digimag-banner

Collins rates Ricky

Stand-in Ospreys captain Jerry Collins says Ricky Januarie showed his class in the recent 62-7 hammering of Viadana.

Januarie is on a three-month loan to the Welsh club with the hope that he will rediscover some form. Injuries to the frontline scrumhalves meant he was rushed into the weekend’s fixture, but he didn’t let his team-mates down.

‘He was good, he pretty much got off the plane and had to play. That’s a tough ask for any player,’ Collins told the Western Mail. ‘He was pretty much playing blindfolded.

‘But we stressed up front all week that to make his job easier we had to just play, get the ball on the front foot and deliver it. Ricky has been around a long time, he knows how to play and we are pleased to have him. A player of his calibre knows what’s expected of him and what needs to be done.

‘We didn’t want to complicate things for him and he was happy to get a try in his first game.’

Januarie battled to nail down a starting spot towards the end of the 2009 Super 14, and Dewald Duvenhage continued to keep him on the bench during the back end of the Currie Cup. Januarie also missed the end-of-year tour with national coach Peter de Villiers offering the explanation: ‘I already know what I have in Ricky.’

After the win over Viadana, Januarie said he’s glad to be back on the park.

‘In my time with the Ospreys I will be playing rugby, which is important. I haven’t played for five weeks and my last game was the Currie Cup semi-final.

‘Playing for three months for the Ospreys is going to be good for me, it will help me to get back into fitness.’

147 Responses to “Collins rates Ricky”

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@Puma: Agree! We were a well drilled unit. Perhaps we didnt have many world stars in our team, but as a unit they were good. They knew exactly how to beat Australia and New Zealand. Actually, before the WC I spoke to Japie Mulder and Hennie le Roux and they both saw England as the major threat. Reason for that they said was Englands physicall forward pack and Rob Andrew, Carling, Guscott, and Underwood. If you look back at that semi against NZ, Lomu won the game for NZ. Without Lomu, England might have won that game.

• 102. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

@Puma: about a year before each world cup the jokes come out… what’s the difference between the Bokke and a Samoosa? What’s the difference between Monty and Cinderella?… and remember the movie is based on the book “playing the enemy” which has actually been retitled to Invictus

@Puma: you sure it’s the aircon? you can tell me ;-)

• 103. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

@Puma: not we all… I’m the only 1 in Durbanville supporting them!… sad really. They’re making this giant jersey thing which is gonna be filled with the fans messages… went with some of the Stormers to go and sign it… was fun

• 104. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@SpringbokSarah: Answer please?

• 105. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: what was the question?

• 106. PumaReply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: 101 – Johan, Exactly we were not a bad team and actaully was up for that tourney. Especially after beating Oz in the opening game.

Yip, Will always remember Lomou running over Cat..LOL. We worked him out though. Although have read that James Small said when he saw Lomu next to him walking out the tunnel his heart almost froze……..hahaha. Thinking he was a giant. He never ever crossed our line ever the great Lomu

• 107. PumaReply to this comment :

106 -@Puma:sorry typos there. meant Lomu and actually.

• 108. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@SpringbokSarah: Those 2 jokes you talked about?

• 109. PumaReply to this comment :

@SpringbokSarah: 102 – Have read that book Sarah, So hope it is as good.

Yip, this cold is from the aircon. Always get it when I have the aircon on full blast. So pleased it is a cold day here today and could turn it off.

• 110. PumaReply to this comment :

@SpringbokSarah: 103 – Well that is sad then Sarah, I think a lot will support them once the tourney starts. Such a big tourney and the vibe will be awesome.

• 111. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@Puma: And all that fear was for nothing! Lomu never crossed the Bok line in something like 12 tests?

• 112. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: oh!

The difference between the Boks and a samoosa is a samoosa has 3 points, boks have none

the difference between Cinderella and Monty is at least Cinderella got to the ball

@Puma: lol then why would you put it on full blast?

@Puma: it really is… need to buy me a Bafana top! Even though I really don’t dig soccer, they’re still my country

• 113. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@SpringbokSarah: OOOOOH! Little funny! LOL!

• 114. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: don’t laugh, that’s my most capped Bok of all time, shame poor Monty

• 115. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@SpringbokSarah: Monty is great!

• 116. byoboyReply to this comment :

has collins being smoking some shite with the gunja man who sang our anthem

• 117. Karma-zafReply to this comment :

The World is ending in 2012 :(

• 118. byoboyReply to this comment :

@Karma-zaf: so say the ancient south americans and nostrodamus – an amazing coincidence that

• 119. byoboyReply to this comment :

@Karma-zaf: but that’s after 2011 so what you worried about

• 120. Johan FourieReply to this comment :

@Karma-zaf: Will you please give me everything you own, seeing that the world will end. I can pick it up on Dec 31, 2011. I’ll let you have enough to live from till 31 Dec 2012.

• 121. KaroolanderReply to this comment :

@Karma-zaf: Like it did in 2000 and before that.

Wonder what is the next significant date after 2012??

• 122. byoboyReply to this comment :

@Karoolander: no seriously man there’s even a film about it, the film is called ‘2012′.

• 123. byoboyReply to this comment :

@byoboy: i’m being sarcastic there

• 124. KiwisamoanReply to this comment :

Think Jerry just being kind he knows Jan is a little fat hobbit who should play hooker lol. I miss the Collins and Burger clashes, two of the hardest men in rugby.

@byoboy: seen the movie some out of it ****, as long as we win the world cup, 2012 wont bother me to much hahaha.

• 125. HondoReply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: @nama1:
    Just been back from the EOYP,,, 60 people to attend to
    Well, WO is NOT a No.12 start right there
    He is a No.13 who plays at 12, hence why he almost always disappointing.
    He has some attitude issue too, he needs to cut his hair to ditch that adonis look, he plays rugby and we had one Percy already.
    One department WO is better than JF is his speed off the mark.
    Trouble with the Boks is that JdV at 12 is a selfish, self centered person, seldom pass the ball on time, so he made the rest look bad.
    The only true No. 12 in SA is Bosman Meyers after we lost Brad Barritt, too bad he is not a fixture, Watermayer and P Grant can surely step in with some adjustment.
    Unfortunataly it will be someonelse there

• 126. wpwReply to this comment :

Hahahaha

I know Hougaard has talent but I still think he is overrated.

He played most of his rugby on the wing and yet he still played scrumhalf on tour.

Those defending him are so predictable. When a black player is picked based on talent he is a quota and needs to first play S14 rugby, blah blah blah.

And yet guys like Meyer Bosman, Hougaard, even Schalk Burger were selected for the Boks before they played S14 rugby but hey, as long as they are not black its fine!!!

• 127. whateverReply to this comment :

@wpw:

Yawn…….. soooo predictable, yawn………

• 128. wpwReply to this comment :

@whatever:

Very intelligent response as always. :roll:

• 129. PapooseReply to this comment :

@nama1: yeah Hondo especially peeves me off with the hatred he spews
    sometimes u just want to have rugby conversations but okes like him always STUFF IT UP

• 130. BokkeReply to this comment :

WPW … how the fukc can you compare Schalk with a quota? You have a serious chip on you shoulder. Obviously you are coloured and obviously you prefer coloured players to white players. Which is fine. But at least talk sense. You always post racist k@k but if a white guy prefers Hougaard above Ricky then he is a member of the KKK. Don’t you maybe think its more because Hougaard is a Blue Bull and most bloggers here are blue bull supporters? I’m sure all province supporters (black or white) preferes Ricky. Leave race out of it man …are you also one of those arsehole’s that shouts for the AB @ Newlands?

BTW Ricky was k@k all year .. Hougaard wasn’t better …i’d like to see Jano Vermaak there.

• 131. wpwReply to this comment :

@Bokke:

Oh my Gawd!! When did I compare Schalk with a quota?? Let me guess, you support the Bulls right?? You drink brandy and coke right??

Bloody idiot!!

• 132. BokkeReply to this comment :

No puz I’m a province supporter ….

And yet guys like Meyer Bosman, Hougaard, even Schalk Burger were selected for the Boks before they played S14 rugby but hey, as long as they are not black its fine!!!

That is what you meant d00s ….

I gave give you 30+ black players who didn’t even make their CC side cause they are so k@k … but if they choose Bosman or Hougaard then you shout rape.

Go k@k on PDV’s head …he choose Hougaard before ricky, not us white ppl

• 133. wpwReply to this comment :

@Bokke:

And once again you go assuming things. I did not say Ricki should have toured ahead of Hougaard you prick.

I too can name a list of black players who toured based on potential and at the time there was a HUGE outcry… only for these ‘quota players’ to prove beyond a shadow of a doubt that they are good enough!!!

• 134. PapooseReply to this comment :

leave all the race baiting man

some people just dont get it and lets try and have rugby discussions

does any1 else feel we need to apply more tactical substitutions than timing subsitutions? eg. having (in form) ricky, and Pienaar on bench for FdP and MS?

• 135. HondoReply to this comment :

@wpw:
    Hougaard plays wing although he is a scrumhalf, your verdict is based on the party line of the ‘former’ underprivileged
    Hougaard is a rare all around talant like Ruan Pienaar, can play anywhere, a ‘complete footballer’ as Dr Craven said
    what that has to do with quota?, quota is Hinie Adams who was on all the games the Bulls lost in the Super14 and the CC competition in 2009
    You want to be refarded, cut out the race agenda!

• 136. HondoReply to this comment :

@wpw:
    Please name one (1)!
    Yes, a one nonwhite player to tour with the Boks in Nov 09 that has a better potential than at least 3 white players who were left behind!
    Please enlightened us

• 137. HondoReply to this comment :

Sorry for the spells, I punch it on my personal laptop while trying to get the job done in the last week of the year
    Merry Xmas and a Happy new year to all!

• 138. ValkyrieReply to this comment :

@Bokke: you are a seriously sick individual that’s got some serious issues with coloured/black people. you remind me of barend strydom ,that cold blooded killer and leader of the wit-wolwe who could not not stop the comrades from taking over.your other beloved leader et and an awb brigade also got fukked in the bophuthatswana!that defeat still rates as the biggest humiliation for afrikaaner right-wing military aspirations and to have seen big pot-bellied afrikaaner men running out of the bophuthatswana was quite funny indeed!do you also wear torn green underpants like et?joost also had one with a hole in!now that’s the problem with your afrikaaner boys ,you’re personal hygiene standards leaves a lot to be desired!give up your racist rhetoric man and embrace democracy mate because you never gonna win the war!

• 139. wpwReply to this comment :

@Hondo:

Did I mention this particular tour??

• 140. wpwReply to this comment :

@Hondo:

What does ‘refarded’ mean?? :twisted:

• 141. Crouching Tiger Hidden BokkeReply to this comment :

@Puma: Having watched the trailer, Morgan Freeman’s accent is pretty poor, especially for a method actor. He says Francois with an american twang. Really poor if you ask me. Tired of american directors and their half-hearted slapdash ‘interpretation’ of SA. Eastwood should’ve had dignity to draft in a South African director or producer at the very least. Wouldn’t be surprised if it isn’t a rugby version of Mean Machine, especially as they talk about SA beingthe underdogs when in actual fact the Boks really were outside favourites with the ABs as the front runners. Just another paycheck for Matt Damon. Did you hear him get pranked by Whackhead? That was classic.

• 142. Crouching Tiger Hidden BokkeReply to this comment :

@Valkyrie: Hey! Cool your anti-afrikaaner sentiments! How can you call him a racist when you’re doing exactly the same thing yourself? I don’t tolerate racism and prejudice of any form that includes anti-white kak like this!

• 143. BuckTReply to this comment :

@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: what kind of exposure do you think the movie would have received with local actors? zero mate, so wise and smell the coffee, they are drinking blue mountain, not nescafe

• 144. PumaReply to this comment :

@BuckT: 143 – Eastwood could have used local rugby players. Would have made the rugby scenes far better. The big actors agree they needed them to sell the movie. Heard the forwards are as short the FH in the movie? Rugby lovers around the world will know that is stupid. We have plenty rugby players here that could have filled in for those scenes. Eastwood would still have sold the movie with M. Daman and Freeman in it.

• 145. PumaReply to this comment :

@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: Yip, They never get our accent right making a movie about something in SA. I kinda cringe when I hear some of the accents over the years in movies that are supposed to be South African.

We were never a horrible team at the time either. How he could have had that in the movie and we only won on emotion was nonsense.

Rugby players like, Ruben Kruger, Joost, Mark Andrews, J. Mulder, H. Le Roux, A. Joubert, Kobus and a few others were actually very good rugby players. Pienaar too was a very good captain. At the time Joost was the best scrummie and Ruben to this day I think was our best Blindside we ever had. Mark Andrews then was the best in his position. A. Joubert for me was the best FB in world rugby then and probably still our best ever. So how they could have written in the script we were underdogs and a horrible team was just not true. All Blacks only really faced a good team once they faced us in that final. That final could have gone anyway it was that tight.

I suppose it sells movies that kinda thing. The underdogs win on emotion but that is it. That for me is not true about the 1995 team. We were not the favourites but never the underdogs.

Going to see the movie tomorrow and will see what it is like.

• 146. BokkeReply to this comment :

Valkyrie all your posts are racist you d00s … btw, my race doesn’t have the reputation of having a bad smell, you and i both know what race does. The most likely reason being that blind ppl could also hate you. Now fukc off with your racist comments….you’ll come second. Are you really that naar that a white guy took your chick & work? SAP wannabe

• 147. lapoftherugbygodsReply to this comment :

@Johan Fourie: Without Lomu England might have won that game. What match were you watching? The ABs were all over England that day. They were the best team at the RWC , they just struck the Mandela factor on the day.

That same team went onto beat SA in a home series the next year and went onto dominate world rugby all without Lomu playing because of his kidney issues.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

About the author

JC has written 4547 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator