Bakkies blow for Bulls
2 Dec 2009
Bakkies Botha is out for three months with an Achilles tendon injury.
According to the Bulls website, the Springbok lock will undergo surgery this Friday and team doctor Org Strauss said Botha will only return in March 2010. He was initially ruled out of last Saturday’s Croke Park Test because of a back problem.
Strauss also confirmed that centre Wynand Olivier, who started against Ireland, has a knee problem and will be out of training for the next three weeks. He will only rejoin the Bulls in January.

64 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
2 Dec 2009, 11:16 am
Blow for Bulls?
I actually see it as a blessing in disguise.
The man needs a long break
2 Dec 2009, 11:20 am
Pity for bulls , bakkies is a pillar of strength to any team he plays in
but 3 months will be over quick
2 Dec 2009, 11:25 am
Blessings and silver lining’s. . Also signifying the beginning of the end for Bulletkie Bull Bul kop toe koppestamp Steve Hof sing alongs. What with Fdp and M. Steyn now not reading the radar, WO off to have a 3 month hair do and manicure, Matfield contemplating how he’s going to upstage Herr Kapitan Smit with his own version of memoirs currently festering under his pillow at night, and no more intercept tries from intercept prince Habana. Not even His Majesty Herr Heyneke going to save their overrated asses in 2010.
2 Dec 2009, 11:29 am
3# So you probably think Province are underrated then? Lol! Give credit where it’s due Skop.
2 Dec 2009, 11:39 am
#actually if WP can get BJ or CJ they could go very far.
1. Blaauw 2. Liebenberg 3. CJ/BJ 4. Van Zyl 5. Bekker 6. Burger 7. Louw 8. Vermeulen 9. Jan/Sarel 10. Grant 11. Naqyelevuki 12. De Jong 13. Fourie 14. Habana 15. Pietersen.
2 Dec 2009, 11:45 am
@skopskiet: RLMFAO never a dull moment on Keo when the Skopster is in the house.
@PissAnt: I agree, this guy in particular really needs a long break.
It’s a good thing he’ll only be back around March next year. He’ll be refreshed and ready to clear out more rucks in the 3N’s.
2 Dec 2009, 11:45 am
@cab: I really believe that BJ will come back to the Sharks, he is a born and bred Durbanite, played all his rugby in KZN and only left ’cause he was not picked for boks and it didn’t look like he had anymore future with the Boks. His family house et al are all in Durbs. After all his time in Ireland I am also sure he would love to come back to the warm climes of DBN. Jannie can go to the Lions
2 Dec 2009, 11:46 am
@Sharksgirl: and I apologise for the appaling english
2 Dec 2009, 11:49 am
WP let WP Nel go last year. He played for them in 2008 Vodacom Cup and spent the CC playing for Boland. Nice work guys.
2 Dec 2009, 11:55 am
Skop
guns blazing, take no prisoners as usual!
2 Dec 2009, 11:56 am
3 months? Bakkies has nothing pencilled in during that time anyway. He should get an IRB banning order now already, then he can serve it out while he rests his sore foot.
2 Dec 2009, 11:57 am
Come home to Mama WP or else change your initials to FS Nel, but you can’t continue playing your rugby up there with those initials. no sir, you been branded a WP stalwart from birth, no getting away from it none. Rassie get out your check book quick.
2 Dec 2009, 12:27 pm
@TheTackler: you always able to prove in urself that an ******* stays an *******
you win urself a noddy badge ( twatwaffle)
2 Dec 2009, 12:28 pm
@Sharksgirl: Hhhmmm so the Lions only good enough for Sharky rejects neh?
We already have an Egyptian body builder, who wants a doctor who can’t scrum anyway?
On second thoughts let him come to the Lions. Jannie and his klein boet are very close and where big bro goes, small bro follows suit so bring it on.
2 Dec 2009, 12:28 pm
@skopskiet: hehehe skoppie daai koppietjie van jou issie meer lekkar nie
2 Dec 2009, 12:39 pm
@Jozi: Come Jozi, its a good trade off, you would have a doctor for all the Lions’ injury. That he cannot scrum would be secondary to the cause, after all you do already have Buys and Van der Merwe on your books
But if boetie needs to follow then we will have to wait for Adriaan to come to the sea before we can release the doctor to the Lions
2 Dec 2009, 12:45 pm
I wish they would find something wrong with all the Springboks which would ensure a good long break for all of them.
2 Dec 2009, 12:53 pm
@Oubaas2009: ya, but you forget, they had to pay for the highly talented willem de waal and what’s face that ex-bb center.
oh, and the invaluable sireli whatyougerookhey.
2 Dec 2009, 12:55 pm
@Sharksgirl: LOL The okes have been working very hard on fitness and conditioning so as to avoid unnecessary injuries etc.
Given the fact that we don’t have any crocked returning springboks and Heinke and Earl have already had a taste of the bok culture and have plenty to prove I think the Lions will surprise a few people next year.
Wouldn’t it be sweet if we could beat the Sharkies at Ellis Park with Louis Ludik and Alberts in your line up.
2 Dec 2009, 12:56 pm
@Jozi: lol jozi , actually boet oubloet seemes to follow kleinboet, as bismark was there long before the quack
but they already signed for another 2 years for sharks , so maybe you guys can get them when they about to retire
2 Dec 2009, 13:01 pm
@Jozi: In all seriousness though I really do believe that there are exciting times ahead of the Lions. I have a lot of faith in Muir’s ability to put the Lions back together again, you are definitely on the way up. However, your scenario as mentioned above would not make me at all happy
2 Dec 2009, 13:04 pm
@sharks_lover: LOL now what’s the name of that lawyer who got Mossie off on a technicality. I’d like him to scrutinise their contracts.
If you guys can give us Wylon Murray and maybe send JS to work with DM I wouldn’t complain at all. Hell JS can even play 3 if he wants to.
2 Dec 2009, 13:13 pm
A well deserved rest
2 Dec 2009, 13:13 pm
not a disaster this.
hopefully that flippie gets game time.
j-l potgieter will cover 12.
anyway, s14 is not won in march.
2 Dec 2009, 13:16 pm
Get well, Bakkies. We need guys like you in the next Super 14.
2 Dec 2009, 13:17 pm
Good. He needs a good break anyway. We dont need him playing too much rugby for the Bulls anyway.
2 Dec 2009, 13:22 pm
Somethings you guys must know about me is that I love a team with character and I also love to win. That is why I support the Bulls.
Have no doubt though, if they have an off season I will abandon them without hesitation and support the top SA team.
2 Dec 2009, 13:24 pm
Kobus kitty
That doesnt sound like a good supporter at all. You sound like a bit of a *****. Not a kitty.
2 Dec 2009, 13:26 pm
@Kobus Kitty:
WTF ?
You supporting a different team every second season…
2 Dec 2009, 13:27 pm
@WP_:
2 Dec 2009, 13:30 pm
Bulls S14 Champs 2009
Bulls CC Champs 2009
WP?
Nada fokkol zero niks
2 Dec 2009, 13:52 pm
Pity for the Bulls but really think Bakkies needs this rest. So do many others. Maybe not 3 months but at least a 5 week rest for JS, VM, FdP, MS, Brussow and Habs. If Bissie is not 100% over that injury he must rest too. We need these players until 2011. They must be looked after.
2 Dec 2009, 14:01 pm
@Oubaas2009: They have an aversion to decent props, thats why
2 Dec 2009, 14:04 pm
@Sharksgirl:
Jannie’s a Gynie, not a GP. Come to think of it, he’ll fit in quite nicely at the Lions.
2 Dec 2009, 14:06 pm
@Bok fan: WP went to school in Worcester. Rassie het hom nie gevind nie!
2 Dec 2009, 14:07 pm
@David:
slowly now you have me laughing aloud, my colleagues will think I have finally last it!
2 Dec 2009, 14:13 pm
The Boks seriously need backup for Bakkies
2 Dec 2009, 14:17 pm
@Sharksgirl:
Let them wonder. If they haven’t cottoned on by now, they never will.
2 Dec 2009, 14:21 pm
@David:
2 Dec 2009, 14:49 pm
Rather SA rugby write off winining S14 next year and keep these guys going for RWC in 2011 if needs be.
We know what Bakkies, Juan, Vic, FdP,JS, Beast bring. Rather lets graft in new players to these positions for cover and beyond RWC.
I will say that Shalk, WO, Jacobs and Ruan and Kanko need a big S14 to prove their inclusion in the squad or its de Jongh Vermulen,Alberts,Stegmann or Pottgiter I say.
2 Dec 2009, 15:02 pm
@WP_:
@Blouste:
Ja, but if I support a team that isn’t performing well I’d be considered a loser. And Kobus Kitty is not a loser.
Of course I will support any of our teams that go against an ANZAC team, mostly because I have such deep hatred for pretty much any other team in the world besides Saracens and Italy.
2 Dec 2009, 15:07 pm
bananas
WO doesnt need to prove himself at all. He had a huge S14 2009 and look where that got him?
I agree with the rest however
2 Dec 2009, 15:09 pm
Kobus. You are not loyal that’s for sure. Bit of a loser you are.
No one like a glory supporter or a fair weather supporter mate. Shows no backbone whatsoever
2 Dec 2009, 15:10 pm
@Kobus Kitty: Just a question I can understand Saracens where the majority are SAn but how did Italy make your list of not hated teams?
2 Dec 2009, 15:26 pm
@Sharksgirl:
Nick Mallet and cool players like Paresee (Sp)
2 Dec 2009, 15:31 pm
@Kobus Kitty: Thought Nick had something to do with it
Also love Parisse, but I am slightly biased here I am Italian born and “bred” although I have lived in SA since I was 10. but parents very Italian brought me up with Iti culture. But Love this country would not leave it too eagerly. In fact we turned down a proposed emigration to Oz, just couldn’t see myself anywhere else.
2 Dec 2009, 17:21 pm
@bananas: Ai Bananas.
WO had a brilliant S14 this year.
But only here on Keo CC form is a better indicator for inclusion in Springbok squad than S14 form.
The mind boggles yet again.
2 Dec 2009, 17:58 pm
@Karoolander:
It happens every year after the CC. The keo muppets start yelling for CC players to be included in the EYOT.
2 Dec 2009, 20:11 pm
@Kobus Kitty:
What sort of moron has a ‘deep hatred for pretty much any (other) team’ ?
As if to say – ooh, look at me, Im a bigger fan than you’ll ever be !!!
2 Dec 2009, 20:45 pm
Waka,
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All