Baa Baas match ‘not ideal’
3 Dec 2009
Saru couldn’t withdraw the nine Springboks selected for the Barbarians as they had already made an agreement with the club in April.
Peter de Villiers tried to justify the Boks’ minimal preparation time of two days in French conditions before the Toulouse Test as he wanted to make the tour a ‘two and a half week one instead of four weeks’. De Villiers hasn’t had his wish granted as still more than half of the Boks who started against Ireland will spend a week longer up north for the fixture at Twickenham on Saturday.
Saru acting MD Andy Marinos was initially unwilling to speak about the Boks’ involvement in the exhibition match against the All Blacks as the topic of the Boks’ ‘fatigue’ has been a big talking point in recent weeks.
‘We’ve all heard Jake White’s views, so haven’t you guys spoken enough about this issue? But anyways, in April SA Rugby had a request from the Barbarians to have our players released. We spoke to the provincial unions as last year one party was willing to release and the other not, and this year we both agreed to let our players play,’ Marinos told keo.co.za.
Players such as Schalk Burger and Bismarck du Plessis weren’t available for the Boks’ Test against Italy due to injury, but will line-up for the Baa Baas two weeks later. Fourie du Preez – usually a target for all opposition facing him – was also doubtful for the Ireland match, but Marinos played down these worries as he doesn’t believe the risk of injuries at Twickenham will be as great.
Those who watched Schalk Burger clattering into defenders in last year’s Wembley encounter or seeing two Australian props being stretchered off would disagree.
‘We couldn’t withdraw certain players as the Barbarians had selected their team and based a model around those players, so we couldn’t do that to them,’ said Marinos. ‘Im confident our medical team did all the work at the end of the tour and they would’ve pulled guys who they were worried about.
‘In hindsight, given the year we’ve had, it’s not ideal – the players have to spend another week on tour and run the risk of injury. But we must take the match in context. The week’s build-up is not as tough, and Baa Baas matches aren’t the same intensity as Tests.’
On Monday De Villiers called for more rest as the players were physically and mentally drained after the year, but Victor Matfield, Danie Rossouw, Beast Mtawarira, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Jaque Fourie, Du Preez, Du Plessis and Burger will get one more hit-out.
Looking ahead to 2010, Marinos said the priority shouldn’t be the players’ franchises, but the Boks.
‘Do you rest the players for the Super 14, or for the Boks? The media want them to play Super Rugby, but that’s skewed, the Boks must get the most of them. When the Boks are strong and successful, it benefits all of South African rugby. We’ve done advanced planning for 2010, and told all our stakeholders those plans.
‘We’ve got an invitation to open the new Aviva Stadium [against Ireland] and a fixture against the Baa Baas, but we need those as we look to unearth talent before the World Cup. We know we have to manage the players. They can’t miss huge blocks like the All Blacks did in 2007, but they have to be managed by their Super 14 teams.’
By Grant Ball

429 Comments
3 Dec 2009, 06:08 am
player management so poor
3 Dec 2009, 06:20 am
the beginning of the end for the all conquering boks… Next years 3Ns will not be afforded the luxury of 3 hard tests against a competitive side (the lions) to prepare… the EOYT did nothing to unearth the next generation of test player for SA… I see on other threads everyone wants the same team available for 2011, this is SA’s mistake in my opinion… much like the AB’s in 1991, who sent the majority of the 87 side… teams need to continually evolve to stay on top, something which I believe we arent seeing with the current SA side..
3 Dec 2009, 06:31 am
With the WC 2011 I see AB’s and Boks taking it easy and resting players for S14 and Trinations. Good news for the Aussies, they might stand a chance now.
Agreed Poppa69 time to cull the Old Boois club.
3 Dec 2009, 06:56 am
yeah evolution is the by word. Problem is we have the very proponents of evolution digging their heels in sh’t scared as hell to actually evolve hanging on for dear life to that which they trump up as sacred. Nothing short of cowardice in fact.
3 Dec 2009, 07:08 am
Yip…agree Poppa…we need to see more changes and blooding of a few new and exciting players otherwise we run the risk of falling into the traps of the english world cup winning team and the AB’s first winners…
3 Dec 2009, 07:17 am
it seems like jake white is a thorn in andy marinos’ @ss too! The man already thinks he is DOR of south african rugby, installed by the fawning journalists in this country.
Well andy, last year when jake went over your heads and spoke privately to the springboks to play in “his” baa baas team you should’ve started the “forward planning” then! You knew the 2009 schedule well in advance, so you can’t claim that you to be suprised by the levels of fatigue and injuries.
3 Dec 2009, 07:29 am
Pretty pathetic actually, so dumb founded chicken to evolve so they stagnate and make holy cows out of dead beat hero’s. Put these holy g.damn cows to pasture already how much longer they going to hang on for dear life to a bunch of fawning prima donna’s.
De Villiers made the big mistake of riding on a dead beat ox wagon who’s only possible extended legacy was downhill. Should have rung the changes long ago, one can only hope and pray it hasn’t been left too late now.
3 Dec 2009, 07:31 am
@skopskiet: Really starts with the coach though doesn’t it? Everyone had high hopes of Div shaking things up, but when all fell apart in his first season he reverted back to the old tried and tested inherited from his predecessor. Question is: Will Div evolve in 2010?
3 Dec 2009, 07:31 am
Sentmentality
Players out of position
The 2 true cancers in SA rugby.
3 Dec 2009, 07:35 am
@kwas: PDV will only eveolve if he is brave enough to take charge 100%. The ‘Boys Club ‘ mentality has to be stopped. The Bok jersey has to be played for again, not a given!
Complacency and player power has gone to far.
Consulting players whether they would mind being rested???
Screw that! PDV gonna have to stand up and be counted….
At the end of the day he is accountable and gonna have to take the bullet….
PDV….time to do the hard yards….
3 Dec 2009, 07:45 am
We have a championship team, stop moaning! Tight forwards can play until their mid-thirties, and the concerned players are tight forwards.
I think older backs are more of a problem like some Aussies in 95. Most of our backs will still be under 30 come 2011
3 Dec 2009, 07:47 am
I don’t know whether De Villiers is or was master of his own destiny. He chose the pragmatic route to hang with the senior class of 2007. I’m not sure who or which coach would have done different taking over a Wc champ team. So he was almost damned either way he went. He chose the consistent route without disrupting much and seems as a result had to forego his high hopes of evolution.
Now if I’m him I sweep clean and start from scratch. Right from the beginning. Seems to me his open style approach was hijacked by the player coaches and got bogged down in the swamp of ou doos mediocrity. Between Muir and Gold and Smit and Matfield its difficult to know who is really the one with any kind of clear sighted vision. Maybe none of them.
Only way to tackle this issue is sweep clean with an empty black board and start again from the top or the bottom whichever way you like to build your pyramid. Robbie Deans and Graham Henry and Marc Lievremont already got a good head start on him. Now he’s going to have to rattle some chains and bust loose and try catch up again.
3 Dec 2009, 07:51 am
Goeie dag al jul negatiewe fillistyne…
Good morning all you negative phillistines….
Hoe lyk dinge….. sien ou Bakkies is toe wragtag beseer… eish ons droom as ons dink die ou manne gaan 2011 haal..
3 Dec 2009, 08:05 am
Ja ons droom nog steeds. Watter boom gaan goeie vrugte oplewer as dit nie betyds ge ‘prune’ is?
Nee wat dis nou tyd, al is dit klaar bietjie laat, om nuwe vars lugsame bloed by te voeg en daai amper doeie karkass weer aan die lewe te probeer red.
3 Dec 2009, 08:06 am
Why the hell don’t they just send them all to Shady Pines and let people play who really want to play.
3 Dec 2009, 08:09 am
I’m tired of reading about them being tired.
We all blooming tired.
We don’t earn a quarter of what they get.
3 Dec 2009, 08:14 am
yeah shady pines golf club where they can write their memoirs and get their manicure’s and designer hairdo’s done while relaxing on the porch overlooking the lake before they go out and stretch their legs on the back 9 and sundowner’s.
Get the young virile and hungry lions out on the rugby field these ou dose are sat pap moeg.
3 Dec 2009, 08:18 am
@Dawn: Totally with you!
3 Dec 2009, 08:25 am
So many players in S14 and CC who play with guts week in and week out and never see the luxury of Bok jersey.
Then they bugger off to the NH where they are appreciated.
Don’t get me started!
3 Dec 2009, 08:29 am
And every December we are bombarded by KEO and his minions with articles about how exhausted players are.
THEY KNOW THESE TOURS ARE COMING!
3 Dec 2009, 09:03 am
I think that those who say players and schedules need to be better managed have a point…HOWEVER why does it always seem to be a Springbok excuse?? When was the last time you heard the AB’s, Wallabies or other top sides complaining of fatigue? These guys get paid a ton of cash to play a match a week…so harden the f**k up!!!
3 Dec 2009, 09:08 am
@grant10: An example of the above is JPP. In my opinion he is A) Immensely talented B) Lazy as hell. He knows he’s the incumbent, and feels entitled to the jersey, and I’m getting tired of his lackadaisical approach. My previous example of how JdV could have set up a match winning try against Ireland in the dying minutes serves as an example. HE makes the break with JPP on his outside….who then slows to a canter, allowing JdV to run away and into a 2 man tackle. Why wasn’t he on his shoulder waiting for the offload? Cos he couldn’e be arsed to sprint! Laziness or apathy has NO place on a rugby field or in a Bok jersey.
3 Dec 2009, 09:22 am
SARU has no right to ask franchises to rest players, its as simple as that.
The players are contracted to the franchises, not to SA Rugby. If SA Rugby wants to call the shots on players, they need to contract them. You can’t have it both ways.
You can’t expect franchises to fall on the proverbial sword by resting their best players because their livelihood depends on results & match attendances. Both are directly linked to the players in the team.
This leaves SA Rugby with two choices:
1. Rest boks during lesser tours and matches, which is obviously not ideal.
2. Players have contracts with SA Rugby instead of the franchises, in which case the power to rest players will rest with SARU instead of the franchises.
3 Dec 2009, 09:35 am
I doubt whether it’s the players who are complaining repeatedly I think it’s the media who are busy regurgitating the same **** over and over again.
If I’m a player and I get asked. “Are you feeling tired?” I will answer the question honestly. I don’t have the power to determine how the journalist wants to report the matter and how many times he chooses to use that quote on his numerous articles.
I don’t think our guys are whinging as much as these keo poepols try to make out, which is giving everyone the wrong impression but I would assume that all the SH teams’ players are pretty knackered at the moment.
It’s been a long season for everyone and player management is key, SARU are correct in what they’re trying to do.
3 Dec 2009, 09:42 am
@Atreides: the reason why it is always the excuse for only the springboks is that in south africa we only pay lip service to player management! Nothing will be done to rest these players i assure you…what is the equivalent in new zealand? The announcement was made a couple of days back that McCaw won’t be playing the 1st 3 rounds of S14, no moaning from the Crusaders, their sponsors or anyone, because the BIG picture is All Black success, not parochial interests of unions.
3 Dec 2009, 09:53 am
@iamthebear: tht sounds much better
SARU just needs to get the balls to contract the players
i mean Richie McCaw is coming back during 2nd half of Super 14
now thts player management
3 Dec 2009, 09:55 am
Baa Humbug
3 Dec 2009, 09:58 am
@Dawn:
Well said
3 Dec 2009, 10:14 am
This whole article works on my gat.
3 Dec 2009, 10:23 am
@Papoose: richie is only missing the 1st 3 games, not the whole 1st half of s14
3 Dec 2009, 10:36 am
@Transformation:
I’m still waiting for that mail?
I want to grind that idiot to the ground the next time he shows his face here … but I need proof!
3 Dec 2009, 10:56 am
Player management seems to be a thorn in the flesh of only SA rugby. I’ve done a quick calculation. During a season the MINIMUM matches your top SA players will play are 37.
10 x tests;
13 x Super rugby;
14 x CC.
This excludes of course semi-finals and finals in the case of Super rugby and CC. The maximum amount a player will play if his team reaches the final of both competitions will be 41.
Keep in mind that your Bok players usually don’t play in the first round of the CC because they are busy with the 3Nations at that time. If you deduct the 7 matches played in the CC during that time it means your top Bok players will only play a maximum of 34. Tim Noakes, the man who keeps harping on about players fatigue every year, proposes that players should not play more than 26-28 matches in a year.
From the above analysis, it seems that if coaches let them play only 60minutes here and there or use them as subs in the last 30minutes through the course of the CC and Super rugby, there is no need to rest them when the Boks play.
3 Dec 2009, 11:15 am
@nama1: @Transformation: While I do think NZ are ahead in terms of managing players generally, lets take 34 matches played in a season, and imagine they’re playing 80 minutes in every single match.
You’re looking at 45 hours of match rugby. In a year.
Out of 5840 waking hours per year.
Sorry…but as I said before….harden the f**k up!
3 Dec 2009, 11:25 am
I went to my boss this morning telling him I’m physically and mentally drained too. He laughed and said you sound like the whinging Boks.
3 Dec 2009, 11:27 am
Have never heard a nation whinge as much as the Boks. The AB’s played the same if not more games but continue to deliver. Often read how some supporters are continuously telling other countries supporters to stop whinging. Well it all starts on this site. Bunch of whinging girls.
3 Dec 2009, 11:28 am
harden the f**k up says the keyboard warrior as he reaches for another pie…
3 Dec 2009, 11:29 am
@Blindspot:
I tried it too.
He told me to get lost!
3 Dec 2009, 11:30 am
As far as I know, players get their salary in various tiers. They get a set salary based on a contract. They get match fees for each match played and they get win bonuses. OBVIOUSLY if you start asking players if they want to play in other Internationals they will say yes. They will say yes because they are thinking of money, holidays, holiday houses, flash cars and in some cases retirement.
Don’t forget the bulk of these players have abstained from going abroad to make more money there in order to be part of the Bok setup, so you can bet your bottom dollar when they have a chance to make more money in their South African setup they will blady well take it!
They need to be TOLD they are not playing – simple as that!
3 Dec 2009, 11:33 am
@Blindspot: It’s a self-fulfilling prophecy, I’m telling you.
Noakes keeps telling them they’re exhausted and fatigued and worn out. So do the coaches. And the managers. And sports journalists. And fans.
Pretty soon they’re trudging around like zombies because all they’re focused on is how tired they are. If you keep hearing something, you will begin to believe it. It’s all about mind-set and attitude. They need to stop pampering them and entertaining this nonsense.
@nama1: #32
Also keep in mind that there are usually only 5 teams that really compete for a place in the semi’s of the CC, which means that the CC coach can rest the Boks when they play against the weaker teams.
In Super rugby there are also usually 2/3 teams every year that serves as whipping boys for the other teams. If he is rest in two matches against these teams, it means that your top Bok only have as much as 29 matches in which he have to play. Using him as a super sub or taking him of after 50-60 minutes in some matches in CC and Super rugby will ensure that he is not “fatigue” when he plays for the Boks.
@Dawn:
I’m not surprised…
3 Dec 2009, 11:35 am
@gunther: Pfft. What do you know about me? About as much as I do about you, so do’t go making assumptions. Last time I checked, you go on holiday when your work is finished. Unlike the Boks did this year.
3 Dec 2009, 11:37 am
@Atreides: Fark mate – I gym seven times a week and still perform better than they do! What is the hype – it is a job and if they can’t cope – show them their signed performance contract and throw it at them. Good grief this team really acts like spoilt 15 year old girls. Change their jobs if they can’t cope.
3 Dec 2009, 11:38 am
@Atreides:hey “keyboard warrior” (peace to Gunther) are you aware of the kind of physical attrition that happens in professional rugby? 5840 hours of pie munching cannot be equated to super rugby & test match rugby
@Dawn: so you want me to be an accomplice in the “grinding” you’re going to be involved in?
3 Dec 2009, 11:41 am
@Blindspot: Exactly. How many AB players have been whining about being tired? How many of their managers? Or coaches? None. All McCaw says is that he’s looking forward to taking a break, ONCE THE JOB IS DONE. Thos edismal performances against France and Ireland….am I wrong in saying they got paid a full match fee?
And last time I checked they won all their EOYT matches. Because they have mental fortitude, and aren’t sitting around feeling sorry for themselves because noo-noo’s tired and wants a holiday.
3 Dec 2009, 11:42 am
@gunther:
Why you so fed up like you got your head in a bag of angry squirrels.
Moeilik.
Don’t pick a fight you can’t finish.
3 Dec 2009, 11:42 am
@Atreides: #33
I am with you on this. I also don’t buy into this “fatigue” excuse.
I was just trying to show that our players in fact don’t play the amount of rugby some would have us believe. Two weeks ago in an article on this site FdP was used as an example of a player who was overplayed. Yet the amount of minutes he spent on the field of play amounted to about 23 matches. So Tim Noakes must be very wrong if he says that the body can only handle between 26-28 matches per year.
I’m actually waiting for him to reduce that number to something like 22 matches per year. Watch this space.
3 Dec 2009, 11:43 am
@Blindspot: Have you counted the numerous training sessions they do? I doubt your gym sessions would be as intense as the Bok’s anyhew. I dearly hope you were being sarcastic…
3 Dec 2009, 11:44 am
@Atreides: They are such girls mate! They sit and read Keo all day and get inspiration from their wonderful journalists! No wonder the AB’s are the worlds best team and don’t come with but who has the World Cup! Champions perform continuously. Look at Woods – maybe the wrong example at the moment
3 Dec 2009, 11:45 am
@Transformation: Dude I have no doubt that it is an immense task physically. What I’m saying is that all the teams play and train just as hard. It’s their job, what they get paid to do, If they can’t take the pace, then step aside for those who can, and if that’s how we want to view it, then as fans we can’t complain if they flag at the end.
And I haven’t eaten a pie in 10 years.
3 Dec 2009, 11:45 am
@mozez22: No dead serious. Have you ever watched my training sessions? If not don’t comment.
3 Dec 2009, 11:46 am
@Atreides:
pffft indeed I am sorry you can’t see the irony in somebody sitting on a rugby blog telling telling people who play one of the most physical sports on earth at the very highest level to harden the f**k up…that is QUALITY humour…
now have another pie…
3 Dec 2009, 11:46 am
@Transformation:
No, I just want you to mail me the stuff so I can read it myself.
3 Dec 2009, 11:48 am
@nama1: For sure. Maybe we should just reduce it to 15 games. Shame, we wouldn’t want them to get tired now, would we?
3 Dec 2009, 11:48 am
Oh and Mozez22 – I watch them play week in and week out and sometimes have to wonder if they do train!
3 Dec 2009, 11:49 am
About time some of the real selectors get some real knowledge from the true selectors at Fireman’s.
3 Dec 2009, 11:52 am
@Dawn:
my hamstrings are tight and I have pilates tonight.. don’t test me muthaf*cka…
@Transformation:
pie munching is very dangerous….tennis elbow is an occupational hazard and so (dare I say it) is choking…
3 Dec 2009, 11:52 am
@gunther: See above. And that’s exactly what I’m saying, because these pathetic excuses are making us a laughing stock at the moment.
One of the most physical sports on earth. Maybe. But go spend a week with, say, Israeli special forces, or navy seals, and see what they think of 45 hours of action a year being too much, and leading to fatigue and exhaustion…they’ll give you a teddy bear and a blanky and tuck you in with mommy where your pansy *** belongs.
3 Dec 2009, 11:54 am
@Blindspot: No, but you not the only one who goes to gym around here. have YOU seen the Bok’s gym sessions? if not, don’t comment…
3 Dec 2009, 11:55 am
@55Blindspot: now u getting silly…
3 Dec 2009, 11:56 am
@mozez22: They push big weights around, strong as oxen those guys
3 Dec 2009, 11:57 am
@mozez22: Yes I have seen the gym sessions mate and nothing out of the ordinary. Silly really – shame on you.
3 Dec 2009, 11:59 am
@mozez22: Just because all of us don’t agree with you doesn’t warrant mud slinging. I comment on what you say and don’t need to belittle you.
3 Dec 2009, 12:01 pm
@Atreides: You must see them when they look in the mirros mate. Wink at themselves they so muscular.
3 Dec 2009, 12:01 pm
Mallet is coaching the Baa-baas, correct?
3 Dec 2009, 12:02 pm
This whole “fatigue” thing has perhaps been exaggerated, perhaps by the media. Tim Noakes did have a point, but not all the Bok players can lay claim to being fatigued. Even with the Bulls guys, who would have played more games due to CC and S14 playoffs, an argument can be made against the fatigue.
The drop in performance could have just been a matter of “job done” for the season. I remember JS saying before the season that the Lions tour, then the Tri-Nations, was what they were gunning for. So perhaps after those were in the bag, their minds were on the beach already.
Just a thought…
3 Dec 2009, 12:04 pm
Guys Tim Noakes is no fool. He has qualifications coming out of his ears and has been internationaly recognised by many institutions worldwide. He knows a little bit more about sports fatigue than the rest of us.
The way rugby is going, players are expected to be stronger, faster and more powerful all the time. This has it’s consequences on the human body i.e increased fatigue and increased likelihood of injuries.
It’s too easy to adopt this “Moffie” style of South African thinking where we tell players to man up.
3 Dec 2009, 12:05 pm
@63Blindspot: didn’t bellitle you, just said your comment was silly, that’s all. you don’t even knwo what my views are…
3 Dec 2009, 12:06 pm
@Yetirat: When all the teams start complaining the same way, sure
3 Dec 2009, 12:09 pm
@mozez22: I think it’s a fair assessment actually, and there’s a word for that -unprofessional.
They are representing their country at the highest level, sorry, they don’t get to decide for themselves which matches are important and which aren’t. If they want to wear the jersey they are expected to give 100% every time (like certain players always do, tired or not). I’ll never slate them for losing a match, as long as they give it their all.
3 Dec 2009, 12:10 pm
yeah they are fatigued
in their heads, thats where the main fatigue is taking shape
rest of their metabolism don’t look in such great shape either, so perhaps somebody better be looking at their fitness levels, don’t look all that hot to me.
This EOYT was very poorly managed, should have taken young and hungry players looking to step up instead of these over played and overrated Ou Ballies
They certainly couldn’t have performed any worse and probably a whole lot better.
3 Dec 2009, 12:11 pm
@Atreides:
Israeli special forces?
are you shitting me?
I have never seen an Israeli play rugby…
but you should understand this all these calls for rest are not coming from the players themselves but from people involved in rugby…it is not a question of physical or mental bravery but rather of how much wear and tear the body can bear…
3 Dec 2009, 12:11 pm
@Atreides:
That’s not to say that all bad performances can be put down to fatigue, the players need to take some responsibility too. Fatigue simply needs to be taken into account as contributing factor, not an all-encompassing excuse.
3 Dec 2009, 12:12 pm
@Yetirat: Thanks for that Dr Noakes. You right maybe a soft underbelly. Got to man up a bit.
3 Dec 2009, 12:13 pm
@skopskiet: No Skop – read what some say about how they practice mate. You might be in the firing line. Oh you are normally in the firing line – so it makes no difference.
3 Dec 2009, 12:14 pm
@Blindspot:
so you hang around the boks training sessions do you?
curious…
3 Dec 2009, 12:15 pm
@Yetirat: Dr I’m also fatigued – you think my boss cares! I have to ensure that I perform day in and day out and I don’t get a rest. Come on now – out the kitchen if it is too hot. They are professional – they know exactly when the games are played. Say before a tour if you are too tired to play and withdraw – Fake an injury then.
3 Dec 2009, 12:17 pm
@gunther: Like hell ja.
3 Dec 2009, 12:17 pm
@skopskiet:
PDV got a taste of success and got greedy. He wanted to end an already almighty year of victories with the cherry on the top, and to do that his plan was simple – keep playing the winning team combinations. Unfortunately it backfired. Lesson learnt. Simple as that.
3 Dec 2009, 12:19 pm
@gunther: LMAO @ “don’t test me muthafc*ka” ha ha ha ha….
3 Dec 2009, 12:21 pm
@77Blindspot: Fake an injury, you just said they should man up. Now THAT, would be unprofessional. The problem is it shouldn’t be up to the players to decide when to or not to play. They should have people planning and organising their seasons. The ones being unprofessional are SA Rugby.
3 Dec 2009, 12:23 pm
@gunther: Argh. Don’t be so literal. I’m making a reference to how much physical abuse the human body can endure, as well as how the mental state affects physical performance. The exhausted body is capable of performing at higher than normal levels if the person is mentally strong enough. Back to my original point…you’ll perform below par if it’s constantly drummed into your head that you’re exhausted. Tell me, in that awesome display of running rugby between France and New Zealand, did any of the All Blacks look exhausted to you? Plodding along, walking to rucks etc? But surely they should? They’ve played as much rugby as we have? Is it incomprehensible to you that maybe the Boks are a) not fit enough or b) do’t have the same mental toughness?
3 Dec 2009, 12:24 pm
@Blindspot:
it’s just that you seem to know exactly how hard they train and how often… I was intrigued as to how you gained this insight if not by attending the sessions?
3 Dec 2009, 12:24 pm
this is a merry-go-round that goes on every year, even last year pdv said the players were “tired & not motivated” after the scotland match and the same noises from the keo journalists about “poor management” blah blah blah…let me go look for that thread again, i’m sure i can find it.
3 Dec 2009, 12:26 pm
Either it was greed or stupidity or else a bit of both, and I wonder if he’d have asked John, Victor, Bakkies, FdP and Schalk if they would prefer to stay home and rest and hit the beach with their loved ones or go on a grueling EOYT what their answer would have been.
Such lessons either get learned or they don’t, I suppose in mitigation one could argue that he’s never been exposed to a proper EOYT before, same as Jake wasn’t in 2004 and who also learned some lessons then.
But if these guys would learn that you play form and not pedigree or reputation first, like Robbie Deans and Henry are trying more or less, you usually stay on the crest and don’t fall into the trough. What has happened here is we allowed the crest to overkill and close out, and now all we left with is the white water still churning and a chafed under belly thats gone all raw by the dumping.
Hope they know how to get up again.
3 Dec 2009, 12:27 pm
@gunther: No I get my info from Mozzez22 – he watches them gym.
@Transformation:
too much?
@Atreides:
the all blacks played no rugby since the tri nations boks played the currie cup…
@Blindspot:
You have to get away from comparing your view of tiredness at work to that of an international rugby player playing at his peak. They are different worlds my friend. The margin between winning and losing international matches is minimal. You’ll hear coaches saying that week in and week out. The slightest disadvantage can tip the scale.
Statements like “Fake an injury” don’t really give your argument much credibility.
3 Dec 2009, 12:28 pm
@Atreides: But the boks were involved in the once-every-12-years Lions series which I think is mentally harder than the ABs’ games against the French.
3 Dec 2009, 12:30 pm
@Blindspot:
I thought maybe you were part of an elite Israeli special forces unit infiltrating bok training sessions in an effort to learn how to “harden the f**k up”….
carefull you don’t trip over jake white in the bushes there smsing the players their backline drills…
3 Dec 2009, 12:32 pm
@Yetirat: Well rather fake an injury than complain you were too tired to perform. Maybe my job is more physical than you think mate. So don’t get too clever – credibility is important to you isn’t it.
3 Dec 2009, 12:32 pm
@Yetirat: I think you have it spot-on thee buddy.
Hopefully PDiv and the rest of the Bok coaches will wake up a bit. There has to be more than 1 game plan, they need to pre-empt the opposition’s reaction a bit more.
One of the articles on here made some good points about:
- A lack of changing the plan during the game when kick n chase is not working (I would expect Smittie to be up to doing that by now!)
- Having a Plan B
- How can they be surprised by the french? Anyone could’ve guessed what the French were gonna do! The game plan should’ve been different.
If you think back to the Tri Nations, how settled, calm, in control, dominant and unstoppable the Boks were, it shows they can do it and the way they unexpectedly ran at the Aussies in the 2nd test over there was brilliant.
So they can do it, but they needed to do better on this EOYT.
Im sure they have realised this.
3 Dec 2009, 12:37 pm
@Dumb Supporter: In 2005 the British Lions toured NZ and were beaten by the All Blacks, who then went on to win the 3N. Like us this year.
But they then finished the year with a Grand Slam win.
3 Dec 2009, 12:39 pm
@Atreides: Oh and the AB’s whitewashed the Lions. Comprehensively.
3 Dec 2009, 12:39 pm
@BokFanForever: a horses-for-coarse approach would be nice, me thinks. But you can’t just mix and match, either. It’s all good and well picking 22 guys who are on form, but they also have to gel as a unit.
3 Dec 2009, 12:40 pm
@gunther:
Blah.
You really think you can scare me with some cheap vloekwoorde.
3 Dec 2009, 12:41 pm
@90gunther: He is Keo and Gavin Rich’s source in the Bok camp…
3 Dec 2009, 12:42 pm
@gunther:
Tight hamstrings can be sorted with a very sharp knife.
3 Dec 2009, 12:45 pm
@Atreides:
did the all blacks play in their domestic tournament?
no..
have another pie…
3 Dec 2009, 12:46 pm
…….They were great in 2005 but the french rolled over what many people called the black machine in 2007.
3 Dec 2009, 12:49 pm
@Dawn:
you sound cranky today my sweet… how bout some sushi for lunch and a nice shiatsu…
a sharp knife will be a blessing for my poor hammies…
3 Dec 2009, 12:50 pm
@skopskiet:
Bit of both in my opinion.
I believe the man is learning all the time. Be it with substitution use or player management. Being Springbok coach is about maintaining a balance act on a very fine line without displeasing too many people in the administration and political world. All of our coaches end up testing the waters a bit when they begin their tenure.
3 Dec 2009, 12:51 pm
Just read the above posts and that has made me pull my hammie just behind my neck……
…. i’ve got long hammie’s!!
3 Dec 2009, 12:51 pm
@gunther: You seem a bit obsessed with pies, fat boy
3 Dec 2009, 12:52 pm
@Blindspot:
You’re right I don’t know how physical your job is. All I have at this stage are assumptions I can go on. And given that you’re sitting in front of a computer screen on the internet on a week day my assumption is…it’s not that physical.
3 Dec 2009, 12:53 pm
@gunther:
OK. Answer me this.
Just what do you find SO offensive about the phrase “harden the f&%^k up”??
Did someone tell you to do that recently and it sort of offended your masculinity?
3 Dec 2009, 12:58 pm
@Dawn: Lol….I think the most masculine thing about him is probably his mom, by the sound of it
3 Dec 2009, 12:58 pm
That Gunther deserves a harre klap.
3 Dec 2009, 13:04 pm
@Atreides: okay guys no mothers or family members to be ridiculed on the blog…come now….
3 Dec 2009, 13:10 pm
I wasn’t ridiculing his mom. I was ridiculing him.
3 Dec 2009, 13:12 pm
@Dawn:
offended know its hilarious ….. a grown man sitting at his keyboard telling international rugby players to harden the f**k up..
I apologise if you don’t find it amusing…and now he is upset about the pie thing….
Atreides…. harden the f**k up!
3 Dec 2009, 13:17 pm
@gunther: Lol yea I’m crying my eyes out, can you tell?
I think you’re the one who’s upset that I’m attacking your adolescent mastubatory delusions about your idols
Bok players *thwack thwack thwack* are the *thwack thwack thwack* HARDEST *thwack thwack thwack* HARDEST *thwack thwack thwack* toughest strongest guys in the WHOLE WORLD *thwack thwack thwack* Arrggh *splortch*
3 Dec 2009, 13:26 pm
As an All Blacks fan I gotta say however that the BaaBaas look like the favourites for this game….
3 Dec 2009, 13:28 pm
@Diontnz: My money’s on the AB’s for this one. Baabaas always look hot on paper, don’ythink it’s gonna translate into a win though.
I wonder if the AB locks have taken a crash course in Afrikaans?
3 Dec 2009, 13:31 pm
@Atreides:
Hooliha you naughty.
3 Dec 2009, 13:33 pm
@Atreides:
ROFL…thought I had stumbled upon a porn site there for a second
3 Dec 2009, 13:39 pm
@Atreides:
now clean up after yourself…
3 Dec 2009, 13:44 pm
The current bok squad including CJ and BJ will will whip anything else in SA and will do so for the next 2 years. It is why the Bulls and Sharks still rule the roost. WP have bought some superstars that might make the difference, but its their fundamental artistry and showmanship that lacks any real substance, apart from a few like schalk.
3 Dec 2009, 13:55 pm
Hi all,
Gotta say I agree with Atreides and Blindspot on all of the above
3 Dec 2009, 13:59 pm
Bleddie Rhino has just killed on of our giraffes… sommer lus en skiet die ding!
Net vrek baie geld!
3 Dec 2009, 14:01 pm
@Staal:
lol … hoe die hel het dit gebeur?
3 Dec 2009, 14:06 pm
@Staal: i will buy the giraffe from you.
what about R4,50 per kg staal?
freeze it, box it, dhl it to me in durbs please.
3 Dec 2009, 14:11 pm
Renoster koei op hitte toe kom die Giraffe daar verby gestap “minding his own bussiness” en die friggen renoster skraap hom net daar!
moes die kperd uitsit!
3 Dec 2009, 14:12 pm
pies give me heartburn.
i guess i should harden the fk up.
off to newcastle to pick up animals.
staal, freeze that giraffe NOW!
10kg boxes will be fine.
tjorts julle.
3 Dec 2009, 14:12 pm
What a pathetic, hand-wring, little wimp Marinos and his merry band of nerds and tossers are!!
Q: Firstly – what agreement?? Who gives a @#$% what was promised to the Barbarians “in April”? How does this game, or the Baa-Baas themselves, in any way benefit SA rugby – at provincial or national level??
A: NOTHING.
Or – let me put it this way: Q: Did Marinos and the nerds NOT know in April (of 2009) that the B & I Lions would be coming in June (of 2009); that there’s something called the Tri-Nations (which takes place from July to Sept each year); and that there’s a tour to Europe in November???
Ie – could the tossers not FORESEE that the Boks (that played in the June Tests and Tri-Nations) would be FATIGUED??
Or – let me put it this way: Q: Has the concept of FATIGUE only dawned upon Marinos and his tossers now – in November 2009?? Ditto for the useless Papsak of a coach we have – and the rest of the selectors!!
“Looking ahead to 2010, Marinos said the priority shouldn’t be the players’ franchises, but the Boks.” Another pearler from Andy Marinos… WTF???
NO, Mr. Marinos – you have it wrong!! Priority DOES LIE with players’ UNIONS AND THE BOKS!!! IE – IT DOES NOT LIE WITH PLAYING A F#$%$#$% GAME FOR THE BAA-BAAS!!!!!!!!
We have the most useless, pathetic, individuals running SA Rugby at the moment – with equally inept coaching personnel – and to round the whole story off – ditto the tossers calling themselves “selectors”.
‘Out the fat and into the fire’ is what happened to rugby administration in SA – from Rian Oberholzer – to the ******* running the show now…
Oh boy – SA Rugby is crying out for a man. For a man to run the game, and PUT SA FIRST. A REAL man – like Dr. Danie Craven, or Dr. Louis Luyt.
Alas – we are saddled with the epitome of human pathos running our game in SA!!
3 Dec 2009, 14:13 pm
@rangerman: eish broer – die vee-arts het klaar plan gemaak… sorry maar hy word al geslag.
3 Dec 2009, 14:14 pm
@rangerman:
don’t worry about freezing for ranger he isn’t fussy…
when are you getting some tiger in?
3 Dec 2009, 14:29 pm
@Nick Armstrong: I think everyone on this site should follow Nick’s example, and have the balls to post under his/her name.
3 Dec 2009, 14:36 pm
@Simon: 128
Did he show you his ID? How do you know he is not posting under his wife’s name?
3 Dec 2009, 14:40 pm
@nama1: I am very good friends with him.
3 Dec 2009, 14:41 pm
@Simon:
You trying to reduce the number of bloggers. If they posted under their own names, half of of them wouldn’t have a job left to go to.
3 Dec 2009, 14:45 pm
@ Nama 1 – LOL! Don’t know too many chicks with the name “Nick”… Eisshhh! Nicky – yes; Nicci – yes; but “Nick” – nooit bru – not where I come from…
3 Dec 2009, 14:46 pm
@Simon: 130
That at least explains some of your rants against PdV.
“Ditto for the useless Papsak of a coach we have…”
The circles we move in sometimes have a influence on how we perceive the world/people.
3 Dec 2009, 14:46 pm
@rangerman:
AAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH
@Simon:
Friends with who? (or is it WHOM)
3 Dec 2009, 14:50 pm
@Simon:
In that case, I got balls.
3 Dec 2009, 14:54 pm
My name is Batman.
3 Dec 2009, 14:56 pm
what’s going on here, then?
3 Dec 2009, 14:57 pm
@robdylan:
We all confessing our true identities.
I am the Batman.
3 Dec 2009, 14:57 pm
@Nick Armstrong: #132
Your wife could have been male, for all I know.
3 Dec 2009, 15:02 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): must be tough being a Shark in Centurion
At least it rains a lot to keep you moist
3 Dec 2009, 15:03 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): oh right. My name’s John Plumtree
3 Dec 2009, 15:06 pm
I cannot tell a lie.
I am the joker.
3 Dec 2009, 15:10 pm
Really not my idea of having fun, but I guess I need to go to CT yet again this weekend.
I just dont have much of choice. You know how it is…
3 Dec 2009, 15:13 pm
@Sheriff: terrible. I feel that way about my Maldives trips
3 Dec 2009, 15:16 pm
@Dawn:
not the walrus?
3 Dec 2009, 15:17 pm
@gunther: goo goo ga joob
3 Dec 2009, 15:19 pm
@robdylan:
CT is boring.
From the time that we descend over the mountains near Worcester to eventually seeing the sea and mountain – already then I start going in my mind… not again.
The next thing = people flirting with me at the car rental place. Im going … not again.
Is there nothing new here in CT?
Have they changed their accents?
3 Dec 2009, 15:19 pm
My real name is Sue Denim.
3 Dec 2009, 15:21 pm
@nama1: Simon doesn’t have the “balls” to answer your question it seems.
3 Dec 2009, 15:22 pm
My real name is Hater.
3 Dec 2009, 15:22 pm
@ Nama 1 – I guess I was expecting too much for you to keep out of the ‘personals’… Mmmmmmm…typical. And – yeah – if she was a male – she’d still be hotter than the troll you’re obviously married to. Lol!
As for Simon’s rants against PdV – I actually find them incredibly kind. “Useless Papsak of a coach” is a term that PdV deserves – my choice of words. Never before have the Boks had a coach LESS qualified for the job. The bumbling idiot single-handedly dismantled a RWC Champion team (that Jake White ACTUALLY BUILT from scratch) in just 8 months – from RWC Champions to last in the Tri-Nations of 2008! Well done Papsak!! (Not!)
And his substitutions off the bench, and timing there-of, not to mention leaving Heinrich Brussow out his first squad of the year…..oh boy – I would need 24 hours online to list his stupidity, since been gifted the Bok job…!! The list goes on and on and on…
You think I am ‘harsh’ in my choice of words – hahahahahaha – you must hear what people overseas (who at least have an IQ higher than 75) say about PdV… He’s the laughing stock of world rugby – and rightly so!
How was his comment the other day something along the lines of they had no choice to ‘play the players into the ground – because there was no-one else to choose’… WTF??? Can you believe that?? Sure dumb-nuts – THE ONLY REASON WHY THERE WAS NO-ONE ELSE TO CHOOSE – IS BECAUSE YOU NEVER CHOSE THEM IN THE SQUAD IN THE FISRT PALCE! Duhh-Uhhh!!
Eg – CJ vd Linde and BJ Botha – who should’ve been in the very first Bok squad. John Smit as HOOKER (oh boy – the idiot will never get that one!). Not to mention the debacle of squad selections for the European tour… The list goes on and on and on…
3 Dec 2009, 15:26 pm
@Nick Armstrong: nick. The real drunk is your Jake White and he likes to ***** to boot. Maybe you got it confused or something due to the bromance you feel for Jake. Open your racist eyes and smell and coffee.
3 Dec 2009, 15:27 pm
@Sheriff:
Since when do you presume to tell other bloggers they may or may not speak to me.
You plonker.
3 Dec 2009, 15:28 pm
@Nick Armstrong:
Are you the first guy who landed on the moon?
3 Dec 2009, 15:28 pm
@Dawn: Is this Nick Armstrong the latest P0es on the blog?
3 Dec 2009, 15:29 pm
@Dawn: Yes the two moons of Jake White’s a$$
@rossoneri:
The latest he may be, but the ORIGINAL is Sheriff.
Keo’s real name is Shaw Tarse.
3 Dec 2009, 15:31 pm
@Dawn: LOL!!!! Hahahaha
3 Dec 2009, 15:33 pm
So Im standing there, getting my docs in order, you know the credit card, drivers licence etc
And Im thinking: where does this accent come from? Did we import it from Malaysia or similar?
Next thing Im wondering is this: how can I incentivise them to change the accent?
Its the moaning sound in it that I dont like.
Ive alreday started with plans and will roll out on 16 Dec at the Momument to see if we can get others to say Afrikaans and not Afrikawns.
Im a key note speaker at the 60th here at the monument. Come see how Im gonna rock their worlds and get away with it.
3 Dec 2009, 15:33 pm
@Dantalian: Hahahaha. You spelt his name wrong silly it’s SHORT AR$E!
3 Dec 2009, 15:34 pm
I wish people will stop telling themselves and everyone else that the Boks were tired. They were not fatigue, but disinterested. It;’s impossible that 8 or 9 of the test players give it their all in the CC final and then, suddenly 2 weeks later, they are tired???? BS!
Most of them, especially the senior players had nothing to play for. No motivational inspiration. Just going through the motions like many of us has done on many occasions in our own jobs.
3 Dec 2009, 15:37 pm
@Amerifikaner: The reason people are more comfortable with the “tired” excuse, is because they are more comfortable thinking that, than thinking that Professional rugby players are not interested in doing well in a test match.
3 Dec 2009, 15:38 pm
@poppa69: I have to say I’m really getting tired of these high and mighty Kiwis…about time you gave it a rest!
3 Dec 2009, 15:40 pm
@ Rossoneri – Ag Foeitog! I see the ‘chip-on-the-shoulder’ brigade is alive and well here! The moment one speaks the TRUTH – and it’s not very PC (ag foeitog – shame – how nasty of me) – the chip-on-the-shoulder brigade cry: “Racist”… LOL!
I guess an open discussion, displaying at least a semblance of rugby knowledge, goes out the window…
How difficult is the following to understand: Jake White took a team from a shambles after Rudolf Straeuli and the disaster of RWC 2003 – and ACTUALLY BUILT A RWC CHAMPION TEAM FROM SCRATCH – see RWC 2007…
DUHH-UHHHHH – too difficult to understand that one…??? Ag foeitog!
Papsak INHERITED THIS CHAMPION TEAM FROM JAKE………..and then what did he do to it???? DUHH-UHH – the rocket scientist came last in the Tri-Nations 8 months later…..
Wait…I can hear Diana Ross singing…”Let’s hear it for the Sak…” LOL!
3 Dec 2009, 15:41 pm
@Amerifikaner: That’s where the problem lies boet…they just see it as a job and something to do. A truely dedicated athlete see their sport as their life! If the Boks are tired then clearly they’ve stopped enjoying playing rugby and should quit.
The ABs season was just as long and they were up for it against France.
3 Dec 2009, 15:41 pm
@Nick Armstrong: you’re no south african. What you are is a poor excuse of a human being, you should’ve been stillborn…there’s your papsak plonker! creeping up jake white’s @rse, you think you’re better because you’re overseas or something?
3 Dec 2009, 15:43 pm
Im telling you now. Its a slave accent that.
You know which one Im talkin’ about.
3 Dec 2009, 15:48 pm
@ Hater – oh boy – the TRUTH does hurt…
Alas… Actually – I am South African. With an IQ higher than 75… Lol! I’m just not bending over for the PC brigade… Just speaking the truth…it always “sets you free”… Everywhere, it seems, but in SA…
3 Dec 2009, 15:48 pm
My word it’s amazing the hate-fuelled drivel people spill out on here when the rugby news slows down.
It’s no wonder Keo’s little minions keep creating articles out of nothing – they’re doing everything they can to keep it rugby orientated and prevent it from becoming an online Pikey Park!
3 Dec 2009, 15:52 pm
Holiday plans as follows:
a. 9 Dec – 17 Dec: CT
b. 18 – 22 Dec: PE
c. 23- 28 Dec: Durbs
3 Dec 2009, 15:53 pm
@Sheriff:
Stop talking **** and admit you told certain people here not to respond to me.
Or were you pissed at the time.
3 Dec 2009, 15:55 pm
@Nick Armstrong: Since your Jake is the genius of all things rugby, why can’t he seem to land a coaching job Mmmmh?
And the chip comment is proof of your prejudice. It’s as old as the Old SA flag, and only tools like you who attend rugby matches overseas will go to the game sporting one of those I’m sure. It suits you.
As for Jake, well, he was too busy whoring and boozing, using his son’s as fetchers to the fridge for his next beer. If you knew anything about rugby your posts would be more informed.
This same Pdv has achieved things your precious Jake has never managed ie Beating NZ in NZ, and dominating the Trinations. I seem to recall jakey won it on bonus point differential.
You sit there overseas where you ran away from the swart gevaar. What Pdv inherited were players that were lazy off a WC, whose form was off eg Victor, and Fourie. These same players that have now bought into the success and leadership of their coach who has taken them to a victory over the B and Irish Lions. Again, something ol Jakey could not do.
Your comments believe it or not simply illustrate that some Saffa’s overseas left due to racial prejudice and when it comes to rugby want their team and coach as white as snow. You don’t see anything positive in Pdv or his success, because THE TRUTH IS, you cannot see past his skin.
Jake had his failures too my friend. 49 -0 to Australia, and telling Ireland that none of them would make his squad, then he proceeded to get his arse handed to him. Your cherry picked post just tells us all what an AWB ONE EYED RACIST YOU really are.
Try writing a well balanced honest rugby post and we may take you seriously. I am not holding my breath.
3 Dec 2009, 15:57 pm
@Nick Armstrong: What was your original blog nick? P0ES?
3 Dec 2009, 15:58 pm
@Hater: This nick has been used before mate. It used to be mine. Try your own okay?
3 Dec 2009, 15:59 pm
@Nick Armstrong:
OK OK
Cool your jets.
You don’t like black people.
We get the point.
3 Dec 2009, 15:59 pm
@Sheriff: Hello Sheriff. Greetings.
3 Dec 2009, 16:00 pm
All I can say is that some will make the shortlist, or stated differently, will take every possible step to meet up with.
The others? Well, they’ll probably slip thru the cracks.
Which way will the ball bounce?
3 Dec 2009, 16:01 pm
@rossoneri:
Are you really Lilith/hater?
3 Dec 2009, 16:02 pm
@Nick Armstrong: Why didn’t you just say at the beginng that you hated black people. What? You think you’re the first? There is nothing special to you here.
3 Dec 2009, 16:02 pm
@Sheriff: Yes. Hi there. It’s good to be back. You forgot Optimus Prime too.
3 Dec 2009, 16:04 pm
If so, I didnt ask your contact # for nothing.
I should still have it.
If not then I’ll ask my good mate C to send again.
I owe you a call, unlike some others here.
If that happens you will be the 3rd person that I speak to in person:
1 = Harry the Beachwalker
2= C or is that T
3 Dec 2009, 16:05 pm
@rossoneri:
For bark’s sake stop being nice to that Janus.
3 Dec 2009, 16:11 pm
@ Rossoneri… LOL! Not sure if I should respond, laugh or cry…
Firstly – where do you get the notion I’m “overseas”??? I simply referred to what people (who aren’t muzzled by politics and ‘having’ to be PC) openly say about PdV. Doesn’t mean I’m living overseas just because I have friends, acquaintances and the like over there…
The difference is – they openly know, and discuss the truth re subjects like SA team selections… They KNOW our rugby teams, and especially squad selections, are dictated by politics – ie QUOTAS. FACT.
Yes – Jake had some rough periods – like 2006. Every coach has. Bottom line – he learnt from them – and succeeded with what he was tasked to do: Win the RWC.
Then – the white man had to go (so who’s the racist here??)…those of us who simply tell the truth (instead of playing the 3 *******- ‘Hear no evil, See no evil, Speak no evil’) – or the politicians who insist on “Transformation”??? WTF is “Transformation”?? Surely – the best person plays – irrespective of race???
No – to the ‘chip-on-the-shoulder’ politicians – the team’s racial composition IS MORE IMPORTANT than best person for the job, and results.
Sooooo who’s the REAL racists now..???? Oh wait – I forgot – only whites can be ‘racists’…. LOL!
3 Dec 2009, 16:12 pm
wow…guys don’t bite the bait from simon’s little friend, this is nothing but a ruse to get you all worked up…he feels that way about pdv, so **** him all those he sails with…let us not get distracted by nonentities who attest to have “IQs over 75″ while their rants betray the opposite.
3 Dec 2009, 16:12 pm
I will take extraordinary steps to meet everyone, except for one person.
For that person’s protection I will not reveal her name.
3 Dec 2009, 16:16 pm
@Nick Armstrong: Look. Aparently you are Simons *** lover sent to make hits, and you hate black people. Whatever. Is he paying you? Or are you dropping the soap for free. Simon needs hits for his Xmas bonus. Come up with something more original. The “hate Pdv” wagon is old.
3 Dec 2009, 16:17 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: what are you talking about chump… truth hurt does it… go back to crouching and hiding, seems you’re good at doing just that…
3 Dec 2009, 16:17 pm
@Dawn: Just saying hi. He’ll pull out his shanks soon enough for ***** and giggles I’m sure.
3 Dec 2009, 16:19 pm
@ Transformation – LOL! No worries guys – sorry I upset the fragile cart here…
The truth really does hurt…even when explained in really simple English…
3 Dec 2009, 16:22 pm
@Nick Armstrong: It’s not the truth a$$hole. That’s what makes it pathetic. Now may I suggest Dove.
3 Dec 2009, 16:23 pm
Just a word of thanks to fa**book.
Always knew my patience would pay off.
3 Dec 2009, 16:25 pm
@Sheriff: Hahahahaha. Was I missed?
3 Dec 2009, 16:27 pm
@Transformation:
Where’s my e-mail?
You know someone has issues when their profile pics are always at a distance.
Like Harry the Beachwalker. I mean, what is the guy’s problem?
AN Other had a pic taken on a day when the Cape Doctor was clearly causing havoc.
My advice: dont take pics on those days.
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Disagree. Will power and motivation is not a neverending faucet of running water. It comes and goes in spurts. You got to work at it. Yes the ABs at the EOYT were more motivated, but in the beginning of the 3N they looked disinterested and lost their matches too. They weren’t bad players that now suddenly are better players. Take Mils, he was flat 2 months ago and now is playing motivational rugby.
And please, to say if an athlete is not motivated he should stop playing????
3 Dec 2009, 16:29 pm
@Simon: You see Simon everything was ok until you came barging in and now look what’s happening.
By the way why don’t you always step in especially when you’ve written a kak article and the bloggers are taking you to task….consistency please.
Eish you should stick to blogging on youtube.
3 Dec 2009, 16:32 pm
I take it the guy with the baby/toddler = _________________
Correct?
3 Dec 2009, 16:32 pm
@rossoneri: It’s easy to hurl insults when you’re hiding behind a nick, isn’t it? Why don’t you post as yourself?
3 Dec 2009, 16:38 pm
I recommend the following nick for someone:
Saai-min Boorgat
3 Dec 2009, 16:38 pm
@Nick Armstrong: yes, thanks nick for enlightening our lives with your brand of the truth…the blog owes you a great deal…
Simon you have lekker friends boet, with IQs of over 75 to boot…
3 Dec 2009, 16:40 pm
Is Maak Konyn still one of the writers here on this website?
3 Dec 2009, 16:40 pm
@Simon: Afternoon Simon….well I am me and I even interrupted you during your lunch way back in June….so I do exist!
It’s all going on here!! (Again)!!
3 Dec 2009, 16:43 pm
@carol:
Carol
Did he offer you some of his gatsby or chip roll?
3 Dec 2009, 16:43 pm
I find it amazing that the self proclaimed “non PC” brigade always pass their opinion as known facts. So let’s examine these “truths”, which Nick obviously holds to be self evident.
Almost every previous WC winning team failed to keep the same momentum in the following year.
The main squad PdeV took on the EOYT was the same one he’d used all year. The others were an experiment for the midweek games only.
BJ and CJ, as overseas players, were never in consideration except as an emergency. The same rule is applied, even more strictly, by both the NZRU and ARU in order to protect the S14 as the stepping stone to national selection.
JW inherited the bulk of his squad, he didn’t build it from scratch.
Any more truths?
3 Dec 2009, 16:44 pm
Best master of ceremonies I ever heard was Mike Raffone.
3 Dec 2009, 16:45 pm
@Sheriff: Hi Sheriff, I think there was some sort of ‘pickle’ type stuff in his lunch box!! He was not going out blowing the Keo expenses budget!!
3 Dec 2009, 16:45 pm
What is gatsby anyway?
3 Dec 2009, 16:46 pm
@Dantalian:
hahahaha
keep them coming buddy
3 Dec 2009, 16:47 pm
@carol:
A traditional Cape health snack
3 Dec 2009, 16:48 pm
@Nick Armstrong: #151
I don’t think anybody can take your claim of a 75+ IQ serious. Not after your rants here today.
Enjoy your miserable life.
@Sheriff: hardly healthy!
Not many people know that Dart Vader also had a daughter.
Se a lift technician – Ella Vader.
3 Dec 2009, 16:49 pm
@Sheriff:
I think Simon and co put up with meagre salaries as a trade off for being allowed to pontificate at their leisure.
3 Dec 2009, 16:49 pm
Se a = She is a…
3 Dec 2009, 16:50 pm
Here is another definition:
A Gatsby is a long bread roll / baguette – usually big enough for two, three or even four to share – sliced lengthwise and stuffed with a selection of fillings.
These include:
steak masala (
mutton
chicken
polony
vienna
calamari
fish
hot chips (French fries) (a must-have – otherwise it isn’t a Gatsby)
salad (if you like)
a range of special sauces to soak through the whole thing.
@Simon: shut up simon, you gatgabba nick here started all the ****, we don’t hear you reigning him in! Suck it up buddy!
@carol:
Great Gatsby – a book by F Scott Fitzgerald, a critique of the decadence in the USA (east Coast) in the 1920s
In terms of food, its alles/lots of goodies in a roll you eat
3 Dec 2009, 16:51 pm
Dart = Darth. Jissus I’m not even drinking.
3 Dec 2009, 16:51 pm
Wow, so Nick is being praised for blogging with his own name. Did not know that was a prerequisite for blogging on keo.co.za and that we were all disobeying the rules. Good for him anyway.
Now please folks, dont get sucked in by Nick and Simon. Ever since Mark started his bromance with Jake, Simon has felt left out. This is his moment to shine, so let him shine.
We all have better things to do/discuss then the mudslinging Nick is trying to get all and sundry involved in with his shock*horror statements.
We all have opinions, people like Nick will not change theirs so debating with him wont help. My suggestion, read his posts, take your pinch of salt and move along. The more attention he gets the longer he’ll linger (for a classic case of whats happening here take the examle of ThamsideBoksomethingorother who stopped blogging after PdV won the B&I Tour and 3N).
3 Dec 2009, 16:52 pm
@David:
Was a tough year for them.
But they’re still standing, despite the hostile breakaway
3 Dec 2009, 16:54 pm
I have an Italian friend who loves the outdoors – Al Fresco.
3 Dec 2009, 16:55 pm
People – my comments re PdV, while not necessarily ‘kosher’, were actually meant to direct focus to his rugby acumen – which is negligible… Fact.
Do we really have to go through a litany of examples here…?? From ommitting Heinrich Brussow from his first squad, to the shambles of his substitutions, to his team selections (JS at no.3??), to his European tour squad selections…the list goes on. And that’s just this year…we won’t even go to 2008…
Then – to juxtaposition that against what Jake White achieved – FACT. Then all of a sudden I’m a ‘racist’ living overseas…??? Huh?
Or – do you REALLY think Bandisa Maku and Chiliboy Ralepelle are better hookers than Adriaan Strauss and Tiaan Liebenberg??? That Ricky Januarie is a better scrum-half than Ruan Pienaar?? That BJ Botha and CJ vd Linde are not the best tight-heads available for SA??? The list goes on…
You see – when the coach makes such GLARINGLY OBVIOUS quota selections – like the selection of Maku and Ralepelle before Strauss and Liebenberg (just one example) – do you guys HONESTLY think no-one is going to sit up and ask: WTF???
Why did Jake have to go in the first place??? That’s all we’re asking?? What team, in any sport, FIRES their WORLD CUP WINNING coach almost immediately after winning…??? Except in SA… Why, people may, quite understandably, ask?? To accommodate “Transformation” – that’s why.
Then when we question this – or criticise this – we are the ‘racists’…??? Go figure. But those who enforce “Transformation” are not ‘racists’ themselves…?? Go figure.
The situation is a ‘laughing stock’ to the outside world… They know the truth and the reasons why.
I have always, always advocated – the best player for the job – with the best coach and management personnel! Irrespective of race. I’m truly proud – and support with all my heart – every player – of every race – that has DESERVED his/her place in the team.
I don’t “hate” anyone. What I won’t do, however – is respect quotas – nor do I respect favouritism, nor cronyism (which is rife in our cricket team, by the way).
Cheers!
3 Dec 2009, 16:56 pm
@Sheriff:
Good luck to them. Personally I find the differences of opinion invigorating rather than threatening. I think it’s called communication.
3 Dec 2009, 16:59 pm
Simon, next time you ask one of your friends to be controversial in order to generate more hits, don’t use this idiot. Don’t you trust your own abilities any more? Come on man, we know you can do it on your own.
If you want people to post under there real names, just make it obligatory when they sign up on this blog. Simple really.
3 Dec 2009, 17:00 pm
there=their
3 Dec 2009, 17:03 pm
@David:
Its the “eendrag maak mag” campaign that made people believe that it is incorrect to disagree
3 Dec 2009, 17:04 pm
Mates – take it easy.
Cheers.
3 Dec 2009, 17:06 pm
Oh, I get it. Nick Armstrong is Mark Keohane. Just read 223.
But then his isn’t blogging under his real name, Simon. Are you lying to us, Simon?
3 Dec 2009, 17:07 pm
@Dantalian: did you know Bruce lee had a brother called UG ?
3 Dec 2009, 17:08 pm
Have I told you about my lumberjack friend – Tim Burr?
3 Dec 2009, 17:08 pm
his=he
3 Dec 2009, 17:09 pm
@poppa69: No I didn’t.
3 Dec 2009, 17:11 pm
@Dantalian: or that blogger Kobus Kitty’s real name is Wayne Kerr
3 Dec 2009, 17:12 pm
Did you guys know that Tupac Shakur had a lesser-known bodybuilding brother, Sixpac?
3 Dec 2009, 17:14 pm
@ David – yes – however – we could still have used these players based overseas.
Secondly -there-in lies the mistake re the EOYT – he should’ve listened to what Prof Noakes has been trying to say ad nauseum – the players need 8 to 10 weeks CONSISTENT rest – especially after a year like this – with the Lions in June…
He should’ve rested the entire Tri-Nations run-on pack amongst other players like Fourie du Preez and Bryan Habana. Then taken players on the fringes, and other Tri-Nations squad members who did not play in all the Tests – eg Andries Bekker and Danie Rossouw.
Thirdly – you also think his combinations of loose-forwards were right, by any chance??? That Danie Rossouw is a flank?? He’s a lock – full stop. Ask the BB management who perfected his use…
Oh yes – and do you remember before Pierre Spies’ injury – PdV was planning on dropping Heinrich Brussow for the Test vs France…??? Go figure that piece of rugby rocket-science out…
As for the “experiments” with “the other players” for the mid-week games – then why not “experiment” with the genuine ‘next best’ – eg Adriaan Strauss at hooker – and not his quota selections…??
Jake did inherit certain players – yes, obviously – yet he inherited a team, a morale, and a game-plan in a shambles. That is my point. He gave that team structure, a game-plan, and a ‘fresh start’. I would’ve thought that was quite apparent…
Again – my point is while he inherited a shambles after RWC 2003 – PdV inherited a champion team after RWC 2007, on the threshold of its prime. Again – I would’ve thought that’s obvious… My error.
3 Dec 2009, 17:15 pm
Who are the boks set to play here? anyone?
3 Dec 2009, 17:20 pm
That 800m champ of ours is also thinking of changing her name to get away from all the negative publicity. She will in future be known as Tess Steckle.
3 Dec 2009, 17:21 pm
@WP Till I Die: No but I know about the overweight “pie eating” brother called cooler box.
3 Dec 2009, 17:22 pm
@Dantalian: lmao
3 Dec 2009, 17:25 pm
@poppa69: and did you know that the australian cricketer David Hookes was the first batsmen to be killed by a bouncer?
3 Dec 2009, 17:25 pm
@genesfut:
Howzit, as follows:
June 12 – France at Newlands
June 19 – Italy (TBC)
June 26 – Italy (TBC)
July 10 – NZ (Auckland)
July 17 – NZ (Wellington)
July 24 – Australia (Brisbane)
August 21 – NZ (Coca-Cola Park)
August 28 – Australia (Loftus)
September 4 – Australia (Bloemfontein)
3 Dec 2009, 17:27 pm
@WP Till I Die: isnt the game vs France being moved ? definitely isnt the same lead in to the 3Ns as the Lions provided…
3 Dec 2009, 17:30 pm
@WP Till I Die: Brisbane again? Another one lost on Aussie soil.
3 Dec 2009, 17:32 pm
@poppa69:
Not sure…
Agreed, Italy’s not the best lead in
3 Dec 2009, 17:36 pm
@Nick Armstrong:
Keo, what you guys always seem to omit is how one-dimensional and uselss the Boks were at times pre-RWC under Jake White. Be honest, before Eddie Jones joined the setup, how confident were you that the Boks were going to win the RWC?
3 Dec 2009, 17:39 pm
@WP Till I Die:
so, once again we get 2×3 games consecutively.
Actually, it happens every year with the new format.
and some kiwis reckon we get a kind draw – wtf???
3 Dec 2009, 17:44 pm
@charo: I agree Charo, you should play one in the republic, one in NZ, one in the republic, then one in Aussie, then back to the republic, then one again in NZ…
sounds a lot fairer to me… I mean, we’ve all seen that the travel must really get you guys fatigued when you travel to the NH
3 Dec 2009, 17:46 pm
@ Yetirat – the Boks were mostly very good, and at times brilliant, for 3 years under JW. Only 2006 was a mess (overall)…
Confident – I won’t say over-confident – and, yes, you are quite correct – the addition of Eddie Jones was a master-stroke. Then – credit to JW for noticing that, realising where and how he could bolster his coaching/ management team – and went and got Eddie.
Had JW kept his post – no doubt – Eddie would stayed with him (I’m assuming here, I don’t know). No one can deny – the 2 of them – with Gert Smal and Alistair Coetzee as the permanent assistant coaches were a fantastic team.
Let me also say – I’m not only criticising PdV here – I think Gary Gold and **** Muir have (finally) been ‘found out’. Gary Gold is useless – where on earth did he come from…?? He was useless at the Stormers/WP – even more so with the Boks…but, somehow, he’s on the team…
3 Dec 2009, 17:48 pm
I say its a great pity that Jake White didn’t have the courage or strength of will or commitment to take on the Bok job after the World Cup 2007. Nobody fired him, he made himself unavailable for selection in other words he resigned. He was playing a cat and mouse game with Saru who asked him if he wanted the job he should apply, everyone of his confidants including Tim Noakes and Mark Keohane urged him not to consider another term as Bok coach for his own health and sanity’s sake.
The pity is had he been brave enough to take it on, and lets say Saru would have given him the nod, then we could have seen whether he was at all the great coach that all his disciples are saying he is now. Its never been proved, because other than negotiating the Springbok team through a series of wins at the 2007 World Cup which if did in tandem with the age of a qualified and experienced ex Australian coach, starting with Samoa, England, Usa, Tonga, Fiji, Argentina, and England again, none of which teams should have posed a threat to ANY Springbok coach anywhere anytime whatsoever, including Pdv, Jake never really produced much else to really get excited about.
His record reads around 45% wins in the Tri nations, less than 50% wins on Eoyt’s, around 20% success against France home and away, 50% success against Ireland both home and away, around 33% success against New Zealand home and away. So whichever way his champion supporters like to saint his great success story, its actually very mediocre in real Sa rugby expectations terms.
So some these pap sak painting ranters really don’t have really too much of a clue as to what they actually ranting about. Why weren’t they ranting like this while we were losing hand over fist and with some huge unheard of losses to some of our rivals at the height of Whites tenure in 2006. Where we these pap sak merit seeking enthusiasts then?
3 Dec 2009, 17:51 pm
@Nick Armstrong: if i’m following nick & simon here correctly, they are telling us that unless a coach inherits a teams that is in shambles then they are k@k!
Heyneke Meyer inherited a blue bulls team that was k@k and built into a championship winning team. So Rassie when he took over at Free State did jake.
Frans Ludeke is k@k, he inherited a championship winning team and and finished 10th the next year.
Robbie Deans is k@k because he inherited a multiple championship winning Crusaders team BUILT by Wayne Smith.
This is the kind of thinking a 75+ IQ produces and some of you here want to haul the race card; shame on you.
3 Dec 2009, 17:51 pm
@Nick Armstrong:
“Oh yes – and do you remember before Pierre Spies’ injury – PdV was planning on dropping Heinrich Brussow for the Test vs France…??? Go figure that piece of rugby rocket-science out…”
The *only* reason for this – he couldve been thinking of Brussow as a captain. Otherwise it was brain-melt
3 Dec 2009, 17:57 pm
@josh ilan:
Jakes record reads 1 RWC
Good enough for me
3 Dec 2009, 17:57 pm
@ Josh Ilan – I guess every coach in SA has the same problem – which has hamstrung them all – including JW and those before him – they CANNOT choose the team they REALLY want.
They HAVE to have a certain number of players of colour in their team/squad. Please don’t tell me you don’t know this… This system is called “quotas”. Or let me put it this way – let’s just say, for example, at any one time, a coach believed his best XV were all white…would he have been able to choose an all-white team…???
The answer is: no. Fact. And the coaches have had to try and do their best, in a very competitive international arena – factoring in this selection reality… Fact.
And not selecting your best players, your best team – when the margins between the top teams is sometimes wafer-thin – will result in Test matches lost…
The thing is – no matter what selections – have you ever – EVER – seen such absurd substitutions (and the timing thereof) as what PdV has done all year – starting with the 1st Test vs the B & I Lions in Durban…..????
That comes down to basic rugby acumen…
3 Dec 2009, 18:11 pm
@Nick Armstrong: nick, now you are clutching @ straws and it is pathetic. Even Mark Keohane berated Jake’s record of “transformation” selections and whar did Jake say? “if the provincial coaches don’t provide him with quality black players he can’t pick them from anywhere”. When your Jake was losing to the Irish & dismal English team that had lost about 6 games on the trot, go check if his team was riddled with quotas before you come & talk b*llocks on this blog! We were also around for Jake’s era buddy don’t think you can gloss over it without is picking it up!
You haven’t answered any of the stuff Josh has put to you but the first bush you run to is “quotas” GTFOH!
3 Dec 2009, 18:12 pm
@Nick Armstrong:
Keo,
Some good results in 2005, 2006 a complete mess, 2007 hammered in the Tri-Nations (resting the 1st choice players or not) and by the end of 07 Eddie had joined so Jake’s ability to perform on his own could not be judged clearly. By my count, that’s one good year (with solid wins against a WEAK England side).
Recruiting someone in who makes up for your own shortcomings is not that much of a master stoke Keo, it really isn’t. The difference between the pre-Eddie and post-Eddie Boks only exposed the skills Jake didn’t have to offer the Boks as head coach.
Agreed Jake and Eddie together would have been promising. I don’t know enough about Gary Gold to have an educated opinion of him. Some say he’s incredibly “tactically astute” and London Irish didn’t seem to have any issues with him. Based on the packs he’s coached, he doesn’t impress me (I like his “Playbook” in SA rugby though). Muir was found out at provincial level with the Sharks even before his coaching career started with the Boks.
And one last query, why are all the Boks ranting and raving about how happy they are under the current setup if it’s that flawed?
3 Dec 2009, 18:18 pm
@Yetirat:
According to some, the Boks are probably ranting and raving about how happy they are under the current setup because John Smit tells them to
3 Dec 2009, 18:24 pm
Both PDV and JW have done very well.
With Christie and Mallet, their win records are far above the others.
JW created an unbeaten home record, won a 3N and a RWC which was his ultimate goal but perhaps his biggest legacy was in settin up the base (structures and players) which became the most successful bok team in the modern era.
He had to change all the free-ranging artistic showmanship rot that had set in, and he did it, whether you care to admit it or not.
3 Dec 2009, 18:37 pm
@Yetirat: jon cardinelli &and ryan vrede dropped the “hint” yesterday on the “winners” thread. they said if you have a read of john smit’s book you will not have any doubts as to who was coaching the team this whole year, it’s all there, how he disagreed with pdv over the 3rd lions test team and all sort of other “open secrets”.
Remember john smit earlier this year saying that any journalist that can quote him verbatim saying that pdv is not coaching the team must produce the evidence, he was setting it up that he drops the bombshell himself in his book!
3 Dec 2009, 18:40 pm
@Transformation:
i haven’t had a chance to read the book.
i thought js spoke highly of pdv in the book, to the extent that they had a good relationship – good enough for js to engage pdv on the team for that 3rd test.
surely this doesn’t imply that js was actually coaching the boks?
3 Dec 2009, 18:43 pm
@charo:
I think he was referring to this bit by JC and Ryan:
“John Smit held the Springboks together and even made the substitution calls during the second Test after the coaching staff’s ‘mare at King’s Park. Read between the lines of his book and you’ll reach the same conclusion: without Smitty, the Boks are on auto-pilot.”
3 Dec 2009, 18:46 pm
@cab: i don’t think anyone is out to deny jake his achievements, but his praise singers (yourself included) must not gloss over his failures 5 games from 12, how he stubborn and wrong he was about the dynamics of the loose trio! And how his one dimensional tactics have left us with robots that are afraid to think for themselves and are only content to play under a certain framework and even if they can see that a situation calls for a change of tactic, they don’t do it and are content to say “i was only following the coach’s instructions”
3 Dec 2009, 18:49 pm
@Transformation:
i dont gloss over his features, i dont dont think anyone is perfect, far from it, even The Greatest, but i figure when you get a good coach and some good players why do you want to go tearing that down when they doing fine?
in short, someone mentioned it the other day, i just dont see the point of knee-jerk reactions, they screw everything up.
3 Dec 2009, 18:51 pm
@cab:
Good post.
3 Dec 2009, 18:57 pm
Trans, it is nice attempt @ killing 2 birds with 1 stone. Creating interest JS’s book for obvious reasons and having a dig @ PdV.
3 Dec 2009, 18:59 pm
since 1995 we’ve only had 2 bad coached imo – harry and rudi.
kitch brought tight discipline, carel brought a free flowing game which only reached maturity in his last game in charge.
jake brought back traditions and pride, and got rid of the nasty image of the boks.
pdv has brought a new element of team spirit and cameraderie.
3 Dec 2009, 19:01 pm
@WP Till I Die:
oh ok. it’s a bugger trying to work and blog at the same time
3 Dec 2009, 19:03 pm
Now where the hell is Skopskiet when you really need him to dispel these myths about “Mr Whoopsie” and the big dooby doo. LOL
This blog is hilarious, I don’t think I’ve ever seen one topic debated so many times before.
3 Dec 2009, 19:12 pm
@Nick Armstrong: #254
“…let’s just say, for example, at any one time, a coach believed his best XV were all white…”
If that is to be the case, it will only mean that:
1. the province where he’s the coach has not buy into the transformation policy of SARU;
2. coloured/black players in that province are ridiculously poor rugby players;
3. the coach is disingenuous and does not want to include black/coloured players in his team.
3 Dec 2009, 19:12 pm
@charo:
Harry was a gem in the rough. A bit too ahead of his time though and not quite tough enough mentally for all the **** that comes with being the Springbok coach.
3 Dec 2009, 19:13 pm
@Jozi: eish jozi, tell me about it ndoda! people were discussing “fatigue” with the usual lethargy that signifies the end of the season, then qhaphu gqi! Isiduphunga esifana no-Nick Armstrong esenza abahlali babenomsindo…
3 Dec 2009, 19:14 pm
@charo:
Harry was a gem in the rough. A bit too ahead of his time though and not quite tough enough mentally for all the **** that comes with being Springbok coach.
3 Dec 2009, 19:16 pm
@Transformation:
I think you will find that to have been one of the shorter blogging careers on keo…
3 Dec 2009, 19:25 pm
well if J Smit was running the show he stuffed up by not moving himself back to hooker a long time ago!
Instead of coaching all and sundry perhaps he should og taught himself to scrum!
Bloody turbo reverse specialist!
3 Dec 2009, 19:26 pm
@WP Till I Die: #242
The match against France at Newlands will not take place there any more because of the FIFA WC. There is talk of playing it at Wembley. If that happens Newlands will have no test match next year.
Watch SARU organising a match for Newlands in August, probably against Argintinia. I’m just speculating here.
3 Dec 2009, 19:27 pm
@Transformation: My first response to you is being moderated….quite why I don’t know but baya thanda uku khuluma ama s!mba la bantu. Ukuya ngabo umuntu omnyama aka melang’a phumelele. Uma e phumelela kuba nama excuses. Screw that….asisa buyeli emuva, siya phambili all the way…..haak vrystaat.
Hope u can read my poor attempt at typing in Zulu my first language is Venda.
3 Dec 2009, 19:28 pm
@gunther: yeah, i can imagine…and to think Simon came out to vouch for the bloke & the it emerges that the guy is his *** lover!!!! This blog is definitely one of a kind.
I quite enjoyed your little tryst with Atriedes earlier on too
3 Dec 2009, 19:29 pm
@273 Gunter, some bloggers reckon that Nick is Simon’ s *** lover, but I think it is Gavin Rich, looking at the illogical arguments used.
3 Dec 2009, 19:34 pm
@grant10: How was lunch?
3 Dec 2009, 19:35 pm
@Transformation:
yes he has gone to “harden the f**k up”…
I have just been sent a picture of brussouw’s eye after the ireland game…. I’ll tell you what somebody gouged him…maybe it was schalk!
3 Dec 2009, 19:35 pm
Havent read the thread….with all this strange *** talking going on i may choose not to…..
Bloody hell…..there is such a lot to discuss on the future dynamics of the bok team leading up to 2011….why is White still dominating the comments?
That fool would still heve Schalk at openside……
At least he would never had Barney at 3…..
All said and done….PDV…stamp your authority boet!!!!
3 Dec 2009, 19:36 pm
@carol:
can’t you tell … he has turbo reverse out…
3 Dec 2009, 19:36 pm
@Dust: Great Gatsby – The book was a big let down….he was a bit of a wuss in the end!
@Sheriff: Now an edible gatsby souunds right up my street!
3 Dec 2009, 19:37 pm
@carol: Cool thanks….Cape Town is insane…saw the FIFA bus dropping all the celebs off at Leeuwenhf, the home of our Premier…..big dinner bash…..
A few beers so if i drop a few barbs at some prima donnas ….forgive me in advance!
3 Dec 2009, 19:37 pm
Jake was a very limited tactical thinker. His inability to adapt and respond to open play situations was highly conspicuous throughout his tenure.
Without Eddy Jones at his side Jake was incapable of creating any incisive strategies to unlock defenses. What we seeing now is the identical same falling back onto the tried and tested one dimensional formulas that White inculcated into his game plans which are now being fostered onto the Bok playing patterns by John Smit and the senior player coaches as the adopted modus operandi of choice.
The total running style that was the hallmark of Pdv’s earlier approach has become shelved in favor of this other conservative play without the ball style that has been hailed as playing to our strengths by the senior established players.
Springbok rugby is again regressing and not progressing by reverting to the same insecure negative conservatism which was the exact strangle hold that we experienced and witnessed our game go through during the latter part of Jake White’s tenure as coach before the advent of Eddy Jones.
If they want to progress they will have to gain some confidence to expand their approach and apply some latitude and vision to the game plan. This will not be forthcoming as long as this conservative fearful style which has been entrenched into Springbok rugby psyche as playing to our strengths since Jake White encouraged it is discarded in its entirety.
3 Dec 2009, 19:39 pm
@gunther: He won’t be far away!
Poor old John Smit does get it a bit from G10 these days!!!
3 Dec 2009, 19:39 pm
Now the bloody Irish dont want to give an early release to BJ…..well there goes the sharks chances in the super 14….damn difficult to win that titl;e when your scrum retreating so fast your scrummie runs over the fullback!!
3 Dec 2009, 19:40 pm
@276 Trans, add to that someone trying to use the nick Hater not knowing that she was already here blogging under her new nick.
3 Dec 2009, 19:40 pm
@Transformation: Wow both my earlier responses to you are being moderated, must be because I posted in Zulu.
Simon is the d00s that started this whole thing, think back to the Lions series. I don’t know what PDV did to him and his mates.
I’ve never seen such high horsed propaganda rubbish in my life. Thank goodness for the open minded people on this blog.
3 Dec 2009, 19:41 pm
@grant10: Hiya, I see David Beckham and his truly terrible hairstyle is in Cape Town too, he was at some Township near Cape Town bringing ‘soccer to the people’!!
Can I join in….get a glass of wine and let rip!!
Actually Soda will tell me off if you don’t!
3 Dec 2009, 19:41 pm
@gunther:LOL, ha ha ha ha “harden the f**k up”
@grant10: ha ha ha ha TRS…hey grant you’re killing me boet!!!
3 Dec 2009, 19:42 pm
@josh ilan: For boks to progress they need to be able to scrum….i see the great gary gold doing his damndest to try and protect Smit….but the BJ performance against Ireland and Italy makes all the protests moot!!!
Now thats a real tighthead!
3 Dec 2009, 19:42 pm
@gunther: Should the ref examine fingernails as well as studs before the game??
3 Dec 2009, 19:43 pm
grant there is a very interesting article from gary gold on the scrum ( i know you love his writing) there is even a ttable of stats for you…enjoy it is my gift to you…
3 Dec 2009, 19:43 pm
@carol: Ja…its great…weather awesome and i am going to the Draw street party tomorrow…rock bands, great food and beer…..Cape Town is rocking….
PS Dont get caught in the traffic though!
3 Dec 2009, 19:45 pm
@carol:
he should examine fingernails after the game…. we need to second horatio and the csi team to the irb….
horatio always gets his man….
3 Dec 2009, 19:47 pm
@gunther: Read it…..its insanity ….we are regressing as a rugby nation….
Smit to 2….
Smit to 3 i have cardiac arrest and require a hot blonde nurse….
Large breasts optional….a cute bum non negotiable!
3 Dec 2009, 19:47 pm
@gunther: Horatio is my favorite too!!
3 Dec 2009, 19:49 pm
@grant10:
but earlier in the season you were quoting gary as gospel..
has he lost his credibility now because you don’t agree with him?
fetch another windhoek from the back of the fridge!
3 Dec 2009, 19:51 pm
@grant10: Chipping Norton does have the Victorian Street Fair tonight!
You know The Draw Street Party does somehow have the edge!!
BTW I understand long legs are also vital for anyone nursing you!
3 Dec 2009, 19:52 pm
@grant10: lol, after the scrum has been fixed what else do we need to look @ grant?
@josh ilan: you’re not going to last long here boet, nick armstrong with his 75+ IQ is going to rip you to shreds
Jake must leave PDV and the team alone….cant the oke go find a job somewhere?
Seriously though…..PDV is concerning me….he needs to take control….this player power stuff is bad news, bad bloody news….
Mr Turbo reverse we cant do without you even though we get our arses kicked anyway Barney Smit, i hope he didnt sub BJ….that was the game all over rover, goodnite nurse , bobs your aunt….
From growling in 5 th gear to turbo reverse in one foul swoop!!
**** for brains i tell you!!
@gunther: I have seen Brussows injury, you can nearly see the finger print!!
Who is your money on?
3 Dec 2009, 19:53 pm
@carol:
the beer will be cheaper at long st …..
plus no jeremy clarkson…
3 Dec 2009, 19:55 pm
White would have won with or without Jones, the players liked Eddie, but they knew it too.
3 Dec 2009, 19:55 pm
@Transformation aka Turbo Reverse Specialist:
according to turbo reverse once the scrum has been fixed we will win everything in sight…did you now tha, on average, there are only ten scrums in an international game?
3 Dec 2009, 19:56 pm
@gunther: only agreed with him when he said horses for courses and he wanted bj,cj and F Rautenbach back….
Thanks…just fetching that beer….
Okay, i am back….the plonker wouldnt know a tighthead if he tripped over one.
Os, Willie meyer, Ollie, all saying BJ the man for 3….
Smit must go battle it out with Bissy, he goes back to 3 my faith in PDV is a goner!!
3 Dec 2009, 19:58 pm
@gunther: The beer will be larger at long street, we drink real beer here!!
Jeremy Clarkson is very good at supporting local things, he is probably in town right now, mingling with the proles!
3 Dec 2009, 20:00 pm
Scrum will be sorted with BJK and Cj….
Okay…next mission….i am concerned at the backs now…..Skop is making me nervous about the 9 and 10….he normally is astute….and he seems 100% convinced that the backline ills are in that axis…..
But hell man, for me it was the **** poor scrums that got my goat….so i am happy .
But smit back at 3 next season and seriously i may need to go onto something a bit stronger than Windhoek lagers
3 Dec 2009, 20:02 pm
going to drink champagne with my mate…he is a bloody Blou Bul!!
He reckons Barney should only play hooker…for the sharks!!!
Ai…not often i agree with the bulle…
Nite all…
3 Dec 2009, 20:04 pm
@carol:
funnily enough the boks never mentioned any names…. heaslip’s must have come out during the investigation when they decided that there was no case …..
3 Dec 2009, 20:05 pm
@grant10: Gabrielle is a Bulls man….Hahahahah, good chap!! Say ‘Hi’ from me…
Night Grant, go steady!!
3 Dec 2009, 20:09 pm
@gunther: i don’t get it though, in the first half whe BJ ws there and we were rumbling on 6th gear, we didn’t score a whole horde of tries, in fact we had 35% possession of the ball & we had made more than twice the amoint of tackles the irish had made. Now unless TRS tells me that is also related to our scrum i’m confused.
3 Dec 2009, 20:10 pm
@gunther: Innocent until proved guilty!
Now, serious matters…superBru time, how much will the AB’s beat the BaaBaas by, I need points,have slipped somewhat recently!
3 Dec 2009, 20:13 pm
@Transformation aka Turbo Reverse Specialist:
thats my point when there are only ten scrums a game how can it be such abig deal… contrast that with 50+ rucks …. which is more important?
more than 50% of all tries in internationals this year were made from turnovers…
3 Dec 2009, 20:14 pm
Huh? Are we now required to use our real names? OK, my name is Patrick van der Swayze.
3 Dec 2009, 20:14 pm
@carol:
I would say blacks by 10-15…. the barbarians will have spent the week pissing it up at the nearest spearmint rhino….
3 Dec 2009, 20:16 pm
@Slappes:
don’t lie we all know its Ivor Windybottom…
3 Dec 2009, 20:19 pm
sundaram muthuraman
….but you can call me charo
3 Dec 2009, 20:21 pm
yeah its a pity there is so much fear that encapsulates springbok rugby, players and coaches psyches alike.
Seems they so sh’t scared to progress or evolve, what the hell they so bang about as if the earth is going to open up and swallow them whole.
Must say I think Jake was a bit of a woosie and these players still haven’t shaken that cowardly negative conservatism off yet.
Imagine he’d stayed on, where the hell you think our game would be gravitating at now? Always on the back foot cowardly kick first ask question later style of chicken run rugby which we still doing 6 years later cos we too damn afraid to expand our thinking and evolve.
3 Dec 2009, 20:22 pm
@gunther: Tiger Woods has stolen the headlines for sportsmen behaving badly…..who cares if a few rugby players visit a lap dancing club!
Thanks for the tip btw!
3 Dec 2009, 20:22 pm
@Slappes:yep, simon has gone all GBS on us! you’re can’t maak gat & k@k praat willy nilly if we know your name!
@gunther:i guess TRS can only focus on one aspect of the team @ the time hence he only flirts with what skop said about the halfback axis and the jumps str8 back to barney & bj…quite amusing to read though…
3 Dec 2009, 20:24 pm
@carol:
what to tiger woods and seals have in common?
3 Dec 2009, 20:29 pm
JW was the best thing that could have happened to SA rugby.
It was also great to see him not put up with player;s kak.
3 Dec 2009, 20:30 pm
Is this the rugby blog where you sign on using your own correct identity. I hope I’m doing the correct thing?
Its about time the Springbok’s got out of the shadow of Jake White and if they can’t do that while Smit and Matfield and Du Preez are running the show then better they get out the way.
3 Dec 2009, 20:31 pm
@Transformation:
baby steps …. its an over-reliance on breaking news…
3 Dec 2009, 20:32 pm
@gunther:
Tiger and Seal both have blonde wives
As far as Tiger and seals are concerned they both got clubbed.
3 Dec 2009, 20:35 pm
@Robzim:
by norwegians…
3 Dec 2009, 20:35 pm
@Robzim:
anyway according to 5 fm he is changing his name to cheetah…
3 Dec 2009, 20:38 pm
@gunther:
OK, I see the Swedish golfer Jesper Parnevik who introduced Elin to Tiger feels responsible and wants to apologise to her.
I think he is oversensitive…
3 Dec 2009, 20:39 pm
@Robzim:
I think so…. lovely manners those swedes….
3 Dec 2009, 20:40 pm
every coach was the best thing that could happen to our rugby, in fact they were the only thing that could happen at any given time. Everybody moaning and bemoaning the fate of the scenario as its been rammed home to unfold, couldn’t have happened any other way, so these anti pap sak coaches and White apologists should gear up their loins for more fun and games to come.
Bigoted idiots.
3 Dec 2009, 20:41 pm
@Robzim: Heheheheh –
How are you Rob, did you get a good sleep?
3 Dec 2009, 20:42 pm
@gunther: All this appology stuff, how embarrasing is that!!
“I am not a perfect human being after all”!!
3 Dec 2009, 20:43 pm
Yip, no-one quite as good as Jakey Whiter than White.
Should;ve been made a Saint by Tutu.
3 Dec 2009, 20:49 pm
@carol:
I’m fine again, thanks,and you?
Gunther is as sharp as a razor blade again – Tiger changes his name to Cheetah (r) LoL
The Norwegian is a scary woman – very pretty though.
Percy won’t try his luck with her, I guess.
3 Dec 2009, 20:54 pm
@Robzim: I wish Keo had a bloggers gallery, I have a mental picture of Gunther would be good to see how accurate it was!
Tigers Norwegian is not afraid to show her feelings!!
Gilette has dropped Tiger Woods after he admited that hitting the fire hudrant was actually the closest shave he had ever had!!
3 Dec 2009, 20:55 pm
scuse my typos!
3 Dec 2009, 20:55 pm
I’m having a bit of a ‘Puma’!!
3 Dec 2009, 21:01 pm
@carol:
As long as you do not say “it’s going to be a cracker” you are still ok
3 Dec 2009, 21:03 pm
I think Rudolph Streauli should be knighted, without Rudolph and Eddy Jones, Jake and John would have been singing sweet nothings to each other still. It always takes one fool to make a genius and vice versa, without the villain you could not get the hero. Rudolph made Jake, just as much as Jake prepared the way for Peter. Problem is none of these pap sak passing paper dolls like this Armstrong moegoe actually understand how it all fits together. The whiter than White colonialist ignorants.
3 Dec 2009, 21:07 pm
@Robzim: At the risk of appearing to be a bit ‘blonde’ I have no idea what you meant there?
Did you realise you are missing Boots and All?
3 Dec 2009, 21:08 pm
@skopskiet: Do you like our Honours System Skoppie??
My Mother in Law got an M.B.E (My bloody efforts) !!
3 Dec 2009, 21:13 pm
@carol:
OK. Lets rather leave it. Nothing serious though.
I have not watched Boots and All for the last 3 years.
It’s the same boring stuff over and over….
I prefer serious and deep stuff like “desperate housewives”.
Are u still going to watch the Barbarian game?
3 Dec 2009, 21:18 pm
I also got an M.B.E.
Mean Blikskottle Emissary
3 Dec 2009, 21:23 pm
lol – Rudi was not bad actually, his mistake was draadtrek.
i’m off to count sheep.
3 Dec 2009, 21:24 pm
@skopskiet: And there I thought yours was My Big ‘Ead.
Sorry may seem to be having a go at you at the moment.
Just a poor sense of timing and irony.
3 Dec 2009, 21:25 pm
@cab: Well I am glad you didn’t say you were off to draadtrek.
3 Dec 2009, 21:25 pm
@Robzim: Better scenery for you on Desperate Housewives, not so hairy or muscular!
I am going to the Barbarians Match with London Keo Boys, we are having the AGM in the pub first!! 4man wants us on parade at 11am…I will be comatose by kick off!!
3 Dec 2009, 21:26 pm
@skopskiet: Huh
everything is going over my head tonight!!
3 Dec 2009, 21:28 pm
@carol: And going to the loo almost every 12 minutes. Stay on the side closest to the steps. That John Smith’s is lethal for pea bladders.
3 Dec 2009, 21:28 pm
@SodaJoe: Hey, me old duck….
Whats happening in Minniapolis tonight?
3 Dec 2009, 21:30 pm
All Blacks by plenty! Class team of the year.
3 Dec 2009, 21:31 pm
@SodaJoe: I will stick to Guinness….however I NEVER go to the ladies during play!!
3 Dec 2009, 21:31 pm
@Blindspot: Your defintion of plenty please?
3 Dec 2009, 21:32 pm
@SodaJoe:
backhand, forehand, juice.
sies – tyd vir bid.
3 Dec 2009, 21:32 pm
@carol: 15 or more.
3 Dec 2009, 21:34 pm
@carol: Remember the fatigue of the Baabaas. The All Black are fresh and ready. They give 100% everytime they pull that jersey over their heads.
3 Dec 2009, 21:37 pm
@carol:
OK, 4 Man would love nothing more than a parade, you must watch it, he will let you guys do some log pt before he allows you to start drinking.
I hope he is hard on a few of those London fairies
3 Dec 2009, 21:37 pm
@Blindspot: I may go with 15….However I will be shouting for the Barbarians!
3 Dec 2009, 21:40 pm
@carol: Let’s just hope they play true Barbarian rugby. Run, run and run.
3 Dec 2009, 21:44 pm
@Robzim: Rob, please talk in language I understand what is log pt?
London Keo Boys are seriously NOT fairy like!!
Very big and blokey I’ll have you know!!
You would not want to meet them in a dark alley if you had upset them!
3 Dec 2009, 21:45 pm
@Blindspot: No Frans to do droppies everywhere this year!!
3 Dec 2009, 21:46 pm
@Blindspot:
With Fourie du Preez in action it could be kick, kick and kick.
3 Dec 2009, 21:47 pm
Bok solutions….
Choose overseas players….stop the weak kneed punitive approach.
Smit to 2 or retirement…not negotiable.
Rest the main manne….we dont we will not get Matfield , Smit ,Bakkies to 2011
Skop making me nervous about the halfbacks….can they be more expansive or is the inherent conservatism too inbred??
3 Dec 2009, 21:49 pm
Pissed off the Irish booted out the WC….bloody Henry….
3 Dec 2009, 21:52 pm
@carol:
4 Man might be big and blokey but I do not think you ever will any of the others in any dark alleys.
Maybe in a dimly lighted library, but not in a dark alley.
Log pt is physical training (pt) using a heavy log.
3 Dec 2009, 21:54 pm
its too inbred and Fdp’s the problem, maybe Morne can still kick the habit but I doubt Fdp can.
3 Dec 2009, 21:55 pm
Just hope the Stormers kick those Sharkies butts in the super 14….
Bloody 1 eyed wally supporters…..they were always my 2 nd best team….not so sure anymore!!
3 Dec 2009, 21:57 pm
@grant10: Oh Hi, how was the fizz?
3 Dec 2009, 21:57 pm
@skopskiet: You got me concerned skop….after thinking about that tour…..the only time i thought our backs looked acceptable was 1 st half against Saracens.
Adams a bit like Genia of aussies….nothing flash but a quick service to 10 all the time…..
we definitley slowing it down at the breakdown points…or kicking it away.
3 Dec 2009, 21:58 pm
Stormers have a leadership problem, Schalk going to be captain. Like a ship with no rudder. Groovy.
3 Dec 2009, 21:58 pm
@carol: Cool….but now a definite headache tomorrow….
3 Dec 2009, 22:00 pm
Should never have let Watson go….huge fark up of note i tell you….
Watson, Wikus and Joe van niekerk will destroy our bok trio 6 love!
Brussow the only player worth his salt!!
3 Dec 2009, 22:01 pm
@grant10:
I also dropped them as my second team – I am now going for the Cheaters as no 2 with Sharks as 3, Lions as four and Bulls still stone last.
We just need a proper no 10 – I have lost all faith in PG.
I hope Wikkelspies recovers in time
Otherwise Lionel Cronje will have to step up.
3 Dec 2009, 22:02 pm
@Robzim: Rob, trust me…I would take any one of them as a body guard!!
Think pubs more a natural habitat rather than a library!! lol
3 Dec 2009, 22:03 pm
@Robzim: Jeez Rob i know you like old Wikkelspies but for the life of me i dont really understand the attraction….
Lionel Cronje will hopefully come through for us….
Grant a bit of an enigma….but to be fair he has been stuffed around,…
Should have made someone else skipper.
3 Dec 2009, 22:04 pm
@grant10: Even Watson did not manage to get a point on the board for Bath this last weekend!!
3 Dec 2009, 22:05 pm
@skopskiet: Schalk skipper, come back Jean!!
3 Dec 2009, 22:05 pm
Sleep time….
Outta here
Nite all…
3 Dec 2009, 22:07 pm
yeah I been watching Fdp vs Adams a long time. I’m almost convinced if it were Fdp feeding the backline that time Bulls played Reds to get through to S14 semi’s in 07 instead of Adams they wouldn’t have made it. Adams keeps the backline pumping all the time, always at the breakdown point and whipping it out at 90 miles an hour. Fdp slows it down to a steady 10, and thats if he’s having a good day, otherwise its look around- consider my options – look around again – have a chat to the ref- look around a third time – then either box kick or pop pass it to another lumbering prop who either fumbles or gets turned over on the deck, hardly ever goes to FH, and if it does then he does the dirty deed and kicks it up in the air.
3 Dec 2009, 22:08 pm
@carol:
London is a safe place – so they might do as body guards over there.
just joking – they are probably all big and brave.
When are u going to watch Luke playing at Bath?
3 Dec 2009, 22:11 pm
yeah time out – g’night
3 Dec 2009, 22:11 pm
@grant10: Water before bed Grant, you will thank me!!
3 Dec 2009, 22:19 pm
@Robzim: My Bath contact has just finnished with my mate so I have lost my Bath Pass and will have to convince someone else to come with me!
3 Dec 2009, 22:26 pm
@carol:
gawd!, the *******!, I hope your mate is OK though.
You have to make a plan to see the future Springbok captain in action. Maybe Grant and I must come over and take you along, we can even introduce you to the MAN.
Once you have met him Percy will only become a memory.
3 Dec 2009, 22:32 pm
“Gentle Noaksie, this I know
For your bible tells me so.
Beaten Boks to you belong,
They are weak when you are strong.”
3 Dec 2009, 22:48 pm
@Robzim: Nawhhhh, Luke is too hairy and arrogant for me!!
However would love to take you and Grant to Bath…..whilst you meet Luke I will find Butch!!
Percy will not be surpassed!
Mate has found another man!!
3 Dec 2009, 22:56 pm
@carol:
Hello Carol. I hope you are well. Lovely evening in CT. One day after full moon. It looks majestic in a calm sky.
How are all things rugby? Well, and music too…
3 Dec 2009, 23:04 pm
mmmm, just seen the pic’s of The Rattels eye. Looks very suspicious. The Boks supplied the evidence and asked the citing boys to check. The guy apparently spent a whole morning looking at the video and, as with Tony Woodcocks case, could not find the incriminating video shot. Very similar cases, except the green wa nkers have been found out to quite like double standards?? When found out, the best defence is to go on the offensive and whinge hey my green friends? and whinge and whinge and whinge.
3 Dec 2009, 23:13 pm
@carol:
Once you have met him you might fall for the charisma, strength of personality and intelligence. You will see.
Anyway,your mate seems to be a fast mover, good for her
Butch??. He is an over the hill shark – do not waste your time.
3 Dec 2009, 23:20 pm
@whatever:
What evidence? A photo of a person with a bruised eye socket does not mean that Jamie Heaslip’s hand was in Brussow’s eye.
The video recording is available for anyone to see. If there is nothing then there is nothing. Do not blame the Irish for that.
3 Dec 2009, 23:29 pm
@Robzim:
Mate, I’m having a ping at the Irish fans and the Irish RU for whinging at us for refering this to the citing official. What evidence did Woodcock have? A scratched face and his word? Same thing? If you believe something happenned, then send in the pic, state your case and wait to see if they can find the culprit. If not, as in both cases, then move on. However, the Irish (in general) have basically come out and said we have no right to refer stuff to the official without us having something on tape. Just asking for level playing fields boet! And boy have they been crying, crying when Burger stuffed up and crying when we refered this. They like a good cry!
3 Dec 2009, 23:30 pm
@Robzim:
Also, according to the “oficial word” we did not name Heaslip.
3 Dec 2009, 23:46 pm
@The Jinxta: Sorry to miss you Jinxie….as your rugby fades away we still have a whole winter of rugby ahead of us!! Then six Nations next spring!!
Not the same as Super 14 and Currie cup though!!
Need to find some new music….any suggestions?
Hope all is good in Cape Town now spring/summer is kicking in!
3 Dec 2009, 23:50 pm
@Robzim: Rob, Luke Watson is like Marmite…..you know the ad!!
Butch is a bit clapped out, but I like the ‘old’ ones!!
4 Dec 2009, 00:38 am
@carol:
Sorry, I was distracted, complicated times.
That ad was never used here – probably too “explicit” for the morals of the rainbow nation, can u believe it!!
The baby looks more like Fourie du Preez than Luke Watson if you must ask me.
Anyway, have a good night, see u around.
4 Dec 2009, 08:01 am
Cape Town on it, Cape Town on it
Come on and
4 Dec 2009, 08:13 am
hey grant and robzim , want a hankey? cry me a river boohoo
lads the sharks have real supporters , not dilly dally fly by nights, no broken hearts here
you stick to your problems and who ever scratches ur ***
trust me sharks will be just fine without ya
4 Dec 2009, 08:32 am
@sharks_lover:
Half empty stadiums for semi finals, real supporters ???
Ok, say it often enough you will belive it ,I suppose.
4 Dec 2009, 08:40 am
@justrugby: We got arrogant and were waiting to go to the final, much like WP every year
4 Dec 2009, 08:49 am
@Sharksgirl:
LOL……… our stadiums have been full even though we have been playing crappy rugby for years now……now that’s real supporters !!!!!!
I think we hold the record for the best supported franchise in the S14…….Bulls could have that record now though
4 Dec 2009, 08:51 am
@Sharksgirl: bok season is over, i see everyone is back to their provincial colours!
4 Dec 2009, 08:52 am
So proud to be a Capetonian today. The eyes of the world on our beautiful City….party of note tonite…..i will be on the streets with the 1000s of soccer fans…..
Goosebumps i tell you!!
4 Dec 2009, 08:55 am
Shark Lover….you, Ratel Brussow and Rangerman are the most 1 eyed wallys i have ever come across….you make the Bulls look like open minded creatures!!
Bloody hell!!
Puma almost as bad, Sharksgirl shows a bit of brains….and is actually quite a cutey….
But you sardines, hell man!!
Crazy bunch …
4 Dec 2009, 08:55 am
@justrugby:
I agree that is good supportership. Unfortunately in KZN we tend to be a bit apathetic, its the draw back of our laid back life style, and we tend to let our team down. But come on any given day you will find many of us wearing our jerseys, most of us have full Sharks gear wardrobes, so they still get money in their pockets as do their sponsors Mr. Price. Nope the Bulls abandon ship when their team is doing badly, anyone forget 2008? and early 2000s when Loftus was empty?
4 Dec 2009, 08:58 am
@Transformation: I never abandoned my Provincial colours
Black and White all the way for me
4 Dec 2009, 09:00 am
@grant10: I am sooooooooo excited about tonight, just cannot keep still! You guys are too lucky would do anything to be there tonight! But tomorrow I am going to a function at the new Moses Mabida stadium so in a small way it makes up for it!!
4 Dec 2009, 09:03 am
@Transformation: I take it you will also be at the draw Transformation? Can’t wait to see who is playing who and where so I can finally buy my tickets!
4 Dec 2009, 09:04 am
@Sharksgirl:
Having lived in Durbs for years I know all about the laid back lifestyle. Debatable as to whether it’s more laid back than CT though
As G10 said the vibe in CT today is unbelievable !!!
I remember those empty stands at Loftus well …….huge turnaround since then !!
4 Dec 2009, 09:04 am
@grant10: Do me a favour, if you see Becks tell him he looks hedious. With that hairstyle of his he looks like a balding hedgehog.
4 Dec 2009, 09:06 am
@grant10:
Sardines ??….more like “blaasoppies” !!!!
4 Dec 2009, 09:08 am
@justrugby: I have never lived in CT and everytime I have come I want to do so much that I spend the whole time running around to try and fit it all in, so I hadn’t noticed it was laid back. Absolutely love your neck of the woods, only place I would consider leaving KZN for. Just the weather would put me off though! Not that we are having any weather to boast about
4 Dec 2009, 09:11 am
@grant10: hey G10…don’t forget that their scrums are the “Turbo Reverse Specialists that go back so fast they have the scrumhalf knocking over fullback!” HA HA HA
4 Dec 2009, 09:11 am
@justrugby: “Blassoppies”
4 Dec 2009, 09:13 am
Only plave i would leave Cape Town for is Umhlanga….love the N Coast in Durban….
But Sharksgirl….google Clifton….check it out….my backyard…luv it!
Will be hoping Bafana dont get a group from hell….Cape Town is really very special today!
place
@Transformation: And of course you guys would be experts in this, since your scrums have been in auto reverse for many a year! But before we carryon about scrums, lets see how the Stormer’s scrum holds out in the S14, or even if one of your props gets crocked
4 Dec 2009, 09:14 am
@Sharksgirl:
Yip, here winter is winter and summer is summer, KZN definetely better all round weather.
But as much as our winters are severe they are also special…….. and the reason for red wine
4 Dec 2009, 09:15 am
@Transformation: dangerous to be a scrumhalf for sharks or boks….should get danger pay!!
Being knocked over by 8 retreating boks at a snotspoed is not for the faint hearted!
4 Dec 2009, 09:17 am
@grant10: Yes agreed SA has been seeded my nightmare is we draw Brazil! Since our coach believes they will win WC
That is why we should have a South African coach, you need a coach who is rooting for his own team and not for the oposition.
4 Dec 2009, 09:18 am
@justrugby: Oh you would bring out the red wine card, you knew that would definitely win me over completely
4 Dec 2009, 09:39 am
I am watching the Boks play Wales (Boks 14-0 up currently), but was thinking that a guy like nic koster who has been out for so long could be honing/sharpening his skills at 7′s.
Missed opportunity ?
4 Dec 2009, 09:53 am
Final score SA 28-14 win against Wales
4 Dec 2009, 10:02 am
@justrugby: Great Bokke!!
4 Dec 2009, 16:54 pm
@grant10: 404 – Grant so I am a Wally now
Actually I have to laugh really it was funny.
Wait I will get you back mate. This Wally not going let that one go
4 Dec 2009, 18:14 pm
grant, buddy, let it go now.
you nag more than a fishwife.
4 Dec 2009, 18:24 pm
@rangerman:
5 Dec 2009, 16:34 pm
The English don’t want to watch good footy! 80,000 turn up for the Opium Poppies and only 55,000 for the Baa baas. They sold 60,000 tickets for the game. Tossers!!