Du Preez: ‘I almost quit’
1 Dec 2009
Fourie du Preez has decided to stay with the Springboks after admitting he had thoughts of retirement earlier this year.
Like Victor Matfield, Bryan Habana and John Smit, Du Preez is one of many stalwarts in the team that remains from the Boks’ victorious campaign at the 2007 World Cup and has been a star player for the world champions in 2009.
The Bok No 9 does, however, admit that he almost considered retiring at the end of this season because of personal reasons, but after a successful year, he now wants to be part of the Boks’ title defence at the 2011 World Cup in New Zealand.
‘At the moment I’m really enjoying my rugby, and the atmosphere that has been created has brought out the best in my game,’ Du Preez told SuperRugby. ‘It was a difficult few months for me earlier this year, and a lot hinged on how things went. But the way I feel now I have a few good years in my. It wasn’t as if things weren’t good at the Boks in the past, but rather a case of whether I can reach my own goals and do better in my game.
‘A lot of us who were in the team that won the 2007 World Cup said we would make decisions after the Lions tour and take it from there,’ Du Preez said. ‘But the success we have had this year makes 2011 the next goal. If the year didn’t go so well, then my international career would be over right now.’
Du Preez has enjoyed a triumphant season with the Boks and Bulls, which has seen him win Tri-Nations, British and Irish Lions, Super 14 and Currie Cup titles in 2009. Many believe he should have received the IRB Player of the Year award, but he lost out to All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw.
These achievements have influenced Du Preez’s decision to stay.
‘I’ve really been happy with this season – it was definitely my best yet,’ said Du Preez. ‘I really gave a lot of thought to retiring at the end of this season. I was planning for a season or two overseas and wanted to get out of Pretoria, out of my comfort zone.
‘But the way things have gone made it difficult to contemplate quitting. The atmosphere that was set by the Springbok management was really wonderful. This Bok management is really some of the best ever and in that aspect I enjoy being part of the Springboks. They made it easier to make the decision.’
Du Preez’s contract at the Bulls expires in October 2010, but it looks certain that the scrumhalf will sign an extension to fulfill his 2011 World Cup ambitions.

433 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All
1 Dec 2009, 15:34 pm
@WakaNathan: Sorry. I was living out a fantasy of what I’d do.
@cab: Why? Do you have a bromance with him too?
1 Dec 2009, 15:35 pm
@WP Till I Die:
three courses and cheese surely?
maybe there is also a fish course?
and petits fours….
1 Dec 2009, 15:35 pm
@WakaNathan: Pity some of us on this site didnt know sooner you were going. There are a few guys who would love to have a chat face to face with you.
I would love to see one of your baby temper tantrums in real life and which of the kiwi-mafia wipes the snot off your nose when you are finished crying
Tell you what – wear a shirt that reads “I am Wakanathan” on the night and see if you make it thru the evening.
1 Dec 2009, 15:36 pm
@rossoneri:
do you have to use such a lame word?
cant u call it sakkie dekok or something with a bit more zest.
1 Dec 2009, 15:36 pm
@gunther:
There must be a fish course, if it’s being prepared by the superlative Suzie!
1 Dec 2009, 15:37 pm
@JL1: Look whose talking.
1 Dec 2009, 15:38 pm
Hey guys, what’s up with the vitriol aimed at WakaNathan? He’s proved himself to be a rugby lover.
1 Dec 2009, 15:39 pm
@cab: You used “helter skelter” talk about overused!
1 Dec 2009, 15:40 pm
@WP Till I Die: Yes I agree.
And JL1 is a $%%^$%^%%$#$#@#%$%$%^%$#$%^^&&&!
1 Dec 2009, 15:42 pm
@WakaNathan:
I’d be pissed of if I paid all that money and my “legend” was grewacock…. mind you pierre spies is no great conversationist…
1 Dec 2009, 15:42 pm
@whatever: Bwhahahahahaha!!! Love it, he has not got the guts
1 Dec 2009, 15:43 pm
@whatever:
What a coincidence. Whenever your name appears, I always think of snot too.
@WP Till I Die:
parktown prawns…
@rossoneri: Stick to rugby, focus now, do not go for the bait. You can do it, make us proud talk some rugby
1 Dec 2009, 15:45 pm
@gunther:
Retirement speculation probably centred around his Bok status, not playing in general. Not the 1st time it has been mentioned on Keo this year either.
1 Dec 2009, 15:48 pm
And let’s face it, announcing his retirement now will renew interest in his book (which is already selling very well!).
1 Dec 2009, 15:48 pm
@WakaNathan:
Have my LBD sorted.
I am coming to the do with you.
1 Dec 2009, 15:52 pm
What the hell is going on here. It feels like an episode of Oprah’s book club.
1 Dec 2009, 15:55 pm
@JL1: That’s what I said to you earlier. Try to come up with your own posts. I know it’s hard. But try. Forget rugby. You are not so sharp there. Stick to braai tips.
@Wezwp:
Me and Wakawaka are going to a John Smit do.
WHEN WILL THE IRB AWARDS BE AWARDED?
1 Dec 2009, 15:56 pm
@JL1:
What’s the best recipe for potato salad to go with braai.
1 Dec 2009, 15:57 pm
@Wezwp:
Done already
We are team of the year, Richie McCaw is player of the year.
Anything else?
1 Dec 2009, 15:58 pm
Who’s player of the year, Fdp get it ?
1 Dec 2009, 16:00 pm
@WakaNathan: I will look you up tonight, loud mouth
1 Dec 2009, 16:00 pm
Bokke dont deserve any award for bad sportmanship behaviour in the 3rd b & irish lions game.
1 Dec 2009, 16:02 pm
What are you going to wear?
1 Dec 2009, 16:03 pm
@Dawn: #370 It has to be Maris piper potatoes, lots of eggs, bacon, garlic chives and salt and pepper and real mayonaise. Delicious
1 Dec 2009, 16:04 pm
@Wezwp: No. Where have you been hiding? Richie McCaw got it.
1 Dec 2009, 16:04 pm
@rossoneri: Not trying to be sharp, you support a team as much as I do and we can talk, otherwise you are what you seem, nothing but hot air
1 Dec 2009, 16:05 pm
@JL1: Ja. Talk food. Stick to the things you best at.
1 Dec 2009, 16:07 pm
How about Provita’s, sardines, olives, cheddar, cream cheese, pepper, salad leaves and olive oil for lunch.
1 Dec 2009, 16:08 pm
Dawn mos loves her calamari chip rolls.
1 Dec 2009, 16:09 pm
avo on toast and i’m as happy as larry
1 Dec 2009, 16:11 pm
saturday’s match reminded me of the 19-0 loss to the All Blacks @ newlands last year where the fourie du preez & butch were were also kicking nonsense.
The brisbane game where the aussies unsettled du preez and he got flustered & started throwing his hands up with young james o’connor collecting the ball to score
And most of the 2008 s14 season for the where he was moaning about the elvs..
I think RubgyRulz got it spot on when she referred to him as “precious”, the boys is soft.
we saw this kicking malaise with the Fdp-wannabe francois hougaard against saracens & still the warning lights were ignored by coach john smit & co. After Heini, Ruan, Meisiekind & juan de jongh had ran that sarries defence ragged and leading 18-5, then came in the tactically unaware “dom doos” FH with the skop & jag and our backline was taken back to making tackles only…
1 Dec 2009, 16:12 pm
@rossoneri:
LBD!
1 Dec 2009, 16:14 pm
@Dawn:
Im a litle confused. Coming in a LBD ? Are you bringing the cigars or am I ?
1 Dec 2009, 16:14 pm
@WP Till I Die:
Babes
When is that fly friend of yours getting married.
1 Dec 2009, 16:15 pm
@WakaNathan:
LBD is a Little Black Dress.
And the cigars are your forte.
1 Dec 2009, 16:17 pm
I care not about Saturday.
Whole of last week I called a Bok loss.
No-one listened!
1 Dec 2009, 16:17 pm
@charo: eish my larnie – Im with you! Nothing beats avo on toast, a bit of black pepper
1 Dec 2009, 16:18 pm
@Dawn:
come on Dawn, youre sharper (and grubbier) than that.
“LBD…..coming……gars…..”
=
Bill & Mon.
1 Dec 2009, 16:20 pm
@Wezwp: @ 381
@Dawn:
now thats a recipe I would like to acquaint myself with
1 Dec 2009, 16:20 pm
@WakaNathan:
I’m sorry. I know not whereof you speak?
Bill Nighy?
(Maybe I’m not that grubby)
1 Dec 2009, 16:23 pm
@WP Till I Die:
smittie will have another book to write before he retires
@WakaNathan:
if he stops playing for the boks he will stop altogether…
1 Dec 2009, 16:25 pm
@Dawn:
Bill Cinton. Monica Lewinsky.
LBD. Something for the drycleaning. And a nice moist Cohiba.
1 Dec 2009, 16:26 pm
@WakaNathan:
How rude.
1 Dec 2009, 16:27 pm
@gunther:
You probably have a point there. Altho concentrating fully on Sharks getting some silverware in his last season would be a great way of repaying his most loyal fans, like Puma, should he then retire. I think most players would like to bow out with their 1st club, no ?
1 Dec 2009, 16:27 pm
@WakaNathan:
I will have you know I am beyond reproach.
I did not sleep with that man, neither did I inhale.
1 Dec 2009, 16:29 pm
@Dawn:
You may care to go over those cigar jokes we had a few weeks back with SodaJoe (and maybe WPTID ?). I would hate to think you missed out on the grubby jokes of your Keo journey.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All