Heaslip cleared
Ireland No 8 Jamie Heaslip has been cleared of an allegation of eye-gouging brought by the Springboks.
Independent citing commissioner Douglas Hunt made the decision on Monday evening, after South Africa asked for special investigation into an incident involving Heaslip and flank Heinrich Brüssow in the first half of the Croke Park Test on Saturday. South Africa reportedly had no concrete evidence for Hunt to work with in his investigation.
The Irish Rugby Football Union [IRFU] said they were ‘very disappointed’ with the saga and lamented Heaslip’s name being mentioned in the media.
‘The Six Nations has confirmed to the Irish Rugby Football Union that none of a number of referrals made by South Africa against Ireland players has been upheld by the independent citing commissioner that was present at the game between Ireland and South Africa in Croke Park on Saturday 28 November,’ they said in a statement.
‘The Ireland management is, however, very disappointed that the name of an Ireland player was subsequently associated with eye-gouging in the media as a result of one of these unsubstantiated referrals.’
The IRFU also questioned the validity of the claims brought against Heaslip and others.
‘The Ireland management fully support and believe in the integrity of the citing process in place, but believe that any referrals in this process should be made only when they are material and substantial.’

December 1st, 2009 at 8:40 am
Please don’t start whinging about double standards gentlemen.
December 1st, 2009 at 8:50 am
fingering Dragons!
December 1st, 2009 at 8:57 am
Is there any video anywhere of this? I know there was a bit of handbags near the beginning of the match (apparently when it happened)…would be interested to see it.
In any event, no player is above reproach…If a player feels his eyes were attacked, the team has every right to ask for an investigation. Heaslip has been cleared, and that should be the end of it. The IRFU shouldn’t go making accusations. It’s not the fault of the teams involved in citings that the media get involved and publish names, is it?
December 1st, 2009 at 9:17 am
It sound a fabrication from the minute go, the citing was lodged after 48 hours, I said it before and I am glad I was right
December 1st, 2009 at 9:23 am
If it was an attack on the eyes (for which there seems to be no evidence) the player responsible should be heavily punished.
If it was a fabrication, the player responsible for the false accusation should be heavily punished.
Looks like one of those where we’ll never know
December 1st, 2009 at 9:30 am
Speaking of false accusations, was any action ever taken against the French fullback for engineering the citing against Habs?
December 1st, 2009 at 9:59 am
Could have guessed it with this flawed system.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:00 am
Evidence is evidence. End of the matter. Seems silly to make an allegation without any.
Another example of the dof “headless chicken” South African approach?…
December 1st, 2009 at 10:03 am
Obviously the Boks wouldn’t have made the allegation if they didn’t believe it happened. Just because it wasn’t caught on camera doesn’t mean they shouldn’t mention it
December 1st, 2009 at 10:10 am
I would have hoped that Brian O’Driscoll and friends would come clean on this, and damn this te same way they did a couple of months ago on the Lions tour. Agree with #9 Rich. Just because it wasn’t cought on camera means it didn’t take place. Remember specificaly in the game a scuffle between Brussouw and Heaslip with Heaslip coming away with a torn jersey. Must be when it happened?
December 1st, 2009 at 10:11 am
@rich1: Why, so people can question your motives or question the actual existence of the alleged incident when the expected “not guilty due to lack of evidence is made”? It’s a little embarrassing for SA, isn’t it?
If you can’t put it up then shut it up.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:16 am
@wooden spoon: Nobody in the bok camp ecpected any action in any case. Irish cameras and Irish producers decided what would be shown. Brussouw would’nt just make up something like this. He’s not french….
December 1st, 2009 at 10:17 am
@wooden spoon: Embarrasing/unsubstansial/inaccurate Maybe? Do you want a Visa?
December 1st, 2009 at 10:19 am
@Bokpoot: How do you prove it without evidence? What must the citing commissioner do with an accusation and no evidence?
December 1st, 2009 at 10:19 am
Not only can’t they win the test, but they can’t even get a citing to stick…
Incompetence on and off the field.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:21 am
@Bokpoot: I’m not doubting the incident didn’t happen…
But come on chaps, if you don’t want egg on your face, then surely you don’t make a serious allegation without the means of proving it?
@Bakmister: visa for where?
December 1st, 2009 at 10:22 am
@rossoneri: Why does he need to prove it? If he was gouged, he needs to raise the point.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:25 am
The IRFU say as much in one simple sentence…
‘The Ireland management fully support and believe in the integrity of the citing process in place, but believe that any referrals in this process should be made only when they are material and substantial.’
Material being the operational word. Without evidence the allegation is immaterial.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:26 am
@wooden spoon: I just thought you are not from here(SA)!! We get this kind of reaction from our leaders so what do you expect would SB admin do? To be a international embaresment is a law here, and you dont need evidence to be wrong
December 1st, 2009 at 10:28 am
Listen neither I or anyone here know what happened….
However, this whole “why would the boks claim it if it weren’t true” is ludicrous. Since the allegaion not one word has been written regarding the actual game and it’s victors or indeed the shortcomings of the losers……It has created a complete smokescreen…..
December 1st, 2009 at 10:30 am
@Bokpoot:
I am sure it didn’t elude the citing commissioner too
It’s the duty of the captain to attract the Test referee’s attention to the transgression and that didn’t happened!
December 1st, 2009 at 10:32 am
@wooden spoon: Boks wouldn’t have access to all the footage of the game, they needed to request a investigation within a couple of hours after the game. The citing commisioner would need to make a decision about the citing within 48 hours. It would be up to him to look whether there is any evidence.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:32 am
@Bakmister: My bloed is groen.
@Just Another Paddy: Are you living in a dreamworld? The Irish were praised in the press, just as the Boks were rubbished and disgraced. Stop feeling like a victim when there’s no need and enjoy the win – you don’t have many against the Boks
December 1st, 2009 at 10:36 am
@Just Another Paddy: Yeah reminds one of the Lions series, doesn’t it…..
December 1st, 2009 at 10:37 am
@WP_:
What is that flawed system you refer to?
There is a lawyer who is the SARU Citing commissioner, not sure of his name, he came up this year with few buffled decisions that defied all realities, I guess he is the man for the job?
December 1st, 2009 at 10:38 am
No wonder nothing could be found – the camerawork for the match was sh*t … The Northern hemisphere should stop spending so much money on players and start focusing on improving their TV coverage for who the games about – the fans…
December 1st, 2009 at 10:40 am
@Just Another Paddy: Just incase you need to hear this from us…well played you guys deserved the win!!
Now, what about that congratulions on the British and Irish Lions series?
December 1st, 2009 at 10:48 am
In the smog nobody could see anything, ideal for the odd eye gouge.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:49 am
I thought it would have been more appropriate to cite the spear tackle made on Habana after the whistle went. No mention of that? It never fails to amaze me that they only punish these when the player is actually injured.
I do agree with some of the comments here – SA very seldom cite the opposition. We’re not a bunch of whingers like the Aussies, who cite every broken fingernail. So if a claim of eye-gouging has been made, I find it hard to beliebe it isn’t genuine, but completely accept that without evidence the case is dropped. Lets move on.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:51 am
@Hondo: Let’s see what happens to the Frenchman.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:52 am
@steeve: I agree there – what’s with those low angle shots where you can’t even tell which way the tryline is? I also like to see the odd angled shot, but not for a whole phase of play.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:57 am
@Hondo: The citing was in time, it was on the news before the 48 hour mark, or are you talking about some other citing.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:57 am
@TheTackler: chuffnut
December 1st, 2009 at 10:58 am
@Bokpoot:
Think that was in the second half – Boks said it was in the first half
December 1st, 2009 at 11:07 am
@TheTackler: It must hurt to lose three times in a row to a bunch of incompetents.
December 1st, 2009 at 11:08 am
@rich1: Actually according to the Irishtimes, they did say it was in the second half.
December 1st, 2009 at 11:11 am
Even if the Boks have evidence that something happened, other players don’t get cited or only gets one week, Giteau and Pu Preez, Shaw and Du Preez, Smit and Thorn…ect. etc.
December 1st, 2009 at 11:22 am
Can I just say, everyone I know and all the media (Irish) I viewed in the aftermath fully accept the Boks deserved the Lions series…..Reading KEO would have you all believing otherwise and understandably so…..
Sure the second test was a toss-up (one of my favourite ever games incidentally) but you clearly outplayed us in the first. Heaslip was incredibally frustrated after the second test and was ungracious in defeat, I accept that…..
That has nothing to do with my previous comment which I stand by…….
December 1st, 2009 at 11:26 am
I agree with Chappy, we don’t know if he did and we don’t know if he didn’t. Opinions about what happened are just that: opinions. No harm done to HB, no video evidence, nothing to be done. So lets drop it.
December 1st, 2009 at 11:28 am
What’s this:
- 4 months ago, Peter de Villiers condones Burgers blatant and premeditated Eye-Gouging of a B & I Lion. Calling it all part of a Mans game, or some such thing.
- Now, with no evidence at all, he back-tracks and sullies the good name of Jamie Heaslip?
Strange but true.
December 1st, 2009 at 11:42 am
More confirmation that while South Africa are probably the best side in the world, they are also the worst losers and excuse makers.
This stunt of naming Jamie Heaslip was done for no other reason than to tarnish his name and was an abuse of the citing procedure. After the Lions tests Heaslip was one of the players who came out and complained very loudly about Schalk Burgers eye gouge. That p*ssed the Springboks off and so now they have invented this. Why would he complain that eye gouging is a complete no-go area and then go and do it himself???? Wake up you one-eyed South Africans. This was a fabrication.
And as for that Schalk Burger. He belongs in a zoo where he can live with the rest of the animals. And his petulant “celebration” of his try was more proof that he just doesn’t give a sh*t about what he did to Luke Fitzgerald. A complete assh*le.
There was no genuine bad blood between these two teams before but there will be now, and it is all the making of the South Africans. I think the reason for this pathetic behaviour by the Springboks is quite obvious: Three consecutive losses to Ireland.
December 1st, 2009 at 11:43 am
@Just Another Paddy: Fair enough. Still stand by my congratulating you on saturday’s game. Don’t realy know what smoke screen you are refering to exept maybe the field on saturday.
The Irish press did praise of the Boks after the B&I series. The welsh has never acknowledged that the boks won. The english press was a mixed bag and the scots only mentioned it in passing. The Irish players where extremely undignified in the defeat thou, and that is what has stuck with the Boks and their supporters.
December 1st, 2009 at 11:46 am
oh – i see kackler/teo is back…
I didnt see the eyegouging so cant comment on this matter but i’m up for a bit of banter…
@wooden spoon: u r boring
@TheTackler: like i said before if it smells like kakler it probably is
@Just Another Paddy: i agree
@cane: i thought the ‘good name’ of jamie had been cleared.. what r u on about?
December 1st, 2009 at 11:47 am
@cane: One way of seeing it.
Or you could say he made a mistake in the interview (I myself have never given an interview to a media mob in my second language, but I would assume you would struggle to express yourself as clearly as you would like to), then aplogised without reservation for those remarks “”My comments on Saturday were based on what I know of Schalk Burger as a player and not on what occurred. It was never my intention to suggest that I condone foul play. That is the last thing I would ever do and I apologise for creating any other impression.”
But sure, let’s just ignore what we don’t want to hear (his apology and retraction) and keep saying he condones dirty play, cos it’s much easier to despise than to forgive.
Even so, is he supposed to ignore a player who comes to him saying he’s been gouged? He asked the citing commissioner to investigate the incident. I wonder if you would take the same stance if say, Danny told Henry he’d been gouged by a player. Or would you demand an investigation? I wonder. Just as some saffers here don’t know for sure that he was gouged, you also don’t know for sure that he wasn’t. You’re as liable to flouting your opinions as fact as the most rabid Saffa. bloggers are.
December 1st, 2009 at 11:48 am
@ultra vires: to be fair i am rather pleased that schalk celebrated the way he did – it is exactly how most players do after scoring a great try… u need a doctor to overcome ur neurosis
December 1st, 2009 at 11:51 am
@Atreides: well said and very well explained. i recommend this to all non south africans and all those that used to be that we dont want back e.g. tackler
December 1st, 2009 at 11:53 am
@ultra vires: Rather sounds like you are inventing enough for everyone…..assumptions?
December 1st, 2009 at 11:54 am
@Bokpoot: sounds like you are suggestion otherwise – where is your evidence?
December 1st, 2009 at 11:55 am
@ultra vires: Wow you must have enjoyed watching the match 3 metres from the sidelines, wish I’d been there. (You must have been that close to the incident because you’re clearly in possession of all the facts)
But if not…WOW…you’ve just managed to squeeze about 5 false arguments into one paragraph. Ad hominem, false premise, flawed deductive reasoning, association fallacy and fundamental attribution errors….all in one paragraph!
December 1st, 2009 at 11:58 am
@sideline: Hhahah…really getting desperate there are you?
December 1st, 2009 at 12:00 pm
The fact that the SA delegation asked for all the footage and were only given footage from less than half of the camera’s wouldn’t warrant a conspiracy would it?
Heaslip could have butt raped the Irish prime minister and the citing wouldn’t have stuck.
At least our lot are citing for a long time we didn’t and it cost us.
Heaslip is a hypocrite considering all his vocals after Schalks indiscretion. I think we should just wait for him to tour SA again and we shall welcome him in our own special way.
Mind you the Irish are hypocrites aren’t they. Tossers like Bono denouncing Apartheid when in Ireland people still live in segregated communities with big walls seperating them from each other. If it wasn’t for Guiness, the beautiful Carolines and some decent fishing the rest of the world would have nuked them years ago.
(oh and for the politically correct, I abhorred apartheid I just think Bono would do better to try sort Irelands kak out first before boring us with his self serving egotistical campaigns to save the world.)
@sideline:
Mud sticks.
@Atreides: man – your observation and comment is spot on
December 1st, 2009 at 12:04 pm
@Bokpoot: no just waiting for the answer u are desparately avoiding giving…
@DEE DAH: and dont forget that wonderful chap Bono banks offshore so he doesnt have to share his taxes with the rst of his countrymen …
@cane: especially in ireland – lol
December 1st, 2009 at 12:05 pm
@ultra vires:
Hey Moron South Africa has cited less players than any of the top nations.
If Heaslip was cited it was because he did something wrong.
The Boks don’t whinge and they don’t shy away from physicality. After the France test where they completely bullied us we didn’t cite anybody then did we? Both Bakkies and Victor had head wounds that were caused by a bit of extra but there was no need to cite.
The Lions tour to SA showed why the British empire collapsed and why the Brits were able to rule Ireland for centuries. The Poms have gone soft and the Irish are even softer.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:06 pm
@Bokpoot: still waiting for your evidence …
December 1st, 2009 at 12:07 pm
@Atreides #44:
Good Post Atreides. Much more than I deserved.
I think PdV, most likely retracted and apologise on the orders of the SARU.
I also seem to recall they (the SARU), told him to keep his cake-hole shut in future.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:07 pm
@sideline:
Too bloody right, if he really wanted to help all those starving fly ridden snot encrusted african orphans he would stop clapping his hands at concerts and start putting his hands in his pockets.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:08 pm
@sideline:
In Ireland…….Peat sticks.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:09 pm
@sideline: I’m not sure what you are asking? Have you actually read my posts?@DEE DAH: No need to for that kind of talk. We all have problems. You don’t need to try and offend a whole nation……
December 1st, 2009 at 12:11 pm
@DEE DAH: man you are so right. what about that other crusty old tramp looking bloke – whats his name again… geld-dof, sorry i mean geldof ! why doesnt he drop a million or so of his own into the funds…
@cane: i had to laugh at this but i’m sticking with Atreides version of events
December 1st, 2009 at 12:12 pm
Did you hear about the *** Irish Gardener……..he was up to his balls in Peat.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:13 pm
@cane: i’ll grant you that one – good comeback !
December 1st, 2009 at 12:16 pm
@cane: and while we r at it – it seems Peat only sticks more than Jamie ‘cos Heasliped…
December 1st, 2009 at 12:17 pm
@cane: To be fair, I’m sure SARU gave him a gentle nudge in the apology direction. But he is known to struggle to express himself clearly – my wife is Afrikaans and comes up with some clangers, cos she does direct translations in her head and they often don’t come out the way she intended…so I feel for him sometimes.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:17 pm
@Bokpoot:
I can only offend literate people on this site, so at best I am only offending the small minority of literate Irishmen who like Bono. It’s about 2 people including Adam Clayton and the Edge. The rest of the Irish are in some pub drinking Guiness and singing Molly Malone discussing the hurling.
It’s only the moneyed British descended land owners who care about rugby in Ireland.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:18 pm
It never ceases to amaze me that so many bloggers on this site reduce their arguments to blatant racism and issues that are completely unrelated to rugby.
We’re discussing a rugby match and you idiots start slagging the Irish about our weather, our history with the British, Bono, camera angles in Croke Park, etc etc the list goes on. How in the hell the Irish rugby team are responsible for any of the above is beyond me.
You wont find any Irish rugby supporters lowering themselves to slagging the Springboks team about say for example, apartheid or the worst aids epidemic in the world…
December 1st, 2009 at 12:19 pm
@DEE DAH: i get what u mean – the cultured types that change the world with other peoples money?
December 1st, 2009 at 12:21 pm
@DEE DAH: If you are looking for literate people you are probably on the wrong site anyway.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:22 pm
@ultra vires: yes but –
and the Irish press were going on and on about Bok physicality… to the point of boring me.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:22 pm
“The Six Nations has confirmed to the Irish Rugby Football Union that none of a number of referrals made by South Africa against Ireland players has been upheld…”
Does any body has an idea what the other referrals were all about. I would suggest that the incident where Habana was picked up and release in the air by an Irish player must be one. Irish players diving onto Habana and FdP in our in-goal area are two others I can think of. Surely there were video evidence of this!
December 1st, 2009 at 12:23 pm
@ultra vires: go read my post to you again, (slowly so you don’t hurt your brain) and see if you can detect any irony in what you just said
December 1st, 2009 at 12:24 pm
@sideline and Dee Dah:
Come on Guys………… Bonner and Bobby Geldoff …….who are you going to denigrate next…………..Mother Tersea and Dr David Livingston. John Eales and Tiger Woods……oops
December 1st, 2009 at 12:25 pm
@ultra vires: and i would suggest Bono etc are irish supporters and the whole world knows how they contributed to the elavation of the worlds most succesful terrorist oprganisation- the ANC, from their bush camp to the Unioun Building in Pretoria.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:25 pm
@nama1: Shock horror….so surprised I almost fell off my chair
December 1st, 2009 at 12:26 pm
@cane: I will denigrate Mother Theresa.
She was not all that they say she was cracked up to be.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:27 pm
@nama1: They officialy only asked for the gouging to be referred.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:27 pm
@cane: actually Cane – they are all wonderful people – how dare you sully their name by bringing them into this, lol.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:29 pm
@Atreides:
I take your point.
And by the way, I like Peter. Being the Bok Coach must be one of the toughest jobs in Sport, anywhere.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:30 pm
@ultra vires:
yadda yadda yadda
It’s called banter and if any Irishman seriously takes offence to it then obviously there is a bit more pom in them than what grammy and mam told them.
You seem to forget all the accusations of us South Africans being the murderers and rapists of the world by Lions fans trying to create an image of SA thuggery despite the Lions’ atrocious behaviour on tour.
I will say it again Brussouw would not have made the allegations if it had not happened it is not in our culture to whinge and cite players for being physical. We whinge when we have been cheated, like the O’Gara try years ago.
We lost on Saturday cos Ireland were better, thats not whinging.
I think you by taking on the role of Judge, Juror and Executioner are acting beyond your powers, ultra vires if you will.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:31 pm
@Karoolander: and what about Dr King – didnt Bono and pals make money out of him with their Pride in the Name of Love song… wheres the love now? spread some of it around Bono and get your team mates to do the same and stop the eye gouging etc – just because jamie slipped doesnt mean he didnt do it.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:34 pm
@cane:
It gets easier the more you think about it.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:36 pm
@DEE DAH: I’m a South African and I have taken offence to most of your comments about the Irish and Africans.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:36 pm
@Karoolander:
Are you, “He Who’s name must not be spoken”?
December 1st, 2009 at 12:39 pm
@cane:that was funny
December 1st, 2009 at 12:41 pm
@cane: Errrr???? I really do not know.
But i am not Pietman.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:44 pm
getting back to the alleged eye gouging and general play of the irish – wasnt it the irish lions that invented the lets have a fight with the boks if we cant beat them approach to the game? feel free to correct me on this point if i am wrong… i just feel it shows how the irish team does things.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:45 pm
The comments above have been pretty amusing for me anyway……No offence taken……
However if someone is honestly suggesting Earls should be cited for attempting to jump on a ball in case FDP dropped it in goal, they should honestly take themselves to the nearest soccer pitch and never speak of rugby again……
Meanwhile Becker jumping with two knees on David Wallace’s neck with his back turned and on the ground or good old JP’s attempted beheading of Tommy Bowe is quietly sweapt under the rug……
At least pretend to show some objectivity…..
December 1st, 2009 at 12:48 pm
“wasnt it the irish lions that invented the lets have a fight with the boks if we cant beat them approach to the game?”
Sorry what….?…
Please don’t tell me this refers to Drico and Big Vic’s little altercation…..
If so……
GET OVER IT……..
December 1st, 2009 at 12:48 pm
@Atreides:
@Atreides: Didnt read your post to me Atreides but I have now. The answer to your question is yes, I was at the game and sitting very close to the pitch.
@DEE DAH: I’m still really at a loss to understand how Bono was brought into this debate – though he would be thrilled – seeing as he believes the world revolves around him. Irish people slag him off about that as much as anyone else.
By the way its not just Bono and co. who send humanitarian aid to your country. We have a number of charitable organisations here who organise trips every year to South Africa to build thousands of houses for people living in shanty towns. Hundreds of people here give up their holidays to go to SA to do this without payment, for no reason other than to help the millions of people living in abject poverty in your fantastic country.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:49 pm
@Just Another Paddy: i’ve been ‘pretending’ a lot today but now i have to go to work.. thanks for the laughs everyone. I apologise to all those I offended from my fingertips to my eyeballs – lol
December 1st, 2009 at 12:50 pm
@Bokpoot:
Well you are proof that the world would be a better place if not for the apologists and politically correct brigade.
I don’t see how referring to starving, snot encrusted african babies is offending anybody, it is a statement of fact. The only people it could possibly offend are the likes of Bob Mugabe who don’t want anybody to find out.
Healthy discourse has never hurt anybody, on the other hand restricting peoples freedom of expression has caused quite a bit of poo in the past.
If I was a *** single parent muslim with HIV I would be allowed to say anything I liked and the apologist PC brigade would applaud cry and ejaculate at the same time.
Once again Ireland beat us fair and square, somebody stuck their fingers in Brussouws eyes because Saffas don’t make kak like that up, it goes against our grain to admit that somebody has bossed us and we didn’t sort it out ourselves.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:52 pm
@Just Another Paddy:
Please, Bekker retaliated and was dualy dealt with by the ref! JP’S tackle was high and he was lucky to get away with it(hasn’t been his first time either) but Earls dive on FDP was right infront of the ref, and he ignored completely!
December 1st, 2009 at 12:52 pm
@ultra vires: And the Irish doing a better job than the SA Government re: building homes.
I took a look at the homes built by the Irish.
Being part Irish i wasn`t really surprised by the better workmanship.
A big up to them Irish
December 1st, 2009 at 12:55 pm
@sideline#92:
Come back anytime Side-winder.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:55 pm
Filthy Ulster street thug … just because there was no video evidence does not mean that he is innocent.
December 1st, 2009 at 12:59 pm
@DEE DAH: As much as we might agree on Brussouw and how we mostly get screwed in these kind of incidents, you should really be carefull with your the rest of your comments. No matter your opinion on pc etc, you should realise that it is not up to you or me to decide what is right or wrong but to try and respect others, even the Irish, the way you would like them to respect you. Don’t take it personally , I just called it the way I saw it.
December 1st, 2009 at 1:01 pm
@ultra vires:
Ok UV I will spell it out for you. This entire blog about did he or didn’t he is so effing asinine that I thought I would bring in some important issues to debate but still keeping an Irish theme to it.
Tell me where these thousands of houses are, you do realise thousands is a number with 3 zero’s after it.
What happened? do you pay 5 punt a month to some “charity” and really believe that you have adopted an african baby, supplied his village with running water, solved cholera, cured TB, eradicated malaria and built 1000’s of homes. All you have really done is build Bono a studio and managed to keep a Boom Town rat alive when he should have been euthanised years ago.
If you really want to help our “fantastic” country stop giving aid it doesn’t help. We generate more than enough income here to support the entire population in luxury. Foreign aid just means the corrupt politicians can claim your work as their own and then pocket the money allocated to the projects in the first place.
At the risk of sounding ungrateful stick foreign aid up it’s own ***.
I am buggering off I came to talk rugby and I feel like I have 20 minutes with Julius Malema
December 1st, 2009 at 1:02 pm
Ha ha, these postings are hillarious.
At the end of the day: this is a SAFFA site, and us SAFFAs tend to be a little ROF now and then.
So sensitive Irish poets, please stay away you won’t find any poetry here.
Only annoyed Bok fans.
Since you Irish can now understand Afrikaans, gaan kak in die mielies.
December 1st, 2009 at 1:04 pm
Bokpoot…..
Simon Shaw did the exact same thing as Bekker in the Lions tour, gota yellow card and a two week suspension I believe…….
Yet still these boards were full of comments complaining about it weeks later…..
The shoe is now on the other foot and surprise surprise the goalposts have been shifted…..
December 1st, 2009 at 1:06 pm
@DEE DAH: They do build these homes. I have seen it for myself.
But i fully agree with your post. We do not need foreign aid.
December 1st, 2009 at 1:07 pm
Can’t expect better from the IRB. If the incident involved Bakkies, he would have been banished to the seventh hell. I don’t believe SA will ever get justice from the IRB, therefore, take it uppon yourselves.
The poor ref on Saturday was so scared that a rugby game might actually start up that he penalized everything and missed the areas where stiff arms and shoulder charges went in!
December 1st, 2009 at 1:10 pm
@RedLion:
No Video evidence.
Neutral Referee saw Nothing.
Neutral Linesman X 2, (Asst Refs) saw Nothing.
This issue is a mole-hill.
December 1st, 2009 at 1:12 pm
@Atreides: 75
Put your seatbelt on.
@RedLion: 96
Yes, you’re right but because there is no evidence he cannot be found guilty. Simple really.
You would not like to go to jail for drunk driving just because somebody claimed that you were drunk while driving you car. You’d want them to provide evidence.
December 1st, 2009 at 1:13 pm
@Just Another Paddy: Well why didn’t you ask for the incident to be refered? Simon Shaw ran at full speed and dived knees first into FDP’s back a lot like Earls on saturday….Bekker was standing still and Wallace was grabing on to him while lying on the floor …basically begging for Bekker to retaliate, and basically milking a penalty. Nothing like the shaw incident.
The reason why it was complained about weeks later was because of the Lions supporters continues hammering on about the Boks being dirty players.
December 1st, 2009 at 1:16 pm
@nama1:
Stop making sense nama1.
You will ruin the reputation of your Nation. (pertaining to Rugby matters that is).
@Karoolander:
Next week I will rant about religion and if the Irish situation hasn’t died down I am gonna bring Catholic priests and their prediliction for young tender cuts of lamb into it.
And before you start Bokpoot I was raised a Catholic so I am qualified to say whatever I want.
I might even have a crack at Rhema and their famous wife swapping orgies. Ok I made that one up! But I have my suspiscions.
@cane:
hmmm, then who fingered Brüssow? Was it perhaps Burger the convicted fave mugger? Did we finger our own players like the time when Krige knocked Mr. Petoors lights out in a test match.
December 1st, 2009 at 1:18 pm
“Simon Shaw ran at full speed and dived knees first into FDP’s back a lot like Earls on saturday”
Well firstly Earls clealry lands on FDP in a diving motion for the ball. He was late,no doubt put penalise this and rugby will turn into a chorus of whistles…..
“basically begging for Bekker to retaliate, and basically milking a penalty.”
You cannot be serious. Watch it again. It is your average ruck with nothing ore than the usual jostling. Becker stands up, then jumps back down on Wallace, who’s back is turned….Fair enough if Wallace stands up and Becker clouts him face to face…..At least that’s what any other man might have done in the situation…..
December 1st, 2009 at 1:18 pm
@RedLion:
That is a horrible image the entire Bok squad in the shower fingering each other.
December 1st, 2009 at 1:20 pm
@DEE DAH: sic man … only Aussie league players do such things to each other … oh that is true.
December 1st, 2009 at 1:21 pm
anyway
RL out!
December 1st, 2009 at 1:22 pm
RL will return posting more stories about the Lions build up to the S14.
December 1st, 2009 at 1:23 pm
@Just Another Paddy: Wallace is far to wily for that….did the same for the lions….
December 1st, 2009 at 1:25 pm
@REDLION (96.) Heaslip plays for Leinster not Ulster. Can you get anything right?
December 1st, 2009 at 1:25 pm
@Just Another Paddy: What Earl was going for is a matter of opinion, it wasn’t like he and FDP dived together. FDP was lying on the ground and earl dived on top of him?
December 1st, 2009 at 1:37 pm
@RedLion: Lol! Well against France, Burger looked like he was trying to rip Brussow’s head off. He wants HIS jersey back you see…….
December 1st, 2009 at 1:45 pm
@Just Another Paddy: 109
“Well firstly Earls clealry lands on FDP in a diving motion for the ball. He was late,no doubt put penalise this and rugby will turn into a chorus of whistles…..”
Why don’t we stop penalising players for late tackles in the field of play then also?
Maybe players will stop doing it once they realise that referees will punnish them with a penalty on the halfway line.
I just hate this diving onto a player after he scored a try or grounded the ball in his own area. Players can get seriously hurt (break ribs etc) and something must be done to deter players from doing it.
December 1st, 2009 at 2:00 pm
The poor reffing and the attitude of the IRB has made this year less then pleasant and I have lost respect for the body as a whole.
They need to address the quality of the NH refs! We (SA) have 4 international quality refs where England has only 2, France 1, Ireland 1, Wales 1. And they are all shite, I mean look at Nigel ‘looks like Shane Williams dad” Owens who missed a tackle in the air on Habana and the seconds later waved off a spear tackle on the same player. Poor. He then blows a high tackle made by Steyn when the ball was on the Irish idiots head!
The European rugby community really pisses me off, they act so high and mighty and think there all that. But the facts remain that in our “3rd world nation’ we are able to breed champions from two different generations. Where as they sit on the rich rugby boards and dictate their vision for rugby that sees the SH get the short end of the stick. They know very little about winning rugby and when they do, it’s because they have SH coaches halping them (Gatlin, Smal).
They piss me off!
December 1st, 2009 at 2:06 pm
Lads I take your word’s for it…..Earls was out of line…
The thing that annoys me is this, their dirtier than us craic…..Evry team has “dirty” players. To say Ireland or the boks were by far the nore thuggish on saturday is as ridiculous as it is pointless…..
I really can’t understand the animosity being billed up between the two nations or this so called rivalry. O.k fair enough on the pitch but not off it…..It’s been taken too far the last couple of weeks as evinced by the majority of comments above….
December 1st, 2009 at 2:06 pm
@Just Another Paddy: The Irish are a funny bunch to be acting self rightous, don’t you think? The Irish have been lucky on two occasions against the boks, both because of poor reffing, this game included.
In reality this game (tour) ment nothing and the boks won every game they needed to in order to win the trophies this year.
We never do well on tour as it is always a BEE sideshow, and we never have the right backup players in the squad, last years tour excluded.
December 1st, 2009 at 2:20 pm
@Just Another Paddy: 120
“It’s been taken too far the last couple of weeks”
Agree. Some comments were just over the top, from both sides. I don’t think it was necessary. The animosity stops when players leave the field. Then we are friends again.
December 1st, 2009 at 2:47 pm
@Atreides: Don’t forget Straw Man…
December 1st, 2009 at 2:51 pm
In the interest of balance from an Irish point of view – The ref ans assitants also missed O’Callaghan’s attempted sly dig on Schalk Burger’s face during a ruck.
Now that’s objectivity.
They should have all had a beer after the test at the weekend. I’m sure they’d have all got on fine. Both teams are the best in their respective hemispheres after all…champions altogether.
Not after game 1 of a 3 game series, like Smit suggested was a good idea during the Lions…if ever there was evidence of Saffers creating the supposed bad blood that feeds into your own insecurities, thus hopefully delivering the test result in Dublin then that was it. That, and book sales of course.
I mean honestly, would you lot go for a beer after the first battle, or when the war is over? I certainly wouldn’t.
December 1st, 2009 at 3:13 pm
@Irish not British:
When it comes to beer I would have one with anybody at anytime. I would even drink with Ultra Vires and Tackler and by the end of the evening I would be professing my undying love to them and calling them my best mates.
Of course then I would blow tacklers brains out and feed his carcass to my pit bull. Such is life with us uneducated uncouth yokels in africa, thats why Tackler left.
December 1st, 2009 at 3:24 pm
@Breakdown Boy:
If this tour means nothing, then why bother?
December 1st, 2009 at 4:05 pm
@sideline: Lol, a regular little know-it-all huh? Haha, get a grip bro.
December 1st, 2009 at 5:04 pm
If I was wanting a fight, I’d go blogging on an Irish website..
December 1st, 2009 at 5:35 pm
@Irish not British:
Personally I’d go for a beer anytime. Why go out for beers once when you can get on the piss three times? Makes sense to me
December 1st, 2009 at 5:50 pm
@Irish not British:
I suppose it depends on who’s paying.
December 1st, 2009 at 6:13 pm
@Rich1 If it was a Windhoek I’d have gone. If it was that Castle muck I’d have ignored the invite. Maybe the Lions players wary of interrupting the prayer meeting. The Boks seem to like their god a lot. I’ve had invites like that before, you think you’re going for a beer and then some ***** freak talks religion at you for half an hour.
December 1st, 2009 at 6:36 pm
I’d go for a beer before the battle even.
December 1st, 2009 at 6:45 pm
@Paddylock:
Yes, we’ve all heard about your Irish priests.
December 1st, 2009 at 6:48 pm
@Paddylock: LOL that is a very funny post Paddy!
Very good point, a lot of the Boks do gush on about Christianity, and Ive noticed lots of rugby players of all nationalities cross themselves and look at heaven after scoring a try or something.
Suppose it has some link with continuing ethos of rugby, the tradition etc and that rugby is popular in countries more Christian (or overtly Christian)?
I agree, I wouldn’t have gone for a Castle – and as they were the sponsors it might’ve been the tipple.
Cant believe the Irish turned down a drink though! Ceol agus ol agus craic and all that
December 1st, 2009 at 7:10 pm
None of the Irish players are into god. Andrew Trimble was but he’s not in the squad anymore.
Afrikaners seem to be big into their religion and I think that scares the Europeans (with the exception of Jason Robinson). Hansie Cronje and Joost liked their god too. One of them was corrupt and the other did drugs with a hooker. God didn’t like them obviously.
I don’t understand god at all anyway. Why would god prefer Bakkies Botha to, say, Paul O’Connell? Because Bakkies prays to god and Paul doesn’t? Is god really that insecure? The poor chap.
I do know a number of the Irish team and the Lions and they couldn’t have been more complimentary about Smit, Matfield and Habana in particular after the series. They went for plenty of beers with them.
December 1st, 2009 at 7:21 pm
Heaslip was trying to stop Brussouw from reading the notes in his pocket from Smal revealing the prowess of matfield and the bok lineout!
Give it up Boks, go and rest, you are a tired bunch after a season far too long. A great season though, congrats!
December 1st, 2009 at 7:28 pm
I think this is being blown out of proportion. If Heinrich is reeally sure that he was gouged, then Heaslip should be given the mandatory 2-year ban and everyone will be happy.
December 1st, 2009 at 7:33 pm
@Paddylock:
Fair call. After their experiences with catholic priests when they were kids, I wouldn’t blame the Irish players from doing a runner from any form of religous meeting.
December 1st, 2009 at 7:37 pm
@anylayman:
Absolutely. He’s a religous man, why would he lie? Unlike those Irish heathens…
December 1st, 2009 at 7:40 pm
Anyone fancy a pint?
December 1st, 2009 at 7:41 pm
@rich1: not cool to joke about these things buddy.think about those victims who had their lives destroyed by this vile abuse of power.
December 1st, 2009 at 7:42 pm
Any more King Billy & famine songs today, Valkyrie, you f*ckw1t?
December 1st, 2009 at 7:50 pm
@Valkyrie:
Fair enough – i forgot it’s quite a sensitive topic over there at the moment.
On the rugby side of things though, all problems can be solved with beer. Even if it is only Castle
December 1st, 2009 at 7:58 pm
@rich1: castle not my favourite as well!
December 1st, 2009 at 8:07 pm
Heinrich never even knew he was in France for the test match against the French … he admitted to it. How the fek does a citing commissioner take him seriously.
It’s time Saffas thought about what they say!!!!!!!
December 1st, 2009 at 8:27 pm
@kevin w:
He played well there though, a lot better than the guys who did know where they were, so maybe he’s onto something
December 1st, 2009 at 9:04 pm
regarding this artical i think double standards live in Ireland. They cry like kids at everything. Living there, you also realize how many people “think” they understand the game of rugby, but actually they dont know the rules very well at all. Go into a pub in Ireland and watch a game with them and you can only roll your eyes!
Burger might play hard, but he is not a dirty player. the Lions incident was a rarity. The media in ireland covered the papers; and in one degree(irish people fall for the stupid reporters,WHO in their own right,barely know the game and write so much rubbish you can tell). So the media practically “told” them to Boo Burger on Saturday. So everyone there still thinks Burger eye gouged Fitsy when Fitsy himself said Burger did not. There was zero news that said it was confirmed by the C.C. that he did not eye gouge. You can be sure Ireland will keep Heaslipsies eye gouging article as small as possible in the papers, if, in it at all. Double standards. The coach does not want to be tarnished with such things, well coach sir, don’t be disappointed with the media, be disappointed with your players. O’Dris-colly is certainly not the cleanest player either. But that would never be said on this emerald island!
December 1st, 2009 at 9:43 pm
@ Greenies: What are you on about? Both sides have the opportunity to draw incidents to the citing commissioner after the game. Ireland ‘who cry like kids at everything’ didn’t seek to have anyone cited. Not JPP nor Bekker. South Africa tried to cite a number of players and named Heaslip without any evidence to support their charge. Just before the Lions tour Alan Quinlan gouged Leo Cullen in the Heinken Cup Final and the public and the authorities were unanimous that he should be banned. He was banned for 12 weeks and missed the Lions tour.
Where did Fitzgerald say that Burger did not gouge him? Fitzgerald was furious after the game and said that Burger should have been red. Burger was found guilty of gouging. The technical term for gouging is ‘reckless contact with the face’. Similarly, Shane Jennings who gouged Nick Kennedy in a recent Heineken game (although that seemed a lot milder than Burger’s offence) was banned for 12 weeks. Gouging is the most disgusting of rugby crimes and it deserves harsh punishment. Burger wasn’t booed until he booted the ball into the crowd and the same crowd showed the upmost respect for Morne Steyn and Pienaar when they were kicking. Ask yourself this: If Paul O’Connell had gouged Bryan Habana in this weekend’s match, was banned and then played in Loftus against the Boks, scored and then kicked the ball into the crowd do you think he wouldn’t have been booed?
Heaslip’s alleged eye-gouging won’t receive as much coverage in Ireland simply because not only was he not found guilty but because it was deemed he didn’t even have a case to answer. There’s absolutely no evidence of any eye gouging. The allegation has received plenty of coverage which will die out now. If you think someone somewhere is hiding evidence of the eye gouging then you’re demented. There were cameras from RTE and BBC at the game. They would have shown any foul play, the same way they pinged Quinlan over and over again and the BBC have absolutely no reason to hide evidence. Nor do RTE for that matter.
Double standards? You must be joking. Burger was guilty. Quinlan was guilty. Heaslip didn’t even have a case to answer.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:17 pm
These are the same Irish that fooked us to give the Chokers the 2011 RWC.
Filthy four leaf clover sucking *****.
December 1st, 2009 at 10:21 pm
@Jondood: A shamrock only has three leaves.
December 2nd, 2009 at 12:19 am
@Paddylock:
Actually the citing commisioner said, not guilty of eye gouging but guilty of reckless contact with the eye, you thick green ****!
December 2nd, 2009 at 12:33 am
Ha ha …i thought the lions were a pack of whiney, good for nothing sore loser…..didn’t think it was possible but the bok take it to another level altogether….talk about insecure!!! haha losers
December 2nd, 2009 at 12:34 am
@ Whatever Reckless contact with the eye is gouging. It always has been in rugby. If you’re depending on the citing commissioner’s definition of deliberate you’re being more than a little Jesuitical. The IRB doesn’t like to find any player guilty of ‘deliberate eye gouging’ because the player who does would be liable for criminal charges. Do you think Schalk Burger put his hands in FitzGerald’s eye by accident? The reckless finding is the same as has been made against several players recently. Burger got the lightest sentence despite his crime being the worst.
Do you think you could engage in a discussion without a childlish ad hominen accusation by the way?
December 2nd, 2009 at 1:02 am
@tomlk:
Mate, where do you get sore losers from? The Irish played better than the Boks and deserved their win. You don’t see interviews ad nausim from the Bok players whinging about the Irish as the Irish did after the Lions tour. Grow up dooos!
@Paddylock:
Did you even watch the video of the incedent? Go and drink some more of that warm brown slop you call beer cause it sounds like you’ve had a few already. As much as I think the whole citing process is flawed in many respects, you have to live with the decisions. Not guilty of eye gouging. Live with it!
December 2nd, 2009 at 1:16 am
@ Whatever You appear to be confusing us with the English. We don’t drink warm beer. Been in Africa long?
I’ve watched the video several times. I’ve seen many videos of Schalk Burger, including one in which he tried to decapitate Juan Smith (it’s nice to see he’s filthy to his own countrymen as well I suppose). I’ve also watched him play live several times. He’s a very good player but he’s also a thug.
Burger gouged. Have a look at YouTube and look up ‘Alan Quinlan gouge’ my semi-literate friend.
December 2nd, 2009 at 11:13 am
An Irish joke:
Paddy has broken his leg and his mate Mick goes round to see him.
Mick says ‘how you doin?’
Paddy says ‘ do us a favour, nip upstairs and get me slippers, me feet are freezing.’
Mick goes upstairs and sees Paddy’s gorgeous 19-year-old twin daughters sitting on the bed . He says ‘your dad’s sent me up here to shag the both of you ‘.
They say ‘get away with ya.. prove it.’
Mick shouts downstairs ‘Paddy, both of em?’
Paddy shouts back ‘of course both of em, what’s the point of fu#king one?’
December 2nd, 2009 at 1:00 pm
@Greenies: What articles are you taking about?!? They told the Irish to boo?
December 2nd, 2009 at 1:09 pm
@Jozi: Jez, you lose one game and you resort to abusing the entire Irish race!
December 2nd, 2009 at 3:30 pm
The real question we shold be asking is why the IRFU didn’t cite Bekker for Kneeing Wallace in the head
December 2nd, 2009 at 3:52 pm
Bejayzus it’s funny seeing paddies squeal. Almost worse than about Schalk brushing a blade of grass off wee Fitzy’s feece while the lad was in SA. Note that Fitzy didn’t have a mark on him. And remember O’Connell was a grate supporter of Quinlan not being a gouger, regardless of the evidence. Sort of like PdV and SB. It’s just the way it is.
It seems that the Saffers are learning. Next is to get a few of our boyos into the IRB (sensible laddies we hope). Then we can start playing on a level field.
C’mon laddies, acknowledge that rugby has become a total game involving each country’s players, press, coaches, admin staff, officials, referees and the country’s staff in the IRB (Paddy o B where are you?).
December 2nd, 2009 at 4:49 pm
@Gordo: WTF where did I abuse the entire Irish race

If you thought the joke was in bad taste, say so but please man don’t make wild accusations.
Jeez….loosen the hell up will ya!
December 2nd, 2009 at 6:46 pm
@Jozi: You may have a point… But I was amazed at the ignorance and utter misconceptions of some of the past commenters regarding Ireland… and then you followed that with an Irish joke.
@husky: So eye gouging should only be punished when damage is done?
December 3rd, 2009 at 3:45 am
@Paddylock:
haha, did not realise that youtube had become the judge and jury of all rugby citing offences………mate, he was found NOT guilty of eye gouging, but guilty of recklessness……deal with it. I suppose the holocast never happened either?
If Burger is a thug then so is BOD, except BOD can’t back it up cause he is a bit of a fairy.
Jeez, and does BOD know how to whinge? Is he still crying about Tana and co??