Watson inspires Bath victory

Luke Watson picked up the Man of the Match award for his efforts in Bath’s 16-9 win over Edinburgh.

The former Stormers and Springbok loose forward was irrepressible at the breakdown, while another former Cape player in hooker Pieter Dixon crossed for a try in the third minute of the match. Michael Claassens’ side have now picked up their first win since 18 September.

Other European Cup fixtures saw Clermont score five tries in their 40-30 victory over Leicester on Sunday.The French club were without South African Brent Russell for this fixture, but Aussie-born flyhalf Brock James provided the spark they needed. Wing Napolioni Nalaga scored a brace in the first half as Clermont went to the break 25-9 ahead.

Other matches on Sunday saw Sale beat Harlequins 29-19 while Biarritz smashed Newport 49-13. In the latter match, former Lions lock Trevor Hall played off the bench for Biarritz, while ex-Sharks prop Eduard Coetzee was an unused substitute.

77 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

best loosie in Sa…..Bok captain 2011…..at WC ….go you good thing!!

• 2.scar: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Bath is slighty outside of SA … I disagree with the rest of your sentence as well…

• 3.scar: Reply to this comment

other good # 8s outside SA who I will go for before Luke,

Joe van Niekerk
    Shaun Sowerby
    Antonie Claassens

• 4.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

Agree, but Peter better open his eyes soon or it might be too late forever and the World Cup will be going down the drain with the Smit/Matfield clan in close pursuit.

And they won’t this time even be able to blame Luke.

• 5.SafferJohn: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

Robzim, I don’t undersand why so many people are suddenly against our current crop of Springboks. We currently have some of the best players in the world playing for SA. We should be proud of them, yet we seem determined to break them down. Luke Watson? No boet, there is no denying he is a good player. That should be obvious to all. But what should also be obvious is that he doesn’t want to play for the Boks. He finds the team and all that it stands for repulsive. He doesn’t see it as a building tool of SA.

Sorry Robzim, but he’s drawn his line in the sand.

• 6.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SafferJohn:

I agree that we have some of the best players in the world but in my opinion a few of them (and that includes the current captain who is already neither the best hooker or prop in SA) will not last till the next world cup and the sooner we replace them the better.

Watson will be more than prepared to lead the new generation of players – why wait?

• 7.whatever: Reply to this comment

Hahaha, Watson? Nexy Bok captain, don’t think so. Not even high enough in the pecking order to make the side on merit. The closest he will make to the Bok set up is picking up the bokdrol! He would only divide, not unite. Let the doos have his man of the match awards in a boring Bath side and we will stick with the men that count, Smit, Vic and co.

• 8.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@grant10: @Robzim: Evening gentlemen.

• 9.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

So I went to watch Invictus yesterday.

What a lovely performance from Morgan Freeman, and just a great reminder on how blessed South Africa has been by Nelson Mandela.

Not Ghandi in movie terms but still worth seeing.

If only to be reminded what it feels like to have a Jimbo Jet fly over your head.

And how sweet “u Tata” sounds.

• 10.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Hi Joe,

I have not seen the movie yet, but will probably go later this week.
    Harry Callahan doing rugby just does not sound right to me :)

• 11.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Rob & Grant.

As good a player Luke Watson is – he is quite far down the pecking order of loose-forwards in SA.

And unlikely to ever be Springbok captain.

I am interested in Antonie Claasen – who has has heart set on playing for France actually. Any body seen him play?

• 12.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Antonie wants to play for France. I never saw him in action, but if he is even a contender for the French team he must be good as they have a number of brilliant loosies.

Hardinoquay for example is one of the best in the business, if not THE best.

• 13.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:
    @Robzim:

#9 and 10,

Harry at his classical best, explaining why he shot a man:

Harry: Well, when an adult male is chasing a female with intent to commit rape, I shoot the *******. That’s my policy.

The mayor: Intent? How did you establish that?

Harry: When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butcher’s knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn’t out collecting for the Red Cross!

The Mayor: You got a point.

• 14.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Robbie. This blog has really started to make me unhappy & disappointed with how SA seems to be turning out. Sometimes the viciousness of it just makes me happy my kids don’t ever have to witness, experience it.

But the movie, for all it’s limitations, reminds me that Mandela is an amazing man, and that an inspired South African “hungers for greatness” and this is defining.

But reading this blogs shows me that South Africans just don’t seem so inspired anymore, and thirst for petty small minded anonymous revenge. At best as a nation it culturally appears to be treading water, at a time when it’s profile has never been higher. A waste.

But maybe this is just on Keo. Which is probably true.

But hanging out here has narrowed down to about 6 folks who I like a lot. That’s it. For all the denigration of Rugby-Talk – the racism is absent on the blog, the rugby discourse at times exceptional (and pretty abysmal on Keo technically). Unfortunately my mates hang at out the Keo pub.

• 15.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: I agree. I was so impressed with the French team taht took us apart (albeit then got thumped by the All Blacks). Class in all the loosies, and have had for some time.

I really liked Wynand Claasen – very good rugby player, seemed like a man with a mind of his own, when being that was quite tough.

• 16.DonutDunning: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: Hi Soda.
    So it is definitely worth watching?
    I got all excited about the release, only to find out it doesn’t open in Australia until 21 January 2010.
    That’s over 6 weeks after the US and you lads.

And they wonder why Australia has the highest online movie piracy rates per capita in the world!

• 17.charo: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

soda, unfortunately don’t have time to chat this evening but would like to endorse you views 100%.

not only the the latent race hatred being expressed, but also the level of language in the discourse that really disappoints me. there are no doubt youngsters who read these blogs and for them to witness so called adults spewing filth must be a shock.

for all the mocking anti r-t posts, the maturity level of the average blogger there is infinitely higher than the new generation keolite.

that’s it – gotta go.
    goodnight all

• 18.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@DonutDunning: Having seen it bud, i would recommend you see it. Not for the rugby so much but for the Mandela theme, and Morgan Freeman’s portrayal is excellent, almost a role he was born to play.

I have no idea why they would stagger the launch in Aus, maybe they think a lot of Southern Hemisphere people would want to wait until after Xmas.

I was relieved that they show photographs of the actual players in the credits, the actors certainly don’t look like real athletes.

Hard to believe that rugby became professional AFTER RWC 1995.

• 19.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

@DonutDunning:

Morgan Freeman was brilliant.

Matt Dameon wasn’t bad but lacks the size to be a Bok rugby captain (and they don’t hide the fact he’s only 5″10).

The rugby scenes were rushed and rubbish, Clint Eastwoods grandson plays Joel and can’t kick for toffee (his kicking action is a joke).

They also made that Bok team out to be rubbish, and that they won the world cup on emotion alone. They interviewed Joel and he was quite rightly a bit peeved. The Boks on talent alone were still in the top 3.

All in all, a good political movie, with a bit of rugby chucked in for good measure.

6/10.

• 20.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Morgan Freeman was brilliant.

Matt Dameon wasn’t bad but lacks the size to be a Bok rugby captain (and they don’t hide the fact he’s only 5?10).

The rugby scenes were rushed and rubbish, Clint Eastwoods grandson plays Joel and can’t kick for toffee (his kicking action is a joke).

They also made that Bok team out to be rubbish, and that they won the world cup on emotion alone. They interviewed Joel and he was quite rightly a bit peeved. The Boks on talent alone were still in the top 3.

All in all, a good political movie, with a bit of rugby chucked in for good measure.

6/10.

• 21.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Joe, Keo is definitely not a true statistical representative sample of the modern SA society but I think it is much closer to reality than RT will ever be.

That is just the way things are going here at the moment.

Please don’t go.

• 22.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): I agree that the portrayal initially that the Boks were just average was wrong, we had a very very good team, in every position really.

But it’s just a movie, and triumph against the odds – with some “divine intervention’ from Nelsen Mandela will sell more tickets.

The rugby is not inconsequential, but a very hard game to film, and at it’s heart rugby is just context in the movie, a backdrop for a very brave leader of a nation on a thin line.

Don’t see it for the rugby.

7.5/10.

• 23.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Rob, if you find place to hang out lets go there. I have become very fond of you, Cab, Gunther, Grant, JustRugby, Charo, Skoppies, Transie, WPTID and some others. And I am not going anywhere whilst you guys are around.

But honestly the disgraceful “defensive racism”, the oftentimes total lack of intellect and maturity, and common sense decency just is not fun.

Not to mention I wish we could discuss rugby with some intelligence.

• 24.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Fair points.

As a massive rugby fan (especially on the technical side) I am always going to find issues :)

Like you said, its not a rugby film. But I still think they should have got an actual rugby player to play Joel Stransky.

• 25.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Cab. This is for you.

“Bob Dylan is my 2,507th favourite recording artist, just after Pinky and Perky – a wart on the gall bladder of rock’n’roll.”
    Jeremy Clarkson

I now have this image of you as Jeremy Clarkson meets Keith Floyd with a kak taste in music.

Seriously who would actually publish what Jeremy Clarkson thinks of music? The Daily Telegraph.

• 26.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): Asterix in London. They should have got rugby players in every position.

If the quality of rugby on film was like “On Any Given Sunday” or even “Friday Night Lights”, the movie would be better, closer to a 9.

• 27.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Cheers Joe. Thanks.

btw. Don’t ever play the song “The scientist” by Coldplay out loud if you have a daughter who are having boyfriend troubles.

See u around.

• 28.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: Apologies to the Daily Telegraph – The London Times published the aging Fat Man Who Knows a Lot about Cars, but bugger all about music and what jeans flatter a fat arse Clarkson.

• 29.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: You know me well enough to know that I try and avoid Coldplay at all costs, despite my son, wife and 16 year old daughter liking them, and thanks for the heads up.

• 30.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Funny, that’s exactly what I compared it too (Any Given Sunday).

We’ll have to wait for the yanks to get into their rugby a little more before we get a true ‘rugby’ film.

PS I don’t usually notice things like this but when the Boks were taking their morning jog before the final they ran past a Hyundai Getz. I never knew those were around back in 95 :) Didn’t bug me but I had to laugh.

• 31.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): LOL.

The movie is getting great reviews in the US, pretty much unequivocal “must see” status.

Good for SA.

• 32.carol: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: Hi Soda, glad to see Invictus is actually been talked about tonight, it has taken long enough for me to hear peoples views on the film after all how often does a South African Rugby film get made?

Tonight I have seen some reviews which is interesting.

Good for you for being positive about Rugby-Talk as it is not very fashionable to be seen to praise it, no racist stuff thrown about there, (although some Keoites would like there to be) GBS would not tolerate that, he has made that very clear!

Anyway, don’t get too cheesed off, you are the ‘Keo Ray of Sunshine’!! :-)

• 33.carol: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: I will have you know that Jeremy Clarkson has been in a band that included Stevie Winwood, Alex James (Blur)I have forgotten who else, he learnt to play the drums!!!

I have seen him at two ‘gig’s’ as well, he is a bit ‘Golden Earing’ – Radar Love inclined I understand!!

I met his labrodoodle again today!!

• 34.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: which part of puke watson will never wear the green and gold do people not understand?? its very simple ,watson is a good player no doubt but he’s a bigger prick than BOD and it’ll be an insult to SArugby if he’s ever to play for the boks or even worse captain the springboks .

• 35.kesbok: Reply to this comment

read John Smit’s book – Watson will never play for the Boks with the current squad. I am not sure if he will ever play for the Boks given his views on Bok rugby and the whole puking on Dutchmen etc etc – no matter how good he is!

• 36.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

This was a pretty entertaining game. Butch is back in training and Olly Barkley will be back soon too, Bath’s season may be about to kick on.

• 37.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark): 5ft 10in ? Bigger than Fluke Watson?

• 38.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Point of fact, Luke is just over 6 feet – still relatively short by SA rugby player standards.

• 39.Delek: Reply to this comment

South African rugby people are FINALLY realising that opensides don’t need to be tall (the rest of the world realised this in the 1970′s!). In fact it helps if they are not tall as they are quicker at winning ball on the ground if they are in the 5’10 to 6’1 range.

If I was Bok selector I’d have Brussouw as no.1 opensider and Luke as backup (if he was available). Schalk would be one of the blindsiders.

• 40.kesbok: Reply to this comment

39 Delek – that is why you are not a Bok selector. Out of the top 4 teams in the world at the moment Like Watson would not make any of them. He is NOT a test rugby player physically and mentally.

• 41.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Kesbok, provide some reasons why he is not physically or mentally up to test rugby? I tend to prefer my assertions substantiated.

• 42.nama1: Reply to this comment

Apparently Ricky January made a dream début for Ospreys, scoring one of their tries in their 62-7 thumping of Viadana.

Here’s hoping he regains his form and keeps it for the Super 14 next year.

• 43.ufo: Reply to this comment

I didn’t even know Ricky had left Province…!! :shock:

• 44.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: Dead Cats!!!!, whats up Soda

• 45.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@ufo: He hasnt left, just took up a short contract to help him run away from the Christmas pudding and booze, seems finaly he is taking his life and rugby serious.

• 46.ufo: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid:

Thanks XKid… thought I’d missed something somewhere… let’s hope he get’s his mojo back…!!

• 47.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

@TheTackler:

LOL! Matt is at least a head taller than Puke.

• 48.kesbok: Reply to this comment

OK – mentally. he is not a team player. When he was forced into the Bok camp through back door, he alientated himself. Mentally – he hates what the Bok emblem stands for even though the progress made. i.e nothing will be good enough for him when it comes to Bok (his Pa has poisened his mind)and he will only be happy once the make of the Bok side is to his satisfaction. Mentally – he thinks rugby is run by Dutchmen (last time I checked this really wasn’t the case) and he would like to puke on his Bok jumper – which is a little bit of a technical issue when playing for your country and the Bok. Mentally – he stands for nothing that the Bok tradition and pride stands for and therefor he simply cannot (and other players and supporters will not) allow him to play for the Boks again. i.e he has cooked his goose!

Since you asked – Physically – I know of not one player he has had the better of (I mean really dominated) in S14 rugby. Insofar as the top 4 test teams are concerned he is shorter probably lighter and nowhere near the standard of those loose forwards. To be fair however he has never really been tested agaisnt a full strength ALl Black or Wallaby side so we don’t really know. The reality we might not ever know given his strong views – what he lacks in mental ability he unfortuantely cannot make it up on the field physically.

• 49.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

@Delek:

I agree, but I would never play Luke purely on team dynamics.

Anyone who says otherwise has obviously never played a lot of rugby. It is the ULTIMATE team game.

If one player isn’t respected (not liked, but respected) it can bugger everything up.

• 50.BobZimmerman: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:
    Bite your tongue, Mr Clarkson, and stop bleating just like a woman.

• 51.Puma: Reply to this comment

@ufo: 43 – ufo, He is only there on loan for about a month or so until the S14 starts. He will be back for WP then.

• 52.CenturionShark : Reply to this comment

@kesbok:

Mmm, I’ll give the guy his due, if he wasn’t such a tool he would be in my squad of 30 players.

• 53.Puma: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: 11 – Joe, That is a huge pity. W. Claasen son going to play for France next year. He only has about 10 months to qualify to play for them.

Hear he is playing brilliant rugby. Only went there cause he never got game time here. Had a back injury (think it was a back injury) Now is firmly a French oke. Loves living there and playing his rugby and wants to play for France. Pity.

• 54.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

He is still a poephol! I hope he does well in England and stays there for a very long time.
    The only reason he makes his statements is to curry favour with government for his dads BEE deals.Money grabbing ******** the lot of them cheap dockside whores!!!

• 55.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

• 56.sparticus: Reply to this comment

GO LUKE WATSON !!!!! THE BEST SA number 8 by far !

• 57.cane: Reply to this comment

So Luke said some pretty stupid things in the past!

So what…

Peter De Villiers makes stupid statements, every time he opens his cake-hole.

And most of “US” type worse.

• 58.rangerman: Reply to this comment

best no.8 in south africa?

not even close chaps.

best opensider?

not even close.

best team man?

dont make me laugh.

a very talented player?

undoubtedly.

he had his chance and didnt fit in. let me be more clear, he simply didnt find himself accepted by senior players in the squad. now all you lefties squealing that this is a poor reflection on the senior players should just take a moment to think about what life is all about.

at times, you have to suck hind *** in life and bite your tongue when a person higher than you in the hierachy tells you how things should be done.

as you go through life, you may rise on the hierachy but one thing is for sure, if you dont accept the hierachy, or that life and society has certain non-negotiables, you will struggle. every victory you think you make, will probably be pyrhhic, and you will beat your head against a wall until you realise this.

different people have different timelines on this growth towards maturity. one thing is for sure, if you dont set boundaries for your kids, their growth will be stunted and their lives will be harder than is neccescary.

just like the cave dweller 100 000 years ago who ate more than his share and was cast out, or the cack at high school who did not respect the rules, a person who does not respect the rule set of any society he joins, will not last long.

from what i have seen, luke has toned down his rhetoric and taken a step back from the cauldron that is south african rugby and i wish him well on his personal path.

time will tell if he finds his way back into the inner fold of the springbok team but that will depend on him, no one else.

• 59.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: for a guy that’s piss-poor in your eyes you actually wrote a very long post!

• 60.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Valkyrie: i never used the words piss poor mate.

in fact i said he is undoubtedly a very talented player.

just not THE BEST at no. 8 or at no. 6 imo.

the abscence of emotion in my post should be all the clue you need as to my intentions.

• 61.Kritik: Reply to this comment

Well said Ranger

• 62.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: respect a hierachy that repulses you & that you wish to raze…

• 63.rugbywriter: Reply to this comment

I hate the guy. I hate anyone who sucks up to the ANC just to get ahead. However, I think at the moment he’s the best performing no 8 in SA. You guys are probably gonna eat me alive for this, but Pierre Spies pisses me off with the way he can never play well in the Springbok jersey. He’s always one of the best players in the CC and S14 but whenever it comes to the Boks, he’s completely annonymous. Why I get so mad is because he is a freak of nature and has the ability to be one of the most destructive rugby players on the planet, but just doesn’t do it. I think Spies should play wing. We’ll have a paceman like Habana on the one wing, and a quick and incredibly strong wing on the other side. Then PDV must just drop the whole over-seas policy thing and put Watson at no. 8 and JDV at centre and Frans Steyn at fullback.

• 64.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@rugbywriter: He doesn’t suck up to the ANC to get ahead. They all support the ANC because they truly believe in their message…

personally I don’t know who I would vote for… think they’d all stuff it up eventually

• 65.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rugbywriter: In defence of Spies he did operate behind a pack that was piss poor at the scrums….and not easy at 8 when the scrum in turbo reverse.

Dont hate so much…its unhealthy.

Watson. Joe V Niekerk and Dewalt Potgieter are more natural 8th men than Spies…..

But Spies has that explosive ability…..first see him behind a better scrum before judging i reckon…

• 66.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@grant10: I tellin Luke you don’t like him no more…lol jk ;-)

• 67.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10:lmao @ “turbo reverse” the wp scrum made luke shine in the cc

@rugbywriter: i also hate uninformed people!

• 68.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Lots of Grinches here I see.

• 69.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@grant10:
    Does the UK rugby gives us a real measure of Watson’s ability and skills?
    At the Top of the Guinness Premiership League are Sarecens, they have a bunch of good S African forwards but they aren’t the best, Van Heerden, Ernest Joubert are over the hill, while Brits, Melk and Reynecke are very good players but were not in the starting line up at their SAs teams.
    No disrespect to Watson whom do I rate, and I don’t forget it was him and another 6 forwards who held against the ABs in Dunedin among them Mujati and Steenkamp who faked tackle after tackle last 10 minutes

• 70.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@rugbywriter:
    It’s a loose forwards combo and weakness of the front row that let the Spies of the Super14 & CC down.
    Spies ideally is combined with SB and J Smith, when the combo included Brussow, he has many other assignments that sapped his power and energy, thus he is invisible, but IMO he did his share rather satisfactory in the Boks’ tests this year

• 71.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hondo: #70
    Spies played with SB ans JS most of his games as a Bok. He was anonymous in most.

Did he also have other assignments then?

• 72.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1:
    I thought he was very good against the BILs.
    He is prominent on the hard surface, but I’ll take JvN, Duan Vermulen or Albert anywhere else ahead of Spies
    Maybe an impact player off the bench is his best position at Test level?

• 73.husky: Reply to this comment

Without doubt Luke is a very good player but if we ignore the politics, note that Luke had a game for the Boks (Fiji, Tonga?) and did not impress at all – nothing about team mates etc etc.

• 74.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: Trans, the ‘hierarchy’ was actually very positive about Like until he started ordering people to put him in the bok team to reward his dad for supposedly being part of the ‘resistance’.

• 75.Bouts: Reply to this comment

Many people make a good career by stepping on stones, and staying in the spotlight. That’s fine. Problem is you should be able to live with the consequences. When there were a backlash he kicked back by playing the ‘discrimination’ card. Heck… nobody even cares what Cheeky supposedly did or didn’t do. I don’t think anyone even heard his name (much less remember it) until Luke made an *** of himself in the media.

• 76.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Bouts:
    Pretty much summed it up
    Luke is a talent no doubt, but the controversies he created since his started playing super12 rugby affected his developement.
    He almost always takes the wrong option with ball in hand, that’s because he always tries to prove people wrong, this aspect of his gane hiders his upgrade from a very good forward to a Test rated player
    simple

• 77.Guns: Reply to this comment

@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark):

How did you see the game in London? I read it was only screening here on 5th Feb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!which I thought was as retarded as it gets!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.