Pure genius
10 Dec 2009
Fourie du Preez has established himself as the finest player on the planet.
Rugby genius. The concept is not easily defined, and should you arrive at a suitable definition, finding players who meet all the criteria is rare. It’s a relative concept, certainly, but there are attributes which are absolute. Fourie du Preez lists some of those when I ask him what he would define as genius.
‘It’s a player who reads the game and makes the right tactical decision 99% of the time after assessing the situation,’ he begins. ‘That said, you get some sharp decision-makers who don’t have the skills to execute what they see in their mind. Geniuses are able to do both, and their ability is amplified by the fact that they’ve studied their opponents.
‘Then there’s the issue of consistency. To be considered a genius you have to be able to deliver high-quality performances week in and week out against high-quality opposition.’
Du Preez has inadvertently described himself. To fully appreciate his genius you have to consider that he’s played at the height of his powers for most of what has been the most taxing season of his career.
Going into the end-of-year Tests, he had played 1 853 minutes of rugby in 2009 – the equivalent of around 23 matches – against the majority of the world’s elite players and teams. Not once has he looked like an impostor in such illustrious company. In fact, seldom have big-name players looked as ordinary as they have when pitted against the irrepressible Du Preez.
He has, however, omitted a couple of absolutes in search of a proper definition.
Geniuses have an aura about them that penetrates the opposition’s psyche, galvanises their team-mates and drives those men to a level of performance they may not have known possible. They also have the ability to change the course of a game, as Du Preez exhibited in the Super 14 and Currie Cup finals.
There were six decisive moments over the course of those 160 minutes. Du Preez was involved in all of them.
It was his try, birthed from a quick tap, against the Chiefs that signalled the start of the most emphatic performance by a team in a final in recent history. He then followed that up with another five-pointer to take his side into the lead, before threading through the most perfectly weighted grubber for Bryan Habana to score and seal the result.
To underline his aptitude for high-pressure matches, he mesmerised the Cheetahs at Loftus, directing the Bulls’ classic symphony with the skill of a master conductor – the build-up featuring an expertly executed cross-kick which sailed to the unmarked Francois Hougaard, a divine piece of handling to scoop the ball off his boot laces and send Habana away for a try, and the crescendo – a deft, looping kick into vacant space which Habana chased down to virtually assure victory.
‘I’ve seen enough talented players fold in finals or high-pressure games to know the difference between the genuine article and a pretender to genius,’ says former Wallabies, Brumbies and Reds coach Eddie Jones, who worked closely with Du Preez during their preparation for the 2007 World Cup and at the tournament itself.
‘Fourie has no equal as a scrumhalf in world rugby. No one is even remotely close. And although it’s hard to say who the best player on the planet is, because roles differ so greatly from position to position, I think if you were to consider a couple of candidates, you’d have to provide some pretty conclusive and strong arguments if you chose anyone but him.
‘The very best players in the world are those who give you an eight out of 10 performance for 80% of your matches in a season. I’d suggest Fourie is probably higher than that percentage-wise. George Gregan had some sensational seasons in the time I coached him, but he never came close to what Fourie has offered the Bulls and Boks in 2009, especially considering the amount of rugby he’s played and the intensity and pressure of those games. Just unbelievable, mate.’
Du Preez has, at times, looked like he was reading the game in a Matrix-type code, not dissimilar to the manner in which Keanu Reeves’s character in the sci-fi blockbuster did, and he seemed to have the ability to supernaturally elevate his spirit and make tactical decisions based on information attained via an aerial view of the action.
‘It’s definitely been my best season ever,’ says Du Preez, confirming what many astute commentators have acknowledged. ‘The 2007 season was a great one for me personally, but this season I’ve felt like my game has shifted to a different level.
‘I’m more mature now, with none of the insecurities I had in the past, and I know my game, my strengths and weaknesses, inside out. It helps that I’ve been playing in winning teams and with great, experienced players around me.
‘Last year wasn’t particularly memorable for me,’ Du Preez continues, lamenting a season where the Bulls and Springboks were infuriatingly mediocre. ‘I struggled for form at some stages, so I appreciate what it’s like to be back in the groove now.
‘Those things that weren’t going for you when you were struggling, suddenly do. You try things that were failing and they come off. You start reading the game better, seeing spaces in the opponents’ defensive line or areas you can kick in to that aren’t marked. It just all fell into place for me this season.’
Du Preez is less analytical than team-mate Victor Matfield, who studies lineouts with religious devotion. He relies more on experience and instinct. In preparing for matches, he spends the bulk of his time looking at how his opposing scrumhalf defends around the scrum and ruck fringe. The rest, he says, comes naturally.
Jones once told the media that former Wallabies flyhalf Stephen Larkham had the ability to read how a passage of play would unfold two phases ahead, and would be prepared when it did. Du Preez humbly denies that he has such foresight, an assertion some would disagree with, but concedes that his positional sense is the facet of play that he has made the biggest strides in.
‘I play more on feel than I do relying on pre-match analysis,’ Du Preez explains. ‘When I’m out on the field I get a sense of what my opponents are likely to do and try to position myself accordingly.
‘It’s not that hard, we play against the same guys every year,’ he adds, again displaying the now familiar trait of self-deprecation. ‘So I wouldn’t make too much of it. I’m just like any other player, really.’
However, with every touch kick fielded and accurate counter-kick launched, every box kick that is suspended in the air just long enough for the chasers to contest and every punt that rolls into touch in an attacking position, every snipe around the blindside that leaves the opposition bewildered and every zinging or popped pass that finds its intended target, Du Preez’s claim to mere mortality is rejected.
‘He’ll never admit to it, but those of us who work with him know that he is a once-in-a- generation player,’ says Bulls backline coach and former Springbok wing, Pieter Rossouw.
‘There’s nothing you can teach him technically because he’s the complete player, and he’s also so strong mentally. When he isn’t around, the Bulls and Springboks don’t have the same threat. That’s not a criticism of the second-choice players in that position, it’s just that Fourie is a special, special player.’
A special player the Bulls and Springboks have to start contemplating life without. Having won all he can with those teams, Du Preez admits that he is thinking about challenging himself afresh.
There is, of course, no shortage of European suitors wanting to ensure that the next phase of his career plays out in their club’s colours. His contract with the Bulls ends in October 2010, and he hasn’t yet made a decision about whether or not he will continue playing in South Africa. Losing a player of his quality would be the equivalent of losing an organ in the human body. Functioning would be adequate for survival, but you wouldn’t be firing at optimal potency.
‘I have a big decision to make in the next couple of months,’ Du Preez says, driving home the possibility that South African rugby could lose one of the jewels in its crown.
‘I have to weigh up whether I want to have a chance of defending the World Cup in 2011 or whether I should move on. I’ve spent my whole life in Pretoria, next year will be my 10th at the Bulls, and I feel like I have to get out of my comfort zone. I don’t want to be stuck in the same routine for the rest of my career.’
Du Preez, however, rejects the suggestion that his departure would see a dramatic capitulation of his teams.
‘If the succession planning is right I don’t think that would be an issue,’ he argues. ‘Sure, there’ll be a rebuilding period for the Bulls and Boks because I don’t think many of the senior players in those sides will continue to play beyond 2011, at least not in South Africa. But we have some special young players in this country.
‘Francois Hougaard [Du Preez’s understudy at the Bulls] is one of those, and I think he’ll be the Springbok scrumhalf for a long time. There are others like him in different positions. So if we plan well, there’s no reason to think it will all fall apart because we have an abundance of class youngsters.’
Class is a widely available commodity in South Africa. The genius that is Du Preez is a scarce one. Let’s appreciate and celebrate that we’ve seen genius in our generation.
– This article first appeared in the December issue of SA Rugby magazine. The January-February issue goes on sale next week.

411 Comments
10 Dec 2009, 07:56 am
pump up the gas. . . bags
10 Dec 2009, 08:04 am
one dimensional “i don’t like playing the elvs, i don’t like watching them” dragon!
10 Dec 2009, 08:06 am
slowest service behind the scrum I’ve yet to see, slower than a cat on an ice cold roof in winter, . , and a prima donna deluxe to top it all off.
Overrated by all and sundry.
10 Dec 2009, 08:06 am
Good player,but in the Baa Baas leonard found so much room around the ruck/maul areas he was having a field day. As they said to be a genuis you have to be that every game,he is not. I believe Du Preez was outplayed in that game by leonard. BUt during to 3N he was head and shoulders above any of the NZ halfbacks
10 Dec 2009, 08:09 am
Best in the world? That’s McCaw. Or Dan Carter.
10 Dec 2009, 08:12 am
single reason we had a kak 2008 alongside BJ and a lousy outing in the Eoyt against France and Ireland, largely responsible for the Irish loss alongside his BB stable mate MS
10 Dec 2009, 08:13 am
@skopskiet: @Transformation:
Absolutely, bring back Bolla Conradie i say.
Jokesters, you lot are.
10 Dec 2009, 08:14 am
@Hurricane: cant comment on the baabaas game as we werent able to watch it here in south africa.
10 Dec 2009, 08:15 am
Ewww, some of my least favorite bloggers have all posted on here one after another.
The jealousy shines through. Skopskiet, I assume if FDP was a man of color you’d be chanting his name with pride? what a silly little quota you are.
FDP = PLAYER OF THE YEAR.
10 Dec 2009, 08:17 am
“Du Preez has, at times, looked like he was reading the game in a Matrix-type code, not dissimilar to the manner in which Keanu Reeves’s character in the sci-fi blockbuster did, and he seemed to have the ability to supernaturally elevate his spirit and make tactical decisions based on information attained via an aerial view of the action.”
Once again I hear choirs of angels singing!
10 Dec 2009, 08:18 am
@Hurricane:
Baa baas game is an entirely different ballgame to test rugby Hurricane. Its a lot looser and free and there little wonder he found some space around the ruck area.
I would like to see Leonard have an exteded run in the AB side though, i think he is the best you guys have.
10 Dec 2009, 08:19 am
@rangerman:
Watch it on you tube Ranger.
10 Dec 2009, 08:19 am
@rangerman:
that is a shame,Habana was in one of his finishing everything with a try mood.It was a good game. I like Du Preez,i wish we had a halfback that plays well most of the times. Cowan is a clown,to much agro,always pushing and shoving players of the ball etc. Leonard was the only one that shows any promise so far,and being a Hurricanes fan,give Weepu another go. Send Andy Ellis on an early retirment,i dont care pay the man off as long as he dosnt wear that black jersey again.
10 Dec 2009, 08:20 am
FdP is for me the finest scrummie in the world, but i tend to agree with critics who feel he does not vary his play enough of late.
he is no kick and chase specialist though, just look back to england getting hammered 36-0.
10 Dec 2009, 08:22 am
@John Galt:
True John. It is looser,maybe not Du Preez style of rugby. But another thing to look at Du Preez didnt find hardly any space. Maybe it was just one of those games for the halfback,but one thing is for sure the rest of the Bok players played very well.
10 Dec 2009, 08:23 am
@John Galt: i will try it thanks man!
@Hurricane: always rated piri. but i also rate cowan though he needs to sort out his discipline, agreed.
10 Dec 2009, 08:24 am
@Kobus Kitty:
hmmm you said bloggers,who are the others?
10 Dec 2009, 08:25 am
FdP is the best scrumhalf of the professional era by a mile! There has not been a more complete scrumhalf!
10 Dec 2009, 08:29 am
@skopskiet: @Transformation: Hey guys, never get involved in anything that involves tactics or strategy, predictability is your first name.
10 Dec 2009, 08:31 am
@Sonito:
Lets not get too carried away.
10 Dec 2009, 08:32 am
great player no doubt…
but nothing mentioned of the CC semi-final where WP had his number sewn up nice and tight…
10 Dec 2009, 08:33 am
@Sonito:
I reckon there would be some fierce debate over that. He is a very good player,we all know that but to says hes the best ever in the professional era says alot.I think Greghan playing at his best is better than Du Preez so far.
10 Dec 2009, 08:35 am
@NZINCHINA:
Just my opinion, but he would be my first player I would put on my team sheet.
10 Dec 2009, 08:35 am
@Kobus Kitty: hey kobus p*ssy, this was the write-up after the 19-0 @ newlands last year
“Most of the critics backed Peter de Villiers’s decision to start Fourie du Preez ahead of Ricky Januarie. Du Preez is a tried-and-tested decision-maker, but failed to have the desired affect against the All Blacks. His box kicks were well marshalled by the All Blacks back three, and he offered very little else on attack.
All in all the backs never combined as a unit, and seemed to lack both direction and leadership. The scrum was solid and the lineout dependable for the most part, but why was the overall synergy so noticably lacking?
The unstructured approach can be blamed for this defeat, but the players need to stand up and be counted. James and Du Preez were so vital to the Boks’ triumph in France, and with the change of laws and the change of strategy they are battling to adapt.”
By Jon Cardinelli
This entry was posted on Saturday, August 16th, 2008 at 6:11 pm
10 Dec 2009, 08:36 am
@Hurricane:
Yeah I would go for Gregan and FDP as best scrumhalves of proffesional era but I would pick FDP any day of the week.
10 Dec 2009, 08:37 am
He had a great 09′ pre the end of year tour but was nothing speical before that, the Cape Town test in 08′ is a perfect example.
10 Dec 2009, 08:37 am
“the unstructured approach”
what a joke.
10 Dec 2009, 08:38 am
I fail to see the need for this article. Most people would agree that Du Preez is currently the best scrumhalf in the world but this type of hero worshipping is way over the top and is only setting him up to come crashing down.
Few would dispute that individual sportsmen like Roger Federer, Tiger Woods, Hussain Bolt and Valentino Rossi are the best in the world in their respective disciplines because there is a system or formula that can be used to prove it.
No-one can say or say or prove with any certainty that Fourie is for example better than for example Carter – it is just not possible – there is no system available to measure it, so why even bother to try?
10 Dec 2009, 08:39 am
@Sonito:
lol course you would. But nothing wrong with that.
10 Dec 2009, 08:40 am
like I said pump up the gas baggs this genius lost us tri nations 2008 and Eoyt 2009 almost single handedly. Keep singing his immaculate praises and keep on losing. Slowest service I’ve seen and don’t know sh’t about incorporating a variable backline strategy. Kak swak.
10 Dec 2009, 08:40 am
Completly off the topic but have you guys seen that the Protea is missing off the replica bafanna soccer shirts! Why?
Because SAFA does not want to pay royalties to the sports ministry! I always said that battle of the bok emblem was about nothing more than the sports minsitry wanting to get royalties and this proves it.
10 Dec 2009, 08:41 am
@NZINCHINA:
You can look at any player career and pick out games when they have been completly ****. Even the great Carter has had a couple of shockers!
10 Dec 2009, 08:43 am
keo you should take fourie du preez on a date. fourie is half dimensional you should make a carbon copy of him to make him one dimensional. he can only play good when the boks adpots a blue bull type of game otherwise he is pretty much useless. pieter must put ruan pienaar at ten and ricky januarie at nine to play a more complete game, becuase i am sensing the the nz and uas players are going to evolve and outsmart the boks current playing pattern before the world cup. what is fourie gets injured then the boks game plan disapears and morne will also be reduced to a quater dimensional useless kicking machine. put morene on fullback and let him take the goal kicks but let the creative natural more complete flyhalt pienaar do his thing at number ten. fourie du prezz also nevfer gave pienaar the quality service he gives to morne steyn, that is why he needs to be uprooted. he is HUGELY overated. keo you make him sound like a demi god when he is actually useless. the flyhalves in sa can never dictate and take control of the game becuase you are sitting with srumhalves like du prezz who forever want to be the general and contol the gam, when he should focus on what he should do, which is good fast and clean ball to his 10, something which mkaes ricky brilliant, not to mention his attacking and defensive abilities. ricky will always be a legend, abd fourie should have never been given back his position, if he was made to fight for it he would have gotten it back. ricky is your boss keo, so too is adi jacobs the best inside center in sa. i would like to hear you for a change highlight the weaknesses, which a numerous, of you demi gods in the form of jean de villiers and fourie du preez. you are one track minded, one dimensional and pro white players, you unashamed freaking rugby racist!!!!
10 Dec 2009, 08:44 am
@graeme1:
Looser and idiot! Sums up your comments!
10 Dec 2009, 08:45 am
@Robzim: hussain bolt?
has he converted to islam?
interesting.
10 Dec 2009, 08:45 am
@graeme1:
Oh oh
10 Dec 2009, 08:46 am
It is easy to find a kink in any rugby players armor if you look at their performance in individual games, but considering PdP performance over the past 3 years he must be right up there.
Brussouw owned Richie McCaw for most of the 3N, does that mean that he can no longer be rated as one of the best players in the world?
Every era will produce rugby excellence and taking history into account the next generation will produce better versions of the previous era.
10 Dec 2009, 08:46 am
CORRECTION: fourie would NOT have gotten his position back was he to fight for it.
sorry for the bad spelling, in a bit of a hurry…!
10 Dec 2009, 08:47 am
best scrum half SA ever had.
and one of the most humble blokes you could hope to meet.
another one of those players with a talismatic influence on those around him.
….just 12 months after bitching about the effect of ELV rugby, he was part of a unit that frikken destroyed the top Kiwi side.
what a champion.
10 Dec 2009, 08:47 am
@rangerman:
10 Dec 2009, 08:48 am
“ricky is your boss keo, so too is adi jacobs the best inside center in sa”
this is hilarious
graeme, you are a bit of a dumbass man, but i like a good laugh as much as the next oke.
you can stay but try limit it to five silly comments per thread or you will get stale, ok?
10 Dec 2009, 08:49 am
@graeme1:
Go spit polish the nearest door ****.
10 Dec 2009, 08:50 am
to think that there are some “rugby fans” who can’t recognise this player’s influence is laughable. almost as funny as Mcaw receiving that award this year.
10 Dec 2009, 08:50 am
@graeme1:
You mut have the runs to be in such a hurry.
Must be all that **** coming out your mouth.
10 Dec 2009, 08:51 am
@graeme1: Ricky is good for one thing, dancing lessons, nobody two steps like Ricky.
Drank is ‘n lelike ding!!
10 Dec 2009, 08:53 am
What is not mentioned in this interview is how Fourie thought about leaving SA rugby after 2008, and how the current Bok setup inspired him to stay saying it is the best setup he has ever played under.
10 Dec 2009, 08:55 am
@graeme1:
ricky januarie?
that must be some sort of joke.
he’s a fat tub of lard. good for nothing other than pushing and shoving.
adi jacobs the best inside center? funny that, until this season, he has actually been playing 2nd center for the past 7 seasons?
it enough to get an honest bloke thinking “quota”.
I can only assume that you are anti-south african with the daily abuse and ravings at white or black non conformist?
ps:this website is free….if you don’t like, just leave.
PS(try not to show your class to often,ne?)
10 Dec 2009, 08:56 am
@graeme1:
Any valid points you might have raised are completely neutralised by your absolutely moronic method of conducting an argument.
You are making a public fool of yourself.
@kesbok:
The IRB should award a player of the decade next year, put McCaws name on it now to save time.
@graeme1:
“you are one track minded, one dimensional and pro white players, you unashamed freaking rugby racist!!!!”
KEO … this one’s for you!!!
10 Dec 2009, 08:57 am
get real ladies the truth hurts…!! when one sits in darkness to long even the smallest light makes ones eyes hurt very intensely, the game of rugby is constantly evolving. it is time for sa to wake up how long do you think this structured approach will last, i will be suprized if it lasts six months, especially since fourie was talking about about quiting earlier this year, as if sa rugby needs him, well the current pattern needs him. the sooner he leaves the better for the future of sa rugby… viva ricky
@PissAnt:
Yes, I heard he wanted to retire, he was sick and tired.
By all accounts there is a very nice camaraderie in the Bok setup at the moment. Less of the “top down, schoolteacher” approach, more of the “we’re a bunch of buddies” approach.
@Robzim: spot on Rob! The “hero-worshipping” is also what i don’t like, otherwise Fdp is an incredible player who i’m glad plays for us than against us. All this praise that he is some sort of mastermind and Matrix analogies are just waaaaay OTT…
10 Dec 2009, 08:59 am
@graeme1:
Whatever makes you sleep at night! Hows those Rick Janurie PJs working out for you?
10 Dec 2009, 08:59 am
@rangerman:
Sharp
Bit early for me.
10 Dec 2009, 09:00 am
@graeme1:
Your mate Ricki always plays well against NZ.
10 Dec 2009, 09:01 am
I think he’s a bit over-rated. Well, when he runs I think he’s the best scrumhalf in the world, but go back and watch the games from this year and notice how often he kicks away possession. He almost cost us that first Lions test with his kicking away the ball. He did it alot in the second test too. I think Habana is looking the best he’s ever been but sadly he hasn’t had alot of opportunities because FDP and Morne Steyn keep kicking away valuble possession. Don’t get me wrong, I really like them both, but they need to establish when to kick and when not to kick. Like, they are the main reason we lost to Ireland. Ireland kept launching counter-attacks off our failed kicks but yet we just kept doing it. FDP should play less of a kicking game, because he truly is a genius when it comes to the running game. I can’t help but agree that he is a little bit over-rated. He isn’t the finest player in the world at the moment.
1. Richie McCaw
2. BOD
3. Carter
4. FDP
5. Giteau
10 Dec 2009, 09:01 am
The best part of the interview – if indeed took place – is FdP’s total disregard to Hinie Adams, praising his heir apparent Hougaard as the future scrumhalf to take his place
10 Dec 2009, 09:02 am
I also do not see what the value of a “vanity piece” like this is. Fourie du Preez in person is a very humble person.
His achievements speak for themselves:
IRB U/21 World Cup in 2002
Three Currie Cups (’03, ’04, ’09)
Two Super 14s (’07, ’09)
Two Tri-Nations (’04, ’09)
Rugby World Cup 2007
He has been voted SA Rugby Player of the Year by the SA Rugby Football Union two times.
And he’s still only 27!
10 Dec 2009, 09:02 am
McCaw isn’t fit to tie FDP’s shoe laces (last world cup decent refs exposed him as a cheat)and leonard doesn’t deserve to be on the same field.
The only kiwi half back of recent years that comes close to FDP is Justin Marshall.
Picking between those two makes my brain bleed.
10 Dec 2009, 09:07 am
@DEE DAH:
Dont be silly mate, McCaw is the player of the decade and has been at the very top or close to every year for the last 5 or 6 years no player comes close to that.
10 Dec 2009, 09:08 am
In the spirit of Hussain Bolt’s conversion, I am changing my name to Ammarrah.
10 Dec 2009, 09:18 am
@DEE DAH:
You posting’s pretty much correct, nailing it beautifully
McCaw is not the player of the year ’09, no one gets anywhere near FdP.
But don’t expect Richie to admit it, he plies his trade in cheat, he plays referees. McCaw came to prominence only after 2005 when rucking in rugby was made illegal, prior to ’05 McCaw used to wear a reinforced head gear and got his arms and hands spiked all over, he used to be much quieter then.
Don’t get me wrong, he is a world class forward and a good ABs captain, however, in S Africa the rugby always has been an honourable thing unlike in down under.
10 Dec 2009, 09:18 am
that is one thing about you colonialists you always become personal when you realize you are talking sh@t. the entire sa bok team will be pulvirized in the world cup unless they put 14 balck players on the filed because you whites should rather go to the WWF because that is all you can do good wrestle. stop playing the man and play the ball. i think whites are one dimensional thikers in general, that is why sports like rugby are not for them. they asre pretty much useless at it. they think and act like robots, have been tryig to perfect this so called structured appraoch for the past hundred years now finally when nz and aus temas are in a re building phase, this appraoch has some success and suddenly you are the best in the world wake up you will neve defend that wordl cup, you bloody stupid pale faces, suffering from this deranged mental illness that in for most part uncurrible called an inflated beliet in their own abilites. nothing but a superiority complex that smells like sh@t, thast mental illness can be smelled runnign from you ears and i am gettig the stench through my laptop. i cant wait for malema to become president so we can make like my uncle bob, and clenase africa from your greedey slimy infectious, sludgy, one dimensional, overated, superioity complexed, lack of pigmentation, not from africa, boere and rednecks.this is africa for africans this is not europe, i think your brain cells are still struggiling to acclimatize to our weather that why you thiking smells like dog sh@t. we wil eredicate you dont worry about that…!! remenber there is no more madelas left for you!!! only zumas and malemas. and much more pdv’s ricky’s, adi’s and the likes!!!!! ah this i sso nice, please reply, i would like to hear from your, sewage dumps so i can call enviro services to clean you up. up yours!!!!!
10 Dec 2009, 09:22 am
Everybody just ignore the little troll under the bridge. He’ll be banned soon.
10 Dec 2009, 09:23 am
@graeme1:
Dude, grow up! You so lame! Go take the piss somewhere else.
10 Dec 2009, 09:24 am
@WP Till I Die:
Hope so, what a load of shite.
10 Dec 2009, 09:25 am
@NZINCHINA:
The danger is, you repeat it another 3 times, you’ll start believing it
10 Dec 2009, 09:26 am
@Hondo:
Can you elaborate on the honour thing?
10 Dec 2009, 09:26 am
@graeme1: Malpitte so vroeg in die oggend doen dit aan jou
10 Dec 2009, 09:30 am
@graeme1:
Good effort Greame!
What nest? the skies are the limit for you
10 Dec 2009, 09:35 am
@graeme1: hao modimo! I thought i asked you nicely to stick to rugby debate, what malema are doing is of no interest to us. We are all aware that you are here to sow racial discord by making out black bloggers to be irrational @rseholes, well your little stunt is not working.
You can bang on about malema all you want he does not interest us, just do us a favour and go back to R-T your webmaster needs all the hits he can get over there mgodoyi.
10 Dec 2009, 09:35 am
keo and his cult enjoy the your dark room further just came to administer some light to your dull minds once agian. i really hope you awake from your slumber your freaking idiots…! over and out..PLEASE PROVE ME WRONG… MAYBE NOT…
10 Dec 2009, 09:38 am
@graeme1:
very “colonial” name you’ve got there boet
10 Dec 2009, 09:39 am
@graeme1: don’t ever come back marete a hao!
10 Dec 2009, 09:40 am
@graeme1: Mooi bly ouboet
10 Dec 2009, 09:41 am
@graeme1:
Man! You for real?
10 Dec 2009, 09:41 am
@Pearl Rose:
That was my impression as well, that he is an agent provocateur here to sow some discord.
@graeme1:
Uyakwazi ukuthetha isiXhosa? O a boa Sesotho? Ukhuluma isiZulu na?
10 Dec 2009, 09:42 am
@NZINCHINA:
S African players don’t cheat intentionally, they don’t practice the short forward passes like the ABs, they don’t carry on after knocking the ball, they usually stay on side of the gain line because that’s how they were taught to play at High School and Varsities
They don’t drop scrums intentionally either, of course this bold statement does not include The Beast, Mijati, Steenkamp or Chiliboy.
There are indeed 2 players on the verge of criminal transgressions in the Boks camp, we all know who they are but they are the exception.
10 Dec 2009, 09:42 am
@graeme1:
Boet.
If you wanna kuk white people out, YOU GOTTA LEARN TO SPELL!!
10 Dec 2009, 09:45 am
@graeme1:
iNingizimu Afrika lizwe elimangalisayo. Usebenzani? Uhlalapi?
10 Dec 2009, 09:46 am
@charo:
Graeme’s a scotish name actually, are you a Highlander Graeme?
10 Dec 2009, 09:46 am
@graeme1:
Back to school with you.
Grammar and spelling and begrip lessons await!
10 Dec 2009, 09:52 am
not much rugby news around i see.
10 Dec 2009, 09:54 am
“Nobody in rugby should be called a genius. A genius is a guy like Norman Einstein.” – Jono Gibbs
10 Dec 2009, 09:56 am
@Hondo:
You should start up a business selling halo’s to SA rugby players, you’d make a fortune.
10 Dec 2009, 10:00 am
@Hondo: you are quite another piece of **** that stains this blog,you know that!?
I know cj & bj have dropped their bind and leaked penalties for quite a while now while playing for the bokke, but i never thought it was due to their pigmentation or that they were genetically predisposed to doing that.
10 Dec 2009, 10:02 am
@NZINCHINA:
LOL… Might make as much money as Mcaws upcoming book “Mcaws guide to cheating”.
10 Dec 2009, 10:03 am
its funny coz FDP never looks like he’s trying to hard when he dissects teams .it all looks to easy
RUGBY MASTERMIND!!1
10 Dec 2009, 10:05 am
@Sonito:
LOL – would be a good read
Hey Hondo Corne Krige & Louis Luyt could be your frontmen for the new business.
10 Dec 2009, 10:09 am
@Hurricane: Hurricane, if you living in Wellington, please convince Cullen to come out of retirement. World Rugby needs an exciting,freak of a runner
10 Dec 2009, 10:10 am
STORMERS FANS
some of the guys will be at Tygervalley around 13:30 between entrances 9 & 10… so do what I’m doing, go see Invictus in the morning, have lunch and hook up with the guys later
10 Dec 2009, 10:12 am
@Bok fan:
They have a new Cullen Cory Jane, this guy will a big star next year.
10 Dec 2009, 10:13 am
@Sonito: Marshall was better than Gregan and Fourie is better than Marshall – only just
10 Dec 2009, 10:14 am
@NZINCHINA:
Can he also bench 160kg?
10 Dec 2009, 10:15 am
@jondood:
Wouldn’t have thought so, your thoughts on Jane?
10 Dec 2009, 10:16 am
@NZINCHINA:
There will only ever be one Cullen. I remember once watching the hurricane’s team train at loftus, they were playing touch rugby and cullen ran through the whole team without getting touched and instead of dotting the ball down he then turned around and ran through the whole team again. His team mates just stood there in awe.
10 Dec 2009, 10:18 am
Nothing sucks like keoflux – flukkin hell. Standarde daal vinnig.
10 Dec 2009, 10:19 am
@Bok fan:
Not sure about that. Even in NZ Meg Ryan is not even rated that highly unless you live in canterbury.
10 Dec 2009, 10:19 am
@NZINCHINA:
Made a fortune already!
10 Dec 2009, 10:20 am
@Sonito:
Yer agree with you, sensational player.The try he scored from his own try line many years ago at the HK’s 7′s and the one he got against the Aussie in a bledisloe were mind blowing. Very hard to replace but I really think this Jane guy has got the goods.
10 Dec 2009, 10:24 am
@NZINCHINA:
Yeah I also rate Jane, he is a great ball player. For me I think he is a better option than mills. I have never really understood why mills is so highly rated. Mills is a good player but I dont think he is any better than any other international fullback.
10 Dec 2009, 10:25 am
Ok maybe not 160kg but I heard that he was benching almost as much as a prop.
Corey Jane does a great job charging down a kick with his head, lol!!!!
Although to his credit he got up immediately. Tough *******.
10 Dec 2009, 10:26 am
yeah Christian Cullen is about as close as you’ll get to genius on a rugby field. FDP? pffft spin me another soap opera SA rugby hype. Genius se gat. Some talent there sure, but as much talent so too a whole array of over hyped prima donna delusions. And plenty times he’s proceeded to lose us the game where we should have won it instead. Like Wellington, Perth, Cape Town and Durban 2008 and like France and Ireland Eoyt 2009 – like I said genius se gat.
10 Dec 2009, 10:28 am
@skopskiet:
You are so delusional.
You only harp on the negative, if we all did that there would not be one player worth spit.
SPIT!!!!
10 Dec 2009, 10:29 am
@Sonito:
Jane can also kick and is a rock under the high ball, I would have him at f/back ahead of Mills for his superior kicking game, agree Mils is possibly a little overrated but with ball in hand like against France he’s right up there.
10 Dec 2009, 10:29 am
@skopskiet:
You seem to forget about all the games he has won.
10 Dec 2009, 10:31 am
Christian Cullen was magical.
Not many rugby players like him…
The tragedy for us South Africans is that New Zealand seems to produce these magical players almost at will…
10 Dec 2009, 10:32 am
@NZINCHINA:
Agreed. That the problem with Mills he has a number of weakness and cant be rated up there with the likes of Kearney and lee byrne in terms of being a high quality full back.
10 Dec 2009, 10:33 am
Rob Kearney has been superb this season, probably the best fullback in the world at the moment.
10 Dec 2009, 10:34 am
@WP Till I Die:
Cullen / Wilson and Lomu were a magic back 3 , they ripped teams apart.
10 Dec 2009, 10:36 am
@Sonito:
Who will play FB for the Bokke next year?
10 Dec 2009, 10:36 am
@NZINCHINA:
Add Umanga to the mix. Its crazy to think about the backline NZ had at that time.
10 Dec 2009, 10:37 am
@NZINCHINA:
Who knows? Seriously lacking quality Fullbacks at the moment! The position is definately up for grabs.
10 Dec 2009, 10:38 am
@Sonito:
Yer good times and add in the boy from Durban at 5/8 and the back line was smoking.
10 Dec 2009, 10:40 am
Gooday Fellas:
I must say that FDP is by far the best scrumhalf to have considering the game plan we have adopted.I just have my reservations on how he will cope if the game plan were to be changed.
If PDV insists on picking Ruan at flyhalf, then surely Ruan will have to make the decision instead of FDP, I doubt FDP will be able to adjust to just doing his primary function of being the link between forwards and the backline, his service is too slow.
In my mind I still have Heini Adams feeding the backline good ball and I keep imagining he was giving that to Carter, wow!! what a massacre it would be.
Maybe Heini Adams must move to the Crusaders since Houggard is heir apparent to the throne at the BB
10 Dec 2009, 10:41 am
since when do I have to bow down to your tinsel gods to acclaim genius where there is none? Some you hero worshippers are the biggest denialists in existence making out like these one dimensional demi gods are next to rugby sainthood. You go ahead and lick their very ordinary overrated boots till your tongue hangs out dripping with grandiose salivating saliva at your hero’s immaculate status. I’ll continue to see the reality as it presents itself with none of your bamboozling irrational hero worshipping hype. Twit idiots en masse.
@graeme1: Graeme you are the most entertaining person on this thing. I nearly choked laughing.Tell us more!
@NZINCHINA:
And thats the difference between that NZ team and the current NZ. You use to **** in your pants facing those guys because anyone of them could rip you a new *******. They brought that fear.
10 Dec 2009, 10:42 am
@NZINCHINA: Note quite the same but he is good
10 Dec 2009, 10:43 am
@Porto:
Graeme and Skoppie are the top of the laughs that is for sure.
Bet they are bunkmates.
10 Dec 2009, 10:43 am
@WP Till I Die: Yeah sure, pull the other one.
10 Dec 2009, 10:45 am
Cullen was absolutely amazing on attack, verging on unbelievable. However in some games his defence was very disappointing and he certainly wasn’t reliable as the last line of defence. His kicking wasn’t that good either.
Therefore I only give him an 8 out of 10. Truly great fullbacks can defend and kick well.
@skopskiet:
Well you seem to be by yourself! Because the rest of the world does not share your sentiments. So remind me who is in denial again? It not like FDP has won anything!
@Sonito:
The current backline is adequate but nothing special but in saying that they ripped a few French jock straps a week or so ago so they are capable of firing given the platform which was sadly missing mid year.
10 Dec 2009, 10:46 am
@Porto:
Huh?
10 Dec 2009, 10:47 am
@jondood: Come to think of it, looking at the writing style, they both might be the same person. Except when he comes on as Graeme he’s somehow funnier.
10 Dec 2009, 10:50 am
Jeff ‘Goldie’ Wilson had a couple of absolutely unbelievable seasons in the late nineties. In one S14 game the Bulls were 10 points up against Otago at Loftus with just a few minutes to play. He got the ball twice and both times weaved himself through tight defence from long range to win the game single handedly. Perhaps the most stunning individual match winning performance I have seen.
10 Dec 2009, 10:51 am
@WP Till I Die: Well he might be the best full back in Cape Town, but not in SA and definitely not in the world. That has be Frans Steyn
10 Dec 2009, 10:53 am
this over hyped genius was all quite ready to hang up his overrated boots when Jake left and the short arm elv’s were introduced. In short a bit of a ramp model pansy that couldn’t quite cut it when all factors didn’t quite suit his immaculated prima donna status. When he had to get some quick action behind the scrum he disappeared very fast and proceeded to cough up possession on a plate time and again to the opposition, just like Cape Town 2008 or France and Ireland 2009- go check those games again if you seriously want to see pure genius exposed as very ordinary useless mediocrity. Or you going to watch it a third time with your BB blindfolds covering your eyes?
10 Dec 2009, 10:54 am
@Transformation:
FDP was horribly out of form in 08, and partly due to those disgusting ELV laws. Both he, Matfield and Habana stated that they did not like the new laws and all ended up having rather poor seasons.
But why are you bringing up articles from 2008? I understand you are trying to think, but come on.
FDP is the greatest scrumhalf of all time, better than Joost. Only hate filled supporters can’t see this.
10 Dec 2009, 10:55 am
@skopskiet:
YAWN!!!!
10 Dec 2009, 10:55 am
@Delek: i completely disagree. Cullen was a great defender. Once saw him win a game for the Canes by making some amazing tackles on Joeli Vidiri and Jonah Lomu.
Cullen the best fullback i have ever seen play 11/10 for me
10 Dec 2009, 10:56 am
@Delek:
Would you mind giving us your score on the Rolls Royce of fullbacks Andre Joubert?
@Porto:
I thought Frans Steyn was an inside centre?
@skopskiet:
Ok, who would you rather have in the Springboks team than du Preez? This should be funny.
10 Dec 2009, 10:57 am
@Delek:
What about his try at Loftus in 96′, chick chase score – series victory!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@Delek: I am a massive Goldie fan. First time i ever saw him play was for NZ against Scotland in his debut test, and he scored a stunning try.
No other rugby player could “chip and chase” better than him. Ball always bounced for him. Sheer class, sheer skill. A rugby genius.
chip
10 Dec 2009, 10:58 am
@WP Till I Die: Fly half, centre and full back.
10 Dec 2009, 10:59 am
Ironic that both Cullen and Wilson partly had their careers wasted by playing out of position. NZ had too much class, and tried to accomodate Glen Osborne. Cullen should never have played 13…..
10 Dec 2009, 11:00 am
@NZINCHINA: Wilson had this “horrible” habit of getting up and giving the crowd a “blank, f-u” stare once he scored. Loved to hate him !!
10 Dec 2009, 11:01 am
@NZINCHINA:
LOL @ “chick chase score”
We know he was a hit with the ladies
10 Dec 2009, 11:02 am
Where the rumours that Wilson is *** true?
10 Dec 2009, 11:03 am
@Cheetha Champs:
He did that in domestic games as well for Otago, lets not forget him hitting the winning runs in a 1 day international to beat the Aussies – a double international perhaps we can call him the real sporting “genuis” lol
10 Dec 2009, 11:04 am
@WP Till I Die:
He’s married to an NZ netballer.
10 Dec 2009, 11:06 am
I love it how the New Zealanders just come in and change the topic.
I don’t want to talk about Wilson.
10 Dec 2009, 11:07 am
@NZINCHINA:
Why was his nickname “Goldie” though?
10 Dec 2009, 11:08 am
@Sonito:
He is married to the former NZ Netball captain, Adine Harper.
@Kobus Kitty:
Lets talk about you Kitty and your issues because we all know you have a few?
@WP Till I Die: That pretty blonde hair…
10 Dec 2009, 11:09 am
@WP Till I Die:
Midas touch from memory, think he scored two or 3 against Scotland on debut.
10 Dec 2009, 11:11 am
Cheetah Champs Cullen defended very badly in one SA-NZ game in about 2000 or 2001, virtually waved through the Bok attackers. Perhaps that has soured my memory of him.
The ball always did bounce for Goldie, how did he do that??
NZ in China I missed that 96 test, was nowhere a tv and haven’t even seen the highlights but no surprises about his play!
Sonito it’s common consensus in NZ that the *** rumours were complete hogwash – they upset him a lot and he is married, seems someone wanted to get some nasty fun by starting that rumour.
10 Dec 2009, 11:12 am
@NZINCHINA: Yup, and i speak under correction, but he was also a brilliant basketball player??
Sickening when you get sportsmen who can do anything:
1. Herschelle Gibbs (hockey, rugby, cricket, athletics)
2. AB De Villiers (Rugby, Cricket, Golf)
3. Ollie le Roux (squash, rugby, water polo)
10 Dec 2009, 11:15 am
@Delek:
I think he retired pretty quickly after those rumours. I may be mistaken but he retired from rugby at a fairly early age. Still had probaly another 2 years in him.
10 Dec 2009, 11:15 am
@Cheetha Champs:
Think so yes, numbers 2 & 3 did they get close to Bokke selection?. Oliie Le Roux on a squash court your taking the piss aren’t you?
10 Dec 2009, 11:16 am
@Cheetha Champs: And of course guys like Helgard Muller and the late Gerbrand Grobler who played both rugby and cricket provincially.
I have an old match day program from many many years ago. The Free State U21 side played against the Natal U 21 side (rugby). The Free State rugby side was captained by no 8 – hansie cronje, and the Natal side was captained by no 10 – Derek Crookes. Ironic.
then of course people like Darryl Cullinan who played flyhalf for Border schools.
10 Dec 2009, 11:16 am
@Cheetha Champs:
You forgot to add soccer to Gibbs sports and Cheese Burger eating champ for Ollie.
10 Dec 2009, 11:18 am
@NZINCHINA: Well, AB de Villiers kept Jacques Louis Potgieter out of the Affies side, and Herschelle was SA Schools flyhalf. Both had to choose at the end of their schools career.
Ollie was a brilliant squash player. Played SA schools in rugby, squash and water polo.
Interesting thing about Ollie, when he was in Grade 12, his Grade 8 “slave” at Grey Bfn was non other than Ryk Neethling.
10 Dec 2009, 11:19 am
@Sonito: ha ha ha ha,
Speaking of soccer – Jantjes is also a well known soccer talent who tried out in europe….
10 Dec 2009, 11:20 am
I play horses for courses Fdp is a kicking structure type player very limited when a fast paced distribution game is required. He proceeds to slow the entire game to suit his pre dimensional style. He’s extremely prone to reducing the entire attack mode to a one dimension kick and chase program and can’t vary his game when its required. In short he’s hardly a genius just a programmed robot. When in robotic mode and the game plan requires robotic thinking and robotic kicking then I guess you can say Fdp is the man for the job. However if its a fast paced and more suprise oriented quick thinking mongrel game you need, then he should be last on the list. I’m afraid Hougaard just going to carry on where his predecessor left off. If its me I promote Sarel Pretorius to the scrum half axis and get the hell away from this boring monotonous one dimensional one trick pony show we got stuck in. And while we about it change the one dimensional fly half as well.
@Cheetha Champs:
Oliies a legend then, sorry mate who is Ryk Neethling?
@NZINCHINA:
No.
10 Dec 2009, 11:21 am
@skopskiet:
SKOP we get the picture.
10 Dec 2009, 11:22 am
@NZINCHINA: Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa– Ryk is a national hero
He is an olympic gold medal winning swimmer. Also recently voted the sexiest man in SA…(for what it is worth).
10 Dec 2009, 11:23 am
@skopskiet: IMHO – Sarel Pretorius is the poor second cousin to Brendon Leonard, and the AB’s have already learnt that type of player is not the answer.
10 Dec 2009, 11:24 am
Ok guys, time to grease the wheels of the SA economy. Chat later.
10 Dec 2009, 11:24 am
@NZINCHINA:
South Africa’s also had its “double internationals” when it comes to rugby and cricket national colours:
Biddy Anderson (1896-1902)
Kim Elgie (1950-1962) (played rugby for Scotland)
Reginald Hands (1910-1914) (played rugby for England)
Tony Harris (1930s-1949)
Tuppy Owen-Smith (1929-1937) (played rugby for England)
Alfred Richards (1891-1896)
Reggie Schwarz (1899-1907) (played rugby for England)
Jimmy Sinclair (1896-1911) (he also had SA colours for association football!)
Percy Twentyman-Jones (1896-1902) (played rugby for England)
Clive van Ryneveld (1951-1958) (played rugby for England)
10 Dec 2009, 11:27 am
@Sonito: Agree. One of our best ever.
10 Dec 2009, 11:28 am
@WP Till I Die:
I didn’t know they played sport that far back LOL – impressive list though, but does playing rugby for England & Scotland constitute an SA double international or am I missing something?
10 Dec 2009, 11:31 am
@NZINCHINA:
Nah – but at the time we were part of the British Empire so I guess it counts
10 Dec 2009, 11:32 am
What’s the difference between Santa and Tiger Woods? … Santa stop after 3 ho’s
Then of course there is Conrad Jantjes, who played trials for Chelsea Football Club when he was a teenager – also a supremely gifted sportsman.
Great player, but even he could be better.
Seems to me, he like Matfield, has the tendency to be a bit precious and coast – perhaps its cos they have won everything – but what makes SA so dangerous is when these guys are fully committed and putting the ir boddies on the line.
FdP could def work on speeding up his service and cut-down on the kicking, he has a good pass, but could be even nippier to the tacklepoint.
He is a great player, but I hope he improves this and breaks more around the edges even if he gets the odd crumpling hit put on him, ala burger, this is where he is also so dangerous.
10 Dec 2009, 11:34 am
howdy all
wow, that graeme is a laugh right?
anyways, this topic is basically dead. most people agree that fdp is an unbelievable rugby player but any attempts to quantify how great he is are bound to be subjective.
on another note, jeff wilson and christian cullen?
simply sublime.
10 Dec 2009, 11:36 am
what a genius fdp is….I expect them to announce that he has found the definitive cure for aids soon… apparently he is due to spend his holidays in the middle east so look forward to “breaking news” from that region…thats what my contacts in the Hammas coaching set up tell me…. one dimensional indeed…
10 Dec 2009, 11:37 am
@cab: one thing that tells you exactly how good fdp is, is the number of late and cheap shots his opponents subject him to, usually very early in the game.
every standout player goes through this (barring bakkies it seems
) for instance, dan carter aand reechee (lotta tequilla spear tackle comes to mind).
par for the course but it tells its own story of who is rated by the opposition.
10 Dec 2009, 11:38 am
@rangerman: ADD TO THAT TIM HORAN , DANIE GERBER
10 Dec 2009, 11:39 am
@gunther: hope he doesnt get locked up like that air india pilot.
the A-rabs are a little touchy at the moment in that new babylon, dubai.
10 Dec 2009, 11:39 am
@rangerman:
yeah, perhaps thats it, all i know he seems to be doing an awful lot of rolling around on the ground like an italian roundballer of late. most bulle just get up, even if their leg is amputated…
10 Dec 2009, 11:41 am
Naas Botha, Michael and Carel Duplessis, Gerber and of course, Flecky.
10 Dec 2009, 11:41 am
@sharks_lover: too true.
10 Dec 2009, 11:42 am
Just read the article and it is ludicrously over the top. Comparing players in different positions is pointless but by my count the world’s most influential/important players rank as follows…..
McCaw
Carter
FDP
O’Driscoll
Giteau
FDP is a quality scrum-half but he clearly has flows. He was outplayed at times by Mike Phillips in summer, who is no world-beater himself, and really disappointed in the EOYT’s.
10 Dec 2009, 11:43 am
@cab: f steyn
lol hiyas cabby
10 Dec 2009, 11:44 am
@cab: mate, when you get hit late, with a shoulder or swinging arm, by a guy who is you plus 40%, you are entitled to a little roll on the grass.
and remember, it happened in the first lions test (late shoulder charge into touch) and the frogs test and both times, the opposing side was penalised for it straight away, putting an end to it for the rest of the game.
10 Dec 2009, 11:45 am
@skopskiet: Talk about a one dimensional blogger!
Skopskiet is a one trick ponie!
@Just Another Paddy: i have also seen a few games where cockott outplayed fdup
in saying that i am not saying cocky is better then fdup
but fdup i agree is not the genius some make him out to be
@Karoolander: Or, is that a One Post Ponie?
10 Dec 2009, 11:48 am
@Just Another Paddy: mate, your list is ludicrous, sorry.
giteau has accomplished what?
where are matfield and bakkies?
if you really want to talk about individuals that have an effect then surely john smit must be there? thats if you are pointing to bod’s inspirational leadership of ireland and in the club game?
lets be serious, take any one of fdp, js, victor or bakkies out of the bok side and you lose a huge part of the team.
and i havent even started to tell you about how important the most underrated flanker in world rugby, juan smith, is to the bok machine.
10 Dec 2009, 11:49 am
@rangerman:
that is the problem with genius it is not recognised by everybody…what did the air india pilot do?
10 Dec 2009, 11:52 am
@rangerman:
Sorry Ranger the list ain’t big enough to have the whole Bokke side on it. JS doesn’t make the list because he’s not a world class player, captain yes player no.
10 Dec 2009, 11:53 am
@gunther: he stood surety for his sons car in dubai about five years ago and then his son wrote the car off and skipped town.
daddy was arrested and held for two days and then picked up by our glorious gravy train fukwit embassy officials (he is a saffa) and dropped off at a taxi rank with no cash and having been without his diabetes medicine for two days.
apparently the embassy officials conduct will be probed, preferably with a cattle prod but more likely by graeme’s uncle.
10 Dec 2009, 11:54 am
@NZINCHINA: i differ on that mate.
but what about matfield and bakkies?
lets be serious here, giteau doesnt belong on the same page as those two.
10 Dec 2009, 11:55 am
@sharks_lover:
bru fantasy rugby does not count…
10 Dec 2009, 11:56 am
@sharks_lover:
Hi SL
yeah Frans Steyn great player too, but not the playmaker this article is all about, just sheer exhurberance and physical talent. Actually sharks lost a bad one there. was v dissapointed to see that loss.
@rangerman:
yeah wilko also used to roll like that even tho he’s tackle so well, used to drive me mad.
10 Dec 2009, 11:59 am
@rangerman:
Agree they should be on the list not Smit though, think you need to be the best in your position in the world to make the list – Bakkies / Matfield / McCaw / Carter.
10 Dec 2009, 12:00 pm
@cab: in that 55-3 game, wilko was targetted early probably under instruction for rudolph the red nosed dumbass.
it wasnt a red card imo and big hit, arbiter of all things fair, agrees with me.
but a yeallow certainly.
wilko at that stage was the best rugby player in the world imo.
this year, it was fdp.
10 Dec 2009, 12:01 pm
@NZINCHINA: …..and fdp?
10 Dec 2009, 12:01 pm
@Kobus Kitty: kobus p*ssy seemingly you worship fourie, unfortunately for you i worship no rugby player! Some are highly skilled than others but at no point will ever hear me gaan aan the way ryan vrede is doing in that article., like i said in an earlier post, du preez is good with a particular game plan and doesn’t seem to like varying it – that is no sign of a genius to me. If that rubs you up the wrong way, so be it!
10 Dec 2009, 12:02 pm
@rangerman:
another success for sa’s legendary diplomatic corps then…. quite honestly I am surprised they found the time in between feeling up their secretaries and shopping….
@NZINCHINA:
don’t make me larf…. you guys would love him at hooker…
10 Dec 2009, 12:06 pm
@gunther: the embassy bmw’s aircon was playing up so they had to get back to their compound before someone saw them sweating and thought hard work was endemic in our diplomatic corps.
10 Dec 2009, 12:07 pm
i am very dissapointed that roy has decided to ignore all pleas for the numbered relies to return.
maybe he has applied for a diplomatic posting in a land far away.
10 Dec 2009, 12:07 pm
@rangerman:
He had a fantastic year this year up until the NH tour, pre 09′ I thought he was good but nothing speical, I supposed I am too one eyed and compare him to a guy like McCaw who very very rarely when fully FIT has an off game, I’ve seen FDP have plenty of off days at the office and look very ordinary but sure he makes the list this year, I’m no expert though Ranger just my thoughts.
10 Dec 2009, 12:10 pm
@gunther:
Nah mate Kevey around the park runs rings around him,in any case his bum is too big to get into the tight AB shorts.
10 Dec 2009, 12:11 pm
as soon as someone mentions anything about “auras” and “presence” i know i’m being bullsh!tted!!!!!!!!!!!!
Morné Steyn believes Francois Hougaard can develop into a scrumhalf in Fourie du Preez’s class.
It seems a bold prediction to make of a 21-year-old who is yet to reach a stage in his career where he commands a regular place in the match 22 of a full strength Bulls side. However, Hougaard has displayed an aptitude and attitude that belies his age and has undoubtedly made a strong impression in his first full season in the Bulls’ senior side.
He deputised well in Du Preez’s injury-enforced absence in the Super 14, then embraced the challenge of playing wing and then centre in the Bulls’ Currie Cup campaign.
That coach Frans Ludeke would include him in his run-on side out of position says everything about his estimation of the player. He has already communicated to Hougaard that he sees him as Du Preez’s successor, and Steyn, who has played numerous matches with the world’s pre-eminent No 9 at the Bulls and more recently with the Springboks, believes he can be every bit as good.
‘He’s so unbelievably talented,’ Steyn gushed to keo.co.za. ‘You saw that by how well he did playing at scrumhalf in the Super 14 against some of the world’s best players. I’m not sure how many 21-year-olds would have made the step up that easily.
‘Now in the Currie Cup he’s played centre and wing. You could probably pop him in at fullback as well and he would do really well. You get some freakishly talented players like that once or twice in a generation. Frans Steyn is one and I think Francois is another.
Hougaard is, understandably, yet to develop the all-round excellence and aura that Du Preez possesses and Steyn lamented his absence, enforced as a result of a haematoma in his thigh, for their crucial match against the Cheetahs at Loftus on Saturday.
‘Fourie is a big loss,’ he said. ‘He is world-class and he makes it so much easier for a flyhalf because he has a superb kicking game that takes pressure off you, he can snipe around the ruck fringe, and has a crisp pass that gives you the extra split second to make a decision to kick, run or pass.
10 Dec 2009, 12:12 pm
@NZINCHINA: no expert either mate.
you didnt think he was sensational at the 2007 wc?
i did i must be honest. he almost singlehandedly destroyed the poms and the argies.
that was the same year he sparked the bulls to a 96-3 victory over the reds and then was an important part of….gnash gnash…fk! fk! fk!…..the bulls s14 victory.
my point is he is no flash in the pan.
10 Dec 2009, 12:14 pm
fourie is good if he can kick the leather of the ball but for pure rugby genius and being the finest rugby player the last five years that accolade belongs only to one man and that is the great brian o’driscoll.bod was always a great attacker but he has added great defensive abilities to his game in the last few years to make him the most complte rugby player of this era.
10 Dec 2009, 12:17 pm
@NZINCHINA: haha, kevey mealamu?
does he still play for the ab’s?
10 Dec 2009, 12:19 pm
@Valkyrie: hmmm……again, i think victor matfield is just as amazing a player, albeit in a different position.
and carter or mccaw would challenge for that title (last five years) as would george smith, gregan or larkham.
10 Dec 2009, 12:26 pm
@Hurricane:
He faced Genia for the first time in brisbane and he was shown how to play real rugby.
@rangerman: you are probably right mentioning those players but the wonderful thing about this blog is that it’s just my opinion and one hundred others might have different opinions,which is great and which i respect,in a democratic society as long as we don’t kill one another for having different opinions.
@rangerman: ok, ok, maybe not gregan
10 Dec 2009, 12:28 pm
@Valkyrie: hundred percent.
its a discussion man, as long as it doesnt get personal, alls good.
10 Dec 2009, 12:28 pm
@NZINCHINA:
that guy couldn’t find his lineout jumpers with a map and a compass…
10 Dec 2009, 12:30 pm
@wallabie.: haha, walla, genia is a serious talent no doubt.
in fact, the wallas may just get their house in order at just the right time for 2011.
obviously i hope they do as i want to see the best possible rugby.
who will be the long term replacement for stirling walla?
10 Dec 2009, 12:34 pm
Good nickname for FdP – “Neo” as in the Matrix.
Arise, “Neo” du Preez, the One.
10 Dec 2009, 12:37 pm
Whether FDP is a genius, we’ll see next year or so. For now, he just a very good player who enjoyed overall very good season.
To be a genius one has to play exceptionally well at least some consecutive years. Just my opinion.
10 Dec 2009, 12:42 pm
@Nils: Have you watched any SA rugby these past few years?
10 Dec 2009, 12:48 pm
@Heavens Game: Yes. That’s why I am sceptical.
He was very good in 2007 in S14 and in the WC. Meanwhile was poor in 3N.
He was poor in the whole 2008 except November tour.
And he was very good in 2009 S14 and 3N. +/- average vs Lions and poor in November.
I did not see him enough in CC, I admit. He hardly featured there before 08 anyway. Must have been good this year.
10 Dec 2009, 12:50 pm
FDP was brilliant in 2007 …. think the ELV’s & captaincy & a injury or 2 made him have a avg 2008
10 Dec 2009, 12:53 pm
@Nils: Okay, fair enough.
10 Dec 2009, 12:55 pm
@Sonito:
Joost?
Marshall?
Gregan?
In their prime were better than FDP. All the above players had better all round skills.
Then you dont mention any of the NH players.
You go into a dribble when Ryan writes his usual fantasy stories.
10 Dec 2009, 12:56 pm
Thing is … if you had to choose a all time bok team from 1992 – 2009, most ppl would choose FDP … that means, he’ll get picked above Joost & Garth Wright …. that says a moer of alot!
10 Dec 2009, 12:58 pm
@rangerman:
Matt Dunning.
He has speed and can kick for posts.
10 Dec 2009, 13:00 pm
@wallabie.: Looks like young man Genia is the next big thing.
10 Dec 2009, 13:06 pm
@SABC: Maybe because many people do not remember that well past legends in their prime.
Like choosing Radiohead over Pink Floyd.
10 Dec 2009, 13:08 pm
@Nils: no contest Nils, floyd all the way…
10 Dec 2009, 13:12 pm
@poppa69: Which does not mean in any way Radiohead are bad, of course.
They are very good. Just lose when compared to proper legends.
10 Dec 2009, 13:13 pm
Fdp was nowhere near that Bulls demolition of Red’s 96 – 3 in 07 or against Crusaders in semi, he was out nursing some bruised hip joint or other, it was the little general genius Adams behind the scrum in both those 2 crucial games otherwise if Fdp hadn’t got injured Bulls wouldn’t have sufficed or made the play offs let alone final.
In the final Fdp was busy stuffing it up letting Sharks get the upper hand throughout until Habana stole it at the death for Bulls, and Butch and F. Steyn coughed it up to them on a plate, else Fdp would never have raised that trophy that day.
Thank Adams for getting them to the final and Sharks for choking it up to them on a plate, but it had sweet f.all to do with Fdp winning it whatsoever.
10 Dec 2009, 13:21 pm
@wallabie.:
Please boet none of those players had a better all round game than FDP. They all had weakness.
Joost had no kicking game, Marshall had a **** pass, and gregan also had a weak kicking game.
So if you comaparing a all round game then FDP is the closest to a complete scrumhalf with no obvious weakness.
So your comment is actually pretty stupid!!
10 Dec 2009, 13:30 pm
Fdp is no scrum half he’d make a decent fly half though.
10 Dec 2009, 13:34 pm
skopskiet you are enlightened, definately at least someone sees fourie for what he really is: one dimensional.. ( to say the least)
10 Dec 2009, 13:41 pm
pity enlightenment only comes in small doses and is rarely found amongst the ravaged deluded multitude pack. To see one has to open ones eyes beyond the delusion of fictional grandeur. Poor fools still can’t realize just who it was lost us 2008 tri nations or Eoyt 2009 vs Ireland and France. None other than his holiness Fdp himself, none other.
10 Dec 2009, 13:47 pm
@graeme1:
Usebenzani? Uhlalapi?
10 Dec 2009, 13:50 pm
Eish Bra Skopskiet, I agree with you but with all due respect the way you keep repeating yourself; you’re starting to sound like Hondo with his incessant ramblings about certain players in the bok squad.
10 Dec 2009, 13:51 pm
Adi jacobs cost us the EOY games … i know he didn’t play, but he is so k@k ..his k@kness rubbed off on the other players … Quota!!!!!!!!!
10 Dec 2009, 14:04 pm
Rugby genius??? thats why he dominated his Irish and french opposite on the recent tour ???? sorry i dont think he did. A very good player but come on…
Look if it makes this Keo site happy maybe we need to contact these rugby no names Will Greenwood, Gavin Hastings, Raphaël Ibanez, Francois Pienaar, Agustin Pichot, Scott Quinnell, Tana Umaga, Paul Wallace and convenor John Eales, I have heard of a few of there names but they obviuosly dont no a lot about rugby and tell them huge mistake they have made, they have left out a GENIUS
10 Dec 2009, 14:13 pm
How do you think the voting went ?
Will Greenw = BoD
Gavin H = BoD
Ibanez = FDP
FP = FDP
Pichot = McCaw (probably didn’t watch any rugby)
Scott Q = BoD
Umaga = McCaw
Wallace = McCaw
Eales = McCaw
10 Dec 2009, 14:24 pm
One of my favourite players. Like him plenty.
10 Dec 2009, 14:29 pm
NZNCHINA…
About the Goldie rumours… you’re sowing confusion here saying he married a netball player…
In SA men play netball too…
@Nils:
for sure…
They called Ok Computer The Dark Side of the Moon for the 1990s…
never heard anyone call Dark Side of the Moon the Ok Computer of the 70s…!!
10 Dec 2009, 14:35 pm
Skoppie sometimes you can make me laugh on this site that is even in in spite of the absolute drivel that you continually post,Transvaal were the first sa team to win a super rugby cup but the bulls are the first sa team to win 2super rugby cups and the FIRST sa team to win a super rugby cup and the currie cup in the same season it was a pity we got beat in the vodacom cup final or that would have been some hat-trick,now laugh at that.
10 Dec 2009, 14:52 pm
@Sonito: To play cricket
10 Dec 2009, 14:53 pm
@graeme1: @skopskiet: once again we are back to skops greatest argument , fourie is one dimensional? i think i now know your entire rant
first you’re gonna say all he does is kick
then you’re gonna blast someone for replying to your post then then you’re gonna attack morne steyn (at least you have a point here) then you’re gonna attack the Bok senior “ballerinas ” and you’ll want them to be replaced by worthier players
correct so far?
10 Dec 2009, 14:54 pm
@WP Till I Die: Wheres John Allan, a bit more recent
10 Dec 2009, 14:56 pm
Skoppie is Back! Skop have you spotted Habana prancing around in your town?
10 Dec 2009, 15:00 pm
@west: dont be stupid man , we all know there would have been trouble if BOD was chosen especially after the Senior Irish player thing and besides BOD was AWol during the EOYT .
FDP on the otherhand deserved the trophy becuase he’s the best player on the panet period!!! BUT with that Saffa hating D*ck Eales in the judges panel FDP had no chance .in the end they thought why not pick Mccaw who to be honest sort of deserved it if you really think about it .
10 Dec 2009, 15:00 pm
I heared that the Sharks are negotiating with Madiba to coach them in 2010.
10 Dec 2009, 16:01 pm
@skopskiet: With such wonderful command of the English language you must be the Sunday Times crossword puzzle champ.
10 Dec 2009, 17:12 pm
@skopskiet: I wondered if this article would bring you out of retirement.
10 Dec 2009, 17:18 pm
@SodaJoe: i knew for sure he was nevergoing to last in banishment….You Soda drove him away with your biltong recipes!!!!
10 Dec 2009, 17:21 pm
@Transformation: Well I better not tell him that my “genius” biltong recipes were given to me by Fourie Du Preez, that will have him jumping off Hangklip.
10 Dec 2009, 17:30 pm
@SodaJoe: lol
, that would really will him over the edge!
10 Dec 2009, 18:45 pm
@SodaJoe:
are you in fact hannibal the cannibal?
10 Dec 2009, 18:54 pm
@gunther: I do like a fine Chianti.
10 Dec 2009, 18:56 pm
Ryan has done FDP a huge disservice by penning his name to this article… FDP now has to go through life with the baggage of having a doos rate him great… This can break a player..
Its the same feeling that many young boys have when their mothers dress them funny and call them wonderful.
10 Dec 2009, 19:04 pm
@Langenhoven: lol…where did that come from? you’re weird
10 Dec 2009, 19:07 pm
I reckon this GRAEME1 guy is a white dude pretending to be a black racist! Sad… His other comments on other threads are pro white. Maybe him and this new “LANGENHOVEN!” is the same guy
10 Dec 2009, 19:14 pm
@Transformation: The genius that is langenhoven is a scarce one…lol
@The Dude: Don’t know much about those about Graeme1 but as for the other twat that try to steal my nick… he obviously wish he was me.. I am flattered.. I’ve got a groupie
10 Dec 2009, 19:18 pm
Now Obama is defending the war in the middle East??
Interesting about face!
10 Dec 2009, 19:23 pm
@Karoolander: and therefore white rugby players are better than black rugby players… ????
10 Dec 2009, 19:29 pm
Chat later… will be back.. moenie skinner nie
10 Dec 2009, 19:31 pm
Waars daai lastige klein liberalis?
10 Dec 2009, 19:43 pm
@The Dude: i picked that up on his 2nd post (rant)…the 1st one was a random one posted all in caps lock. Their website is boring as **** and is a total failure now they cannot get themselves to comeback here and blog they would rather see this place also in disarray admit to the futility that is their blog.
As for graeme1 he’s been found out.
10 Dec 2009, 19:47 pm
Thank goodness, Skop is back……and Ethel!! It has been too long Ethel!
FDP has a very distinctive hairline too….making identification easy, the sun often bounces off his extended brow line!
10 Dec 2009, 19:55 pm
@carol: CAROL! You’re a girl… white top with blue writing or black top with white writing? The black looks very casual… but the blue and white go with Stormers/ WP…
10 Dec 2009, 20:13 pm
all this speculation whether somebody is black or white, pink or blue or who’s who in the zoo, what the hell has that got to do with the price of ostrich eggs. Seems to me the holy white triumpherate is still under some fictitious illusion that this sport belongs to them lock stock and smoking barrel, and any player or supporter not of holy Caucasian blood line with royal European ancestry is still classified as 2nd class citizen or second class rugby supporter or player, and only with the belligerant disdain of the instilled status quo does he get lavished some demeaning kind of compromised acceptance. This snot nosed superiority complex better take another good hard look at itself before it falls foul of its own infatuated self induced delusions of superior aspirated grandeur.
In this country this sport is still regarded as the bastion of white supremacy, just take a good hard look at the posts flying around this place. Players like Heinie Adams should never have hidden their talents under a bushel for the sake of these other overrated self righteous pale faces to collect all the praise and accolades boosting up their over infatuated ego’s to the limits. Adams should have bust loose from under this rock of super delusional demi god infatuation long ago instead of providing them the platform to pose around as some kind of grandiose human rugby genius while he himself goes largely unnoticed and unappreciated.
10 Dec 2009, 20:17 pm
@SpringbokSarah: Sarah, sorry you have lost me there!!
Do you need wardrobe assistance for a ‘Hot Date’ or are you designing a new Stormers kit?
10 Dec 2009, 20:21 pm
@carol: lol no, just designing a t-shirt for a fan page
10 Dec 2009, 20:22 pm
@skopskiet: At least on a par with past classic Skopticisms. Minimum 3 Tshirts in there.
But I must take issue with this: “holy Caucasian blood line with royal European ancestry” – there is only 1 King Joseph Of The Northlands – and I think that I am quite even handed.
10 Dec 2009, 20:27 pm
“superior aspirated grandeur”
sounds like an advert for a rolls royce…
10 Dec 2009, 20:35 pm
@gunther: overrated self righteous pale faces to collect all the praise and accolades boosting up their over infatuated ego’s to the limits.
Sounds like an advert for a Bentley.
10 Dec 2009, 20:36 pm
@skopskiet: well you are just going to have to deal with it. Morne Steyn was interviewed and he could not stop heaping praise at FH and now Fourie du Preez also completely overlooks Heinie Adams, not even a mention, and nominates FH as his likely successor who has all the required attributes.
This is either a coincidence or these players know something that Heinie Adams is not aware of.
10 Dec 2009, 20:37 pm
@SodaJoe: snowstorms?
10 Dec 2009, 20:42 pm
Skop, some of your old friends have returned from exile. Seemingly the promised land has become deserted and barren.
10 Dec 2009, 20:42 pm
belligerant(sp) disdain of the instilled the status quo
sounds like an advert for general motors…
10 Dec 2009, 20:44 pm
Soda, Gunther
10 Dec 2009, 20:46 pm
its a rock spiders broeder bond club simple and klaar no rocket science needed here to eke out the incestuous mode of self preservation of the disenfranchised species.
10 Dec 2009, 20:48 pm
largely unnoticed and unappreciated
I’m thinking toyota…
10 Dec 2009, 20:48 pm
@SpringbokSarah: Black sort of says ‘Sharks’ to me….better stick to the Stormer Blue!!
10 Dec 2009, 20:49 pm
Eish, it seems like Skop used the break to recharge his vocab. Fark me, fickadilly philandering phillistines.
10 Dec 2009, 20:51 pm
@SodaJoe: @gunther:
Evening to the Comedy Duo….
Aspirated is a very ‘Top Gear’ word!!
10 Dec 2009, 20:51 pm
such are the pitfalls of promised lands as soon as you arrive in Valhalla you can’t wait to get your sordid mind all wallowing back in skinner and snot en trane again. Pristine purity ain’t for the faint hearted, pity they didn’t realize it to begin with.
10 Dec 2009, 20:52 pm
@carol:
normally aspirated vs turbo reverse….
which is better…
turbo reverse can be very tricky in traffic…
10 Dec 2009, 20:53 pm
Gunther, and now Grant and JR also resigned temporarily. JR wants to spend time at his business and Grant wants to pluck his hairy back.
10 Dec 2009, 20:55 pm
@Big Hit: Yesterday. Now just fkn cold -20C
10 Dec 2009, 20:56 pm
@gunther: super delusional demi god infatuation – Lamborghini.
10 Dec 2009, 20:57 pm
rock spiders broeder bond club simple and klaar no rocket science – John Deere
no rocket science needed here
definitely land rover…
Hairy back??
I have been out of circulation because the bloody market picks up and i cant keep up!!
Fantastic i tell you….now my Consultants got me running round like a chicken without a head, but its lekker!!
Tuesday next week doung some presentations in Skops world, Fish Hoek and Simonstownn.
Turn my back for 2 days and i see the Argies and Namibians infiltrate our competetions!! Also lekker.
Now for that announcement that the Bok scrum gonna lose the reverse gear and Xmas will be made!
10 Dec 2009, 20:58 pm
how’s your smoked cow doing hanging in your pantry oh even handed St. Joseph of the Northlands?
10 Dec 2009, 20:59 pm
@gunther: I like just average asperations for road driving….
Turbo reverse saved for when amorous creep staggers over to you at the office party!! Engage turbo reverse as quickly as the high heels will let you and get outta there!!
10 Dec 2009, 20:59 pm
“soon as you arrive in Valhalla you can’t wait to get your sordid mind all wallowing” – definitely a Valiant with that long front seat, navigating the gear-lever with that girl who KNEW 2′nd base was the FURTHEST you were going to get even if you swore undying love.
10 Dec 2009, 21:00 pm
Wheres the Broerderbonders???
Was there trouble in Paradise again???
Aiii….seclusion never works….Long Street last Fri nite….the vibrancy of diversity,,,,,,awesome!
10 Dec 2009, 21:01 pm
Grant,
welcome back! Rather use veet spray for that fur on your back.
10 Dec 2009, 21:01 pm
@grant10: Slappes comment just made me ‘anxious’ all over again!!
Business sounds just great!! Parties kicking in yet?
10 Dec 2009, 21:02 pm
‘Fourie du Preez has established himself as the finest player on the planet’. Where on earth they gorge up these tinsel town hollywood movie scripts?
Man….did i have an interesting chat with a Shark yesterday morning…..***** bells….
@skopskiet: NO SMOKE. But she be drying, hopefully with enough coriander because she may have too much salt (too long curing) and lotsa pepper (a good thing).
If they invent a veggie biltong I will give it a go. I do like guava roll a lot.
Grant, are you a bit hairy?
10 Dec 2009, 21:03 pm
@grant10: Welcome back.
10 Dec 2009, 21:05 pm
@Slappes: Cool tip!!LOL
@carol: Ja…just back from the Radisson Hotel now….cocktail and a launch of a mates new law firm…..Champagne was awful….My neighbours a lot better!
So it was a glass of champers and 3 beers….then an old flame sidled up to chat, i crapped myself and ran home!!
The blonde would be proud!
10 Dec 2009, 21:06 pm
from iol….
Rescue services are calling for a Cape Town paddler to urgently report to authorities – if he made it to shore alive.
A small army of Cape Town’s rescue services spent until midnight last night searching fruitlessly for a paddler reported to be battling off the Clifton coast.
The NSRI’s Craig Lambinon said the alarm had been raised at about 8pm when witnesses reported seeing a paddler on a white surfski or kayak repeatedly falling off his craft off the rocky shoreline at Clifton’s First Beach
anyone seen robzim?
that bit about “repeatedly falling off” alerted me
10 Dec 2009, 21:06 pm
@grant10: Ok give me the skinder. I am seriously avoiding work, which today is not a good thing, but I have no backbone.
10 Dec 2009, 21:07 pm
@carol: Hairy? Me?
LOL….Well i have to shave once a day…..but certainly not gonna win the Gorilla contest!
@SodaJoe: Hi boet….never left…but thank you kindly.
10 Dec 2009, 21:08 pm
@charo: Well I spoke to Robzim lateish, do you think he took his canoe out afterwards?
@charo: Brilliant.
she be drying or dying, oh of course she be dead already, bet you didn’t drain out all her blood yourself, or did you manage to grit your teeth through all that? With a peg on your nose. And then they have the gall to call us **** sapiens civilized. How quaint.
10 Dec 2009, 21:09 pm
@charo: Charo….had helicopters last nite 100m from my spot….huge flashlights, etc, divers in the sea, i was up at crack of dawn to see if anyone washed up on the beach this morning….Hectic i tell you!
10 Dec 2009, 21:10 pm
@SodaJoe: Will let you know once i have some concrete confirmation…..
10 Dec 2009, 21:11 pm
@grant10: We thought that you had joined Skops in the land of the long white clouds, or were trying to rescue KayakBimbo.
There was considerable discourse about your 3 Speedo options, but the consensus is that you’re a die-hard Mark Spitz kinda guy.
Skops has been discussing motorized vehicles and teaching us bigger words than usual.
@grant10: More schmoozing with the ‘suits’!!
Very impressed with your tactics with the ex, actually sounds as though you engaged ‘Trubo Reverse’ too!! Heheheheh
You should have a bone to pick with Soda and Gunther they were discussing your swimming wear AGAIN last night!!
PS You did not appear to be very hairy when I met you, but I did not see the beach wear G10!!
@grant10: That hasn’t held you back before, don’t get all fkn coy on me. I’ll even lend you the Valiant.
10 Dec 2009, 21:12 pm
That rescue attempt was something to behold, those chopper pilots are highly skilled, the noise was insane…..felt like i could reach out of balcony and touch the choppers!
10 Dec 2009, 21:12 pm
Oh looks like Soda confessed BEFORE I dobbed him in!!
10 Dec 2009, 21:13 pm
long as its not Robzim though Clifton I doubt is his spot. He’s a Blaauwberg paddler is our Rob of the Northlands
10 Dec 2009, 21:13 pm
@carol: I heard that when you take that one-piece Speedo off it rips all the hair off. Just like that.
10 Dec 2009, 21:14 pm
Charo,
@skopskiet: If KayakBimbo is trying to usurp my kingdom he better watch himself.
(which may be why he’s doing doggie paddle in freezing cold water).
@SodaJoe: Do you have any idea what Skop was trying to say then?
His use of English is like nothing I have encountered before and I am familiar with Chaucer and Shakespeare and that is double dutch!!
10 Dec 2009, 21:16 pm
@carol: Princess Duck of The Waterlogged Bogs where the pigs & sheep are hungry. Be careful. Dobbing me in is not good.
10 Dec 2009, 21:16 pm
@carol: No one understands Skops. It is double-clutch.
10 Dec 2009, 21:17 pm
@SodaJoe: LOL….Skop has me concerned with the FDP being the main problem…..i thought the Turbo reverse scrum was the issue, now skop has me doubting myself….
Soda ,, seems we will be getting our way re Smit…..seems a move to 2 on the cards at Sharks too…..Burden the big loser, poor sod turned down a lucrative Lions offer…..should of gone with Muir as 1 st choice lions 2….
@carol: It was a different ex….not Sienna….Sienna i turbo boost forward …not in reverse….i am only human!
10 Dec 2009, 21:17 pm
Now Skop on 314 I did understand!!
10 Dec 2009, 21:18 pm
Grant, spill the beans or sardines mate! Eish that guy was mad to go out in that freezing water?
10 Dec 2009, 21:21 pm
Skop….you would of been in heaven at the Long Street WC party….wall to wall sulrty South American beauties….seriously wonderful atmosphere…..amazing bands and the candy was so damn hot……
I was well catered for as the Dutch were out in force, some blondes to lose a whole range of electrical appliances for !
10 Dec 2009, 21:21 pm
Thanks for the concern, I am really touched
but it was not me.
Those racing surfski’s are very tipsy, flippen hard to get back on if you “go for a swim” in choppy conditions
The guy probably made it though – otherwise someone would have raised an alarm this morning.
Unless he is (was) a loner with no friends or family to “report” back to.
10 Dec 2009, 21:23 pm
@Slappes: Water is not that cold Slappes….seriously.
Been a decent temperature for at least a week now….
Missed my swim this afternoon with the suits cocktail…..
But will be there 1 st thing tomorrow……gonna sneak out to watch that Invictus tomorrow.
10 Dec 2009, 21:24 pm
@Robzim: Glad you okay!!LOL
Bloody sea been warm and like a lake….so i am sure the oke is fine…
10 Dec 2009, 21:25 pm
Robzim! You survived? Good on ya mate!
10 Dec 2009, 21:26 pm
Neighbour calling me…..time for some proper champers…..
Be cool….
Outta here….
10 Dec 2009, 21:27 pm
@Robzim: Honestly. I sent out the St Bernard. But he can’t swim, so barked on the beach. As it got late I had to drink the whiskey barrel. Sorry. My intentions were good.
@Robzim: Thank heavens for that, you are still with us, not being nibbled by fish!!
You OK?
@Robzim:
aaah robzim.
thank goodness…we were all beside ourselves with worry.
report seemed so …. i don’t know…..just you
10 Dec 2009, 21:28 pm
@grant10: Grant, take a hanky to the film, you will be weeping buckets!!
I hope it comes out in the UK…I’m out with Gillie this evening, no champagne tho!!
See you.
10 Dec 2009, 21:29 pm
@grant10:
must have been blowing onshore for a bit
10 Dec 2009, 21:29 pm
@grant10:
Probably a false alarm then. You serious about the choppers et al?
@Slappes:
Howzit Slappes, long time no see, Have you started training for next season at CFR RFC or are u guys also following Tim Noakes’s theories?
10 Dec 2009, 21:31 pm
Grant, enjoy mate. Soda
10 Dec 2009, 21:32 pm
@SodaJoe:
I appreciate it man, hope u enjoyed the whiskey.
Nice speech by your president, what do u say?
10 Dec 2009, 21:35 pm
@carol:
Hi,
No fish, I saw Grant said he had a chat with a shark but I have not seen one for quite a while.
I’m OK, you?
10 Dec 2009, 21:38 pm
Sultry Brazilian Beauties worthwhile to go get lost down Long street for awhile even if they are just soccer babes, who cares which type of ball is their calling.
Ok enough kak praat. . out now.
10 Dec 2009, 21:40 pm
honestly I do have to work. Fk. Fk. Fk. Bye.
@Robzim: Glory, did Grant see a shark in Clifton?
I’m great thanks, the running is improving…I will mail u about that, want to ask your advice on something!
Now beer o’clock, well wine o’clock….time to hit Burford the sleepy Cotswold town (on a hill) with a mate!!
See you all……
Robzim, pre-season training in full swing. Not too hectic yet and the heat is k@k. Tim noakes theories is for sissies!
10 Dec 2009, 21:47 pm
@Slappes:
That is the spirit, Tim’s theories are only for Villagers and Hammies and similar “softy” clubs.
At CFR and Durbanville we do not trust that science.
10 Dec 2009, 21:52 pm
Robzim,
right you are. Science for us is space travel.
10 Dec 2009, 21:57 pm
Rob, seems like Ill be playing at 7. EISH!
10 Dec 2009, 22:04 pm
@Slappes:
are you still playing 1st team club rugby?
less of the “softy” bit re villagers.
was my club for a year eons ago
10 Dec 2009, 22:12 pm
@charo:
Hi Charo,
Don’t be fooled by the name “Slappes”
He is the modern day’s version of Piet Geldenhuys (from our era)
How is the golf going in Africa?
10 Dec 2009, 22:14 pm
Charo, Yeah training now gonna play again after a long break. Need the training and its gonna be hard but Im up for it. No place for softies
which years did you play?
10 Dec 2009, 22:19 pm
@Robzim:
i used to practice against piet. that oke was so hard it was like tackling an iron bath full of rocks.
golf in africa is going south at a rate of knots.
no rain for months and 34c heat every day.
hardly a blade of grass left on the fairways.
in short – supercrap.
but going on leave in less than 2 weeks so looking forward to some lush kloof fairways
10 Dec 2009, 22:22 pm
@Slappes:
was talked into coming back in 1976 or 1977 – can’t remember exactly.
had been in the merchant navy for 3 years already so was very unfit to start.
but we had a great bunch and enjoyed it.
10 Dec 2009, 22:25 pm
Robzim, lol in my dreams Piet G! Charo just doing it for the fun and love of the game. Also to bliksem those southern suburb moffies.
10 Dec 2009, 22:29 pm
I meant to say Oupa Charo.
10 Dec 2009, 22:36 pm
@Slappes:
when i have a beer with you one day let’s see how quickly you come out with “oupa”
10 Dec 2009, 22:37 pm
@Slappes:
Die manne was tough in die ou dae when it was still a gentleman’s game
You landed on the wrong side of a ruck and it was just studs all over you – the next day your back was “pimpel and pers”.
Charo will know.
10 Dec 2009, 22:44 pm
@Robzim:
my first game was against vd stel (are they still going?) in stellies.
most of the ous were ex wp.
fark me – what an intro to club rugby in wp.
got taken out early at a 22 drop out by the biggest dutchie i had ever seen.
but we beat the ********!!!
10 Dec 2009, 22:46 pm
Charo
Rob, yeah you okes were rof, and the refs allowed it. These days the locks dont bind to the props. Crouch, prop and hooker makes space and the lock just swings! out of sight.
10 Dec 2009, 22:49 pm
Charo, yeah Van der Stel still exists. Theyre still dirty as hell.
10 Dec 2009, 22:54 pm
@Slappes:
old trick.
used to do it at school in practice against the 2nds.
their hooker was a doos of note.
always broke out in a fight.
one day the head was watching.
we all got 6 the next morning.
10 Dec 2009, 23:03 pm
@charo:
Most hookers are doos’ of note.
All the rejects from Stellenbosch University RFC used to play for Van der Stel in the late 70′s and early 80′s.
They were not good at rugby, but brilliant at brawling and their after party’s were epic.
Those were good days.
10 Dec 2009, 23:03 pm
right boys, my connection has now got rigor mortis.
too painful to watch a page download.
chat later
10 Dec 2009, 23:07 pm
I see the boys are gently strolling down memory lane in their zimmers…
10 Dec 2009, 23:09 pm
Gunther,
paddleskis and zimmers!
10 Dec 2009, 23:13 pm
@Slappes:
I don’t now the padleskis … are they polish?
10 Dec 2009, 23:13 pm
All nostalgic on a Thursday night with the festive season and holidays approaching. Thank god for that.
10 Dec 2009, 23:14 pm
@SodaJoe: caught it on the news, not pretty…well not if you’re fond of heat. -20C is snow joke
10 Dec 2009, 23:17 pm
@Robzim:
yep its been a long slog and thats just the rugby…
10 Dec 2009, 23:17 pm
Gunther, nah I think their zimbabwean.
10 Dec 2009, 23:21 pm
Rob, yeah now the shopping madness starts. Though i just love CT over the festive season.
10 Dec 2009, 23:25 pm
@gunther:
@Slappes:
See u guys later, long day tomorrow, but soon the break!
10 Dec 2009, 23:29 pm
Ja Skopdrol.
I could make a ****** out of you, but why should I take all the credit?
10 Dec 2009, 23:33 pm
Some titbits about Skop.
Somebody hollers “Hoe Down” and his girlfriend hits the floor.
He can’t get married to his sweetheart because there’s a law against it
His toilet paper has page numbers on it
10 Dec 2009, 23:40 pm
Have you noticed when somebody disagrees with Skop, he calls them names more fittingly describing his own behaviour?
10 Dec 2009, 23:49 pm
@graeme1:
64. graeme1 :
December 10th, 2009 at 9:18 am
that is one thing about you colonialists you always become personal when you realize you are talking sh@t. the entire sa bok team will be pulvirized in the world cup unless they put 14 balck players on the filed because you whites should rather go to the WWF because that is all you can do good wrestle. stop playing the man and play the ball. i think whites are one dimensional thikers in general, that is why sports like rugby are not for them. they asre pretty much useless at it. they think and act like robots, have been tryig to perfect this so called structured appraoch for the past hundred years now finally when nz and aus temas are in a re building phase, this appraoch has some success and suddenly you are the best in the world wake up you will neve defend that wordl cup, you bloody stupid pale faces, suffering from this deranged mental illness that in for most part uncurrible called an inflated beliet in their own abilites. nothing but a superiority complex that smells like sh@t, thast mental illness can be smelled runnign from you ears and i am gettig the stench through my laptop. i cant wait for malema to become president so we can make like my uncle bob, and clenase africa from your greedey slimy infectious, sludgy, one dimensional, overated, superioity complexed, lack of pigmentation, not from africa, boere and rednecks.this is africa for africans this is not europe, i think your brain cells are still struggiling to acclimatize to our weather that why you thiking smells like dog sh@t. we wil eredicate you dont worry about that…!! remenber there is no more madelas left for you!!! only zumas and malemas. and much more pdv’s ricky’s, adi’s and the likes!!!!! ah this i sso nice, please reply, i would like to hear from your, sewage dumps so i can call enviro services to clean you up. up yours!!!!!
Seems like we have another Langenhoven freedom fighter character around with a huge chip on his shoulder evident from his posts.
What a racist plonker.
11 Dec 2009, 00:18 am
@wooden spoon: Boet he’s a (probably white actually) wind-up merchant. Honestly – probably white.
But where are you now bud?
11 Dec 2009, 01:48 am
@graeme1: Ricky is too fat and black.
And you are too dumb you one dimesional racist twat.Why don’t YOU highlight some weakneses of FdP and JdV? Huh? Whats that? Because there are none? TOSSER! If you don’t understand the game, then dont trawl blog sites pretending to know anything about it. I can think of a few examples right now of Adi’s poor defence. Can you?
Rather go and attend a black power meeting. They need you because its just a matter of time before a coloured is voted in as president because the black ones are to DUMB to make a success of the country.
11 Dec 2009, 02:03 am
@SjamBok: Shimmie. Come on. You’ve been punk’d, scroll maar aan.
11 Dec 2009, 02:31 am
I agree with Skop. The last time I’ve seen FdP play like a genius was against England in pool stages of World Cup 07. I watched the repeat of the BIL tour and lost count after first few mins of just how many times FdP kicks possession away. The thing about FdP is his up ‘n unders always lands about 2 metres ahead of our chasers making it perfect for the opposition to counter-attack. Its nauseating to watch!
Stop the up ‘n unders now
11 Dec 2009, 08:32 am
yawn !!!!He’s good but this is all a bit much. He’s a very good player with a lot of BMT. Who would’nt if they we beyond any criticism from some quarters? He deserves IRB player of the year though and not Richie, just as much as Pdv deserves coach of the year. Lions series and 3N, come on.
11 Dec 2009, 11:45 am
can just laugh at you chaps getting upset about this graeme chap.karoolander and namakwalanner are the same person namely pietman and since he appeared again the nick stealing also started,this graeme chap is probably just pietman.he is trying to be clever,deliberately making spelling errors and this karoolander chap seems to be very fascinated with skoppie as well as rosseneri aka hater. ilooked in on rt last week and read how pietman informed his mates that he was posting on keo again ironically on the same day these wonderful nicks started to appear on keo.
11 Dec 2009, 12:01 pm
Graeme,
I hate to say this but I am a coloured guy the same as you. That is the last time I am going to mention that, so let us ALL leave colour out of rugby…please!
11 Dec 2009, 17:43 pm
I doubt Graeme is of colour. Did not respond to Xhosa, Zulu or Sotho.
11 Dec 2009, 19:15 pm
@SjamBok: lol.graeme is really that idiot pietman but kudus to him for affirming the fact that you are the real racist **** on this site.
11 Dec 2009, 22:21 pm
@Valkyrie:
bit rich coming from you boet
11 Dec 2009, 22:29 pm
So, let me see if I got this right…
Daniel Carter will forever remain the greatest player to run on any rugby field, no matter where, all because of a Lion’s back in ’05? Granted, he had some good games before that, after it too, but still?
Think the criteria to lable any player “pure genius” would be the effect and influence he has not just on the players around him (read John Smit & MCaw), but on the actual game itself. Hence Carter’s Legendary status. Applying that same criteria, RWC ’07 would be FdP’s ‘Lion Series’, if you get my drift. He was good before that, simply awesome during that WC, dreadfull the yr after and back to his best in 2009.
So in my mind, there is absolute no question that FdP is/was the best player on the planet, bar none, for the last 3 seasons. 2008 can seen as a hangover. Quite understandable, actualy! Furthermore, the day Carter can hang a WC medal in his lounge, is when he can be forgiven mediocre showings. Untill then…FdP is the complete player. Pure Genius! He showed it when it mattered in Paris! What happened in Cardiff?
11 Dec 2009, 22:35 pm
Oh btw…I don’t always say this. Most of the time, I get shown the door for going the other way. Phew! This is hard… OK…here it goes!
Nice article Ryan!
11 Dec 2009, 23:23 pm
@BokiNZ:
mate, your kiwi neighbours are going to come down on you within seconds.
dive for cover
12 Dec 2009, 00:23 am
@charo: Let them come! All hot air realy!
Nah honestly, have you ever heard a kiwi say 1 bad word against either MCaw or Carter for the last 4 yrs? Chances are…you’ll be hard pressed. You’ll be equally hard pressed finding more than 5 Saffas giving anyone of their players their same unwavering support!
Now, these 2 blokes are (I’d like to say were but bit too early maybe…) of the best around. Certainly in their respective positions (read FdP – check). Whereas they had huge influence on the outcome of games in the past, of late I would not go as far as say inconsequential but certainly not gamebreaking…OK Carter has won them all the Bleddie Low matches this yr (kiwi’s, I beg you to differ!) but that is to be expected, being a goalkicker. Such was his non-contributions in the other facets of his game (again…read FdP – check)! If I’m allowed to spin it…FdP’s mediocre ’08 season for both franchise and Boks actualy accentuates his importance and gamebreaking ability as shown by the 2 outstanding seasons on either side of it! There…tear it apart if you must!
12 Dec 2009, 00:26 am
@BokiNZ: And of cause the Bulls and Boks’ subsequent showing for that yr. As in 2008
12 Dec 2009, 00:28 am
@BokiNZ: For me, his performance in November 2004 in Paris was even better.
22 year old flyhalf orchestrated total and utter annihilation of France.
By the way, I do not consider Carter as a legend. A bit too early for that. The same applies to Fourie du Preez.
12 Dec 2009, 00:36 am
@BokiNZ: “as shown by the 2 outstanding seasons on either side of it!”
I slightly disagree.
S14 – very good
3N – poor
WC – very good
S14 – poor
3N – poor
November Tests – good
S14 – very good
BIL – average
3N – very good
Novermber Tests – poor
12 Dec 2009, 00:39 am
@Nils: Wasn’t saying FdP a legend either. What I AM saying is HE IS THE BEST PLAYER CURRENTLY and has been for the last 3/4 seasons.
Carter ’04…maybe, but Lions ’05 much bigger occassion. Basically, he single-handedly beat the best of the British. OK, the fact that BOD got double-teamed didn’t help, but will forever remain a mystery if he would’ve had anything to say to Carter in such sublime form. Which brings me to FdP…Similar performances (although different position) in both the WC and S14 Final. Therefore this article, in my mind is just deserves!
12 Dec 2009, 00:44 am
@Nils: Now dissect Carter’s track record since Nov ’04 (as a courtesy) till now and see if you can come up with game after series, after yr of brilliant performances like that? Think ’05 has been Carter’s climax and it’s been all downhill from there, Cardiff being the low. Which means there can be another high…not 2011 though
12 Dec 2009, 00:54 am
after the bok/pom pool game in rwc2007, i said that fdp had taken over the mantle of worlds best rugby player from chris latham.
up to then latham was the best against allcomers.
since rwc2007, dan the man has been brilliant but overall fourie du preez has been the standout rugby player on the planet (sorry for using overboard kiwi adjectives)
12 Dec 2009, 00:54 am
@BokiNZ: “Think ‘05 has been Carter’s climax and it’s been all downhill from there, Cardiff being the low.”
I would not say so. He has many very good games with Crusaders in 06 and 08. And not so few very good games with the ABs, including some notable thrashings of South Africa when he shined.
Likewise, FDP shined in many games for the Bulls and Boks.
As for the FDP best for last 3/4 seasons, well, he shone till 3N, he was poor thereafter.
For that matter BOD shined more this year, as he was very good from the start till the end of the season, captaining the only unbeaten team this year.
For me, BOD is player of the year.
12 Dec 2009, 00:59 am
@BokiNZ: “Cardiff being the low. Which means there can be another high…not 2011 though.”
You know, he went off injured. But I agree, this was low indeed. As for 2011, write them off freely, no problems.
12 Dec 2009, 01:02 am
@BokiNZ: I’m off, it’s deep night here, cheers and have a good day!
12 Dec 2009, 01:16 am
@Nils: BOD? Nah! Definitely not! Good as he may have been for Ireland, he needed to take a Bok scalp from the Lions tour to have achieved that. One of the better performers for the yr? Sure! Player of the yr? No! Mind you…so was the player that ended up with accolade! But…I’ll leave you be! You already in for a sleepness night, just for me saying that! Hope I didn’t re-open any scars/wounds re Cardiff? For that reason I bid you a peacefull nite!
Cheers mate
12 Dec 2009, 01:24 am
@charo: uhmm…agree, if not with the incumbent at the time. Think Carter had the crown still firmly fitted on his brow up to then. But you right about the kiwi superlatives…more their media than the man on the street, but even so. Have you noticed that any other team or player that could be making such claims, becomes then “arguably”…? Or one of the…Would’ve been comical if it weren’t so annoying!
12 Dec 2009, 11:44 am
@charo: don’t call me boet ,you white racist ****!do you get it!
12 Dec 2009, 11:51 am
@Valkyrie: ?
12 Dec 2009, 11:55 am
@Valkyrie: What the devil has got into you today?
You far better than your last 2 posts…
13 Dec 2009, 10:24 am
Oh boy, when an article starts with “Fourie du Preez has established himself as the finest player on the planet.” we must know that it plans to sell on sensationalism. We really need mature sports journalism.
13 Dec 2009, 11:13 am
Those high-quality performances not so noticeable lately..?
14 Dec 2009, 00:43 am
@BokiNZ:
Carter started the 2007 game against France under an injury cloud and was taken off half way through it.
As for one player being better than the next cos of a RWC medal is down right stupid comment. RWC medal is team effort,always has been always will be.
In 2007 i was actually one of the few that was asking us to play Nick Evans as he was having a cracker of a year,playing better than Carter that year.
FDP 2009 was not as good as FdP 2007. He ended on a **** end note and didnt play good at all.As i said earlier on this thread Leonard outplay him against the Baa Baas.
I only see 1-2 seasons,but the rest have been mediocre to satifactory,still better than the Halfbacks we have at ther moment. You said FDP has been the best 3 – 4 seasons,that means in 2005 he was a better player than Carter. 2005,no player in any of there careers have played 3tests against the best of the british like he did.
14 Dec 2009, 01:07 am
@Valkyrie:
mmmmm, and that makes you a…….? Substitute white for any colour of your choice. Just pathetic!
14 Dec 2009, 07:03 am
@Hurricane: FDP at 50% is still three times the player Leonard is, you’re judging FDP by his own high standards.
14 Dec 2009, 10:04 am
@Big Hit:
All i was saying that this year was not the best for FdP,where as some people think he has been the best player on the planet for the last 3-4 years,and that in itself is wrong.
As i said in the Baa Baas game if you watched it Leonard outplayed FdP,but it does not mean Leonard is a better player,i never said that.Maybe you should re read my post,or even open both eyes when reading a comment from a kiwi.
We shall see when Leonard gets a bit more game time and stays infury free.Leonard is a good player,and if you think PdP is 3 to 4 times better than him then your hate for all Kiwi is really clouding your judgement
14 Dec 2009, 11:05 am
@Hurricane: PdP? is that some sort of weird cross between FDP and PDV?
Leonard is ****, Ellis is ****, Cowan is just about average and Weepu is a fatass…let’s not beat around the bush Kelleher and Marshall are still your best 9s.
15 Dec 2009, 13:04 pm
@Big Hit:
sorry Big Hit didnt know you had finally come out of the closet,cos i dont watch Piri’s ***. Well done.
Leonard was doing really well before he got injured in 2007 i think it was,and has been struggling to get fit and stay injury free. I wouldnt call him ****,seemed to do the Job in the NH,mind you for NZ thats not saying much.
17 Dec 2009, 16:22 pm
@graeme1: wow you are clearly quite a stupid person and a real true racist.