Title defence begins on north island
18 Dec 2009
The Springboks will be based in Wellington and the north shore for the group stages of the 2011 World Cup.
The New Zealand World Cup chief executive Mark Snedden announced the final venues for the tournament on Friday. John Smit’s charges will be in the Kiwi capital for 17 nights and on Auckland’s north shore for four. Unsurprisingly, they have not been based in Hamilton after Peter de Villiers less than complimentary remarks in the Tri-Nations.
Rugbyheaven.co.nz reports that 23 centres have been confirmed for the competition -16 on the north island and seven in the south. Aprat from the 13 venues already named (Auckland, Christchurch, Hamilton, Invercargill, Napier, Nelson, New Plymouth, North Shore, Palmerston North, Rotorua, Wellington and Whangarei), Bay of Islands, Rodney, Tauranga/Mt Maunganui, Taupo, Gisborne, Wanganui, Masterton, Blenheim, Ashburton and Queenstown will also host at least one of the 20 teams.
47 training grounds will be utilised around the country. The Boks will train at either Onewa Domain (Takapuna RFC) or North Harbour Stadium whilst on the north shore, and Rugby League Park, Newtown Park, Porirua Park (Norths RFC), Hutt Recreation Ground (Hutt Old Boys RFC) when in Wellington.

135 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All
18 Dec 2009, 14:51 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: You Dismal foolish boer!
18 Dec 2009, 15:02 pm
@Mighty Horua:
Not on – and not very clever – responding to racial slurs by using a racial slur yourself.
18 Dec 2009, 16:07 pm
@Langenhoven: Mooi gese
@grant10: Hey Grant, Im with you man, Im shocked and appalled at some of these guys and their comments! Its a very recent occurrence on this site with a few new nicks doing it (but they probably are old bloggers recently-returned from licking their wounds).
We’ve had a period of relative calm and rugby discussion on this site, dont lets entertain these idiots by replying to their ridiculous posts, which are clearly meant to stir us up.
Hulle soek vir baklei en is totaal lafaards. Die komments is pateties so los hulle
18 Dec 2009, 16:57 pm
@Mighty Horua:
I’m neither a boer nor foolish.
unlike yourself.
you are the worst kind of racist, like your idiot bretheren Langenhoven.
the Julius Malema sort.
I’d rather be me.
@Mfwethu:
and PS pal.
there is never any relative calm on this site so long as Langenhoven and his ilk are given a forum.
look at the viritol directed daily at Keo and anyone agreeing with anything he writes…..and yet completely missing the irony of the freedom of speech he gives them.
maybe you miss the irony as well?
it’s a shame really.
I put it down to poor eduction and just down right bad manners.
Nothing to do with Apartheid as Langenhoven would love to believe.
Always looking for alternative excuses for poor performance?Racism? so convinient. Unfortunately that story ran out years ago. Nobody cares anymore other than the losers looking to pull the race card.
hell, even Makaya Nintini said in yesterdays Argus “black players don’t work hard enough once they are given an opportunity”
…straight from the horses mouth.
so how about that,hey?
…and that certainly doesn’t mean that I think all non white players are kak. But certainly Rose,Tybilka and to a lesser extent Conradie as I mentioned earlier.
18 Dec 2009, 17:05 pm
wonder how the boks gameplan of kick , kick and kick will work in windy wellington, hmmmm me smells a conspiracy I think
18 Dec 2009, 17:08 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: Thats Makhaya’s opinion – 1 person’s opinion, not a fact for a whole race/nation – there is a big difference boet.
So because of Joost, Bles Bridges and Steve Hofmeyr, must we deduce that all Afrikaans men cheat on their wives.
Because of Hansie Cronje, Guy Kebble and (maybe) Zuma must we deduce that all SA men take bribes?
Because of Bruce Fordyce are all SA people good at running marathons?
Ai madoda, moenie laaf wees nie. You can’t take 1 guys opinion as fact.
Ironically this post of yours has some very good points and is well-written. But your earlier posts are inflammatory and just soeking for kak.
18 Dec 2009, 17:08 pm
@poppa69: Dont worry Poppa, they will be running by then. Around, through and over any other team
18 Dec 2009, 17:12 pm
@Mfwethu: no, youre not suggesting the age old SA tactic of using brawn to overpower sides ??
18 Dec 2009, 18:14 pm
@Mfwethu:
…and yet you will never ridicule any of the inflamatory talk from langhoven?
mmmmm, I wonder
…and makaya nintini is not just an opinion from any Joe Public. He is a successful black south african who has “made it” in the international sports arena.
his opinion carries a hell of a lot of weight.
18 Dec 2009, 18:18 pm
Mmmmmm…
I see there is people still believing i am Pietman.
Guess its that time of the year when we believe in fat men with white beards and little elves running around.
BTW how does that work? The birth of a supernatural King and a fat man running around givin` presents??
And then there is always the chocolat easter bunny.
Where does it all come from??
18 Dec 2009, 18:21 pm
@Karoolander: Pick ‘n Pay?
18 Dec 2009, 18:23 pm
@Dantalian: You might not think it, but i suspect you are spot on.
18 Dec 2009, 18:26 pm
@Karoolander: Capitalist pigs.
18 Dec 2009, 18:26 pm
@Mfwethu: Are you a white man?
Just a simple question.
18 Dec 2009, 19:40 pm
@Langenhoven:
The problem is that you do not interllectualise about rugby. You just anti white in everything you say……..doos!
18 Dec 2009, 19:51 pm
Wellington’s windy. Identical to Cape Town. Bur, seeing as you’ll play your pool games there, you might as well acclimatise. But practice grounds in Porirua and Hutt Valley? That’s 20km from the team hotel. And Wellington’s excellent night-spots and entertainment are within 400m of the team hotel — no drama with drunks in taxis. Just stagger home to bed.
18 Dec 2009, 19:59 pm
But, not bur.
18 Dec 2009, 22:35 pm
@TheTackler: Wellington is a cool place. I am really glad the team is playing the pool matches in my backyard.
19 Dec 2009, 00:25 am
It IS cool. But to travel all of 20kms from the team hotel to practice on a high school field in Porirua or the Hutt River Valley is a tad dodgy.
If I were managing the world champions, I’d absolutely insist on practice grounds within easy walking distance or (at worst) a short five-minute bus hop away. St Patrick’s Town? Rongitai College? Wellington College? Scots College?
Why be shipped out to Porirua or Hutt Valley?
19 Dec 2009, 00:35 am
Imagine (just for the sake of argument) that the reigning RWC champions were the All Blacks. And they were playing a RWC tournament in South Africa.
Then, they are hotelled in Newlands — virtually in the shadow of the grandstand of the field they will be playing their pool games on.
So far, so good?
But then their practice fields are allocated in Brackenfell, Strand and Melkbosstrand…
Would they be happy?
Don’t be silly. Of course they’d be furious.
19 Dec 2009, 01:05 am
The AB management will have had local ears on local grounds and know, well in advance, that Rosettenville isn’t the same as Randburg; Hillbrow isn’t Houghton and Bishopscourt isn’t Bishop Lavis.
Based in central Wellington and then rehearsing 20kms away in Porirua and Hutt speaks of a management with absolutely NO local knowledge.
19 Dec 2009, 04:33 am
@garth:
Well done son… I remember a few seasons ago you (if it’s the same persona) talking about trying to immigrate to Aus or NZ… clearly you are there now…
19 Dec 2009, 05:38 am
@TheTackler:
“Imagine (just for the sake of argument) that the reigning RWC champions were the All Blacks”
I’m trying Tackles… damn hard too… but it’s just too incomprehensible…
19 Dec 2009, 05:46 am
@Langenhoven:
Yep old bean… always the last Friday (before Xmas) profit-taking across the Western world… a perfect shorting opportunity… money for jam…
Mechanical ‘Trailing-stops’ (long or short) in this game are essential… ‘let your profits ride and nip your losses in the bud’… too many amateurs (and pros) cannot grasp the concept…
19 Dec 2009, 06:27 am
@bryce_in_oz: Try harder.
19 Dec 2009, 13:30 pm
Whats the difference between Santa and Tiger Woods?
19 Dec 2009, 14:36 pm
Well, at least Wellington isn’t that far from Schalks home. They can hang out ther; have a nice braai, drink lekker wine….
19 Dec 2009, 14:39 pm
@wallabie.:
I give up Walla……………….”What is the difference between Santa and Tiger Woods”?
Does Tiger have a contract with the Cheatahs next year?
19 Dec 2009, 14:41 pm
Tent Sites in my back yard just went up 75%
19 Dec 2009, 14:43 pm
@cane:
20 Dec 2009, 11:49 am
22 Dec 2009, 00:49 am
What’s the difference between Santa and Tiger Woods?
Santa stops after three ho’s.
22 Dec 2009, 01:05 am
@TheTackler:
Sorry Tackles, that one has been posted twice on here already!
22 Dec 2009, 01:44 am
@whatever: I accept your apology.
22 Dec 2009, 02:13 am
@TheTackler:
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All