:15 am
@Valkyrie:
Yes we will have to.
I hope Bekker steps up. Here is his opportunity.
There is no doubt in my mind he needs to move away from the loose (on the wing ) style play and get very invloved at the collisions and rucks and mauls.
I really hope so.
If not we have a problem, especially with Bismark on the bench.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:17 am
@Valkyrie:
I am a huge WP and Stormer fan Ask the nite owls on keo, but my support for Boks comes first
November 28th, 2009 at 2:18 am
Howzit Coach,
Imo it is not fair to compare Bekker to Bakkies.
Bekker is more of the Matfield type, he will probably take over from Victor before the next world cup.
As far as the Irish match is concerned:
Bekker offers more than Bakkies in the lineouts as well as in general play.
Bakkies is only better as an enforcer (hitting the rucks a bit harder etc), but as the French has shown, he is only human in that aspect as well.
Andries will just be OK, no worries.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:21 am
@Valkyrie: unlike bekker ,bakkies is a true lock and with mafield and bekker in the team then theres no one to clean out in the rucks as matfield likes playing 3rd center and bekker things he’s a right winger big blow for boks . needed roussow to got to lock , deysel at 8 schalla 7 and brussow 6
November 28th, 2009 at 2:21 am
@CoachPete: same here coach.always support the boks first and bakkies whenever he plays but i am not a big fan of his playing style.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:23 am
@Robzim:
He he
Hi Rob
Yes we generally agree.
I feel here Bakkies is a better lock
And I mentioned earlier as well Bekker and Victor are similar, thats why we need a Bakkies type lock to compliment Victor.
Also remember Bismark is on the bench.
I have watched Bekker play he is too loose. his linout work obviously is great. His runs on the wing are also good.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:24 am
@mbaxman93:
Thank you. we agree
November 28th, 2009 at 2:25 am
@mbaxman93: this matfield as a centre and bekker as a wing is getting a bit tiresome mate and a bit of a joke in my opinion.you will be second person this morning that i will have to disagree with.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:26 am
@Valkyrie:
Yes and our style has always been agressive. You take that away and we will start looking and playing like the poms
God forbid
November 28th, 2009 at 2:29 am
@Valkyrie:
Yeah its a joke but you have to laugh.
I can see the long skip pass from Victor at center skipping WO and JF strainght to bekker.
Come mate, You can picture that.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:30 am
@Valkyrie: Bekker should first focus on being a lock and not a centre/wing before he can be a great, he has the potencial but plays out of position but he has got better the last couple of games.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:31 am
i had canned spaghetti with tomato sauce on toast for dinner tonight, it was quite nice.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:31 am
@mbaxman93: matfield won a world cup and now i find out he loves playing centre although not much running rugby was played in that final.life is getting stranger by the hour.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:33 am
@CoachPete:
The team should be fine for tomorrow.
We should dominate the lineouts (2 best jumpers in world rugby)
In the scrums we should at least get parity.
In the loose it should be 50/50 (Ferris and Heaslip are great players, but we have the best fetcher)
As far as tactical kicking is concerned we should also come up tops (they have a rookie flyhalf and we have du Preez)
Our bench is also much better.
Boks by 6-9?
November 28th, 2009 at 2:34 am
@CoachPete: lol.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:35 am
i think i will have eggs of some variety for breakfast. was thinking of scrambled, but saturday is really more of a fried eggs day if you ask me.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:36 am
@Robzim:
I hope so.
Yes front row I think we are better
Locks in lineouts yes huge advantage.
Loose trio, even.
Half backs yes Fdp huge there.
Backs even. Irish have a better full back.
Weather wind will be factor which makes things closer
Boks by 3 or so?
November 28th, 2009 at 2:39 am
@Valkyrie:
See you see it too, and laugh
November 28th, 2009 at 2:41 am
@JA-JA: jeez,now we even adding the centre position to his rugby abilities!anybody else out there that wants to add another position?i bet before the night is over bekker will be playing in all 15 positions on the rugby field…a real superstar/superman indeed!
November 28th, 2009 at 2:42 am
@Robzim:
You know Irsih are going to give up their fair share of penalties, so Steyn needs to be hot.
Could be about kicks at goal really
November 28th, 2009 at 2:42 am
@CoachPete:
Yeah,Kearny is very solid and great under the high ball.
BOD is of course the best
Lets hold thumbs.
It has been a long season.
See u Coach – it is nearly 3 am here, I need to get some rest.
Later.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:44 am
@Valkyrie:
I think we all just want them to play tighter for this game
To be there at rucks and mauls and collusions
Thats what I want to see.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:46 am
@Robzim:
Cheers, its 5 pm in afternoon here, and only Valkyrie giving me a hard time.
Just kidding
November 28th, 2009 at 2:46 am
@CoachPete: still disgree coach but the way you stated it was very funny.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:50 am
@Valkyrie:
Yeah I dont take this blogging too seriously.
And if it does happen, we hope Bekker scores in the corner and not BOD intercepting and scoring under the posts.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:51 am
@CoachPete: i am also gonna give you some rest coach.enjoy the game and cheer bekker and matfield on whether they playing centre/wing or not.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:52 am
@Valkyrie:
yeah ok cheers.
Hey I cheer the Boks for 80 min no matter what or who is in the green jersey
November 28th, 2009 at 4:38 am
with a hopefully dominant front row we dont need Bothas power. Bekker has greata ll round skills and brings a lot more to the party. He has speed, ball skills and is a great link to the backs. Different types of players, both great and each has his value.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:33 am
@fantasticbarnsmell: @fantasticbarnsmell:
LOL!!! these have to be the funniest, and arb-est (yeah, not a word, i know) comments, EVER on keo! made my morning. now for those eggs in preparation for the green parade later.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:34 am
I sometimes wonder whether we realise what a problem we will have at lock when Matfield and Botha retire. Bekker is a fringing player who is a poor scrummager and far to loose a player for a lock. Why is it when we see a lock running with the ball that we think he I having a good game. Like Kankowski maybe he should try out on the wing. Any other solid locks in waiting that anyone can see?
November 28th, 2009 at 7:44 am
Bakki Botha is out injured, that already changed the UK odds from a 12:10 to 10:13.
Also, Bekker moved to lock in the line up while Hougaard is on the bench, the Boks are now with 4 forwards, 3 backs on the bench.
The Boks are persumed weaker and still have the Beast and Kirshner among the run ons, a certain handicap.
The referee Owen just been flattened by Mujati 5 weeks ago, it may affect his SA biases since Mujati got away with the lightest of punishments in the IRB book.
prediction:
Ireland by 3 to 10 points
November 28th, 2009 at 7:49 am
@fuzzy:
The odds were swinging in favour of Ireland when Botha was scratched, I guess it means SOMETHING?
These betting houses in London like Ladbrookes employ some of the best analysts and expert in any sport, be aware of that!
November 28th, 2009 at 7:58 am
@mark.a: A few come to mind:
Willem Alberts – 1.91m & 115 kgs
David de Villiers – 1.99m & 113 kgs
Nico Breedt – 1.98 & 115 kgs
Bakkies still the king at 2.02m and 122 kgs.
November 28th, 2009 at 8:00 am
@Hondo: Are the odds not primarily driven by betting activity?
November 28th, 2009 at 8:05 am
@mark.a: Bekker is clearly the heir apparent to Victor. His role with the Boks as a sub is to come on when the game is opening up. He usually subs for Bakkies because Bakkies has done the hardest physical job of the two locks and is most exhausted. If this squad had been chosen without Bakkies the selectors would have looked at a more traditional style number 4 as well. Unfortubately we don’t have too many standout 4s lining up at the moment.
Comparing Bakkies with Bekker is like comparing Bakkies with Victor. Neither is as good as the other at the other’s main role.
This combination is clearly a makeshift one but Bekker is clearly an enormous talent who will make a huge impact in future Bok teams.
November 28th, 2009 at 8:17 am
@stormer in a teacup: Very well said….i agree 100%.
November 28th, 2009 at 8:19 am
My concern is that without Bissy and Bakkies the pack looks like its lost a bit of ‘mongrel’.
Gotta be careful about asking Schalk to provide the enforcer stuff….he will be a marked man….
Anyway….at least scrums should be better.
I still think Boks by 5
November 28th, 2009 at 8:22 am
With BJ and JS on we may play tight enough. My concern is still Shalk, he flies around but is less and less effective.
It just gets clearer everyday, its Juan we need to look after to the RWC .. if he was on I would have no worries.
Vermulen may be the next great 7 but he needs to drop the silly stuff. I have very rarely seen Juan get involved off the ball .. i guess thats experience. Biz needs to learn that too.
November 28th, 2009 at 8:27 am
@bananas: Juan Smith is an absolute must for 2011….with Bakkies the 1 player that must be looked after in my book….he has been very missed !
Today it appears both the Kiwis and Boks will play in white jerseys….i wonder if thats ever happened before….?
November 28th, 2009 at 8:32 am
I’d play Maku instead of Smit. Rugby should become more representative and john is not getting younger. Maku is the next bok captain, why not play him now.
My Bok team for 2011 :
Beast
Maku (cpt)
Guthro
Matfield
Botha
Brusouw
Spies
Ashley Johnston
Heini
Francis
De Jongh
Adi
Habana
JPP
Zane/Earl (Earl better than Danie Gerber by miles)
November 28th, 2009 at 8:33 am
@grant10: Shouldn’t the Irish and French play in their alternate strip? Remember 2004 we played the Irish in white at Bloemfontein and Newlands?
November 28th, 2009 at 8:34 am
@VALKYRlE: You taking the piss?
November 28th, 2009 at 8:36 am
@Werner: no….hosts retain strips….read it on rugby 365
November 28th, 2009 at 8:36 am
@VALKYRlE: I tried to understand your reasoning with Maku as next Bok captain (even though he’s 3rd choice at the Bulls), but when I saw Guthro at 3 I knew you can’t be serious… and then I saw Earl at 15 and your comment… think you should lay off the booze or pass that spliff over this way!
November 28th, 2009 at 8:37 am
@grant10: Ok, like the white strip every now and then though! Are the All Blacks playing in white or that ****** grey jerseys they used in the WC?
November 28th, 2009 at 8:38 am
@Werner: He also gave it away by opting for Bakkies over Bekker after his previous posts.
November 28th, 2009 at 8:39 am
@stormer in a teacup: lol, yeah true!
November 28th, 2009 at 8:40 am
@VALKYRlE: I would play Smit over Maku …
November 28th, 2009 at 8:40 am
The Crystal ball calls the 2011 WC team to beat France in the final as follows
15 F Steyn
11 habana
14 mapoe
13 J Fourie
12 J De Villiers
10 MS
9FDP
8 Spies
7 J Smith
6 Brussow
5 Andries Bekker
4 Bakkies Botha
3 BJ Botha
2 Bissy
1 Beast
16 CJ vd linde
17 Heinke vd merwe
18 Dewalt potgieter
19 Chilliboy
20 R Pienaar
21 J De Jongh
22 JP Pietersen
November 28th, 2009 at 8:41 am
@VALKYRlE: Earl is a great player no doubt, he just needs to train harder and commit to the sport.
November 28th, 2009 at 8:42 am
@Werner: White for kiwis as well…
November 28th, 2009 at 8:44 am
marathon rugby session ….Boks,Wales and France….all close….
Bobs your aunt!
November 28th, 2009 at 8:45 am
@grant10: I still wouldnt drop JPP in all the big games he has produced for me. Maphoe no doubt a great prospect.
I am not so sure Bakkies will make 2011, I think Vic has a better chance although Bekker is almost equal now.
Who is your Capt ?
November 28th, 2009 at 8:58 am
@bananas: OOps!!
Juan Smith
November 28th, 2009 at 8:58 am
Still far too much rugby to be played….a lot can change before 2011…
November 28th, 2009 at 9:02 am
like your team grant10, but i think inspector victor gadget will still be there leading the lineout
November 28th, 2009 at 9:03 am
what time is ko?
November 28th, 2009 at 9:07 am
i think our scrums will be ok today considering how poor the Oirish are at scrum time, il admit i knw **** bout scrummaging as i playd in the backline but BJ realy looks the biz
November 28th, 2009 at 9:19 am
I would have put Rossouw at lock and brought Deysel in at number 8. Bekker isn’t physical enough at ruck time. I reckon without Bakkies we are gonna struggle at the breakdown.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:28 am
@Valkyrie: Lol, it must be great to live in lalaland!! The blue hoops? That’s a good chuckle to start the day!!
Overated powder puffs!!
November 28th, 2009 at 9:36 am
@DEE DAH: Agreed. I don’t think Deysel has played much rugby at 8 though, so maybe Schalk to pack at the back.
Come to think of it, that makes a hell of a back-row; Brussouw, Deysel & Burger. All are good on the ground, all have impressive work-rates and Deysel and Burger are as hard as TheTackler at a pre-school. The Irish would get no ball at all.
Bekker’s upped his physicality a lot though, and his work in the tighter aspects of the game has improved.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:52 am
@VALKYRlE: @70 Man I want to sell the stuff you smoke, it really is good. The Bekker and the might of the blue hoops taking over was funny, but your Maku as captain bit was the clincher!! That was so hilarious, it could almost be sad if it wasn’t so funny!!
As for your 2011, here are possible players that will force their way into the squad. Representation my ***!! This is pro sport, if you want to win the world cup, pick the best, or go into politics!! You want rugby in SA to be like soccer, where their only chance to take part in the WC is to host one??
Beast – Heinke/Coenie Oosthuizen/Wian du Preez/CJ
Maku (cpt) – Bismarck/Adriaan Strauss/Tiaan Liebenburg
Guthro (joking??) – WP Nel/Kevin Buys/BJ Botha
Matfield – Bekker/Hargreaves and David de Villiers backing up
Botha – Sykes/Flip vd Merwe/Anton van Zyl
Brusouw – Stegmann/Wessells
No 7??? – Juan Smith/Vermeulen/Deysel
Spies – Alberts/Potgieter/Ashley Johnston
Heini – Jano Vermaak/Sarel Pretorius
Francis – Morne Steyn
De Jongh – Robert Ebersohn
Adi (Jokeing) – Jacque Fourie/Phillip Snyman
Habana – Basson/Mvovo
JPP – Mapoe
Zane/Earl – Wilton Pieterson(Earl better than Danie Gerber by miles)If you mean Dandre maybe, but Danie, the stuff you smoke is really good!!
November 28th, 2009 at 10:33 am
I just hope the Bok brains trust aren’t fast-tracking young Hougaard like this because Fourie Du Preez has intimated to them that he may not be around for the next world cup.
I read in the latest SA Rugby mag that his contract with the Bulls ends in 2010, and thereafter he claims he has some big decisions to make about his future.
The guy has won everything and may feel that a big payday overseas is on the cards.
If so I reckon PDV and Muir may be looking at Hougaard (who is very much in the Du Preez mould) and Vermaak as our two top scrummies.
The Boks will be a far lesser force without Du Preez in 2011.
Say it isn’t so!
November 28th, 2009 at 10:48 am
Pitch report:
Just looked out the window.
Can’t believe it.
Totally blue sky.. sun just up, very little wind, not a cloud in sight.
Great day to run the ball
November 28th, 2009 at 10:50 am
SA need to groom an enforcer.. I am worried.. Bekker is not up to scratch and the way Bekkar is treated like a raggy doll omn the pitch is not called for. He gets picked up and thrown around.. They should call up Sykes..
I saw Bekker treated like a raggy doll against Saracens.. I am worried about this one.
As for BOD he is onll as good as the sort of ball he gets. Plus he had a quiet Lions test. The Ozzies were done by a good move.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:53 am
@VALKYRlE: what a kuk opening statement’maku over smith’.please change your nick or *** back to the dark side.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:53 am
@Tbozknows:
Quiet Lions Test?
Was he in the stand with a beer watching the Golden Lions?
November 28th, 2009 at 10:54 am
@Valkyrie:
Are you giving yourself grief Val?
November 28th, 2009 at 10:58 am
The trouble with Bekker is that he he is too similar physically to Matfield and they don’t gell as a team with themselves, whereas it’s better if there is a foil which Botha is.
On another note I cannot believe some of the things that people on this site having been saying about Bakkies, but then it’s easy to trash somebody who can’t hit back. The only questtion about Bakkies Botha is whether he would make the all-time Bok team and after thinking about it for a year I would put him with Matfield and coach Frik du Preez. Bakkes is that good – he’s a colossus and his absence today make Ireland favourites to win this game, whereas before you could put your house on a Bok backlash victory; the team is out balance now and this is probably the best Irish team there has ever been – and they are playing at Croke Park.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:59 am
Above doesn’t make sense … should read @coach Frik du Preez as a number 8 (he certainly had the seed) …
November 28th, 2009 at 11:00 am
@Flametop: imposter again on keo.check out the subtle change in the letter i.probably somebody not very happy with me.reminds me of those dark pietman and gbs days here on keo.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:00 am
Flametop is back, where you been?
November 28th, 2009 at 11:01 am
The “speed” not the “seed” – these small laptops!!!!!!!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:03 am
Valkyrie, I spotted that. Ignore it.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:04 am
Actually, Ive got a good idea who it is.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:08 am
@Slappes:
flamebaba no. 2 1 week old, have to sneak here for a chat.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:10 am
@Werner:
Agreed I think the hosts should change their strip, but I think that has been changed now
November 28th, 2009 at 11:11 am
Flametop, congrats mate! Enjoy the insomnia
November 28th, 2009 at 11:14 am
Flametop, youve got SA family ties right?
November 28th, 2009 at 11:15 am
@Slappes:
wife….SA, sleeping on the couch at the moment
November 28th, 2009 at 11:16 am
@Slappes:
thanks for congrats… first fella is a tiger…keeps telling me it’s not tiddly winks
November 28th, 2009 at 11:23 am
@ slappes:will do so slappes.i know i pissed off a few bakkies botha supporters last night.some sensitive bull supporters on keo although i admit i will be missing the old bugger against the the irish today.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:26 am
The good thing about the team that play today is that FOUR regular starters in the pack (Spies, Bakkies, Bissie and Juan) will not be playing and the pack still looks impressive.
Anybody who still says that PdV is not developing depth is just a ……!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:37 am
@Flametop:#94
Fortunately we have four centres in the team now. We should have no problem running it.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:01 pm
@Slappes: @Valkyrie: i also saw that, Hondo is the nic stealing doos! I don’t get why he does not just got to RT and stay there with the other narrow-minded conservative fossils.
Can you imagine how k@k an existence it must be always trying to come up with racist blogs everyday? Hondo you hol borsel get a life.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:05 pm
JUSTICE4 Adam Jones !
November 28th, 2009 at 12:08 pm
@WakaNathan: Waka, How you see the Bok game today? Also ABs against France?
Not sure if Bekker should have started at 4. He has played well these past few games. I would have had Danie go to 4, Burger to 8 and Deysel to start. Now that Bakkies is injured.
Old news though mate we all read about it yesterday in Die Burger a news paper here.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:12 pm
Breaking News
Page 39 of Weekend Argus
‘Smit may hang up his boots’
Today may be last test for Smit.
Anither G10 crystal ball prediction about to be correct?
November 28th, 2009 at 12:12 pm
Good that Bakkies is out. Seeing that i do not believe in science, any WP back up will do.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:14 pm
@grant10: Smit will hang up his boots. There will come a time that everyone of the Players will hang up their boots.
Simple logic really. Not science though.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:15 pm
Jake white says Smit as 3 was a non starter from the outset….!!
Dammit…i hate agreeing with Jake…
November 28th, 2009 at 12:16 pm
Hectic Arcticle….hope Rangerman, Ratel Brussow, Gunther and quite a few others read it!
November 28th, 2009 at 12:21 pm
@Puma:
Far more upside in choosing Bekker. These young tight-fwds simply have to be played when the opportunity arises as they need time on the clock. He looks a fine player too, great balance and hands for such a huge man. Similarl;y I would have played Owen over Tialata vs France but Henry clearly thinks it was no place for such a young fella, and there is some logic in that, the French will really target the scrum.
I dont have as much faith in Roussow as you do. I think he’s rather ordinary in fact, and is s low. But atleast he will put his head down and do alot of the ball-carrying. I think Boks would have been better off putting Burger at 8 and bringing in Potgeiter on the flank – now that would have been a dynamic backrow.
I dont rate Ire, to be honest, but that was more when hopeless O’Gara was there kicking the skin off the pill, so atleast this Sexton looks more attacking, hopefully Kearney and BOD get some frontfoot ball. Otherwise I dont see much class in the Ire pack and I forsee Boks controlling things there comfortably.
Impt to score first at Croke. If the Paddys get a head of steam up and the crowd lift, it could be a difficult afternoon for the Boks.
I posted my scores yest somewhere but it went something like:-
Boks by 8
Tricolors by 4
November 28th, 2009 at 12:21 pm
@grant10:
a G10 prediction huh ?!
November 28th, 2009 at 12:24 pm
jake says further
‘I have never seen him as a potential tightheasd and it hasnt surprised me at all that the Boks havent struggled in the scrums. I was sorry when I heard Smit was moving to prop. He is such a nice guy and he probably thought he was doing it for the good of his team. But it never really worked out’
November 28th, 2009 at 12:25 pm
@WakaNathan: The day they moved Smit to 3 i said he had been handed a poisoned chalice.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:27 pm
@grant10: #118
Did you see that it was written by Gavin Rich? He also said the folowing: “Smit is far more than just another captain, as together with Fourie du Preez and Victor Matfield, he operates as a player-coach…”
Now how can you take the man seriously? He probably read what you said on this site and made an article out of it.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:29 pm
@nama1: Perhaps i am Ga vin Rich??
No…he was given a bum deal by switching to 3….and its not Richs comments that interest me…its Jakes
November 28th, 2009 at 12:36 pm
@grant10:
I’m sure you’re not.
From what Smit said the other night on the news, it sure did not sound if he intends hanging up his boots. Agree with your stance regarding Smit at TH.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:39 pm
@nama1: Definitley not rich…my least favorite journalist….
Mike Greenaway miles better…as was Keo when he was less ‘compliant’
November 28th, 2009 at 12:40 pm
@grant10: Please tell us more! IS there an online link we can go check out?
November 28th, 2009 at 12:41 pm
Hows all… I get to watch Bath play today… Springbok Rugby has lost its relevance… Gavin Rich gives us a truer picture of the mentality of the majority of white males in SA. Reconciliation is Bullshit and a joke. Its about giving them the space to be Twats
November 28th, 2009 at 12:43 pm
@grant10: The Poison Chalice of which yea speak, is of course only a “figurative” Chalice.
The one handed to the 95 All Blacks, by the ***** Susan…..was of course a literal one.
May God have mercy on her Paymasters.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:49 pm
@grant10: Hi Grant, big day today…..are you at La Med or the Firemans later?
Have a great time wherever you end up and say ‘Hi’ to our golfing champ, Justrugby from me!
November 28th, 2009 at 12:54 pm
@grant10: Grant I read it. It is Gavin Rich writing there and what he thinks not what he knows. There is a big difference of what you know and what you think.
No breaking news. Sorry to disappoint your our “Breaking News Man”
Are you ready for the game today? Going to be a cracker. If the weather holds out there. See there is no rain so far but the ground will still be wet and damp.
We will miss Bakkies today though.
November 28th, 2009 at 12:57 pm
@nama1: Your last paragraph nama
November 28th, 2009 at 12:58 pm
@cane: What happened to “time heals all wounds” hey Cane?
November 28th, 2009 at 1:00 pm
@grant10: Grant you have said here many times that you never liked Jake. Now why take him serious what he has to say? I think you want John to go so badly that you will believe anything.
Let us hope we have our captain until 2011. Calm down and go get the windhoek ready for the game
I disagree with the whole notion that John Smit is a failed experiment at TH. Mainly because the Boks had one of their most succesful seasons with JS at TH.
He was especially good against the ABs in the last tri nations match, also giving Brad Thorn a taste of his own medicine. Looking forward to seeing how good a hooker he is. His head wont be so tight now…
Bulls 2009 CC CHAMPS
Bulls 2009 S14 CHAMPS.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:05 pm
@WakaNathan: Thanks for that Waka. I just think Danie just tougher and we now lost our enforcer and he does so much in the rucks. Bekker sometimes goes wonder about on the wing.
I too would have played Burger at 8 but rather Deysel at 7. Very strong Deysel and a carries the ball up well and he fetches too.
Think the ABs will win today Waka. I have them for a win on SuperBru. So hoping they do. Good luck to your team mate. Hope they do win. Always support them when they are not playing the Boks.
@cane: C’mon now…she just neglected to wash her hands after a visit to the crapper…can’t blame her just ’cause she weren’t trained properly
@stormer in a Dcup:
In a thousand years maybe.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:11 pm
@Namakwalanner: #140
Ou nuus. Eintlik al geskiedenis.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:12 pm
I was thinking of a few titles of books/ Biographies:
Gavin Rich – Memiors of a Journalistic Twat
John Smit – How I sucked Up My prejudice to be Bok Captain.
Victor Matfield – How a Black Man brought me down to Earth
Fourie Dupreez – MY hand got better but the rest of me Still feels uncomfortable with a black Coach
FRancios Hougaardt – It still good to be White
FRans Steyn – Blondes Earn more
Wynand Olivier – I thank God for MY blond Hair
November 28th, 2009 at 1:13 pm
I see some “Brain Surgeon” on the Keo IT Staff, has decided that when we reply to the POST, it no longer gives the POST Number we are refering to.
WHY?
Why in a thousand years would that be seen as progress?
Why would someone even think that might be good idea?
November 28th, 2009 at 1:17 pm
@cane: Take a lot longer than that for us to forgive th ‘frogs’ for trashing our National anthem..!!
@cane: They want to stop conversations and hope that the end will come soon… Now that broad minded people have taken over this site
@Langenhoven: what wong with you exactly??
November 28th, 2009 at 1:18 pm
Good morning from Dublin fellow Saffas…
It’s dry – but absolutely freezing!
Off to the game, hoping for a great contest. Cmon Bekker, today is your day!
GarethM
November 28th, 2009 at 1:18 pm
@Langenhoven:
Jake White…………..***** I was Lucky.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:19 pm
@cane: Absolutely. Progress is seen as first world evil, to be avoided at all cost.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:20 pm
@Langenhoven: Joost v/d Westhuizen- How I love that white line highway.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:20 pm
@mbaxman93: NOthing WONG mate… anything WONG with you…LOL
November 28th, 2009 at 1:21 pm
@Storm outta hell: LOL
November 28th, 2009 at 1:22 pm
@Langenhoven: What are you smoking, son?
November 28th, 2009 at 1:23 pm
@cane: And.. How I chose My surname
November 28th, 2009 at 1:32 pm
@Storm outta hell:
The Trasha was a Saffa.
And da Froggies DID say sorry.
In my book ………anyone who recommends/hires a gunga smoking, hip hop Rastafarian………………………………………
November 28th, 2009 at 1:32 pm
@Langenhoven: P Divvy – I wish I was a white mechanic.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:34 pm
@cane: Hey, he’s only a cousin away form an important government post.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:36 pm
@Langenhoven: Hey Shonnyboy! its me bru, your old pal!!!
In your book, what will you be called? will it be the chinese brainless ******?
November 28th, 2009 at 1:37 pm
@stormer in a teacup: I will ghost write for him… I’ve got the last Chapter written already.. How to Fkup and get away with it
November 28th, 2009 at 1:37 pm
@Langenhoven: gettitrightupyeyamankybastirt
November 28th, 2009 at 1:39 pm
@Langenhoven:
I thought your Nik was a reference to some Rock Band of your Youth!
Ricky Januarie – Jail, booze, obesity and gunning for the ultimate quota
@Langenhoven: You didn’t actually chose that stupid name did you?? what a wanker!
November 28th, 2009 at 1:40 pm
@Langenhoven: You better copyright that one. It would be appropriate for most people I know, myself included.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:40 pm
@Porto: My book is written already… remember… Beyond the Box… But then again I accept that my literary skills are way beyond your intellectual grasp
November 28th, 2009 at 1:41 pm
Joost just misses the white line. The one he crossed so many times and helped SA to a RWC.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:41 pm
@cane: Not good enough…a bit like Wayne Barne’s apologizing about a forward pass
November 28th, 2009 at 1:42 pm
@Porto: Stand up when you abuse Langenhoven. He wrote the national anthem.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:43 pm
@Langenhoven: Took you a long time to think of something that you thought was clever. Are you a bit slow?
November 28th, 2009 at 1:43 pm
Chilliboy – How The Bulls saved me from being Langenhoven
November 28th, 2009 at 1:45 pm
@stormer in a teacup: @Porto: @cane: @Porto: IN the absence of reference numbers, nothing makes sense.. You guys should sign a petition… Give Keo a Call
November 28th, 2009 at 1:45 pm
@stormer in a teacup: Figures, not even his ilk can sing it right…
November 28th, 2009 at 1:47 pm
@Porto: WTF.. you think you are clever???.. How fking delusional are you..LMAO
November 28th, 2009 at 1:47 pm
Langenhoven – Abuse off a ducks back
November 28th, 2009 at 1:48 pm
@stormer in a teacup: Definitely wasn’t me who wrote that ****
November 28th, 2009 at 1:48 pm
@Langenhoven: You are right. This round and round the rosemary bush is taking all the romance of it.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:53 pm
Ok,ok…can we pls get back to the subject…loss of Bakkies is a HUGE blow as shown in the last B&I Lions test…Bekker too ‘lig in die broek’ to play da ‘enforcer’….province scrum looking good ’cause Anton van Zyl compliments Bekker…Danie should have been moved to lock for this one…watch the scrum,Bekker is so tall his *** protrudes and the 8th man is pushing against the back of his knees…hence no go-forward
November 28th, 2009 at 1:54 pm
I need to do some shopping… Chat later
November 28th, 2009 at 1:54 pm
Great psychological game played by PDV. Sure he has known Bakkies wil not play and the Irish must have dedicated a lot of their mind space to targeting him.
November 28th, 2009 at 1:59 pm
@ossewa: Yep…now they spinning like headless chickens about how they gonna get any ball come line-out time…Morne and Fourie just going to kick them into the corners
November 28th, 2009 at 2:03 pm
Who Would I like to win.
The Republic of Eye Gougers or the Bog Leapers.
Lets see now, do I prefer:
- Emerald vistas or Arid and Dry. tick Ireland.
- Ipi Tombi or Riverdance. Abstain.
- Castle Lager or Guinness. Tick Ireland.
- President Zuma or Presidend Mary McAleese. tick Ireland.
- Johnny Clegg or Van Morrison. tick Ireland.
- Willie John McBride or The Prik du Preez. Abstain.
- Wolf Tone or Nelson. Abstain.
- Munster or the Sharkies……Still considering.
- Bishop Desmond or Gerry Adams….tick SA.
- The Power of One , or, The Crying Game. tick Ireland.
- Brokeback Mountain or the The Giants Causeway. tick SA.
Okay it looks like I’m with the Bog Leapers. Go The Patricks.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:06 pm
ha ha ha hey i see shaun langenhoven was in the building and shaking the foundation…
November 28th, 2009 at 2:21 pm
@cane: Hey this sounds like a good game. Who would I like to win,
the chokers or the surrender *******?
Bizet or Dave Dobbin? Tick France
Mainland or Camembert? Tick France
Chirac or Lange Tick NZ
Mediterranean weather vs NZ weather. Tick France
French secret sevice vs Rainbow warrior. Tick NZ
Random french chick vs random kiwi chick. Tick France
Tour de france or dwarf tossing. Tick France.
Victor Hugo or Kerri Hume. Tick France
The Topp twins or any french yodelling lesbian sisters, Abstain
Your average kiwi at home or your average frenchman at home. Tick NZ.
Looks like I’m with the surrender *******. ****.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:23 pm
@Storm outta hell:#183
I think we are going to run it today. Just a feeling.
With four centres in our team it would be the right tactics.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:27 pm
@stormer in a teacup:
November 28th, 2009 at 2:29 pm
@stormer in a teacup:
“D” Cup.
LOL.
And I’m seriously impressed with your local Kiwi knowledge. Perhaps you are more local than I thought?
Topp Twins would kick the arse off any Froggie Lesbo Sisters.
LOL.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:31 pm
@cane: ummm, i think you’ll find that you should have compared Cry The Beloved Country instead. but then again you probably should have chosen Ulysses for Ireland. tick Ireland.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:32 pm
@Langenhoven: @cane: Just your average sofistikaded Jarpie.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:34 pm
You know Keo just wouldn’t be Keo is Langhoeven didn’t leave to ‘Go shopping’!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 2:35 pm
is = if….
November 28th, 2009 at 2:39 pm
@carol: You are right. I suspect *** tendencies. Any regular bloke would make up a far more macho excuse.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:44 pm
Hey what’s happening with Tiger Woods? He hits the water hazard and the trees and blames it on the driver.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:44 pm
@carol: jealousy makes you nasty! Just because WRS doesn’t let you off with his credit card don’t take it out on our well-off friend langenhoven.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:45 pm
At times like this I feel like I’m talking to myself. Could have saved the trouble of getting married.
November 28th, 2009 at 2:48 pm
I see Bulgarians are confirming the existence of aliens. Meanwhile aliens are denying the existence of Bulgarians.
November 28th, 2009 at 3:12 pm
@stormer in a teacup:
@Transformation: You may have hit the nail on the head!!
Actually WRS has taken his ‘mates’ to Wales v Aus today, perhaps I am a bit cheesed off at missing out!!
November 28th, 2009 at 3:21 pm
@stormer in a teacup:
Why are you talking cricket here and leave the Proreas alone!
Typo was so good I decided to use it.
November 28th, 2009 at 3:28 pm
@stormer in a teacup:
The Beast is an alien?
November 28th, 2009 at 3:45 pm
@carol: a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do…