Ireland 15 Springboks 10
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Boks’ last European Tour Test at Croke Park.
80 mins: The Boks attempt a set-piece move towards the left side of the field, but Ireland hold on. After three phases, Rossouw is penalised for an illegal clearance at the ruck, handing Ireland a hard-fought victory. Ireland win 15-10!
79 mins: With two minutes left, O’Learly kicks possession away and gives the Boks another opportunity. The visitors run the ball into Ireland’s 22 and find themselves 5m from the try line. Ireland, however, defend strongly and the Boks are awarded a scrum.
78 mins: The Boks spend a good period in the Irish half, but they fail to put an effective attack together. With two minutes left, Jean de Villiers is pushed into touch. That could prove to be the Boks’ last opportunity to steal victory.
68 mins: Pienaar gets his first opportunity at goal, but his kick hits the post.
66 mins: Sexton kicks Ireland into a five-point lead with his fifth penalty of the game. 15-10 to Ireland!
64 mins: Peter de Villiers has decided to run the changes. He brings on four fresh players within two minutes, which sees Ruan Pienaar at pivot and Bismarck du Plessis at hooker and John Smit moved to tighthead.
60 mins: The Boks’ ill-discipline is preventing them from building momentum and allowing Ireland to play most of the match in their half.
50 mins: The touch judge calls for a penalty, saying he spotted Andries Bekker dropping his knee on a Irish player at the ruck. Sexton then kicks Ireland into the lead. 12-10 to Ireland!
48 mins: Steyn is penalised for a high tackle on O’Driscoll. This allows Sexton to kick over his third penalty. 10-9 to the Boks!
44 mins: The Boks’ dominance at the scrums continues as they are awarded an early penalty after the break, but Steyn uncharacteristically misses his third successive kick. Only four points ahead, this could prove costly.
Half-time: Ireland 6 Springboks 10
39 mins: Ireland are penalised again, this time 60m from the posts. Steyn attempts another ambitious kick, but fails to reach his target again. O’Leary clears the ball and Owens blows for half-time.
38 mins: Du Preez is pushed off the ball by O’Driscoll while the two players try to claim an up and under, which gives Steyn a chance to convert a long-range three-pointer. The Bok flyhalf’s attempt, however, misses the target by inches as the ball falls short.
29 mins: Brussow makes a good steal, but Owens penalises the flank, saying he was in an offside position. Sexton reduces the deficit to four points, with another fine strike. 10-6 to the Boks!
24 mins: Boks build momentum and find themselves back inside Ireland’s half. From a breakdown at the 22, Steyn slots his second drop goal attempt. 10-3 to the Boks!
21 mins: Outstanding defence from the Boks keep Ireland out after several attempts from 5m out, but the home side is penalised for holding on. A big turning point in the game as Boks look fired up after their strong defensive efforts.
19 mins: A trademark Brian O’Driscoll break creates a try-scoring opportunity for the home side. Ireland work themselves 5m out from the try line, but a strong defence from the visitors restricts Ireland from crossing the chalk, which results in a Irish scrum.
16 mins: Springbok try! Ireland are penalised after being driven back in the scrum in a kickable position, but Fourie du Preez opts for a quick tap. The scrumhalf almost makes the hash of things, but the Boks keep momentum. After the third breakdown, the ball is passed wide and Jaque Fourie puts Schalk Burger through the gap for the opening try. Steyn converts for the extras. 7-3 to the Boks!
14 mins: After four scrums, Boks have the clear upper hand.
8 mins: Ireland have the first opportunity to score points as the Boks are penalised at the breakdown in a kickable position. Pivot Jonathan Sexton successfully kicks his first attempt over from 45m out. 3-0 to Ireland!
4 mins: An early bust up between Heinrich Brussow and Rob Kearney makes it clear that this is a passionate clash. Referee Nigel Owens, however, forces his hand, saying he will not tolerate any further action off the ball.
2 mins: Ireland run the ball from the lineout, but good defence from the Boks forces the home side to lose the ball forward. This sets up a promising counter attack and Steyn attempts an early drop goal, but the kick is pulled wide.
1 min: Morne Steyn kicks off and Ireland claim possession. No 9 Tomas O’Leary clears from the base, but John Smit charged down the kick and the ball goes into touch.
Ireland – 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Brian O’Driscoll (c), 12 Paddy Wallace, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Tomas O’Leary, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 David Wallace, 6 Stephen Ferris, 5 Paul O’Connell, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 John Hayes, 2 Jerry Flannery, 1 Cian Healy.
Subs: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Tony Buckley, 18 Leo Cullen, 19 Sean O’Brien, 20 Peter Stringer, 21 Ronan O’Gara, 22 Gordon D’Arcy.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Andries Bekker, 3 BJ Botha, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Jean Deysel, 19 Dewald Potgieter, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Jean de Villiers, 22 Francios Hougaard.

November 28th, 2009 at 3:04 pm
firemans…here i come
Boks by 5
November 28th, 2009 at 3:07 pm
Let’s go boys, do us proud! Boks 43 Ireland 18. Wynand, Schalk and ‘Dries to have big games!
November 28th, 2009 at 3:18 pm
What colours will the Bokke play in this evening?
November 28th, 2009 at 3:18 pm
al die whiskey in die wereld kan nie ireland van die bokke ret nie hierdie saturday
November 28th, 2009 at 3:19 pm
I hope the Bokke bury the Choirboys whatever colours the play in!
November 28th, 2009 at 3:24 pm
We need to run them ragged.
Don’t get suckered into some kind of physical, macho, mumbo jumbo.
Give the ball some air and let Habs, JPP, FDP, Mossie, Meisiekind and co do their thing.
Go Bokke!
November 28th, 2009 at 3:45 pm
Has South africa checked who is singing the anthem…it could lose them the game!!
November 28th, 2009 at 3:47 pm
go bokke!!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 3:54 pm
Hardloop hulle dronk, Bokke.
Tyd om pub toe te gaan.
November 28th, 2009 at 3:57 pm
If anybody has the link on Justin TV for this game when it starts thats would be much appreciated.
November 28th, 2009 at 3:58 pm
@wallabie.: LOL we’re past that already. They can even send an inebriated Tom Jones with a stoned Stephen Jones on backing vocals…..nothing will stop the green machine today.
November 28th, 2009 at 4:02 pm
@wallabie.: dont u have things to worry about ,mainly the fired up welsh dragons
November 28th, 2009 at 4:05 pm
@NZINCHINA:
Can you receive it? I cannot get it for long in Shaghai.
November 28th, 2009 at 4:07 pm
justin.tv/williams_kyle
November 28th, 2009 at 4:07 pm
@AiDoc:
Big hit gave me a link last weekend and it worked for the whole game.
November 28th, 2009 at 4:09 pm
@mbaxman93:
Not even their anthem will deter us…who are the welsh again?
November 28th, 2009 at 4:12 pm
The latest odds are 4:5 for the Boks to win
Was 10:11, will be a close encounter
November 28th, 2009 at 4:16 pm
@NZINCHINA:
It keeps asking me for money.
November 28th, 2009 at 4:18 pm
ajoneslivetv.com
This is free
Come on Boks!!! Just 1 more!!!!!
@AiDoc:
Thats what usually happens to me but Big hits link did not.
November 28th, 2009 at 4:21 pm
stream2watch.com/watch/3150/1/
November 28th, 2009 at 4:24 pm
PEIT DE VILLEIRS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
just now
repoter: you’re undisputed chamipons in SH up against the the top team in Nh
PDV:aah no we’re undisputed champions of the WORLD we’ve got the world cup too
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hahaha PDV!
November 28th, 2009 at 4:25 pm
@AiDoc:
Cheers will try those.
November 28th, 2009 at 4:26 pm
@NZINCHINA:
Are you a member of acrossthetasman ? You can download all the games there tomorrow.
November 28th, 2009 at 4:27 pm
Come on Big Hit, I need the goddam link. NOW! Typical Pom – let’s you down when you need him most.
November 28th, 2009 at 4:30 pm
@NZINCHINA:
Check out this page it may fix the problem.
stream2watch.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1&Itemid=5
November 28th, 2009 at 4:36 pm
So who’s signing our anthem this time?
November 28th, 2009 at 4:39 pm
… erm … that should be ’singing’
November 28th, 2009 at 4:41 pm
let the fun begin!
November 28th, 2009 at 4:46 pm
link for live stream anyone? the ones given don’t work.. PLEASE! Im desperate
November 28th, 2009 at 4:47 pm
this is gonna be an AWESOME game!
November 28th, 2009 at 4:49 pm
justin tv forward slash project vanilla
November 28th, 2009 at 4:50 pm
mist getting worse
November 28th, 2009 at 4:50 pm
thanks man
November 28th, 2009 at 4:52 pm
IRE 3 – Bokke 0 after 9
G10, do you still think Smit is a better hooker than prop ?
Perhaps Ruan may be a better bet at 10 for this game.
November 28th, 2009 at 4:53 pm
@sglazer:
November 28th, 2009 at 4:54 pm
Fourie Du Preez and Morne Steyn f.ng up all the momentum again. Bring on a proper set of half backs these two palooka’s got no idea about attacking rugby. Kick kick kick kick and kick again. Where’s a proper scrum half and fly half like Adams and Pienaar. These two got no idea at all.
November 28th, 2009 at 4:54 pm
First scrum!
November 28th, 2009 at 4:56 pm
good first scrum indeeeeeed. well done *******!
November 28th, 2009 at 4:56 pm
Steyn is hopeless busy losing this game from the fly half and scrum half channel. Don’t know how to get this back line going. Skop up in the air is about all we know.
November 28th, 2009 at 4:57 pm
J Smit is the biggest d00s ever.. k@k at its best! So he also can’t ride bike, cause he said throwing into line outs is like riding a bike …. fat b@stard…. MAKU! MAKU!!
November 28th, 2009 at 4:58 pm
Yeh!!!!!!!!! Schalkie!
Try Schalk!!!!!!!!!
Schalk Burger you monster!
Schalk scores from the backline!
November 28th, 2009 at 4:59 pm
SA 7 – IRE 3 after 16
@Xhosaskid:
Speak sense you puf00n
What is Burger thinking.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:00 pm
about time thats better. Now just keep running at them and we take this game easy in our stride. Kick it up in the air and give them the momentum back.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:00 pm
And Burger drops the ball.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:01 pm
TAFFYIX you must be a shark …. uninformed supporter. Maku !!!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:01 pm
Schalkie you legend! Brilliant
November 28th, 2009 at 5:02 pm
@Xhosaskid: 54
Whatever mate…
Lets just enjoy the game
November 28th, 2009 at 5:02 pm
Desperate defence – keep them out PLEASE!!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:03 pm
Geez, Nigel, when two players are shielding the runner from tacklers, that’s obstruction
Our scrum is dominating! John Smit you legend. XhosaKid get off the drugs
Okay!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:05 pm
Phew! relief
November 28th, 2009 at 5:05 pm
Brilliant defence from the Boks.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:06 pm
Haha, temp seems to be rising!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:07 pm
Drop goal Morne Steyn SA 10 Ireland 3 23 minutes
SA 10 – IRE 3 after 23
drop! 10-3 yes!
Morne Steyn you beauty!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:08 pm
Geez, you guys are fast!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:11 pm
Steyn has put in two huge tackles.
lol Habana must keep the moustache
@BlouBokkie: 70
Hell no!!! lol
November 28th, 2009 at 5:14 pm
SA 10 – IRE 6 after 29
10-6
damn Ireland 6 SA 10 @29 minutes
November 28th, 2009 at 5:15 pm
Brussow off his feet.
@TaffyIX: Yes! Don’t you think it makes him look erm….distinguished?
Burger looking much beter today IMO.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:16 pm
lol BBC commentator just called Habana Obama…
November 28th, 2009 at 5:16 pm
@BlouBokkie:
sort of! haha
November 28th, 2009 at 5:17 pm
50/50 calls are going against us right now. Referee needs to show fairness here.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:18 pm
Nice steal Schalk!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:19 pm
Brilliant tackling Bokke!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:20 pm
Nice objectivity from the ref here.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:20 pm
hmmmm. Bowe tackled Fourie without the ball!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:23 pm
If we can get our lineouts going then we’ll win convincingly.
BoD is an idiot for that one and at least the ref saw that one.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:24 pm
Brian O’Driscoll very naughty.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:24 pm
Has anyone got a picture yet. The vanilla project does not exist according to my ISP.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:25 pm
@AiDoc: It’s streaming
November 28th, 2009 at 5:26 pm
I’ll say this early – these IRB f@#%*ng refs are on the take – that’s the only explanation for this pathetic screeching excuse of a welshman – **** this game and the IRB!!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:26 pm
can you guys please post a link?
November 28th, 2009 at 5:27 pm
@sglazer: would you mind sharing a link?
November 28th, 2009 at 5:29 pm
Jaque Fourie having a great game. World class. WO decent on defense.
Scrum is dominating
November 28th, 2009 at 5:29 pm
justin . tv forward slash projectvanilla
It’s a bit sticky though [!]
November 28th, 2009 at 5:30 pm
@sglazer: thanks a lot! I’ll give it a try.
@AiDoc:
I’ve got it no problem.
@Sports_Fan: Ed the Lion has put one on Rugby Talk..something about Justin TV project vanilla!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:32 pm
Keep it tight and slow boys! No stupid subs please!
Curse Smal for out lineout woes:)
November 28th, 2009 at 5:33 pm
Suprisingly WO has done rather well, but I would like to see Jean there.
Either way, they’re both better than Jacobs.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:34 pm
Ireland are strong on the counter attack. Signs of a long season for SA.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:36 pm
Transformation
I hope you can see how MUCH we miss Frans Steyn right now. He would have kicked both over. I like Kirchner but Frans is miles ahead when it comes to BMT to any other fullback in SA.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:37 pm
@savethespringbok:
Miles ahead, except for perhaps Terblanche?
November 28th, 2009 at 5:38 pm
Morne Steyn not our answer at fly half. This kick and chase game going to sink us. If we were running this game wide all day long we’d be way ahead by now. This up and under **** is going to kill springbok rugby. M. Steyn not the answer to our back line stagnancy he’s the cause of it, and Fdp not much better. Get some proper running distributing half backs into this side. Fdp and Steyn busy killing our back line game. Kick and chase is not rugby. Carry on with this rubbish and prepare to lose.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:39 pm
Did anyone see the knock from the fullback just before BOD played Fourie without the ball?
Getting good feed from myp2p.eu
November 28th, 2009 at 5:40 pm
@TaffyIX: when has Terreblanche won anything for the Sharks, especially under pressure… the only thing he is miles ahead of Steyn is age
November 28th, 2009 at 5:42 pm
We must thank Ireland for the metres gained from their woeful handling.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:43 pm
hahahaha, WHAT A SCRUM!!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:44 pm
Morne what’s up bru!?
November 28th, 2009 at 5:45 pm
irish commentator: “blood substitution cj van der lind for beast xxxx???”
November 28th, 2009 at 5:47 pm
who else can kick…..what the hell morne steyn?
November 28th, 2009 at 5:48 pm
thats a bullshit call for a high tackle…
What the f*ck?
SA 10 – IRE 9 after 47
November 28th, 2009 at 5:49 pm
that was NOT high!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:49 pm
Contrary to what the Irish commentators are saying, that was NOT high
November 28th, 2009 at 5:50 pm
never high! what the hell??
November 28th, 2009 at 5:51 pm
now we are going to play against the ref and begin to think about 3 attempts missed. Ireland tails up, do I hate their commentators though……….
November 28th, 2009 at 5:52 pm
Are you guys blind, that was a high tackle, anything around the neck
November 28th, 2009 at 5:52 pm
Steyn costing us a game. Commentator “steyn deserved that…..”
November 28th, 2009 at 5:53 pm
we’re simply not playing well enough to win this game
I saw that one but it wasn’t that bad. He dropped him? from where?
bekker taking on bakkies enforcing role there…
SA 10 – IRE 12 after 51
November 28th, 2009 at 5:54 pm
BO***CKS!
November 28th, 2009 at 5:54 pm
Before we start blaming the officials…..
I still believe that we are good enough to win this.
November 28th, 2009 at 5:56 pm
Jaque Fourie losing the ball in the tackle
November 28th, 2009 at 5:59 pm
Boks discipline are letting them down
November 28th, 2009 at 6:01 pm
morne steyn having a huge defensive game…so much for him costing us the match…
November 28th, 2009 at 6:03 pm
Did anyone esle see that obstruction on the side of the ruck? What the f*ck is going on here. The linesmen have spotted everything and missed that one.
Mmm Bokke looking a little tired. Still thinking we can win this. Ref is having a good game I think.
Stupid Danie Rossouw
November 28th, 2009 at 6:04 pm
I would not have taken off Steyn. And neither BJ.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:04 pm
There’s no way our Boks want to win this – we look like we’re making up time…Ireland look hungry – why is this always the case – other teams always look hungrier than us WTF!!!!!
November 28th, 2009 at 6:05 pm
I know what we should do. Why don’t we kick some more up-and-unders.
I mean … it’s been working so well this far
Hope we dont need to kick for goal, Ruan is on at 10. fok, please prove me wrong bud
Nigel Owens having a better game than his fellow officials.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:06 pm
WE’ve got to STOP kicking the ball away – GAD DAMMIT!
November 28th, 2009 at 6:07 pm
YES!!! welcome back Jean!
Why the **** did stupid helium bring Bismark on?
WTF! penalties, missed throw ins, weaker scrum.
we’re croaked – we suck today!
November 28th, 2009 at 6:08 pm
Our scrums considerably weaker.
See … we should kick more…
F*ck….
Well done Ruan. Stupid twat
November 28th, 2009 at 6:09 pm
Time to mute the Irish commentators [s]
Game over – f**king done man, these guys should have their pay docked for this tour – they have no interest in winning, I mean, this is Ireland – teaching us a lesson…
It was in his possesion!! What the f*ck ref!!
SA 10 – IRE 15 after 65
You guys are way over the top with your comments. Were either brilliant or terrible. How about some nuance.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:10 pm
This is hard to watch. I get a minute every now and then and it looks like the S14 final in Christchurch.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:10 pm
Have faith b0ys.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:11 pm
how biased and ridiculous can commentators be!!!!!!!!!!!!!
“SA boring us to death with kicking for 63 minutes….”
we are playing NO rugby but that was not necessary, who the hell do they think they are???? irish asshholes
@Sports_Fan: Your comments are disrespectful to rugby and Ireland.
Grow up.
@Sports_Fan:
They’re tired.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:12 pm
the bumbling boks are rather embarrassing.
where does the problem lie, with the players or the coaches?
November 28th, 2009 at 6:12 pm
@AiDoc: yeah I know, I just hate seeing us lose!
November 28th, 2009 at 6:13 pm
@allamapstieks: listen chump, go to Ireland if you want to support them…
November 28th, 2009 at 6:14 pm
Pienaar misses a tackle, Pietersen tackles well again.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:14 pm
@savethespringbok: yeah, I muted them a long time ago – I thought the Aussie commentators were bad, but these guys are right up there.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:15 pm
Oi! Try to enjoy the rugby guys!
Boks are still in this ffs!
@fish out of water: I think they’re tired…who knows!
@Sports_Fan: It’s got nothing to do with who I support, its got to do with decency. We don’t need nobheads for fans.
@AiDoc: Agreed.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:16 pm
@Sports_Fan: How old are you boetman?
November 28th, 2009 at 6:16 pm
As much tackles Morne Steyn made he also missed a few as well
November 28th, 2009 at 6:17 pm
We could still win this. Need to settle the nerves.
We need a breakaway try and good-night nurse
@fish out of water: During the game? Why are you here. F*ck off buddy!
@allamapstieks: with a name like yours maybe you should answer that very question – lightweight!
November 28th, 2009 at 6:18 pm
I thought that the kicks would stop when Pienaar came on, but he’s just as bad as Steyn.
WTF!!???!?
November 28th, 2009 at 6:18 pm
Bismarck steals it.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:19 pm
And then we hold on to it.
The trick to beating Ireland is to wear black. IT BRINGS BACK THE CHILD HOOD MEMories of nuns and other bu g gers.
Looks like 3 losses in a row to Ireland in Ireland.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:20 pm
Who to blame now, the senior players ?
Were still in it.
He said “hands off” and they kept them there but then he goes and blows against us. 50/50 calls were against us all game and thats what I’m basing this supposed loss on.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:21 pm
Calm down guys. It is an end of year tour. See it for what it is. Indiscipline is costing us.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:21 pm
It aint over yet
November 28th, 2009 at 6:22 pm
We need a global season. NH sends tired teams to the South at the end of their season and vice-versa.
Boks completely outplayed today thanks to Div’s 1-dimensional kicking game. Possession kicked away at every opportunity.
@AiDoc: Thats a disgusting and inappropriate comment for a rugby board
@Charlie:
No the administrators for making them play 11 months a year.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:23 pm
reasons why SA lost.
1.the ref
2.Tim Noakes said so
3.John Robbie said so
4.winning against NH sides is not so important
5.the crowd
6.to many games
November 28th, 2009 at 6:23 pm
Come on Boks.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:24 pm
We look so good with ball in hand, but it’s too little too late
@Jiggie: the guys may be tired but there is no excuse for them playing as they are
you don’t expect the test team to be making such silly club level errors. sure they are tired but they are also look under coached.
@Slai:
The truth hurts but it will set you free!
Oh my f*cking word Bryan!!!
@Kryger: yup
November 28th, 2009 at 6:25 pm
Well most professions are 11 months work and 1 month leave.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:25 pm
A bit bipolar from Bob Skinstad. He was doom and gloom for most of this half.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:26 pm
I hope we score so we can shut up our own stupid fans
November 28th, 2009 at 6:26 pm
It’s a long season plus SA have the extra travel in the Super 14 and Tri-Nations
November 28th, 2009 at 6:27 pm
@Charlie: In a suit and tie
November 28th, 2009 at 6:28 pm
Booooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
@sglazer:
The travel is not a reason anymore with five franchises and three home games.
Big scrum here boys!!!! SPARTANS!!!!!
@allamapstieks:
agreed
November 28th, 2009 at 6:29 pm
@AiDoc: It is. Do the math.
Scrummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Why the boks lost: 5 first team players not playing.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:30 pm
Damn…. well played Irish.
Enjoy the holiday Boks! You certainly need it lol
What the f*ck was that? Are you kidding me?
Well done Ireland.
The one thing I hate about our team is just like England we seem to have very many ungracious and arrogant fans.
It was a mistake to BJ Botha off the field. John Smit’s throwing in was terrible.
The heroes of our SH season, FdP and M Steyn, cost us our NH tour.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:31 pm
Morne Steyn 1/10
November 28th, 2009 at 6:31 pm
The travel is exactly the same for everyone. You do the math and you will find that Europe is closer to RSA than Australasia via Hong Kong.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:32 pm
Thanks to the Paddies, NZ no 1 all summer long.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:34 pm
Bismark rating 0.5/10
De villiers is a ****** for taking Smit
November 28th, 2009 at 6:34 pm
too much rugby for the key players. No New Zealander played in a S14 final, British and Irish Lions series, and then a domestic final altogether> I am talking about players such as Matfield, Du Preez, Bakkies, Habana, Morne Steyn, and then no Pierre Spies. Key players not firing due to too much good rugby in one year. But hats off to Ireland, they played very well and took their chances. definitely not better than the Boks, that is for sure. I would much rather lose to Ireland, than lose the BIL.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:36 pm
NZ to lose to France.
Dont count your chickens
November 28th, 2009 at 6:37 pm
@savethespringbok: Yeah … that is the bottom line. Our players are knackered.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:37 pm
For moving Smit to 3 I mean
November 28th, 2009 at 6:38 pm
We can`t beat Ireland or France away from home. This has been a fact for a few seasons now. In general, we strugggle to beat any side away from home. We do not have a great team. The up-and-under rubbish worked in the SH but not in the NH where those guys are used to this kind of play. We need to change our game plan promply because this **** is not going to work next year against the AB`s and Aus either. We lose to Ireland FFS.
Dont think too much rugby is a good excuse. It’s there job!
There was talk a few years back of the boks joining the six nations, maybe you guys should Italy need someone to battle for the wooden spoon haha
November 28th, 2009 at 6:39 pm
Steyn ).03/10
Du Preez 1.5/10
Tactics 0/10
Meisiekind -9/10
November 28th, 2009 at 6:40 pm
That was the worst Bok performance I’ve seen this team perform since 2007.
drop the lot, styart again
Smit – ous
Matfield – ous
CJ – ous
Roussouw – ous
Burger – hang in by your finger nails.
Fdp – M.Steyn drop them get some proper half backs that know how the f’ck to get a back line working.. those two palooka’s lost this game with every up and under kick they could muster. Slow useless service. get rid of those two overrated hasbeens
Start again.. get a new captain.. should be Watson.. and get shot of this bunch of overrated useless idiots. the lot of them.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:40 pm
@WP_:
Even if we lose it won’t matter for the rankings.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:44 pm
Even the useless Aussies are better travellers than our palookas. Bloody useless headless chickens.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:45 pm
Well done the Oirish! Bad luck Boks but I guess this as on the cards.
So it was all Kanko’s fault? He wasn’t playing today.
Where the Boks went wrong:
Kirschwasser 0 – Frans 10 no comparison. Strange they didn’t call on Frans as Zane is out of his element and league.
Dannie 0 – Spies 5 – Kanko 10. In soft underfoot Kanko is far better than these tow. Not even debatable.
Schalk, scored 1 try otherwise not on the field. 1 point. Why didn’t they put on Deysel???
Bekker 0 – Bakkies 10 – Was bekker on the field? No line takes (and that’s his strong point!). Otherwise totally anonymous.
And the best part:
M Steyn shows he is no where near international standard. Last week, ah it was the ball…. I guess he’s best bet is to play Gridiron where he can kick and then leave the field. It was awsemome how the Boks had ‘go forward’ when Ruan came on. Almost won the match against all odds. M. Steyn should only play in the SH. He simply is not up to scratch in conditions other than dry. Probably missed more conversions, drops and line kicks on the winter tour than anyone before him.
Biggest problem is that with FDP, MS and JF JPP is never going to see the ball. They cannot play to the right.
Big plus is that maybe Adi and Kanko are not that bad and that Bulls/WP players are not as good as their fans would want to believe?
November 28th, 2009 at 6:47 pm
Sorry Lads,our game is far too one dimensional.Backline play
non existent.Tactical kicking and goal kicking not up to
scratch.
Once Steyn started missing penalty kicks, the Boks had nothing else to offer.So who and what is to blame.
Firstly very poor selections and even poorer coaching
because it all starts up front in the front row.
Because kicking plays such a vital role and once Steyn went of
the boil there was no back up goal kicker.Again poor selection. Why was Frans Steyn not called to play in this
vital match? He has shown that he can kick long range penalties. Kirchner had a good game but must be able
to take kicking over if fly half misses too many.
Why on earth resort to deep kick offs if no forward is able
to contest.Once again with the upper hand in the scrum our
loose forwards dont keep on scrumming and put the opposition
under pressure.To rely on Brussow’s solo efforts at the
breakdown is ludicrous.Far too many individual efforts.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:50 pm
Drop FdP and M. Steyn that is where the cancer starts and ends.
Useless bunch of no hope half backs that know only one thing, boot to leather sweet f’all else. Kak sleg palooka rugby players the both of them. killed the game dead. idiots.
Start again.
get shot of the dead wood.. start again. Do it now or have 2 more years of snot n trane
Get shot of rubbish overrated players all of them.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:50 pm
@skopskiet:
I agree with FDP/MS but what about Bekker? He was as useless as a pig at a Barmitzvah. Same goes for Burger. there on past exploits. He isn’t delivering. Scrub them both.
Houghard on the bench? Worst showing of any Bok in my recollection – why was he there?
The front row was great. The rest abysmal. Just shows that one needs brains for go forward. Not brawn.
No problem with FDP getting enough ball, just shows his limitations as well as Rousouws supposed ‘genius’ in the back line.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:53 pm
This year we proved that we can win the 3N and that we can dominate NZ. I think that in 2010 we should have a rotation policy to build our depth and manage our top players.
We must also be smarter and more adaptable. Today there was very little of PdV’s total rugby – we were stuck in a rut and did not adapt to the game.
November 28th, 2009 at 6:56 pm
You can only play as well as the opposition allow.
And to be fair lads, this is a VERY good Irish team. Well coached and full of leaders.
Lets just bite the bullet and accept that we were outplayed.
The days of Ireland being a **** team are LONG gone.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:00 pm
@TaffyIX:
Thats an expression losers use to console each other after defeat. Ireland aren’t anything great, New Zealand would have ran them over today.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:01 pm
@AiDoc:
There is a total of more games in the Super 14 and Tri-Nations that SA travel more. The end-of-year tours for NZ and Australia make up some of the ground, but not all. SA still travel more than NZ and Australia and the difference remains significant.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:02 pm
For SA, the end-of-year tour should be used purely for introducing new talent to international rugby, with just a back-bone of experienced players.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:04 pm
220. skopskiet
No FDP got very slow ball and with Ireland on the off side
line and pack not taking ball forward our 9 and 10 were
always going to be under pressure.
We have to adopt the All Blacks play and keep on driving the opposition backwards and control the ball in the pick and drive.The All Blacks did that very successful against the
heavy English pack.
The problem with South African rugby, far too many forwards
in the backline obstructing our backs.Ireland just were
more organised.Remember the Boks missed at least 12 points
in penalty kicks and needed only two to secure victory.
Now this was not a last minute arranged tour, so why were
the European rugby balls not flown in so that our kickers
could get used to them?
@WP_: That’s simple, one-dimensional thinking
This was an ideal opportunity for players like Earl Rose, Ashley Johnson and jonke Nokwe to stake their claim.At least they would have given it their all.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:05 pm
@sglazer:
We have just been to Tokyo, Cardiff back to Italy over to England and now back to France and they still haven’t breached our try line, perhaps you just weren’t good enough on this tour thats why you have been beaten 4 times in 5 matches.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:08 pm
@NZINCHINA:
sad but true
November 28th, 2009 at 7:09 pm
Ireland is sh_t and the All Blacks would have crushed them today
November 28th, 2009 at 7:10 pm
@NZINCHINA:
The travel is uneven. NZ travel less than SA. That’s why the Boks were tired on tour.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:11 pm
@NZINCHINA:
True
I think the All blacks will once again be the team to beat next year.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:12 pm
@sglazer:
What an excuse?
November 28th, 2009 at 7:12 pm
tactics were awful. Ref pathetic.
Schalk had a good game. Bismark was atrocious when he came on, rubbish sub
November 28th, 2009 at 7:13 pm
South Africa need to blood new players and fast as they risk making the same mistake Australia made post 91
November 28th, 2009 at 7:14 pm
@rugby lover:
It’s an excuse when it’s a reflection of reality. SA travel more. They do. The leading players were tired on this tour.
Selections should have covered for this fact. In my opinion, we should be using the end-of-year tour to blood new players.
Unfortunately our administrators are slow and unclear.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:15 pm
@WP_:
I thought the ref did quite well.
Rather two calls from the touches that were a bit dubious.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:15 pm
It’s not an excuse when it’s a reflection of reality …
November 28th, 2009 at 7:16 pm
Anyone could see the Boks were slow today. The leading players are tired.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:16 pm
@sglazer:
I really agree with blooding the new players.
The results could not have been worse in any case.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:17 pm
Bok team to go forward
Vd Merwe, Beast
Liebenberg, Strauss
BJ, WP Nel, K.Buys
Sykes, Steenkamp
Bekker, Matfield
Brussow, Potgieter
Louw, Deysel
Vermeulen, Alberts
S. Pretorius
Pienaar
Habana
De Jongh
Fourie
Mapoe
Viljoen, F.Steyn
get shot of dead wood, do it.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:24 pm
No rugby lover.
The ref missed a whole lot. The majority of it went against the Boks
November 28th, 2009 at 7:24 pm
@NZINCHINA:
You have to look at the whole year, not just the end-of-year tours
November 28th, 2009 at 7:27 pm
The AB`s see these tours as a mission to strengthen their rugby dominance over the NH. Our guys see it as a burden. This is the difference between us and them. We have lost our aura.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:29 pm
@Springbokvel:
They travel less. Our leading players are tired. Our management does not adjust for this.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:31 pm
YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!
Good game boys, this is probably the best time in Irish Rugby history. Good to see the players hugging it out at the end as well.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:32 pm
@jockstrap:
We got it. Thanks [s].
November 28th, 2009 at 7:33 pm
Kak we just soft in the f’ng head, bang broek sh’t scared chickens.
We should have won all 5 games on tour – NOT only ITALY.
Pathetic .. useless.. no ideas… kak sleg… zero strategy… skop en trek rugby all F’ng 80 minutes long..
Hopeless … usleless palookas.
FDP. Smit. M.Steyn. OUT
Start again, I’m telling you, we don’t get it right now its tickets for WC… all the way back to the drawing board,.. or read the writing on the wall loud and clear and START AGAIN NOW!
November 28th, 2009 at 7:37 pm
We are not tired. We are ****. Lame excuse. Half the team had three weeks off before the first test on the tour and the others had 2 weeks off.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:38 pm
People can’t blame the ref. He didn’t blow anything wrong just missed a couple things.
November 28th, 2009 at 7:39 pm
That is De villiers fault! fire the useless palooka!
November 28th, 2009 at 7:46 pm
@lightie:
Ya like the SA player dropping a Knee on and Irish players head. Also high tacklw WHILE OFFSIDE.
November 28th, 2009 at 9:45 pm
Hmmm… the anthem-singing cost them the game. Again.
And the grass was too long. The light breeze wasn’t breezy enough. The young lady sitting in Row 11 wore a top that was too pink. The cop car driving past the stadium had a siren that broke the “world champions’” concentration just as they were preparing for a crucial scrum on the half-line. The loo paper in the chage-rooms was also too gritty. And the ref…
It’s the IRB’s fault.
November 29th, 2009 at 4:14 am
@skopskiet: #215
I thought oom Danie had a good game.
VM was KAK.
FdP was KAK.
Morne was KAK.
WO was nog KAKKER.
Funny. The last three are all BB back line players.
@Kryger: #180
You forgot PdV.
November 29th, 2009 at 4:42 am
@savethespringbok: #207
NZ players play in the S12 final nearly every year and then go to Europe and win their matches. Don’t be a KOEK man.
In the 52 minute J Fourie took up the ball and was tackled by the opposition. Next thing the Irish scrum-half passed the ball to one of his team-mates. I wonder if Hondo saw that because I’m sure he would’ve if it was ADI.
Boy. am I glad ADI did not play yesterday. I can’t wait to see who the fall guy will be on Sunday.
November 29th, 2009 at 4:42 am
@skopskiet:
Skop @ 100.
You really ARE a very astute man. Just looking at yr comments and relating them to time in the match. Ive said the same thing about Steyn, not enough variation to win big matches, esp on away terms. Good player tho. Just not enough outside the awesome kicking skills. Atleast RP threatened the line, FFS. Didnt do it, but it felt like it was coming.
November 29th, 2009 at 4:48 am
@allamapstieks:
@ 201 – You sir, give your countrymen a well overdue nod of respect and a firmer than usual handshake.
Puma, you are not the only one afterall.
Respec !
November 29th, 2009 at 5:01 am
@Brentie1: #227
Are you saying that Morne “The Machine” Steyn could not get use to them in three weeks over there?
Let’s come up with another one, please.
No, stop the excuses. We lost against a better team on the day. ou cannot win if you don’t score points. In the 24th minute of the first half, Steyn dropped to give us a lead of 10-3. For the next 56minutes of the game, we scored ZERO points. Now you want to say it is the fault of the Bok management for not importing the Gilbert ball so that Morne can practise with it? When was he suppose to do it? The same week while he was practising with the “SA balls” for the CC final?
I REPEAT: WE LOST AGAINST A BETTER TEAM ON THE DAY.