Du Preez: ‘I almost quit’
1 Dec 2009
Fourie du Preez has decided to stay with the Springboks after admitting he had thoughts of retirement earlier this year.
Like Victor Matfield, Bryan Habana and John Smit, Du Preez is one of many stalwarts in the team that remains from the Boks’ victorious campaign at the 2007 World Cup and has been a star player for the world champions in 2009.
The Bok No 9 does, however, admit that he almost considered retiring at the end of this season because of personal reasons, but after a successful year, he now wants to be part of the Boks’ title defence at the 2011 World Cup in New Zealand.
‘At the moment I’m really enjoying my rugby, and the atmosphere that has been created has brought out the best in my game,’ Du Preez told SuperRugby. ‘It was a difficult few months for me earlier this year, and a lot hinged on how things went. But the way I feel now I have a few good years in my. It wasn’t as if things weren’t good at the Boks in the past, but rather a case of whether I can reach my own goals and do better in my game.
‘A lot of us who were in the team that won the 2007 World Cup said we would make decisions after the Lions tour and take it from there,’ Du Preez said. ‘But the success we have had this year makes 2011 the next goal. If the year didn’t go so well, then my international career would be over right now.’
Du Preez has enjoyed a triumphant season with the Boks and Bulls, which has seen him win Tri-Nations, British and Irish Lions, Super 14 and Currie Cup titles in 2009. Many believe he should have received the IRB Player of the Year award, but he lost out to All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw.
These achievements have influenced Du Preez’s decision to stay.
‘I’ve really been happy with this season – it was definitely my best yet,’ said Du Preez. ‘I really gave a lot of thought to retiring at the end of this season. I was planning for a season or two overseas and wanted to get out of Pretoria, out of my comfort zone.
‘But the way things have gone made it difficult to contemplate quitting. The atmosphere that was set by the Springbok management was really wonderful. This Bok management is really some of the best ever and in that aspect I enjoy being part of the Springboks. They made it easier to make the decision.’
Du Preez’s contract at the Bulls expires in October 2010, but it looks certain that the scrumhalf will sign an extension to fulfill his 2011 World Cup ambitions.

433 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
1 Dec 2009, 10:25 am
@Oubaas2009: You are my DUDE! Get over it.
1 Dec 2009, 10:26 am
I see the WP people , or is that poephols?, on Keo suffer what Kopdokters would call Mental Anguish.
So what is this cause of mental anguish? What triggers this irrational behaviour that, if not treated, may lead to other problems like suicide.
I suspect when any Bulls player come into vision or debate. Their brains react much in the same fashion when a danger signal triggers the fight or flight mechanism.
This is borne out of years ( 8 LOOOOONG years ) of winning sweet blue f@kkel on the domestic and international scene.A sort of desperation creeps up on them, like in this years CC, but alas, HEARTBROKEN again.
You could compare this with issues like domestic violence and the destruction of the soul and self believe of said person.
The good news is that effective remedies is freely available.
But it ultimately start with the person himself. Recognise first that there is a problem and then get help.
No need to thank me for this is a public service.
1 Dec 2009, 10:29 am
@JL1: I must be kicking your ***, if the only thing you could come back with is the word “Dude”. You wanna try rugby again? Just a thought. Keep up boytjie, this isn’t RT where we swap braai tips.
1 Dec 2009, 10:30 am
@RugbyRulz: Sorry I missed you RR. Good to see you back here.
Same to you, have a wonderful Chritmas. It must be your holiday season there in Sydney. Here we are in our holiday season too. Love December in SA. Summer and it is all festival.
Catch up with you during the S14.
1 Dec 2009, 10:33 am
@rossoneri: No this is keo where we swop insults.
keo co za/forum/kindergarten
1 Dec 2009, 10:34 am
@Karoolander: Fine words, Karoo. And that comes from a Sharks supporter.
1 Dec 2009, 10:35 am
@Karoolander: Exactly Karoolander. So what are you wearing today? Two tone shirt and Vernon Koekemoer short demin shorts, or just jumping in the fray as back-up to your braai tip buddy JL1.
1 Dec 2009, 10:36 am
The problem with players like Morne and FdP is that they are over-coach from an early age. Unlike coaches in countries like NZ, coaches in SA don’t want a player to think for himself. No… they must play the game as set out by the coach on a drawing board in some classroom at schoolboy level. Thus they cannot adapt on the field if things don’t work out as planned and they will keep on repeating what they were asked to do by the coach even if it does not work.
A national strategy regarding the coaching of schoolboys is needed. Let kids up to the age of eleven only play sevens at school level. This will broaden the player pool because everybody will be able to take part. It will also enhance the kid’s ability to read the game better which will stand him in good stead when he moves to the 15-man code from age 13 and onwards. At this level the following must be the most important skills to be coached:
1. The emphasis is on the players making decisions, rather than the coach telling them how and why to do it.
2. The coach creates situations where players have to find solutions for themselves.
3. This approach also assists in developing communication skills, leadership and teamwork.
(From NZRU Coaching Toolbox)
This may take a while, given our culture of wanting someone at the top telling us what to do, but the sooner we start the sooner we will reap the results.
1 Dec 2009, 10:36 am
@justrugby: Hello JR. Yes agree there. The last time we beat ABs in Cape Town. Think it was in 2005 game, we did just that. Put a lot of pressure on Carter and his game just fell flat. We won that day.
1 Dec 2009, 10:38 am
@nama1: You agree then that a huge part of the problem lies with the coaching?
1 Dec 2009, 10:39 am
@nama1: But even some members of the public prefer this structured coaching approach. Remember when Pdv said he wants his players to “play the situation”, and “skills development needs to be worked on”, in 2008. The scribes here on keo and some bloggers said it’s the most ridiculous thing they have ever heard.
1 Dec 2009, 10:40 am
penalty kicks should be awarded 1 point, drop goals 2 and tries 6. Then we might see the Springbok’s playing rugby again.
IRB have tried everything from introducing short arm Elv’s to changing rules every season just to try break the boring monotony of this ping pong play without the ball boring game. But try as they might Saffa rugby players always revert to type, its embedded in our genes to play safe and conservative so Jannie de Beer, Naas Botha, Braam Van Straaten, Joel Stransky, Louis Koen, Morne Steyn and De Wet Ras are the type of hero’s we inculcate at fly half. No Carter’s or Larkham’s or even Honiball’s for us. Its all those 3 pointer’s that count as far as we’re concerned, whoever thought that the game of rugby was designed around scoring tries?
1 Dec 2009, 10:41 am
@Karoolander: Yes, but not with the National Coache’s ideas. Lower down, and at Provincial level sure.
1 Dec 2009, 10:42 am
@Puma:
Agree Puma, and a couple of times after that, the secret to beating the AB’s is getting them to turn, not easy but if you can do it you have a good chance to beat them.
The hate going backwards and because they so seldom do, when they are forced back they panic and start making mistakes !!!
1 Dec 2009, 10:42 am
@JL1:
Blasphemy
u ppl r too classic
1 Dec 2009, 10:43 am
@skopskiet: Do you think after everything the IRB have tried before as you’ve stated that it will work?
1 Dec 2009, 10:45 am
Pietman I knew you couldn’t stay away too long the whiff of the snot n trane getjommel lured you back again. Can’t help oneself when there’s a good snot klap in the offing. Welcome home.
1 Dec 2009, 10:45 am
@Papoose: Tell me about it. We have our own middle America right here in Pretoria SA. Pick-up trucks and all.
1 Dec 2009, 10:46 am
@rossoneri: You could also argue that implementing the correct gameplan, you will create a situation that favours you most.You dictate proceedings and force your gameplan on the other team.
We witnessed it the whole year. Our gameplan works for the SH, but not for NH conditions.
1 Dec 2009, 10:47 am
@skopskiet: Who is Pietman? Or more specifically, what is the Pietman’s new nic?
1 Dec 2009, 10:47 am
@rossoneri: You really are the type that I saw in Dublin, all tanked up, throwing name and ready to fight anything, disgraceful South Africans
Shove your head up your arse and fight for fresh breath, if you want to fight
1 Dec 2009, 10:48 am
@justrugby: That is how we played it that day. I remember we made them turn kicking well behind them. It put Carter under a lot of pressure and we won.
Similar to the kick-and-chase this year. (Carter never played in two games) but we did the same putting pressure on them. In the kick-and-chase though the kick must be spot on the penny though and your chasers need to be right on top of it too. Otherwise it wont work.
1 Dec 2009, 10:50 am
@rossoneri: Why not the national coach? Is he above criticism?
At provicial level i believe some of the coaches is way ahead of the national setup.
1 Dec 2009, 10:51 am
@Puma:
The kick and chase game has it’s place against the correct opposition, and like you say it needs to be executed properly.
1 Dec 2009, 10:52 am
@Karoolander: Look. Perhaps you are right. One has to figure out the best plan, with what you have to work with.
Robbie Deans coached the Crusaders and it was amazing what he could do with them and the success he has had. He is trying to get the Aussies into that frame, but it appears that they are struggling sometimes to get his way or gameplan to click on the park, but when they get it right, they are amazing. Take the Boks last year against England, 2008. They struggled all Trinations to get what Pdv was trying to get them to see, and when it clicked. Amazing.
I’ll concede that Pdv and co, may have gotten the plan wrong for Saturday’s game, but please. When you are a player are trying to do one thing all game and it’s not working, are you going to persist or try something else. They must also use their melon’s.
1 Dec 2009, 10:54 am
@Karoolander: Do you think missing Fransie at the back is why maybe it never worked in the wet NH conditions? I know FdP and Morne kicked well in the SH but if we had Fransie at FB it may have worked.
Also some of the penalties we missed were long range. If Fransie was there who knows he may have got them. He did get them in NZ. 3 huge monster kicks and it was wet there too and also cold. Not as cold as Ireland with fog. Fransie also got a monster kick for us in the wc cup too. PdV need to decide which players he needs to go forward for the wc. I think pick about 3 players from overseas and that is it no more. Otherwise the rest will go and play there.
JdV, Fransie should be two of them. BJ is coming home so that wont be a problem.
1 Dec 2009, 10:55 am
@Karoolander: He is not above critisizm, but he is miles ahead of what any of the other coaches are doing at the provincial or school levels. Some of them are still perpetuating the same old traditional rubbish.
1 Dec 2009, 10:55 am
@nama1:
“Let kids up to the age of eleven only play sevens at school level.”
Make that 13 years, in other words at primary school level.
@Karoolander: #110
Coaching at all levels need to be addressed. Not much a coach at national level can do to change the habits of players if they are set in their ways for 10+ years.
1 Dec 2009, 10:56 am
@rossoneri: True, they should change if something ain`t working.
I do not want to offer any excuses for Saterdays lost, but the coaching staff should have seen that something wasn`t right.
They publicly stated that, even after 3 losses, they were still confident and that there was no need to be alarmed.
All i can say is, HUH?
1 Dec 2009, 10:58 am
@justrugby: Yip, Those kicks have to be spot on all the time otherwise it will never work. Chasers wont get there in time. Needed Fransie maybe at FB on Saturday. He can play in any conditions.
1 Dec 2009, 10:58 am
@Puma: So Fransie, must compensate for Morne’s failings? And who must be dropped. Zane, who had a good game, or are you suggesting Fransie at Flyhalf.
1 Dec 2009, 10:59 am
@Karoolander:Absolutely.
1 Dec 2009, 10:59 am
Actually the problem with Morne Steyn is where he’s playing his domestic rugby. He could actually develop into quite a handy running pivot. The whole problem with Morne’s game is its been honed by Brigadier van Zyl and Fourie du Preez so he just picked up where Liefling left off and continued in the same one dimensional mode.
Everybody thinks this Blou Bul kak is the way the Bok’s should be plying their trade. Even head coach De Villiers gone and sold his soul to such ingrained non eventful trash. And lo and behold Fdp and Morne Steyn single handedly sink Sa’s Bok hopes on Eoyt both against France and again vs Ireland.
Morne must break away from Fdp, those two are simply no good for each other. Fdp is ruining Morne’s natural instinct and Fdp is not producing anything new, in fact between the two of them we regressing into the same dismal trash that Pdv was supposed to be moving away from. When last did our backline produce anything. Twickenham 2008 or thereabouts.
2009 has become a steady decline back into the morass of one trick pony predictability with hardly a light at the end of the tunnel, until either Fdp or Morne Steyn get taken out the equation, and my bet would be the former. Change the scrum half and watch an entire new lease of life envelope the proactive potential in this team. Its Fdp that is the stifling influence, not that its his fault at all, its just that he don’t know any different or any better.
1 Dec 2009, 11:01 am
@Puma: When FDP or Morne is not on song then we lose
John Smit should have changed tactics – not the first time he was found short when it cam to changing tactics, and the selectors should all be shot
This tour should have been made up of WP and Cheetah players, not Bulls and Sharks, many debates were actually settled on this tour
1 Dec 2009, 11:03 am
@JL1: This from the two tone wearing RT braai blogger moonlighting at Keo for a semblance of decent inteligent convo. Don;t worry. I know why you keep posting at me. You need something to prick your brain and make you feel alive. It’s okay. Really it is.
1 Dec 2009, 11:04 am
@JL1: Wow. It’s working. I agree with half of your post there.
1 Dec 2009, 11:04 am
@skopskiet: Not true
Morne is coached by Vlok and Pieter Rossouw, both ran the ball when they were playing. Vlok is his big mentor and coach, he stated. It is all about tactics and gameplans
1 Dec 2009, 11:05 am
@rossoneri: No hater, I am suggesting Fransie would have made the big kicks for the chasers. Zane can never do that. He played well on Saturday but can not kick like Fransie. Not ever. Actually he is not as good as Fransie at FB. Not at this stage.
Also Fransie would have got those long range kicks over the posts. If we got our penalties we would have won.
@Puma: I agree. We also seem to be forgetting that our players is not used to playing in those freezing k@k conditions.
I suspect a case of brain freeze.
I also played rugby and once was subject to a similar scenario.
We played one Saturday very early. The sun was just beginning to break. The field was frosted over and we played barefoot.
We were unbeaten that year, but lost that day to a very inferior team. We just couldn`t get going in that freeze.
Although this was just schoolboy rugby, i think it is relevant. Not an excuse though, because our team is professionals, but still…
@skopskiet: Skopskiet, you should attend the next course at Jake White’s Winning Ways. Clearly you know very little about a game you seem to love.
1 Dec 2009, 11:08 am
@Puma: Kanko v Spies seems settled
Smit at tighthead in the NH conditions seem settled
Bakkies need a replacement and it is not Bekker
Bekker and Matfield are better centers than Adi – they also play there more often than Adi
1 Dec 2009, 11:09 am
@Puma: So you are confirming that for you Zane must go, and Frans must get sellected, and Morne who actually played ****, must be protected? So Zane must get punished for Morne playing kak?
1 Dec 2009, 11:10 am
@Oubaas2009: I would rather shove a knive in my eyeballs than listen to anything Jake White has to say.
1 Dec 2009, 11:11 am
@Karoolander: We have played in cold before in NZ and England. I think maybe never in fog like that. Could hardly see what was happening due to the fog. That could have also been the problem.
Our lineouts were a mess. We should have known Gert knew our calls and should have changed it. Also why not use one of our other languages we have many. Too many saffas now playing for other countries or coaching. We should have been ready for the lineouts knowing Gert had worked with many of those players. Then I also think we missed Juan at the back a lot also Spies but especially Bakkies.
Fransie at the back in those conditions would have been better too.
1 Dec 2009, 11:13 am
@Puma: Agree yes.
We should be more forward thinking. We tend to push our luck a bit too far. Not respecting the enemy enough?
1 Dec 2009, 11:14 am
@JL1: Skyes should be groomed really he is a 4 and played well. Should have played with the Dirt Trackers. I would have had Sykes on for Bakkies.
1 Dec 2009, 11:14 am
@skopskiet: I have received the answer. Should have known. Fun and games Skop. It’s irresistable.
1 Dec 2009, 11:16 am
@rossoneri: Fantastic, give it a try then.
1 Dec 2009, 11:16 am
@rossoneri: Hater, Zane is a good player and will get better but for the wet conditions. Fransie is far, far better there. He actually was better than Zane playing for the Boks this whole year.
Zane is a good player at FB and will get better. Very good under the high ball but he is not Fransie. He can not kick. We lost something with out having that as a weapon on Saturday.
Okay have to go out for a bit.
1 Dec 2009, 11:18 am
@Karoolander: So you’re back. Makes sense.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All