Bok prop relishes Munster stint
15 Dec 2009
Wian du Preez says he is making the most of his two-month loan at Munster.
The Cheetahs loosehead has made major strides in his career since his impressive performances in the Currie Cup.
After being initially snubbed by the Springbok selectors for the European Tour, he was a late call-up to the squad after Guthro Steenkamp flew back home injured.
Despite being a disappointing tour, Du Preez made his Test debut in the win over Italy and gained valuable international experience. He will now add to this as he spends two months at Irish powerhouse Munster, where he has already started two matches, to help the club out with their prop injury crisis.
‘I made my debut in the narrow defeat [19-14] against Ospreys,’ he told keo.co.za. ‘That was disappointing because you always want to be on the winning side, but the next game against Perpignan was a great experience as I ran out at Thomond Park for the first time and we beat them in a close encounter [24-23].
‘It is a completely different atmosphere. From the passionate cheers from the home crowd to the dead silence while players kick at goal. The style of rugby is also different up north. The Super 14 has more running rugby where teams place a lot on emphasis on attack, while here they play for territory so they kick much more and there are more ruck contests.
‘The weather also has a big impact. Sometimes the ball doesn’t even reach the centre because of the wet conditions, so I’m learning to play in different situations and conditions.’
Du Preez added that it is a good experience playing alongside world-class players in the Munster line-up.
‘Munster have players like Paul O’Connell, Doug Howlett, Ronan O’Gara and David Wallace. They are great players and I’m learning a lot from them. They are also very friendly, which has made it easier for me to settle in.’
Off the field, Du Preez had a chance to meet up with other Saffas, such as former Cheetahs team-mate Philip Burger and Bok centre Jean de Villiers.
‘I met up with Philip in the week before the game against Perpignan. It was like a reunion and was nice to catch up. I will be visiting him again as we travel to France for the away leg against Perpignan in the European Cup,’ he said.
‘I also see Jean de Villiers, who’s also here at Munster. Although he wasn’t part of the team last weekend, he’s still very much part of the squad.’
Apart from the ‘miserable’ weather, Du Preez said he is enjoying life in Ireland.
‘The lifestyle is great here,’ he said. ‘They have everything here like top-class malls, shops and restaurants, but it has been difficult to adapt to the weather. It’s sad to hear my family and friends spending time on the beach, while I’m in the cold. But apart from that, I can only say positive things about my time here. It’s been great and I will do it again.’
Du Preez added that he is determined to play for a spot in the Bok team.
‘For any South African player, their dream is to be a Springbok,’ he said. ‘It will be difficult to get a place in the team and I will need to perform well in the next Super 14, but I will work hard for it.’
Du Preez returns to South Africa on 25 January, where he will join up with the Cheetahs for Super 14 pre-season training.

105 Comments
15 Dec 2009, 07:44 am
wian you wouldnt know the sea if you saw it boet….. bloem dam is not the beach
15 Dec 2009, 07:45 am
what he prolly misses most is the free state hamburger…
stywe pap with slap pap in the middel
15 Dec 2009, 07:53 am
all black & sharks destroyer!!! Go Wian!
15 Dec 2009, 08:22 am
Good experience for this guy – he will have a great S14 but upstaging the Beast will be a difficult task .
15 Dec 2009, 08:41 am
….and he says THEY kick much more.
interesting
But anyway, I very much doubt Munster would not make it into the top half of a super 14 table.
15 Dec 2009, 08:44 am
He played very well for Munster on Friday.
15 Dec 2009, 08:46 am
There is nothing negative that can come from his stint in Europe. Young front rowers should all be encouraged to go play there. as long as they come back !!! (Daan Human….)
Locks too – I think Juandre Kruger is going to come back, and be a HUGE Springbok one day. He can only learn a lot in Europe.
15 Dec 2009, 08:47 am
@sharks_lover: Bloemfontein has a fantastic new waterfront i will have you know. Just like the Indian Ocean – only cleaner
15 Dec 2009, 08:52 am
i was in 1 para many years ago
bloem has nice chicks, eish en ons het lekker gesokkie
15 Dec 2009, 08:59 am
@Cheetha Champs:
hey now ours has sparkplugs in it and lotsa fishies
15 Dec 2009, 09:29 am
@Cheetha Champs: Ja that water in durbs is suspiciously green.
15 Dec 2009, 09:39 am
“Du Preez returns to South Africa on 25 January, where he will join up with the Cheetahs for Super 14 pre-season training.”
No recuperation period for him at all. Which means he will be too “tired” by the end of the season to be considered for the EOYT.
Pity really, but in this case he is the architect of his own non-selection if it pans out that way.
15 Dec 2009, 09:41 am
@Cheetha Champs: #7
See my post 12 for the negative that can come from him playing in Europe.
15 Dec 2009, 10:12 am
@stew: Actually, he already has, but yes, short of changing his colour, he will battle to upstage the Beast!!
The Cheetah scrum with Strauss, and Nel destroyed the sharks scrum twice in the CC. The second time Beast didn’t play!!
It’s a sad fact, that even if Wian is a better LH than Beast, he will not be selected. Even when he was, Snor sent CJ on against France, which probably cost us that match as well
15 Dec 2009, 10:17 am
@nama1: @12.. Actually, that is not true, cos Naka only plays Wian for abot 50 mins a match, and then he unleashes Coenie “Shrek” Oosthuizen on the opposition, all the Cheetahs need now is a back up to WP Nel, and Strauss…
And of course to finde a replacement for JL Potgieter…
15 Dec 2009, 10:32 am
@Cheetah 4 Eva: #15
Whether he plays 50min or the entire game does not matter, C4E. His body is in need of total rest to recharge the batteries for next season. In his case it won’t happen.
Would have love to see him, Strauss and WP fresh at the start of Super rugby and give it a go against all the other front rows.
15 Dec 2009, 10:35 am
see Bolla Conradie has moved to Boland and will play CC for them next year…
15 Dec 2009, 10:41 am
@ufo: sounds like good news
wish more players would do tht to get more game time instead of sitting on the bench
how many flyhalves to bulls have in stock now?
15 Dec 2009, 11:06 am
This guys is actually a very useful and decent rugby player…
I noticed him and earmarked him for the Boks in 2006 or 2007 i think.
I still feel he will only reach his peak beyond his 30′s.
15 Dec 2009, 11:07 am
@ufo: will he be paid on the “dop stelsel” or what? That union is broke…
15 Dec 2009, 11:51 am
Wim is well advised to further his career in Europe,
He has nothing else to prove in SA rugby at the age of 27, he will not nudge out that farce called the Beast from the Boks jersey No.1 no matter what, on the other hand, his immense skills, technique and power at LH will be well rewarded in Europe financially and recognition wise
Listen to me Wim!
15 Dec 2009, 11:56 am
@nama1: Well… currently all our squads are training all out for the S14. I think he has a better deal, since he’s not doing all the irritating ‘extreme’ fitness stuff.
15 Dec 2009, 11:56 am
@Cheetah 4 Eva:
The one thing the Cheetahs aren’t short of is a reservoir of quality forwards coming thru from Grey College and the Shimals!
Wim is 27 years old, time for him to rip the financial benefits of his skills and talent!
There will be bidders for him in Europe after January, I am sure of that
15 Dec 2009, 12:03 pm
Lekker Wian!
15 Dec 2009, 12:08 pm
@Bouts: #22
Let’s talk about it again, in say Aug/Sept of 2010.
15 Dec 2009, 12:22 pm
A definite future star… cannot wait to see him playing for the Melbourne Rebels…
15 Dec 2009, 12:24 pm
@bryce_in_oz:
And bring WP Nell over too…
15 Dec 2009, 12:25 pm
@bryce_in_oz:
And Kockott… and ALberts… and and…
15 Dec 2009, 12:36 pm
@bryce_in_oz:
Makes sense,
your list too accurate to be an off hands
Those mentioned are certainly a Test rated players who will not make it to the Boks side because of the quota system that currently in place here,
Albert, Kpckott and Nell are advised to move elsewhere, to unions where only sills, talent and abilities are the criteria.
When Hinie Adams, Johnson, Rose and Raubenheimer made it to the Boks EOTYT squad, I reckoned that Albert, Kockott, Wim, Potgieter (FH), Vermulen and Nel should reconsider their options!
15 Dec 2009, 12:45 pm
@Hondo: Hi Hondo, thanks for the Adi stats the other day. Well I admit Adi has not had a great season (Shoulder injury being the main cause) I still feel he is the best distributor in SA and one of the classiest players Ive seen in a green jersey for a long time.
The tries we scored in 2008 were some of the best tries SA has scored in a long time (because they werent just intercepts) and Adi played a vital role in most of them. A player like Jean will break the gain line and 9/10 times make the wrong decision afterwards whereas with Adi its usually going to be trytime (when hes on form).
As for his defense when his shoulder isnt a problem he hardly misses his man. The biggest problem defensively is playing ADi at 12 where you need to knock your opposition back whereas at 13 you just need to bring the man down and dont tackle nearly as much.
In summary I would never play Adi at 12 especially not for the Boks – his position is 13 and like I said J Fourie should move to fullback where he belongs. If J Fourie were to move to fullback for 2010 I guarantee he would be the best fullback at the World Cup
15 Dec 2009, 12:56 pm
@Bok fan: I disagree. Fourie is the best Bok 13, he hasn’t played 15 for years, and is more useful to the Boks at 13.
Frans Steyn (who may be more useful at 12), Kirchner, Ludik are more sensible options at 15.
If positions are needed to be switched, Morne Steyn could be a good option at 15 leaving no 10 to be filled.
15 Dec 2009, 13:08 pm
@Heavens Game:
I disagree… JF is the world’s best 13…
15 Dec 2009, 13:11 pm
@Bok fan: #30
Good post. Can’t wait for his response.
15 Dec 2009, 13:29 pm
@bryce_in_oz: Half correct: World Champion best 13 = World best 13
15 Dec 2009, 13:37 pm
a-ha hondo is holding court again then players of colour should wait to be called names…he he he…wakanathan is better stirrer than hondo because he extremely articulate , sharp as a tack & witty to a fault!
Not this stuff dished out by this guy.
15 Dec 2009, 14:19 pm
“For the first time, the global Rugby family is being asked to vote online for their favourite try from a shortlist of superb tries from the RBS Six Nations, Lions Test Series , Tri Nations and June and November internationals.”
Fourie’s try is #4.
So send an email to votetry(at)irb.com with a 4 in the email.
He deserves to win
Mike
15 Dec 2009, 15:57 pm
@Transformation: Ag u ngazi khathazi ngalo mdidi we donkey.
You’re actually right, he’s like the Tackler. You know what he’s going to say without even reading his posts.
I just scroll on
15 Dec 2009, 16:10 pm
To those that are going on their summer holiday today.
Have a great Christmas and all the best for the New Year.
Drive safe where ever you are all headed.
Many companies will close for their summer holidays today. So not sure who will still be posting here until the New Year.
Enjoy it where ever you go.
15 Dec 2009, 16:14 pm
@Puma: Thanks Puma, have a great one yourself. I’ll still be around, we’re in the FMCG sector. We’ll only be closed for christmas day and any other public holiday but otherwise we’re working right through the festive season.
15 Dec 2009, 16:19 pm
@Jozi: Thanks. I will have a great holiday. Will still post though. Looking forward to the cricket now hope the weather plays along.
Sometimes it is better to take your holiday after the mad rush of the festive season.
I hardly go to the beach now. Will wait until after the holiday makers head home. It will be too crowded down in Umhlanga.
Another thing for those that are coming this way. Bring a RAIN COAT……hehehe. We have had plenty rain.
15 Dec 2009, 16:20 pm
Okay that is me out of here for now.
Cheers all.
15 Dec 2009, 16:23 pm
@Jozi:
Yip, join the club. Working straight through.
15 Dec 2009, 18:02 pm
@Puma: thanks puma, you also have yourself a merry christmas & prosperous new year. I’m one of the many that “shutdown” work today and i’m looking forward the couple of days off…
15 Dec 2009, 18:08 pm
@Transformation: 43 – Enjoy you holiday Transie. Drive safe where ever you headed mate. The roads will be very busy.
Catch up in the New Year.
15 Dec 2009, 18:17 pm
@Bok fan:
I do agree with your view of JdV, I would add that he is selfish by nature, however he is the only recognised Boks’ No12 at the Test level
I had expectations from B Meyers, Barritt and Grant to replace JdV, but it’s not gonna happened I am afraid.
Bear in mind Jacobs already played his first test in 2001, not a new revelation, Suddenly in the shambolic year of 2008 he excelled?
There was a controversy when he was picked for the Super14 Smi final that year ahead of Barritt, the Sharks lost miserably then and Barritt packed up his bags and gone.
I would take Barrit any time ahead of him but that’s only my opinion
Adi has great distribution skills and an eye for the gap, but since his arrival both Habana and Pietersen became quiet, I wonder why?
Did you watch Habana performing with Roberts and Fourie?
15 Dec 2009, 18:26 pm
@Heavens Game:
Styen is No 15at Test level, there is no one better
Shuffeling JF to make a room for another quota is the coach decision, here we talk rugby and so JF is at 13
The ABs played their best ever No 15 out of position in 1999 and paid for it, just a rude awakening for them.
Sometimes it works though, JdV played at 11 in 2004, scored tries and was a welcomed addition to the Boks’ cover defence.
15 Dec 2009, 18:42 pm
@Hondo: Heya Hondo – who is B Meyers?
15 Dec 2009, 19:02 pm
@Mfwethu:
He was probably thinking about Meyer Bosman.
Die ouman se kop raas partykeer en dan kom die name verkeerd uit.
15 Dec 2009, 19:03 pm
@Hondo:nonsense! Last year jpp was off form period his try drought can’t be attributed to adi! As for habana he was starved of the ball by jake white’s tactics and adi was nowhere near the team then, he was living off intercepts & turnover ball! you can criticise all you want but don’t fabricate, we all have been watching the same boks.
One wonders how nokwe all of a sunday can score four tries against the aussies when adi is apparently the “ball hog” try another story john wayne.
@Puma: thanks puma, enjoy Umhlanga! I’ve got an invitation to come through to Ballitto after the 27th, so will see, i might end up in you neck of the woods…
15 Dec 2009, 19:34 pm
Snor my kjind … wanneer jy spyker weer in die oos london?
16 Dec 2009, 11:08 am
wiaan will be in a contest with beast and heinke for the 1 jersey…..will be a keenly contested battle….
16 Dec 2009, 12:07 pm
Keo is dead, long live the dwarf.
16 Dec 2009, 12:32 pm
Who was the first poster to vomit on the space bar,
And find the distance to the keyboard too far,
Meanwhile its getting late at ten oclock,
Keo is dead they say,
Long live Keo.
Be it Dead or Alive!
16 Dec 2009, 12:42 pm
langenhoven and Puma s birthday today, happy b day gents….many more!
16 Dec 2009, 12:45 pm
@grant10: happy birthday Puma, a true SA gentlemen… gees thats something you wouldnt consider in the same sentence… many more mate
16 Dec 2009, 12:49 pm
Happy birthday, Puma and Langenhoven! Cheers.
16 Dec 2009, 12:50 pm
Post some new threads Keo (or his minions)!!
16 Dec 2009, 12:55 pm
Happy Bday Puma! And Shaun!
16 Dec 2009, 12:57 pm
Happy bday Puma! Hope you having an awesome day
16 Dec 2009, 12:58 pm
BH
not minnions, theyre more like court jesters.
16 Dec 2009, 12:58 pm
wow it’s actually a lot of birthdays today… what happened nine months ago?
16 Dec 2009, 13:01 pm
Sarah, the sharks choked again.
16 Dec 2009, 13:02 pm
Puma 54………….You are 1 week older than I.
Langenhoven……….Many happy returns.
Grant12………..well done.
16 Dec 2009, 13:04 pm
@Slappes: … riiiiiiiiiight
@cane: Happy belated birthday
16 Dec 2009, 13:04 pm
@SpringbokSarah: is it your birthday too Sarah?
16 Dec 2009, 13:06 pm
ja I called my sister this morning and scream “Happy 25th birthday!” I think if she could have klapped me through the phone she would have
16 Dec 2009, 13:07 pm
@poppa69: no my sister
16 Dec 2009, 13:09 pm
Cane, 54? you guys are 20yrs my senior! Better start those blue pills pensioners, ask Grant he consumes them like smarties!
16 Dec 2009, 13:10 pm
@SpringbokSarah: well happy birthday to your sister
and happy birthday Cane, albeit a little late…
16 Dec 2009, 13:12 pm
@Slappes: shall we not get started with age gaps… I’ve got you all beat
@poppa69: ha ha I’ll tell her
16 Dec 2009, 13:14 pm
Sarah, yeah you the baby on the blog.
16 Dec 2009, 13:17 pm
@Slappes: I really am…. just think in about 50-60 years you’ll all be gone and I’ll be all by myself
16 Dec 2009, 13:19 pm
Interesting, who else has to be cheered this year?
16 Dec 2009, 13:21 pm
Sarah.
nah Ill still be around in my zimmerframe!
16 Dec 2009, 13:24 pm
@Slappes: ja but your arthritis will be so bad you won’t be able to type
16 Dec 2009, 13:28 pm
Sarah, yeah guess Ill just have ask my 2nd wife Minki vdw to type for me.
16 Dec 2009, 13:29 pm
Poppa, Grant, Slappes, Nils and Cane thanks for the birthday wishes.
Grant, I know you enjoy U2 well my daughter got me the dvd of them live in Dublin. Great stuff enjoyed it. Had to watch it first thing this morning with her. She insisted…hahaha. So missed putting in my crici SuperBru picks.
Great DVD though.
16 Dec 2009, 13:30 pm
@SpringbokSarah: @poppa69:
I thank you both from the bottom of my heart for your good wishes.
BUT.
“Puma 54………….You are 1 week older than I”.
This means I am still 53…for another week anyway.
16 Dec 2009, 13:31 pm
@Slappes: Minki? What happened to the 1st
@Puma: cough post number 59 cough
16 Dec 2009, 13:31 pm
@cane: 63 – Cannie, Never knew we were the same age? Well no wonder I enjoy your company here…hehe.
So I am one week older than you? I beat you there hey? hehehe. Not by much but a wee bit.
Have a good one when it comes mate.
16 Dec 2009, 13:33 pm
79 – Sarah, Not coughing just a headcold. I will survive. Just wont go to the movies today and sit in the aircon. Will have to see Invictus on Thursday or the weekend. On holiday now so time does not matter
16 Dec 2009, 13:33 pm
@cane: lol oops my bad… well the chances I will talk to you in a week are minimal
16 Dec 2009, 13:34 pm
@cane: hehe. Cane enjoy your last week of being 53. You will catch up with me in no time
16 Dec 2009, 13:35 pm
@Puma: roflmao… go today, as a bday present to yourself… I’m trying to go see it again… mom refuses
16 Dec 2009, 13:37 pm
@Slappes: 68 – Slappes so from now on no back chat from you…hehehe. We oldies will be watching…
Ag, no mate. Really you as young as you want to be. My mind says I am 30 and never getting older
16 Dec 2009, 13:38 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
LOL.
Sharp….very sharp.
16 Dec 2009, 13:39 pm
@SpringbokSarah: 84 – Sarah, You will know that film so well by now.
May go tomorrow. Feeling a bit better with the head cold so don’t want to mess it up in the aircon. That what causes it.
Looking forward to the movie. Today being a public holiday it will be full to the rafters so will wait.
16 Dec 2009, 13:42 pm
@cane: rofl, I try
@Puma: I do… I know the… ok I’ll tell you once you’ve seen it
go in your Springbok top
16 Dec 2009, 13:44 pm
Puma,
yeah Im gonna have to tone it down a bit with you geriatrics. btw you should try get U2 live in Boston dvd as well, superb.
16 Dec 2009, 13:45 pm
@SpringbokSarah: 88 –
Sarah, NO…hehehe. Not going to watch it in my Springbok jersey……hehehe.
16 Dec 2009, 13:46 pm
@Puma: well if you go in an AB top you might go emo
16 Dec 2009, 13:48 pm
@Slappes: Yip, Us oldies are watching you ligties….hahaha.
Will try and get it. Enjoy U2 a lot. My daughter got it for me. So will look out for that one.
Now hope for Xmas she has not bought me John’s book as I have it. Everytime I tell her I have these rugby books she forgets and I get another one for Christmas. Must have two of all the rugga books…..hehehe.
16 Dec 2009, 13:48 pm
sorry, typo. meant lighties.
16 Dec 2009, 13:50 pm
@SpringbokSarah: 91 – Sarah, They wont let me in then
16 Dec 2009, 13:51 pm
Puma, as long as you dont have 2 copies of Joosts book, youll be fine!
16 Dec 2009, 13:51 pm
@Puma: roflmao good point
16 Dec 2009, 13:59 pm
@Slappes: No don’t even have one. That is not a rugga book
16 Dec 2009, 13:59 pm
cheers guys, I’m off… enjoy your holiday and birthdays
16 Dec 2009, 14:04 pm
Cane and Poppa, hope you both still post with us until Xmas if you don’t, have yourselves a great Christmas and all the best for the New Year.
Same to everyone else if they not going to post during the the festive season. Have yourselves a great holiday.
Time to relax and have some fun. Enjoy.
Shaun Langenhoven, You and I hardly speak but want to say Happy Birthday to you. Hope you have a great day.
Out of here now. Going to watch some crici.
16 Dec 2009, 14:07 pm
Cane if I miss you here on your birthday. Or you not posting that day. Have a good one mate.
Now out of here. Cheers all.
16 Dec 2009, 14:20 pm
@Puma:
Same to You, Cougar.
If we don’t catch up before Christmas….All the best.
To Poppavitch, Slapper, Young Sarah, Old Skoppie, and everyone else on Keo (well almost everyone)…….All the Very Best.
16 Dec 2009, 14:23 pm
@cane: cheers Cane, to you and Puma, thanks for making this oldie feel like a youngster again
16 Dec 2009, 14:48 pm
Howdy, y’all.
16 Dec 2009, 22:14 pm
@cane: Merry Christmas cane
18 Dec 2009, 00:16 am
@poppa69:
Backhanded compliment! Nice, you just can’t help it can you