Boks lack Plan B
The European tour has underlined an old concern pertaining to South Africa’s inability to think outside the box.
The Boks only know how to play one way, but when it doesn’t work for them, they don’t have an alternate plan or means of breaking down the opposition. Brutal physicality will always be the bedrock of South African rugby, but the attacking play is in dire need of a revamp.
They were exposed in Toulouse and again at Croke Park. The French had them under pressure up front early in the fixture, and by half-time it was clear they couldn’t be beaten using typical tactics. In Dublin, the Boks employed the right tactics but their inaccuracy at flyhalf and in the set-pieces let them down badly. What was worrying about that match is that no one decided to change tack.
Marc Lievremont was wise to the bully boy tactics, and the talk in the week preceding that Test was about the Boks’ physicality. It seemed obvious what the Boks would do even before they left South Africa, and surely the Bok coaching staff should have expected this kind of response.
When asked about preparation in the aftermath, however, several Bok players said the French caught them by surprise. Come on. You come to France as the world champions and you have a reputation as the bullies of world rugby. What did you think France were going to do? Give you their lunch money?
Naivety aside, the senior Boks should have realised things weren’t going to work early on in the game and made a decision to change to Plan B. That’s what they should have done if there was a Plan B to change to.
Morne Steyn has had a fantastic year and I’m sure the IRB got it wrong – it wouldn’t be the first time (cough-Richie McCaw-cough) when they nominated Frans Steyn as a Player of the Year nominee. But Morne Steyn has been uncharacteristically shaky on this tour, and one wonders how bad his decision-making would have been had Fourie du Preez not been around to guide him.
Steyn was striking the ball horribly in Udine, but saved his worst performance with the boot for Dublin. He missed a few penalty punts and his tactical kicking left a lot to be desired especially since the Boks were playing with the wind in the first half. John Smit said it best when he pointed to two missed penalty kicks at the end of the half as potentially game-costing. Steyn, who sinks them from 50m on the highveld and at sea-level (ask Western Province) knows he should have done better.
Kicking is Steyn’s strength, but it worried to see him utilising so few of his other talents. By neglecting these, he underused his dangerous runners out wide. Jaque Fourie has been a force since returning to the starting line-up but has not received enough chances. Bryan Habana is living off scraps while JP Pietersen had a very quiet tour.
The Adi Jacobs experiment – what else would you call it – well and truly failed. Jacobs doesn’t have the build or skill set to be the kind of No 12 the Boks need and is more suited to the No 13 position. Jean de Villiers will be back in South Africa in time for the World Cup, but in the interim, the Boks should go with Wynand Olivier who had an outstanding game at Croke Park.
The future of Ruan Pienaar remains a mystery. He was Peter de Villiers’ first-choice flyhalf in June, but seems to have lost all confidence. He’ll undergo corrective surgery to his knee when he gets home, and one hopes he’ll be adequately prepared for the 2010 Super 14.
If he is to be the alternative to Steyn, he has to play flyhalf in the Super 14 and build some confidence. At present, he’s an erratic goal-kicker and perhaps something needs to be done to increase his mental strength. He’s also a fine attacking player who could provide the Boks with variety they need to truly evolve (and perhaps even develop a Plan B). Pienaar’s important, and it’s high time the powers that be stop treating him like a bit player.
One player who impressed during his short stint on tour was BJ Botha. So that’s what the Bok scrum looks like going forward. You could almost forgive the Bok inside backs for giving away possession given they’re so unaccustomed to go-forward ball from the scrum.
Botha’s another who wants to come back to South Africa and could be an important player if the Boks are going to defend their world title. Smit is fine player when he’s scrumming between Beast Mtawarira and Botha, but battled when he went back to tighthead in the dying stages of the Ireland game. Since it’s clear the Boks cant do without his leadership, maybe it’s time they pick a decent tighthead, pick Smit at hooker and leave Bismarck du Plessis on the bench. It’s the obvious sacrifice that needs to be made if the Boks are to retain leadership and scrumming strength.
The sad truth is the Bok management have no intention of moving Smit back to No 2 permanently. It’s truly a shame, as this South African side could explore their attacking capabilities if they were afforded a decent platform from the scrum.
By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

November 29th, 2009 at 6:04 pm
@skopskiet: They did exactly what their overrated overhyped coach told them to do. Make Div the koei.
November 29th, 2009 at 6:28 pm
JC – Another guy that for some reason thinks Pienaar is this attacking god. He sucks at attacking as well! Just because he isn’t good at kicking doesn’t mean he is then automatically a good runner! He is slow and weak! When has he ever beaten a tackle? Matt Giteau is what you call a good running flyhalf. Pienaar is the most over-rated player of all time and doesn’t deserve a place in the squad. Also, why does everyone say that he’s this game maker with a great vision of the game? Where the hell did people get this idea? Pienaar ruins way more games then he contributes to. Get over this guy! He is useless! I’d rather have Bosman at fly-half then this idiot.
November 29th, 2009 at 6:35 pm
@rugbywriter: Bosman at FH? I guess that says more about how useless Pienaar is.
November 29th, 2009 at 7:18 pm
@David: @David:
LMAO
oh the WEE MAESTRO
November 29th, 2009 at 7:35 pm
Nothing wrong with Bok rugby chaps. Can’t win them all. So suck it in and accept that the Boks on the end of year tour are out on their feet. Like a racehorse running too many races, this EOYT has been 5 matches too many for the men in green.
Its not the coaches fault, not the players fault. Its more a strctural problem in SA rugby. Too many matches.
Some of the guys played S14, BI Lions, Currie Cup Final (most matches in Currie Cup) and then the EOYT.
Other nations may play as many games, but the Springbok style – when at its best, an unplayable power game – induces more wear and tear than say, the AB’s or Aus.
I worry about next year – Super 15.
It seems that the men in charge of SARU are not thinking and acting for the Springboks benefit – expanding S15, giving in to O Niell which will be at the expense of Currie Cup. Springboks should also have central contracts so that their recperation can be managed.
Prof Noakes may be right about next year. Prepare for the worst Bok supporters. Performances will not reflect ability, they will be affected by battered bodies.
Reality bites. Its started already on the EOYT.
November 29th, 2009 at 7:36 pm
@Atreides: see u got a real bone to pick with JPP?
November 29th, 2009 at 7:38 pm
@skopskiet: i feel ur passion there mate
however when i see a team sheet like that its easy to see why there needs to be only 1 coach
November 29th, 2009 at 7:42 pm
@rugbywriter: we’re so quick to judge and are very very fickle
Morne Steyn to me, be4 this EOYT, was the number 1 flyhalf in world rugby cos he could dictate how the game shold be played regardless of what you as an opposition wanted to accomplish
i am however aware that with him at flyhalf i doubt the boks could put 50 past England like we did last year with ruan Pienaar at FH. However Pienaar has had some SHOCKERS this year and is a real confidence player
EISH
Now lets nt discard both of them, we just ned to manage them better. lets nt be so fickle
November 29th, 2009 at 7:46 pm
@Heavens Game: all this doom and gloom really got me worried
however ppl shouldnt forget that eg. the Aussies dnt even have a domestic competition so imagine how much less minutes of rugby they played compared to the core of our team, some who played in semi’s finals and currie cup games
we could already see in the currie cup that some of our players we already fatigued
we paly a heavily PHYSICAL game and we ned to acknowledge tht. thats y its so important to take into cognince what Prof Noakes is saying
all we can do is try to shape public perception when the going gets tough next
if PdV didnt win coach of the year this year after all the trophies..lord help us when next yr Prof Noakes predictions come to fruition
November 29th, 2009 at 8:03 pm
@Papoose: I fear we have started to see the effects of player fatigue already. An emergency resolution needs to be made to take our 1st XV Boks out of the round robin part of the S15 (i.e. the part which is exactly the same as the Currie Cup, but with 5 teams). They can then start playing again when the top teams from the SA “conference” plays against teams from the other “conferences”. But I think SARU management have signed something which will force SA to play their best players. It seems that SARU have been very short-sighted.
November 29th, 2009 at 8:33 pm
Oh come on! Just listen to you guys. We have a coach and a team and none of those guys have suddenly become bad or useless, whether intentionally or by chance. This mass hysteria is stupid. So we lost. Big deal. Wtf. And yes, the reasons might be whatever, but there is no reason to act like this.
So we might have to revislay the s14 next nyear, while PdVit our gameplan, or our playing resources or our conditioning or whatever, but it’s not the end of the world. Where to start?
I say give everyone a break. Let them have a rest and let’s regroup next year. What we need to do is develop an expanded squad- one which is adaptable and capable of playing any number of gameplans/styles of play, and we need to come up with a horses for courses approach. Rugby is intended as a sport for all shapes and sizes, not just the oversized freaks of nature amongst us. We have evolved ourselves into a corner with the type of player and the playing style we prefer and have come to the end of a cul de sac.
We need a new approach to conditioning and skills training. And even that should not be contrived. It will happen naturally through evolution within the game. What worked this year won’t necessarily work next year. And the wheel keeps on turning. It’s no big deal. Afterall, it’s just a game, and if I were the coach, I know what I would do.
Just like I reckon PdV knows what he wants to do and where he wants to go with the game. In the end, he will stand or fall by what he chooses to do. That is one thing that has never changed. Untill then we can only live in hope that he gets it right.
November 29th, 2009 at 8:36 pm
Sorru. Par 2 should read “So we might have to revisit our gameplan…”
November 29th, 2009 at 8:49 pm
@catleya: Well said.
It’s always disappointing to lose.
But having watched rugby for many many years this is a highlight year for me.
We clearly have lots of work, and I am sure that that work will be done.
Brussow & Morne Steyn came through.
Francois Steyn an excellent fullback.
FdP runs the team – a travesty not IRB player of the year, but I am sure he doesn’t really care.
Bekker is getting better, but we need another Danie Roussow (Willem Alberts put your hand up).
Smit is a kak 3, very good 2 – but we have at least 3 Tightheads (BJ, WP Nel, Buys).
Loosehead – also good talent (CJ, Wian, Beast).
Ruan will come right, but needs a break and to play 10 for Sharks.
12 is a worry – WO good but still not great test player from a creative side, Jean is Ireland. Adi is not an option.
More looseforwards than we can shake a stick at, but unfortunately I think Ryan Kankowski was terribly exposed.
November 29th, 2009 at 8:56 pm
you’re delusional some of you.
Fdp runs the team wtf, are you practically gone totally nuts?
The quickest way to rectify the one dimensional pathetic non penetrating rugby you just been witnessing throughout 2009 is change the half back pairing. Fdp and M. Steyn the veritable cancer in the system. Seems the bulk of Saffa rugby followers are totally blind to the absolute obvious. Make a one dimensional fool into a god and fall headlong into your own hyped up trap.
November 29th, 2009 at 9:01 pm
Our problem is we have become reactive in our tactical approach as opposed to being proactive and playing “our game”.
To win at all costs has become the most important thing. We were prepared to play an uninspiring unimaginative game based on kicking, high impact and contact for the sake of winning, and have suppressed individual skills, brilliance and collective cohesion. And now the rest of the world has taken the next step up while we are lagging behind.
We keep on talking about attacking space. What space? That’s bullshit. WE NEED TO LEARN TO CREATE SPACE BEFORE WE CAN ATTACK IT. AND THAT IS WHERE OUR PROBLEMS LIE!
WE HAVE HISTORICALLY STIFFLED CREATIVITY IN OUR PLAY.
November 29th, 2009 at 9:02 pm
@catleya: Square, mate. I think with the type of game the Boks play when at their well rested best – they do damage to the opposition, but unfortunately to themselves too. Their “Smashmouth” rugby is awesome to watch and when the Boks overwhelm teams it is a great sight. Unfortunately they have to be rested. The Bok management know the optimum style for the Boks, first established by Christie, rediscovered by White and perpetuated by PdV. All that needs to happen now is player continuity and rest. Like you mentioned I think conditioning and rest are priorities now.
November 29th, 2009 at 9:03 pm
@skopskiet: Skops. If you watch a highlight reel of this years S14 & 3N it will include some phenomenal rugby from the gifted Fourie du Preez. Easily the best scrumhalf in world rugby.
But, I will agree with you, that our game under pressure becomes one-dimensional and predictable and easy to play against if you match us physically.
It was good to see a dominant to stable scrum yesterday.
November 29th, 2009 at 9:04 pm
@Heavens Game: I think both France (in particular) and Ireland proved that it mythical for Boks to overwhelm teams. We are quite easy to match.
November 29th, 2009 at 9:07 pm
Our 15 man game needs to take a leaf from Paul Treu’s book. He has taken the 7’s Boks from a team of also-rans to being world beaters, WITHOUT THE LUXURY OF SIZE AND BRUTE STRENGTH simply because the 7’s game is a different animal. But it is a bold, brave and very imaginative step that is required.
November 29th, 2009 at 9:18 pm
Get shot of the hyped up gods in Sa rugby and you halfway to success. Its exactly these prima donna’s that can’t react to situations. Where was Smit or Matfield or Fdp or Burger yesterday or against France when the sh’t was hitting the fan. Yet its these same overrated palooka’s that read the riot act and throw their toys about wanting to run the game plan their way and promote this pathetic archaic non eventful dinosaur rugby strategy. Get then out of the equation and move forward they are actually stagnating and killing the progress of our rugby beyond what anyone here realize. Get them out they are bad news and destroying any chance of progressive success.
November 29th, 2009 at 9:22 pm
Burger had a great game actually. 100’s of tackles and very sweet positioning for his try (at pace), and some nice line-out work.
Not sure Juan has that jersey in the bag.
Worst game I have ever seen Victor Matfield play.
Fdp only average, which by his standards poor.
November 29th, 2009 at 9:41 pm
We will not win the world cup wih Morne Steyn as flyhalf. He is far to one dimentional and the bok backline is ineffective with him at the helm. He did well behind a powerful pack of forwards and a simple gameplan in the tri nations but I do not think the same tactics will work again next season (i think the end of the year tour showed that) and Steyn does not offer much else.
November 29th, 2009 at 9:53 pm
@SodaJoe: I couldn’t agree more! If we use the powerbase we have established and bring in some specific creative and linking/continuity skills into play in key areas, this team will evolve into a major force. It will take some brave paradigm shifts and for starters there will be no place for luxuries such as quotas at the top echelon. It should not even come into the equasion. We have to play the best players in the correct positions irrespective of colour.
We need to develop the game from grass roots level up, not from the Boks downwards. That approach has proved itself in practice to be flawed. But I know that is a discussion for another day, which has to start at getting more rugby-orientated MALE teachers/mentors into our primary schools to cultivate and coach the basics and a love for the game, and to do that we need to involve big business through an incentive scheme to sponsor governing body coaching/teaching positions.
For now though, we need to take some action. And I believe this 2009 EOYT has been a blessing in disguise in that respect. It has exposed some dead-wood-which-has-to-be-cut-out, some works-in-various-stages-of-progress, and a couple of even-though-still-valuable-carthorses-that-have-to-be-culled-for-the-sake-of-progress, as well as a few rough-diamonds-that-can-be-polished.
And some of the changes will even be unpopular amongst certain sectors of the supporter base, but if we want to succeed they have to be made for the improvement of the team as a whole.
November 29th, 2009 at 9:55 pm
JC at least you got the headline correct. It took 75 minutes for FDP to phucking realise that he had to move the ball down the line. We looked dangerous and nearly sneaked it. Why are our journalists and public so mesmerised by this guy’s one dimensional play. Yes our lineout was pathetic but if FDP utilised the ball he got correctly we would have won the game. He contributed GREATLY to our two test defeats on this tour. No wonder he never got the IRB player of the year award. (The award, imho, should have gone to Brussow who certainly enhanced his reputation. MS will never develop his flyhalf play with FDP playing the way he does. JCs obsession of WO at the obvious expense of AJ is laughable. Olivier did ok in the tackle but he lacks AJs ability to read the play as was evident when he cut back inside with a 3 man overlap. The scrums have certainly sorted itself out, JS must stay at hooker although his throwing in surely had something to do with the lineout fiasco. SB again proved tha 7 is his rightful slot.
November 29th, 2009 at 10:10 pm
Shakes I don’t quite realize how come its only a handful of saffa supporters like you and I being maybe part of that minority handful that realize what a dismal useless self centered and idiotic one dimensional non productive game strategy is when this idiot that everyone practically idolizes as gods gift to Sa rugby is actually the very cause of all the damn malady and disease in the system. Drop the fool and see how quickly this team comes right. Fdp never did much for Sa rugby as much as everyone thinks he’s the best player on the planet he is a one dimensional and self centered opportunist seeker who don’t know squat about getting his back line away ever. All his great plays have been individualist pieces of so called brilliance but its never about getting the backline going its always about Fdp first and foremost and when it don’t work he mopes around the rugby field like a spoiled brat looking to the ref to offer him hand outs when the oppo loose forwards disrupt his slow serving slow reactive ball.
November 29th, 2009 at 10:12 pm
Yes No doubt Boks were tired
It really showed in 2nd half/
Cant understand why BJ was taken off???????
My earlier postings before game about Bekker were correct
I counted him in backline 6 times in first half
He plays far too loose and with Matfield a passenger (very tired) Danie had to play tighter.
Bottom line we missed out kicks (Missed F steyn) and Ireland were better on the day
November 29th, 2009 at 10:15 pm
Our poor kicking did not help either
Fdp and steyne were poor.
Kirshner was steady did what was asked.
Jf and Jdv need more ball IMO
November 29th, 2009 at 10:18 pm
The scrum in last minute in front of posts should have gone right and not left. Defences are stronger to teh left
Poor decision
A pick by Danie right to Fdp with either Jf or Kisrshner coming in could have been the try needed
November 29th, 2009 at 10:19 pm
@skopskiet: Yes, drop FdP for Ricky Januarie. That’ll do. Or for Ruan Pienaar.
Both of these players are better than FdP and Pigs will fly.
With concordes?
November 29th, 2009 at 10:21 pm
@skopskiet:
Skoppie Hi there
I know your feelings about Fdp but he is still a very good 9.
Yes we have a certain style of play and when we have more good ball going forward we tend to benefit by his skills.
So I have to disagree
November 29th, 2009 at 10:23 pm
@skopskiet: Skop, I saw the writing on the wall during the winter tests already. Kick and chase beat the ABs cos Henry insisted on the wrong tactics and playing Rokocoko instead of Jane and Carter missed two matches. Bottom line is that this gameplan is kak and anyone who thinks we will win WC2011 without the ball and always having to make more than twice the tackles of the opposition needs a brain transplant.
November 29th, 2009 at 10:24 pm
Plus skoppie many people at the IRB and other international sides also think he is a great player even though he did not get the award.
And they are not white South africans
November 29th, 2009 at 10:24 pm
Must go – the wife needs attention. Cheers all for some illuminating thoughts
November 29th, 2009 at 10:27 pm
@Shakes:
Yeah some poor tactics
Taking Bj off was dumb.
Bakkies was missed big time
Danie is solid but had to play tight, because we had 3 wings
Fdp and Steyn seemed to be geared for a wet windy game but did not change and run the ball much
and when they kicked it was poor.
JF the best center in the world maybe ?????
November 29th, 2009 at 10:30 pm
@Heavens Game: Emotional rants like this cannot take away from the fact that FDP played kuk on this tour and it has proven what I said even during the 3N WE NEED AN ALTERNATIVE TO FDP. It is different to saying get rid of FDP totally. I’m hoping that PDV sees the light.
November 29th, 2009 at 10:30 pm
Aslo Ireland in 1st half had 60 possession
Why??? We kick away good tight ball and kick away counter attack ball
November 29th, 2009 at 10:33 pm
@Shakes:
Yes we need an option to Fdp when he is a bit off form, and we want to change things a bit
I am not sure who Not Ricky maybe Adams but he is also a bull, Hougard is like Fdp
Maybe Ruan ??????
November 29th, 2009 at 10:34 pm
skopskiet go and look at the latest copy of sarugby magazine with schalk on the cover and read the article on fourie du preez it is titled -pure genius- then you will understand the reluctance to recognise what you are suggesting. This player has been praised & given god-like status ad nauseum
November 29th, 2009 at 10:41 pm
@CoachPete: Hi Coach, I don’t get the 3 wings. Yes BJ should have stayed on. My rtings for FDP vs France and Irish are 3 and 4 repectively. MS’ goalkicking was well below his standards but his overall play is very much dictated by the ball he got from FDP. JF is strong and his running lines are that of a winger. Mind you he is not as solid as what you think in the tackle and misses many.He surely cannot be in the class of BOD, CS, SM etc
November 29th, 2009 at 10:43 pm
@Shakes:
Bekker on the wing. I counted him in back line 1st half 5 times
He plays to loose
November 29th, 2009 at 10:46 pm
@Shakes:
I rate JF very high I see a player who creates opportunitues (skalks try)
I see him making his tackles and coving like crazy.
As an ex center I rate him way up there.
He needs to see more ball and with Fdp MS and WO there in front of him he sees very little.
Ok cheers guys
November 29th, 2009 at 10:51 pm
@CoachPete: I think I said it last week Bekker is a phenomenal athlete and gets around. Not sure I agree and I actually thought he was third best behind Brussow ans SB. So if I read you correctly one of your favourites is being stifled by the best scrumhalf on the planet
November 29th, 2009 at 10:55 pm
these people are all f’ak’d in the head deluded. They seriously think because Jake White says it or because IRB think it that this one dimensional idiot is God’s gift to Sa rugby.
Yes January was head and shoulders superior to Fdp in 2008 but they couldn’t goddamn see it. They should have left January running the show behind the scrum in 2008. Had they played January throughout we would not have lost the tri nations like we did. Even Pienaar at 9 is a better option than this kicking slow serving doos at the base of the scrum.
What these twits can’t see is that it is exactly Fdp that is killing our game. They simply cannot see it but it as exactly the fact that get Fdp out of there and you will witness an entirely new proactive game plan unfold. Leave that twat *** palooka running the show behind the scrum and no way in hell do we progress from this limited dire delinquent game plan we gone and buried ourselves under. Fdp is the root cause of the entire f.ng malady see it for what it is its plain as bloody daylight. Open your infatuated rugbygod infested idolatory eyes.
November 29th, 2009 at 10:59 pm
Does anyone else think Habana’s move to WP could be due to Bulls tactics of kick everything and chase. He looked by far the most dangerous with ball in hand and maybe if the flyhalf or scrumhalf would spread the ball he’d get more chances.
November 29th, 2009 at 11:36 pm
The Springboks must have two distinct “pods.” A SH squad and a NH squad. The SH should be based around the philosophies that won 2009 3N: lineout domination, 80%+ goal-kicking and drop kicks, accurate kick ‘n chase, highly mobile pack with 4-5 “loosies” masquerading as tighties, with the dominant theme: PRESSURE. Put pressure on the other SH (or visiting NH) teams to NEVER make a mistake in their 22. It will be hard for any team, even NZ, to beat SA badly in the South with these tactics. But let this SH squad be SH–only a very few should travel with the NH group. The NH group should have a different focus and incorporate all the best Saffas up there: technical scrummagers, a real tight five (with 3-4 real backups), a running FH, a big SH, and a counterattacking FB. I think this would provide us with continuity, better EOY results, a bifurcated platform on which to build for World Cups, and better-rested Test elites.
SH XV:
Kirchner
Mapoe
Fourie
Grant
Habana
M. Steyn
F du Preez
Spies
Smith
Brussow
Matfield
Botha
Smit
Bismarck
Beast
NH XV:
F. Steyn
JPP
Brent Russell
J d V
Nokwe
Butch James
Januarie
Joe van Niekerk
Jean Deysel
Schalk Burger
Bekker
Roussouw
BJ Botha
Gary Botha
CJ van der Linde
November 29th, 2009 at 11:40 pm
The heirarchy would be Head Coach, with a Head NH Assistant and a Chief SH Assistant. SA players who go abroad to make some cash wouldn’t be lost forever and excommunicated. Rather, they would be in the mix. Depending on where the WC is, we would be ready for anything. We would always have a 8-10 player super-quality “bench” ready no matter what.
November 29th, 2009 at 11:44 pm
SH: Kick-chase, accuracy, fleet-of-foot, lineout domination, defend-to-attack, PRESSURE (on us and them), hard fields for Morne/FdP to exploit, Habana and Mapoe at speed, tried-and-tested formulae.
NH: Scrum domination by CJ/BJ, Bekker fine against fairy boys of the North, Joe = captain, attack-first, Steyn as siege gun, Butch and JdV choregraph the midfield, Russell and Januarie unpredictable, batter them all over the park.
November 29th, 2009 at 11:49 pm
@haribaldi: one season is not tried and tested ? and as the ABs have shown, they have found guys who can now catch a highball… but keep believing it, stick to your one game plan philosophy, hasnt worked in the NH and wont work next year… best you keep your fingers crossed…
November 29th, 2009 at 11:49 pm
@Shakes: It is good that FdP can play that way, but he needs to learn to vary play more.
Now its just predictable.
November 30th, 2009 at 1:16 am
From the NZ Herald by Chris Rattue about SA:
“Ireland carried the Northern Hemisphere flag at the weekend, and their victims, the world champion South Africans, are now officially wounded beasts after a very poor tour.
The Springboks have a static, limited, game plan which is difficult to beat when their players are on song.
There is a telling statistic from the first test against the Lions this year: the Springbok team made a total of 49 passes, whereas the Lions’ halfback Mike Phillips made 76 passes on his own.
The Springboks lead the rugby method which says those who kick the most, and take the fewest risks, win the most.
But their weak spots have been obvious, including when they were scoring a harder-than-expected series win over the Lions, and storming through the Tri-Nations.
They have virtually no Plan B if their Plan A, of letting the opposition make the mistakes and kicking goals, doesn’t work.
Coach Peter de Villiers is a token gesture, so they are largely self-coached by senior players who will not be harshly evaluating their own game or expanding their team’s repertoire.
Captain fantastic John Smit, or is that coach fantastic, is struggling to find his true position.
South African rugby concentration can wander and they have a different mindset from the All Blacks, who rarely drop their bundle in unexpected places.
A tour of defeats is a potential wake-up call, however. Self-rule can work superbly, but it means cracks will turn into chasms.
The question might be whether this type of regime, which always had a limited life expectancy, can hang on long enough to still be effective at the World Cup.
Then again, the tried and trusted way of winning the Webb Ellis Cup is the one at which South Africa excel, especially as they relish taking drop goals and can kick penalties from well inside their own half.”
Sums it up pretty well I reckon.