Collins rates Ricky
14 Dec 2009
Stand-in Ospreys captain Jerry Collins says Ricky Januarie showed his class in the recent 62-7 hammering of Viadana.
Januarie is on a three-month loan to the Welsh club with the hope that he will rediscover some form. Injuries to the frontline scrumhalves meant he was rushed into the weekend’s fixture, but he didn’t let his team-mates down.
‘He was good, he pretty much got off the plane and had to play. That’s a tough ask for any player,’ Collins told the Western Mail. ‘He was pretty much playing blindfolded.
‘But we stressed up front all week that to make his job easier we had to just play, get the ball on the front foot and deliver it. Ricky has been around a long time, he knows how to play and we are pleased to have him. A player of his calibre knows what’s expected of him and what needs to be done.
‘We didn’t want to complicate things for him and he was happy to get a try in his first game.’
Januarie battled to nail down a starting spot towards the end of the 2009 Super 14, and Dewald Duvenhage continued to keep him on the bench during the back end of the Currie Cup. Januarie also missed the end-of-year tour with national coach Peter de Villiers offering the explanation: ‘I already know what I have in Ricky.’
After the win over Viadana, Januarie said he’s glad to be back on the park.
‘In my time with the Ospreys I will be playing rugby, which is important. I haven’t played for five weeks and my last game was the Currie Cup semi-final.
‘Playing for three months for the Ospreys is going to be good for me, it will help me to get back into fitness.’

147 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
14 Dec 2009, 11:21 am
cool stuff Jerry…
let’s hope Ricky finds his mojo there and brings it back to Cape Town…!!
14 Dec 2009, 11:30 am
@ufo:
His ‘mojo’ will come back if the bugger gets back into shape. Its as simple as that.
He’s an explosive player when fit, and that’s what makes him good, if he’s out of shape, he doesn’t have the technical ability to make up for it.
14 Dec 2009, 11:35 am
Those knocks to the head are finally taking their toll on old Jerry…
14 Dec 2009, 11:44 am
@PissAnt: Aw c’mon Ant.
14 Dec 2009, 11:47 am
i wonder why the ospreys didn’t contract the heir apparent Francois Hougaard?
14 Dec 2009, 11:48 am
@Provincejoulekkading:
Bwahaha.
Ja old poor Ricky…
Would love to have him back in decent form so good luck to him.
But this interview I hardly read anything about Collins raving about him, he is simply stated what is expected of a professional player.
Will judge Ricky once he is back/
14 Dec 2009, 11:50 am
He just picked up a bit of wait… he”ll lose it, he’ll regain his speed… but Duvies is younger and more energetic…Ricky might still have some problems making the staring XV
14 Dec 2009, 11:55 am
@PissAnt:
He landed in Ireland a day before the game and couldn’t practice with the team and yet he performed well.
If that is ‘what is expected pf a professional player’ then I wish we had more in SA.
14 Dec 2009, 12:02 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
Duvenage is not that good. He does the basics well but that’s about it.
14 Dec 2009, 12:11 pm
@wpw: I think he’s good… remember all greats started by doing the basics well and building on that
14 Dec 2009, 12:22 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
You think he’s good or good looking???
14 Dec 2009, 13:03 pm
Him not being at home is enough of a blessing for WP rugby , remember how he looked this year after the holidays , he will come back sharper and leaner
14 Dec 2009, 14:54 pm
@Transformation:
Because he has a contract with the Bulls?
14 Dec 2009, 15:06 pm
Francois Hougaard is overrated and should never have toured with the Boks recently.
14 Dec 2009, 15:13 pm
@wpw: #8 I think you’ll find Ricky is putting the H into W(h)ales, not Ireland.
14 Dec 2009, 15:18 pm
@wpw: he’s a very good player…and he’s kind of cute
14 Dec 2009, 15:19 pm
@kaksioek:
Oh dear!!!
14 Dec 2009, 15:20 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
Hoe het ek geweet???
14 Dec 2009, 15:22 pm
@wpw: well the fact I am a 16 year old girl probably does help… hey Stormers have a lot of hot guys… beach training sessions are always fun
14 Dec 2009, 15:28 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
I know Sarah. I happen to be one of your FB buddies!!!
14 Dec 2009, 15:30 pm
I don’t think I can ever bring myself to rate Januarie. Even when he plays well he isn’t consistent. I don’t think he’ll ever be a test player. Especially that SA probably has the widest selection of scrumhalves in the world. FDP, Vermaak, Kockott, Sarel Pretorious and I think Duvenhage isn’t too bad either. I don’t think Ricky will ever make the Bok squad again because of this, so hopefully he will start playing well over-seas and get a nice contract over there.
14 Dec 2009, 15:32 pm
@wpw: oh ****… I didn’t know that… you lot should really tell me these things
14 Dec 2009, 15:41 pm
I think Januarie is passed his prime both physically and mentally. Collins was impressed with his performance against Viadana. Who the heck is Viadana? Regardless Januarie is extremely gifted on his day. His day only comes once or twice a year unfortunately. Even those days are becomming less and less now that he is becomming older.
14 Dec 2009, 15:54 pm
Tygervalley Mcdonalds is making a huge loss this festive season. No Ricky No Bonus! Wonder if Wales have any Mcdonalds joints, or should that be McJones.
14 Dec 2009, 15:56 pm
@Slappes: ha ha… I actually think it’s more due to the beer
14 Dec 2009, 16:06 pm
Sarah, when hes done guzzling he normally cleans out Mcdonalds. Bad combo. btw did you know that blogger Gunther is the nightshift manager at Mcdonalds?
14 Dec 2009, 16:15 pm
I can’t believe some of the comments I’m seeing on this thread! Is this how you treat a Bok player who’s put in some good service for his country? Its pathetic how you okes love to kick a player when he’s down. Look at the kak that gets hurled at Jacobs and Januarie when they’re having a bad year but all the excuses under the sun are made for Spies or Olivier.
2008 was a phenomenal year for RJ. I seem to remember him having a significant role in each of our major victories that year. Thanks RJ’s moment of genius at Hamilton we won in NZ for the first time in 10 years! I wonder how far that went to helping the Boks psyche this year. He was on fire against Aus in Ellis Park and got MOM at Twickenham after we stuffed the Poms. No FdP in that game if I remember. He was feisty and tenacious the whole game. So yes he’s out of form but give the guy some goddamn respect. He’s done things on the rugby pitch most of us here can only dream of.
14 Dec 2009, 16:16 pm
@Slappes: Okes like you make me sick.
14 Dec 2009, 16:21 pm
Crouchy, you wanna puke?
14 Dec 2009, 16:21 pm
Stadig met die dop daar in Walles… die bierglase is grooter daar!
14 Dec 2009, 16:42 pm
Very good move this for Ricky, it really is.
He’ll be back for the S14. Match Fit and hopefully in good condition.
I just hope he completely drop the booz and stuff and just focus on his rugby now and leave all that **** on the back seat.
Anyways, Good Luck over there Ricky.
14 Dec 2009, 16:43 pm
@wpw: can you smell the K@K you are talking??? Please man…
14 Dec 2009, 16:45 pm
Francois Hougaard is the next big thing…this kid is raw talent. Every true rugby man, who played the game at a decent level could tell you that much. But, he needs to be mentored and luckily he’s at the Bulls where Fourie Du Preez can keep an eye on the boy.
14 Dec 2009, 16:58 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: I agree.
I watch Adi in particular very carefully and I’m shocked how much criticism the guy gets when he does the slightest thing wrong. And very little praise for his exceptional distribution and finishing. He is definitely not an inside centre but makes an awesome 13 in my opinion. J Fourie must move to fullback as when need his class and pace at the back
As for Ricky he really does offer something different (when hes fit) and in a think he still has a few games in him for the Boks
14 Dec 2009, 17:32 pm
@Bok fan:
1. Adi can ONLY pass the ball to his LEFT, he doesn’t pass to the blind side and HARDLY ever scrambles to his right!
2. Adi gets away with a lot of FWD passes which I believe aren’t intentional, simply his passing technique not good enough for his pass to be thrown lateral
3. He dropped on average 4 balls a Test per 80 minutes during the B&ILs and the Tri Nations
4. Adi turned over the ball to the opposition on average 5 times per test per 80 minutes.
I spare you the statistics of his defensive shortcomings and lack of tackling
14 Dec 2009, 17:33 pm
We need Ricky back in form. We need a good second for FdP. Guys like Hougaard, Vermaak, Duvenhage etc will get their chance in the future. I would prefer 2 experienced, IN FORM, scrummies for the WC. If Ricky is fit and in form, I’ll play him as back-up to Fourie.
Jacobs is a 13, not 12. But our best combo is de Villiers/Fourie. F.Steyn shouild be 15.
14 Dec 2009, 17:37 pm
@wpw: Copy, Paste, and Print that comment. Frame it. I have a funny feeling it will come back to bite you in the a$# one day. Perhaps he shouldn;t have gone on tour, but he is not over rated. He is a huge talent.
14 Dec 2009, 17:38 pm
@Ned:
A wistful thinking, we shall see, the quota system will ensure his place in the WP match XXII anyway.
I rate January BUT not as a scrumhalf.
And in the first place, whom did January excell against? Against Clermont? Leinster?? or Saracens?
Thumping a no name Italian rugby team is hardly a yardstick to evaluate his newly found capabilities
Hold judgement!
14 Dec 2009, 17:41 pm
Can anyone tell me why Mapoe was over looked for the tour? In my opinion he is our second best 11, and he is still young enough to move to 14, where JP is not performing at the moment.
14 Dec 2009, 17:50 pm
@rich1: i guess ricky must be out of contract with wp/stormers then?
14 Dec 2009, 17:52 pm
@Bok fan:
I checked for you:
Adi Jacobs was dropped for the 3rd Test against The Lions and spent the whole TriNation series on the bench, he came back against France and that was a sorry tale, the futility of picking him was raised on Keo.co.za few times last month.
Now, Adi was dropped from the BoksXV by a coach who is not white, so it landed him into a hot water with the quota monitoring fellas, you have to assume it was done for a valid reason!
14 Dec 2009, 17:53 pm
@Johan Fourie: 11 – Johan, I think all of us wondered why Mapoe never got selected. JPP not playing well at the moment. Well he never played well on the eoyt. I would have had Mapoe start at 14.
Mapoe has huge talent. Probably will get a call up next year. Well hope he does. Lets see how he plays in the S14. Think he will be one to watch.
14 Dec 2009, 17:53 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: well said crouchy!
14 Dec 2009, 17:55 pm
@wpw: well said
Francois Hougaard is definitely the most over rated player in sa ruggas
total blasphemy he earned his 1st cap for boks already
14 Dec 2009, 17:56 pm
@Puma: Agree Puma. Lets hope JP comes back to form. It’s not really bad form, just think he needs to get more involved in play. Lazy at times.
Bulls should have signed Mapoe!
14 Dec 2009, 17:56 pm
@Puma:
I concur!
14 Dec 2009, 17:58 pm
@Crouching Tiger Hidden Bokke: couldnt have said it bette myself
there’s something disconcerting abt the way we kick players like Januarie, Adi when they’re down but players till want Meisikind to have another chance
and APPLAUD Frncois Hougaard earning a cap
very very disconcerting!!!
14 Dec 2009, 17:59 pm
@Johan Fourie: Hey!!!!!!! What you mean Bulls should have signed him…hehehe Was hoping the Sharks would sign Mapoe
(You know those Free Staters love Durbs..hehe) Serious though, he is one for the future for sure. Superb player.
JPP will be back. One thing about him he has great defence. Just this eoyt never played well.
14 Dec 2009, 18:00 pm
@Papoose: He should not have been picked for the EOYT, but he is a huge talent. When Joost retired I thought we would never be able to replace him. Now look at FdP. Way better than Joost. Next year Hougaard will continue to improve, and the next year. Watch him by 2012!
14 Dec 2009, 18:02 pm
@Puma: LOL!
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All