Bulls look at Barry

De Wet Barry says he could feature for the Bulls in next year’s Super 14 as he is a late addition to their provisional squad.

The former Springbok centre returned to South Africa last season after his stint in Europe with English club Harlequins and now plays for Eastern Province in the Currie Cup First Division.

Barry confirmed he will be available for the Bulls during the Super 14 and will return to EP after the competition.

‘At the moment, I’ve been added to their Super 14 provisional squad and have been talking to [Bulls backline coach] Pieter Rossouw,’ he told keo.co.za.

‘At the moment it’s not certain if I will play, but it would be great to be given the opportunity to be part of a successful team like the Bulls.’

Team manager Wynie Strydom also told this site that he believes the Pretoria franchise would welcome Barry.

‘De Wet is a great player,’ Strydom said. ‘He will be a great asset for us and I definitely would like to see him in a Bulls’ shirt next year.’

65 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

think im gonna be sick

• 2.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

What about the Sharks De Wet?

• 3.ShaunMichaels: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): We could use him, far sight better than anything else that we have at the moment!

• 4.Dumb Supporter: Reply to this comment

Funny how many people say it is better for guys who are not pushing for a place in the Bok 1st fifteen like De Wet, Stephan Terblanche, Percy, Jaco vdW and Gary Botha to go overseas. Words like ‘good riddance’ are often used.

However when they decide to come back, they often walk into the S14 first teams.

If their initial departure leaves the country worse off, why are so many people happy to see them go?

• 5.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@Dumb Supporter: because people are, as a rule, quite fickle.

Also, not always very intelligent :)

• 6.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

De Wet a Bull?

Say it isn’t so!!! :)

• 7.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@robdylan: Hey Rob, Grant and his Cape Fairies are trying to start a koo against John Smit. Alla Solomons and province vs Teichman.

• 8.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The Wet Barry makes one-dimensional rugby seem like astrophysics. The Wet Barry is half-dimensional. You’d need to clone him and double him up to get up to one-dimensional.

(And isn’t he close to about 50 years old by now? Must have good grease on his zimmer-frame wheels…)

• 9.Provincejoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Ai Ja, first Hottie Louw, then De Wet.

• 10.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i thought the blue bulls had closed their chequebook? Well the sleeping sharks lose out, now they will have play those donkeys strauss & swanepoel!!!

• 11.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): “Cape Fairies are trying to start a koo …”

Yet another jam factory, hey?

• 12.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler:

Absolutely, remind me a lot of Nonu.

If he does not have a smaller guy to run over he is pretty much useless.

• 13.wpw: Reply to this comment

Why contract an over the hill 33 year old when you have the likes of Stefan Watermeyer available??

How long has Stefan been waiting in the wings??

A team like the Sharks should definitely make a bid or check if his contract is legal. :mrgreen:

• 14.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@TheTackler: Exactly!

• 15.Charlie: Reply to this comment

@wpw: twisted:

• 16.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

You are an idiot, your comments are becoming boring, you cannot see past the Sharks, it’s Sharks fist Boks second with you.

Grow up man, if you cannot debate in an adult fashion then rather go blog somewhere else, how old are you ??

• 17.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

I reckon Johan Ackerman & **** Muir might be player coach’s at the Lions at this rate.

The Wet is past it.

• 18.Bouts: Reply to this comment

Come on guys. He will most probably be playing Vodacom Cup. Can’t see him playing in the S14 next season.

DB, he was a good player, even with his one-dimensional play, when he had pace and intensity added to his play. Now he simply goes through the motions.

• 19.Charlie: Reply to this comment

@Charlie: :twisted:

• 20.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

I wonder if he has learnt not to be a dirty player. Fit in well with the Bulls culture then. Dewet no arms Barry makes James look look a fairy.

• 21.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Wacko Jaco + De Wet = 49 – 0 (obviously an unperforming forward pack contributed too)

• 22.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Added depth is always good. And I expect that a lot of the Boks will have to be managed well next season. So we might see Olivier rested for a few games. Not to mention if Wynand gets injured, then we’re stuck with limited backup at centre.

Bulls are building a nice squad for the defense of their trophy.

Which brins me to the ultimate point of my post – seems like De Wet realised which team he has to play for to taste S14 success at least once in his long career!

• 23.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

De Wet will be a great mentor for Meisiekind. They can swap notes from their attacking playbooks.

• 24.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Lions_Soutie:

Are you sure De Wet was at 12??

I thought it was Wynand Olivier and Jaque Fourie as our centres!!!

• 25.Staal: Reply to this comment

O Bloed – seker net vir CC want die jong manne is IMO heelwat beter.

Bulls are scraping the barrel here.

• 26.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Not sure WPW, all I know is from that game Barry/Joubert were over and De Villiers/Mossie came into being. Spies debut’d, Joe played fetcher, eish!

• 27.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: No actually boks 1st and I don’t know what my age has to do with anything, but lets just say I have lived down in your part of the world and have fond, but distant memories of UCT.

• 28.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

Springboks who lost 49-0 to Aussie in 2006. De Wet was long gone.

Os du Randt
    John Smit (c)
    CJ van der Linde
    Danie Rossouw
    Victor Matfield
    Joe van Niekerk
    Juan Smith
    Pierre Spies
    Ricky Januarie
    Jaco van der Westhuyzen
    Bryan Habana
    Wynand Olivier
    Jaque Fourie
    Akona Ndungane
    Percy Montgomery

• 29.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Your comments about Grant, Rob and CT fairies was very childish, hence the age question !!

How may more times do we need to say that if Smit stays at 2 he can go on to the WC as he is a very good hooker a great captain, and if we can rotate JS and Bissy then surely it is a win win situation ? , but never again as a 3.

If this is not now obvious to even the most ardent Shark fan then it is an IQ problem !!

• 30.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Lions_Soutie:

Nah dude, I think you are mistaken.

JDV and Mossie’s partnership began in 2005 when we played Aus at Ellis Park.

The 0-49 game was in 2006.

I am pretty certain Wynand and Fourie started at 12 and 13.

• 31.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009:

Thanks boet but I’m pretty sure Breytie played in that game!!!

• 32.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

I didn’t realise the Bulls were that desperate.

• 33.Provincejoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@wpw: Breytie was def there, one of the okes in k@k for “laughing” after the game.

• 34.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 1stly, Grant10, lost the moral high ground, months ago when he started using childish slating against me, so you can call it childish, but the fact Solomons and his Cape Cronies ousted a great SA captain in Teichman on the eve of a WC, puts my statement into context. And considering rumblings are that John Smit should retire or stop playing TH altogether (mostly from CT), thus leading his career to an early end I don’t really care how childish I am being, the madness must stop.

By the way, Smit had his worst game of the season playing at Hooker. I’m not saying BJ isn’t much better than him, I’m just suggesting that he NEEDS to be versatile if he is to make it to 2011 and we need him on the field. BTW Ireland have a poor scrumming unit, the wallabies shunted them too.

• 35.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

Loose-head Prop Os du Randt Cheetahs 33 64
    Hooker (C) John Smit Sharks 28 54
    Tight-head Prop CJ van der Linde Cheetahs 25 26
    Lock Danie Rossouw Blue Bulls 28 16
    Lock Victor Matfield Blue Bulls 29 48
    Flank Joe van Niekerk WP 26 43
    Flank Juan Smith Cheetahs 24 24
    Eighthman Pierre Spies Blue Bulls 21 0
    Scrumhalf Enrico Januarie Lions 24 11
    Flyhalf Jaco van der Westhuyzen NEC 28 31
    Left Wing Bryan Habana Blue Bulls 23 17
    Inside Centre Wynand Olivier Blue Bulls 22 3
    Outside Centre Jaque Fourie Lions 23 20
    Right Wing Akona Ndungane Blue Bulls 25 0
    Full Back Percy Montgomery Sharks 32 76
    Reserve Jacques Cronjé Blue Bulls 23 22
    Reserve Albert van den Berg Sharks 32 35
    Reserve Eddie Andrews WP 29 19
    Reserve Danie Coetzee Lon Irish 28 14
    Reserve Fourie du Preez Blue Bulls 24 24
    Reserve Meyer Bosman Cheetahs 21 2
    Reserve Breyton Paulse Clermont 30 58

• 36.puff: Reply to this comment

1. Steenkamp
    2. Ralepelle
    3. Kruger
    4. Botha
    5. Matfield
    6. Kuun
    7. Potgieter
    8. Spies
    9. Du Preez
    10. Steyn
    11. Habana
    12. Olivier
    13. Pretorius
    14. Ndungane
    15. Kirchner
    16. Engels
    17. Botha
    18. Rossouw
    19. Van Der Merwe
    20. Steenkamp
    21. Stegman
    22. Rossouw
    23. Wannenberg
    24. Adams
    25. Potgieter
    26. Van Den Heever
    27. Barry
    28. Hougaard
    29. Mangweni
    30. Van Der Westhuyzen

31. Greyling
    32. Maku
    33. De Klerk
    34. Mabeta
    35. Van Schalkwyk
    36. Van Velze
    37. Brummer
    38. Watermeyer
    39. Diepenaar

• 37.puff: Reply to this comment

Correction

18. Rossouw

Should be Roux

• 38.Charlie: Reply to this comment

Bulls look at De Wet Berry…Sharks @ Marius Joubert :roll:

• 39.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): LOL….Even when i am not around i seem to get flak …..

Keep Smit at 3 at Sharks with pleasure….especially against Stormers…..

Please not for Boks though…..

And sorry if i slagged you in the past…

• 40.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Mallet has said that he erred in dropping Teichman for Bob, note MALLET said !!!!. Do you really think that Mallet is the type of person that will allow anybody to influence his thinking. I suggest you read the book Nick and I.

Solomons might have pushed for Bobs inclusion, Bob was playing unbelievable rugby and putting the pressure on all and sundry, prior to his infamous injury. B

JS might of had a bad game but the scrums were impressive, yes against an average Irish scrumming side, when JS went to TH we suddenly looked vulnerable at this facet again.

I am not one who believes JS has to be on the field all the time bexuase of his captaincy…..what absolute narrow minded bullshit !!

The side has numerous candidates that can deputise when JS leaves the field.

• 41.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: JR you have to admit one thing after Saturday and that is that dominance at scrum time doesn’t necessarily translate into points dominance. Cue : Australia whip the Irish in the scrums yet draw and the Bokke do the same and lose. Where did they both lose the game – in not being able to break down a very good Irish defence. Now how many games have we won in the same fashion. We have to get over this brute strength wins game concept and get some intelligent players in there. Our players cannot make decisions on the field under pressure and its getting worse beacuse of the current game plan. Heaslip said it when he stated that the Boks do the same thing over and over and keep coming at you in the same way or something to that effect.

I agree with someone who said that JS had one of his worst games this season as did VM,FDP and MS. You could see in the scrums that we were trying to psyche the Irish out by pushing them back metres instead of getting quick ball to the backs, again this Brute Strength mentality.

• 42.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:

Yep Trans… Was also thinking that… the Bulls had done their buying and that was that…

Strange how the bloggers don’t react when the Bulls speak with forked tongue… But slam guys like Habana and Fourie and Rassie etc…

• 43.grant10: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: i think if we knew we were gonna dominate at scrum time we would of played Kanko….he would of shone getting that go forward scrum ball.

• 44.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

But surely we did not lose because of a dominant scrum ??

Nobody has ever said a dominant scrum alone will win you matches !!

The scum gave us an attacking advantage on Sat, the fact that we never capatalised on it and that other aspects of our game and game plan never worked was the problem.

• 45.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@grant10: I saw posts of yours saying it was time for JS to retire? You must be happy your campaign is gathering momentum?

Personally I believe, JS must remain, so he must improve his scrumming at TH. If this means the Sharks are weaker for playing him there, then so be it. SA before Sharks. BJ is awesome, need him come WC time. CJs strength has been exposed. He has a similar build to JS and will therefore suffer against similar players that expose Smit. BJ on the bench for insurance. Bring him on early if need be. SA based TH are greenhorns, need a couple more seasons, should have taken WP Nel for dirt-tracker experience though.

• 46.Javelin: Reply to this comment

Sies. De Wet Barry in ons hemelblou trui. Think I’m gonna make like luke.

• 47.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: So you’ve answered why we didn’t do that well despite a great scrum. What about the Ozzies against the Irish then?

• 48.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Smit must compete for 2 spot at Boks…if he is good enough [ personally i think he is ] then he must play.

CJ,BJ or WP Nel at 3…never Smit….he is and never will be a tighthead international prop.

If the Sharks want to play him at 3…cool…no stress for me….if boks play him at 3 i fear for my health….heart may fail!

• 49.WP_: Reply to this comment

Great player De Wet. I’ll be glad for him if he gets a good chance over there.

Always sickening to see a WP boy in a Bulls shirt! Aaargh!

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: Let me get you straight….are you actually saying its better to have a retreating scrum??

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.