Du Preez: ‘I almost quit’
1 Dec 2009
Fourie du Preez has decided to stay with the Springboks after admitting he had thoughts of retirement earlier this year.
Like Victor Matfield, Bryan Habana and John Smit, Du Preez is one of many stalwarts in the team that remains from the Boks’ victorious campaign at the 2007 World Cup and has been a star player for the world champions in 2009.
The Bok No 9 does, however, admit that he almost considered retiring at the end of this season because of personal reasons, but after a successful year, he now wants to be part of the Boks’ title defence at the 2011 World Cup in New Zealand.
‘At the moment I’m really enjoying my rugby, and the atmosphere that has been created has brought out the best in my game,’ Du Preez told SuperRugby. ‘It was a difficult few months for me earlier this year, and a lot hinged on how things went. But the way I feel now I have a few good years in my. It wasn’t as if things weren’t good at the Boks in the past, but rather a case of whether I can reach my own goals and do better in my game.
‘A lot of us who were in the team that won the 2007 World Cup said we would make decisions after the Lions tour and take it from there,’ Du Preez said. ‘But the success we have had this year makes 2011 the next goal. If the year didn’t go so well, then my international career would be over right now.’
Du Preez has enjoyed a triumphant season with the Boks and Bulls, which has seen him win Tri-Nations, British and Irish Lions, Super 14 and Currie Cup titles in 2009. Many believe he should have received the IRB Player of the Year award, but he lost out to All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw.
These achievements have influenced Du Preez’s decision to stay.
‘I’ve really been happy with this season – it was definitely my best yet,’ said Du Preez. ‘I really gave a lot of thought to retiring at the end of this season. I was planning for a season or two overseas and wanted to get out of Pretoria, out of my comfort zone.
‘But the way things have gone made it difficult to contemplate quitting. The atmosphere that was set by the Springbok management was really wonderful. This Bok management is really some of the best ever and in that aspect I enjoy being part of the Springboks. They made it easier to make the decision.’
Du Preez’s contract at the Bulls expires in October 2010, but it looks certain that the scrumhalf will sign an extension to fulfill his 2011 World Cup ambitions.

433 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All
1 Dec 2009, 12:13 pm
even i know Pietman is a dOOs…
1 Dec 2009, 12:14 pm
@Fudge Mabeta: Amen.
1 Dec 2009, 12:16 pm
Skopskiet they just messing around with you so take it with a pinch of salt.
1 Dec 2009, 12:17 pm
@TheTackler:
good idea, that would set the cat amongst the pigeons, they got to do something, these free bee three pointers are killing the game stone dead. Ping Pong gaining Grounds is what its all about.
@Puma:
Probably not ou Piet but Karoolander is one of the prodigal sons nevertheless.
We got to get away from this idea that we missing this one or that one if they not available. Rugby is a TEAM sport not an individualist glory hunting exercise. If F.Steyn or JdV or BJ Botha ain’t around there should be someone here to take their place. This hankering for particular individuals to bale us out our misery with their specific set of perfected skills is bunkum.
We got plenty talent where the FdP’s and the F.Steyns or J.Smits and V.Matfields came from. Plenty of it oozing out the system. Our problem here is we just love to create hero’s and villains.. its a serious flaw in the make up of our lack of composure under pressure.
Pienaar shgould never have been destroyed in confidence the way he has. There are some far better distributing scrum halves around other than FdP who would have had this backline pumping with go forward momentum long time back if we weren’t so stuck on individual ‘Brilliance’.
Its rubbish, the issue is when M.Steyn can’t pull off miracle 50 or 60 mt. hail Mary penalties then we all of a sudden go to pieces. If this stupid kicking game weren’t made into the holy grail that it is, pienaar would still be running the backline probably and we might be seeing a whole lot more tries being scored.
PdV must get back on the bus he set out on, he has to ditch this ou doos idiotic strategy that the senior bloekombome mutineed about. If we cannot develop the game past this kick and chase singular dimensionality then we heading for no mans land.
1 Dec 2009, 12:19 pm
Eish.
Ok/ lets clear up the confusion.
I was previously Puppet Obama.
See now?
1 Dec 2009, 12:20 pm
@rossoneri: NO Grant10 was and yes he got me thinking Fransie could be. Seeing Fransie play there once was enough for me, went back to what I had thought and many others. He is a FB a natural FB. Can also play very well at inside centre too.
Well he is at Metro now so we wont have him playing for Boks so all this wishing he was there from me will have to be put on hold. He wont get selected while playing overseas.
1 Dec 2009, 12:21 pm
@nama1: Hell I cannot remember Nama1 I just remember losing all respect for him, when he changed allegiance so easily. Maybe I am just too stubborn by half, but I don’t believe in fairweather fans.
1 Dec 2009, 12:22 pm
There’s nothing like peaches and cream to make a man forget the eoyt.
1 Dec 2009, 12:25 pm
The Lions are gathering folks, gathering. We have even included those would be deserters Ludik and Alberts.
Roar! Read and weep.
Auto & General Super 14 Lions Squad Assembles
The 2010 Auto & General Super 14 Lions training squad reassembled on Monday, 2 November 2009. After a positive and encouraging address from GLRU President, Kevin de Klerk and newly appointed Director of Rugby, **** Muir, the squad began their first gym session.
The training squad selected for the 2010 Vodacom Super 14 is as follows:
Forwards:
JC Janse van Rensburg
Kevin Buys
Wayne Swart
Lawrence Sephaka
Ross Geldenhuys
Charl de Plessis
Hans van Dyk
Derek Harwood
Nico Luus
Wouter Moore
Franco van der Merwe
Jannes Labuschagne
Jacques Lombaard
Jeffrey Taljaard
Willem Alberts
Cobus Grobbelaar
Jonathan Mokuena
Derick Minnie
Johan van Deventer
Robert Kruger
Danie Crous
Thuliphatu Marole
Warren Whiteley
Justin Wheeler
Stephan Kruger
Mina Nassif
Backs:
Alex Kock
Chris Jonck
Herkie Kruger
Ruan Boshoff
Divan Kotze
Jody Rose
Allistair Siegelaar
Dusty Noble
Michael Killian
Henno Mentz
Johan Jackson
Wigan Pekeur
Jannie Boshoff
Justin St Jerry
Pieter Engelbrecht
Alwyn Hollenbach
Doppies la Grange
Rouan Cloete
Shandre Frolick
Warren van Rooyen
Walter Venter
Marius Delport
Deon van Rensburg
Burton Francis
Three players from the Leopards, and two from the Pumas will also be joining the squad, but they will only arrive on Monday, 16 November 2009, due to a two week break after their last match.
The players joining the Auto & General Super 14 Lions are:
Leopards:
Draad Luide
Ryno Landman
Thabo Mamojela
Pumas:
Marius Coetzer
Hannes Franklin
The two Lions Springbok players who are currently with the Boks, Earl Rose and Heinke van der Merwe, will join the squad in December.
Todd Clever has been released to play for the USA in their World Cup qualifying matches and will join the Auto & General Super 14 Lions on the 4th January 2010.
The players’ currently injured/in rehabilitation will join the squad as soon as they are declared fit and ready.
Louis Ludik – 3 months
Jano Vermaak – 2/3 months
Earl Lewis – Rehabilitation for 2/3 weeks
Gert Muller – Rehabilitation for 6/8 weeks
Tonderai Chavhanga – Rehabilitation for 3/4 weeks
Johan Snyman – 3/4 months
Whilst **** Muir, Director of Rugby, is overseas with the Springbok team, Johan Ackermann, Hans Coetzee and Dr. Gerhard Jordaan will act as care taker coaches.
1 Dec 2009, 12:25 pm
Its OK wez not much gets my bones rattled or the skin off my nose except when blind men run our rugby into the ground. Like J.Smit and V.Matfield allowed it to happen on Saturday. They allowed Fdp and M.Steyn to practically ruin an entire team effort by killing the game at the first base offload. Ball didn’t reach the centers about 80% of the time.
Blou BHul patroon is deadsville, get a handle around it, its going nowhere very fast.
1 Dec 2009, 12:28 pm
@Karoolander: #199
Sorry Karoo, you’re wrong.
Go to the archives, read some of his posts and compare us.
Maybe Namakwalander is now this new guy Namakwalanner.
1 Dec 2009, 12:29 pm
ag what a load of kak.
they’ll be playing the powder puff WP stuff and we go exactly the way we were headed before JW came on the scene.
1 Dec 2009, 12:34 pm
@RedLion: They my 2nd team so hoping Lions can do well next year. Have a feeling 2010 could be good for them.
Actually we need all our franchise teams to be strong. Better for Springbok rugby.
Good Luck to the Lions for next year.
1 Dec 2009, 12:35 pm
@nama1: Hehe. CONFUSION seems to be the order today.
No Namakwalanner became Karoolander. That is me. It was made clear though. They complained about the Namakwalanner nic so i had no objection changing.
Only post a total of maybe 5 under that nic.
So what happened to the original Namakwalander?
Cause i can swear that you are the same reading through your posts.
1 Dec 2009, 12:37 pm
which powder puff WP stuff you referring, the stuff that killed off the Blou Bulle twice in the CC and then almost in the semi’s for M.Steyn to save their one dimensional asses once again, just like he saved the Bok’s vs Lions and the Boks again vs AB’s
Rely on this kak all you like, going nowhere in a hurry as France and Ireland just showed them.
Last time we looked like something was happening in our game was Ellis Park and Twickenham 2008 with a couple glimpses in first half first test BiL’s tour and first half Perth this year. Rest of the time we on the back foot kicking penalties to save face and ***.
Time to switch codes and go for broke or go down like a whimpering bunch of kicking drones.
1 Dec 2009, 12:39 pm
@skopskiet: Sorry Skop.
Killed off the Blou Bulle twice in CC?
I counted just one.
Bulls klapped WP 3-1 this year.
1 Dec 2009, 12:41 pm
203 – Skop, I agree with Kobus and G.Wright on ‘All Out Rugby’ they both said we must select the best. If that means selecting some of our overseas players we have to do it.
I would say limit it to 3. Otherwise we will have all our best heading north next year.
It happened this eoyt but a bit too late. If we had selected BJ, JdV and also Frans from the start. Well who knows how it would have ended.
Our Dirt Trackers should have been our 2nd best selected. It was not we missed the boat there. Don’t care what the coaches say. Saying now they can see how those could play and know what the left behind at home. How do we know that Vermeualen, Mapoe, WP.Nel many others that I rate would have handled those conditions? They are superb here but we should have sent them over to play in the Dirt Trackers and had look how they could play against some strong teams and in the wet and cold.
Anyhow. I have to go out now. Cheers all.
1 Dec 2009, 12:42 pm
WP aint won sweet FA in ages, the same as the Lions, they run and attack beautiful and come stone last.
CC counts for nothing, the S14 is the competition, besides neither WP or the Lions have any CC silverware of late and there;s a reason for that.
Rassie Erasmus is constantly fighting a battle to make showponies into grafters – he may just have got it rightt this year – but its not WP natural way.
They;re the artists, they win f-all, but great artists.
1 Dec 2009, 12:42 pm
Has anyone actually considered why the kick and chase was the wrong tactic for the NH, apart from the fact that it didn’t work?
The heavier NH grounds ensures that the chasers are nowhere near as fast as they are on the harder grounds, which means that they’ll be a touch slower in reaching the catcher. More importantly, though, is that for it to succeed, our forwards need to get to the breakdown fast enough to support the tackler. Now, that’s asking a lot from a pack that’s already exhausted at the EOY, especially when they’re being asked to chase the ball again and again.
I’m not claiming that’s the sole reason for the loss, but I’m pretty certain that’s why the tactic was far less effective.
Once we’d broken their line and scored the first try, we should have continued to attack them out wide whilst the doubt about their defence was still in their minds. Instead of capitalising on the psychological advantage our backs had created we sat back and gave them the possession to compose themselves and launch counter attacks.
JS might be a brilliant captain regarding rallying his troops, but I get the feeling that his overall tactical awareness is lacking.
1 Dec 2009, 12:43 pm
@Karoolander: 213
We may agree on most points regarding the Boks/management of rugby but I can assure you, I’m not him.
Hint: His use of the queens language.
1 Dec 2009, 12:45 pm
@nama1: Ok then.
You are not him and i am neither.
1 Dec 2009, 12:47 pm
the kick n chase, was not the original successful gameplan, it is used whenever the Boks want an easy way out, when they dont want to bust a gut at teh collisions or feel they are losing these. In which case, they should rather stay on the beacj and get some tightforwards in who are willing to play this game.
If you dont win the breakdown collisions, you can kiss your arse goodbye regardless if you have a winning scrum, fetcher or running halfbacks.
1 Dec 2009, 12:54 pm
@cab: yeah absolutely correct.
I thought Burger was nowhere Juan was badly missed. Smitty has to be retire now and Smith should take the over the captaincy.
Meanwhile Matfield longed for his stable partner Bakkies and that monster Alberts would have been a better bet at 8 than old Danie who rightly started ahead of that show pony CanCowsSki.
Just a few random thoughts.
1 Dec 2009, 12:54 pm
Rugby is a total onslaught sport, you most certainly don’t need degrees in roocket science to understand it, all you got to do is open your eyes and take note. One dimensional drone rugby where individuals go bashing headlong into opposition rewards nothing, like White found out through 2006 and 07. When he was shown the trick is work the spaces not the collisions thats when we started reaping some results.
Kick and chase is effective in minimal doses, not 90% of the game plan. What was so palpably obvious to me Saturday was how easy it was to score against Ireland, piss easy piece of old tacky cake, yet we made such a f’ng mountain out of their little mole hill and proceeded to stuff it up wholesale by playing right into their hands.
FdP and M.Steyn systematically killed that game stone cold dead within 30 minutes of the first half. I watched in dumb struck amazement how they simply did not have a g’damn clue about wtf to actually do about proceedings and then waited till 75th minute to suddenly kick the game into life.
What utter dumb doos idiocy is this. Not a g’damn hope of a clue in their dead beat heads as to how to win the game when its as easy as old piss pie. All they had to do from first kick off was hold onto ball keep it in hand and play the back line and we would have walked that test like a piece of candy from a baby.
Front row was cooking, line outs were disrupted, keep the damn ball in play and run. Not a frigin hope in hell would Ireland have stood half a chance. FdP and M.Steyn systematically handed that test win to BOD and co. On a Gilt Edged Plate!
1 Dec 2009, 12:59 pm
@RedLion:
Mina Nassif
the egyptian bodybulder
the moving pyramid
the sphynx in boots..
what language will the lineout calls be in?
is there an afrikaans egyptian phrasebook?
I thought he had just asked to train with the squad…now he is in it…. jeepers its enough to make a fella reach for his old boots and dust them off…maybe if i ask to train with the squad they will pick me…
somebody turn the lights off at ellis park…
1 Dec 2009, 12:59 pm
it is a very simmple game, and neither do you need artistic genius to appreciate it – its about physical domination.
dominate the main aspect of play, the collisions, and you win more often than not.
1 Dec 2009, 13:03 pm
@nama1: #175
Brussouw was in only because of an injury to Schalla, Morne in because Pienaars injury, Beast on form and Kirchner because Percy left
1 Dec 2009, 13:03 pm
we won the collisions and the tight scrums but kicked all possession away. what was left for us to do was tackle twice for every time they tackled us. Which dumb *** delinquent rugby idiot kicks his possession away. Only Jake White and John Smit rugby fundi losing ways protagonists. Idiocy of the highest degree.
Piss *** piece of pie tacky we would have CREAMED Ireland with simply one instruction only. DONT KICK THE BALL!! If that simple non rocket scientific deduction was made in the first 10 minutes there would have only been ONE team in this game and it would certainly not have been Ireland. That is for 100% sure.
1 Dec 2009, 13:08 pm
@skopskiet:
Good have done with old Harry Viljoen as coach with his classic “You are not allowed to kick the ball under any circumstances” instructions to his bok team of old.
1 Dec 2009, 13:08 pm
@gunther:
I hope you’ve been keeping your old boots nicely dubbined?
1 Dec 2009, 13:11 pm
@skopskiet: here is something for you interest skop…
Peter’s expansive delusion
This entry was posted on Monday, August 25th, 2008
Peter de Villiers needs to revisit the statistics before continuing his criticism of the Springboks under former coach Jake White.
De Villiers has consistently criticised the conservative approach of the Springboks under by his predecessor and has made a point of telling the rugby world that he wants to move as a far as possible away from that approach and develop a team who play an expansive brand of rugby.
White and his coaching staff acknowledged their limitations in the backline and never made a secret of the fact that they were playing to their strengths in the forwards. Yet when comparing De Villiers and White’s try-scoring records after five Tri-Nations Tests, De Villiers’ criticism is exposed as lacking substance.
White’s conservative Springboks registered 13 tries in four Tri-Nations Tests in 2004 (his first year in charge). De Villiers’ expansive Springboks have scored five in five – two of which came against an Australia side who were in third gear, confident they had done enough to secure the victory at Kings Park on Saturday.
Yet De Villiers continues posture like the divinely appointed saviour of South African rugby. He did admit that God tells him who to select after all. It seems that in his mind he will lead South Africa into rugby’s promised land, where pounding up through the phases is punishable by death and an extravagant tackle offload is rewarded with eternal life.
De Viliers’ philosophy shuns rigid structure – a feature of White’s preferred style – for a more instinctive approach where the players are encouraged to “play what’s in front of them” and break down defensive lines through tackle offloads. Forwards are expected have the handling skills and spatial awareness of backs, sacrificing their fundamental tasks – ruck cleaning being the most notable – in pursuit of tries and an entertaining brand of rugby.
White’s approach feature patient phase-play, territorial dominance gained primarily through the boots of Percy Montgomery and Fourie du Preez, dominance at the tackle point and placed a massive emphasis on bossing the set phases.
It was mind-numbingly boring at times but few would argue that it was effective. A world cup trophy bears testament to this.
What De Villiers fails to grasp is that his talented group of players find a sense of security in structure. It plays to their conservative mindset and takes the pressure off them to make their own decisions thereby lessening their fear of failure. Springbok rugby is crying out for a pragmatic coach who acknowledges the strengths of his squad and seeks to maximise those.
Sadly, because Saru chose to overlook rugby credentials as a criteria when selecting their coach, that man is in pre-season preparing his charges to face teams like Gloucester and Wasps when he should be drilling the Springboks for a Test against Australia.
This entry was posted on Monday, August 25th, 2008
1 Dec 2009, 13:11 pm
but thats exactly why the boks did not want to keep the ball in play – they were getting done at the breakdown, which is precisely why it was being hoisted.
if brute force is applied effectively there is not a damn thing the oppo can do, which is what england of 2002/3 showed to remarkable effect and what every BB team under burrman van syl showed with a power pack and a kicking 10.
If that pack is able to dominate the setpiences, even more dominant, and if they able to affect turnovers, even more so, and if they have a backline able to run in tries even more so.
But the fundamental is to play to your strengths, and ours in SA is big men. YOu want to play a midget oriented artisitic showpiece go for it, then wonder what happens to WP and Lions every S14.
1 Dec 2009, 13:20 pm
@Yetirat:LOL! Fourie and Morne would have had a nervous break down on Saturday if Harry was around with his rugga plan. It seemed the only thing they wanted to do is kick, kick, kick.
1 Dec 2009, 13:20 pm
@cab:
C’mon Cab. You’re confusing kicking away possession with retaining it. What’s the point of dominating the rucks and mauls in order to gain possession, if you immediately kick it away? The whole point of gaining possession is to use it, not waste it.
1 Dec 2009, 13:25 pm
@JL1: #226
Didn’t HB toured with the Boks last year? Made a little cameo appearance in one of the test matches if I remember correctly or are my mind playing games with me?
“Beast on form”…your claim would have make sense then if PdV DID NOT select him.
“Kirchner because Percy left”… you wanted him to select Zane ahead of Percy or what? Of course Zane only got selected after Percy left. How is that prove that PdV cannot identify talent?
1 Dec 2009, 13:25 pm
Tries scored this year
Walabies 29 in 14 tests
All Blacks 25 in 14 Tests
Springboks 21 in 12 Tests
Tries conceded
Walabies 15 in 14 tests
All Blacks 11 in 14 Tests
Springboks 20 in 12 Tests
1 Dec 2009, 13:27 pm
@Transformation: And there you have it. From the Jake White agenda driven Ryan Vrede’s pen. Pdv is trying to make the rugga attractive and attacking, but the players “want the pressure off them”, as they do not want to make decisions on the pitch.
1 Dec 2009, 13:27 pm
Talking nonsense no one is advocating playing midget twinkle toe rugby and no one is advocating not contesting the breakdown. The simple deduction is as simple as old pie. I am telling you without even a shadow of a doubt that had Fdp and M. Steyn distributed the ball to the back line we would have walked this test in our sleep. Not even a second thought about it. This hoisting the ball in the air is the very thing that killed us. Nothing else. Not collisions or line outs or place kicks missed. The single and only reason we lost on Saturday is because we did not vary our play and we kicked 90% possession AWAY!
This is how basically simple it is. Fdp read the play WRONG! this genius of a rugby tactical brain behind the scrum got it emphatically WRONG and so did his fly half. This kicking the ball AWAY Is what resulted in our loss. Nothing whatsoever else. Not breakdowns or anything else except playing WITHOUT THE BALL ****.
Stop looking for dom doos reasons for our poor tactics the kick and chase game is a NO NO in certain conditions and in fact if we don’t start getting away from it expect one hell of a lot more losses rather than wins.
1 Dec 2009, 13:28 pm
@David:
the point with the hoist is to play in the oppos danger zone with the penalty laws as they are, they dont want to be turned over or penalised or lose breakdown in their own half, i hate it also, but it becomes overly used when the Boks are being beaten at the collisions.
watch the 2nd half when the Boks intensity dropped off and virtually every time the boks took the vball in the irish banged them back and/or stole outmuscled the ball. the ball they did win was going backward. the scrums were won, but thats not an ideal backline attackling platform like multiphase ruck play where gaps appear and defenses are less structured.
The Boks main strength is their intensity at the breakdown colliusion point, they normally blast oppo packs off the park, but it catches up with them in the 2nd half – and this was expounded by the EOY tour where they were buhhered.
1 Dec 2009, 13:30 pm
@nama1: But why did it take suspensions and injuries before he was selected…that is a concern, the same applied to Steyn, surely someone should step up and say, we got our initial selection wrong..
1 Dec 2009, 13:37 pm
@cab:
Did you read my previous post regarding our forwards having to chase to the breakdown in heavy NH conditions? There’s no way they could consistently support the tackler/chaser with the required intensity.
1 Dec 2009, 13:40 pm
@skopskiet:
i disagree, the reason we lost the test was losing the breakdown collisions in the 2nd half.
but you are welcome to see it your own way, does not make it right. yours is also just an opinion like mine.
what i want to know tho uis where is the evidence to support your opinion?
i mean FDP and the bull patroon has resulted in the hoghest honrours.
in fact, the evidence points in completely the opposite direction to your claims that are made with such absolute certgainty, where everyone is fools not to see it.
just who is the dom doos and close-minded ppl here?
1 Dec 2009, 13:43 pm
@rossoneri:
Yeah it’s a tricky one.
I kind of agree with both Cab and Skopskiet.
We did play into Irelands’ hands by handing them possession with all those kicks, worst of all when it became clear they were not working as an attacking method and we continued, but when we do swing the ball out wide our forwards seem incapable of maintaining possession through proper ruck work anyway. So then the decision comes to “shall we hand over possession 20 meters up field or chance it with our backs and see if they break the line or stand the chance of losing possession 5m over the advantage line?
1 Dec 2009, 13:44 pm
@David:
i think you are right that the NH conditions are very different and we should adopt our game plan and vary it alot more especially with the outside backs we have. However, i believe the over abundane of kick n chase is a symptom of when our pack starts to lose the collisions and not getting the correct kind of ball to attack off.
1 Dec 2009, 13:45 pm
@JL1:
In a squad system, there’s a very definate pecking order. Steyn wasn’t even in the squad prior to the S14, and if it wasn’t for Ruans wayward goal kicking, he’d still be the reserve 10. Once we’d decided on the kick and chase approach a reliable goal kicker became a vital part of the game plan.
1 Dec 2009, 13:48 pm
@cab: Ignore him CAB, he thinks he is a rugby analyst that knows better than anyone else. I think it is the opposite. What I want to know from you is, what is happening in the collisions? We saw it against France and now again against Ireland. The refs when reffing up north don’t seem to stop the tacklers (defending team) rolling over the ball carrier and totally killing or stealing the ball whilst lying on it. In fact we saw many penalties against SA for going off our feet while in possession, but I can’t seem to remember Ireland getting pinged for it in defense. This is why I think the “dumb dooses” were kicking up and unders, they were losing the lineouts and getting penalised at the tackle point. Ultimately frustrating them, very little oppertunity to do anything else. In fact look at the last ruck where we got penalised. Dodgy?
1 Dec 2009, 13:50 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
skop makes good points, but its these wholesale changes said with absolute certainty i;ve never understood. and the basic trend whenever we lose is to blame the old war horses. i mean ****, have these guys not done reasonasbly well?
1 Dec 2009, 13:51 pm
@David: #244
Tri-nations the strategy was fine-kick and chase
NH tour they should have given the ball air and ran them ragged
he pecking order means nothing
THe SA A team should be the feeder, where are those players
Makhu was the pecking order 2nd second choice, also nowhere
This tour had no plan behind what they wanted to achieve other than now knowing Kankaksi made his name gat and is not a test level player and Adi Jacobs is also not good enough
1 Dec 2009, 13:54 pm
so, where are we at today gentlemen?
1 Dec 2009, 13:55 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
your guess on the collisions is as good as mine, but i think its a case of committment, metnal and physical, and am not sure the Boks were nearly as primed in this respect as they were for the BIL Series and the 3N. Coach De Villiers targetted the 3N and AB and Perth game in particular, and it showed imo. I dont know if its possible to maintain that level of intensity, esp in a year like this one, and so i would say to pick an alternative side for the EOY tour with alternative tactics which will also keep all the SA punters happy at seeing new hungry talent come thru and we can see results.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All