digimag-banner

Fourie up for top award

Jaque Fourie’s try against the British & Irish Lions has been nominated for the IRB’s Try of the Year award.

Fourie’s effort as a substitute in the series-clinching second Test is the only Springbok try nominated, while two of the Lions’ scores from Shane Williams and Rob Kearney are up for the award.

IRPA representatives narrowed the field to the final 15. France and New Zealand have three tries each with Williams the only player to have two tries featured in the shortlist, one for Wales and one for the Lions.

Brian O’Driscoll won the inaugural award last year, and the general public can vote online at www.irb.com.

The online poll will close on 31 December 2009 and the winner will be announced in early January. Votes for IRPA Try of the Year should be sent to votetry@irb.com.

33 Responses to “Fourie up for top award”

• 1. SlappesReply to this comment :

Please refer to him as the WP-bok in future threads.

• 2. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

• 3. Stormer23Reply to this comment :

Amen. Wish Rassie will sign him already.

• 4. NZINCHINAReply to this comment :

KEO.co.za should sponsor the Fourie cheerleading team.

• 5. MfwethuReply to this comment :

@Slappes: Well said Slappes!

@NZINCHINA: you are a real chopstick. Typical kiwi comment

• 6. WP_Reply to this comment :

@Stormer23: Where have you been hiding. He has signed!

• 7. NZINCHINAReply to this comment :

@Mfwethu:

You wouldn’t know a good pair of chop sticks from a bad pair, you would however make a good cheerleader though, sign up give us a J – give us an F…

• 8. SlappesReply to this comment :

@NZINCHINA:
    Can I get a C-H-O-K-E in WC 2011?

• 9. poppa69Reply to this comment :

@Slappes: didnt you get that c-h-o-k-e against Ireland? :lol: 1 from 5 as world champs, must be something in the water huh?

• 10. SlappesReply to this comment :

@poppa69:
    Yeah, we tend to choke on these small stage tours. Whereas the ABs wait for the world stage.

• 11. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

@Stormer23: He is signed… I’ve got an awesome pic of him in his Stormers jersey

• 12. SpringbokSarahReply to this comment :

btw if Langenhoven drops in, wish him happy birthday from me for tomorrow

• 13. mshiniwamiReply to this comment :

@nzinchina

Thank u for saying it.Keo and his ilk the cheerleading squad for specific group of players: eg

Fourie Du Preez
    Jaque Fourie
    Victor Matfield
    Jean De Villiers
    John Smit
    Schalk Burger
    BJ Botha
    CJ van der Linde
    Pierre Spies
    Ruan Pienaar

Just look at the SA rugby mags,all year round how the covers tend to rotate only on 75% on these individuals.plus the romanticized notion of their often faultless performances/abilities.

I’m patriotic but these guys need to chill with the hyperboles.won’t take this kak as if its religious dogma.

Next “blue eyed boys in line”:

Nick Koster
    Frans Hougaard
    Dewalt Duvenage
    Duanne Vermuelen
    Louis Ludik
    Heinke vd Merwe
    Jano Vermaak
    Gerhard vd Heever

• 14. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

@SpringbokSarah: Thanks little sarah…

@mshiniwami: Amen comrade… Watch the rise of Gerhard vd Heever… WP even paid Habana to make way for him… The boere network is in charge of every S14 team now… they even got plumtree to come on board. Jaque Fourie has to compete with Juan De Jongh for the No13 Jersey at WP… but watch them shove Habana to there to get rid of De Jongh…

• 15. whateverReply to this comment :

@Langenhoven:

Shame, the whole world against you again? BIG chip, tiny insignificant shoulder. Is it one of those circus mirrors that pumps your ego and blows your insecurities?

• 16. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

@whatever: My insecurities?? lol… Chip on my shoulder?? does that mean that I am black… lol.. Damn, I wish I was white

• 17. whateverReply to this comment :

@Langenhoven:

I don’t give a continental what colour you are or wish to be dude. What gives you carte blanche to continuously have a racist dig at Afrikaaners and then cry the big “R” when someone retaliates? Hypocritical big time!

• 18. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

@whatever: Racist Dig at Afrikaaners??? lol.. Damn, get that chip off your tiny insignificant shoulder.. BTW, I am a Langenhoven

• 19. whateverReply to this comment :

@Langenhoven:

Yeah whatever………you know what I’m talking about, or you should, cause you profess not to be dof.

• 20. LangenhovenReply to this comment :

CHeers, I am out… Fkal happening here…

Whatever, we should chat a bit more.. on another day..

• 21. Kobus KittyReply to this comment :

Although I want Fourie to win, I probably won’t vote.

• 22. SjamBokReply to this comment :

@mshiniwami: FFS as far as I see it, Keo basically identifies players playing in form or who look lik they are destined for greatness. Just because they dont happen to coincide with yours, what, they are racist?

And of course NZINCHINA agrees with you- those same players have been kicking his beloved AB’s *** for the last year – he must be sick of seeing them!

If a player plays well, he gets focus. You cannot deny that these guys have been playing well. If a black player wants focus, he must play well.

And many black players have had focus. In fact there have been a nuber of articles about black players/coaches too, like Habana, Waylon Murray (who is not actually playing well at all, but should be), Beast, Juan de Jongh, Paul Treu and errrm…. gee nobody else is even around. I guess PdV is not as “transformative” as Jake then is he? Or perhaps there are just not enough black players that are GOOD ENOUGH.

Perhaps you would prefer it if the website gushed about mediocre players just because they are black? Oh wait I forgot, that is the South African way nowadays….

• 23. fish out of waterReply to this comment :

best try out of all the tries is Cedric Heymans.

• 24. TransformationReply to this comment :

@mshiniwami: the first list is missing Francois “i want to play 10″ Steyn, Joe van Niekerk & Bryan Habana.

add Ryan Kankowski, Wian du Preez to the second list

• 25. caneReply to this comment :

@fish out of water #23:
    Re: comment #23.

I took a look at the nominees Fishy…….and of the tries I recognised……….I agreee 100%.

• 26. mshiniwamiReply to this comment :

what about stories and covers on:

Beast Mtawarira
    Bakkies Botha
    Heinrich Brussow
    Morne Steyn
    Zane Kirchner
    JP Pieterson
    Ashley Johnson
    Jongi Nokwe
    Adi Jacobs
    Peter Grant
    Frans Louw
    Pedrie Wannenburg
    Lionel Mapoe
    Mpho Mbiyozo
    Mzwandile Stick
    Willem Alberts
    Richard Bands(what happened??)
    Odwa&Akona Ndungane
    Paul Treu
    Eric Sauls
    Paul Delport????(recovery etc)

• 27. BossReply to this comment :

Voted for Cedric Heymans – great try!

• 28. rayoohoo@yahoo.comReply to this comment :

The top three tries are Heynmans, Shane Williams and Jacques Fourie. All got 10, the other got 5 to 7.

I have decided to vote for Fourie because he had no space whatsoever, and actually had to fight for space, the other two had space.

Most incredidble try in the Heineken cup was that of Phillip Burger, for Perpigan against Munster.
    DID YOU SEE THAT???

• 29. whateverReply to this comment :

@rayoohoo@yahoo.com:

Yeah, I saw Burgers try, was a gem!

• 30. whateverReply to this comment :

@cane:

I take it you did not recognise much then? :)

• 31. stewReply to this comment :

@rayoohoo@yahoo.com: Burger has still got gass.

Fouries try was world class , must get it .

• 32. DEE DAHReply to this comment :

and the winner is….. Richie McCaw

• 33. fish out of waterReply to this comment :

@cane: anyone who can do that to the AB’s back line deserves the award…

About the author

Grant has written 1933 articles.

Personal website

Poll

Should Peter de Villiers be axed?
View Results

Back in time

Recent Comments

digimag-banner
Terms and conditions of use | My Profile
keo.co.za is the online partner to SA Rugby magazine and SA Cricket magazine.
Copyright 2008 Keo.co.za. All Rights Reserved.HSM Site
Design by osOutsource | Designed by Carthage.
Email Webmaster
Afrigator