Title defence begins on north island
18 Dec 2009
The Springboks will be based in Wellington and the north shore for the group stages of the 2011 World Cup.
The New Zealand World Cup chief executive Mark Snedden announced the final venues for the tournament on Friday. John Smit’s charges will be in the Kiwi capital for 17 nights and on Auckland’s north shore for four. Unsurprisingly, they have not been based in Hamilton after Peter de Villiers less than complimentary remarks in the Tri-Nations.
Rugbyheaven.co.nz reports that 23 centres have been confirmed for the competition -16 on the north island and seven in the south. Aprat from the 13 venues already named (Auckland, Christchurch, Hamilton, Invercargill, Napier, Nelson, New Plymouth, North Shore, Palmerston North, Rotorua, Wellington and Whangarei), Bay of Islands, Rodney, Tauranga/Mt Maunganui, Taupo, Gisborne, Wanganui, Masterton, Blenheim, Ashburton and Queenstown will also host at least one of the 20 teams.
47 training grounds will be utilised around the country. The Boks will train at either Onewa Domain (Takapuna RFC) or North Harbour Stadium whilst on the north shore, and Rugby League Park, Newtown Park, Porirua Park (Norths RFC), Hutt Recreation Ground (Hutt Old Boys RFC) when in Wellington.

135 Comments
18 Dec 2009, 09:58 am
smit at 2 ….BJ,CJ,WP NEL 3 ….or all over rover
18 Dec 2009, 10:12 am
Im not as confident about this world cup as I was when the Boks were under White. I knew White would do the business. Im worried Devilliers hasnt got what it takes. The fact that the Boks were using lineout calls from 2007 and didnt expect Smal to see it is shocking testimont that we have a coaching problem in that squad and I am not knocking DeVilliers. I think his entire core of assistant coaches are not also not up to scratch. Too me the whole bunch of apples are rotten.
Anyone know what is happening to the Bok badge come world cup time?
18 Dec 2009, 10:12 am
He he, Grant this Smit issue are realy getting to you hey…
18 Dec 2009, 10:15 am
Aprat from the 13 venues already named….
Name calling is not very nice.
18 Dec 2009, 10:19 am
@Dantalian:
Ha ha, also picked it up…see how it will change soon without a mention…
18 Dec 2009, 10:23 am
@Blouste: Stank vir dank from the Keolites.
18 Dec 2009, 10:26 am
Definitely the two best places to be based for the tournament…
18 Dec 2009, 10:45 am
Geez, why Wellington for 17 days? it’s a sh.it hole. Just ask Tackler. More wind than PE. Shuld have based themselves on the Shore for the whole time. Would have felt at home big time
18 Dec 2009, 10:51 am
i must say i was not very confident going to the world cup in 2007, white after all was out of his depth, we were ranked 4th in the world, had not beaten New Zealand away in close to a decade, had been walloped 49-0 by australia not to mention losses against france and ireland.
i’m not trying to knock white, but peter has shown this year that springbok teams can whitewash that all blacks and play different brands of rugby. All he needs to do is cull coach john smit’s powers because john can get the gameplan wrong like he did against ireland. Come 2011!
18 Dec 2009, 10:51 am
@whatever:
Not sure when last you went to Wellington…
Peaceful and serene coastal city… yet bustling, modern and the food/wine scene and cafe lifestyle is right up there in the world stakes…
Suggest you take a wee look at any of their tourism sites…
I was fortunate enough to spend a 3 week ‘all expenses paid’ trip across the Tasman for their last food/wine festival…
18 Dec 2009, 10:52 am
@bryce_in_oz:
Using Tackler as a social barometer is pretty laughable… eh… I demand a retraction from you…lol!
18 Dec 2009, 10:52 am
Tackler can I stay with you in 2011 for about 6 weeks? I also need you to play tourguide a bit. I would also like to buy your ticket for the final as i dont think you will be needing it.
18 Dec 2009, 10:55 am
@Pearl Rose:
Bit of dose of ‘reality’ for you Pearly…
“The year-end tour – or perhaps “tours” with two different coaches and the 37 players plus enforcements only together for a single week out of five – was a rude awakening.
From the loss against a Leicester Tigers side who were without 12 of their regulars and another against an under strength Saracens, to the losses against France and Ireland in the Tests, it was a disaster.
And the tour was included in a year that in many aspects was one of the Boks’ worst yet and definitely not close to the best in Bok history.
From a 78% winning record after the Tri-Nations, De Villiers’ side slumped to a rather average 67% in Tests – and if the two midweek tour games are added, to 57%.
Their 2009 Test record was not as good as that of 2005 (eight wins and one draw from 12 games), 2004 (nine wins from 13 matches), 1998 (11 from 12) or 1995 (10 from 10).
The 2009 season also produced their fourth worst record of all time in overseas Tests, with only three wins from six games.
Strange replacement calls such as the (regular) cheapening of Test caps by giving players a run of 73 seconds at the end of a Test, and replacing a loosehead with a tighthead while there was a loosehead replacement on the bench, were indicative of poor planning and tactics.
They nearly lost the first Test against the Lions through silly replacement calls by coach De Villiers and ultimately won after a desperate last-second tackle by Morne Steyn on Ugo Monye.
The second was also won by Steyn with a last-gasp penalty from within his own half after the Lions, on top, were hamstrung by the enforced uncontested scrums.
The Springboks won the first two Tests 26-21 and 28-25.
In the third Test the Boks opted to make 10 changes. The Lions were forced to do the same due to injuries.
The changes in South Africa’s side gave the Boks the chance to show their depth against the Lions’ dirt trackers who were weakened by injury withdrawals before and during the tour.
The visiting side was the best they could put together, while the Boks could pick from their perceived player depth. The Lions won 28-9.
In the Tri-Nations, the Springboks were a cross-kick away from defeat against the All Blacks in Hamilton, and they were fortunate that they played the Kiwis without Dan Carter in the first two Tests.
Journalist and former Springbok communications manager Mark Keohane summed it up in the Business Day newspaper.
“The Boks lost to a half-decent French team, a Leicester team missing 12 of their regulars, a Saracens SA XV that would not end in the top six of the Currie Cup, made Italy look like Six Nations contenders and should have been put away by 20 points by Ireland, who in the last year have been the most consistent international team,” Keohane wrote.
“That the Boks were named international team of the year after taking a beating from the Irish was as close as it comes to an Irish joke, and it wasn’t a particularly funny one.
“Australia losing to Scotland gave some perspective to the Tri-Nations campaign. New Zealand’s changing of coaching roles and reversal to a more conservative approach, orchestrated by the world’s best flyhalf, Dan Carter, who incidentally did not play in the two defeats against the Boks in SA, adds more reality to the quality of the Tri-Nations win, and the All Blacks’ fitness in Marseilles ended any arguments that the Boks lost because they were simply too tired.
“The All Blacks, in club and provincial games, played as much rugby as the Boks and the Test sides have played even more matches this year than the Springboks.”
Keohane went on to add, “the best team in the world does not get smashed in Brisbane, Leicester, Wembley, Toulouse, Dublin, Johannesburg and sneak two three-point wins in Pretoria and Hamilton.
“The Boks are not as tired as we think and they are not as good as we think. But they could be the best if every agenda was put to one side and decisions were made that benefit the Boks and confront issues instead of blaming referees, fatigue and glorifying five-point losses.”
Positives of the season included the unearthing of Western Province centre Juan de Jongh, who did well on tour, and the way in which Heinrich Brussow and Morne Steyn slotted into their roles in their first international season, as well as the improvement in every game of fullback Zane Kirchner and the move back to hooker of John Smit.
Hopefully a lesson has been learnt about Smit’s major weaknesses in scrumming at tighthead.
“Your scrum strength is determined by your tighthead and John Smit is not an international tighthead. Can Div (De Villiers) really now still claim to have enough technical knowledge to coach a national side?” asks former Western Province prop Tank Lanning on the website sport24.co.za.
One of the negatives of the season was the lack of openness regarding the year-end team selection. “Window-dressing at its most crass,” Keohane calls it.
De Villiers is commendably building for after 2011.
But was Bandise Maku, only seven months younger than Adriaan Strauss, the answer? Strauss will turn 26 only after the 2011 World Cup – and once he had joined the team in Europe as a replacement, he was preferred to Maku in the Tests.
Why select the Bulls’ two reserve hookers while their number one, Derick Kun, stays at home? Why was Jean Deyzel overlooked and then, as a late tour replacement, preferred to Davon Raubenheimer and Ashley Johnson at Test level? No honest answers to these and other similarly relevant questions have been forthcoming.”
18 Dec 2009, 10:56 am
@bryce_in_oz:
Yeah, just fishing a bit mate. I go down on business about once a month. Great place when the weather is good. Can be very unpleasant when wet and windy, but so is Cape Town.
18 Dec 2009, 11:03 am
@whatever:
18 Dec 2009, 11:05 am
@bryce_in_oz:
Come on Bryce,most of the people here dont want to listen to the truth,settle down please
18 Dec 2009, 11:09 am
@bryce_in_oz:
Well said
@Pearl Rose:
Put that in your pipe and smoke it…
18 Dec 2009, 11:10 am
@bryce_in_oz: 13. bryce_in_oz..
Firstly.. Mark Keohane is not a journalist.. He does PR and is employed as a Goebels to Promote Rugby legacy and its racist roots…
Secondly… Mark Keohane never has honest answers
@whatever:
How are you… insignificant twat..lol
18 Dec 2009, 11:12 am
@bryce_in_oz: hello bryce, i like how there are gaps in your attempt to recall contemporary springbok success/failure. Can you be so kind as to give us the Springboks’ record against ireland from 2004 – 07? And ditto for France. What was the team’s win ratio by the end of 2006 and what were the causes/excuse i’m sure you have plenty?
How convinient that you quote mark keohane when it suits you, ha ha ha. Google the words “mediocrity truimphs – keo.co.za” look for the keo.co.za link and enjoy reading the result.
18 Dec 2009, 11:13 am
@Langenhoven:
Hey I’m good f. u k knuckle. You manage to get your inflated head off the pillow I see. Wake your boyfriend when you got up?
18 Dec 2009, 11:19 am
@Langenhoven:
Forgive me… I should have omitted the Keo quotes (too ‘busy’ sitting on this Aus Cash 200 SPI trade)… and just have included the cold-hard stats there-in…
18 Dec 2009, 11:20 am
@whatever: My boyfriend made the breakfast… my girlfriend needs a bit of a kick… she is still in bed… Need to call the wife and tell her I will be home shortly
My ego is naturally huge… not inflated though
18 Dec 2009, 11:23 am
@Pearl Rose:
Sorry mate… not a Keo ‘cut and paste’ that… but I couldn’t give the web source as I got tired of the constant ‘post in moderation’ shenanigans… and after all ( it might not seem so) but I’m diligently (cough) at work here in my home office at 8pm in Melbourne…
You want some stats… by all means go to ‘pick and go’… a great site for all your test needs…
18 Dec 2009, 11:23 am
@bryce_in_oz: The stats will also reveal that greatest underperformers in those losing teams/games were rugby players that you regard as heroes…Those much talked about senior players… They sabotaged PDV’s record. PDV should however take the blame for not listening to me. I told him to get rid of the trojans.. He did not
18 Dec 2009, 11:26 am
@Pearl Rose:
I think you will find your stats against France over the last 10 years has been ****,not positive though,hmmm maybe i should check myself
18 Dec 2009, 11:28 am
@Blouste: you’re here too…only in south africa does a coach get berated for his team winning with last gasp kicks, the blue bulls beat province in this years currie cup semi courtesy of a late penalty by morne steyn, the fact that they won the match is irrelevant everyone should focus on the fact that this bok laden team couldn’t score a try against a wp team filled with no-name brands. Frans Ludeke is a **** coach for being unable to coach the bulle to pulverise a province team devoid of superstars.
New Zealand’s win against Australia (a team that is rebuilding and is yet to mature) this year through a penalty that was awarded after daniel carter had kicked & his wings chased and turned over the ball, is really should never have been celebrated by the kiwis, why celebrate mediocrity? The all black with dan carter & richie mcCaw back should have annihilated the wallabies
Is that the kind of thinking you and bryce in Oz subbscribe to?
18 Dec 2009, 11:29 am
@Langenhoven:
Sounds like a good Thursday night previous eh?
18 Dec 2009, 11:34 am
@bryce_in_oz: 27. bryce_in_oz.. I am snowed in mate.. Huge snow storm last night.. So I might spend the day blogging and give the twats a roasting… Does the shoe fit??
18 Dec 2009, 11:35 am
Below are the stats for the last 8 years against France,not good reading for SA
Date Tourn Rnd Match Score
Fri, 13 Nov 2009 AI SAF v FRA 13-20
Sat, 24 Jun 2006 ST SAF v FRA 26-36
Sat, 26 Nov 2005 AI SAF v FRA 20-26
Sat, 25 Jun 2005 ST SAF v FRA 27-13
Sat, 18 Jun 2005 ST SAF v FRA 30-30
Sat, 09 Nov 2002 AI SAF v FRA 10-30
Sat, 10 Nov 2001 AI SAF v FRA 10-20
Sat, 23 Jun 2001 ST SAF v FRA 20-15
18 Dec 2009, 11:36 am
@Langenhoven:
When the Bok’s underperform under PDV it’s the senior players… when they (the same seniors) underperformed under JW… it was JW… ah well… who am I to argue…
@Pearl Rose:
Pearly… it’s one of those ‘catch22′ situations synonymous with sports (and more so their fans)… a one pt loss is a loss… a one pt win is a win… we as fans will berate the loss and celebrate the win…
Keep winning and “she’ll be right”…
18 Dec 2009, 11:40 am
@Pearl Rose:
Ummm this Australian team thats rebuilding and yet to mature beat the Boks this year,we didnt lose to the Ozzies at all in 4 games. Everyone celebrates a win,didnt you celebrate the mediocre game you played at the RWC against Fiji? What i recall a late try against the tide won the game for SA
18 Dec 2009, 11:43 am
yeah, and don’t let stats get in the way of common sense either.
just watch Div give a 2 minute press conference, the game is well and truely up then.
Unless Gold or Muir talks, then we have to look at stats because they spin lovely smelling bullshit.
18 Dec 2009, 11:43 am
@bryce_in_oz: According to Keo… Jake never underperformed… It was the politicians who made him lose… and they weren’t even on the field…He was supposedly forced to pick quota players like JP and Habana.. hence the his relatively dismal record
18 Dec 2009, 11:46 am
oh, and on the common sense bit.
just name 1 other coach in the world who would even consider earl rose as an international having seen what he has produced at s14 level?
18 Dec 2009, 11:49 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl: I watched all of the S14 coaches at press conference.. They sounded kak too.. Its tough when english is not your first language… BUt then again, you allow your prejudice to fkup your intelligence
@Langenhoven:
Yep have recently seen some friend’s London FB pics of the snow… impressive…
Only happened once in 6 yrs of central London for moi unfortunately…
Crank that heating mate…
I’m under the apple tree, in Melbourne (hoping it doesn’t rain), Crawford River Riesling in hand… and willing this trade to finish so I can head off to the boys at the local and knock-off for the year…
Good chatting…
@Langenhoven:
Come now Langes… we ALL know JPP, Frannie, Rickie and particularly Habs were JW favs and not forced upon him… Shimmy and Solly on the other hand and to a lesser degree Lawrie and Eddie (no malice to any of them)… were not…
But I’m off… good weekend to all you geezers…
Go Ntini and the boys!
quinton davids
shimage
tybilka
chavanga(but to be fair he did score 4 tries against uragauy)
luke watson
….all forced selection and political bench warmers
18 Dec 2009, 11:52 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl: According to the commentary here in England after the Sarries game… quite a few. But then your prejudice clouds your judgement
18 Dec 2009, 11:53 am
nope, I have no problem with coaches struggling in their 2nd language at a press conference.
i do have a problem with them talking complete bollocks though.
18 Dec 2009, 11:57 am
my prejudice clouds my judgement?
..more like yours clouding yours.
Rose has been found wanting time and again disguised by a decent CC game here and there when all the top Boks are away on senior duty.
….much like the sarries game really
18 Dec 2009, 11:59 am
@Hurricane:hi hurricane. My friend bryce in oz here went to town trying to negate wins against the b&i lions and branding them shams all because the team needed morne steyn to win the Test, no mention of ruan’s missed kicks that would’ve changed the complexion of the game. My question was to merely show the hypocrisy of his assertion! If it wasn’t for jpp’s try-saving-tackle against Tonga would we be talking about “world cup winning coach jake white”? I just don’t get why have selective amnesia on these things!
@bryce_in_oz: just to recap bryce…i said i was not confident going to the world cup in 07 and i gave reasons, you came through and said what you saod and quoted keo extensively, i then referred you to an article mark keohane wrote on the 4th of december in 2006 in business day, after reading that article can you reallyy say that mark keohane was absolutelty right about jake white, he should have been fired on the spot?!
Is mark keohane the john the baptist of rugby and everything he says we should swallow as gospel?
18 Dec 2009, 12:00 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
Hanyani Shimange had a lot of promise, he played excellently for the Cats in 2004. In 2006 he was the understudy at hooker to John Smit, and was a strong and mobile scrummaging hooker.
Yet the poor man played more than 30 Super 14 matches and 9 Tests all as reserve, despite being at that stage the official No. 2 hooker in the country (according to Jake White).
18 Dec 2009, 12:01 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: 37. Brigadier Van Zyl… Chavanga scored 7tries( World record)… Luke Watson .. WP/stormers player of the year.. Tiyibilika.. Jakes choice to exclude Luke… but a briiliant player that was killed off by a dumb/failed coach(Loffie)
You should not be debating with me mate.. I am superhuman
18 Dec 2009, 12:02 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
By the way, Chavhanga scored six tries in that match against Uruguay.
18 Dec 2009, 12:05 pm
@Pearl Rose:
HI pearl
Fair comment mate
18 Dec 2009, 12:05 pm
@Langenhoven:
Langenhoven, it was six. It was not a world record – Marc Ellis from New Zealand scored six tries against Japan in 1995 – therefore he equalled the world record.
It is, however, still a South African record.
18 Dec 2009, 12:07 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: 40. Brigadier Van Zyl… S14 caoches like Loffie did everthing to prevent Rose from competing at Fly Half.. Its the part of the strategy of seeking and destroying black talent.. It the way you and they were brought up… Where would you be without Apartheid twat. That white skin is very important to you..innit
18 Dec 2009, 12:08 pm
all average players at best.
only Watson has been able to secure good financial employment abroad.
the only really dumb thing Eloff has done has been giving Rose game after game to get it right and now name Bolla Conradie as Captain of Boland and the man to lead them out of the kak.
18 Dec 2009, 12:11 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
Luke Watson was exceptional in 2006 – SA Super 14 player of the year, and almost the Players’ Player of the Year (and there was much controversy over the voting on that one!) – and numerous overseas commentators were remarking on how it was ludicrous that he was not picked in the Springbok squad then.
I will agree that the way he was included later – the infamous “No 46″ fiasco – was an absolute shambles.
18 Dec 2009, 12:11 pm
@WP Till I Die: There was huge confusion at the end of that game as to whether it was six or seven.. but it interesting that the game is not talked about much even though it was record in terms of the scoreline too… Too many black players in that team…??
18 Dec 2009, 12:15 pm
@Langenhoven:
It was a record South African score – but not a world record score.
That record is held by Australia when they beat Namibia 142-0.
18 Dec 2009, 12:15 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: 48. Brigadier Van Zyl… Can you name any white player in the springbok squad over the last 4years that you consider as average
18 Dec 2009, 12:16 pm
it’s a myth that Rose hasn’t been given enough game time.
In the past 4 years I’d bet that he’s played more first team rugby than Morne Steyn.
I have no idea where i would be without apartheid.Probably in exactly the same place. Just like most of the black skinned people would be in exactly the same place without apartheid….and still are by the way.
but Manto’s dead.
so that’s one less blatantly incompetent nicompoop to deal with.
innit
18 Dec 2009, 12:17 pm
@WP Till I Die: Accepted… but was the Australia/namibia game not after that game
18 Dec 2009, 12:18 pm
albert van den berg
jaques cronje
wannenberg
jannie du plessis
…there are plenty really
18 Dec 2009, 12:22 pm
complaining about the lack of coverage of the Uraguay game because of “too many black players”
that’s just dof.
it’s frikken uruaguy, not argentina.
a side made up of ameteurs and beaten 100-0 odd nil.
what the hell would there be to talk about?
18 Dec 2009, 12:23 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: 53. Brigadier Van Zyl… Rose has not been given game time at Flyhalf imbecile.. When he was prospuring in the CC .. he was playing at Flyhalf.. Doffie then switched him to Full back to cap his growth.. but I think that these facts are not relevant to a racist twat..
Yep Manto is Dead.. and so are many who created and supported apartheid.. How is your dad by the way.
18 Dec 2009, 12:23 pm
@Langenhoven:
No – the Australia/Namibia game was in October 2003. The Bok-Uruguay game was in June 2007.
18 Dec 2009, 12:27 pm
@Langenhoven: @Brigadier Van Zyl:
Bliksem, okes, let’s keep it to rugby.
It is childish for this to turn into another ***-for-tat anonymous revenge session.
18 Dec 2009, 12:29 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: 55. Brigadier Van Zyl… you don’t seem to talk much about the reasoning for there selections…
56. Brigadier Van Zyl… There is not much spoken about that game in at Ellis Park in 2005 when the Bokke annialated the Aussies with Solly T playing in place of Schalk and Ricky in place of FDP.. Do you remember that game.. There were 9black players in the team.
18 Dec 2009, 12:30 pm
lekke papsak en swart vrou spyker in die NP kantore saam met ou PDV ….
*sing*
Stille nag, heilige nag, ma is dronk, pa’s in die tronk …
18 Dec 2009, 12:31 pm
sonder tanne soos PDV se ouma, vrot gums en al
18 Dec 2009, 12:32 pm
@WP Till I Die: 59. WP Till I Die… The twat obvioulsy knows little about rugby, so the presumption is that he bloggs here to promote the myth of white supremacy
18 Dec 2009, 12:32 pm
@Shaun_Kortenhoven:
Lafaard.
18 Dec 2009, 12:37 pm
I see the twats have decided intellectualising about rugby is beyond them…
61. Shaun_Kortenhoven
62. Shaun_Kortenhoven
I presume you are trying to insult me..lol.. Damn, you are making all white people look stupid now.. Lack of originality, dumb comments, Childish demeanor… Not good mate..
18 Dec 2009, 12:38 pm
@Langenhoven:
rose played plenty at flyhalf.
he cocked it right up and was accomodated at fullback.
and my dad is currently working in poland.Complains bitterly about the kak weather and wishes he was home in CT this christmas, otherwise he’s fine.
how’s yours by the way you racist ***, still collecting dop money on fridays?
shame, it must be hard
and by the way, DeKlerk was seen at the cricket laughing happily recently.
make of that what you will.
ja,the Boks annahilted the Ozzies by a whopping 8 points at Ellis Park. Tybilka played just the first half.
18 Dec 2009, 12:39 pm
@WP Till I Die: Probably Pietman.. Those many degrees has bode him well.. UCT must be so proud of the association
18 Dec 2009, 12:40 pm
Hey guys a quick cricket question as I have been out of the loop. Why is Dale Steyn not playing in the test at the moment?
18 Dec 2009, 12:40 pm
but then it is always name calling by Langhoven is it not?
trashy talk.
but you expect that from Him.
18 Dec 2009, 12:41 pm
steyn is injured
18 Dec 2009, 12:42 pm
lets see … Bulls Super 14 champs …. 2 coloured players …. boks world champs … 3 coloured players …. no, i’d stay its still white players dominating if you ask me …stick with Boland steek mekaar met die mes rugby!
18 Dec 2009, 12:43 pm
@Langenhoven:
Now, now – character assassination does not suit you.
We cannot change the past, so let’s not look backwards, rather forwards.
Reconciliation cannot happen if we are constantly living in the past.
Forgive and forget.
18 Dec 2009, 12:44 pm
@Shaun_Kortenhoven:
if you give “Whites” a bad name.
just try and imagine the name he gives “cape coloureds”.
…scary
18 Dec 2009, 12:44 pm
@Shaun_Kortenhoven:
Wie is jy, jou lafaard? Sal jy so dapper daai aanmerkings maak as mense jou identiteit geweet het?
18 Dec 2009, 12:46 pm
@WP Till I Die:
everyone using an identikit and not their real names can be considered anonymous.
yourself included
18 Dec 2009, 12:48 pm
@Langenhoven: Langenhoven, ask yourself why when you take all whities out of the game and two coloured club rugby teams get together to play a game of rugby it eventually evolves into a fist fight with the crowds getting involved, players physically assaulted, the police called in, charges laid after the game, and eventually one or both teams being banned?
Why is that?
18 Dec 2009, 12:48 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: Rose was leading point scorer in the CC at Flyhalf when he was shiftd to Full back prevent him from scoring more point…
Deklerk supposedly ended apartheid..remember.. He was laughing about bulshitting his way to a nobel peace prize
The game at Ellis park: The boks were leading 35 -9 at the break.. before JW decided to take off Solly T and Ricky.. hence the Aussie comeback in teh second half..
I do collect dop money on a Friday… Its called a whip here in England.. We all put £10 in and suip till its finish.. me along with all the high flyers in England when we get together for drinks on FRidays
18 Dec 2009, 12:49 pm
@WP Till I Die: He is one of the “senior bloggers” who is back from “die laager”.
18 Dec 2009, 12:51 pm
@schalla: Injured.. NOt sure why Parnell is not in the team
18 Dec 2009, 12:51 pm
@John1976:
Perhaps. I have, however, learnt not to make assumptions.
18 Dec 2009, 12:54 pm
the so called senior blogger who ran likre a dog to the lager…beaten to a pulp by 2 x ladies….brave KKK leader that steals nics and denigrates his provice,country and fellow saffas….
sorriest little man on the planet…
18 Dec 2009, 12:54 pm
@John1976: I must add, for a troll, he lacks form. I am afraid his tyranny will not have the effect that he is hoping for. Best to leave him alone and allow him to return to “die laager”, that is the best way to deal with him.
18 Dec 2009, 12:56 pm
76. Richie_7@Richie_7: … YOu tell me mate… I presume your answer is that If a black man rapes a white woman then that makes me a potential rapist because I am black… What the hell have I and every black rugby player got to do with a fight at club match.
18 Dec 2009, 12:56 pm
@Langenhoven:
you can’t make up scores and publish it as fact. Tybilka got pulled because Burger was and still is a better player.
Rose is kak and to insinuate that he was shifted to hide his brilliance is laughable.I very much doubt he was ever leading points scorer. But Derrick Hougaard was without a doubt leading points scorer for about 5 seasons running.
make of that what you will.
18 Dec 2009, 13:01 pm
@Langenhoven:
but that is exactly what you insinuate day after day on this website to anybody who has a difference of opinion.
case in point.
a kiwi.
18 Dec 2009, 13:04 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: So tell me what was the halftime score???
Tiyibillika was Brilliant in that first half… Burger got a yellow card as usual…and almost lost them the game …as usual.
Rose was considered by great ex-boks like Naas Botha as bok material at the time… So who the fk are you mate..beside the twat that making yourself out to be.
18 Dec 2009, 13:08 pm
@Langenhoven:
ah name calling.(showing your cape coloured class that Richie7 alludes to once again?)
well, i’m not going to bother anymore.
I’ll just rest well knowing that Tybilka, and Rose shortly, will be float around in the list of rugby nobody abyss.
18 Dec 2009, 13:13 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: 85. Brigadier Van Zyl… There are many “white” people on this blog who share my values and opinions… THere are many “white people” who fought aprtheid and remain heroes is the struggle… There are many black people who supported aprtheid because they benefitted from it ( Homeland leaders,etc). There are many black people who do not share views on current day morality… It not all black and white.. but the intellectually challnged can only things that way.
Now have categorised you as a twat.. Its a non- racial grouping
18 Dec 2009, 13:13 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: cape coloured!!!!
Are you okes so deeply embedded in your racist past? How can you use that language and look in the mirrow?
Fark me i despair i tell you!
We all saffas ….dammit i hate this racism.
18 Dec 2009, 13:16 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: Do you have a problem with the so-called “Cape Coloureds”? Why would you want players that share the same passion for rugby as yourself be allienated from the game? Rugby needs as many supporters and players that are active as it can attract to keep the game growing.
18 Dec 2009, 13:18 pm
@Langenhoven:
Hehe… old Bean… don’t fall for it… had to log in to thank you Londoner’s for making my Xmas… FTSE going berserk and taking my Aus SPI trade on a ride… I can afford an Xmas pud or 2.2K this weekend… not a bad day’s work…
Shaun you have something to contribute pal… keep it real… FWIW… don’t fall into the trap mate…
18 Dec 2009, 13:35 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: BLOODY RACIST!
18 Dec 2009, 13:36 pm
@bryce_in_oz: Get out of you position before 4pm GMT.. LOads of kak to shake the markets after that… but then again Eurostar and BA strikes have been called off.. so it may be better news.
18 Dec 2009, 13:41 pm
Guys… got to go.. kids want to play in the snow.. Hope it all clears up a bit.. doing Christmas in Paris.. fortunately travelling on Eurostar (rail)…
Long Live
18 Dec 2009, 13:43 pm
@Mighty Horua:
you soft wanker.
18 Dec 2009, 13:46 pm
friday dop money still doing the business.
what a shame
18 Dec 2009, 13:57 pm
Hau.
New day new fight
18 Dec 2009, 14:16 pm
@grant10: Whats wrong the that term?
Why is it racist to point out someones color? That is what makes us all different. It is no shame to be of another color.Be proud of your color.There must be a reason for our differences.Life would be boring if everybody look the same?
We are not all the same.
18 Dec 2009, 14:47 pm
What is the difference between Santa and Tiger Woods???
18 Dec 2009, 14:50 pm
@wallabie.:
Santa stops after just three ho’s?
18 Dec 2009, 14:51 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: You Dismal foolish boer!
18 Dec 2009, 15:02 pm
@Mighty Horua:
Not on – and not very clever – responding to racial slurs by using a racial slur yourself.
18 Dec 2009, 16:07 pm
@Langenhoven: Mooi gese
@grant10: Hey Grant, Im with you man, Im shocked and appalled at some of these guys and their comments! Its a very recent occurrence on this site with a few new nicks doing it (but they probably are old bloggers recently-returned from licking their wounds).
We’ve had a period of relative calm and rugby discussion on this site, dont lets entertain these idiots by replying to their ridiculous posts, which are clearly meant to stir us up.
Hulle soek vir baklei en is totaal lafaards. Die komments is pateties so los hulle
18 Dec 2009, 16:57 pm
@Mighty Horua:
I’m neither a boer nor foolish.
unlike yourself.
you are the worst kind of racist, like your idiot bretheren Langenhoven.
the Julius Malema sort.
I’d rather be me.
@Mfwethu:
and PS pal.
there is never any relative calm on this site so long as Langenhoven and his ilk are given a forum.
look at the viritol directed daily at Keo and anyone agreeing with anything he writes…..and yet completely missing the irony of the freedom of speech he gives them.
maybe you miss the irony as well?
it’s a shame really.
I put it down to poor eduction and just down right bad manners.
Nothing to do with Apartheid as Langenhoven would love to believe.
Always looking for alternative excuses for poor performance?Racism? so convinient. Unfortunately that story ran out years ago. Nobody cares anymore other than the losers looking to pull the race card.
hell, even Makaya Nintini said in yesterdays Argus “black players don’t work hard enough once they are given an opportunity”
…straight from the horses mouth.
so how about that,hey?
…and that certainly doesn’t mean that I think all non white players are kak. But certainly Rose,Tybilka and to a lesser extent Conradie as I mentioned earlier.
18 Dec 2009, 17:05 pm
wonder how the boks gameplan of kick , kick and kick will work in windy wellington, hmmmm me smells a conspiracy I think
18 Dec 2009, 17:08 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: Thats Makhaya’s opinion – 1 person’s opinion, not a fact for a whole race/nation – there is a big difference boet.
So because of Joost, Bles Bridges and Steve Hofmeyr, must we deduce that all Afrikaans men cheat on their wives.
Because of Hansie Cronje, Guy Kebble and (maybe) Zuma must we deduce that all SA men take bribes?
Because of Bruce Fordyce are all SA people good at running marathons?
Ai madoda, moenie laaf wees nie. You can’t take 1 guys opinion as fact.
Ironically this post of yours has some very good points and is well-written. But your earlier posts are inflammatory and just soeking for kak.
18 Dec 2009, 17:08 pm
@poppa69: Dont worry Poppa, they will be running by then. Around, through and over any other team
18 Dec 2009, 17:12 pm
@Mfwethu: no, youre not suggesting the age old SA tactic of using brawn to overpower sides ??
18 Dec 2009, 18:14 pm
@Mfwethu:
…and yet you will never ridicule any of the inflamatory talk from langhoven?
mmmmm, I wonder
…and makaya nintini is not just an opinion from any Joe Public. He is a successful black south african who has “made it” in the international sports arena.
his opinion carries a hell of a lot of weight.
18 Dec 2009, 18:18 pm
Mmmmmm…
I see there is people still believing i am Pietman.
Guess its that time of the year when we believe in fat men with white beards and little elves running around.
BTW how does that work? The birth of a supernatural King and a fat man running around givin` presents??
And then there is always the chocolat easter bunny.
Where does it all come from??
18 Dec 2009, 18:21 pm
@Karoolander: Pick ‘n Pay?
18 Dec 2009, 18:23 pm
@Dantalian: You might not think it, but i suspect you are spot on.
18 Dec 2009, 18:26 pm
@Karoolander: Capitalist pigs.
18 Dec 2009, 18:26 pm
@Mfwethu: Are you a white man?
Just a simple question.
18 Dec 2009, 19:40 pm
@Langenhoven:
The problem is that you do not interllectualise about rugby. You just anti white in everything you say……..doos!
18 Dec 2009, 19:51 pm
Wellington’s windy. Identical to Cape Town. Bur, seeing as you’ll play your pool games there, you might as well acclimatise. But practice grounds in Porirua and Hutt Valley? That’s 20km from the team hotel. And Wellington’s excellent night-spots and entertainment are within 400m of the team hotel — no drama with drunks in taxis. Just stagger home to bed.
18 Dec 2009, 19:59 pm
But, not bur.
18 Dec 2009, 22:35 pm
@TheTackler: Wellington is a cool place. I am really glad the team is playing the pool matches in my backyard.
19 Dec 2009, 00:25 am
It IS cool. But to travel all of 20kms from the team hotel to practice on a high school field in Porirua or the Hutt River Valley is a tad dodgy.
If I were managing the world champions, I’d absolutely insist on practice grounds within easy walking distance or (at worst) a short five-minute bus hop away. St Patrick’s Town? Rongitai College? Wellington College? Scots College?
Why be shipped out to Porirua or Hutt Valley?
19 Dec 2009, 00:35 am
Imagine (just for the sake of argument) that the reigning RWC champions were the All Blacks. And they were playing a RWC tournament in South Africa.
Then, they are hotelled in Newlands — virtually in the shadow of the grandstand of the field they will be playing their pool games on.
So far, so good?
But then their practice fields are allocated in Brackenfell, Strand and Melkbosstrand…
Would they be happy?
Don’t be silly. Of course they’d be furious.
19 Dec 2009, 01:05 am
The AB management will have had local ears on local grounds and know, well in advance, that Rosettenville isn’t the same as Randburg; Hillbrow isn’t Houghton and Bishopscourt isn’t Bishop Lavis.
Based in central Wellington and then rehearsing 20kms away in Porirua and Hutt speaks of a management with absolutely NO local knowledge.
19 Dec 2009, 04:33 am
@garth:
Well done son… I remember a few seasons ago you (if it’s the same persona) talking about trying to immigrate to Aus or NZ… clearly you are there now…
19 Dec 2009, 05:38 am
@TheTackler:
“Imagine (just for the sake of argument) that the reigning RWC champions were the All Blacks”
I’m trying Tackles… damn hard too… but it’s just too incomprehensible…
19 Dec 2009, 05:46 am
@Langenhoven:
Yep old bean… always the last Friday (before Xmas) profit-taking across the Western world… a perfect shorting opportunity… money for jam…
Mechanical ‘Trailing-stops’ (long or short) in this game are essential… ‘let your profits ride and nip your losses in the bud’… too many amateurs (and pros) cannot grasp the concept…
19 Dec 2009, 06:27 am
@bryce_in_oz: Try harder.
19 Dec 2009, 13:30 pm
Whats the difference between Santa and Tiger Woods?
19 Dec 2009, 14:36 pm
Well, at least Wellington isn’t that far from Schalks home. They can hang out ther; have a nice braai, drink lekker wine….
19 Dec 2009, 14:39 pm
@wallabie.:
I give up Walla……………….”What is the difference between Santa and Tiger Woods”?
Does Tiger have a contract with the Cheatahs next year?
19 Dec 2009, 14:41 pm
Tent Sites in my back yard just went up 75%
19 Dec 2009, 14:43 pm
@cane:
20 Dec 2009, 11:49 am
22 Dec 2009, 00:49 am
What’s the difference between Santa and Tiger Woods?
Santa stops after three ho’s.
22 Dec 2009, 01:05 am
@TheTackler:
Sorry Tackles, that one has been posted twice on here already!
22 Dec 2009, 01:44 am
@whatever: I accept your apology.
22 Dec 2009, 02:13 am
@TheTackler: