Ireland put the boot in
Jonathan Sexton kicked five penalties to clinch a 15-10 victory for Ireland in Dublin.
The wind wasn’t a factor at Croke Park but the 1 degree-temperature was always going to test a Springbok side that’s endured everything and more in 2009. They responded admirably, delivering a brutal display at scrum time and at the breakdown that gave those South Africans freezing in the cheap seats something to celebrate. Those who had put forth fatigue and the loss of Bakkies Botha as contributors to a Bok downfall must have been disappointed.
Surprisingly, it was at the lineout that the Boks struggled. The influence of Gert Smal, who just two years ago was working with John Smit and Victor Matfield, was patent as the Irish disrupted the Bok feed regularly. If not for the Boks’ dominance in other areas and the visitors’ heroic defence, Ireland may have led at half-time.
The Boks had to wait until the 12th minute for the first scrum, and it was something to behold. BJ Botha smashed opposite number Cian Healy and was well supported by the rest of the Bok pack, who rumbled forward and won several penalties on attacking ball.
Ireland flyhalf Sexton opened the scoring with a ninth-minute penalty, but it was the Boks, who were starved for both territory and possession, that scored the first and only try. From a scrum penalty, the Boks tapped quickly and looked to have butchered an opportunity before sending the ball back to the point of origin. Fourie du Preez, who had another splendid evening with the boot, showcased his invaluable vision by freeing up Jaque Fourie, who held up the pass for an unstoppable Schalk Burger to score. The man the Irish love to boo after the infamous eye-gouging incident hoofed the ball into the crowd after grounding the try.
Morne Steyn missed a few penalty punts to touch, but did some good things during the first half. He converted Burger’s try and slotted a drop goal to extend the visitors’ lead to 10-3 after 24 minutes.
But the scoreline didn’t tell the story. South Africa resisted a couple of Irish surges thanks to the defensive feats of Burger, Danie Rossouw and Wynand Olivier. Heinrich Brussow also obliged with some steals off his own line. Declan Kidney must have been fuming, while the South African coaches would have been breathing a collective sigh of relief.
Sexton narrowed the deficit to 10-6 on the 30-minute mark while the Bok flyhalf fluffed three successive penalty-attempts. Steyn failed to reach the poles twice at the end of the first half, and pushed another shot wide early in the second. On the whole, South Africa were outkicked by Sexton and Ireland’s phenomenal jack-of-all trades, Rob Kearney.
Another true strike by Sexton and errant tactical probe by Steyn, and you could sense a change in momentum. The dense fog that had threatened to settle since kickoff descended, but the crowd ignored the chill and expressed themselves through Gaelic song.
Andries Bekker was fortunate to escape a yellow card in the 51st minute when he dropped his knee onto the shoulder of an Irish player, but Sexton punished the Boks on the scoreboard. At 12-10, Ireland were in the lead.
The Boks defended bravely but continued to lose badly in the possession and territory stakes. Rossouw was caught after fielding a high ball, and it was South Africa’s good fortune that Sexton pushed the ensuing penalty shot wide.
Steyn was substituted for Ruan Pienaar on the hour, and Botha was also pulled from the front row. The first Bok scrum after the substitution saw the visitors shoved backwards, and the next breakdown resulted in a penalty for Ireland. The locals literally began dancing as Sexton bisected the uprights.
The five-point lead was substantial given South Africa’s battle to retain possession in opposition territory. You couldn’t see them mounting an assault on the Irish line in the time remaining, and with the kickers battling to find their radar, they couldn’t close the gap via penalties. Pienaar could do no better when asked to kick for goal, his attempt bouncing off the post.
Cruelly, for the green and gold faithful, the Boks did manage to get painstakingly close in last minute, but a magnificent Irish spot tackle killed the movement and the match.
The result renders the Boks’ tour a miserable failure with the most recent loss coming after defeats to Leicester, France and Saracens. It has been a long year, but none of the senior Boks will look back at November 2009 with any fond memories.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

November 28th, 2009 at 9:23 pm
go to hell crouching dickwit While Adams and Pienaar were running the backline we were all over Saracens you idiot or perhaps your eyes where up your crouching ***.. Soon as Hougaard came on second half and started his Fdp cloning act of kicking every f.ng ball up in the air we got charged down and lost the game. While Adams was feeding that backline it was cooking till the twat *** quota Hougaard came on and stuffed it all up big time. Same as Fdp and M. Steyn been f.ng up every game and every ball they get on the front foot. Fdp the slowest distributor from the base of a scrum I’ve yet to see and M. Steyn the most one dimensional one trial pony deep in the pocket useless flat footed non playing fly half I’ve yet to see maybe as good as Louis Koen or Jannie de Beer. In fact I think Jannie de Beer a whole lot more intuitive than M. Steyn will eves be.
We want to fix our back line drop Fdp and M. Steyn. Play Sarel Pretorius and Pienaar or Grant or even JL Potgieter asap.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:26 pm
Theres a massive overreaction to the result here. People demanding changes everywhere and seemed to have forgotton the year the Boks had.
It was a decent win today for Ireland without playing their best. They butchered a few tries etc but in all deserved the win.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:30 pm
@skopskiet:
How come FdP turned a vilain from a Hero in a space of two months?
He was hailed as the master of winning the Tri Nations and the B&ILs series?
While I think he kicks away far too much, no doubts he merely follows a game plan decided by coach and captain.
he is too assertive but that’s the Bulls’ – formerly Nord Transvl – style srumhalf: Robert Du Preez, Johan Roux and Joost, take it or leave it.
it’s true that Ruan cannot succeed with FdP at No 9
November 28th, 2009 at 9:30 pm
@Transformation:
It may sound critical, but I don’t mean it this way. He has been appointed too early in his career and is therefore out of his depth. Hence he has blundered.
His appointment was expedient, a short-cut, which has cost him and our rugby.
Every time this is done, it’s the same outcome. Yet, it’s tempting to the immature parts of us, rather than using time to mature, which leads to success.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:32 pm
@skopskiet: no need to get worked up… you taught me that
November 28th, 2009 at 9:34 pm
sorry Crouchety shouldn’t really go at you like that but you really suffer from same blind malady that most ignorants Saffa’s do.
Fdp and M. Steyn were both hugely instrumental in our loss today. I been watching how the been getting steadily more and hopeless and one dimensional useless game by game. I fear there’s no going back, only option is drop them both.
Bok’s played like palooka’s without any motion of confidence in their running game. We have regressed all the way back to the same bunch of twat *** one dimensional robots we were in 2007. Much rather lose running the ball than lose kicking it up in the air to no mans land.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:36 pm
Skopskiet, calm down, you weaken your point of view by your ridiculous sarcasm and personal attacks. Rather stick to the facts and we may want to listen to you.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:40 pm
@sglazer: you’re quite right jake hadn’t matured too when he took over the boks, he needed a bit of currie cup & super14 experience, i mean we could’ve avoided the 49-0 debacles and the disaster that was the year 2006…
November 28th, 2009 at 9:41 pm
@skopskiet:
What about Braam van Straten?
November 28th, 2009 at 9:42 pm
Fdp never been my favored player. Always seen him to be extremely limited as a distributing scrum half. I’ve said it a hundred times before that had we stuck with January and Grant last year we would have won the tri nations. The decision to revert to Fdp and Butch James killed our running game last year stood dead.
Fdp is a bit of an idiot and a cry baby to boot. I never been a fan of his one of the biggest prima donna’s in our team. Opportunistic at times with a big boot gets him high accolades but as a decent quick service distributing scrum half he’s one of the worst around.
Adams could teach Fdp a whole lot about decent fast efficient service to the backline thats all you want from a scrum half, none of this individualist prima donna stuff.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:46 pm
Guys, guys – don’t fall into the old SH trap of analysing the game from only one team’s perspective. Ireland played too and, over the 80 minutes, we probably deserved our victory. O’Connell and co today did a bit of a number on the Springboks in the 2nd half. So we see Ireland winning it as opposed to SA losing.
You have a fine team, but with a bit too much reliance at the moment on bullying and kicking – but so what! You have the players to go on: there’s not a whole lot wrong there.
Ireland are maximising our strengths currently and we have some really useful players too – maybe you should look at that a bit.
@Transformation:
You seem to be fixated on the past
@skopskiet: GRANT!
November 28th, 2009 at 9:48 pm
@sglazer: da past has passed… look da future… time travel, world war 3, rugby on the moon
November 28th, 2009 at 9:59 pm
Robert Du Preez, Johann Roux not great. Joost apart from being big was actually a far better running game proponent than Fdp will ever be. Joost and Honiball were lethal together. Would destroy Fdp and M. Steyn every single time on the trot.
Braam van Straaten or Louis Koen most one dimensional fly halves we could produce. At least Braam had some winning instinct while Louis a total useless dead loss. M. Steyn fast following in such one dimensional footsteps.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:07 pm
@skopskiet: You’re one rude little **** you know that?! Where exactly did I start insulting you?! I was merely questioning your reasons for dropping FdP and I get this filth in return from you! You are one massive foul mouthed piece of **** thats for sure!
November 28th, 2009 at 10:15 pm
Unbelievable! A few days ago everyone was saying: “Great team, strongest bench yet, JdV back.”
Well the whole JS to hooker, WO/JF partnership looking ordinary, etc.
Now its PdV’s fault again… Ha ha ha
November 28th, 2009 at 10:15 pm
“but you really suffer from same blind malady that most ignorants Saffa’s do” – who the kak are you to pass judgement on me when you don’t even freakin know me?! Eish you have to be one of the most arrogant little sods around!
You just make stuff up skop. I never defended FdP – he was really poor today. I do think he can really play well sometimes. Just look back to the 3rd ABs test! But I’m not all that convinced by Adams either. In my opinion new talented players are not being developed because greedy provincial coaches want to play the best players with their “win at all costs” kak attitudes. There’s a huge gap between standards developing as a result.
Why Deysel wasn’t used today is beyond me. Rossouw was hondkak as was Kirchner. Zane must never play in a Bok jersey again. He’s worse than Jantjies. Frans Steyn, Deysel and Ashley Johnson should’ve been on the pitch today.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:17 pm
@RaynoG: I’ve had enough of the chances afforded to Olivier and Kirchner. Both must never play for the Boks again. Both utter hondkak! I can’t understand how PdV fails to use a player like Deysel on the bench. He should’ve come on at 60 mins. PdV and Muir are a bit overrated in my book.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:19 pm
@sglazer: as much as you’re fixated on undermining & discrediting the current coach.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:23 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: 168 – Well said mate. WE should have had Fransie there today also why the heck did Deysel not come on? Why play him against Italy? He gets a feel to play with the team plays well then he never gets to come on today but Potties does and also throws a forwad pass when he came on.
Like I said. SELECTION, SELECTION AND ONCE AGAIN SELECTION will always cost us.
Just like buying a house. You buy it in the wrong locaction you will always lose out. LOCATION AND ALWAYS LOCATION when buying house otherwise you too will lose out when selling.
Same goes for sport. SELECTION is always key.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:25 pm
Anyhow. WELL DONE TO SA for winning team award of the year. Now I just don’t understand why we never got coach of the year award too. If the team wins it then it is natural for the coach to win it too. Really something not right there.
Now really hoping that FdP wins Player of the Year. He deserves it.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:28 pm
Missing our kicking at goal cost us really the most. Had we got those 4 penalties we would have won. Just think 12 points went begging there. Boks should have had 22 and Ireland 15. If we don’t get those over we will never win. That cost us huge today.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:29 pm
We were stupit to let Gert Smal go too. Just shows you what a good forward coach can do. Gary Gold just not at the same standard as Smal.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:30 pm
meant – stupid
November 28th, 2009 at 10:36 pm
@Puma: Our kicking really let us down. Why didn’t we run the ball more? Its really disappointing to see such boring kick and chase rugby being played. When we ran the ball we scored a try. Burger’s try was the perfect start. From there the floodgates should’ve opened. Just look at the ABs playing France – its quick,recycled ball all the time. They’re 3 tries up and look like they’re going to give France one hell of a pumping.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:41 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
Yip, so true, the AB’s are sublime, no “tiredness” to be seen.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:43 pm
@Robzim: ABs are going to kill us next year. I’m not going to be watching much rugby next year. A whole world of pain waiting to engulf the Sharks and the Boks.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:47 pm
Unfortunately I feel the same. Imo the team has peaked and will now start to go down unless the coaching staff (and selectors) can come up with something fresh (ideas and a few players).
Do not hold your breath.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:49 pm
@Transformation:
I’m not. I just think he’s been appointed before the right time, to his and our rugby’s detriment, and he isn’t the best head coach in SA at present.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:51 pm
@Transformation:
I think you’re undermining his predecessor to prop him up
November 28th, 2009 at 10:55 pm
@Robzim: Its so damn depressing.
November 28th, 2009 at 10:58 pm
why the hell did they take BJ Botha off….?
November 28th, 2009 at 11:03 pm
I am convinced at least 2 of that pack today not gonna be at wc 2011….Smit and Matfield…..
seriously, we need to rebuild.
At least we scrummed like demons….until some wally took BJ off!!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:11 pm
@grant10: what was he doing to merit staying on grant?
he wasnt making cover tackles, we werent scrumming in their 22m, we werent benefitting from his lifting in the lineouts, and strangely enough, we looked more dangerous in the last 10mins than in any period barring the first 7mins.
what part of “win the scrums, yet lose the game” did you miss?
November 28th, 2009 at 11:13 pm
@rangerman: ja….you 100% right boet….Smit back to 3…way to go.
And BJ to Stormers….Thanks
November 28th, 2009 at 11:14 pm
@grant10: fark you are amusing grant.
what exactly did “scrumming like demons” do for us grant?
mate, your whole philosophy is in tatters tonight, but if you want to put on a brave face then i will understand.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:16 pm
@rangerman: No…Smit back to 3 is the answer….
BJ and Cj to Stormers…please keep Smit at 3 at Sharks…please boet!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:18 pm
@Puma: And there I was thinking that Potties actually did very well when he passed to Ruan, which by the way was the only pass he made in his time on the field. It certainly wasn’t forward, or else the ref would’ve blown it up.
As for him being sent on at that critical stage in stead of Deysel, maybe the answer lies in the fact that Deysel missed his first few tackles against Italy, and though far be it from me to purport to speak on behalf of the coaches, maybe they felt that they could not risk a recurrence at that critical stage of today’s game.
And then again, maybe they just wanted to reward an excellent player and one for whom they see a future in SA Rugby with his first cap, much as they did with Deysel versus Italy. Who knows?
November 28th, 2009 at 11:18 pm
Zane were one of the better players on the field.
Get another player of color to blame.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:19 pm
Ranger….you are a fool….really…a fool…
I sincerely believe you know f all about rugby.
Anyway, BJ was about 100 times the tighthead smit was and will ever be….
And seriously…if you disagree with me….thats fine….For once Jake and i agree….Smit at 2 or retirement …..or would you rather he go back to boks at 3?
November 28th, 2009 at 11:19 pm
@rugby lover:
oh I forgot AD and Earl is not there so who you gonna blame
November 28th, 2009 at 11:20 pm
@grant10: what are you on about grant?
against a WEAK scrumming nation, the scrum counted for ZERO points for us.
mate, you amuse me no end. after ONE succesful scrum against italy, you cream yourself and reckon you are keo’s gift to rugby analysts, conveniently ignoring ANY successes the bok scrum had with JS at 3.
and now we lost because BJ went off?
*** me, i cant wait to hear more of your amazing analysis grant. let me guess, JS wasnt “keeping his end up” and being “the cornerstone of the scrum” so we lost because obviously BJ is the saviour of the boks.
i mean, the boks won last year and this year with JS at 3, but after a win against mighty italy, i agree, JS must just piss off!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:23 pm
@rangerman: ranger…you bore me boet….really you do….
Go chat with ratel brussow or some other shark 1 eyed supporter….i find you a waste of time.
If you cant acknowledge the huge positive difference in the scrum….you quite simply an imbecile….
November 28th, 2009 at 11:23 pm
@grant10: no need to get all serious now grantie.
i bow down before your superior knowledge, oh seer and all knowing rugby guru.
but i think you spend too much time on the beach in your speedo and too little time actually playing rugby pal.
dont get cute with me mate, argue the points old boy.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:24 pm
and rangerman….Smit to 2 you twit!!! Never said he must piss off wanker!!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:25 pm
@rugby lover: Whats colour got to do with it? Oh sorry I forgot in the new SA we’re not allowed to criticise anyone who isn’t white even if they’re complete hondkak!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:25 pm
@grant10: again grantie, what did the scrum achieve for us tonight?
did you even notice bj in the loose?
me either.
thats because he wasnt present. but ja, he can for like to push in the scrum.
dinosaur.
November 28th, 2009 at 11:26 pm
@rangerman: Sharkie….perhaps i know a little more about this game and played at a level a little higher than you….go play touch doos!
November 28th, 2009 at 11:27 pm
@rangerman: F off. You a little bore man….
Go make jokes somewhere….you know sweet f all about rugby…..f all!