digimag-banner

Smit whipping Joost

John Smit’s autobiography is leaving Joost van der Westhuizen’s tell-all tale in its wake in terms of sales.

Smit’s Captain in the Cauldron, published by Highbury Safika Media, was released a fortnight ago, shortly before Van der Westhuizen’s Man in the Mirror – the book in which the former Springbok scrumhalf details, among other things, his adulterous affair and drug taking with a stripper.

However, it seems the South African public are more taken with Smit’s story, which traces his rise to prominence and the challenges and highlights along the journey, as well as addressing contentious issues, such as Luke Watson’s adverse influence on the squad.

Captain in the Cauldron is rated as No 1 on Exclusive Books’ Top 10 list, ahead of worldwide bestsellers like The girl with the dragon tattoo and New Moon, while Man in the Mirror pales in comparative sales, despite the publishers being quick to point out that they had sold out their initial print run of 7000 copies.

On Saturday the Weekend Argus reported that Exclusive Books had sold more than 6 435 copies of Smit’s book in the 10 days preceding the story alone.

The paper quoted Hyde Park store manager John Fawcett-Peck saying: ‘It has been flying out of the stores. At our store, Captain in the Cauldron is far bigger than Joost’s book. Joost’s book just hasn’t compared to John’s book.’

The book shop sold 200 copies of Smit’s book in just nine days. Van der Westhuizen’s book, on the other hand, has only sold 31 copies in four weeks at that branch.

Smit has even outsold Van der Westhuizen in Pretoria, where he is still revered for his feats with the Bulls and Springboks. Brooklyn Exclusive Books store manager Tertia Koegelenbert said they had had to reorder Smit’s book three times.

‘We didn’t expect Joost’s English version to do too well. The Afrikaans is doing much better. But I don’t think you can compare the two. Smit went to Boys’ High and that is in my catchment area,’ she said.

‘We have a strong Afrikaans market, but it is older and more intellectual. John’s book sold 91 copies in the first day. I’ve had coaches of rugby teams coming in for 18 copies. It is a rugby book about a hero. Joost’s is not a rugby book.’

The paper further reported a specialist buyer at CNA saying Smit’s book had much higher sale figures.

38 Responses to “Smit whipping Joost”

• 1. DEE DAHReply to this comment :

No surprises there. Joost has told so many lies nobody wants to buy a “non fiction” book written by him.
    He should have marketed the book as a work of fiction and retained some integrity.

• 2. KietzphatReply to this comment :

I bought Smit’s book in the morning on my way to a flight on a whim… Finished it later that day. Highly Recommended.

• 3. Gambit25Reply to this comment :

Captain in the Cauldron is exactly that… ” It is a rugby book about a hero.”

I am hoping that John will publish at least 1 more book once he’s retired. Would love to read about the past tour in Europe(as bad as it was) and also whatever lies ahead for him.

• 4. TacitusReply to this comment :

What exactly is the point of this article?

I didn’t buy either of the two books – although I did read select exerpts of Smit’s book while browsing around in Exclusive Books.

Joost’s book by all accounts covers pretty much nothing new other than apparent references to his private life – which I’m not interested in. John’s in contrast discusses Luke Watson, Jake White, Piet Snor and other contemprorary issues.

The point is, other than trying to rile up Afrikaans readers, people from Pretoria or Bulls supporters in general, what the heck does it matter which book sells more copies?

Or is the aim to make us apologize for supporting Joost while he was at the height of his career? If so, sorry, don’t know what came over me.

But in any case, let me then be the first to congratulate Ryan and his handlers at HSM. Your book sold more copies. Now let’s hope you don’t injure yourselves in the frenzy of mutual backslapping that is apparently underway due to this “surprising” news.

• 5. WP Till I DieReply to this comment :

Is this a case of Highbury Safika Media beating their chests a bit?

Congratulations, Ryan, Keo et al.

Now, what’s the point?

• 6. wpwReply to this comment :

@Tacitus:

You Afrikaners are so sensitive!! :mrgreen:

• 7. geckoReply to this comment :

‘Smit whipping Joost’ – another *** video?

• 8. JavelinReply to this comment :

Ek is bly Joost s’n verkoop so sleg. Hoe kan ons enigsins glo wat in die boek staan???

En ek is ‘n groot Bul ondersteuner. John Smit – tot op hede – het nog net goeie dinge gedoen. Aan die ander kant, tot op dieselfde stadium in sy loopbaan was Joost ook redelik skoon.

Ek glo darem nie John sal dieselfde padjie volg nie?

• 9. klippies101Reply to this comment :

i want both books

• 10. rossoneriReply to this comment :

@klippies101: This is a **** thread.

• 11. seamusReply to this comment :

@Tacitus:

“the frenzy of mutual backslapping” – LMAO

• 12. 4manReply to this comment :

@gecko: Now THAT is the best comment I have seen about this article…Us Saffas take ourselves so seriously. John Smit is a nice guy, I suspect after he retires he will stay a nice guy and become a big man in Rugby in the world, his leadership of the Boks where the captains job is a poisoned chalice, much like the coaches job, has been exemplary and speaks tons of his ability as a peoples person. Joost was a fantastic rugby player, who has lost himself a little bit since he stopped playing (think of James Small and the English footballer Paul Gascoigne)as one is no longer the centre of attention.
    personally I think Joost will come around, he comes from good stock and a good sensible ordinary family. He hasnt been our greatest scrummie though, our current one is….and i was shot down in flames about 3 years ago when I stated that on this website. Personally I think it will be enormously hard for anyone to surpass Fourie du Preez in the years to come…but in my opinion if Joost were playing today at his best, he would be in Europe as he wouldnt get a chance to sit on the bench, as that appears to be reserved for another has been or never was….a guy like Jano Vermaak should have had his chance a couple of years ago already.

Now the guy from my team…Kocket the pocket rocket with the short fuse….until he gets that temper under control, they mustnt let him near a Bok jersey. FDP dictates games…Kocket gets the moer in when he doesnt get his way…like aq petulant child (bit harsh, but there we are on that big stage, you cant hide away).

• 13. Cheetha ChampsReply to this comment :

When i saw the headline i thought Joost bedded Smit as well, and it involved whips !!!

I would buy Joost’s books if it has a “tasteful” photo of Charmaine Gayle Weavers in. What a cracker….

• 14. BALLER canREADYReply to this comment :

personally i dont care for all the politics involved with who’s behind the books etc.

but based on the sales themselves, personally i feel joost realised he had a story that the public were going to find out one way or another(the scandal), and decided that he should be the one to make the revenue on it as opposed to heat mag etc. therefore we have the man in the mirror.

Being a rugby lover doesnt make me a drama lover. so im not interested in man in the mirror just because the drama involves a rugby hero.

I read captain in the cauldron in 2 days, and enjoyed it as it was a rugby book.

the other difference between the books is that smit’s book is written in the first person which makes it feel like smit is telling u his story personally.how many of us wouldn’t love to sit down and have a personal chat with him?
    Joost’s book is written in a way that the writer is talking about him and makes it feel like an article about him,it seperates joost from the book.

has anybody read percy’s book?thinking about getting it but not sure if its a good one?

• 15. cabReply to this comment :

glad to see a rugby book is top of the pops in SA, just shows who has their priorities right…

• 16. rugbygeniusReply to this comment :

Ol Smit is a danger writer huh ?
    Oom Jooste is writing good as well . I wish bakkies could write us a book also. One about weights and diet. I would buy it for my wife for Christmas.

• 17. mshiniwamiReply to this comment :

Joost-adulturer/druggie
    Small-wife beater
    Dalton-wife beater/fraudster
    Tromp-murderer
    Mulder-statutory rapist/child predator
    McDonald-perenial assault offender
    etc etc

great stock huh?!!!

• 18. toe-jamReply to this comment :

so sorry to hear about joost’s book,it is really a shame that he’s publisher thought they could release an im-so-sorry-i-shnaffed-with-a-stripper-tail between the legs sorry for myself book at the same time as smitty’s book…

as if he’s sorry *** on tv wasn’t bad enough…

smitty,stay of the strippers and the shnaff…but then…u dont think ur posh ‘n becks….

• 19. TaahirahReply to this comment :

Mshiniwami. I like you. You are the most knowledgable blogger on this site, PissAnt coming in a solid 2nd. The above post though seems to be an attack on a specific grouping of people within this country. Meanspirited at best, despicable at worst. It opens the gate for the racially obsessed to start hurling abuse at the likes of Ashwin Willemse, Earl Rose, Ricky Januarie, Dale Sandton and Breyton Paulse. You are better than that.

• 20. toe-jamReply to this comment :

@Taahirah: where is the racial attack in my post?ur smoking that kak madjat that was sold to you as malawi cob…

• 21. montyfanReply to this comment :

@BALLER canREADY: I got a signed copy of Monty’s book and read it in 24 hrs (BIG fan!) Unfortunately it doesn’t compare well to Capt in the Cauldron, which is far more informative and better written. My husband flew Cape Town – London last week and had finished Barney’s book by the time he hit Heathrow :)
    Not bothering with Joost myself.

• 22. TheTacklerReply to this comment :

Looks like Joost and Amor’s fantasy about living it large as the Posh and Becks of SA have utterly evaporated.

They’ll have to get real jobs pretty soon.

• 23. toe-jamReply to this comment :

@TheTackler: amor as a stripper and joost bouncing the door…

• 24. ValkyrieReply to this comment :

@toe-jam: take it easy bud!i think he is referring to the post above yours,mishiniwami’s.

• 25. TaahirahReply to this comment :

Toe-jam. The post in its entirety was directed at mshiniwami.

• 26. ValkyrieReply to this comment :

@Taahirah: very sensitive boys on here after saturday!

• 27. GreenAndGoldReply to this comment :

John Smit’s book is really awesome. I rate it right up there with Lance Armstrong’s books. Anyone know how well Graeme Smith’s book is doing?

• 28. GreenAndGoldReply to this comment :

Anyone going to Smitty’s book signing on Thurs at cavendish in CT?

• 29. toe-jamReply to this comment :

@Taahirah: my bad,thought it was directed at me,no hard feelings

• 30. QuagmireReply to this comment :

Hoe spel jy Joost se naam? Jy spel dit met ‘n D!

• 31. TaahirahReply to this comment :

None at all toe-jam.

• 32. Reserve NaartjieReply to this comment :

There’s a poll on Men’s Health on the hypothetical sports autobiographies guys would want to read. http://www.mh.co.za

Best one? Bakkies Botha – The Art of War (revised edition)

• 33. StawmReply to this comment :

@Tacitus:

I think you missed the point a bit though Tac, although I agree with you.

Highbury Safika Media published Smits book, and its selling better than Joost’s book (which Highbury Safika Media probably/might have tried to publish and got rejected), and so they feel the need to beat their chests a bit, as if the success is due to them and not the actual content of the book.

• 34. Windhoek.LagerReply to this comment :

What an incredibly pointless and pathetic article.

• 35. TismeReply to this comment :

@BALLER canREADY: Read most of the autos about rugby, Percy’s not a bad book, but it is very apparent in the writing that percy is not very clever!

In this book his dad hints that percy was also on the white powder

• 36. unclebenReply to this comment :

@gecko: Ha ha, good one.

Personally will buy and read both books, Boks books that came before were COMPELLING could not put them down: Franouis Pienaars Rainbow Warrior and Jake Whites Black and White!!!

I really believe inside stories like these will only help the boks by making us general joe public and SARU dooses appreciate what is going on inside and HOW MUCH $%#@$@#@@# goes on behind the scenes. It is a MIRACLE the boks EVER WIN A SINGLE GAME.

SARU and public: read, learn, simplify and boks will get better.

• 37. B.rianReply to this comment :

Personally I prefer Matthew Knights book, called Between the Lines.
    It’s more about grassroots rugby, but has better history, anecdotes and characters, and is really well written. Not the usual cliched boring journalism that I’ve become used to.
    Quite a few Boks and past Boks also come up: Mark Andrews, Schalk Burger, and some well-known coaches etc.

• 38. KrygerReply to this comment :

What am I missing here? John Smit has hardly started shaving, yet he rights a autobiography. Does he not get payed enough by SARFU that he finds it necassary to write a book.
    Autobiographies is normally reserved for later in ones life.
    The bits & pieces that the media has dished up sounds more like gossip that belongs in a English tabloid.
    Anyways that is just my opinion!

About the author

Ryan has written 2932 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator