Habana hat-trick halts ABs
5 Dec 2009
Bryan Habana’s Man of the Match performance helped the Barbarians to a 25-18 win over the All Blacks at Twickenham.
Habana scored a brilliant counter-attacking effort from his own 22 for his first. He also claimed an intercept just before the half-time hooter as the Baa Baas led 14-10 at the break.
He scored his third and final try after some good work from Jaque Fourie and Morne Steyn previously, and the Bok winger left the field to a huge cheer from the crowd and a hug from an obviously elated coach Nick Mallett.
Ben Smith and Anthony Boric replied with tries for the Blacks, and a Mike Delany penalty with nine minutes remaining meant the Kiwis trailed 22-18. But a big scrum from WP Nel and co won the Baa Baas a penalty. Steyn, on as a replacement, added the three points that sealed the result as the All Blacks lost their only match of their year-end tour.

409 Comments
5 Dec 2009, 18:29 pm
Well done that was up quickly!
5 Dec 2009, 18:30 pm
Actually Boric scored the 2nd try, not McAllistar
5 Dec 2009, 18:31 pm
if PDV was Babaas coach it would’ve been 50 – 10 for babaas …
5 Dec 2009, 18:33 pm
@Xhosaskid:
Thank goodness he wasn’t!
5 Dec 2009, 18:35 pm
ja if pdv was bok coach the whole game would have been boring jsut chip and chase
well done to habana the main man and wp nel both played
well just bought john smits book cant wait to sink my teeth into it
5 Dec 2009, 18:37 pm
If PdV was coach the barbarians would have lost
5 Dec 2009, 18:37 pm
Great game of rugby.
Sorry Tackles…your All Black team is now played 5, lost 1. You know…the whole wearing an All Black jersey and all that.
5 Dec 2009, 18:39 pm
who watched this game, couldn’t even get a live stream here
5 Dec 2009, 18:39 pm
i meant to say if pdv was baa baas coach and not bok coach
5 Dec 2009, 18:41 pm
Fantastic….didnt see it…how did the Boks play?
How was WP Nel in the scrums?
Cmon chaps…info.
Well done to the WP and Stormers flyer and the rest of the saffas!
Great…made up for the 7 s dissapointment!
5 Dec 2009, 18:42 pm
ja habana 2 great intercept trys and j.fourie almost scored
morne steyn sloted a penalty the boks scored all the points cept for a few kick from matt giteau
5 Dec 2009, 18:42 pm
Well done, Barbarians, plus congratulations, Bryan! Never thought ABs will lose this one, though.
Big Vic got what he wanted after all, well done, man, 4 precious scalps in a single year.
Next year will be slightly different story.
5 Dec 2009, 18:43 pm
wp nel was fantastic the next richard bands
5 Dec 2009, 18:44 pm
Good to see the Stormers boys having brilliant games. Habana and Fourie.
Sorry skop, FdP had a good game
5 Dec 2009, 18:45 pm
strange how things work … Boks beat NZ 3 -0 … SA loose to France …. NZ f0k France op, maar verloor teen Babaas …. Die einde is naby
5 Dec 2009, 18:46 pm
@skopskiet: I watched it skop, the South Africans played really well in the main. Giteau and Habana the star performers in the backs, Matfield controlled things well and WP Nel had some good charges, Burger also very impressive, really looked the part. I reckon WP Nel will really step up when he improves his physique, he’s carrying a big belly.
and Morne Steyn looked comfortable at full-back. Good to see NZ not finish their tour unbeaten, haha.
5 Dec 2009, 18:47 pm
Sorry Nils
I’ll have to kill you’re false hope right now. Next year will be no different.
The ABs will be lucky if they beat the Boks
5 Dec 2009, 18:48 pm
@Xhosaskid: roflmao
5 Dec 2009, 18:48 pm
i would love to see nick mallet involed in sa rugby once again
5 Dec 2009, 18:51 pm
@klippies101: great to hear that!
5 Dec 2009, 18:52 pm
Yeah with a proper fly half thats not afraid to run the ball like Giteau then suddenly Fourie and Habana have blinders.
give the ball some air and were dancing on the front foot again. That stupid skop and trek rugby killed us this Eoyt, and WP Nel destroyed their loosehead from all accounts.
So if we’d taken Nel instead of Jannie Dup for starters, and played Pienaar instead of M.Steyn and somebody in their right mind would have banished all that senseless kicking we might have even come away with couple wins instead of 4 useless losses.
Shows when they not afraid to run it what can happen.
AB’s without Carter a different team though. Donald is no Carter.
5 Dec 2009, 18:52 pm
Nick Mallet should be involved in SA rugby once again.
It’ll be nice to a decent Bok coach again
5 Dec 2009, 18:53 pm
Mallet still THE MAN!!
Fantastic, i am thrilled, went to Long Street for WC 2011 party last nite , what a vibe, today i got 2x tickets for 7 matches at Green Point for the princely sum of R3010.00!!!
Great value, even a WC semi final included…..
Kak draw for Bafana though….
5 Dec 2009, 18:54 pm
Great result for the Baa-baas. I too would love to see Nick coaching the Boks in some capacity again. I think he’s wasted in Italy and he was given a rough ride by the SA unions after doing such a great job with the Boks before.
Just shows you what Bryan can do when he actually gets a sniff of the ball in open play rather than being relegated to the kick and chase game.
5 Dec 2009, 18:54 pm
Only saw the second half. Giteau had a great match, with Fourie, Habana and WP Nel making their mark. Burger put some big hits in and overall it seems like the Springbok players finally got over their fatigue!!
WP Nel put one typical try-line charge in and run through So’oialo, only to be stopped a few meters short! Can’t wait to see more of him the Super14.
I though the Giteau, Jamie Roberts and J. Fourie combination was far better then their NZ counterpart, with Habana’s awareness always a threat to NZ. Good game, pity I missed the first half!
5 Dec 2009, 18:55 pm
Morne Steyn at full back… yes.. what I been saying all along.. shift him out to full back and play a running pivot.. makes all the difference and a whole lotta sense.
Mallet and Skopskiet plus minus on the same page.. good to see people with some common sense prevailing for a change.
5 Dec 2009, 18:55 pm
off to beach with a smile on my face…..
Nothing pleases me more than a Kiwi loss…..
And the Stormers wing scoring a hat trick!!!!
And of courese the emergence of wp nel , BJ and Cj….
Now i can enjoy the off season….
Outta here!
5 Dec 2009, 18:56 pm
@skopskiet: yeah….you called that one skop!
5 Dec 2009, 18:57 pm
19. klippies101… enough twats in SA rugby already… Mallet is still trying to convince the world that Burger is a No 6… The refs interpretation at the breakdown was the deciding factor in the game.. Still can’t understand how a Coach that has led his team (italy) to Victory once in 100 games get the nod from the Baabaas to coach them.. I presume rugby is all about finding the best twat.
5 Dec 2009, 18:58 pm
@grant10: didn’t the players hate him?
@grant10: Stormers wing… Sireli is a Stormers wing, JJ is a Stormers wing… Bryan Habana is not a Stormers wing… he will always be a bull
Mallet would never have played Morne at pivot, I’m sure he would have played Pienaar or Grant already in 2008.
He learned his lesson the hard way by sticking with Jannie drop kick de Beer in 99 semi’s instead of his banker Honiball, doubt he’ll go make that mistake again
Grant how did you managed to get tickets for all 7 at Green Point?
I was in Long Street last night too! Mad stuff
Bafana are in a bit of trouble I reckon.
Mexico are a quality side, we wont beat France and Uruguay are always tough. But we might scrape a result against them
5 Dec 2009, 18:59 pm
Yep. He only played at FB briefly, but Morne joined the backline move nicely for Hab’s 3rd try and did a decent job at booting the ball down field when they needed to get a bit of territory.
It would really be great if we had him on the field as well as a dynamic flyhalf.
5 Dec 2009, 18:59 pm
Mallet 3 – PDV 0
5 Dec 2009, 19:00 pm
I wonder if we will see tackles on this thread?
4 zip for the Saffers over the AB`s this year. Like taking candy from a baby.
5 Dec 2009, 19:02 pm
@grant10: ditto, made my day.
5 Dec 2009, 19:02 pm
@WP_: A BIT OF TROUBLE? no bru, we are screwed
5 Dec 2009, 19:03 pm
Saffas are always up for a kiwi game.
Seems fatigue goes out the window with the ABs are the opponents
5 Dec 2009, 19:04 pm
@Xhosaskid: Change your nic twat… you are not Xhosakid.. I presume that the nic is intended to confuse or you see yourself a bit of Kak that a black man poeped out.
5 Dec 2009, 19:04 pm
Bafana Bafana will need a minor miracle to make it through their pool.
It’s such a pity. It’s always good for the tournament when the hosts stay in it for a while.
5 Dec 2009, 19:05 pm
37 Sarah
True that. I tried to candy coat it.
5 Dec 2009, 19:05 pm
@grant10:
habana is only a stormer from next season, until he hasn’t played for them the glory still goes to the bulls flyer!
5 Dec 2009, 19:07 pm
@WP_: shame my poor Bafana
5 Dec 2009, 19:07 pm
Thanks for the feed in Big Hit, Klippies, Scar
when Boks break free of this inherent fear that is gripping their psyches about playing to ‘our strengths’, the big bomb up n under kick and chase rubbish, then all of a sudden everybody breathes with some relief again.
That **** is strangling our game, and the senior player coaches must just ditch that nonsense as an experiment thats run its course.
Get a motivated running pivot at the helm, see what Giteau does to open up the backs, and we’re away again. M.Steyn probably much more comfortable at FB where there’s more time and space to enter the line and contribute to the overlap.
Got to get some fast thinking reaction at half back and then the entire game plan opens up again and we start playing rugby again like we been supposed to, instead of this other negative nonsense.
5 Dec 2009, 19:08 pm
He’s contract with WP started on Dec 1. He’s a Stormer!
5 Dec 2009, 19:10 pm
@WP_: stop saying that!
5 Dec 2009, 19:10 pm
@WP_:
really and how many games has he played for them?
5 Dec 2009, 19:18 pm
@WP_: Interestingly he wasn’t wearing Stormers/WP or Bulls socks, it looked like he had KES socks on. Maybe he doesn’t have WP/Stormers socks yet, or maybe he doesn’t see himself as a Province man yet!
5 Dec 2009, 19:18 pm
Steyn was impressive at fullback and FdP had a great game, as did Schalk Burger, Nel, Fourie, Matfield and the Beast but the star of the show was Habana and Giteau who were both sensational!
Habana was a thorn in the ABs side. A historic win for the BaaBass, really was. I’d love to see Mallett coach the Boks again. Can we not get rid of Plumtree and get Mallett in instead for the Sharks?
5 Dec 2009, 19:19 pm
@WOLFMAN21: why waste a perfectly good pair of Stormers socks on him?
groenie
Still bitter that he’s left your beloved Bulls?
@WP_: WP, I understand this was your year, congratulations, but you know what happens when nose is too far up.
This was a great year for SA rugby. Look, 3-0 vs NZ, 3N, S14, Sevens winners.
We will claw our way back to the top, make no mistake. Dubai for starters.
5 Dec 2009, 19:22 pm
@skopskiet: For once I actually agree with 90% of what you’re saying but I disagree with all your criticism of FdP. He had a great game and kicked far less than normal. His distribution was very good. I think its very unfair to blame the player enitrely and not the coach. Who do you think is instructing FdP to play a kick and chase game?
The Bok coaching staff haven’t got a clue and I would love to see Mallett back in the fold. I’ll be supporting Italy in the Six Nations this year.
5 Dec 2009, 19:22 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Oops sorry meant Six Nations next year
5 Dec 2009, 19:25 pm
Nils
hehe, just having a go… Congrats on Dubai by the way…
The Boks were rubbish this weekend. Kurt Baker looks a star ey
5 Dec 2009, 19:26 pm
@Langenhoven: Mallett hasn’t exactly got the same talent to work with as PdV now has he? How many Italian players would walk into a World XV? Zilch. They gave the ABs a good game and scored a try against the Boks. Italy have a non-existent pool of players but they’re far more competitive than they ever used to be.
Remember this twat you called Mallett coached the Boks to a 16 match unbeaten run – name how many other Bok coach have achieved that?
5 Dec 2009, 19:26 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Italy will lose all their games as usual…. THats a fact, so I presume that you will be supporting them because you like the underdog… or is it because you believe in Santa and fairies??
5 Dec 2009, 19:28 pm
@WP_: Thanks and to your Barbarians (Boks) as well. Did not see neither game though, shame.
Cheers and enjoy the summer, we here still are waiting for the snow (damn climate changes, in my childhood deep snow was already in November).
And bring on Super 14, can’t wait already.
5 Dec 2009, 19:28 pm
@WP_: Habs is going to be a huge assest for the Stormers next year but he also needs a rest!
Its about time provincial coaches started taking responsibility and rest their Boks more often. Its the only way SA is going to develop future stars if younger S14 players are getting more of a chance to play!
5 Dec 2009, 19:30 pm
Ha Ha,all the saffies think they have been reprived from there embarrassing Northern hemishere tour,because a good Barbarians team beat a weak Allblack side….don’t think so,you guys were an embarrassment to S.H rugby this tour and this result won’t change it.Can’t wait for next season,because I can guarantee you,you won’t be winning F.A.We will have our full complement of players back for next season[Williams,Mealamu,Toeava,Kahui etc plus overseas players coming home [Chris Jack,Hayman].We’ve had our nightmare season, as most teams do in transition and its only up,up,up from here….the funny thing is we’ve had a nightmare season and we’re still NUMBER 1,BABY[IRB rankings don't lie]Oh yeah and Canterbury will win the super 14,with Auckland going close,both teams have made good acquisitions recently and will be hot to trot for that torny,so chew on another piece of biltong saffies and enjoy being number 2
5 Dec 2009, 19:30 pm
@Langenhoven: If they do not lose Parisse, I think (and certainly hope) Italy will win at least one game.Preferably against England.
5 Dec 2009, 19:31 pm
All the South Africans were pretty good:
Matfield was good at the lineouts stealing NZ and securing his own (apart from when the Aussie hooker started throwing skew), also threw some nice passes, and was good on defence;
du Preez mixed structure with good attacking rugby;
Burger had his best game for the season-big on defence, some good runs;
Beast was good with ball in hand and made a difference to the scrum when he came on;
Fourie combined well with the Welsh centre, although after making breaks tended to give the ball away away;
WP Nel was excellent-big hits, runs, and great in the scrum;
Bismarck was solid;
Habana was excellent-3 tries (two from intercepts), good defence, got knocked out making a trying saving tackle;
Steyn was good when he came on-nice attacking runs, good passes and good kicking, final pass for Habana’s third try;
Giteau ran the show-excellent kicking, some sweet line breaks, nice mopping up when needed, combined well with du Preez. Would be great to have an attacking flyhalf of his quality in the Boks team, but there isn’t any-one.
NZ scrumhalf had a big tussle with Habana, with So’oilo chocking Habana. Must have been nice for Bryan to walk away saying-played four against the All Blacks, won four. A bit like Gregan’s “four more years chirp”.
Sorry for the long post.
5 Dec 2009, 19:32 pm
Fourie Du Preez must just get told he’s not the be all and end all of the Bok back line strategy, he is not the super genius play maker and general of the back line. His job is to get the ball to the fly half as quickly as possible unless circumstance dictate without a doubt that he has to kick it.
If that is his mandate and he is not bogged down with this idea that the entire back line is dependent on his decision and strategy, then he can break free of the shackles of this burdensome yoke of leadership they wrapped around his neck and he can become free to play a much more contributory role in feeding the back line instead of stifling it by kicking most balls into the air or popping little nothing passes to bollocking rumbling props who make about 2 mts and then go to ground and cough it up on the deck.
As soon as we have some confidence that the fly half and centers and wings are more than capable to make a game of running with the ball, then we can get that ball whipped out to them, and we could see more of what some lucky viewers saw today, with a creative pivot like Giteau and a couple strong running centers like Roberts and Fourie, a full back like Mitchell or Steyn joining the line at pace and some wings like Habana and Roko tearing off for the try line again.
We have all the players we need. All we need to do is realize it and develop game strategies that do them justice instead of stifling them into robots, which is practically all they’ve been doing since Mallet last coached the Bok’s in 1999.
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: How many kak teams did he have to play to achieve that.. This is the same twat that believed that Breyton Paulse was a quota and that it was unfortunate for Deon Kayser to score three tries in a game…because it gave the wrong impression about rugby as a white sport… The man is pure twat. Any body can achieve a fluke.. its call black swan events.. How consistent has he been ever since his great run..
@CarlHaymanWillBeBack: Now you are poking hornets nest. Let’s beat our chests when the job is done and season is over.
5 Dec 2009, 19:34 pm
Hope Habana didn’t go and get concussed, that could dampen the whole entire issue.
5 Dec 2009, 19:36 pm
@Nils: It will be fairytale if that happens..
5 Dec 2009, 19:38 pm
@skopskiet: The one part that is missing is an attacking flyhalf. They don’t exist in South Africa and Pienaar is not the answer. The last attacking flyhalf we had was Jaco van der Westhuyzen and before that Honiball.
The only player to ever stick South Africa’s strike runners (Habana, Fourie etc.) in space is du Preez, and before that de Villiers.
Pienaar has been tried and has been found wanting at international level. If he wants to play ten, he should start at his province not for the Boks.
5 Dec 2009, 19:39 pm
Cheers Nils
Enjoy the off season mate! Cant wait for the Super 14
5 Dec 2009, 19:39 pm
Same Mallet that gave Jake White the boot as his technical adviser because he didn’t need a walking lap top analyzing stats all day long.
Mallet picked up Carel Du Plessis’s brain child team and ran with it, Carel developed Honiball, Joubert, Montgomery, Pieter Roussouw and that team that went 17 games without a loss. In the end Mallets own head got the better of him, though he was a more astute coach than White any day of the week.
5 Dec 2009, 19:43 pm
@skopskiet: Suggesting Mallet pick up du Plessis’s team is almost like suggesting de Villiers picked up Jake White’s team, apart from that Jake White’s team had been successful and was already together, not the case with du Plessis’s team.
5 Dec 2009, 19:45 pm
Pienaar is NOT a 10. Stop living in Dreamland
5 Dec 2009, 19:46 pm
Nope Pienaar or Grant were never really tried sufficiently.
Pienaar has a phobia about place kicking thats why Pienaar should be at 10 and M.Steyn at 15, and Grant doesnt have the boot of Morne Steyn, but both Pienaar or Grant or JL Potgieter would be better bets as pivotal players to develop and nurse through their learning curves rather than M.Steyn.
Pienaar has done great at 10 except his place kicking has always let him down then his head goes to pot. Grant would have been another Honiball if they would have stuck their necks ourt in 2008 instead of reverting to James. Honiball couldn’t kick for sh’t either, but he’s probably the best fly half we’ve had in a long time, and Errol Thobias was for my money a better fly half than Naas Botha in a running game.
JL Potgieter is a better long term option than M.Steyn at 10 also because he gets the back line motoring, Steyn is just simply too one dimensional in attack mode from 10, with more space like at 12 or 15 he would be phenomenal, but get him out of 10.
5 Dec 2009, 19:48 pm
@skopskiet: Skop, they could have gone on to be great coaches but they let their prejudice blind them… Breyton Paulse scored vital tries in many of those 16 victories but Mallet refused to acknowledge the value of this player… The best he could come up with is decsribing him as a Quota with some merit…. Pure doos I say
5 Dec 2009, 19:49 pm
Difference is Carel had just got his team into shape, they annihilated Aussie after only 8 tests together with a cruel run against Br. Lions when all our kicks at goal were missed. Carel had less than a year to develop his side and it was just coming together when it was taken from him and given to Mallet, Jake had 4 whole years and poor results through 06 and 07 but was spared the chop and Eddy Jones saved his bacon along with a WC draw made in rugby heaven.
Anyway thats all old hat by now.
5 Dec 2009, 19:50 pm
@WOLFMAN21: The more of Jakes team PDV chose, the kakker they performed…
5 Dec 2009, 19:51 pm
anyway am out .. gone fishing
5 Dec 2009, 19:57 pm
Fkall happening her… cheers.. I am out too..
5 Dec 2009, 19:59 pm
@skopskiet: with you on Pienaar skop, he looked a natural playmaker late in the Ireland game getting it out wide, should’ve came on sooner.
@CarlHaymanWillBeBack: the Saffers could legitmately call it 4-0 in ’09 after that result if they wanted so the rankings do lie when team No.2 has dominated team No.1, wrong time to crow m8
5 Dec 2009, 20:01 pm
@skopskiet: highlights of the game will be up on rugbydump in a couple of days, worth watching, l8r skop
5 Dec 2009, 20:06 pm
Watched the game, was great! NZ had the upper hand in the first half but lacked composure second half. Plenty of niggle and desire to win from both teams, really competitive. Was brilliant seeing the bacjline running, Jaque Fourie must have thought all his christmas’ came at once with the amount of ball he got from Jamie Roberts. Great centre pairing.
So proud for Mallet, he must be chuffed at winning against the mighty All Blacks.
BBC commentators were saying how awesome it is for the NH players in the BaaBaa’s squad to get a win over the AB’s as it wont ever happen in there careers again!
the best part was seeing all the players (Welsh, SA, NZ, OZ, ITALY) all enjoying playing together. There joy at the end was great. Thats what Barbarians rugby is all about, friendship and team spirit.
5 Dec 2009, 20:07 pm
Wolfman …. and he also doesn’t see him as a Bulls player anymore …
5 Dec 2009, 20:52 pm
@Big Hit:
so you return when the ABs lose,how odd.
@WP_:
Wrong,fatigue only gets called when involved in a loss. The world knows it,everybody bar some South Africans see it.
@Big Hit:
Obviuosly it made your day,you have been missing since the ABs once again whacked your side at home.
5 Dec 2009, 20:53 pm
As much as I rated Mallet I will never forgive him for him dropping Teichmen for the injured Skinstad. I dont want to get into if’s and buts but maybe we would have had Bill Ellis in our trophy cabinet for another 4 years in 1999.
5 Dec 2009, 20:59 pm
@Big Hit:
You have to be kidding me. No South African would consider the Baa baas game a victory for them.Thats just stupid.
And you honestly dont understand the rankings do you?
5 Dec 2009, 21:10 pm
Matfield, FdP, Habana, Schalk, Morne, the Beast, and Bismarck all seem like a different players from last week – they were energetic, committed, industrious and up for it compared with last week when they looked like a shadow of themselves…makes me wonder whats going in the Bok camp.
Is PdV putting too much pressure on them or are they fed up with the kick and chase tactics. Every Bok player today looked like they wanted to be there while last week they had 1 foot on the plane back to SA. Why couldn’t they have played like that last week?!
5 Dec 2009, 21:15 pm
I just hope that next year the so called brains trust think of new tactics because teams are working out our kick chase approach and we have become too predictable..
5 Dec 2009, 21:16 pm
I reckon Skop’s right – move Morne to 15 and have Pienaar at 10. His distribution is excellent and he’s got good pace too. Just look how we did against England last year.
JdV must slot back in at 12, BJ at 3 and Deysel to provide cover for Juan Smith when required. There has to be a change of tactics by PdV. No more kick and chase but structured play where you kick for territory and run the ball outside your own half. FdP must be told not to kick inside the other teams half. We should be looking at throwing the ball around, quick recycling and offloading in the tackle to keep momentum going. The Boks mission next year must be to help Habana reach the 40 tries mark!
5 Dec 2009, 21:17 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke:
It really puts an end to the Fatigue myth.
Habana was full of energy. 3 tries from someone that was suppose to be tired. Bismark was himself,illegal tactics and trying to be the bully we all know he thrives in. FdP ran through gaps that really a fatigued man could not be bothered with.
Lets face it,the Fatigue only arises when a loss happens
5 Dec 2009, 21:19 pm
I wonder if Habana is going to pull a Tana Umaga and move to 13 when he loses a bit of pace to extend his career in the Bok jersey or will he move overseas to make some good money before retiring.
5 Dec 2009, 21:20 pm
@WP_: Eish kak draw for Bafana Bafana! Looks like Fifa are trying their best to ensure this World Cup becomes the Beckham and Capello show! Why wasn’t the Bafana captain at the draw? This world cup should be about Africa and not some overpaid premiership players! We wont make it out of the group stage thanks to Fifa.
5 Dec 2009, 21:24 pm
@WOLFMAN21: I agree I didnt like how Rodney was grabbing the head area of Habana but the Babaas Forwards needed to help Habana quicker to protect him, but even though I am an All Black supporter congrats to the Babaas, it really shows the 2nd tier AB team is very poor, great teams will keep soldiering on even when the we werent getting the rub of the green oh well I cannot wait till the All Blacks play the Boks next year.
5 Dec 2009, 21:26 pm
@Hurricane: Ah quite your pathetic whinging! The Boks were saying they were tired before they even went on tour. The ABs didn’t have 3 very physical, intense tests against the B&I Lions.
illegal tactics from Bismarck? What a load of kak! The amount of times the ABs were offside was unreal. What about Jimmy Cowan’s offside interception? He was facing the same way as the BaaBass or the AB player who was offside when Fourie was trying to pass to Rokococo? Hurts doesn’t it to see your team get whipped by an invitational team with less than a week to prepare and including an AB cast off who was solid today!
But yes the fatigue issue is perhaps a cover up for dillusionment amongst the Boks perhaps.
5 Dec 2009, 21:29 pm
@Hurricane:
Shame, the mighty AB’s, no 1 in the world, gets smashed by a tired pick up side. Wow, I guess your boys were fatiged?? And I suppose, that drunkard No 9 and his back up Soiolo (I only attack around the neck from behind)hate pushing their weight around hey? Losers……..
5 Dec 2009, 21:38 pm
@whatever: Cowan is one jumped up little pr!ck. He showed his true colours with that shocking closeline in the S14.
5 Dec 2009, 22:12 pm
Hang on a second, is there a mistake in this article….
Is Bryan Habana not one of those immortals that KEO has repeated 475 times is too fatigued to play a game of rugby…?…
5 Dec 2009, 22:19 pm
In regards to the fatigue factor:
It must be very appealing playing for the Barbarians. Not only to play with players such as Rockoco, Giteau and others and not against them, but also to chuck all the emphasis on structure aside and just let rip!!
5 Dec 2009, 22:22 pm
its also quite appealing to play against the All Blacks’ B side…
5 Dec 2009, 22:45 pm
no whinging,stating the facts. Grow up
5 Dec 2009, 22:47 pm
Dont worry All Black fans at least the we won in Dubai….it does show our 2nd tier All Blacks are not there yet but great game by the Babaas, they were the better team.
5 Dec 2009, 22:49 pm
@Langenhoven:
I would bet my house that Paulse did not score even 1 try in any of those 16 victories.
In fact, I believe was never in the squad.
Paulse debuted in 1999 if i remember correctly.
when Mallet was forced to select him in a game against Wales at the new millenium stadium.
a game we lost by the way. was it our only ever loss to Wales?
but mallet is a top class coach.
even if, as you say…he fluked it to 16 wins in a row, you don’t fluke back to back french championships with Stade Francais, who were, until then, a bunch of nobodies.
Incedently, Mallet had no problem playing “black players” when in France. wow, how weird is that?
5 Dec 2009, 22:52 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: No the All Blacks would have dealt to the Lions like they have done in the pass, when has the Boks accomplished a Grand Slam? I know it hasnt happened in my life time, which has been nearly 40+ years. The Babaas deserved their win.
5 Dec 2009, 22:57 pm
@Nils: International rugby was getting boring when the All Blacks were kicking the Boks butt regularly, I am glad the All Blacks senior players moved on to Europe, so it would give other countries a fighting chance, even though Ireland and Scotland havent beaten the All Blacks yet, oh yeah those two countries have beaten the Boks and Aussies funny that…..
5 Dec 2009, 23:04 pm
well done baabaas.
some upset kiwis tonight.
dont fret kiwis, your side still had a great tour.
5 Dec 2009, 23:05 pm
Didn’t see the game but I’ll bet the Baabaas had plenty of solid set piece ball. That is generally the first rule to getting the backline moving as well as dominating collisions 2nd and 3rd phase with quick clean ball.
and then look at the boks set piece and work at the ruck the entire tour and wonder why steyn is on the back foot having to hoof it away?
give me steyn over pienaar anyday, certainly until I’ve seen Pienaar play a full season at 10, something that doesn’t look likely to happen as well as him not being interested in anyway. As it stands, I just can’t see Steyn being left out of a bok starting lineout. The truth be told, it is not actually his boot that is the weapon but his temperment.
Funny how the Bulls don’t have a problem moving the ball wide but the Boks do?
that points to team/game management ,selections and coaching in my opinion
As for any critism of Fourie du Preez? Well, that is laughable. Every coach he has played for, captain he has played under as well as opposing teams, highlight him as a player genius and the man to stop.Any insinuation that he can’t, or won’t pass is laughable, he has the best pass both sides in the game.
5 Dec 2009, 23:07 pm
@marvinb: you sound a little insecure friendo.
hows the weather in the cape by the way?
5 Dec 2009, 23:07 pm
@marvinb:
yeah, but the ozzies and boks have,not one, but 2 worldcups.
all won at tournaments when it mattered and wasn’t a watered down who frikken cares run around like it was back in ’87.
5 Dec 2009, 23:11 pm
all the happy kiwis not blogging tonight?
oh well, i just wish i had watched this game.
5 Dec 2009, 23:13 pm
@rangerman:
grin…
5 Dec 2009, 23:16 pm
@gunther: hehehe…i miss thetackler so much right now.
he probably dropped part of his lower intestine today.
5 Dec 2009, 23:17 pm
@rangerman:
don’t worry he is a plumber…
I am sure he has the skills to retrieve it…
5 Dec 2009, 23:19 pm
@gunther:
he probably would find it easier if he was an upholsterer.
maybe he can find that dole cheque that went missing whilst he is down there.
5 Dec 2009, 23:21 pm
@rangerman:
as well as his bookies slip for tha all blanks to win the 2007 world cup…
5 Dec 2009, 23:24 pm
@gunther: haha, where is waka tonight?
5 Dec 2009, 23:25 pm
i miss him.
like a granny misses her piles.
5 Dec 2009, 23:25 pm
@rangerman:
did you hear about the blind rabbi’s botched circumcision?
he got the sack…
5 Dec 2009, 23:27 pm
@rangerman:
in the twickers car park …. hoping for a glimpse of ritchie…
5 Dec 2009, 23:27 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: thats right ooo one more than the All Blacks, but I am quite happy when the All Blacks kick the World Cup holders the following year which has been done several times, I am quite happy being ranked #1 on a more consistant basis than the Aussies or the Boks, I am quite happy having the overall better record between the Boks and Aussies, and also having won several more TRi Nations and Super titles than the Aussies or Boks, and I am quite happy when our small player numbers compared to the Aussies and Boks we still seem kick their *** more times than they have done to us. Yes I am happy man…. 5 losses for the year compared to 6 for the Boks and 7 for the Aussies nah we dont too bad.
5 Dec 2009, 23:50 pm
@marvinb: haha, the test matches are what counts crackhead.
so the boks lost 4 and the ab’s lost 4.
but you convince yourself of whatever it takes to get you through the night k?
@gunther: probably preparing a thesis on why the game tonight was superior in all facets because of RUNNING rugby blah blah blah.
he will be gutted all the same, much like marvin who has decided to rail against saffas on a saffa site after an AB loss too an international invitation side.
insecure or just an inferiority complex?
ag, who knows.
5 Dec 2009, 23:57 pm
Marvin, please get over yourself. Go browse Britney Spears’ webpage or do whatever you AB supporters do after a loss.
5 Dec 2009, 23:58 pm
@marvinb: I don’t know if we have more players than you guys, you guys don’t have to compete with other hundreds of sports in this country,
I watched the game, fantastic win with a great effort from all the guys, The Bokks thrived off quick ball from Gits and the contribution from Burger, Smith and Elsom was fantastic. Mallett did the best job training this bunch because I’ve seen more established teams not play so well.
Well Done Ba Baas
5 Dec 2009, 23:58 pm
@rangerman:
afg I am sure its just something he heard through the grapevine…
5 Dec 2009, 23:59 pm
@rangerman: Hey your name calling is abit imature, if you want to narrow down the losses then so be it what ever makes you sleep better at night, it shows that it hasnt been that bad of a year for both teams. I guess you want to go back to the good ole days of segregation so a Kiwi cannot make a comment on a website which is open to the world wake up to the real world Rag, if you find the truth to be hard thats not my fault. its just an opinion take your chill pills at night bro.
5 Dec 2009, 23:59 pm
@SAussie/QldRed: howdy man!
long time.
ja, nz defo has more players than aus.
aus is simply amazing in terms of what is achieved with limited resources.
respect.
6 Dec 2009, 00:00 am
@SAussie/QldRed:
I think gits just enjoyed playing outside a world class 9…
6 Dec 2009, 00:02 am
@marvinb: mate, i am so chilled.
I call my mates crackhead sometimes marvin, no offence intended.
seriously buddy, just forget about south africa, segregation and all the other **** floating around in your head right now and enjoy the fact that today, rugby was the winner.
and ja, just chill bro.
6 Dec 2009, 00:04 am
@Kudu: If you say so Bro…we dont like taking losses, especially from from anyone.GO THE ALL BLACKS.
6 Dec 2009, 00:06 am
anyways, bedtime.
marvin, seriously buddy, dont look for a way to get over a loss by denigrating other teams man.
just admit that the baabaa’s did well and move on.
anyways, off to bed.
tjorts.
6 Dec 2009, 00:11 am
@rangerman: sorry bro I took it personal, rugby is the winner, I am a sore loser.
6 Dec 2009, 00:14 am
@marvinb: bygones mate.
we are all passionate rugby people is all.
commiserations on the loss man.
cheers.
6 Dec 2009, 00:15 am
@rangerman: have a good sleep bro…. I see people gloat at the expence of my All Blacks so why not throw in an opinion every now and then.
6 Dec 2009, 00:28 am
@SAussie/QldRed: I wouldnt say you have heaps more than us, I think I last saw the figures at 10-15 thousand more plus the tens of hundreds of Kiwis and South African players who live in OZ now, we have the same sports as OZ does and we are nearly four times smaller in Population numbers, yes you have more professional codes but 23 million compared to 4 million, I would say even up, Giteau plays so much better when he has experience around him he is a great player, but I would have Carter ahead of him if I had to pick. it was a great win.
6 Dec 2009, 00:34 am
@rangerman: Hi Mate, hope all is well with you, talk to you later @marvinb: I agree Carter is the man, amazing, love him and hate him at the same time. He really makes that team, I think our team has really made some progress this year and hopefully can bridge the gap between you and us. 2010 should be better for us.
6 Dec 2009, 00:38 am
@marvinb: How about all the Kiwis that flood onto this site to put the Boks down when we lose? All the freakin time and it doesn’t take long them to start climbing into South Africa as a country with childish “my country is better than yours” nonsense” pointing out all of our problems and how NZ has fck all to worry about!
Even when we win there are Kiwis coming on here reminding us of how NZ’s win ratio is far superior and how they’ve won the Tri-nations many more times and how the Boks lost 49-0 to Aus.
There’s a group of these ******** always denigrating us – Tackler, Wakathan (I saw someone call him Wankathon which is classic) Hurricane, NZinChina to name a few. Have you come to join that club as well?
We have to put up with a kak load from Kiwi bloggers on here who’s sole purpose is to wind up so I think we’re entitled to gloat about the ABs losing every now and then.
6 Dec 2009, 00:46 am
@marvinb: I wonder how Graham Henry would do if he had to deal with politicians interfering with rugby selections all the time, railing against the Boks for not having enough black players and wanting to do away with the Bok logo and a whole host of petty criticisms.
Boks may have a larger to player base but its not exactly a level playing field with all of the government interference that goes on. I dont think you’re aware that rugby isn’t being developed at grass roots level in SA like it is in NZ. If it was then we truly would have a very large player base to call upon.
If you want to puff up your chest about the ABs excel with limited resources then compare it to England which has one of the largest player bases in the world.
6 Dec 2009, 00:48 am
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Fair comment Bro…I should wait until I get my frustration out with the All Blacks losing first before targeting gloating Boks and Ozzie supporters, its something I have to learn.
6 Dec 2009, 00:52 am
Yep. no1. Beaten by a team only just put togethere.
Yep, I am surprised.
Yep I am very stoked.
Yep, cant wait to watch it.
Hey P?keh?, got an excuse yet.
6 Dec 2009, 00:54 am
@SAussie/QldRed: So true… I really enjoy watching the Wallabies more so now than in the pass and its more so to do with the style of play then being coached by Deans, and actually opening up the pathway… creating player depth.. than watching the same players all the time.
6 Dec 2009, 00:57 am
@KevinRack: maybe a second string All Black side or 925 TEST CAPS compared to the All Blacks 230 test caps would that do?
6 Dec 2009, 01:11 am
why we talking about M Steyn at FB? Surely frans is the man!
6 Dec 2009, 01:12 am
no tackler? now thats not surprising. he hasn’t figured out how to spin this one yet…
6 Dec 2009, 01:25 am
The ref must have cheated. Or the anthem was butchered. Or the hotel beds were too small. Or the boot studs were the wrong size. Or they are at a travel disadvantage. Or ….
Actually, the Baabaas just played better on the day and fully deserved to win.
How absolutely radical is THAT, yarpies?
They whacked the NZ dirt-track team. But at least they aren’t just an ordinary English club B side, hey? At least they’re an all-stars team, packed absolutely brim-full of top test players.
There. Is that what you wanted to hear from me?
6 Dec 2009, 01:30 am
Good work BaBaa’s…just the nudge the AB’s need at the end of an otherwise great season.
Next year will sort the realists from the wannabes’s no doubt.
Have a great and safe Xmas and New Year one and all!!
6 Dec 2009, 01:38 am
@captain fantail: What do you think about chopping Donald? Eaton should go, plays too average for my liking, I thought Ben Smith played well Gildford too early for World cup he didnt shine against Joe.
6 Dec 2009, 01:47 am
you guys checked out the 2011 draw? looks like ABs and Boks to meet in Semi’s. what a shame… thought the seedings would have them meeting in the final. but i guess seedings are based on previous world cup results, not on rankings. ironically that makes england second seeds i guess….
6 Dec 2009, 01:56 am
Few points I noticed
* The ABs improved by purging many of the PIs from their line up, I believe the recall of Tialata will cost then dearly next year.
* The Boks cannot utilise their most potetnt weapon Habana because of the quota system, he is considered done when playing with the like of Kirshner, Jacobs, JP and January, move to WP will not change that.
* The Boks haven’t got a genuine 2nd 5/8 to get Habana move: Styen has been lost for now, same about JdV who is too selfish anyway, the one great materialising prospect Brad Barritt is lost to England, hopefuly the new England trend to field big african centres might convince Barritt that quota is everywhere and he might stick to SA as his Test country?
6 Dec 2009, 02:02 am
Great match! Just glad a kiwi uploaded the whole match to Youtube.
6 Dec 2009, 02:47 am
Ja, the Bokke players lead by example and I’m just glad that we allowed guys like Jamie Roberts and Halfpenny to get a win over the All Blacks.
Lets just think back now to the time when Habs got that intercept and Richie McCaw was sprinting with all his kiwi might and honor to catch up to a jogging Bryan.
FOUR – ZERO
YES! YESSSS!!! Can you believe the jubilation that is running within me? YES!!!!
6 Dec 2009, 03:09 am
@TheTackler:
Actually, we don’t want to hear anything from you. Go blog elsewhere.
6 Dec 2009, 04:20 am
@Kobus Kitty: No.
6 Dec 2009, 04:55 am
@Kobus Kitty: Keep gloating Bro… Ill remeber your name for next year when we kick some Bok ***.
6 Dec 2009, 05:11 am
@marvinb:
And yet I won’t remember yours when we win the 2011 world cup.
4-0, congratulate me.
6 Dec 2009, 05:25 am
Time to make the trek back to the Boks Nicko!
6 Dec 2009, 06:36 am
#151 – thats such a kak comment to make considering you havent beaten us in the last 4 matchs lol. Its almost as bad as the run England had against us lol.
I cant actually remember the last time we lost to NZ? highly overatted.
6 Dec 2009, 06:47 am
funny that saffas are taking this win as theirs….very desperate for a vistory!
6 Dec 2009, 06:51 am
@wallabie.:
Its funny that you keep getting out of your jail cell.
6 Dec 2009, 07:11 am
Second string AB side. Don,t make too much of it. A 2nd string Bok side lost to club teams. This was a Baabaas team jam packed with world class players.
Needed Carter top overcome Giteau who was on fire. Referee was rather pedantic I thought and struggled with the pace and the spirit of the game.
6 Dec 2009, 07:13 am
@wls1: The Boks lost last year to ABs in SA without scoring a point . Hard to forget
6 Dec 2009, 07:19 am
@lapoftherugbygods:
Nope mate… a ‘second string’ Bok outfit did not lose… a political appointed side did…
Such is life in RSA… no-one will ever see a REAL Bok side…
Makes a mockery of the REAL NZ and Aus sides…
6 Dec 2009, 07:38 am
I hope Saffas remember this was a Matfield lead Barbarians team.
The complete stupidity that without J Smit we are doomed is once again shown up yo be the baloney it is!
Smit must compete with Bisnarck at 2….Klaar!!!
WP Nel now also showing the value of a proper tighthead, and the fact that the stability of a decent scrum platform allows for the backs to be properly utilised.
Hope all the Smit at 3 wallys are slowly starting to learn the non negotiable fact that a tighthead has to be , first and foremost, a rock in the scrums…..
6 Dec 2009, 08:01 am
@wallabie.:
Strange comment that. We have beaten the All Brags so many times this year (like taking candy from a baby). When last did the Wallabies manage to beat the AB`s? It`s been six (or is it more) losses in a row.
6 Dec 2009, 08:03 am
@Kobus Kitty:
4-0??
You really are grasping for wins against NZ. Fair enough 3-0 but Joe Rokokoko was playing as well as 12 other international players,i dont understand how you can take that as a SA victory.
Anyway the Baa baa deserved of the win,ABs played well in the first half but in the end the Baa baas finished alot better.
Habana finished like all good wingers should,it really was a pleasure to watch.
6 Dec 2009, 08:08 am
@Springbokvel:
Its been a good year for the Boks against the ABs.
As for the All Brags,must be the school holidays
6 Dec 2009, 08:24 am
@Kobus Kitty: I guess your right I wont really remember your name next year its too long to wait. The Boks win 2011.. like pigs can fly.
6 Dec 2009, 08:38 am
Great game to watch, AB second-stringers and lack of barbarians’ preparation aside. Was especially fantastic to see what a difference the extra pace of Habana makes. I’m far too used to seeing wallabies wingers chased down after they’ve been put into space. What a shame he wasn’t born in Australia — we would actually give him the ball instead of making him chase it.
Also good to see Gits play well again, though a bit bl..dy late now.
6 Dec 2009, 08:39 am
@marvinb:
Pigs flew in ’95 and again in ’07. When last did your pigs fly?
6 Dec 2009, 08:40 am
@wls1:
2008,you lost to NZ then,quite a bad memory really.ACtually i remember a 19-0 at SA home.Loser
6 Dec 2009, 08:41 am
@SJonesIsAGit:
Did you count the number of tries SA scored in the S14? Nah, I guess not, cause it was more than your losers.
6 Dec 2009, 08:41 am
@whatever:
before you were born i believe.
6 Dec 2009, 08:42 am
@whatever:
whats with the agro?
6 Dec 2009, 08:46 am
@Langenhoven: You are the only twat!! Mallet is coach of Italy because of the plonkers at SARFU!!
His only blemish in an illustrious career with the boks was to replace Teichmann with Bobby Stinkstert!! It cost us the World Cup.
To his credit, Mallett had the cahuna’s to admit, that it was his biggest mistake!!
Mallett is an astute, no nonsense coach, make no mistake!!
6 Dec 2009, 08:51 am
@Hurricane:
Thats aggro? Very similar to your aggro not so ya twat!
6 Dec 2009, 09:02 am
@whatever:
phhht.
I thought we could have a bit of a conversation but looks like you seem a bit of an ******* today. Shame really,sounds like your unemplyment benefit did arrive in the bank. Thats NZ for ya.
6 Dec 2009, 09:06 am
I think Habana is a gem, but is flaming out in the SA system
6 Dec 2009, 09:07 am
@Hondo:
he played well in the Baa baas. He seems to be a waste sometimes in the SA unit,he seems to all day chase the ball from Kicks. He is one of a kind and should be given space at all times
6 Dec 2009, 09:09 am
@Hurricane:
Classic. you want a conversation and start by critisising someone……….mmmmmm, the women must love you.
6 Dec 2009, 09:09 am
Good game of rugby. Although the win can’t be claimed as a SA one (Giteau, Smith, Elsom and Roberts made huge impact), the value of yet another AB defeat with their involvement, as Bok players, can’t be ignored. So, who wants to argue that the AB’s aura of invincibility is still in tact? All the NZ media’s doing anyway, which brings me to another point… This was the most balanced commentated game I’ve heard Jonston and the other Kiwi blokes do. Ever! Mind you, that other plonker Nisbett wasn’t there. They actually gave credit where it was due from the outset. No matter which side deserved it at the time. (remember the S14 final? These guys gave the Bulls their due in about the 60th minute with the score cazillion-f@ckall). Now if only they could do more of the same the rest of the time…
6 Dec 2009, 09:12 am
@whatever:
did i critisise you?
6 Dec 2009, 09:13 am
@BokiNZ:
Mate they still battled to give credit to the SA players, especially that one eyed dooos Tony Johnson.
Enjoyable game to watch though. Gits is a class player. Wish we had a 10 like him in SA.
6 Dec 2009, 09:14 am
Which brings me to another point…who is to know the effect that S14 final loss had on the Chiefs players, but isn’t it funny that all the Chiefs players in that final had a bad international year as well. Could it be argued , they carried that scar into the AB season?
6 Dec 2009, 09:16 am
@Hurricane:
Got no beef with you Hurricane, just seriouuuussssly tired of some of the kiwi bloggers like wakadoos and Poppovich who only come on here for a dig.
6 Dec 2009, 09:19 am
@BokiNZ:
In all fairness this was an AB b side,but still a side that has been training together a damn lot longer than the Baa baas. But look at the Baa baas team,one of the best that has been picked in a long time i believe,mostly SH players. So it was going to be a good one no matter which way you looked at it.
About this Aura of invincibility,i dont know where that comes from but SA beat NZ 3-0. NZ just about had there full team avalible as well this year,a few injuries but NZ still had a damn good team.SA were lucky to have most of there players avalible and a few good finds this year in Morne and Brussow,much needed positions. So yeah a good year for NZ,a better year for the Boks
6 Dec 2009, 09:20 am
@whatever: We have one! His name is Earl Rose! Only thing is…everyone seem to want to vilify him. Probably needs guidance on and off the field but he could be that guy! And before my head gets bitten off, I’ll shut my trap!!!
6 Dec 2009, 09:21 am
@whatever:
Yep,sometimes its unprovoked but you have to admit,sometimes your country men like a good dig at us Kiwis.
All is good though mate,did you watch the game?
6 Dec 2009, 09:28 am
just shows what habana can do with a quality scrum half, fly half and full back that knows how to link up with the backline.
Two of habana tries were set up by aussies.
6 Dec 2009, 09:28 am
@Hurricane: Hey Hurricane… say it again… 3-0!! ooohhh! (as from the scene in lionking). Looks like we squaring the ledger. I’ve learn’t a long time ago (actualy, it was Landsdowne Rd in ’04. A certain Mr Honiss!!
) that injuries, selection or whatever is not going to change the outcome of a given match. The result will stand! Nxt year the shoe might on the other foot. Although I hope not…
Btw, you think Muliaina had pshycological damage from that S14 final. Hence his poor 2009 AB’s showing?
6 Dec 2009, 09:30 am
@whatever:
Mate you are in the same league as them.
They have given back what you have dished out to them.
You are certainly not the victim here!
6 Dec 2009, 09:32 am
@Hurricane:
No probs, yeah I got up at 3-20 to watch it live. Don’t like replays, not quite the same as a live game.
6 Dec 2009, 09:34 am
@wallabie.:
Not in my book. I only give it to them when they start dishing it out. You not so bad yourself hey?
6 Dec 2009, 09:34 am
@BokiNZ:
You serious?
6 Dec 2009, 09:35 am
@wallabie.:
What you want a BJ?
6 Dec 2009, 09:37 am
@Kobus Kitty:
I can always get out of my jail cell unfortunately for you you cannot realease yourself from your own stupidity.
6 Dec 2009, 09:39 am
@Kobus Kitty:
So with your name does this mean you are a kitty or you are Kobus’s Kitty.
You have a satisfaction of being some dudes ***** cat.
6 Dec 2009, 09:40 am
bottom line, everyone likes to win.
but nobody enjoys schadenfreude.
a couple of kiwis got up my nose this year and i retaliated in kind but unfortunately, after the dust had settled, i was no better than them.
cest la vie.
6 Dec 2009, 09:41 am
@wallabie.: howdy walla, you old zimbo.
hows things?
@whatever:
I dont stand back when it is being dished out…I think its quite humorous.
@whatever:
No thanks I hear your wife is not on the pretty side!!
6 Dec 2009, 09:43 am
@rangerman:
Howzit my friend how are you doing?
You going to be in Durban around August-september next year?
We are planning to go to Zim again and include Durban in our Journeys.
6 Dec 2009, 09:44 am
@wallabie.:
Hehe, I’m not married. That was a poppa chirp, but a bit rich for someone who likes little boys and thus no taste in women!
6 Dec 2009, 09:45 am
@wallabie.: And so it continues… What do you make of the Baabaas lineout going to ***** when they brought on Moore? He’s an Aussie too isn’t he? What, couldn’t he understand Afrikaans? Not hard to work out though. All that gibberish was Aussie for… “my name is Victor Matfield. When it’s our ball, throw it to wherever I’m standing”.
6 Dec 2009, 09:45 am
In fairness Donald was not so good at pivot. Does make you wonder if the AB’s are really that vulnerable without Carter in the team?
6 Dec 2009, 09:47 am
@wallabie.: good news.
this time we meet eh?
august? hmm……crayfish season still ope mate. looks like we will be having a crayfish braai.
i am itching for a trip to zim but with a squeaker arriving in jan, it will have to wait for a while.
6 Dec 2009, 09:47 am
@whatever: Yes!
6 Dec 2009, 09:48 am
The All Blacks need to wrap Dan Carter in cotton wool because they are half the side they usually are without him..
6 Dec 2009, 09:50 am
@mampara73: they have no quality replacement for carter.
in fact, their second string is probably as vulnerable as ours.
just goes to show what amazing talents represent our countries first choice teams eh?
6 Dec 2009, 09:53 am
@Winston: Dan Carter has been ***** all year. OK. ***** might be too harsh. Call it average. Only facet of his game worth mentioning is his goalkicking, which won many a game for them this year. Against the other teams of cause. They haven’t won against the Boks since Wellington ’08! Just thought I’d throw that in there!!!
6 Dec 2009, 09:54 am
@BokiNZ:
Then matfield is the problem…he did say throw it anywhere and I will catch it.
6 Dec 2009, 09:54 am
@BokiNZ:
Blows hot and cold. Too unpredictable for test footie. Need someone who is not gonna do something totaly stupid on his own tryline in a test. If he could get rid of that he may have a chance…….
6 Dec 2009, 09:55 am
For sure Ranger. Must be tough for Donald knowing he will never crack a nod at 10 full time, especially when he fluffs his lines when the chance comes round…
6 Dec 2009, 09:55 am
@whatever:
eish ….you do have a sense of humour!
6 Dec 2009, 09:56 am
You cannot say Carter was shite, he destroyed the French. If only we had a class fly half like that…
6 Dec 2009, 09:56 am
@rangerman:
Look forward to then.
6 Dec 2009, 09:59 am
@mampara73: ja, for sure.
saw kanko in umhlanga yesterday, with his family.
he is another guy who just hasnt made the step up.
for the sharks, he is awesome, but i just havent seen him graduate to his full potential.
he is 23 though, so he has a bit of time i suppose.
6 Dec 2009, 10:00 am
@wallabie.: cool.
ok, cheers all. the beach is calling. forst day without rain for so long i cant remember.
gonna take the diving kit down and familiarise myself with the crays hangouts. be prepared i say.
tjorts!
6 Dec 2009, 10:02 am
Bok In Nz,thats a bit harsh,I love the Boks and go into a state of mourning every time we lose but you have to admit that Dan Carter is a genius,you must remember he has only recently come back from a long injury lay off and was rushed back into the Tri Nations because we were cleaning there pipes..
6 Dec 2009, 10:04 am
@wallabie.:
Oh yes, the Wallabies are filled with quality. How many matches did they win in the Tri-nations this year? Was it 1 out of 6?
Please, don’t even mention Genia in the same sentence as FDP. When FDP went off the service became like Ricky Januarie’s. Face it, this Barbarians side would not have won if the Bok players weren’t playing.
4-0 (Jubilation)
6 Dec 2009, 10:06 am
@BokiNZ:
oh well thank god you guys dont have to put up with Carter in your team,you have so much better
6 Dec 2009, 10:09 am
@Hurricane:
Easy Hurricane……..breath in breath out…..I’m trying it
6 Dec 2009, 10:11 am
@Kobus Kitty:
Actually Leonard had a field day at Halfback,he found so many gaps,FdP wasnt nowhere to be seen. Just an observation,not meaning Leonard is better just pointing out that FdP wasnt at his best
6 Dec 2009, 10:11 am
@whatever:
I will try harder
6 Dec 2009, 10:13 am
@mampara73: And on account of 1 game he’s back on top is he? Over the coarse of the season DC was fairly average. Mind you, the whole team looked clueless at times but his goalkicking, if not saved them, kept them in the hunt. Say it ain’t so!
6 Dec 2009, 10:18 am
I disagree. I think Carter even at half best still tops most 10′s at the moment. he does have the full compliment of skills. never said he was back on top just said he was not *****.
6 Dec 2009, 10:18 am
@BokiNZ:
actually come to think of it Morne was the one that won a few of your games with his kicking. He had an incredible season.
We did start of very slow and never really got into the Tri nations,whether it was cos of the Boks were on fire and not allowing us to get into it,or other reasons,who knows.
6 Dec 2009, 10:19 am
@Hurricane: C’mon, hurricane! Was I committing the cardinal sin of critisizing DC? Admittedly he was back to his best against France but that was your last test of the year, but a lot of AB’s lifted their game. Mils for another. How was Dan in the others before France?
6 Dec 2009, 10:20 am
be honest BOKINNZ if Carter was offered to us to play for the Boks, would you pick him over any of our options or not?
6 Dec 2009, 10:20 am
@Kobus Kitty:
Enjoy it while it lasts.
Genia in his early career is better than FDP at his best.
6 Dec 2009, 10:21 am
Genia is class. best scrummy for Oz in a long time.
6 Dec 2009, 10:23 am
@klippies101: #13
Richard Bands? The man had one great try for the Bulls against the Crusaders, another for the Boks against the AB’s and you think he is a great?
WP Nel’s name will echo in SA years after he retired, not like Bands who is only remembered in Pretoria. No my man, Nel will be remembered much like Hempies, Tommy Laubscher, Kobus Visagie etc.
His initials are WP after all.
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: #86
For R100 000 a day I would also be energetic and committed.
@Hondo: #146
“* The Boks cannot utilise their most potetnt weapon Habana because of the quota system,”
You’ve had some pearler’s on this site, but this one must be one of your best ever.
Right up there with “together we will cross the Rubicon”
@Hondo: #174
Are you sure he is not a quota?
6 Dec 2009, 10:26 am
OK! OK! To ease the pain, how about I admit that I only compared DC against what he showed us in the past? Ma’a Had more linebreaks two out than at 2nd five. You know why? Cause DC (and Donald for that matter) telegraphed it hours before. DC is the best 10 we’ve seen for a long time and I will never admit that I secretly long for 10 like that playing for the Boks! Never!
6 Dec 2009, 10:27 am
if only hey!!
6 Dec 2009, 10:27 am
@wallabie.:
Shame. Genia is like a less aggressive Ricky Januarie in his prime.
When was the last time the Wallabies won a trophy of value?
6 Dec 2009, 10:29 am
they have a new Super 14 team now so watch out Kobus!
6 Dec 2009, 10:30 am
I should’ve added that…eventhough he is a class act, he was nowhere near his best in 2009 untill the very last game. But even in that game he had a couple of blunders too, like kicking the ball over the deadball line from a penalty
6 Dec 2009, 10:33 am
Geez BOKiNZ you are tough to please!!
6 Dec 2009, 10:34 am
@BokiNZ: #206
But then you have to remember that DC’s average is another pivot’s best.
6 Dec 2009, 10:34 am
Anyway, I’m outa here! Cheers all! And Tiger…hou op rond spyker!
6 Dec 2009, 10:35 am
BOKINZ you are one tough uncompromising Bok supporter…just the way we should be hahaha!
6 Dec 2009, 10:39 am
@Kobus Kitty:
so you are back to how good you are in the past.
Enjoy it while it lasts…as RSA has not put in plans to add youth. PDV best is by saying he needs to rest the senior players history will show that when you rest players they lose form. ie ABs.
6 Dec 2009, 10:40 am
@Kobus Kitty:
Genia is a better attacking scrum half than FDP and distributor.
6 Dec 2009, 10:44 am
@Kobus Kitty:
We are all quality lacking experience.
WATCH 2011 tri nations.
6 Dec 2009, 10:47 am
@wallabie.:
Oh okay. We haven’t put in plans to add youth?… Hows the domestic competition coming along? We have something called the Currie Cup, its the oldest competition in the world.
@wallabie.:
No. There’s a reason why Genia plays for the reds.
6 Dec 2009, 10:49 am
@Xhosaskid: To All Blacks you mean!!!
6 Dec 2009, 10:55 am
@Kobus Kitty-post 31:
“When was the last time the Wallabies won a trophy of value?”
I just don’t get why some of you Saffas look down your noses at Australian Rugby.
Since re-introduction, into the Rugby Family of Nations in 91 ………….The Boks have had a 47% success rate against the Wallabies.
6 Dec 2009, 11:00 am
Ohh ………before I forget.
Perhaps Habanna should have been IRB player of the year.
Well done the Baa Baas.
6 Dec 2009, 11:01 am
@BokiNZ:
Agree
6 Dec 2009, 11:10 am
Looking back at some of the earlier Posts………..
I see the AB loss gave Big Hit a stiffy.
6 Dec 2009, 11:11 am
Another Kiwi defeat.
Do they have the right coaching staff? Or do they have the right roles, in other words, must Henry look after the forwards etc?
These are some of the things they need to ponder. Not to mention ticket prices.
Can NZ step up? World Cups ar big occasions and judging on their track record, they dont seem to handle them all that well.
6 Dec 2009, 11:19 am
The IRB Rankings for the Year will end thus:
IRB World Rankings – 30 November 2009 Position (last week) Member Union Rating Point
1=NEW ZEALAND 91.68,
1=Saracens B+.
1=Leister B-.
1=Barbarians (S.A. B).
2(2) SOUTH AFRICA 88.59
3(3) AUSTRALIA 85.55
4(5) IRELAND 84.58
5(4) FRANCE 82.40
6(7) ENGLAND 80.72
7(8) ARGENTINA 80.55
8(6) WALES 79.89
9(9) SCOTLAND 76.59
10(10) FIJI 75.91
And this Ladies and Gentleman, is, as it should be.
6 Dec 2009, 11:28 am
@Sheriff:
Ticket prices are okay Lawman.
Many Pool Matches are 158 Rand for an Adult and 80 Rand for a Child.
Of course I will be flogging them, prematch, for 3 times that. So get in early……………….or line the pockets of cane.
6 Dec 2009, 11:32 am
@Kobus Kitty:
Oldest in the world but none of value past the 4 main teams.
Any of our club teams can beat your top currie cup team.
Oldest and biggest does not mean quality…ask your wife!
6 Dec 2009, 11:47 am
@wallabie.:
6 Dec 2009, 11:48 am
@Kobus Kitty Post 241:
Australia now have a Domestic Competition.
“The Australian Conference” of the Super 15.
And they can thank us Kiwi’s for it. LOL.
(before the paranoids forget to take their medicine…….just kidding………..But they do now have a whale of a Domestic comp just the same.)
6 Dec 2009, 11:53 am
Wallabie and Hurricane.
The Props of the “Keo Internationals”.
6 Dec 2009, 11:54 am
Where are all the Saffas…………Church?
6 Dec 2009, 11:55 am
Well done to the BaaBaas.
6 Dec 2009, 11:56 am
@cane:
yep,waving the flag.
6 Dec 2009, 11:57 am
@cane: We all swimming in our pools and getting the braai’s ready for this afternoon
Beautiful day here today. Not a cloud in the sky.
6 Dec 2009, 12:00 pm
The last time the ABs last to the BaaBaas was against that magnificent team of 1973. So this was a magnificent win for this BaaBaa side.
Idiots at Dstv never even showed this game. What a huge pity. So angry about it. Would have really enjoyed to watch the game.
6 Dec 2009, 12:01 pm
@Puma: 258 meant lost not last
6 Dec 2009, 12:05 pm
Habs mom. Gosh, Bulls sure going to miss him next year. What a magnificent player.
WP have bought a gem of a player in Habs and also JF. Now if JdV was there WP would have the two best centres in the country.
6 Dec 2009, 12:22 pm
@wallabie.:
Yeah, the Griquas were really easy to beat, hey?
Yeah, I mean your club teams are very strong. Can you imagine the Waratahs even getting a home final and putting 60+ on the Chiefs? Yeah…
Maybe you should thank the Springboks for helping some of your Wallabies to their first victory over the All Blacks in a very long time.
6 Dec 2009, 12:27 pm
@Puma #post 258:
Good game to watch Puma.
All of the Baa Baas played well. Particularly their backline. makes us Kiwi’s wonder, what might be, if ever you Guys gave the ball some width.
Though Habanna was undoubtably MOTM, I thought the Lion/Welshmen, Jamie Roberts was awesome. Jaquie Fourie also very good.
6 Dec 2009, 12:40 pm
Cane…so childish.
6 Dec 2009, 12:45 pm
I WONDER WHO WOULD WIN IF THIS BARBARIANS TEAM PLAYED SARACENS OR LEISTER,BOTH THESE ENGLISH CLUB SIDES HAVE BEATEN THE WORLD CHAMPION SOUTH AFRICAN NATIONAL TEAM THIS YEAR,SO I GUESS YOU’D HAVE TO PUT YOUR MONEY ON THEM
6 Dec 2009, 12:59 pm
@mampara73:
True……………………….whatever post it was that broughtout the name calling in you.
Among your lot, I am among just one of dozens.
Your Posts are pretty good by the way.
6 Dec 2009, 13:02 pm
@cane: Cannie, I would have really enjoyed to watch that game. We always get all the rugby here to watch, why they never showed this game and the one against ABs/Wallabies a month back really have no idea.
Always enjoy to see a BaaBaa game. Those games normally great to watch.
Now looking forward to the S14. Seems like a long, long wait for the rugby to start.
Well done to your 7′s team on their win yesterday.
6 Dec 2009, 13:05 pm
@cane: Cane I enjoy your posts, don’t take too much notice of that oke. You have a good sense of humour.
6 Dec 2009, 13:13 pm
if this is what Nick can do with the babas (or is it baboks) in a week- let’s just imagine what he’d do with the boks……
6 Dec 2009, 13:16 pm
@alanepstein: 268 – Yes Nick is wasted coaching the Italians. We do have to remember though that was the ABs 2nd side playing yesterday. They did have McCaw but it was mostly their 2nd team.
6 Dec 2009, 13:20 pm
@cane: surely the baabaas would finish at no 1 on your rankings cane?
if saracens and leicester are top of the saffas then the baabaas own the all blacks.
that is simple logic. not my problem if your wife has beaten logic out of you, you old codger.
6 Dec 2009, 13:33 pm
congratulations baabaas, great win… though was disappointed they kicked for goal when 4 points up… ABs turned down a certain 3 points when right in front, guess the “spirit” was lost on them when the game got close…
as for those claiming a 4th Bok victory over the ABs…bwahaha I guess 15 years of professionalism and seriously poor performances has got the better of you’s, lets not forget without the OTHER international players the Boks wouldnt know how to run the ball… kick chase, kick chase , oops, ROberts and Giteau, pass run pass… what a difference..
Donald showed he is not up to it, should never again don the black jersey, Delaney for his first game in a senior AB jumper took the wrong option too many times…I was a fan of Messam, but he too has shown he cannot make the step up, his knockon at a crucial time in the ABs 22 proves this…
Habana is still just an intercept king, how he won MOTM was beyond me… I thought Giteau contributed much more then Habs… Matfield was ordinary, and had the ball stolen from him on a few occassions, but of course this wasnt HIS fault..delusional saffas
special mention to BIG HIT, your absence shows the true measure of the man, guess your a bit short in all departments mate…
Kobus 4-0 bwahahaha how utterly sad, pathetic..
Whatever, guess Im getting to you, Im not even here and your using my jokes now bwahahaha seriously, your a DOOOS!!!
6 Dec 2009, 13:47 pm
@poppa69:
So it was the Aussie and Welshman that contributed to the Babaas win, no thanks to the Saffa’s……geez Poppa you sound just like your commentators !!
6 Dec 2009, 13:49 pm
@poppa69: hey poppa, wtf mate, did you wake up on the wrongs side of the bed..chill man…
or are you back to your belligerent posting style?
6 Dec 2009, 14:03 pm
the whole difference between this Baa baa side and the Springbok’s were at 3 crucial positions
Tight head prop
Hooker
Fly half
And game style as dictated by the captain
Play WP Nel at 3
Bismark at 2
And a running fly half like Giteau at 10. Closest we have is Ruan Pienaar.
Switch Morne Steyn to FB or even to 12 where his defensive and crash ball capabilities are more than adequate.
6 Dec 2009, 14:12 pm
@Kobus Kitty:
see what haban can do with the ball in his hands when and aussie who knows how to run and create gaps.
Pity there is a brain explosion between the bok 9 & 10.
6 Dec 2009, 14:19 pm
@Kobus Kitty:
Ooooh putting 60 past a team.
How about have a cabinet full of wooden spoons. How many Tri nations and S12/14 wooden spoons has RSA collected.
I will tell you.
PLENTY!!!
6 Dec 2009, 14:27 pm
Saffas dont get mad at me I am just stroking Kobus ***** cat the wrong way.
6 Dec 2009, 14:30 pm
@poppa69:
Watch out, we have old rascal the racist in town, and he’s mad.
Habana is an intercept king, he is also one of the best wings to ever play the game.
Matfield only started to lose some of the lineouts when MOORE came on.
4-0, don’t cry.
@wallabie.:
We have more Tri-Nations titles than the Wallabies. And yes, putting 60 on the Chiefs in the final, answer the question – Could an AUSSIE team do that? no.
You guys need to remember who the world champions are.
6 Dec 2009, 15:11 pm
@skopskiet:
Ruan is much more a gifted rugby player than Gitau, he is also bigger and stronger, I think he is faster too
Trouble is, Australia are committed to Gitau while the Boks aren’t committed to Pienaar, while with that nonsense coaching team we have doesn’t make things easier
6 Dec 2009, 15:15 pm
@Hondo:
**** man, Pienaar is a marie biscuit and crumbles at the firat sight of pressure.
Not all games are you going to be able to run wily nily, you need a FH that thrives under pressure.
The guy himself said he wants to paly 9 !!!….geez !!!
6 Dec 2009, 15:16 pm
@justrugby:
Firat = first
6 Dec 2009, 15:19 pm
@Kobus Kitty:
Habana is much more than an interception king, albeit most of his interceptions came from an offside,
Habana is the victim of the system in SA, after 2007 he suddenly found himself in the back line with Jacobs, Kirshner/Jantjes, Pietersen/Ndungane and January so he seldom saw a decent ball, when he gets the ball it is usually passed at behind his back or simply uncathable fwd passes.
To use a rocket you need a launching pad, very sad indeed for Hab.
6 Dec 2009, 15:21 pm
@justrugby:
I guess you didn’t watch the France and Ireland Test recently, or did you?
6 Dec 2009, 15:22 pm
Cannot believe what Retief has just done, there goes the tournament !!!
6 Dec 2009, 15:23 pm
@justrugby:
Retief Goosen?
6 Dec 2009, 15:24 pm
@Hondo:
huh ? So all the good work done during the S14, 3N, Lions tour is undone because of a poor couple of games ?
6 Dec 2009, 15:28 pm
@Hondo:
Yip, almost made a miraculous recovery with an incredible shot !!
6 Dec 2009, 15:39 pm
Would love to see Mallet back in the bok fold sometime.
Him and Jake were our best coaches post isolation. Quite significant that Jake was Mallets techical advisor during that great world record equalling streak. (Well it set the record then the English matched it later)
6 Dec 2009, 16:01 pm
@Mike H: how significant was it that peter de villiers was the backline coach of that record equalling team?
6 Dec 2009, 16:02 pm
pdv will have a testing yr in 2010. much like jw had in 2006.
js to lead us to beat Abs in n for 2011. hopefully they dontt crash out again.
6 Dec 2009, 16:04 pm
@Hondo:
I didn’t say he wasn’t. Easily the best wing in the world right now. Has the work ethic of a loose forward.
6 Dec 2009, 16:08 pm
I think its a DISGRACE that supersport did not show the Barbarian match, to hell with them
6 Dec 2009, 16:15 pm
289. Also significant – they probably both learnt a huge amount from Mallet
6 Dec 2009, 16:19 pm
289 – seems not – Peter De Villiers coached amateur club Tygerberg in 1996 and 1997, and the Western Province Disas in 1997. In 1998, he enjoyed his first major appointments as assistant coach for Western Province in the Currie Cup and also the South Africa
6 Dec 2009, 16:20 pm
Peter De Villiers coaching record:
Coaching career
Club:
Tygerberg 1996-97. Finished top of Super League B. Qualified for Super League A
Provincial:
WP Disas 1997
Asst Coach WP Vodacom 1998
Valke 2002 & 2003
National:
SA U19 – 1998 & 1999 (SA finished 3rd in 1999 at world championships)
SA U21 – 2004, 2005 & 2006 (3rd in 04, winners in 05 and losing finalist in 06 at world championships)
Emerging Springboks 2007 (Winner of IRB tournament in Romania)
6 Dec 2009, 16:24 pm
Position Organisation Place Appointed Concluded
Coach Springbok U-21′s 2004 2008
Coach Falcons 2002 2004
Assistant Coach Super 12, Bulls & Falcons 2000 2002
Assistant Coach Western Province Rugby Team Cape Town 1998 1998
Coach Western Province B Cape Town 1998 1998
Coach SA U-19′s Cape Town 1998 1999
Assistant Coach SA Rugby Team European Tour 1997 1997
Coach Tygerberg RFC Cape Town 1996 1997
Coach Correctional Services Western Cape 1994 1996
Coach Athlone College Cape Town 1993 1993
Sorry for spam – needed to research as I didn’t know PDV was part of Mallet’s coaching team in 1997. Seems he was for the European Tour 1997. Stright out from coaching Tygerberg.
6 Dec 2009, 16:25 pm
Jake Whites History:
Coach Springbok Rugby Team 2004 2007
Assistant Coach Natal Sharks 2000 2000
Assistant Coach Springbok Rugby Team 2000 2001
Assistant Coach South African Under-23 side 2000 2000
Assistant Coach South African ‘A’ side 2000 2000
Director of Coaching Transvaal Rugby Union 1995 1997
Manager Gauteng Lions U/20 1992 1992
Member International Rugby Board Work Party on the Laws of the Game ????
Fitness Coach, Technical Advisor Gauteng Lions ????
Video Analyst 1995 Rugby World Cup Squad ????
Coach Under-21 Springbok Squad. 2002
6 Dec 2009, 16:38 pm
@Mike H: hey mike, seems like you agreed, then disagreed then finally stumbled upon what i’d told you and then agreed again…lol…if you watched that “springbok saga” program that was on supersport sometime back presented by dan retief & xola ntshinga, there was a clip of the bok squad arriving @ heathrow i think, with mallet in front & pdv (with a full beard) and jake and other members of the management team walking behind…
6 Dec 2009, 16:40 pm
@SJonesIsAGit: I wish PdV’s would wake up and realise that Habana is our special weapon. The Bok game plan should be based around putting Habs into space. He should be passed the ball as often as possible. He hasn’t got that blistering pace he had in 2005 but he’s still bloody quick and very few wingers can catch him. Its his acceleration off the mark and finishing that really makes him devastating. We have the best winger in the world and we hardly use him. Its a flippin crime against rugby!
6 Dec 2009, 16:49 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: if he does that then the team won’t be playing to fourie du preez & morne steyn’s traditional strengths. This guys need structure to perform to their potential where fear of failure is eliminated and the gameplan is simple enough for them to be confident to play.
6 Dec 2009, 17:39 pm
Once a convict always a convict !!!
Cooper charged with burglary
2009-12-06 13:54Email | Print
Quade Cooper (AFP)
Sydney – Australian rugby international back Quade Cooper has been charged with burglary, police said on Sunday.
Cooper, 21, was released from custody after being charged with burgling a property on Queensland’s Gold Coast earlier Sunday, police said.
The player was one of the successes of the Wallabies’ grand slam tour of Britain and Ireland last month, where he played in all four internationals.
The Australian Rugby Union (ARU), to which Cooper is contracted along with the Queensland Rugby Union (QRU), was reluctant to comment.
“We are still looking to receive the full facts of the issue,” an ARU spokesman said. “It’s a matter before the courts so at this stage we can’t make any further comment.”
Cooper is on holiday and was scheduled to return to pre-season training with Super 14 side Queensland Reds next month. He made his Test debut against Italy last year and has played 11 internationals for Australia.
He is due to appear at Southport Magistrates Court on December 11.
6 Dec 2009, 17:44 pm
@Pearl Rose: You obviously never watch the Bulls play. The often stick Habana and Spies into space, something the Boks can’t do. Watch the Super 14 final.
6 Dec 2009, 17:45 pm
@justrugby: He was born in New Zealand.
6 Dec 2009, 18:07 pm
@WOLFMAN21: yeah right! Habana is living off scraps @ the blue bulls, intercepts & opportunistic counter-attacking situations where the opposition has made mistakes…remember this year’s currie cup final tries, intercept try and a kick & chase fron fourie du preez where habana was offside anyway! So please don’t even try to bullsh!t me about not watching the bulls…from fdp to morne, to wynand & jaco pretorius gets no ball
6 Dec 2009, 18:10 pm
@WOLFMAN21:
There’s a difference ??
6 Dec 2009, 18:12 pm
last sentence:i meant habana get’s no ball from his fellow backline players!
Even when he does occasionally get it the defence has drifted towards the touchline & he gets pushed over the line…the funny thing is fdp & morne are also in the boks teams that you say never puts habana into space, lol!
6 Dec 2009, 18:19 pm
Just watched a doc on ESPN Classic re 1987 RWC in NZ.
Kiwis by far the best and deserving winners! I dont think the world has seen a devastating runner like John Kirwan at 14.
He was really sensational!
And so 24 yrs later they will have the opportunity to stage the event again.
How will it go this time?
6 Dec 2009, 18:22 pm
Anyone know if they are going to broadcast this game again, and when? I missed it, and would love to watch it.
6 Dec 2009, 18:40 pm
@Spies_Is_King:well they can’t re-broadcast a game they never showed in the first place!
@justrugby: clearly the kid thought both his chosen careers (rugby & thievery) would flourish in australia where one’s kleptomania is celebrated rather than shunned
6 Dec 2009, 18:51 pm
@Pearl Rose:
6 Dec 2009, 19:03 pm
quade was probably stealing some young lasses….ahem….uhm…you know….virtue.
and daddy caught him.the judge will probably sentence him to hard labour in an unforgiving environment where he gets no reward for his effort.
oops, he already plays for the reds
6 Dec 2009, 19:31 pm
Rangerman, you still have it
6 Dec 2009, 19:55 pm
@rangerman: Dude. A+ with distinction.
6 Dec 2009, 20:12 pm
so soda joe, you seen Invictus yet? Wtf can Clint Eastwood of all people know about rugby or Sa Rugby players psyches, or Sa political environments depicted through sport, or the mindset of a Springbok rugby captain and a newly emancipated society from the shackles of its past, or the mindset of a liberation icon who is catapulted into the new figurehead of a brand new rainbow nation. Wtf can Clint Eastwood possibly have much clue about any of that?
Or wtf are you yankee doodle dandy’s so infatuated with Sa society for, seems like something in Americans hidden phobia’s needs releasing from some skeletons of their own past, or what is this strange fixated infatuation with everything African or specifically South African all of a sudden all about?
6 Dec 2009, 20:12 pm
Boks beat ABs again !!!!!!! LOL
6 Dec 2009, 20:14 pm
@skopskiet:
Skop I am going with family when it comes out here.
Hi Skp and Soda
I am more curious than anything
6 Dec 2009, 20:17 pm
from District 9 to Invictus to now another new movie of Winnie Mandela being made with another Hollywood script and actress doing the lead role. Seems Hollywood suddenly run out of yankee material or Sa is the latest focal point on the yankee doodle dandy conscience panorama.
6 Dec 2009, 20:18 pm
@skopskiet: @CoachPete: Hello guys, sorry to be late, was on Skype with my folks.
6 Dec 2009, 20:18 pm
@skopskiet:
Hey Skoppie they like our accents especially the women
6 Dec 2009, 20:19 pm
@SodaJoe:
Yep waiting for my dad to get on too.
He does if he has not had a few whiskeys
6 Dec 2009, 20:20 pm
@skopskiet:
No money in USA to make movies so at exchange rate in SA its a bargain to make a movie
6 Dec 2009, 20:21 pm
howdy coach how things doing your neck of the woods?
Clint Eastwood making a movie about Mandela, Francoise Pienaar and rugby a far cry from the good bad and ugly or a fist full of dollars huh.
6 Dec 2009, 20:21 pm
@skopskiet: Boet I will see Invictus. There is no doubt that I will cry. A wonderful moment in South African history, and a great example of Mandelas gifts, and hopefully a great advertisement for rugby. Big stars.
There is a fascination with SA, from Charlize Theron to the Boks being in the Wall Street Journal to District 9. Not to mention it is the only place left standing after 2012.
Even entrepreneurs like Elon Musk & his cousin, the guys who own Hansen Drinks, there’s something in the water.
I think it is because of the handsome charm of guys like me and Pete.
6 Dec 2009, 20:22 pm
Geez my response is in moderation – and for the life of me can see no reason why.
6 Dec 2009, 20:23 pm
@skopskiet: Boet I will see Invictus. There is no doubt that I will cry. A wonderful moment in South African history, and a great example of Mandela’s gifts, and hopefully a great advertisement for rugby. Big stars.
There is a fascination with SA, from Charlize Theron to the Boks being in the Wall Street Journal to District 9. Not to mention it is the only place left standing after 2012.
I think it is because of the handsome charm of guys like me and Pete.
6 Dec 2009, 20:24 pm
@skopskiet: Still can’t get it out, and honestly there’s nothing there.
But I am looking forward to the movie, there will be tears.
6 Dec 2009, 20:26 pm
@skopskiet:
Yes
We have actually seen him walking around Carmel when we go there.
But its better than watching all the gangbanger movies.
6 Dec 2009, 20:26 pm
@CoachPete: LOL. My Dad had his vino, my Moma glass of champagne.
My boet is already down in Standford for the holidays – 3 weeks – geez in US if you take more than a week everyone looks at you skeef.
6 Dec 2009, 20:28 pm
@SodaJoe:
The Movie has been well advertised her ein our area.
I hope its good.
Its not easy to make to do rugby actions that need to look like the real game
6 Dec 2009, 20:29 pm
Skops when does builders holiday start? Should be any day now, or do you still keep working with whatever projects are around?
6 Dec 2009, 20:30 pm
@SodaJoe:
yeah I used to go to Hermanus as a kid Lots of fishing
6 Dec 2009, 20:31 pm
@CoachPete: Tons of advertising here, TV, print, lots of stuff. I suspect that for us the accents and game will be less plausible than for the average American.
But still, a huge moment in South African history and honestly one of the greatest moments in my life.
6 Dec 2009, 20:33 pm
@CoachPete: Bud I’ve been going to Hermanus almost my whole life.
My folks live in the apartments next to the Marine Hotel now, and they have a townhouse opposite main gate of Newlands cricket ground. Tough life….
6 Dec 2009, 20:35 pm
gotta keep working, most builders close from around 18 Dec. to Jan. 8th but I’ll probably have to stay working.
Why on earth you going to have tears from Evictus, I doubt it would raise any tears from myself.
6 Dec 2009, 20:35 pm
@SodaJoe:
Very nice
We used to go to a house near the old Green House shop, with another family. We used to sneek out to get sweets and dodge the cars on the main road there.
Wild times, boats sinking , opening of the lagoon etc
Just great holidays
6 Dec 2009, 20:37 pm
@skopskiet:
No holidays here either Just Xmas and newyear
Have to keep working too
6 Dec 2009, 20:38 pm
@skopskiet: My friend. I was so proud of the Boks, I was so proud of Mandela, I was so proud of the united jubilation in the streets.
But I am an emotional bugger, hell Bruce Fordyce winning Comrades Marathon 10x gave me tears.
6 Dec 2009, 20:40 pm
@CoachPete: In my youth I was pretty famous at the Green House as “The Ice Cream Man”. I was so kak at doing soft-serve ice-creams a lot of kids got free ice-creams.
And then there were those Cape Town girls looking for more than the average half-*** Cape Town boy….
The town is not for me now, certainly not in December, not relaxing at all.
6 Dec 2009, 20:40 pm
I’m still trying to work out this strange fixation that Hollywood or American society has with South Africa. What they looking for in focusing their attention over here. Big story in the press now about this American actress going to act in a new movie about Winnie Mandela. Whats all this Hollywood infatuation with our history about all of a sudden?
6 Dec 2009, 20:42 pm
@CoachPete: We bit the bullet and are going to Cabo San Lucas in Mexico. I have never been to Mexico. But half the price of flying to SA.
With great accommodation.
So, looking forward to it.
I really hope I see you this year, I am involved in a transaction that could see me have to spend more time in NorCal.
6 Dec 2009, 20:43 pm
@SodaJoe:
We actually went in July There was rain yes and storms
but is was great. Actually now come to think of it that why the boats sank so often It can get rough on the lagoon.
Yeah the green house. We stayed on the lagoone side just opposite it. I remember the Ice cream soft serve cones
With the flake in the middle
6 Dec 2009, 20:44 pm
@skopskiet: Good stories.
But it’s just our turn.
The stories are fresh, illuminating and fun.
And they love our accents …
Especially Handsome Devils from the Transvaal.
6 Dec 2009, 20:45 pm
@CoachPete: Those flakes were the ones that killed me.
You’re not a Hamilton-Russel are you?
6 Dec 2009, 20:46 pm
@SodaJoe:
Yeah it would b enice to meet
I have been to Cancun.
No vacation this year money tight
We hope to go to Italy next year and my dad and boet to connect up with us
My day wants to retrack WWII places he visited in Italy as a SAF spitfire pilot
I think I may make some biltong today. Mmmm. Tell your wife boet.
Yeah it was a big moment I guess when The Struggle Icon President handed the golden chalice of a white dominated sport to his white captain Pienaar who epitomized the uniting of a nation for all its people. Pity that moment couldn’t push through in absolute terms but it was a defining and poignant moment for all our people in uniting in a common sporting patriotic cause.
6 Dec 2009, 20:48 pm
@SodaJoe:
and Handsome Captonians
6 Dec 2009, 20:49 pm
@CoachPete: Italy is really really great. I’ve been a lot, but not with my wife, which is a serious bone of contention.
Will be really nice with your Dad, will you take kids too? That would be quite special (if you can keep them from being bored).
6 Dec 2009, 20:49 pm
@SodaJoe:
I need a good instructions for making biltong
You got any Something that wont freek out my wife
6 Dec 2009, 20:50 pm
@skopskiet: I don’t think SA would be where it is now without that moment, I believe the chance of fracture was very high.
Mandela is easily my hero.
6 Dec 2009, 20:51 pm
@SodaJoe:
X rated lol
Yep some wit me about Ttaly and Europe I back packed when I was younger.
Loved greece
Yes same a bone of contention with my wife
She does not want to hear my stories
6 Dec 2009, 20:53 pm
@SodaJoe:
Yes agree withthat too
Mandela yes me too He is in same class as Gandi and MLK,
6 Dec 2009, 20:53 pm
@SodaJoe:
No not a Hamilton Russel
6 Dec 2009, 20:54 pm
Actucually we also stayed at Doc King’s house next the the other property
6 Dec 2009, 20:58 pm
@SodaJoe:
)
I also remember saving a few cents to go and buy some marsmellow fishes from the Green House
6 Dec 2009, 20:58 pm
@CoachPete: Actually it’s really not that gruesome. We’re very dry here in winter which is an adavantage you won’t have, but here goes (and if I can do it you can).
Grab your kids to help you.
You will need a box coz it’s a little damp your way. And your wife won’s see it hanging.
Buy a cheap bedside cupboard.
Drill holes on sides at top end.
Put a 40w light bulb fitting at bottom.
Those screws with round hooks all the way around, screw in to inside roof of cupboard.
Buy metal shower hooks for the meat. Just the cheap ones and the can be dishwashed.
OK:
4 Pounds “Bottom Round” steak. Rump Stea to you and me.
Ask butcher to cut in to slices 1″ thick, 2″ wide WITH the grain.
Lay flat in a slightly tilted tray – blood runs down.
Cover with Kosher salt for 1 hr & 15 minutes.
Wash off salt with white vinegar.
Cover with black pepper and lots of crushed (ground is ok, but not great) coriander.
Slip the shower hooks through top of strip.
Hang for about 4 – 4 weeks ( we only need about 2 weeks).
Keep kids away, or it all goes too quickly.
6 Dec 2009, 21:01 pm
@CoachPete: Ah, beautiful place right there on De Plaat.
My wife’s sister & husband have a really nice place at Pearly Beach which is as good a beach holiday as you can have.
6 Dec 2009, 21:02 pm
all just players on a stage, hero’s and villains, never can know how history gets shaped through destiny, it all revolves around actions and reactions and particular individuals are basically playing out their allotted roles in the unfolding play. Mandela might have been a fire brand revolutionary in another scenario, so destiny and history always plays out based on a divining hand, sometimes good other times not so, but humans basically try to do their best under circumstances, and occasionally circumstances are greater than human trial and endeavor as this puppet on a string dances to the merry tune of the piper. Which man is free, show me a free man.
6 Dec 2009, 21:03 pm
@skopskiet:
Not me Skop, I am married
6 Dec 2009, 21:05 pm
@skopskiet: Boet, happiness is the stringing together of small joys, not huge momentous occasions. Take the good and celebrate it.
6 Dec 2009, 21:05 pm
@SodaJoe:
)
Yep Very Nice
Thanks for the Biltong instructions.
I will get my son to help me.
6 Dec 2009, 21:07 pm
@CoachPete: Honestly bud, reading it may be more complicated than it is to do, and it’s really lekker to have some. The box is just a small cupboard from any cheap **** furniture store.
6 Dec 2009, 21:07 pm
Geeez my wife has turned off the football to “I love Lucy ” reruns
Her priority is just not in the right place.
6 Dec 2009, 21:08 pm
@SodaJoe:
Yes Ikea maybe lol
Just have to keep the Racoons away
6 Dec 2009, 21:09 pm
@SodaJoe:
There is a guy in So california that makes good stuff plus good wors
6 Dec 2009, 21:09 pm
Cheers guys, see you through the window.
6 Dec 2009, 21:10 pm
poor cow getting its guts slit and prepared for some human palatel gratification and consumption. I thought koeksuster potjekos and biltong recipe’s were for the other channels inquisitiveness, not here.
6 Dec 2009, 21:10 pm
@CoachPete: Well what be crueler than watching the 9′ers lose again.
Bye.
6 Dec 2009, 21:11 pm
@skopskiet: Rough with the smooth on Keo.
Bye.
6 Dec 2009, 21:11 pm
@skopskiet:
You a vegitarian Skop?
6 Dec 2009, 21:12 pm
@SodaJoe:
Niners ? Raider Nation bud
Now there’s a bunch of loosers
6 Dec 2009, 21:13 pm
@SodaJoe:
Cheers Soda
Cheers Skop, I am off too.
6 Dec 2009, 21:15 pm
Me neither, every soul born into creation is bound, not a single one is free. Especially the poor cow getting strung up as biltong.
Excuse the morbid reality, but it is a fact whether we see it accept it or not.
6 Dec 2009, 21:20 pm
so long
6 Dec 2009, 21:29 pm
@wallabie.:
Nice Wallabie, nice. Very classy. At least he’s got a wife and does not have to pay for *** like you!
6 Dec 2009, 21:38 pm
@skopskiet: i think that “moment” is overrated imho, why didn’t mandela handing out the Africa Nations Cup trophy @ FNB stadium carry any of this weight that could’ve broke the camel’s back?
If people wanted real change they should’ve looked @ themselves and who was standing to benefit from that charade. I guess some people every where are always seeking collective relief from their sins, like how some amercans were going on an “obama moment”
“madiba” (to me there’s nelson rholihlahla mandela and then there’s the jiving and smiling “madiba”) is an incredibly good actor, after his release from prison he really put on show for south africa and that ’95 world cup “moment” is but one in the massive parade he put on before bowing down & letting the real guy who was running the country take over.
I’m interested as to what angle hollywood is going to spin Nomzamo’s life, because even now she is still being vilified (fairly or unfairly) even though nelson will tell you that the woman went through the same bitter struggles he did!
Bring on Hollywood
6 Dec 2009, 21:41 pm
@Transformation:
You talking about Winnie?
6 Dec 2009, 22:25 pm
so who was the real guy running the country? Thabo?
Yes everyones an actor just like De Klerk Mbeki JZ Winnie &Tutu, everyone playing out their part, some villains some hero’s some good guys some bad, everyone just playing to the script and some are just better actors than others. Those that know they’re acting are usually better at it than the others that don’t.
6 Dec 2009, 22:42 pm
Skop if you wanna watch this game just Google it, it’s available on the BBC i player- bbc .co . uk / iplayer/. I just watched it now. Morne was joining the line nicely and running it like a champ with Giteau keeping it to hand.
6 Dec 2009, 22:43 pm
@skopskiet: well i guess so skop, which is why it’s not fascinating to sold a lie about a moment that was part of an orchestrated play. And how it’s blown up by certain sections of the population as this wondrous moment of gargantuan proportions in the history of human relations…i’m not sold, never was!
South African rugby?! the likes of louis luyt who took the same Nelson to court over stupid nonsense! please try another trick
@CoachPete: yes coach Nomzamo.
6 Dec 2009, 22:47 pm
thanks yeti I’ll do that. Morne shouldn’t be at pivot, need someone who can read the open game instinctively to run the play and let Morne contribute from the back. A Pienaar at fly and Morne at Fb would work very well I reckon. Even a Pienaar Steyn combo at 10 and 12 would work better than the other way around. That way you got 2 kickers on the field and each can do what they do best in the given circumstance.
6 Dec 2009, 22:48 pm
hmmm…biltong.
slag daai koei.
6 Dec 2009, 23:01 pm
@skopskiet:
No worries. Yeah difficult situation at the moment with our combos. Once Smitty retires I think Snor will exercise some more freedom of choice – partly because he’ll have to and partly because he’ll feel somewhat liberated. No disrespect to John, but he represents a style of play, team selection and a particular period for the Boks, and once he goes everything else will follow.
6 Dec 2009, 23:02 pm
nice tries by habana, crunch by schalla, giteau the master at breaking down defenses.
6 Dec 2009, 23:08 pm
Yeah I think you got it on the nail. I also think Smit is stifling the freedom of the team. See how the Baa baa’s managed to let loose. This over emphasis on our boring strengths is nullifying our creative instincts and keeping us tied to this ou doos straight jacket.
Some here thinking they the great slagters just big talk but couldn’t slag a chicken if they tried, yet they’ll eat it if someone else slags it for them.
6 Dec 2009, 23:09 pm
how i wish Mzantsi flyhalfs had a penchant for taking the gap as giteau does! The guy is just fantastic to watch when he turns the magic on but i don’t like him for barging on to du preez @ newlands this year…
But his try in the same match was dope!
6 Dec 2009, 23:12 pm
@Transformation:
yip, no flyhalf can get the backline away like giteau, not even carter, the australians flyhalves just have a feel for it.
6 Dec 2009, 23:19 pm
@cab: there’s a game i think it was last year where he received the ball @ pace, sidestepped, took the gap, drew about three defenders then without even looking flipped the ball behind him for the on-coming runner, TRY!! Wow, i was in awe…
6 Dec 2009, 23:22 pm
The secret to a successful back line is to have the fly half dictating the play not the scrum half. In our rugby we breed scrum halves that should be fly halves because we play mainly forward structured games so we feel more comfortable not risking anything beyond the scrum half. So scrum half gets to become the decision maker while his real job is to get the backline away as smoothly and efficiently as possible. Thats why our backline becomes one dimensional with no running lines coming from fly half or centers. Pienaar could be just as good if not better than Giteau if coaches and backline strategists were brave enough to develop our backline play and not rely on the boot to the extent that we do.
6 Dec 2009, 23:24 pm
@Transformation:
yeah very good. actually baabaas was quite a backline, jamie roberts is hot and he and fourie were potent.
6 Dec 2009, 23:26 pm
Tv3 showing Woodstock only 40 years late but still a great iconic festival a break through of consciousness. Joe Cocker doing his rendition of With a little help from my friends. High as a coot, brilliant performance.
6 Dec 2009, 23:33 pm
yeah, but thats cause tim leary and aspen were dropping acid and tuning in … or was that out. psychadelichs, frightening stuff.
6 Dec 2009, 23:39 pm
i reckon you had to alter your consciousness to appreciate most of the crud music at the time…but joe cocker had a great voice tho and hendrix was probably a genius, albeit of the artistic disposition, bit of a soft touch, another overdose case, cobain was another.
6 Dec 2009, 23:43 pm
Everyone so frightened of tuning in stuck in their preconceived minds. Leary and Alpert you could say were true scientists because they challenged the boundaries of the status quo norms. Most so called scientists get stuck with what they know which isn’t very much and then start wondering about reality. Alpert found out that psychadelics were limited and harmful though if he didn’t challenge the boundary’s of his own mind to begin with he’d never have found it out.
6 Dec 2009, 23:46 pm
yeah, they were brave, but more ignorant than anything. Alpert fried his noodle, when he got older, he could string a sentence together. Depends what sort of person you are, reckon there certain types who you gotta keep far far away from dem tings, unless you want mayhem.
6 Dec 2009, 23:53 pm
Cocker a true rhythm and blues rocker from London east end or wherever. That Woodstock performance put him on the map, true soul music even if it was influenced under Lsd. Hendrix an absolute musical genius. Dylan another genius who Hendrix severed as a kind of poetic icon.
1969 was about the epitome of the rock revolution, went downhill after that Woodstock the pinnacle, not much came after, thats when money and the Tv and video industry took over. Real music went underground after that.
Crosby Stills and Nash doing Suite Judy Blue Eyes now. Another brilliant performance. Some more youthfull Genius shining through.
6 Dec 2009, 23:58 pm
now you talking, soul i preferred to r*b, and even moving towards funk and disco, but dats da dandy speaking. dylan has grown on me since you ou ballies swore to high heaven, downloaded alot, he is good, but mein godt that haromica is terrible. everyting is broken. yeah CCR also good. but the black motown fella were the genius that started it all.
7 Dec 2009, 00:03 am
Alvon Lee Ten Years After. Rock n Roll rocking. They lost the soul of music when this stupid video industry took over. Stopped listening and starting looking for sensational form but the music died.
7 Dec 2009, 00:05 am
must have been quite a generation actually, sounds like a helluva time.
ok out, better do some stuff.
7 Dec 2009, 00:11 am
so long . . also out
7 Dec 2009, 04:27 am
well done baabaas betting a very tired looking abs team oh wait the boks have already taken that excuse lol. Just hard luck aye boys
7 Dec 2009, 07:30 am
@Kiwisamoan:
3-0 aye, or is it 4-0 aye?
7 Dec 2009, 07:58 am
I glad WP Nel had a good game.
Now we’ve got another good young tighthead to consider. I really hope that Buys, Kruger and Nel all have a good Super 14 next season which will then boost our tighthead resources and hopefully ensure that the right selections are made for the Boks come next season.
Wickus Blaauw must also be given game time for the Boks next season to give us a bit more depth at loosehead.
7 Dec 2009, 08:00 am
Why was this game not televised in SA ????????
7 Dec 2009, 08:09 am
@stew: Because SS made a ridiculous offer and was refused
I sometimes wonder why I bother to pay the R600 for DSTV!
7 Dec 2009, 08:10 am
@Sharksgirl: Yep looked for it all weekend – was looking forward to watching it.
7 Dec 2009, 08:19 am
It’s good to hear that Habana had a great game.
7 Dec 2009, 15:00 pm
Mallett sure knows he’d be unbeatable coaching a team like these Boks
7 Dec 2009, 19:21 pm
@Storm outta hell: Can`t agree more with you on that!