Baa Baas match ‘not ideal’

Saru couldn’t withdraw the nine Springboks selected for the Barbarians as they had already made an agreement with the club in April.

Peter de Villiers tried to justify the Boks’ minimal preparation time of two days in French conditions before the Toulouse Test as he wanted to make the tour a ‘two and a half week one instead of four weeks’. De Villiers hasn’t had his wish granted as still more than half of the Boks who started against Ireland will spend a week longer up north for the fixture at Twickenham on Saturday.

Saru acting MD Andy Marinos was initially unwilling to speak about the Boks’ involvement in the exhibition match against the All Blacks as the topic of the Boks’ ‘fatigue’ has been a big talking point in recent weeks.

‘We’ve all heard Jake White’s views, so haven’t you guys spoken enough about this issue? But anyways, in April SA Rugby had a request from the Barbarians to have our players released. We spoke to the provincial unions as last year one party was willing to release and the other not, and this year we both agreed to let our players play,’ Marinos told keo.co.za.

Players such as Schalk Burger and Bismarck du Plessis weren’t available for the Boks’ Test against Italy due to injury, but will line-up for the Baa Baas two weeks later. Fourie du Preez – usually a target for all opposition facing him – was also doubtful for the Ireland match, but Marinos played down these worries as he doesn’t believe the risk of injuries at Twickenham will be as great.

Those who watched Schalk Burger clattering into defenders in last year’s Wembley encounter or seeing two Australian props being stretchered off would disagree.

‘We couldn’t withdraw certain players as the Barbarians had selected their team and based a model around those players, so we couldn’t do that to them,’ said Marinos. ‘Im confident our medical team did all the work at the end of the tour and they would’ve pulled guys who they were worried about.

‘In hindsight, given the year we’ve had, it’s not ideal – the players have to spend another week on tour and run the risk of injury. But we must take the match in context. The week’s build-up is not as tough, and Baa Baas matches aren’t the same intensity as Tests.’

On Monday De Villiers called for more rest as the players were physically and mentally drained after the year, but Victor Matfield, Danie Rossouw, Beast Mtawarira, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Jaque Fourie, Du Preez, Du Plessis and Burger will get one more hit-out.

Looking ahead to 2010, Marinos said the priority shouldn’t be the players’ franchises, but the Boks.

‘Do you rest the players for the Super 14, or for the Boks? The media want them to play Super Rugby, but that’s skewed, the Boks must get the most of them. When the Boks are strong and successful, it benefits all of South African rugby. We’ve done advanced planning for 2010, and told all our stakeholders those plans.

‘We’ve got an invitation to open the new Aviva Stadium [against Ireland] and a fixture against the Baa Baas, but we need those as we look to unearth talent before the World Cup. We know we have to manage the players. They can’t miss huge blocks like the All Blacks did in 2007, but they have to be managed by their Super 14 teams.’

By Grant Ball

429 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 101.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

you sound cranky today my sweet… how bout some sushi for lunch and a nice shiatsu…

a sharp knife will be a blessing for my poor hammies…

• 102.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

Bit of both in my opinion.

I believe the man is learning all the time. Be it with substitution use or player management. Being Springbok coach is about maintaining a balance act on a very fine line without displeasing too many people in the administration and political world. All of our coaches end up testing the waters a bit when they begin their tenure.

• 103.Staal: Reply to this comment

Just read the above posts and that has made me pull my hammie just behind my neck…… :shock: …. i’ve got long hammie’s!!

• 104.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@gunther: You seem a bit obsessed with pies, fat boy

• 105.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@Blindspot:

You’re right I don’t know how physical your job is. All I have at this stage are assumptions I can go on. And given that you’re sitting in front of a computer screen on the internet on a week day my assumption is…it’s not that physical.

• 106.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

OK. Answer me this.

Just what do you find SO offensive about the phrase “harden the f&%^k up”??

Did someone tell you to do that recently and it sort of offended your masculinity?

• 107.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Lol….I think the most masculine thing about him is probably his mom, by the sound of it

• 108.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

That Gunther deserves a harre klap.

• 109.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Atreides: okay guys no mothers or family members to be ridiculed on the blog…come now….

• 110.Atreides: Reply to this comment

I wasn’t ridiculing his mom. I was ridiculing him.

• 111.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

offended know its hilarious ….. a grown man sitting at his keyboard telling international rugby players to harden the f**k up..

I apologise if you don’t find it amusing…and now he is upset about the pie thing….

Atreides…. harden the f**k up!

• 112.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@gunther: Lol yea I’m crying my eyes out, can you tell?

I think you’re the one who’s upset that I’m attacking your adolescent mastubatory delusions about your idols

Bok players *thwack thwack thwack* are the *thwack thwack thwack* HARDEST *thwack thwack thwack* HARDEST *thwack thwack thwack* toughest strongest guys in the WHOLE WORLD *thwack thwack thwack* Arrggh *splortch*

• 113.Diontnz: Reply to this comment

As an All Blacks fan I gotta say however that the BaaBaas look like the favourites for this game….

• 114.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Diontnz: My money’s on the AB’s for this one. Baabaas always look hot on paper, don’ythink it’s gonna translate into a win though.

I wonder if the AB locks have taken a crash course in Afrikaans?

• 115.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Atreides:

Hooliha you naughty.

• 116.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@Atreides:

ROFL…thought I had stumbled upon a porn site there for a second

• 117.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Atreides:

now clean up after yourself…

• 118.cab: Reply to this comment

The current bok squad including CJ and BJ will will whip anything else in SA and will do so for the next 2 years. It is why the Bulls and Sharks still rule the roost. WP have bought some superstars that might make the difference, but its their fundamental artistry and showmanship that lacks any real substance, apart from a few like schalk.

• 119.Ruggaluvva: the Namibian, Sharks, Southern Kings & Wallaby supporter: Reply to this comment

Hi all,

Gotta say I agree with Atreides and Blindspot on all of the above

• 120.Staal: Reply to this comment

Bleddie Rhino has just killed on of our giraffes… sommer lus en skiet die ding!

Net vrek baie geld!

• 121.cab: Reply to this comment

@Staal:
    lol … hoe die hel het dit gebeur?

• 122.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Staal: i will buy the giraffe from you.

what about R4,50 per kg staal?

freeze it, box it, dhl it to me in durbs please.

• 123.Staal: Reply to this comment

Renoster koei op hitte toe kom die Giraffe daar verby gestap “minding his own bussiness” en die friggen renoster skraap hom net daar!

moes die kperd uitsit!

• 124.rangerman: Reply to this comment

pies give me heartburn.

i guess i should harden the fk up.

off to newcastle to pick up animals.

staal, freeze that giraffe NOW!

10kg boxes will be fine.

tjorts julle.

• 125.Nick Armstrong: Reply to this comment

What a pathetic, hand-wring, little wimp Marinos and his merry band of nerds and tossers are!!

Q: Firstly – what agreement?? Who gives a @#$% what was promised to the Barbarians “in April”? How does this game, or the Baa-Baas themselves, in any way benefit SA rugby – at provincial or national level??

A: NOTHING.

Or – let me put it this way: Q: Did Marinos and the nerds NOT know in April (of 2009) that the B & I Lions would be coming in June (of 2009); that there’s something called the Tri-Nations (which takes place from July to Sept each year); and that there’s a tour to Europe in November???

Ie – could the tossers not FORESEE that the Boks (that played in the June Tests and Tri-Nations) would be FATIGUED??

Or – let me put it this way: Q: Has the concept of FATIGUE only dawned upon Marinos and his tossers now – in November 2009?? Ditto for the useless Papsak of a coach we have – and the rest of the selectors!!

“Looking ahead to 2010, Marinos said the priority shouldn’t be the players’ franchises, but the Boks.” Another pearler from Andy Marinos… WTF???

NO, Mr. Marinos – you have it wrong!! Priority DOES LIE with players’ UNIONS AND THE BOKS!!! IE – IT DOES NOT LIE WITH PLAYING A F#$%$#$% GAME FOR THE BAA-BAAS!!!!!!!!

We have the most useless, pathetic, individuals running SA Rugby at the moment – with equally inept coaching personnel – and to round the whole story off – ditto the tossers calling themselves “selectors”.

‘Out the fat and into the fire’ is what happened to rugby administration in SA – from Rian Oberholzer – to the ******* running the show now…

Oh boy – SA Rugby is crying out for a man. For a man to run the game, and PUT SA FIRST. A REAL man – like Dr. Danie Craven, or Dr. Louis Luyt.

Alas – we are saddled with the epitome of human pathos running our game in SA!!

• 126.Staal: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: eish broer – die vee-arts het klaar plan gemaak… sorry maar hy word al geslag.

• 127.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

don’t worry about freezing for ranger he isn’t fussy…

when are you getting some tiger in?

• 128.Simon: Reply to this comment

@Nick Armstrong: I think everyone on this site should follow Nick’s example, and have the balls to post under his/her name.

• 129.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Simon: 128
    Did he show you his ID? How do you know he is not posting under his wife’s name?

• 130.Simon: Reply to this comment

@nama1: I am very good friends with him.

• 131.David: Reply to this comment

@Simon:
    You trying to reduce the number of bloggers. If they posted under their own names, half of of them wouldn’t have a job left to go to. :grin:

• 132.Nick Armstrong: Reply to this comment

@ Nama 1 – LOL! Don’t know too many chicks with the name “Nick”… Eisshhh! Nicky – yes; Nicci – yes; but “Nick” – nooit bru – not where I come from… :)

• 133.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Simon: 130
    That at least explains some of your rants against PdV.

“Ditto for the useless Papsak of a coach we have…”
    The circles we move in sometimes have a influence on how we perceive the world/people.

• 134.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

AAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH

@Simon:

Friends with who? (or is it WHOM)

• 135.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Simon:

In that case, I got balls.

• 136.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

My name is Batman.

• 137.robdylan: Reply to this comment

what’s going on here, then?

• 138.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

@robdylan:

We all confessing our true identities.

I am the Batman.

• 139.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Nick Armstrong: #132
    Your wife could have been male, for all I know.

• 140.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): must be tough being a Shark in Centurion :) At least it rains a lot to keep you moist

• 141.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): oh right. My name’s John Plumtree

• 142.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I cannot tell a lie.

I am the joker.

• 143.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Really not my idea of having fun, but I guess I need to go to CT yet again this weekend.

I just dont have much of choice. You know how it is…

• 144.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff: terrible. I feel that way about my Maldives trips

• 145.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn:

not the walrus?

• 146.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@gunther: goo goo ga joob

• 147.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@robdylan:

CT is boring.

From the time that we descend over the mountains near Worcester to eventually seeing the sea and mountain – already then I start going in my mind… not again.

The next thing = people flirting with me at the car rental place. Im going … not again.

Is there nothing new here in CT?

Have they changed their accents?

• 148.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

My real name is Sue Denim.

• 149.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@nama1: Simon doesn’t have the “balls” to answer your question it seems.

• 150.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

My real name is Hater.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.