Baa Baas match ‘not ideal’
3 Dec 2009
Saru couldn’t withdraw the nine Springboks selected for the Barbarians as they had already made an agreement with the club in April.
Peter de Villiers tried to justify the Boks’ minimal preparation time of two days in French conditions before the Toulouse Test as he wanted to make the tour a ‘two and a half week one instead of four weeks’. De Villiers hasn’t had his wish granted as still more than half of the Boks who started against Ireland will spend a week longer up north for the fixture at Twickenham on Saturday.
Saru acting MD Andy Marinos was initially unwilling to speak about the Boks’ involvement in the exhibition match against the All Blacks as the topic of the Boks’ ‘fatigue’ has been a big talking point in recent weeks.
‘We’ve all heard Jake White’s views, so haven’t you guys spoken enough about this issue? But anyways, in April SA Rugby had a request from the Barbarians to have our players released. We spoke to the provincial unions as last year one party was willing to release and the other not, and this year we both agreed to let our players play,’ Marinos told keo.co.za.
Players such as Schalk Burger and Bismarck du Plessis weren’t available for the Boks’ Test against Italy due to injury, but will line-up for the Baa Baas two weeks later. Fourie du Preez – usually a target for all opposition facing him – was also doubtful for the Ireland match, but Marinos played down these worries as he doesn’t believe the risk of injuries at Twickenham will be as great.
Those who watched Schalk Burger clattering into defenders in last year’s Wembley encounter or seeing two Australian props being stretchered off would disagree.
‘We couldn’t withdraw certain players as the Barbarians had selected their team and based a model around those players, so we couldn’t do that to them,’ said Marinos. ‘Im confident our medical team did all the work at the end of the tour and they would’ve pulled guys who they were worried about.
‘In hindsight, given the year we’ve had, it’s not ideal – the players have to spend another week on tour and run the risk of injury. But we must take the match in context. The week’s build-up is not as tough, and Baa Baas matches aren’t the same intensity as Tests.’
On Monday De Villiers called for more rest as the players were physically and mentally drained after the year, but Victor Matfield, Danie Rossouw, Beast Mtawarira, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Jaque Fourie, Du Preez, Du Plessis and Burger will get one more hit-out.
Looking ahead to 2010, Marinos said the priority shouldn’t be the players’ franchises, but the Boks.
‘Do you rest the players for the Super 14, or for the Boks? The media want them to play Super Rugby, but that’s skewed, the Boks must get the most of them. When the Boks are strong and successful, it benefits all of South African rugby. We’ve done advanced planning for 2010, and told all our stakeholders those plans.
‘We’ve got an invitation to open the new Aviva Stadium [against Ireland] and a fixture against the Baa Baas, but we need those as we look to unearth talent before the World Cup. We know we have to manage the players. They can’t miss huge blocks like the All Blacks did in 2007, but they have to be managed by their Super 14 teams.’
By Grant Ball

429 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All
3 Dec 2009, 19:52 pm
@grant10: lol, after the scrum has been fixed what else do we need to look @ grant?
@josh ilan: you’re not going to last long here boet, nick armstrong with his 75+ IQ is going to rip you to shreds
Jake must leave PDV and the team alone….cant the oke go find a job somewhere?
Seriously though…..PDV is concerning me….he needs to take control….this player power stuff is bad news, bad bloody news….
Mr Turbo reverse we cant do without you even though we get our arses kicked anyway Barney Smit, i hope he didnt sub BJ….that was the game all over rover, goodnite nurse , bobs your aunt….
From growling in 5 th gear to turbo reverse in one foul swoop!!
**** for brains i tell you!!
@gunther: I have seen Brussows injury, you can nearly see the finger print!!
Who is your money on?
3 Dec 2009, 19:53 pm
@carol:
the beer will be cheaper at long st …..
plus no jeremy clarkson…
3 Dec 2009, 19:55 pm
White would have won with or without Jones, the players liked Eddie, but they knew it too.
3 Dec 2009, 19:55 pm
@Transformation aka Turbo Reverse Specialist:
according to turbo reverse once the scrum has been fixed we will win everything in sight…did you now tha, on average, there are only ten scrums in an international game?
3 Dec 2009, 19:56 pm
@gunther: only agreed with him when he said horses for courses and he wanted bj,cj and F Rautenbach back….
Thanks…just fetching that beer….
Okay, i am back….the plonker wouldnt know a tighthead if he tripped over one.
Os, Willie meyer, Ollie, all saying BJ the man for 3….
Smit must go battle it out with Bissy, he goes back to 3 my faith in PDV is a goner!!
3 Dec 2009, 19:58 pm
@gunther: The beer will be larger at long street, we drink real beer here!!
Jeremy Clarkson is very good at supporting local things, he is probably in town right now, mingling with the proles!
3 Dec 2009, 20:00 pm
Scrum will be sorted with BJK and Cj….
Okay…next mission….i am concerned at the backs now…..Skop is making me nervous about the 9 and 10….he normally is astute….and he seems 100% convinced that the backline ills are in that axis…..
But hell man, for me it was the **** poor scrums that got my goat….so i am happy .
But smit back at 3 next season and seriously i may need to go onto something a bit stronger than Windhoek lagers
3 Dec 2009, 20:02 pm
going to drink champagne with my mate…he is a bloody Blou Bul!!
He reckons Barney should only play hooker…for the sharks!!!
Ai…not often i agree with the bulle…
Nite all…
3 Dec 2009, 20:04 pm
@carol:
funnily enough the boks never mentioned any names…. heaslip’s must have come out during the investigation when they decided that there was no case …..
3 Dec 2009, 20:05 pm
@grant10: Gabrielle is a Bulls man….Hahahahah, good chap!! Say ‘Hi’ from me…
Night Grant, go steady!!
3 Dec 2009, 20:09 pm
@gunther: i don’t get it though, in the first half whe BJ ws there and we were rumbling on 6th gear, we didn’t score a whole horde of tries, in fact we had 35% possession of the ball & we had made more than twice the amoint of tackles the irish had made. Now unless TRS tells me that is also related to our scrum i’m confused.
3 Dec 2009, 20:10 pm
@gunther: Innocent until proved guilty!
Now, serious matters…superBru time, how much will the AB’s beat the BaaBaas by, I need points,have slipped somewhat recently!
3 Dec 2009, 20:13 pm
@Transformation aka Turbo Reverse Specialist:
thats my point when there are only ten scrums a game how can it be such abig deal… contrast that with 50+ rucks …. which is more important?
more than 50% of all tries in internationals this year were made from turnovers…
3 Dec 2009, 20:14 pm
Huh? Are we now required to use our real names? OK, my name is Patrick van der Swayze.
3 Dec 2009, 20:14 pm
@carol:
I would say blacks by 10-15…. the barbarians will have spent the week pissing it up at the nearest spearmint rhino….
3 Dec 2009, 20:16 pm
@Slappes:
don’t lie we all know its Ivor Windybottom…
3 Dec 2009, 20:19 pm
sundaram muthuraman
….but you can call me charo
3 Dec 2009, 20:21 pm
yeah its a pity there is so much fear that encapsulates springbok rugby, players and coaches psyches alike.
Seems they so sh’t scared to progress or evolve, what the hell they so bang about as if the earth is going to open up and swallow them whole.
Must say I think Jake was a bit of a woosie and these players still haven’t shaken that cowardly negative conservatism off yet.
Imagine he’d stayed on, where the hell you think our game would be gravitating at now? Always on the back foot cowardly kick first ask question later style of chicken run rugby which we still doing 6 years later cos we too damn afraid to expand our thinking and evolve.
3 Dec 2009, 20:22 pm
@gunther: Tiger Woods has stolen the headlines for sportsmen behaving badly…..who cares if a few rugby players visit a lap dancing club!
Thanks for the tip btw!
3 Dec 2009, 20:22 pm
@Slappes:yep, simon has gone all GBS on us! you’re can’t maak gat & k@k praat willy nilly if we know your name!
@gunther:i guess TRS can only focus on one aspect of the team @ the time hence he only flirts with what skop said about the halfback axis and the jumps str8 back to barney & bj…quite amusing to read though…
3 Dec 2009, 20:24 pm
@carol:
what to tiger woods and seals have in common?
3 Dec 2009, 20:29 pm
JW was the best thing that could have happened to SA rugby.
It was also great to see him not put up with player;s kak.
3 Dec 2009, 20:30 pm
Is this the rugby blog where you sign on using your own correct identity. I hope I’m doing the correct thing?
Its about time the Springbok’s got out of the shadow of Jake White and if they can’t do that while Smit and Matfield and Du Preez are running the show then better they get out the way.
3 Dec 2009, 20:31 pm
@Transformation:
baby steps …. its an over-reliance on breaking news…
3 Dec 2009, 20:32 pm
@gunther:
Tiger and Seal both have blonde wives
As far as Tiger and seals are concerned they both got clubbed.
3 Dec 2009, 20:35 pm
@Robzim:
by norwegians…
3 Dec 2009, 20:35 pm
@Robzim:
anyway according to 5 fm he is changing his name to cheetah…
3 Dec 2009, 20:38 pm
@gunther:
OK, I see the Swedish golfer Jesper Parnevik who introduced Elin to Tiger feels responsible and wants to apologise to her.
I think he is oversensitive…
3 Dec 2009, 20:39 pm
@Robzim:
I think so…. lovely manners those swedes….
3 Dec 2009, 20:40 pm
every coach was the best thing that could happen to our rugby, in fact they were the only thing that could happen at any given time. Everybody moaning and bemoaning the fate of the scenario as its been rammed home to unfold, couldn’t have happened any other way, so these anti pap sak coaches and White apologists should gear up their loins for more fun and games to come.
Bigoted idiots.
3 Dec 2009, 20:41 pm
@Robzim: Heheheheh –
How are you Rob, did you get a good sleep?
3 Dec 2009, 20:42 pm
@gunther: All this appology stuff, how embarrasing is that!!
“I am not a perfect human being after all”!!
3 Dec 2009, 20:43 pm
Yip, no-one quite as good as Jakey Whiter than White.
Should;ve been made a Saint by Tutu.
3 Dec 2009, 20:49 pm
@carol:
I’m fine again, thanks,and you?
Gunther is as sharp as a razor blade again – Tiger changes his name to Cheetah (r) LoL
The Norwegian is a scary woman – very pretty though.
Percy won’t try his luck with her, I guess.
3 Dec 2009, 20:54 pm
@Robzim: I wish Keo had a bloggers gallery, I have a mental picture of Gunther would be good to see how accurate it was!
Tigers Norwegian is not afraid to show her feelings!!
Gilette has dropped Tiger Woods after he admited that hitting the fire hudrant was actually the closest shave he had ever had!!
3 Dec 2009, 20:55 pm
scuse my typos!
3 Dec 2009, 20:55 pm
I’m having a bit of a ‘Puma’!!
3 Dec 2009, 21:01 pm
@carol:
As long as you do not say “it’s going to be a cracker” you are still ok
3 Dec 2009, 21:03 pm
I think Rudolph Streauli should be knighted, without Rudolph and Eddy Jones, Jake and John would have been singing sweet nothings to each other still. It always takes one fool to make a genius and vice versa, without the villain you could not get the hero. Rudolph made Jake, just as much as Jake prepared the way for Peter. Problem is none of these pap sak passing paper dolls like this Armstrong moegoe actually understand how it all fits together. The whiter than White colonialist ignorants.
3 Dec 2009, 21:07 pm
@Robzim: At the risk of appearing to be a bit ‘blonde’ I have no idea what you meant there?
Did you realise you are missing Boots and All?
3 Dec 2009, 21:08 pm
@skopskiet: Do you like our Honours System Skoppie??
My Mother in Law got an M.B.E (My bloody efforts) !!
3 Dec 2009, 21:13 pm
@carol:
OK. Lets rather leave it. Nothing serious though.
I have not watched Boots and All for the last 3 years.
It’s the same boring stuff over and over….
I prefer serious and deep stuff like “desperate housewives”.
Are u still going to watch the Barbarian game?
3 Dec 2009, 21:18 pm
I also got an M.B.E.
Mean Blikskottle Emissary
3 Dec 2009, 21:23 pm
lol – Rudi was not bad actually, his mistake was draadtrek.
i’m off to count sheep.
3 Dec 2009, 21:24 pm
@skopskiet: And there I thought yours was My Big ‘Ead.
Sorry may seem to be having a go at you at the moment.
Just a poor sense of timing and irony.
3 Dec 2009, 21:25 pm
@cab: Well I am glad you didn’t say you were off to draadtrek.
3 Dec 2009, 21:25 pm
@Robzim: Better scenery for you on Desperate Housewives, not so hairy or muscular!
I am going to the Barbarians Match with London Keo Boys, we are having the AGM in the pub first!! 4man wants us on parade at 11am…I will be comatose by kick off!!
3 Dec 2009, 21:26 pm
@skopskiet: Huh
everything is going over my head tonight!!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All