Munster drop Bok centre
11 Dec 2009
Jean de Villiers has been axed for Munster’s European Cup match against Perpignan on Friday.
According to the Irish Independent, De Villiers’s midfield partnership with New Zealander Lifeimi Mafi has failed to gel over the course of five Celtic League and two European Cup matches, with Munster losing four of those seven games. De Villiers, however, has been playing out of position at No 13 in order to accomodate Mafi at 12.
The Bok centre, who is on a contract reputed to be worth around €300,000, has been replaced by Ireland international Keith Earls.
In some good news for South African rugby, Wian du Preez will make his European Cup debut for Munster at loosehead prop in the absence of Marcus Horan. The Cheetahs prop has just begun a two-month loan deal with the Irish club.

244 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
11 Dec 2009, 11:15 am
@Sharksgirl: Yes, I think Steyn knows that there are better 10′s out there. But at 12 or 15 he is very, very good.
Its funny how the Sharks were overflowing with centres and now they dont have any that would get selected for the other Super 15 sides. Maybe they will dip into the Free State pool again.
11 Dec 2009, 11:16 am
Comet to the Shark Tank Jean, we would welcome you with open arms.
When the S15 squads get announced i only want 2 things to happen.
1. Alvert vd Berg gets put out to pasture, i dont want to see him anywhere near a Sharks jersey ever again.
2. Same with Ndungane, we do have wings who are actually quicker than our front row you know. eg Mvovu, Vulindlu etc.
Another thing that would ensure my christmas wish comes true is that Grant Bashford finally gets shown up for the hack he really is. Show that man the door Sharks, he hasnt contributed a damn thing since he got there.
If these 3 things happen, my christmas hamper will be full.
11 Dec 2009, 11:16 am
Mbaxman93, He does kick like a donkey…
11 Dec 2009, 11:18 am
No complaints from my side whatsoever.
Give the boy some much needed rest and motivation to return home.
11 Dec 2009, 11:19 am
as for the super 15 who’s jaque fourie playing for ??
11 Dec 2009, 11:23 am
does not sound like a good move at all.
Div was worshipped in SA, he seemed pretty average to me.
11 Dec 2009, 11:26 am
jdv has always been a bit selfish and i agree with big hit, his defense is lacking at times.
but he is a good player.
honestly though, before fransie moved to flyhalf in the 2009 s14, he was leagues ahead of anyone else.
of course thats just my opinion
11 Dec 2009, 11:27 am
no debating for me chaps, on my phone.
11 Dec 2009, 11:27 am
@John Galt: All hail the anti Albert federation. please my he retire for the sake of mankind
11 Dec 2009, 11:29 am
@John Galt: Agreed 100%.
I wouldnt mind seeing a Christmas hamper with a certain Brussouw in it, and that young Free State center – forget his name, plays 7s and played for SA Schools.
Hes not in the Cheetahs Super 15 squad – where is he, has he been signed by another Union?
11 Dec 2009, 11:32 am
@rangerman: francois steyn is not the best at any position…
11 Dec 2009, 11:34 am
@Heavens Game:
Ebersohn. Not sure where he is. Maybe still on the 7s circuit?
But yeah, Brussouw and Him would be great acquisitions.
Highly unlikely though as i think Brussouw has pledged his allegiance to the States.
11 Dec 2009, 11:35 am
@John Galt: Agree on all your points but theres definitely one thing missing
A genuine fetcher!!!
11 Dec 2009, 11:35 am
ok dagny,who is the better fullback?
and he is defo the second best 12 and maybe even more rounded than jdv with his kicking game.
can i get a wynand olivier……….????
thought not.
11 Dec 2009, 11:36 am
@dagny taggart:
And that Nic?
11 Dec 2009, 11:38 am
@John Galt: Ebersohn – thats him. He’s not in the 7s squad for George. I have just looked.
Brussouw just needs to get a grip – he should play for the Cheetahs A side down on the coast.
11 Dec 2009, 11:39 am
of ‘n lefty of ‘ rightey
its so interesting to see the nics people come up with.
let me be the first to say welcome back!
11 Dec 2009, 11:48 am
Bok 15 2010 and World Cup
1. Beast
2. Smit
3. BJ
4. Bakkies
5. Victor
6. Brussouw
7. Juan
8. Schalk
9. Fourie
10. M Steyn
11. Habs
12. F Steyn
13. Adi
14. JP
15. J Fourie
Fourie D and M Steyn need to work on there running games next year, they definitely have them but by the end of the year the kicking tactic was over used
11 Dec 2009, 11:48 am
@John Galt:what about the nic? Who are you?
@rangerman:joe pietersen, louis ludik, conrad jantjies, stefan terblanche should i carry on rangerman?
11 Dec 2009, 11:52 am
Heavens game we have already dipped in the WP union we have signed Jean Stemmet the top try scorer in this years varsity cup. John galt and Heavens game it seems Ill be the first to fill your stocking Albert VdB has been put topasture I believe he is on his way to Japan.
11 Dec 2009, 11:54 am
be serious please, i am blogging fRom a cellphone and have no time for buggering around
to compare any of thosE rookies to frans is silly and you know it. lets see them shine at s14 level first shall we?
as for connie, he is not and never will be the talent that frans is.
oupa is practicallly retired.
now yes, you may continue listing names of anyone who plays fullback for any side, anywhere.
11 Dec 2009, 11:55 am
@Sharksgirl:
you sure know your stuff.
is Alberts moving for sure?
11 Dec 2009, 11:57 am
Jean Stemmet? WTF – isnt he a scrumhalf?
Thats great – another mess up coming – its not like the Sharks lack scrumhalves.
This will be another positional debacle. The Sharks have not got a balanced squad – some positions very light, and some too much quality.
Recruitment is rubbish!
11 Dec 2009, 11:58 am
but i am very surprised you didnt mention zane?
he is defo the next best thing and did well on the eoyt.
joe pietersen ahead of frans?
cmon man, the oke admittedly had a few good games at cc level but that is enough to rush into the bok team ahead of a proven match winner??
not in my book and not in pdv’s book either it seems..
11 Dec 2009, 12:02 pm
Oh and was meant to add that I agree on EVERY single one of your points John Galt. It also is rumoured here @ the home of The Sharks that Brussow is set to join the Sharks @ end of 2010 but I ll only get excited when he is actually running on the field in black and white
11 Dec 2009, 12:03 pm
@Sharksgirl: being top try-scorer in the varsity cup makes him what…a genius?poaching not going so well?
11 Dec 2009, 12:03 pm
@rangerman: hiyas boet , ignore that clown he here to stir
i wish we could get news on any sharks signings
11 Dec 2009, 12:05 pm
haha, habana, jaque fourie, luke watson, schalk brits, mujati, ricky….
ag nee fok man, i dont have time to list them all…
11 Dec 2009, 12:06 pm
shark supporters getting delusional again and it’s not even christmas!getting excited about varsity cup greats while their scrum will be on super automatic reverse again this year.can just laugh at these plonkers!
11 Dec 2009, 12:06 pm
@rangerman: kirchner is a better fullback…there you are!
11 Dec 2009, 12:07 pm
@Valkyrie: Plonkers?
11 Dec 2009, 12:08 pm
@sharks_lover: the clowns will be those guys wearing black and white in the front-row!hehehehe
11 Dec 2009, 12:11 pm
Cab his contract with the Sharks was not renewed and last I heard he was on his way to japan but dont know whether he has gone or not Heavensgame I think you may be confusing him Stemmet is a Center
11 Dec 2009, 12:13 pm
@Heavens Game: I think Barritt is a better 12 than Geraghty who is a natural flyhalf imo but if fit Flutey will likely be at 12 for the 6N which means Barritt is unlikely to get into the senior squad until the summer tour to Australia.
11 Dec 2009, 12:14 pm
@Sharksgirl:
i was actually wondering if willem alberts was a done deal?
If sharks get alberts and bj, they staying at the top, regardless what the naysayers say. Bound to be a few other signings too.
11 Dec 2009, 12:15 pm
frans steyn can stay in france because pdv’s favourite son conrad jantjies will be next year to reclaim his number15 jersey.
11 Dec 2009, 12:16 pm
@sharks_lover:hiyas ^5 to R-T poacher supremo, thanks for the good wrok this year boet
@rangerman: “defo” are a scouser ranger?
11 Dec 2009, 12:17 pm
@Big Hit: Forgot about Flutey. But he plays in France, so Barritt may get a look in. Performance in the PL counts for a lot.
11 Dec 2009, 12:29 pm
Cab WA is already training with The Sharks and K DeKlerk has admited that the Lions cannot keep them that they are only playing hardball out of principal now that they have been ordered to pay all of Jacques legal costs I doubt they will harass WA and LL for much longer. IM quietly confident. Yesterday I got my season tickets am looking forward to the new season
11 Dec 2009, 12:37 pm
@Sharksgirl: this whole episode just swows the disgraceful nature of the sharks!hope you enjoy your season ticket but it’s not going to bring you any joy next season!enjoy the wooden-spoon battle with the lions and aussie teams!
11 Dec 2009, 12:38 pm
@Valkyrie: swows should read shows.
11 Dec 2009, 12:48 pm
@Valkyrie:
hey robzim,
so you reckon there are only a few good sharks supporters?
how do you rate this oke as a problems supporter – one of your better ones?
11 Dec 2009, 12:52 pm
@Valkyrie: @ 140
if people think ryan vrede’s writing is nonsense, check this out from Sharksworld-co-za
Are you in or out?
07.12.09 17:50:54 by Baldrick | Lions, Original Content, Sharks | 64 Comments
Tags: Agents, Jaque Fourie, Louis Ludick, player agents, Willem Alberts
Presently, the Lions are locked in a number of legal battles, not releasing players to play elsewhere after their contracts apparently have more loopholes than Holland’s dykes.
After Jaque Fourie got out of his because he was technically a “technical advisory” with no set salary, he was free to move to the Stormers.
Louis Ludik and Willem Alberts are presently in training in Durban – if reports are to be believed – even though they are still under contract to play for the Lions, apparently.
Lots of apparentlies, maybes and so on in this sorry mess.
It does raise a number of issues.
1. Why were proper contracts not in place?
2. Why are the Unions trying to cling on to players who obviously don’t want to be there?
3. Why are players not honouring long term contracts – if they were willing to sign them in the first place?
4. Why won’t the Lions just get over the time and huge costs and just release the players without resorting to, “The Sharks never sent us an official offer, so they can’t have them..”
Grow up guys, this is not a sandpit fight between 4 year-olds and you can’t go running to mommy to “tell on”.
The Lions stuck with Fourie through numerous injuries and now he’s waving them goodbye, apparently with some ill-will. Where does the blame lie and what is the solution?
I put it squarely at the door of player agents. If they are to act as advisers, legal or otherwise, it should be their duty to protect the interests of their clients – before they take a healthy commission. How can anyone, reporting to represent the interests of a player, not follow through with a contract to make sure it is complete and every party is bound to a set of rules?
The solution. Ideally, get rid of these money-grabbing sycophants who live vicariously through their client, and are well reimbursed for poor service delivery. Ideally.
The other, more realistic way is to follow the route of football overseas where a transfer fee is paid if a player wants to move. Imagine the small unions who generally unearth most of the quality players and who would manage rather well by developing and selling off players.
11 Dec 2009, 13:05 pm
@dagny taggart: Those “sycophant” agents keep those incredibly well organised Unions like the Lions on their toes and honest. Its like piranhas taking apart a bloated cow.
11 Dec 2009, 13:11 pm
@dagny taggart: i think most people agree that these blokes should have honoured their contracts but the problem that riles most is the the fact that the sharks allows these players to practise with them while these contract issues are not sorted out.shark supporters went overboard on rugby blogs condemning wp’s conduct in trying to sign fourie when in fact wp never allowed fourie to train with them,as expected of a professional union.when shark supporters suddenly saw that they can gain out of the lions contract problems they began to villify the lions rugby union for playing hard-ball and suddenly it was okay for players to train with them without their contracts being sorted out.shark supporters are two-faced ******** imo.fourie won his case and as wp fan i can proudly say that my union conducted themselves with utmost dignity in this dispute between fourie and the lions and on that basis i welcome fourie into the wp/stormer fold if he signs.money can buy you titles but not class!
11 Dec 2009, 13:11 pm
Wales 15 12 USA – good game
11 Dec 2009, 13:13 pm
@Valkyrie: Laughs
11 Dec 2009, 13:28 pm
JDV is having a great time at Munster off the pitch, although his form has been poor on it. He’ll man up, and dig it out, because he is a class act, unlike a lot on here who seem to be blaming everyone else, except JDV himself. He knows what he needs to do, and no-one in Munster believes otherwise.
11 Dec 2009, 13:38 pm
@Irish not British: Love your nic
11 Dec 2009, 13:40 pm
@Karoolander:
Cheers!
My Girlfriend’s is “British Not Irish”. She’s from near Belfast.
Now THAT’s what a peace process can do!
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All