Boks lack Plan B
The European tour has underlined an old concern pertaining to South Africa’s inability to think outside the box.
The Boks only know how to play one way, but when it doesn’t work for them, they don’t have an alternate plan or means of breaking down the opposition. Brutal physicality will always be the bedrock of South African rugby, but the attacking play is in dire need of a revamp.
They were exposed in Toulouse and again at Croke Park. The French had them under pressure up front early in the fixture, and by half-time it was clear they couldn’t be beaten using typical tactics. In Dublin, the Boks employed the right tactics but their inaccuracy at flyhalf and in the set-pieces let them down badly. What was worrying about that match is that no one decided to change tack.
Marc Lievremont was wise to the bully boy tactics, and the talk in the week preceding that Test was about the Boks’ physicality. It seemed obvious what the Boks would do even before they left South Africa, and surely the Bok coaching staff should have expected this kind of response.
When asked about preparation in the aftermath, however, several Bok players said the French caught them by surprise. Come on. You come to France as the world champions and you have a reputation as the bullies of world rugby. What did you think France were going to do? Give you their lunch money?
Naivety aside, the senior Boks should have realised things weren’t going to work early on in the game and made a decision to change to Plan B. That’s what they should have done if there was a Plan B to change to.
Morne Steyn has had a fantastic year and I’m sure the IRB got it wrong – it wouldn’t be the first time (cough-Richie McCaw-cough) when they nominated Frans Steyn as a Player of the Year nominee. But Morne Steyn has been uncharacteristically shaky on this tour, and one wonders how bad his decision-making would have been had Fourie du Preez not been around to guide him.
Steyn was striking the ball horribly in Udine, but saved his worst performance with the boot for Dublin. He missed a few penalty punts and his tactical kicking left a lot to be desired especially since the Boks were playing with the wind in the first half. John Smit said it best when he pointed to two missed penalty kicks at the end of the half as potentially game-costing. Steyn, who sinks them from 50m on the highveld and at sea-level (ask Western Province) knows he should have done better.
Kicking is Steyn’s strength, but it worried to see him utilising so few of his other talents. By neglecting these, he underused his dangerous runners out wide. Jaque Fourie has been a force since returning to the starting line-up but has not received enough chances. Bryan Habana is living off scraps while JP Pietersen had a very quiet tour.
The Adi Jacobs experiment – what else would you call it – well and truly failed. Jacobs doesn’t have the build or skill set to be the kind of No 12 the Boks need and is more suited to the No 13 position. Jean de Villiers will be back in South Africa in time for the World Cup, but in the interim, the Boks should go with Wynand Olivier who had an outstanding game at Croke Park.
The future of Ruan Pienaar remains a mystery. He was Peter de Villiers’ first-choice flyhalf in June, but seems to have lost all confidence. He’ll undergo corrective surgery to his knee when he gets home, and one hopes he’ll be adequately prepared for the 2010 Super 14.
If he is to be the alternative to Steyn, he has to play flyhalf in the Super 14 and build some confidence. At present, he’s an erratic goal-kicker and perhaps something needs to be done to increase his mental strength. He’s also a fine attacking player who could provide the Boks with variety they need to truly evolve (and perhaps even develop a Plan B). Pienaar’s important, and it’s high time the powers that be stop treating him like a bit player.
One player who impressed during his short stint on tour was BJ Botha. So that’s what the Bok scrum looks like going forward. You could almost forgive the Bok inside backs for giving away possession given they’re so unaccustomed to go-forward ball from the scrum.
Botha’s another who wants to come back to South Africa and could be an important player if the Boks are going to defend their world title. Smit is fine player when he’s scrumming between Beast Mtawarira and Botha, but battled when he went back to tighthead in the dying stages of the Ireland game. Since it’s clear the Boks cant do without his leadership, maybe it’s time they pick a decent tighthead, pick Smit at hooker and leave Bismarck du Plessis on the bench. It’s the obvious sacrifice that needs to be made if the Boks are to retain leadership and scrumming strength.
The sad truth is the Bok management have no intention of moving Smit back to No 2 permanently. It’s truly a shame, as this South African side could explore their attacking capabilities if they were afforded a decent platform from the scrum.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

November 29th, 2009 at 11:47 am
@Flametop:
I have to be honest though, our players cannot seem to think quickly on their feet.
I suppose they are all used to run over their opponents in junior rugby where there are a lot of mismatches size-wise
November 29th, 2009 at 11:48 am
@wooden spoon:
Enjoy.
Snorkeling and kayaking are anyway much more enjoyable than watching aerial ping pong as demonstrated by FdP and Morne Steyn
November 29th, 2009 at 11:48 am
Make that 78/6. Anderson 4 for18 from 8 overs.
November 29th, 2009 at 11:49 am
@grant10:
I was at the match yesterday.
With the fog and the cold you would have been lucky to hit the toilet after a few beers.
The ball did not want to travel
November 29th, 2009 at 11:49 am
Oh boy, all the ego’s come out to play. skops; wait by the ‘phone bru- Oregan could call at any moment. Skoppie dead against all the Bulls but squeals for Adams wtf. Gwant10; a question. Would rather have a dominant scrum or lineout?
Me, I’ll take lineout. Did you see the boks pushing the Oirish backwards, there No. 8 gets a poor ball and makes about 20m because the Boks are still pushing. Now that is piss poor coaching. I reckon they spent the week on the scrum and pretty much ignore the lineout.
Sorry muppets – snotskiet in particular. IT IS NOT THE PLaYERS WHO SHOULD TAKE ALL THE BLAME. In football who gets fired when a team does poorly? The players play to a game plan. Sure, they may have some say in the game plan but ultimately it is the coach’s decision and he must detail it, coach it and sell it to the players. The game plan should be continuously analysed and evolved. New game plans must be thought up or old ones re-introduced.
I am not saying PdV should be fired. But he needs way better support in coaching, analysis and admin. SA has the players. Muppets who want to discard at will are being childish. Way more important to develop new players, identify weaknesses, motivate the exisitng ones and ensure a seamless transition. This is hardly happening
November 29th, 2009 at 11:51 am
@The_Green_Machine_is_a_Mean_Machine:
Tip/touch rugby is key at a young age.
It teaches to look for space rather than contact.
I mean I’d play touch against Nonu knowing he can only “tag”
(contact may hurt a retiring body)
It teaches youngsters that it hurts less for the oppo not to lay a hand on you
November 29th, 2009 at 11:52 am
screw the IRb i’m starting my own awards
KEO player of the year -fourie Du preez
Keo Team Of the Year-Springboks
Keo Coach of the year – Peter Helium Snor PDv theDiv DE Villiers
Keo try of the year – Conrad “snake” smith vs Boks
Keo Personality of the year–PDV
Keo Moustache of the year – PDV
Keo outstanding leader /player -richie mccaw
Keo Statement of the year – PDV “Rugby is a contact sport and so is dancing ”
Keo Find of 2009- the breakdown brugal Heinrich Brussow
November 29th, 2009 at 11:53 am
@Flametop: yeah….tough conditions to line them up from halfway, pity F Steyn was playing over the hill somewhere.
November 29th, 2009 at 11:54 am
I’ve said my peice. Adios all.
I just hope the Oirish and Frogs are brave enough to send their full strength teams to our shores itinerary permitting. Can’t stand it when the NH teams send their second string sides in June…
November 29th, 2009 at 11:55 am
@husky: Husky….both thanks?
Silly question….why would BJ Botha screw up the lineout???
November 29th, 2009 at 11:56 am
@nama1:
At least the crowd is having a great time, singing and dancing as if there is no tomorrow.
November 29th, 2009 at 11:58 am
We have the players to run the ball and score tries but what do you expect to happen if you kick all your possession straight back to the opposition.
We only had 30% possession in the game! We were forced to make tons of tackles the whole game which is more tiring than attacking etc. etc. BH, JPP and JF are just living off scraps when we play the full 80 min like that. Its the one dimensional game plan that’s the problem.
So who is responsible for this game plan and the inability to change it as the game progresses? players? coaches? or both?
November 29th, 2009 at 11:59 am
Test
November 29th, 2009 at 12:00 pm
Afternoon all.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:01 pm
We put out a good team yesterday who are capable of playing any type of game so we can’t blame selection on this one.
Subbing BJ was a mistake. Coach should have just told MS and FD to keep the ball in hand.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:04 pm
@Osama – bin OCO: As in Test match, test yourself against the opposition etc.
Was devoid of ideas at the time…
November 29th, 2009 at 12:11 pm
@Test:
I posted a long ‘analysis’ this morning – didn’t appear. Sorry not a comment directed at you.
Old hand here, guess you’re new. Didn’t expect a blogger called test. Just shows, we live in an age here one can’t anything for granted.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:12 pm
@Test:
Think they both had their hands in their pockets as it was
Only had feet on this tour.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:19 pm
@Osama – bin OCO: But why? We know they have more to their games than that. I cant understand why they didnt change things?#%! especially as Morne left his kicking boots at the Hotel…
November 29th, 2009 at 12:20 pm
Boks plan B should be simple… Get rid of dead wood. WO, JF, FDP,Steyns (Both), Rossouw, Matfield, Smit, Bakkies… Time to go… Earl Rose, Luke Watson, JUan De Jongh,Ashley Johnson, Heini Adams.. Your Time has come!!!
November 29th, 2009 at 12:21 pm
@Robzim:
Yeah. The PE crowd always enjoy themselves. Always a goo vibe out there.
92/8 now. What the hell is going on?
First the Boks last night, now the Proteas.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:24 pm
@Osama – bin OCO: Actually been registered for years but havent really posted since 2007 WC. Usually just read comments.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:27 pm
The failed experiment of playing WO and JF has now been totally exposed… Let the Reign of Adi and Juan start immediately… Aplon also need to be brought in as Utility back.. he can play 10-15
November 29th, 2009 at 12:27 pm
@nama1: Its the South African sportsman’s psyche… consistency is not one of our strong points.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:30 pm
@Test:
Boks went with a ‘hard ground’ SH team to compete in the NH. Was never going to cut it. Big heavy players on soft sodden grounds means big tired legs.
We needed mobility and we didn’t have it (thank heaven we didn’t have Spies – can’t catch the ball in the dry and would have ‘died’ within 30 minutes if he had to run (or had an appoplexy))
It was obvious that we didn’t have any back-up to Habs and JPP when chasing. Gave the Oirish time to run at us and gain meters.
Wrong team, wrong game plan. When will the Bok management learn?
We anhilated the NH teams when we had mobile players and held our own in the forwards (held, not dominated).
November 29th, 2009 at 12:32 pm
Ashley Johnson is SA’s first utility foward.. This dude can play at 1,2,3,6,7,8… How dare we ignore him… A prodigious talent.. SChalk Burger is a mouse compared to this tiger
November 29th, 2009 at 12:35 pm
@Langenhoven: a Bit thick are you?
Listen good, ADI JACOBS is injured ffs!
He struggled the whole year with that shoulder injury.
You stupid racist C@#t
November 29th, 2009 at 12:41 pm
127. Namakwalanner…. Adi injured does not detract from the fact that WO is useless.. and that JF is all Hype like Frans Steyn… What about FDP’s hand injury and Schalk Burger brain tumour that keeps him in kak at the breakdown..
And calling me a racist cnt is very rich of you… Did you forget how you were brought up and who you and your parents voted for?? Twat
November 29th, 2009 at 12:41 pm
So with any business, where does the buck stop?
I would guess with the nek-van-die-plek????
That would be Piet Snor right? He is ultimately responsible or not? No wait, this is South AFRICA after all. NEVER the token black in charge.
NEVER his responsibilty. Hell, give the chop a pay rise. And when he F@#k the whole business, a GOLDEN handshake.
These guys surely know how to be successful.
Damn those crazy whiteys hey?
November 29th, 2009 at 12:43 pm
@Langenhoven: Hahaha.
How do you know how i was brought up??
I think you would be very surprised when learning the truth.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:43 pm
127. Namakwalanner… use another nic twat… you are trying to confuse yourself with somebody else
November 29th, 2009 at 12:46 pm
127. Namakwalanner… simple mate.. tell us how you were brought up and what your real name is.. Tell me about the school you went to… Prove me wrong… I challenge you
November 29th, 2009 at 12:46 pm
@Langenhoven: Why? Is this nic taken?
What about Frikkie then? You know the ad?
November 29th, 2009 at 12:51 pm
133. Namakwalanner….How long have you been blogging here…Namakwaland was a very sensible blogger.. You are certainly not him… You are am imposter mate
November 29th, 2009 at 12:51 pm
@grant10: grant please don’t put words in my mouth, i’m not disputing anything. The scrum was obviously sorted, everyone witnessed it, nobody is saying smit must go back to 3.
What i asked you is what did our team achieve from the dominant front foot ball that our scrum provided? Did you see our scrum half clearing quicker, did our centres get good ball to punch holes through the rookie flyhalf’s defence? Did you see any creativity that allowed our wings to join the line @ pace and utilise the abundant first phase ball (like we did in the 2nd test against the b&i lions) our dominant scrum provided?
How many scrums were contested after BJ was subbed for you to even suggest that his removal might’ve influenced the outcome of the game? And out of those how mant did we lose?
November 29th, 2009 at 12:52 pm
@Langenhoven: I won`t divulge my real name on this blog. Kinda defeats the purpose.
I will tell you however how i was brought up.
Protestant Church. Not that i am a believer. Some might call me an atheist. I however detest labels and see myself more of a Humanist. Realist would be more fitting.
When PW Botha appeared on national tv, my father immediately switched it off. Cursing would then ensue.
You might mistakenly think that i was brought up a racist, because i am white. No Sir.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:55 pm
@Langenhoven: I have been reading for about 6 months on this blog. Just too lazy to blog regularly.
However i do know most characters on this blog.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:56 pm
Namakwakaka boom prick you the twit twat doos racist around here or can’t you fathom your *** from your snot filled nose. Calling Pdv a Ray Charles Who or What?
These big breek Gavin Rich player coaches John Smit Victor Matfield and Fourie Du Preez should be the ones drawn and quartered if they are indeed the twats calling the shots on or off the field. What happened to this open secret that these idiots pulled a palace revolt and abandoned our running game for this kick and chase ‘Springbok strength’ trash that they learned under idiot twat fool Jake White.
Fdp, Matfield, Smit, M. Steyn don’t have half a f.ng clue wtf actually to do when it comes down to adapting on the field of play. They so dumb inefficient one dimensional idiotic they should simply get booted right out the overrated doos door.
I been calling it long enough to get fresh blood in well if they don’t do it right now then kiss any idea of any success through 2010 and 2011. The biggest mistake this coach made was tying his entire f.ng ossewa wagon to J. Smits and V. Matfield’s apron strings.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:57 pm
136. Namakwalanner… So your father had a problem with PW… Did he have a problem with the rest of the national party too… You have a problem because PDV lost two games.. Did you have the same problem when he won the 3N’s and the LIons… I have a problem with PDV because he succumbs to **** like you…
November 29th, 2009 at 12:57 pm
@Namakwalanner:
As a BB supporter, give me an honest opinion of WO’s performance yesterday.
November 29th, 2009 at 12:59 pm
137. Namakwalanner… so you finally found the nerve to expose yourself… twat
November 29th, 2009 at 1:02 pm
I swear Morne has been taking kicking lesson from Ruan… or Monty doesn’t like sharing the lime light
November 29th, 2009 at 1:04 pm
@skopskiet: I ask again, WHO is ultimately in charge?
If the so called senior players are running the show and doesn`t give Piet the time of day, then surely he is a bad manager who cannot control his charges???
I do not believe that. He is calling the shots so the buck stop there. If the players are really calling the shots, then Piet should grow a pair and do his job. the one he gets paid handsomely for.
History always remember the Baas. Think WW2 and you think of Hitler and that English Bullfrog.
Think America and the invasion and you think Bush.
November 29th, 2009 at 1:05 pm
@nama1: Good solid performance.
November 29th, 2009 at 1:05 pm
142. SpringbokSarah… Monty’s got woman problems… just like Tiger woods… I see Tiger’s wife moered him witha golf stick
November 29th, 2009 at 1:07 pm
Morne is a one track pony like most BB overrated idiot players are who’s only pony went n bolted out the door . They got sh’t for brains when it comes time to think on the feet or out the box they start howling like prima donna cry baby’s and freeze up solid crying out ‘where’s papa Heyneke to show me the way outa here’?
November 29th, 2009 at 1:08 pm
Anyway, i am off to lunch.
November 29th, 2009 at 1:08 pm
@husky: Husky….your question of whether a dominant scrum or a dominant lineout is better refers…..This sort of question is why the Boks dont dominate…..have you any idea what a loser mentality asks that sort of question??
Why should the Boks only be able to have either? Surely a great pack of forwards has to be able to do these 2 basic facets of rugby very well…..?
You make the scrums and lineouts sound like a mutually exclusive facet of the game?
I just dont understand the question? Are you saying that because we dominated the scrums yesterday as we did for 50 munutes [ without Bakkies by the way ] that it stood to reason that we had to do bad in lineouts?
Or are you saying that Smit cant throw in the lineouts?
Or that Matfield, Rossouw and Bekker are kak lineout jumpers?
This is a mystery to me…..why cant we excel at both lineouts and Scrums? I am truly perplexed by your question?
BJ can be used as an attacking force….he adds value…what PDV should have done is leave Smit at 2…..and if BJ had to be replaced bring on CJ at 3….Bissy should have been replaced by smit if that replacement was neccessary……and Bissy to 2…..
This either strong scrum or lineout question really confuses me?
Believe me the Kiwis with Hayman, A Williams and Chris Kack will cover all the basics and leave nothing to chance….so should we.
November 29th, 2009 at 1:09 pm
@skopskiet: Idiots who kicked WP *** for the last decade.
Suck on that.
November 29th, 2009 at 1:09 pm
Lets get some Protocol sorted out here in the absence of sense from the site administrators…
COPY and PASTE your referral…..
and address me as sir