Habana hat-trick halts ABs
5 Dec 2009
Bryan Habana’s Man of the Match performance helped the Barbarians to a 25-18 win over the All Blacks at Twickenham.
Habana scored a brilliant counter-attacking effort from his own 22 for his first. He also claimed an intercept just before the half-time hooter as the Baa Baas led 14-10 at the break.
He scored his third and final try after some good work from Jaque Fourie and Morne Steyn previously, and the Bok winger left the field to a huge cheer from the crowd and a hug from an obviously elated coach Nick Mallett.
Ben Smith and Anthony Boric replied with tries for the Blacks, and a Mike Delany penalty with nine minutes remaining meant the Kiwis trailed 22-18. But a big scrum from WP Nel and co won the Baa Baas a penalty. Steyn, on as a replacement, added the three points that sealed the result as the All Blacks lost their only match of their year-end tour.

409 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All
6 Dec 2009, 20:51 pm
@SodaJoe:
X rated lol
Yep some wit me about Ttaly and Europe I back packed when I was younger.
Loved greece
Yes same a bone of contention with my wife
She does not want to hear my stories
6 Dec 2009, 20:53 pm
@SodaJoe:
Yes agree withthat too
Mandela yes me too He is in same class as Gandi and MLK,
6 Dec 2009, 20:53 pm
@SodaJoe:
No not a Hamilton Russel
6 Dec 2009, 20:54 pm
Actucually we also stayed at Doc King’s house next the the other property
6 Dec 2009, 20:58 pm
@SodaJoe:
)
I also remember saving a few cents to go and buy some marsmellow fishes from the Green House
6 Dec 2009, 20:58 pm
@CoachPete: Actually it’s really not that gruesome. We’re very dry here in winter which is an adavantage you won’t have, but here goes (and if I can do it you can).
Grab your kids to help you.
You will need a box coz it’s a little damp your way. And your wife won’s see it hanging.
Buy a cheap bedside cupboard.
Drill holes on sides at top end.
Put a 40w light bulb fitting at bottom.
Those screws with round hooks all the way around, screw in to inside roof of cupboard.
Buy metal shower hooks for the meat. Just the cheap ones and the can be dishwashed.
OK:
4 Pounds “Bottom Round” steak. Rump Stea to you and me.
Ask butcher to cut in to slices 1″ thick, 2″ wide WITH the grain.
Lay flat in a slightly tilted tray – blood runs down.
Cover with Kosher salt for 1 hr & 15 minutes.
Wash off salt with white vinegar.
Cover with black pepper and lots of crushed (ground is ok, but not great) coriander.
Slip the shower hooks through top of strip.
Hang for about 4 – 4 weeks ( we only need about 2 weeks).
Keep kids away, or it all goes too quickly.
6 Dec 2009, 21:01 pm
@CoachPete: Ah, beautiful place right there on De Plaat.
My wife’s sister & husband have a really nice place at Pearly Beach which is as good a beach holiday as you can have.
6 Dec 2009, 21:02 pm
all just players on a stage, hero’s and villains, never can know how history gets shaped through destiny, it all revolves around actions and reactions and particular individuals are basically playing out their allotted roles in the unfolding play. Mandela might have been a fire brand revolutionary in another scenario, so destiny and history always plays out based on a divining hand, sometimes good other times not so, but humans basically try to do their best under circumstances, and occasionally circumstances are greater than human trial and endeavor as this puppet on a string dances to the merry tune of the piper. Which man is free, show me a free man.
6 Dec 2009, 21:03 pm
@skopskiet:
Not me Skop, I am married
6 Dec 2009, 21:05 pm
@skopskiet: Boet, happiness is the stringing together of small joys, not huge momentous occasions. Take the good and celebrate it.
6 Dec 2009, 21:05 pm
@SodaJoe:
)
Yep Very Nice
Thanks for the Biltong instructions.
I will get my son to help me.
6 Dec 2009, 21:07 pm
@CoachPete: Honestly bud, reading it may be more complicated than it is to do, and it’s really lekker to have some. The box is just a small cupboard from any cheap **** furniture store.
6 Dec 2009, 21:07 pm
Geeez my wife has turned off the football to “I love Lucy ” reruns
Her priority is just not in the right place.
6 Dec 2009, 21:08 pm
@SodaJoe:
Yes Ikea maybe lol
Just have to keep the Racoons away
6 Dec 2009, 21:09 pm
@SodaJoe:
There is a guy in So california that makes good stuff plus good wors
6 Dec 2009, 21:09 pm
Cheers guys, see you through the window.
6 Dec 2009, 21:10 pm
poor cow getting its guts slit and prepared for some human palatel gratification and consumption. I thought koeksuster potjekos and biltong recipe’s were for the other channels inquisitiveness, not here.
6 Dec 2009, 21:10 pm
@CoachPete: Well what be crueler than watching the 9′ers lose again.
Bye.
6 Dec 2009, 21:11 pm
@skopskiet: Rough with the smooth on Keo.
Bye.
6 Dec 2009, 21:11 pm
@skopskiet:
You a vegitarian Skop?
6 Dec 2009, 21:12 pm
@SodaJoe:
Niners ? Raider Nation bud
Now there’s a bunch of loosers
6 Dec 2009, 21:13 pm
@SodaJoe:
Cheers Soda
Cheers Skop, I am off too.
6 Dec 2009, 21:15 pm
Me neither, every soul born into creation is bound, not a single one is free. Especially the poor cow getting strung up as biltong.
Excuse the morbid reality, but it is a fact whether we see it accept it or not.
6 Dec 2009, 21:20 pm
so long
6 Dec 2009, 21:29 pm
@wallabie.:
Nice Wallabie, nice. Very classy. At least he’s got a wife and does not have to pay for *** like you!
6 Dec 2009, 21:38 pm
@skopskiet: i think that “moment” is overrated imho, why didn’t mandela handing out the Africa Nations Cup trophy @ FNB stadium carry any of this weight that could’ve broke the camel’s back?
If people wanted real change they should’ve looked @ themselves and who was standing to benefit from that charade. I guess some people every where are always seeking collective relief from their sins, like how some amercans were going on an “obama moment”
“madiba” (to me there’s nelson rholihlahla mandela and then there’s the jiving and smiling “madiba”) is an incredibly good actor, after his release from prison he really put on show for south africa and that ’95 world cup “moment” is but one in the massive parade he put on before bowing down & letting the real guy who was running the country take over.
I’m interested as to what angle hollywood is going to spin Nomzamo’s life, because even now she is still being vilified (fairly or unfairly) even though nelson will tell you that the woman went through the same bitter struggles he did!
Bring on Hollywood
6 Dec 2009, 21:41 pm
@Transformation:
You talking about Winnie?
6 Dec 2009, 22:25 pm
so who was the real guy running the country? Thabo?
Yes everyones an actor just like De Klerk Mbeki JZ Winnie &Tutu, everyone playing out their part, some villains some hero’s some good guys some bad, everyone just playing to the script and some are just better actors than others. Those that know they’re acting are usually better at it than the others that don’t.
6 Dec 2009, 22:42 pm
Skop if you wanna watch this game just Google it, it’s available on the BBC i player- bbc .co . uk / iplayer/. I just watched it now. Morne was joining the line nicely and running it like a champ with Giteau keeping it to hand.
6 Dec 2009, 22:43 pm
@skopskiet: well i guess so skop, which is why it’s not fascinating to sold a lie about a moment that was part of an orchestrated play. And how it’s blown up by certain sections of the population as this wondrous moment of gargantuan proportions in the history of human relations…i’m not sold, never was!
South African rugby?! the likes of louis luyt who took the same Nelson to court over stupid nonsense! please try another trick
@CoachPete: yes coach Nomzamo.
6 Dec 2009, 22:47 pm
thanks yeti I’ll do that. Morne shouldn’t be at pivot, need someone who can read the open game instinctively to run the play and let Morne contribute from the back. A Pienaar at fly and Morne at Fb would work very well I reckon. Even a Pienaar Steyn combo at 10 and 12 would work better than the other way around. That way you got 2 kickers on the field and each can do what they do best in the given circumstance.
6 Dec 2009, 22:48 pm
hmmm…biltong.
slag daai koei.
6 Dec 2009, 23:01 pm
@skopskiet:
No worries. Yeah difficult situation at the moment with our combos. Once Smitty retires I think Snor will exercise some more freedom of choice – partly because he’ll have to and partly because he’ll feel somewhat liberated. No disrespect to John, but he represents a style of play, team selection and a particular period for the Boks, and once he goes everything else will follow.
6 Dec 2009, 23:02 pm
nice tries by habana, crunch by schalla, giteau the master at breaking down defenses.
6 Dec 2009, 23:08 pm
Yeah I think you got it on the nail. I also think Smit is stifling the freedom of the team. See how the Baa baa’s managed to let loose. This over emphasis on our boring strengths is nullifying our creative instincts and keeping us tied to this ou doos straight jacket.
Some here thinking they the great slagters just big talk but couldn’t slag a chicken if they tried, yet they’ll eat it if someone else slags it for them.
6 Dec 2009, 23:09 pm
how i wish Mzantsi flyhalfs had a penchant for taking the gap as giteau does! The guy is just fantastic to watch when he turns the magic on but i don’t like him for barging on to du preez @ newlands this year…
But his try in the same match was dope!
6 Dec 2009, 23:12 pm
@Transformation:
yip, no flyhalf can get the backline away like giteau, not even carter, the australians flyhalves just have a feel for it.
6 Dec 2009, 23:19 pm
@cab: there’s a game i think it was last year where he received the ball @ pace, sidestepped, took the gap, drew about three defenders then without even looking flipped the ball behind him for the on-coming runner, TRY!! Wow, i was in awe…
6 Dec 2009, 23:22 pm
The secret to a successful back line is to have the fly half dictating the play not the scrum half. In our rugby we breed scrum halves that should be fly halves because we play mainly forward structured games so we feel more comfortable not risking anything beyond the scrum half. So scrum half gets to become the decision maker while his real job is to get the backline away as smoothly and efficiently as possible. Thats why our backline becomes one dimensional with no running lines coming from fly half or centers. Pienaar could be just as good if not better than Giteau if coaches and backline strategists were brave enough to develop our backline play and not rely on the boot to the extent that we do.
6 Dec 2009, 23:24 pm
@Transformation:
yeah very good. actually baabaas was quite a backline, jamie roberts is hot and he and fourie were potent.
6 Dec 2009, 23:26 pm
Tv3 showing Woodstock only 40 years late but still a great iconic festival a break through of consciousness. Joe Cocker doing his rendition of With a little help from my friends. High as a coot, brilliant performance.
6 Dec 2009, 23:33 pm
yeah, but thats cause tim leary and aspen were dropping acid and tuning in … or was that out. psychadelichs, frightening stuff.
6 Dec 2009, 23:39 pm
i reckon you had to alter your consciousness to appreciate most of the crud music at the time…but joe cocker had a great voice tho and hendrix was probably a genius, albeit of the artistic disposition, bit of a soft touch, another overdose case, cobain was another.
6 Dec 2009, 23:43 pm
Everyone so frightened of tuning in stuck in their preconceived minds. Leary and Alpert you could say were true scientists because they challenged the boundaries of the status quo norms. Most so called scientists get stuck with what they know which isn’t very much and then start wondering about reality. Alpert found out that psychadelics were limited and harmful though if he didn’t challenge the boundary’s of his own mind to begin with he’d never have found it out.
6 Dec 2009, 23:46 pm
yeah, they were brave, but more ignorant than anything. Alpert fried his noodle, when he got older, he could string a sentence together. Depends what sort of person you are, reckon there certain types who you gotta keep far far away from dem tings, unless you want mayhem.
6 Dec 2009, 23:53 pm
Cocker a true rhythm and blues rocker from London east end or wherever. That Woodstock performance put him on the map, true soul music even if it was influenced under Lsd. Hendrix an absolute musical genius. Dylan another genius who Hendrix severed as a kind of poetic icon.
1969 was about the epitome of the rock revolution, went downhill after that Woodstock the pinnacle, not much came after, thats when money and the Tv and video industry took over. Real music went underground after that.
Crosby Stills and Nash doing Suite Judy Blue Eyes now. Another brilliant performance. Some more youthfull Genius shining through.
6 Dec 2009, 23:58 pm
now you talking, soul i preferred to r*b, and even moving towards funk and disco, but dats da dandy speaking. dylan has grown on me since you ou ballies swore to high heaven, downloaded alot, he is good, but mein godt that haromica is terrible. everyting is broken. yeah CCR also good. but the black motown fella were the genius that started it all.
7 Dec 2009, 00:03 am
Alvon Lee Ten Years After. Rock n Roll rocking. They lost the soul of music when this stupid video industry took over. Stopped listening and starting looking for sensational form but the music died.
7 Dec 2009, 00:05 am
must have been quite a generation actually, sounds like a helluva time.
ok out, better do some stuff.
7 Dec 2009, 00:11 am
so long . . also out
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All