Baa Baas match ‘not ideal’
3 Dec 2009
Saru couldn’t withdraw the nine Springboks selected for the Barbarians as they had already made an agreement with the club in April.
Peter de Villiers tried to justify the Boks’ minimal preparation time of two days in French conditions before the Toulouse Test as he wanted to make the tour a ‘two and a half week one instead of four weeks’. De Villiers hasn’t had his wish granted as still more than half of the Boks who started against Ireland will spend a week longer up north for the fixture at Twickenham on Saturday.
Saru acting MD Andy Marinos was initially unwilling to speak about the Boks’ involvement in the exhibition match against the All Blacks as the topic of the Boks’ ‘fatigue’ has been a big talking point in recent weeks.
‘We’ve all heard Jake White’s views, so haven’t you guys spoken enough about this issue? But anyways, in April SA Rugby had a request from the Barbarians to have our players released. We spoke to the provincial unions as last year one party was willing to release and the other not, and this year we both agreed to let our players play,’ Marinos told keo.co.za.
Players such as Schalk Burger and Bismarck du Plessis weren’t available for the Boks’ Test against Italy due to injury, but will line-up for the Baa Baas two weeks later. Fourie du Preez – usually a target for all opposition facing him – was also doubtful for the Ireland match, but Marinos played down these worries as he doesn’t believe the risk of injuries at Twickenham will be as great.
Those who watched Schalk Burger clattering into defenders in last year’s Wembley encounter or seeing two Australian props being stretchered off would disagree.
‘We couldn’t withdraw certain players as the Barbarians had selected their team and based a model around those players, so we couldn’t do that to them,’ said Marinos. ‘Im confident our medical team did all the work at the end of the tour and they would’ve pulled guys who they were worried about.
‘In hindsight, given the year we’ve had, it’s not ideal – the players have to spend another week on tour and run the risk of injury. But we must take the match in context. The week’s build-up is not as tough, and Baa Baas matches aren’t the same intensity as Tests.’
On Monday De Villiers called for more rest as the players were physically and mentally drained after the year, but Victor Matfield, Danie Rossouw, Beast Mtawarira, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Jaque Fourie, Du Preez, Du Plessis and Burger will get one more hit-out.
Looking ahead to 2010, Marinos said the priority shouldn’t be the players’ franchises, but the Boks.
‘Do you rest the players for the Super 14, or for the Boks? The media want them to play Super Rugby, but that’s skewed, the Boks must get the most of them. When the Boks are strong and successful, it benefits all of South African rugby. We’ve done advanced planning for 2010, and told all our stakeholders those plans.
‘We’ve got an invitation to open the new Aviva Stadium [against Ireland] and a fixture against the Baa Baas, but we need those as we look to unearth talent before the World Cup. We know we have to manage the players. They can’t miss huge blocks like the All Blacks did in 2007, but they have to be managed by their Super 14 teams.’
By Grant Ball

429 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
3 Dec 2009, 15:22 pm
@ Nama 1 – I guess I was expecting too much for you to keep out of the ‘personals’… Mmmmmmm…typical. And – yeah – if she was a male – she’d still be hotter than the troll you’re obviously married to. Lol!
As for Simon’s rants against PdV – I actually find them incredibly kind. “Useless Papsak of a coach” is a term that PdV deserves – my choice of words. Never before have the Boks had a coach LESS qualified for the job. The bumbling idiot single-handedly dismantled a RWC Champion team (that Jake White ACTUALLY BUILT from scratch) in just 8 months – from RWC Champions to last in the Tri-Nations of 2008! Well done Papsak!! (Not!)
And his substitutions off the bench, and timing there-of, not to mention leaving Heinrich Brussow out his first squad of the year…..oh boy – I would need 24 hours online to list his stupidity, since been gifted the Bok job…!! The list goes on and on and on…
You think I am ‘harsh’ in my choice of words – hahahahahaha – you must hear what people overseas (who at least have an IQ higher than 75) say about PdV… He’s the laughing stock of world rugby – and rightly so!
How was his comment the other day something along the lines of they had no choice to ‘play the players into the ground – because there was no-one else to choose’… WTF??? Can you believe that?? Sure dumb-nuts – THE ONLY REASON WHY THERE WAS NO-ONE ELSE TO CHOOSE – IS BECAUSE YOU NEVER CHOSE THEM IN THE SQUAD IN THE FISRT PALCE! Duhh-Uhhh!!
Eg – CJ vd Linde and BJ Botha – who should’ve been in the very first Bok squad. John Smit as HOOKER (oh boy – the idiot will never get that one!). Not to mention the debacle of squad selections for the European tour… The list goes on and on and on…
3 Dec 2009, 15:26 pm
@Nick Armstrong: nick. The real drunk is your Jake White and he likes to ***** to boot. Maybe you got it confused or something due to the bromance you feel for Jake. Open your racist eyes and smell and coffee.
3 Dec 2009, 15:27 pm
@Sheriff:
Since when do you presume to tell other bloggers they may or may not speak to me.
You plonker.
3 Dec 2009, 15:28 pm
@Nick Armstrong:
Are you the first guy who landed on the moon?
3 Dec 2009, 15:28 pm
@Dawn: Is this Nick Armstrong the latest P0es on the blog?
3 Dec 2009, 15:29 pm
@Dawn: Yes the two moons of Jake White’s a$$
@rossoneri:
The latest he may be, but the ORIGINAL is Sheriff.
Keo’s real name is Shaw Tarse.
3 Dec 2009, 15:31 pm
@Dawn: LOL!!!! Hahahaha
3 Dec 2009, 15:33 pm
So Im standing there, getting my docs in order, you know the credit card, drivers licence etc
And Im thinking: where does this accent come from? Did we import it from Malaysia or similar?
Next thing Im wondering is this: how can I incentivise them to change the accent?
Its the moaning sound in it that I dont like.
Ive alreday started with plans and will roll out on 16 Dec at the Momument to see if we can get others to say Afrikaans and not Afrikawns.
Im a key note speaker at the 60th here at the monument. Come see how Im gonna rock their worlds and get away with it.
3 Dec 2009, 15:33 pm
@Dantalian: Hahahaha. You spelt his name wrong silly it’s SHORT AR$E!
3 Dec 2009, 15:34 pm
I wish people will stop telling themselves and everyone else that the Boks were tired. They were not fatigue, but disinterested. It;’s impossible that 8 or 9 of the test players give it their all in the CC final and then, suddenly 2 weeks later, they are tired???? BS!
Most of them, especially the senior players had nothing to play for. No motivational inspiration. Just going through the motions like many of us has done on many occasions in our own jobs.
3 Dec 2009, 15:37 pm
@Amerifikaner: The reason people are more comfortable with the “tired” excuse, is because they are more comfortable thinking that, than thinking that Professional rugby players are not interested in doing well in a test match.
3 Dec 2009, 15:38 pm
@poppa69: I have to say I’m really getting tired of these high and mighty Kiwis…about time you gave it a rest!
3 Dec 2009, 15:40 pm
@ Rossoneri – Ag Foeitog! I see the ‘chip-on-the-shoulder’ brigade is alive and well here! The moment one speaks the TRUTH – and it’s not very PC (ag foeitog – shame – how nasty of me) – the chip-on-the-shoulder brigade cry: “Racist”… LOL!
I guess an open discussion, displaying at least a semblance of rugby knowledge, goes out the window…
How difficult is the following to understand: Jake White took a team from a shambles after Rudolf Straeuli and the disaster of RWC 2003 – and ACTUALLY BUILT A RWC CHAMPION TEAM FROM SCRATCH – see RWC 2007…
DUHH-UHHHHH – too difficult to understand that one…??? Ag foeitog!
Papsak INHERITED THIS CHAMPION TEAM FROM JAKE………..and then what did he do to it???? DUHH-UHH – the rocket scientist came last in the Tri-Nations 8 months later…..
Wait…I can hear Diana Ross singing…”Let’s hear it for the Sak…” LOL!
3 Dec 2009, 15:41 pm
@Amerifikaner: That’s where the problem lies boet…they just see it as a job and something to do. A truely dedicated athlete see their sport as their life! If the Boks are tired then clearly they’ve stopped enjoying playing rugby and should quit.
The ABs season was just as long and they were up for it against France.
3 Dec 2009, 15:41 pm
@Nick Armstrong: you’re no south african. What you are is a poor excuse of a human being, you should’ve been stillborn…there’s your papsak plonker! creeping up jake white’s @rse, you think you’re better because you’re overseas or something?
3 Dec 2009, 15:43 pm
Im telling you now. Its a slave accent that.
You know which one Im talkin’ about.
3 Dec 2009, 15:48 pm
@ Hater – oh boy – the TRUTH does hurt…
Alas… Actually – I am South African. With an IQ higher than 75… Lol! I’m just not bending over for the PC brigade… Just speaking the truth…it always “sets you free”… Everywhere, it seems, but in SA…
3 Dec 2009, 15:48 pm
My word it’s amazing the hate-fuelled drivel people spill out on here when the rugby news slows down.
It’s no wonder Keo’s little minions keep creating articles out of nothing – they’re doing everything they can to keep it rugby orientated and prevent it from becoming an online Pikey Park!
3 Dec 2009, 15:52 pm
Holiday plans as follows:
a. 9 Dec – 17 Dec: CT
b. 18 – 22 Dec: PE
c. 23- 28 Dec: Durbs
3 Dec 2009, 15:53 pm
@Sheriff:
Stop talking **** and admit you told certain people here not to respond to me.
Or were you pissed at the time.
3 Dec 2009, 15:55 pm
@Nick Armstrong: Since your Jake is the genius of all things rugby, why can’t he seem to land a coaching job Mmmmh?
And the chip comment is proof of your prejudice. It’s as old as the Old SA flag, and only tools like you who attend rugby matches overseas will go to the game sporting one of those I’m sure. It suits you.
As for Jake, well, he was too busy whoring and boozing, using his son’s as fetchers to the fridge for his next beer. If you knew anything about rugby your posts would be more informed.
This same Pdv has achieved things your precious Jake has never managed ie Beating NZ in NZ, and dominating the Trinations. I seem to recall jakey won it on bonus point differential.
You sit there overseas where you ran away from the swart gevaar. What Pdv inherited were players that were lazy off a WC, whose form was off eg Victor, and Fourie. These same players that have now bought into the success and leadership of their coach who has taken them to a victory over the B and Irish Lions. Again, something ol Jakey could not do.
Your comments believe it or not simply illustrate that some Saffa’s overseas left due to racial prejudice and when it comes to rugby want their team and coach as white as snow. You don’t see anything positive in Pdv or his success, because THE TRUTH IS, you cannot see past his skin.
Jake had his failures too my friend. 49 -0 to Australia, and telling Ireland that none of them would make his squad, then he proceeded to get his arse handed to him. Your cherry picked post just tells us all what an AWB ONE EYED RACIST YOU really are.
Try writing a well balanced honest rugby post and we may take you seriously. I am not holding my breath.
3 Dec 2009, 15:57 pm
@Nick Armstrong: What was your original blog nick? P0ES?
3 Dec 2009, 15:58 pm
@Hater: This nick has been used before mate. It used to be mine. Try your own okay?
3 Dec 2009, 15:59 pm
@Nick Armstrong:
OK OK
Cool your jets.
You don’t like black people.
We get the point.
3 Dec 2009, 15:59 pm
@Sheriff: Hello Sheriff. Greetings.
3 Dec 2009, 16:00 pm
All I can say is that some will make the shortlist, or stated differently, will take every possible step to meet up with.
The others? Well, they’ll probably slip thru the cracks.
Which way will the ball bounce?
3 Dec 2009, 16:01 pm
@rossoneri:
Are you really Lilith/hater?
3 Dec 2009, 16:02 pm
@Nick Armstrong: Why didn’t you just say at the beginng that you hated black people. What? You think you’re the first? There is nothing special to you here.
3 Dec 2009, 16:02 pm
@Sheriff: Yes. Hi there. It’s good to be back. You forgot Optimus Prime too.
3 Dec 2009, 16:04 pm
If so, I didnt ask your contact # for nothing.
I should still have it.
If not then I’ll ask my good mate C to send again.
I owe you a call, unlike some others here.
If that happens you will be the 3rd person that I speak to in person:
1 = Harry the Beachwalker
2= C or is that T
3 Dec 2009, 16:05 pm
@rossoneri:
For bark’s sake stop being nice to that Janus.
3 Dec 2009, 16:11 pm
@ Rossoneri… LOL! Not sure if I should respond, laugh or cry…
Firstly – where do you get the notion I’m “overseas”??? I simply referred to what people (who aren’t muzzled by politics and ‘having’ to be PC) openly say about PdV. Doesn’t mean I’m living overseas just because I have friends, acquaintances and the like over there…
The difference is – they openly know, and discuss the truth re subjects like SA team selections… They KNOW our rugby teams, and especially squad selections, are dictated by politics – ie QUOTAS. FACT.
Yes – Jake had some rough periods – like 2006. Every coach has. Bottom line – he learnt from them – and succeeded with what he was tasked to do: Win the RWC.
Then – the white man had to go (so who’s the racist here??)…those of us who simply tell the truth (instead of playing the 3 *******- ‘Hear no evil, See no evil, Speak no evil’) – or the politicians who insist on “Transformation”??? WTF is “Transformation”?? Surely – the best person plays – irrespective of race???
No – to the ‘chip-on-the-shoulder’ politicians – the team’s racial composition IS MORE IMPORTANT than best person for the job, and results.
Sooooo who’s the REAL racists now..???? Oh wait – I forgot – only whites can be ‘racists’…. LOL!
3 Dec 2009, 16:12 pm
wow…guys don’t bite the bait from simon’s little friend, this is nothing but a ruse to get you all worked up…he feels that way about pdv, so **** him all those he sails with…let us not get distracted by nonentities who attest to have “IQs over 75″ while their rants betray the opposite.
3 Dec 2009, 16:12 pm
I will take extraordinary steps to meet everyone, except for one person.
For that person’s protection I will not reveal her name.
3 Dec 2009, 16:16 pm
@Nick Armstrong: Look. Aparently you are Simons *** lover sent to make hits, and you hate black people. Whatever. Is he paying you? Or are you dropping the soap for free. Simon needs hits for his Xmas bonus. Come up with something more original. The “hate Pdv” wagon is old.
3 Dec 2009, 16:17 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: what are you talking about chump… truth hurt does it… go back to crouching and hiding, seems you’re good at doing just that…
3 Dec 2009, 16:17 pm
@Dawn: Just saying hi. He’ll pull out his shanks soon enough for ***** and giggles I’m sure.
3 Dec 2009, 16:19 pm
@ Transformation – LOL! No worries guys – sorry I upset the fragile cart here…
The truth really does hurt…even when explained in really simple English…
3 Dec 2009, 16:22 pm
@Nick Armstrong: It’s not the truth a$$hole. That’s what makes it pathetic. Now may I suggest Dove.
3 Dec 2009, 16:23 pm
Just a word of thanks to fa**book.
Always knew my patience would pay off.
3 Dec 2009, 16:25 pm
@Sheriff: Hahahahaha. Was I missed?
3 Dec 2009, 16:27 pm
@Transformation:
Where’s my e-mail?
You know someone has issues when their profile pics are always at a distance.
Like Harry the Beachwalker. I mean, what is the guy’s problem?
AN Other had a pic taken on a day when the Cape Doctor was clearly causing havoc.
My advice: dont take pics on those days.
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Disagree. Will power and motivation is not a neverending faucet of running water. It comes and goes in spurts. You got to work at it. Yes the ABs at the EOYT were more motivated, but in the beginning of the 3N they looked disinterested and lost their matches too. They weren’t bad players that now suddenly are better players. Take Mils, he was flat 2 months ago and now is playing motivational rugby.
And please, to say if an athlete is not motivated he should stop playing????
3 Dec 2009, 16:29 pm
@Simon: You see Simon everything was ok until you came barging in and now look what’s happening.
By the way why don’t you always step in especially when you’ve written a kak article and the bloggers are taking you to task….consistency please.
Eish you should stick to blogging on youtube.
3 Dec 2009, 16:32 pm
I take it the guy with the baby/toddler = _________________
Correct?
3 Dec 2009, 16:32 pm
@rossoneri: It’s easy to hurl insults when you’re hiding behind a nick, isn’t it? Why don’t you post as yourself?
3 Dec 2009, 16:38 pm
I recommend the following nick for someone:
Saai-min Boorgat
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All