digimag-banner

Keo.co.za tour diary – Week 3

The uninspiring home of Guinness, respecting tradition and weather to make your teeth chatter.

Dublin threatens your emotional well-being. Every day began much the same, with depressingly low temperatures exacerbated by soul-destroying winds and rain that was never quite strong enough to drive you from the street, but often severe enough to sting any exposed skin. And the subzero weather on game day made winter in Bloemfontein seem like a lark on Clifton 4th. The locals tell me that in January people rarely go out at night. Not for the faint-hearted.

The worst thing about the Dublin weather is that it never lasts. Bad weather is succeeded by sunshine which lasts just long enough for you to consider changing your perception of the city’s climate. As soon as that decision’s made, it’s clouded over again, the wind’s picked up and rain is inevitably on the way. It’s little wonder the locals seek refuge in the more consistent climes of bars and pubs.

Like the walkways of London and Toulouse, the city’s streets are constantly congested, the bustle of the famous Grafton Street sure to claim you if you’re not paying attention. Rain or shine, performers and singers entertain passers-by with popular renditions of English and native Gaelic songs, and the traditional Irish music is prominent.

Dublin city centre is not a big place, which made Saffa spotting easier than usual. By Friday, you couldn’t go anywhere without seeing a green and gold jersey or hearing an Afrikaans phrase. Traipsing around town, you’re also likely to see a few Irish players going about there business, Tommy Bowe and Tomas O’Leary just a couple who were spotted.

South Africa has its fair share of adverts featuring famous sportsmen. You’ll all remember the “Schalk Burger Burger” ad for Steers, and will have seen the hilarious Bic shaving ads with the Beast. In Ireland, they don’t recruit the national stars unless it’s really important. ‘Get behind Ireland’s dairy farmers, I do,’ advises Paul O’Connell before chugging a glass of milk.

Peter de Villiers said he was sick and tired of all the physicality talk in the build up to the Ireland game. Nobody asked him if the Irish were physical afterward, but everyone asked the hosts about the Boks’ belligerent approach. No 8 Jamie Heaslip, who’ll give as good as he gets on the pitch, had this for an answer: ‘Well they’ll never be accused of being ladyboys, now will they?’

Dublin’s an old city with plenty of cultural sites to explore. Fans of writers James Joyce and William Butler Yeats may opt to pay homage at the respective museums and exhibits, while those at the other end of the culture scale will take a leisurely stroll out to the Guinness Storehouse. I wish I could say the latter visit was amazing, but you can only get so excited about brewery processes. One thing is for certain, however – Guinness tastes a whole lot better when you’re in Ireland.

Croke Park crammed in 75 000 people for Saturday’s game, and the majority of the crowd managed to respect tradition. Throughout most stadiums in Europe, you can hear a pin drop when a kicker – from the home or local side – lines up a shot at goal. It’s something South African fans will never get used to. On this tour alone, these moments have been marred by loutish cries of ‘Bokke!’ and ‘Miss, miss!’ At the Stade Velodrome in Marseille, the crowd sat in awed silence in order to appreciate the haka. When the All Blacks perform their traditional war dance in South Africa, it’s usually drowned out by cries of ‘Ole, ole, ole!’ I suppose you have to allow for freedom of speech, but those who come to the respective rugby grounds to appreciate these traditions are ultimately the ones who lose out.

By Jon Cardinelli, in Dublin

114 Responses to “Keo.co.za tour diary – Week 3”

• 51. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

Lions vs Trinations would be good.

A coach voting system could be used. Each Nations Coach could select 3 players for a positons (from all of the teams).

Players with most votes would have the position.

The coach who wins the Tri-nations would cosch the team for that year.

That should get away from the bitching about positions

• 52. muffyReply to this comment :

Wouldnt rate the NH chances much! Toughest choice…McCaw Brussow Pocock and Smith…now there is a debate that will rage! I thought Pocock was top flanker on show this weekend. But the other guys can be the best on any other day too. SH has the top 4 flankers in the world

re the BBs Aus game, When I saw that first drop goal attempt I nearly dropped my beer, where in the history of Baa baas do you attempt a drop goal absolute disgrace to the tradition of BBs and rugby.

• 53. Kennedy111Reply to this comment :

@ Valkyrie and others..

Why all this hate folks?As a irish person i have to say that saffer rugby fans are the best ones ive ever been out drinking with.. good fun, can hold their drink and have top accents to boot!

of course dublin is miserable in late november..its the middle of winter..what did you expect!!nearly all nh countries are cold and **** late nov!! and i was in cape town in sh winter before.. it wasnt much better!

thought it was a great win yesterday and im pleased with irelands emergence as a force.. i do think SA deserve IRB team of the year with our coach getting coach of the year.. pretty fair if you ask me..

the only robbery was that bod or FDP didnt get player of the year..

• 54. muffyReply to this comment :

In Cape town you have to be there last week…that’s when the weather is great:)

• 55. Kennedy111Reply to this comment :

p.s Valkyrie

The KKK were not formed by irish people. they hated the irish because they loathed catholics.. get your history right before making absurd false history facts

• 56. Kennedy111Reply to this comment :

Muffy

Sounds good!! My uncle lives there..emigrated there in the 60’s. he loves it. i should really take him up on his offer to visit there in january!

• 57. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@muffy: Would be an interesting thought experiment, all 3 coaches getting together and voting for those players – Henry = McCaw, PdV = Brossouw, Deans = Pocock, bt who would each of these coaches pick as their 2nd best player, I suspect Deans and PdV would pick McCaw. This would make him the majority pick. Anyway nice to speculate on something fans would want – A proper “World Series” Event, instead of the S15 **** coming to everyone next year

• 58. sharks_loverReply to this comment :

@Kennedy111: kenedy good day mate

best to ignore some mate as they only here with tripple agenda’s never mind double

they racist delux that firstly think they know everything and 2ndly try to make others out to be racist whilst they the ones that always bring the race subject onto a rugby site

ur honesty is refreshing and good to see a good sportsman on here

cheers mate congrats on ur team they played good footy and showed heart

• 59. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@Kennedy111: Spot on, my Irish brother in Rugby. Don’t like BOD and PoC as much as you probably dislike Schalk and Bakkies, though.

• 60. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Kennedy111: Bud. Valkyrie is pure and utter racist gutter trash. No reflection on you, your rugby team or your country(men). Or normal South Africans. Who in the main actually love Ireland & the Irish.

He is a troll in the cyber and literal sense.

Ignore him.

Well done to your team yesterday.

• 61. DrexelReply to this comment :

Valkyrie is blindly ignorant

• 62. Kennedy111Reply to this comment :

@ Heavens game and Shark lover

Cheers lads..good posts..its always a select few that can irk all on these blogs..

re bakkies and burger.. i actually really like them.. i wish they were irish : ) superb rugby players who know how to get in your face.. my kind of rugby players!I think every irish rugby fan feels the same!

I was at croke park yesterday(freezing my nuts off)and sitting in front of us were some saffer fans with a home made banner stating “If you want a good facial massage just ask Schalk!”
    haha! i thought it was hilarious and it was met with good spirt by all.

im still in shock tho with the player of the year award.. Mccaw is an awesome player but FDP and BOD were the stand out choices.. its also a crime that Brussow wasn’t even nonimated!!

• 63. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Heavens Game: Nice idea.

15. F. Steyn
    14. Sivivatu
    13. Conrad Smith
    12. Barnes
    11. Habana

10. Carter
    9. FdP

8. Spies
    7. Brussow (very hard – McCaw & Pocock are excellent – but I am South African)
    6. Juan Smith

5. Matfield
    4. Bakkies

3. Benn
    2. Smit (c)
    1. Ben

• 64. Kennedy111Reply to this comment :

Cheers sodajoe…

• 65. sidelineReply to this comment :

JC’s arrticle reminds me of the WWF… load of hot air for the ignorant. Ireland won (well done Ireland)… but we will be back … Bokke fans – when we see what it means to the teams that beat us we should take pride in the fact that we are seen as hard to beat and refine our skills to get back to doing what we historically do best – WIN !!

• 66. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: The Bench

Beast
    Biz
    McCaw
    1 x lock – no one exceptional really.
    Giteau
    Mils
    Genia

• 67. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: Cool team, but in the tradition of rugby debate I would differ on Brussouw (McCaw – Captain), Smith (Elsom), Smit (Bismarck) but all hard choices.

I would put Smit on the Bench – he would be a great reserve and he adds more to a team than play on field. Sometimes I wish the Springboks didnt have to choose between Bismarck and Smit. But in a Bok situation it seems best to have Smit at hooker with Bismarck on the bench (Although Bismarck is a massive player, Smit has X factor leadership – glue that holds the Boks together on field.)

He is in the mould of past great captains like De Villiers, Du Plessis, Pienaar, Teichmann who were not the stars of their respective sides.

• 68. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@Kennedy111: The shock of IRB player of the year award is nothing compared to when Shane Williams recieved the award.

I think overall the awards were fair. Kidney has made a huge difference with the Irish team (remember they did struggle against Georgia and did not reach the knockout of the World Cup). From that debacle to 6 Nations champs is very good.

He also seems to have a good team around him – the best managers always pick good people to support them.

• 69. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Heavens Game: Elsom is a very close debate, I agree.

I think Biz has been poor this year, but better than anyone from NZ or Australia. Smit better.

I think Brussow outplayed Richie in Tri-Nations.

• 70. muffyReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: Now you are asking for a fight:) Not a bad team but….

No Bakkies….rather play with 14 men. No other 4 stands out at the moment.

Wycliff Palu in 8 on current form.

we will leave the 7 discussion alone, as that is geographically biased for everyone.

Hooker I would have Andrew Hore, very underrated IMO and an excellent ball thief

6 is also up for discussion…

• 71. RobzimReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

No man, u not serious.

McCaw offers much more than Brussouw. Not even worth a debate.
    He should also be the captain.

JS will not make the Wallabie or Kiwi team on merit as a hooker.
    On his only appearance as hooker this season the Irishman Flannery outshoned him in all aspects of play.

Rocky Elsom is also much better than Juan Smit who is not any more the player he used to be.

Your team should be called the Soda Joe Barbarians :)

• 72. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@muffy: Muffdiver. LOL. Thought it might start a debate!

Spies outplayed all 8’s in both S14 & 3N, behind backpedaling packs, still potentially the most dangerous 8 in the game alongside Parisse.

7 is open debate – I agree.

Hore was diabolical in 3N – pure rubbish – how Henry thinks he is better than De Melmanche is beyond me.

• 73. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Robzim: Robbie.

Aus & NZ hookers very poor, would not make the Bok side.

The Diamond outplayed Richie head to head. S14 & 3N.

Elsom vs Juan – I agree – Rocky can have it. I like him.

• 74. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@Robzim: @SodaJoe: At least this forum has turned in to a rugger debate. The trash that was spouted earlier was disgusting

• 75. RobzimReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

Joe, u must remember that Richie came back from injury and only hit form later in the season.
    Yesterday against the French he was back to his brilliant best – Brussow was never at that level – he only fetches, while Ricky does a lot of other things as well.

Anyway, I am glad the international season is over – it was getting bad for us.

Looking forward to the Super 14. (Habana, Fourie , Stormers etc….)

• 76. muffyReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: “Rocky can have it. I like him.”

LOL Very magnanimous of you

Am I the only one that rates Hore…I always get the raised eybrow with that… Also Ashley Cooper in 15…not a goal kicker, but always there sorting out whatever mess the Aussies have got themselves into.

The problem I have with Spies is exactly as you said “still potentially the most dangerous 8 in the game” when he reaches his potential, then he can play. I would rather put…wait for it .. Juan Smith at 8 and Rocky at 6 or visa versa.

• 77. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: Oh well, Smit could start – good to have 2 great Captains on the field at the same time, but Bismarck would be an impressive impact player.

I wonder who Deans or Henry would pick if they had the choice? Bismarck or Smit

• 78. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Robzim: You have a point. Richie was incredible linking yesterday, brilliant.

Brussow is not bad at link play though. But he is pretty single-minded on the pill I agree.

But watching Daniel laugh and smile as he tore France to shreds was terrific.

I also think the Aussie team showed great team spirit with their moustaches, it’s small things that build a team.

Gits is a brilliant 12 imo. Deans has some thinking, but swapping Barnes & Giteau around might well work.

• 79. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@Robzim: Its Super 15 now – I think most Saffers will be pleasantly disgusted at the format of this competition – very obviously to the benefit of Aus who now will have a domestic comp that counts.

Prepare for the demise of the Currie Cup

• 80. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@muffy: I like A-C too, but Steyn is better. And can kick a rugby ball 60m, off the ground.

• 81. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Heavens Game: Henry would pick Smit, Deans would pick Biz.

• 82. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@muffy: Pierre Spies behind a dominant pack will be unstoppable.

• 83. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: So, if all coaches of Tri-nations have an equal say, who would PdV pick?
    Biz? That would mean he would be first choice.

• 84. RobzimReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe:

Yip, I am a huge fan of Giteau but Daniel C proved his credentials yesterday. He was just amazing.

We need to come up with a few new ideas. The kick and chase will not be enough to win another wc. Rob Kearny showed yesterday how to deal with that. The other teams would have taken notice.

The Irish hooker Flannery and Conrad Smith of NZ were the two other players who impressed me a lot yesterday.

• 85. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Heavens Game: I hope not. Didn’t yesterday and our scrum was great. But he has been in 2 minds since RWC, so I don’t have too much faith.

• 86. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Robzim: Flannery was in heaps of trouble before we took BJ off.

Smith is the most underrated player in NZ (maybe that last name is a curse – Juan Smith is perhaps equally underrated).

Kearney – exactly – fearless and very hard to stop at pace.

My sense is by 2011 we are going to see backline players get much much bigger.

Sexton is also a very large lad, great game too. Fkr.

• 87. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@muffy: Again, I wonder who Henry or Deans would pick at 8 if they had a choice of all Tri Nations players. I think they would both jump at including Spies.

Spies, Elsom, McCaw – that is an awesome backrow.

What would a Lions backrow be? Wait, we know – Croft, Ginger and Heaslip.

Which would you rather have?

• 88. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: Its a difficult choice, similar to Skinstad/Teichmann.

Maybe a lesson can be learned from where that choice took the Springboks.

• 89. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@Heavens Game: That’s a helluva back row. Honestly.

Croft, Ferris, Ryan Jones for me. Heaslip off the bench. very big very fast. Perhaps weak against Richie on the ground.

• 90. grant10Reply to this comment :

Hi chaps.

Rumours doing the rounds that Bissy may be a Lion soon….watch this space.

Also Lions apparently gonna surprise with some saffa abroad signings as well as a couple of overseas players…..

I reckon Muir was hard at it while in Europe…..

Soda….how cool was it seeing a Bok scrum going forward again?

Pity we lost the plot 2 nd half….imagine Spies off the back of that dominant scrum…

• 91. muffyReply to this comment :

Biz to play, Macaw to captain..probably the best trade off.

Frans has more talent too, but hot and cold, rather the security of A-C, never does anything wrong. (bet he was the teachers pet while Frans was in detention at school)

Amazing that there is no mention of George smith yet…has he past it? Not if the wales game was anything to go by.

Lock? we will have to clone Vic and have 2 of them

• 92. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: Howzit boet. You calming down now?

Our scrum looked great. Thought BJ was fine all round too, although I know Bushy feels otherwise.

Spies behind a powerful pack would be devastating.

Lions will have to do a lot of work, in almost every position.

Lets wait & see.

• 93. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@grant10: I dont think Bismarck would leave the Sharks.

It would be surprising if Muitr managed to entice guys away from GP or Top 14 teams.

Why?
    1. Money (I don’t think the Lions could afford it)
    2. Crowds (Take a look at Rugbydump for videos of the Top 14). The French put the Super 14 to shame and with the lack of crowds in the Currie Cup they are beginning to put that to shame too.

Also you will find a lot of ex-Lions playing in the GP – just look at Saracens. Why in their right minds would they move back to the Lions – what has changed? **** Muir as coach? I dont think the likes of Ernst Joubert or Schalk Britz would move back for Muir.
    Britz has been rated the best buy of any Premiership club by Will Greenwood on Sky.
    Brad Barrit would not move back – he is in the England high performance squad.
    Sowerby wouldn’t.
    I ahev seen a player called Sam Gerber playing very well in the Top 14 – he wont move back.

• 94. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: I am cool….Bushy must have been watching some other match in a paralell universe…..all i know is for 50 minutes, without Bakkies, i saw a bok scrum in total command….and i was thrilled.

Why PDV went an d undermined our 1 area of domination only he knows…..

I tell you Soda, in hindsight with that go forward scrum ball, i would of played Kanko…..with his pace he could of picked and flew….as opposed top pick and drive….if you get my drift…..

Smit must stay at 2 ….no question.

CJ at 1 also appeared strong….the benefit of this tour for me is that we have taken steps to fix up a huge part of our weakness…..

I am starting to come round to skops sentiment on the 9 and 10 axis being a problem area….with that platform they should of done better yesterday.

• 95. grant10Reply to this comment :

@Heavens Game: dont know detail….suggest you pop in at the we talk rugby site….those okes are in the know….no bullshit there….and always have inside info.

Bissy, Burden and Smitty at 2 in the tank???

• 96. Heavens GameReply to this comment :

@muffy: Bakkies + Matfield = Lock Combination. Both together are greater than the sum of their parts. Same as Jones + Brooke and Eales + McCall

• 97. Kennedy111Reply to this comment :

@ Heavens game

It was an appalling decision to award shane williams player of the year last time around.. this years decison also discredits the whole meaning/accuracy of the award..

Yeah kidney has done very well.. especially in getting gert smal as our forwards coach : )

I read alot of these blog comments with interest. i think SA are in great shape for 2011. Your defense is world class(just look at yesterday) and i thought you guys were awesome in the tri nations and in the first/second lions tests. i think players like spies, brussow and M steyn have alot more to offer(which worries me as an opposition fan!)

also i don’t care what anyone says but SA were tired yesterday.. after the S14, lions tests, tri nations, currie cup and other autumn international games..its bound to take its toll.. they are only human after all..

• 98. SodaJoeReply to this comment :

@grant10: Bud, having differences of opinion is healthy, out and out slanging matches online was not cool. But heat of the moment stuff.

We have to keep a dominant scrum. CJ wa great for the lttle time he was on at 1 (I always thought he was better at 1).

I would have moved Brussow to 8 (where he often packs for Cheaters) and Burger to 6 and Desyel vs Potgieter (who truthfully has looked awfully average this tour).

I have no issues with 9 & 10, they need to watch video and see that they lack variation, they have the talent to change gameplan, and Smit is not that dof – he needs to change calls too. We have a terrific backline. (although JPP seems to go to sleep sometimes).

• 99. CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)Reply to this comment :

Why not have a 6,7,8 combo of Brussow,McCaw and Spies. Best of both worlds. Would give McCaw a bit more room to run with the ball.

Backs:

FDP
    Carter
    Sivi
    Nono (Had a great game against France)
    Fourie
    Habana
    Mils

• 100. grant10Reply to this comment :

@SodaJoe: Ja….Bushy got up my nose…couldnt believe that anyone could be critical of BJ after virtually single handed ….without Bakkies….turning around the fortunes of a Bok scrum…..the 20 min against Italy was proof….then the 50 yesterday just unreal….for anyone to slag off Bj was…in my opinion….just crazy…..and ja….it pissed me off badly.

PDV really must up his hame when it comes to substitutions….BJ was actually an attacking edge for Boks…after he left it was nothing more than parity.

MS and FDP are talented….but need to lift it…..i know fatigue a factor…..

2010 gonna be a very interesing year….PDV on rugby 365 says he wont let this team become an england post 2003 and that new blood required…winds of change.

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator