Disaster in Durban
29 Dec 2009
Outstanding bowling from Stuart Broad and Graeme Swann left South Africa facing a humilating innings defeat at Kingsmead.
Trailing by 232 runs, the Proteas made a solid start to their second innings, before Ashwell Prince (16) was caught at silly point off the second delivery of Swann’s first over with the total on 27. The England spinner struck again in the last over before tea, when Hashim Amla (6) played a loose drive and was bowled through the gate by one that spun in sharply.
It got even worse for the hosts soon after the break when Jacques Kallis (3) failed to play a shot to a Broad delivery that cut back and knocked out his off stump.
Broad then produced two knockout blows in consecutive deliveries when AB de Villiers (2) and JP Duminy (0) were also dismissed without playing a shot — De Villiers was trapped lbw by one that cut back and clipped the pad (the Proteas unsuccessfully referred the decision, with Hawkeye showing it hitting the top of off stump) while Duminy’s attempt to shoulder the first ball he received saw it clip the inside edge of the bat and cannon into the stumps.
Graeme Smith had watched all this carnage from the other end, but he soon joined his team-mates back in the pavilion when Swann trapped him lbw for 22 to make it 50-6. The Proteas referred the decision more in hope than anything else, and Hawkeye confirmed the ball would have clipped leg stump.
Mark Boucher (20*) and Morne Morkel (7*) took the total to 76 before bad light halted play at 4:30pm with 16 overs still remaining in the day’s play.
Earlier in the day, England had resumed their first innings on 386-5 with Matt Prior (11*) and Ian Bell (55*) at the crease. Prior, who was dropped late on day three when he had just 6, went on to make 60 before being bowled by Duminy, while Bell took his tally to 141 before being caught behind off Dale Steyn. Four balls later, Andrew Strauss declared the innings closed on 575-9.
South Africa 343 (1st innings)
Graeme Smith 75, Jacques Kallis 75, AB de Villiers 50, Graeme Swann 4-110.
England 575-9 dec (1st innings)
Ian Bell 141, Alastair Cook 118, Paul Collingwood 91, Matt Prior 60, Andrew Strauss 54, Morne Morkel 3-78, JP Duminy 3-89
South Africa 76-6 (2nd innings)
Stuart Broad 3-18, Graeme Swann 3-22
South Africa trail by 156 runs
Click here for the full scorecard

215 Comments
29 Dec 2009, 10:01 am
I heard things weren’t going too well on the radio
29 Dec 2009, 10:44 am
Let’s see if the boys will actually be able to bowl some batsmen out.
No more pies!
29 Dec 2009, 11:11 am
Finally, a wicket! I’d forgotten what they felt like…
29 Dec 2009, 11:20 am
Eish, imagine Amla held onto that one! Would have been two quick wickets…but it was a very tough chance…
29 Dec 2009, 11:35 am
Whew.
Away from that brawl.
29 Dec 2009, 11:40 am
JL1 is gonna come over here and say Amla can’t catch cos his beard gets in the way.
We can only salvage a draw from this one.
What a lousy start to the summer 2 drawn tests (that’s if we don’t implode and go on to lose this one)
We need to bat more aggressively…..score at least 3.8 per over for 135 overs. Our batsmen need to be told to be more positive otherwise we won’t win this series.
Who’s out what’s score what’s going on
29 Dec 2009, 11:48 am
the protea attak as toothless as the bok and shark front row….
beach here i come…cant take the agony anymore.
29 Dec 2009, 11:49 am
Dawn, England are 509/6 with a lead of 166 runs.
Duminy dismissed Matt Prior earlier.
The best we are looking at is a draw.
29 Dec 2009, 11:51 am
@WP Till I Die:
Thanks. Draw is pretty boring. All comes down to Newlands.
Watered down series, it is. No fire.
29 Dec 2009, 11:52 am
Aai, not looking good.
29 Dec 2009, 11:56 am
How many drops have there been in this test so far?
29 Dec 2009, 11:56 am
Test matches are supposed to be historic events.
Full of tradition and drama.
What does this one deliver?
Two draws.
29 Dec 2009, 11:58 am
@WP Till I Die:
From what I could see, Amla dropped three or so yesterday.
Hence my fear of the JL1′s of this world.
29 Dec 2009, 11:59 am
Hi guys,just woke up so I’ve been out.of touch. 509-6! Have our guys gone off to the beach in their minds?
Wonder what garbage the selectors will dish up to defend their selections.
Ps. Said I was worried about Cook & Bell.(Just going to find somebody to kick my backside for being correct)
29 Dec 2009, 12:01 pm
I expected the Poms to declare, They can’t really lose now.
They must be scared of Amla and Prince?
29 Dec 2009, 12:10 pm
@Hondo: 17
I think you’re onto something there.
29 Dec 2009, 12:10 pm
@Hondo:
I reckon they’ll bat till tea at least, try to get to a lead of about 300, then try and bowl out SA in four sessions.
29 Dec 2009, 12:22 pm
@WP Till I Die: You know the more I think about it, the more I realise we could actually lose this test.
Swann will be given very attacking fields on a wearing pitch. This is not looking very good.
Anderson, Onions and Broad will be instructed to bowl straight and attack the stumps, causing problems for our batsmen. I’m a bit concerned.
29 Dec 2009, 12:23 pm
I’m going to go have a cigarette.
29 Dec 2009, 12:23 pm
Amla cannot catch because his beard gets in the way or was he not facing Mecca?
29 Dec 2009, 12:28 pm
Could still draw this test,the pitch seems very tame
29 Dec 2009, 12:31 pm
Jozi & WPTID – I agree with you. The poms want to humiliate us by beating us by an innings.
29 Dec 2009, 12:33 pm
@WP Till I Die:
That’s the safer option, but me thinking they are here to try winning a series, in addition to enjoy some nice weather, great food and beaches in Dec?
29 Dec 2009, 12:40 pm
@Hondo:
In this **** mess of a country, as compared to the bastion of upper class twitness that is England?
You kidding.
29 Dec 2009, 12:43 pm
Amla looks stupid with his beard.
@Dawn:
@williforde: I think you’re right. We’ll need big innings from Smith, Prince, Amla, Kallis, AB and Duminy.
These guys haven’t fired at the same time. Two or three of them will have to get a big hundred.
We’ve done this before…..remember the Lords test when we salvaged a draw from the jaws of defeat.
Come on Proteas!!!!
29 Dec 2009, 12:51 pm
@Dawn:
Oh Dear,
When have you been to the UK lately?
29 Dec 2009, 12:59 pm
@Hondo: Dawn may not have graced our shores recently but does enjoy the finer British comedy shows!!
29 Dec 2009, 13:00 pm
@Karoolander:
So did Eugene Terreblanche.
29 Dec 2009, 13:02 pm
@carol:
Of course …
Been waiting a while to pillage that phrase.
29 Dec 2009, 13:03 pm
29 Jozi – you used the word “implode”, & this terrifies me. I so hope you’re right about our batters because we don’t need the Poms gloating. They treated the Pretoria test like a victory. Was it you who said that Prince is not an opener? He made his name as a middle order batsman & only lost out because of injury. Has rugby influenced cricket, people played out of position?
29 Dec 2009, 13:04 pm
32 I wonder which one will get searched at an airport, my money is on Amla getting the full treatment
29 Dec 2009, 13:05 pm
@Dawn: Is he the bloke with the green underpants?
29 Dec 2009, 13:07 pm
@JL1: You are full of mischief again today!!
29 Dec 2009, 13:09 pm
Ntini getting SMASHED, again….
29 Dec 2009, 13:11 pm
@Dawn: What??
I do not see ET on the cricket pitch.
Farking stupid racist.Get real man.
29 Dec 2009, 13:13 pm
Good catch Prince!
29 Dec 2009, 13:17 pm
The sight of the Prince catch was great & much needed.
29 Dec 2009, 13:21 pm
@williforde: No I think it was WP_ who might have said that.
I reckon Prince will come good soon rather than later. He has the talent and determination to get it right.
With that I’m out seeing that the angry mob has arrived to spread more of their hatred and intolerance.
29 Dec 2009, 13:22 pm
Good bowling Steyn.
29 Dec 2009, 13:25 pm
@Karoolander:
Not really, the Poms are just having a full go now and are losing wickets in the process.
Our attack is totally useless on a wicket that does not give much assistance.
29 Dec 2009, 13:38 pm
@Robzim: Yes, our bowling is not good enough.
Hope we bat a little bit better.
29 Dec 2009, 13:41 pm
Jozi – we need Prince to play the way he did against aus at Newlands. When do our guys come off in both innings?
29 Dec 2009, 13:46 pm
@Karoolander:
Yip, lets hope – It is going to be a case of survival.
29 Dec 2009, 14:30 pm
Sorry to admit, Prince is a middle order & not an opener.
Jozi you said Swann would be a problem.
29 Dec 2009, 14:31 pm
Damn there goes Prince. What a damn waste of a wicket. Prince should never be opening but coming in at 5 where he will bat far better for the side. Amla should open.
England will win this test. Cant see us saving it. Wonder why GS decided to bat first on the first day that had rain forecast and rain forecast for the 2nd day? Daft move that. Should always bowl first at Kingsmead if the weather is not good. Now we are sitting ducks I think. Unless someone can bat as well as Bell and Cook.
29 Dec 2009, 14:33 pm
@williforde: Agree Williforde, Price should be coming in at 5. He is a superb batsman and wasted really wasted opening.
29 Dec 2009, 14:34 pm
Sorry Price = Prince
29 Dec 2009, 14:40 pm
Prince out early… AGAIN
29 Dec 2009, 14:41 pm
bloody Durban ….rain man!!
29 Dec 2009, 14:43 pm
Hashy’s out. Bollocks!
29 Dec 2009, 14:44 pm
Smithy and Kallis will guide us to safety!
29 Dec 2009, 14:46 pm
50 Puma – yes, with our current openers losing their wickets so quickly, Amla ended up as the “opener”.
Prince would be worth his weight in gold in the middle order.
Anybody got Kallis’ stats batting at 3. & 4?
Jozi are we imploding?
29 Dec 2009, 14:50 pm
You could have driven a bus between Amla’s bat and pad
29 Dec 2009, 14:50 pm
@williforde: Swann is a very good spinner who knows his game inside out. He’s under no pressure since England have a cushy lead of 220 odd runs. It’s going to be a long day for us.
I’m an optimist but even I have to concede that there’s no way back for us.
We’ve pulled a few Houdini stunts in the past but I’m afraid this time our luck may have run out.
29 Dec 2009, 14:51 pm
@williforde: I’m afraid we are.
29 Dec 2009, 14:54 pm
I think we could well still draw from here. We’ve still got great players to come in Smithy, Kallis, AB and JP as well as Bouch.
They are well capable of saving the game
29 Dec 2009, 14:56 pm
Puma, you know the Durbs weather, what are the chances of lots & lots of rain?
When last has a saffa batter come off in boh innings?
29 Dec 2009, 15:00 pm
@WP_: I wish I shared your optimism. I think there may be a few cracks in that “happy family” of SA cricket. We basically have to be in defence mode for the remainder of the test and just like in rugby, defence is all about attitude.
At the moment the attitude of the Proteas is not too grand.
I can’t see us getting a draw. I’m sorry to say. If rain doesn’t save us we’re toast.
29 Dec 2009, 15:05 pm
@williforde: 61 – Williforde, It is forecast for rain and sun for tomorrow.
LET US HOPE FOR RAIN THE WHOLE DAY.
Think we are done here. Wind has picked up quiet a lot too. Must be very good for spin there now.
WHY did we not select Parnell who can swing it so well. I know he is not a spinner but Kingmead would have suited him well. Ntini should never have been selected. Parnell should have got the not ahead of the out of form Ntini. J. Boycott has said he just can not believe that we left our De Wet that was superb last week or Parnell for a very out of from Ntini. Sentimental stuff has to be put aside for Newlands.
We could lose by a innings here.
29 Dec 2009, 15:05 pm
quiet meant quite
29 Dec 2009, 15:08 pm
Kallis gone now too. WE IN BIG POO NOW
29 Dec 2009, 15:09 pm
Jozi
Pessimistic hey? Have some faith in the boys. As I was writing how we have two of the best players in the world at the crease Kallis left a straightish one.
But we still have two of the best bats in the world at the crease. But we are in the poo now. Big time.
That was way too full to leave.
29 Dec 2009, 15:16 pm
WP, Jozi, Puma only rain can save us. Why? Saffa batsmen don’t usually come off twice in a match.Didn’t hear Boycott, but he doesn’t pull his punches & calls it like it is.
29 Dec 2009, 15:17 pm
67 williforde
Or if you’re Prince – neither innings. Amla too actually this game
29 Dec 2009, 15:22 pm
lol…yes parnell would have swung the ball so well because kingsmead suits him very very well, even though the pitch was offering nothing for two days but parnell would have swung it all day…some people are just hilarious. Yes and Ntini out of form and should never have played.
Dale Steyn does not get a mention even though De Wet was far much more aggressive & succesful that the out-of-form Steyn.
29 Dec 2009, 15:25 pm
How is Steyn out of form?
He’s just working his way up to full fitness and pace after his injury.
AB is out now… Review
29 Dec 2009, 15:26 pm
i am not a real cricket fundi but our attack seems really to lack aggression….Steyn has no fire….Ntini a shadow of his former self….Harris was expensive….
The poms seem a bit more classy…self assured…seems they took heart from the draw last week….
Swan remains the key…
Prey for rain but it ain’t going to happen. Mickey & Smith blow it yet again with there stubbornness.
may be over today already!
29 Dec 2009, 15:27 pm
out.
Puma do you know any good rain dances for tomorrow?
29 Dec 2009, 15:28 pm
Give Steyn a chance! He’s just coming back from injury.
29 Dec 2009, 15:29 pm
SA 44/4
29 Dec 2009, 15:31 pm
44/5 this is embarrassing
@williforde: 67 – Boycott makes a lot of sense. Enjoy listening to him.
talk about getting murdered.
murdered.
jp duminy needs to step up.
but the turning point in this series was the run out of graeme smith by ab de villiers on day one.
klaar.
29 Dec 2009, 15:32 pm
Looks like domino effect
29 Dec 2009, 15:32 pm
@WP_: Disgraceful actually.
Still think if we bowled first we may have been in a different position now.
29 Dec 2009, 15:33 pm
jp didnt step up. He stepped is way all the way back to the pavilion.
29 Dec 2009, 15:36 pm
getting quite dark here in durbs.
dont know if that will be enough to save our hides.
a little too much capitulating from some members of our squad for my liking.
@rangerman: 79 – Howzit Ranger, You are spot on there. A run out in test cricket is just not on. Everything changed after GS got run out.
Now we looking actually pathetic.
Also we should have bowled first. Would have made a difference. We had the worst of the weather while batting.
Ntini too not the same bowler he used to be. Sad but true. Parnell or De Wet should have been selected for this test. One of them has to be selected for the next test.
@Pearl Rose: I also doubt if a starry eyed 20 year old playing in his debut test would have made much of an impact.
The English bowlers bowled very well on the same wicket that our bowlers bowled on…..what does that tell you…..It tells me that either the guys were given k@k advise by the bowling coach or they were simply too rubbush to hit the correct line length regularly. Either way heads must roll. This has been an ongoing problem for some time now.
I don’t mind loosing but getting pommeled like this ain’t no fun.
@Puma: We’re now curled up nicely into a ball and the poms are giving us a proper kicking.
29 Dec 2009, 15:37 pm
@WP_: what kind of a shot was that?
jp is class but he really just hasnt cracked on from the aus series (in aus) has he?
its a funny old game
(i must laugh as its better than crying).
29 Dec 2009, 15:38 pm
The only way rain will save us is if it rains the from now until close tomorrow night.
Wont happen.
Have to re-group and have some serious thoughts about selection for the next test.
LOOK at the weather forecast before the toss too.
29 Dec 2009, 15:39 pm
@WP_: @ 70…was dale steyn more effective than de wet? They should’ve rested him for this test & worked him in the nets to him up to speed.
29 Dec 2009, 15:39 pm
Guys let’s take it on the chin & move on to Newlands, unless there is a tsunami without casualties.
29 Dec 2009, 15:41 pm
Look at the majority of dismissals by the English bowlers in this innings; LBW and bowled i.e bowling straight aka attacking the stumps……why didn’t we do that……hell I’m sitting at my desk at work and even I can see that.
29 Dec 2009, 15:41 pm
88 maybe so. Or just dropped Ntini? Would have been the best.
50/6 now.
29 Dec 2009, 15:42 pm
@Puma: ja, look khaya is stretching it but our batsmen have done us no favours either.
simple fact is they have two hundreds, we have none.
fark, smith is gone and thats probably that.
review pending.
ok, out it is and we are finished.
29 Dec 2009, 15:42 pm
@Jozi: 85 – WE getting our butts smacked here good and solid for sure. Sad to see this. Our players are better than this actually.
Last week England saved that test by the skin of their teeth. This week they are giving us a damn good hiding.
29 Dec 2009, 15:46 pm
Rangerman
A very extravagent leave! Weird choice of shot. A normal leave would have been great
29 Dec 2009, 15:47 pm
damn, i hate this graems swann oke with his arsenal of teeth! Something aboout him just pisses me off.
29 Dec 2009, 15:50 pm
@WP_: very weird and i am quite unhappy with his batting in both innings.
oh well, well done england but its not over til its over.
raining here in umhlanga.
29 Dec 2009, 15:50 pm
@rangerman: Ranger, We just have to re-group for Newlands. Think this game will be all over today or very early in the morning. Probably our very worst defeat I think. Not too sure. But this is a thrashing.
Sad to see it happen after such a good series last year against Oz and England.
29 Dec 2009, 15:53 pm
@Puma: very sad mate.
newlands will be a war i hope.
96 Rangerman
Yes, he really needs some runs.
Hopefully we can just survive the day. Will it rain there 2moro?
95 Pearl Rose
Maybe you hate him because he’s so good?
@rangerman:
Ag pleez Daddy what is the baby’s name?
29 Dec 2009, 15:54 pm
phew….rather humiliating this….meek surrender. Bloody hell….Barmy Army gonns be in full throttle next week at Newlands…
29 Dec 2009, 15:55 pm
@WP_: looks like tomorrow will be a great day for cricket…if you are a pom
29 Dec 2009, 15:56 pm
i will be there 2 nd and 3 rd day next week….hope we put up a decent fightback…losing at home to the poms a bloody disaster.
29 Dec 2009, 15:56 pm
@rangerman: 98 – Yip, Hoping for a good test at Newlands. At least the sun should be out there
29 Dec 2009, 15:57 pm
@rangerman:
Mr Big Game Hunter what’s the baby’s name please!!???
102 Rangerman
Terrible news. Gotta win the last two now in all likelihood.
Newlands is huge now. Maybe a tweak or two to the side needed..i
@Dawn:
she is too young to be public on a website like this dawnie.
i will tell you her name next time we all get together for beers at the firemans arms, promise.
29 Dec 2009, 15:58 pm
Jeez hoeveel keer moet ek vra.
29 Dec 2009, 16:00 pm
@rangerman:
OK … congratulations anyhoo!!!!!
Another member for the Keo creche!
29 Dec 2009, 16:01 pm
I wonder if a few changes for Newlands in the offing?
WP…?
@Puma: @WP_: ja guys, dont put anything past our lads.
they are dissapointing us today but that will just make our glorious victory in ct all the more special
I know why SA is playing so kuk.
Biff has a new girlfriend and she doing his poor head in.
29 Dec 2009, 16:02 pm
@Dawn: thanks dawnie!
what happened to my favorite left arm batsmen Jaque Rudolph?
Last I looked it was 58/6 Hope we make at least a 100
29 Dec 2009, 16:03 pm
Parnell….Rudolph…..J Botha…..Gibbs maybe?
29 Dec 2009, 16:04 pm
Bloody poms….man this is so sad!
29 Dec 2009, 16:05 pm
calls for another long walk….
29 Dec 2009, 16:07 pm
@rangerman: Ranger, Our boys going to be under huge pressure at Newlands. This is a thrashing and they must be feeling humiliated. Don’t ever remember us getting a thrashing like this before.
Maybe Morkel and Bouch stay in for a bit until close and tomorrow and don’t make it look too bad. Jeepers holding onto straws now
29 Dec 2009, 16:07 pm
Ranger
Yes we’re going to smack the Poms down here in CT.
I still have faith in Bouch and the tail to hang in for as long as possible… But we need a miracle.
Cant you sneak into the ground tonight and turn on the sprinklers onto the pitch
Grant10
Yeah I reckon the batsmen will get another chance definately but Ntini could well be in trouble for his place
29 Dec 2009, 16:11 pm
cheers guys!
29 Dec 2009, 16:12 pm
Grant, I’d love for Herschy to get another chance in the Test arena. He’s played 90 tests as an opener, and he’s in great form at the moment.
Rudolph is also in great touch for the Titans but isnt eligible as he’s in the middle of a Kolpak deal with Yorkshire. Neil McKenzie has scored plenty of runs in the SuperSport series averaging 62 this season too.
29 Dec 2009, 16:15 pm
Puma you live in Durban dont you? Do us a favour and sneak into the ground and turn the sprinklers onto the pitch tonight, will you?
29 Dec 2009, 16:19 pm
@grant10:
Oy
Johnny Walker.
29 Dec 2009, 16:20 pm
@WP_: Yip, Live in Umhlanga.
Don’t think the sprinklers will be needed
Just had plenty rain here in Umhlanga that may drift towards Kingsmead
29 Dec 2009, 16:21 pm
Listen you optimistic ……….. people
If we couldn’t pull it off in two tests what’s gonna make Newlands different!!!
29 Dec 2009, 16:22 pm
@rangerman: 121 – Cheers Ranger.
29 Dec 2009, 16:22 pm
Why on earth did they drop Friedel.
De Wet.
29 Dec 2009, 16:23 pm
@Dawn: Not sure Dawn, Think maybe with no rain for 5 days it just may make a small difference. Hoping. We could have won at Centurion. England held on by the skin of the teeth but they held on. Here they are giving us a huge hiding.
29 Dec 2009, 16:25 pm
@Dawn: Very, very foolish if you ask me. He almost won us the game there. I would have selected him or Parnell for this test.
Also GS should have looked at the weather forecast before the toss. Should have bowled first. We got the worst of the weather when we were batting. Makes it very difficult.
Okay cheers Dawn and WP out of here now.
29 Dec 2009, 16:26 pm
Puma
Oh good. Slight hope. Now it must settle in for 24 hours
What do you reckon about 122
29 Dec 2009, 16:29 pm
@Puma:
I think the poms are showing grit.
We just expect to turn up and win.
29 Dec 2009, 16:32 pm
Cheers Puma, Dawn.
29 Dec 2009, 16:34 pm
WP Ntini shouldn’t even be on the short list! I hate it when some commentators were saying that it was right to go with Ntini because he was the go-to man in the past. Compared with De Wet, no contest! Yes it was a nice sentimental gesture to let him play 100 tests even although Parnel should have been ahead of him in the 1 st test. Enough is enough, sentimentality is making us look like utter fools. Play Prince where he is most effective. Who opens???
Teach our batters to play spin by using their feet or Swann is going to murder us.
I do believe Steyn will be great at Newlands.
29 Dec 2009, 16:44 pm
Is Prince good enough? Is Amla good enough? Is Duminy good enough? Is Ntini good enough?
In my humble opinion, probably not- Prince has been getting out to Swann – a spinner- which suggests that it wouldn’t have made much difference had he played down the order.
Amla- although he scored a nice century in the last test, his inconsistency is worryingly consistent, as is confirmed by his Test average: 31. Compare this average to any other Test side’s top batsmen and it appears very poor indeed. He’s also started dropping catches of late.
Duminy- at what point do we start asking if this guy has flattered to deceive? His batting has been awfully unconvincing for an awfully long time now…
Ntini- I love the guy but all his great service to SA cricket is in danger of being undermined by his predictably poor displays of late. His selection for this game was ridiculous, and the fact that he got the nod ahead of the on fire Fridel (not to mention Parnel) was a selection decision that maybe deserves the defeat that we’re headed for. If it’s for quota reasons then we shouldn’t be to surprised to taste defeat methinks.
And for what it’s worth, I think the over-comfortable duo of Arthur and Smith are overdue the axe as well…
Anyone out there who thinks SA can still win this series? I think not…
29 Dec 2009, 16:45 pm
Something is not lekker in that Proteas team and I’m talking about the management staff now.
As k@k as Ntini may have been in this series so far, the Proteas bowling has been pretty ordinary even without Ntini.
We lost the ODI series because our bowlers were all over the show…..Ntini didn’t play in any of those ODI’S.
His loss of form just happens to coincide with the bowling coaches lack of imagination. Ntini will be judged very harshly because much is expected of him and he’s on the wrong side of 30 but if you want to know our problems ask Vinny Barnes and Mickey Arthur.
You can’t bowl a foot and half outside off-stump all day without success and the English run in and bowl straight and reap the rewards. I say blame the coaches.
29 Dec 2009, 16:45 pm
@lungburner:
You got a problem with black players?
29 Dec 2009, 16:48 pm
@williforde: parnell doesn’t perform in supersport games and got discipline problems as well…got left out of a warriors game for that exact reason.agree with you that prince should go back to five at least.
29 Dec 2009, 16:48 pm
Just some observations:
* Prince should not open
* Hash has now played across the line x2
* AB de Villiers has a major confidence problem and no one seems to pick it up
* Same for Koppe
* Why is Paul Harris in the team, to do what exactly?
* Its not happening Mackie, are you still as fit as what you used to be?
Always sad to see a performer at the end of his career, same for Donald and Polly.
What exactly is Jeremy Snape doing – the so called mental coach. Is he not from England? No wonder!!!
Is Mickey Arthur really all we have at that level?
29 Dec 2009, 16:52 pm
126 Dawn, everything depends on selection & not playing people out of position. Prince is not an opener. Ntini should not even carry the drinks. Well of course we are taking it that the selectors have taken their heads out of the sand.
29 Dec 2009, 16:53 pm
@lungburner: Prince is being played out position and until recently he’d given a very good account of himself as an opener. Would be interesting to check Prince’s stats as an opener vs Smith stats as an opener, when they opened the batting together.
Amla doesn’t average 31 his average is around 40+
Duminy is one for the future, this is a very important learning curve for him, he’ll come good. When a certain JH Kallis started out, he was pretty hopeless but they peservered with him until he came good. JP is on the same journey…..one thing you can’t deny is his talent.
Ntini is struggling, his biggest weapon the quick bouncer which brought him many wickets and intimidated many batsmen is no longer as potent as it used to be. His failure to re-invent himself if costing him big time but he’s by no means the sole reason why our bowlers have been bowling poorly.
29 Dec 2009, 17:02 pm
@lungburner: very good post.arthur should go as soon as possible.sa cricket allowed gary kirsten to slip through the net which in my opinion is an utter disgrace.if the most powerful cricket board saw something special in kirsten why not the sa cricket board?
I think it is abundantly clear that this England team is at least a good 30-40% better than the Proteas.
I agree, something is not “lekker” there.
Mickey Arthur for 2 reasons will always remain mediocre in book:
a. In the last CWC in West Indies, said, when interviewed by the boring Darryl Cullinan that he rates himself “right up there with the best in the world” as a cricket analyst
Surely you phrase it differently eg I enjoy analysing the game, only a man with an inferiority complex will actually put it like that
b. When we beat Australia, think last year this time, he was talking about “world domination”
That prompted to research only to discover that Australia has been the dominant force in cricket for at least 5 decades, except in the late 70′s and mid 80′s when the West Indies ruled.
We cannot keep him there as coach purely because he lost 10-15 kg over the last while; yes well done but really that not a key performance area as National Coach.
jozi
Prince batted well as an opener ONCE. It was a flash in the pan. Move him or drop him.
29 Dec 2009, 17:12 pm
What was said was the following: my favourite commentator Geoffrey Boycott said as Ntini was preparing to bowl that he is not the right guy for Kingsmead.
He actually went on to say ” they will murder him ”
Well, it happened exactly like that.
That hurt.
15 years into democracy and his is still the only black (as in African ) in the team?
I know many African black males sit on committees but they have delivered absolutely nuthin’ for SA.
The only delivery for them was probably the delivery of their newly purchased German sedans.
29 Dec 2009, 17:20 pm
@Sheriff: arthur got pulled from the obscure surroundings of griqualand west…enough said.
136 Jozi you’re so right, Management!! I remember Vinnige Fanie having a go at Vinny Barnes when our quicks were bowling tripe. Why can’t we make use of AD or Fanie?
138 Valkyrie, afraid I’m not up to date, but what discipline problems?
139 Sheriff I’ve also wondered about Arthur. We let the Kirsten brothers go overseas. Is the coach only there to rubber stamp what the captain says?
The seed of this looming disaster was sown in team selection.
Ntini is clearly out of form as was shown at Centurion then
he failed to remove the Poms 10/11 batsman.
Why the last over was not bowled by danger man De Wet beats me.
Yet he (Ntini) was picked again to open the bowling with Steyn
returning from injury.He was hammered in his opening overs
and did not bowl a single ball after that.
Kallis is clearly not 100% fit and did not offer anything
in the bowling department, leaving the Proteas short of
2 quality bowlers to finish the Poms off.
As a result of poor team selection the Protea bowlers
were taken to the cleaners and because our openers are
not able to string two good innings together the rest
collapsed like a house of cards.
I honestly believe that the many of the Proteas are selected on reputation and not on form and that it lacks the discipline, not talent, to be a team that will be long remembered, like the once mighty Aussies, who must fancy
their chances against the Proteas.
29 Dec 2009, 17:37 pm
@Valkyrie: @williforde:
Even my wife, who watches prob 1 game or so in a year asked the other day: why is Mickey Arthur so comfortable or untouchable in his position?
The Snape factor is now non-existent, but Arthur will prob fight to keep him there.
Ive listened to Vinnige Fanie and his mate (Fredericks) now for some time. Fanie knows his cricket but he is just too Afrikaans. He will only have success in the former boer-republics OFS and Transvalia (not Jhb tho)
What about a guy like Kepler Wessels? Not sure how his people relationships man skills are.
29 Dec 2009, 17:41 pm
@williforde: Egos, there’s a quota of egos in the proteas team…….there can only be 3 allowed in the squad and with Graeme Smith, Jacques Kallis and Mark Boucher already there….there’s no way AD or Fanie could be included.. ( I am only joking of course) but if we lose this series there’ll be some kind of fall out. I hope it doesn’t come to that.
@Brentie1: I agree Ntini should probably go but by the same token a certain so called “gritty”, “fighter” celebrity of a wicket keeper should follow suit if his batting form doesn’t improve. He too has been relying on his reputation for quite some time.
29 Dec 2009, 17:44 pm
@Sheriff: Kepler is not liked by the senior players….he once called Smith and Kallis fat and had a full go at Pollock when he was captain. His cricket knowledge may be very good but he’s diplomacy or lack thereof wouldn’t endear him to the team members.
29 Dec 2009, 17:51 pm
@Jozi:
And they were fat!
Ok so he lacks the EQ, no then he needs to stay away.
I wonder how fit this team is. Lack of fitness can contribute to injuries.
Also you need a layer of players that can replace the regulars when going through a dip. Right now, because of lack of depth he needs to wait for the play to hit form.
I would have dropped AB some time ago, he seems to be battling with confidence and for some time now.
29 Dec 2009, 17:52 pm
Ntini must go in my book.
Prince is not an op[ener and Dumminy must also disappear. His lack of runs is a serious concern.. I would bring in De Wet and Rudolph..
29 Dec 2009, 17:59 pm
@Sheriff: If Arthur goes, who do you replace him with. I don’t see any coaches in the domestic league who are capable of fulfilling that role.
Internationally you could ask G.Kirsten to return home but if you go with Kirsten then Smith can’t captain the team….their pairing wouldn’t work. Gary is a quite sort of guy, he would need an Amla type captain for him to be effective…..check how well he seems to work with Dhoni ( another quite, laid back dude)
Maybe Duncan Fletcher, he’s coached in SA before and he is a good coach.
AB is another of those youngsters who needs to learn his craft. A little too excitable at times but he’s come a long way…..he’ll come good eventually.
29 Dec 2009, 18:01 pm
@WP_: Rudolph was anounced elligible for selection on December 2nd.. I hope that is still the case. He is the answer to the problem we are having with prince opening.
29 Dec 2009, 18:03 pm
@Jozi:
Yip, a bit of a problem.
Anyway mates, nice chatting.
Look forward to Biff’s speach tomorrow: “All credit to England, they delivered …”
They must interview coaches as well, like in rugby.
29 Dec 2009, 18:05 pm
Sheriff if you want to drop AB, all it shows is your lack of cricket knowledge. After Kallis, he is probably our best batsman. We need to look at numbers 1, 3 and 6 in the top order
29 Dec 2009, 18:13 pm
@Sheriff: the last time i saw arthur he was hiding behind an avertising board so i guess it’s back to that board for him tomorrow and this time he will stay there!
29 Dec 2009, 18:14 pm
@dj:
Hi DJ
Where’s AJ, BJ and CJ?
Listen I have nothing against AB, superb fielder actually. But he dropped someone last week at Centurion.
I think he was also responsible for Biff’s run-out in the 1st innings.
He is tentative, I hate that (not him) in a player. He also seems to think that he has some music talent – like many Afrikaner males, every week another artist – how bizarre?
Someone needs to work with him to get that self-belief up and then he will be fine. Problem is that he will probably take over from Boucher who refuses to retire. I dont mind – as long as he delivers he can stay even if he is 40!
29 Dec 2009, 18:15 pm
154 Jozi, yes Fletcher sounds.
Didn’t know that bit about Kirsten.
Well Fletcher & Smith click?
29 Dec 2009, 18:19 pm
@Valkyrie:
Biff is probably as dominant a captain as Hansie Cronje.
Arthur likes that it seems. He remains in the background.
One has to ask: exactly what is his role?
Im sure he has a:
* Fitness coach
* Mental coach
* Bowling coach
* Analysts
Biff interacts with the team members, selects or states his preferences and handles the media.
So what does Mickey do?
If Mickey was black or cullert the keo gangsters would have asked these questions a long time ago?
29 Dec 2009, 18:22 pm
160 Sorry, Fletcher sounds good.
Well = Will
29 Dec 2009, 18:23 pm
@williforde: I don’t know but one thing is certain, if Arthur goes we need to bring in a coach who’s not star struck. A tough talking, knowledgeable oke…..I’m thinking Steve Waugh but he’s a damn Aussie.
@Sheriff:
Keo gangsters? so you reckon the senior players are running the show or is it Eric Simmons who sends Biff sms’s from the bushes….
29 Dec 2009, 18:26 pm
Later mates.
29 Dec 2009, 18:32 pm
163 Jozi – Steve Waugh, interesting. Talk about tenacity, I hated Steve when he just wouldn’t give up.
If Jones could help us win the World Cup, Steve can….
29 Dec 2009, 18:34 pm
@Sheriff: have to agree with you there mate.arthur was an average opening batter for griquas and ended up coaching the proteas while gary kirsten was a good test opener and ended up coaching india,the most cricket mad nation on the planet.things like this can only happen in south africa!
29 Dec 2009, 18:36 pm
AB devilliers is legendary. The English pundits are in awe of the man..
We need to re-evaluate our bowlin g attack and our top order batsmen..
29 Dec 2009, 18:40 pm
Now we know how Oz felt last year. Except, they know how to stay on top. (And are returning rather quickly too). Remember too, look back at the match and see that some curious decisions were made by Biff…Biff needs a bashing too.
Obviously it is as simple as this, we are being outplayed and dominated by the English.
29 Dec 2009, 18:42 pm
Tantalize this, could Biff be the current problem? One who dominates so strongly could be a case of power corrupts….
29 Dec 2009, 18:45 pm
This was on the cards from day one of this teast. Saw it coming a mile off, Just like 49-0 hammerings, when mediocre useless kop toe idiots don’t know wtf is cutting around them and thinking they the bees f’ng knees, thats when reality strikes home. Its a damn fine thing that happened here, was right on the button. These kop toe poeftas need to get smacked hard where it hurts till they realize the truth of where their grandiose useless kop toe heads are actually at. Sweep clean the Arthurs and the gathering of the little boys club clique. Drop the rubbish and start again, just like the rugby boys gonna have to do if they seriously want to stand a chance of progressing from the shambles they left behind in Europe at the end of November.
29 Dec 2009, 18:50 pm
@Tbozknows: don’t get silly now.i’ve got no problems with ab but he still has a long way to go…a legend would not have made that fundemental error today after seeing how kallis got out.hopefully that will be a learning experience for him.
29 Dec 2009, 18:57 pm
@mindispower: sad but true.was rather painful to see how the poms got cockier and cockier with every passing minute and i did not blame them…but still very painful!the barmy army also turned kingsmead into an english home-ground…eina!
29 Dec 2009, 19:00 pm
@Valkyrie: I agree, maybe legendary is an exageration, however this talk of dropping AB id ludicrous.
29 Dec 2009, 19:05 pm
@Tbozknows: agree with you there mate.
29 Dec 2009, 19:17 pm
The tale of a sad story by the score sheet:
Prince – 2,16
Amla – 2,6
Duminy – 4,0
My prediction is none of those players will be dropped for the next Test.
29 Dec 2009, 19:26 pm
Baiting again aren’t we?
Valkyrie…..please ignore, this has been a nice thread so far apart from the few nasty posts about Amla’s beard etc.
29 Dec 2009, 19:34 pm
Oh please. Everybody is human. Everybody makes mistakes. Even Tendulkar, Lara and Ponting do.
Geez, talk about having unrealistic expectations
29 Dec 2009, 19:37 pm
170 skopskiet
Big talk from a small man.
29 Dec 2009, 19:40 pm
@Jozi: will do.just as well i have to run off to the shop.nice chatting about cricketing matters for a change without the usual ulterior agendas.
29 Dec 2009, 19:42 pm
@Valkyrie: Cheers man
29 Dec 2009, 19:48 pm
Innings defeat? On a pitch prepared by a home-town groundsman to suit the home team’s strengths? Not a good look, is it? Pop goes the bubble.
29 Dec 2009, 19:53 pm
@TheTackler: Thanks tickles…..remind me again how many trophies or major series has the black caps won…….you can get away with it on the rugby debates because the all blacks are a class act but not so on the cricket I’m afraid.
29 Dec 2009, 20:00 pm
@lungburner:
Amla’s COMPOUND Test average (?runs/?Innings) against the Big Four, namely Australia, India, Pakistan and England are as follow:
Before Durban test: 32.95
After the Durban Test: 31.85
These numbers are lower than these of Gibbs (42), Gary Kirsten (45.2), K. Wessles (41) or Graeme Smith (49.8)
But they are similar to A Hudsons’ (33.5) average.
29 Dec 2009, 20:06 pm
Jacques Rudolph must be close to selection again. If eligible.
I’ve heard from someone on here that he is, but I’m not sure…
29 Dec 2009, 22:39 pm
The Black Caps have won ONE ICC Championships trophy. Identical to the Proteas.
Makes you laugh, doesn’t it?
29 Dec 2009, 22:44 pm
I see the Proteas accidentally stepped on their egos and strangled themselves again. Ho hum!
30 Dec 2009, 00:19 am
In fairness, this is the same England team fresh from winning back the Ashes, minus that prick Flintoff.
Maybe with Rudolf, McKenzie, Gibbs or even Nel the sad farce of today would have been averted, just to think what would have happened if there was no rain in the afternoon?!
The worst still was to read The Telegraph who called the SA Team “Micki Arthur’s Brave New World”
30 Dec 2009, 00:32 am
I would like to see one of McKenzie, Gibbs or Rudolph back in the fold. We need it
30 Dec 2009, 02:23 am
At least England won the Ashes in their own back yard with their own turfkeepers preparing the English wickets to suit their strengths. The Aussies were also very firmly in rebuild mode after the retirements of several key stalwarts.
The absolute spanking they’re dishing out to SA is on South African soil, with the wickets prepared by South African groundsmen to suit the local team’s advantage. And this is a full-strength, on top of their development curve formerly number 1 ranked Protea test team playing on home ground.
And they are not just being beaten. They are being utterly flogged. Humiliated, in fact.
They’ve gone belly-up.
30 Dec 2009, 03:07 am
@lungburner: #135
AMLA’S record
Matches: 38
Runs: 2579
Average: 40.93
100′s: 7
50′s: 14
@Hondo:#183
You seem to be very selective with the stats you provide.
I’m sure if you take the same approach re Kallis’ stats, you will find that it is not the same as his overall stats. Why don’t you indulge us?
@WP_: #184
Rudolph? In whose place?
Prince? Who has two scores of 150 odd runs in his five previous test innings’. Admittedly, he failed twice against England in this series as an opener, but you don’t chuck the kind of consistency and experience that Prince provides in the middle order away because your experiment with him as an opener failed.
Amla? Scored a century just in the previous test. Probably has the best record of all the batsman in the team currently at Newlands, where the next test takes place.
That leaves AB and JP. Who are you going to leave out of the two?
Tik, tok, tik, tok, time is running out. You have to make a decision, and quick. The next test starts in three days time.
Before you decide, consider Rudolph’s record:
Matches: 35
Runs: 2028
Average: 36.21
100′s: 5
50′s: 8
Keep in mind that his average is inflated by that undefeated double century he scored against Bangladesh on début.
30 Dec 2009, 03:17 am
Bangladesh and Zimbabwe have done nothing more for world cricket than to totally contaminate the averages and turn them all into a complete nonsense.
30 Dec 2009, 04:07 am
@TheTackler: 191
I agree that that is the case for now. But …
They said the same about Sri Lanka at one time. I don’t think they do any more.
The entrance on the big stage of players like Aravinda de Silva, Arjuna Ranatunga, Kaluwitharana, Jayasuria, Murali in the late 80′s to middle 90′s has changed all that.
30 Dec 2009, 04:15 am
3 simple little decisions by the Smith / Arthur farce starry eyed kop toe charade could have averted this disaster. . . De Wet, Parnell in, Ntini, and one of Harris or Duminy or Steyn out. . . Prince to 4 or 5 after De Villiers. Amla to open. . . But at the start of this test I sensed the writing on the wall was imminent, a big wake up call was due, same as that 49-0 thrashing White and Smit took in Aus, Arthur and Smith were due a hiding of note to smack them out their kop toe stupor. Like all big headed idiots require, some correction to their kop toe stuffed up brains was absolutely on the cards. This Micky mouse Arthur fool is the greatest quota coach of all time even a worse farce than fakey Jakey White who needed an astute Australian to guide him by the nose out of his mediocre misery when all hell was staring him in the face in 07, if they don’t get an Aussie coach to come fix this shambles and teach this other kop toe twit Smith a lesson in humility then the little white Micky mouse quota coach will simply have to go, no time to carry useless idiot coaches that are so far out their league its frightening. . . The most dismal batting and bowling performance by an SA side in a very long time if not of all time. Legends like Kallis shouldering arms to an inswinger that takes out his off stump, and then Duminy watching almost the identical delivery cleaning his wicket as he mimicks Kallis’s stupidity. 5 down for 50 in 2nd innings after being roasted by two and a half tons in the first innings is pure pathetic paranoia status set in, and the beauty of it all is its exactly what the doctor ordered for this Smith / Arthur ivory tower built on quick sand to come tumbling down. About time and not a moment too soon. . , and Smit and his senior player coaches in the rugby fraternity better be keeping a hawk eye on such realignment proceedings because their own little wakey wakey kop toe realizations could be staring them in the face just around the corner just the same if they not careful. . Just like in 2006.
30 Dec 2009, 05:42 am
@nama1: The same was once said about NZ. They took a month of Sundays to chalk up their first cricketing test win, let alone series triumphs and trophies and stuff. And they’ve never ever played a five-test series against anyone, ever.
But, upon their admission to the top tier, they ALWAYS put up a damned good scrap right from Day One and they never acted as easybeats where the acknowledged big boys could artificially inflate their batting or bowling averages.
And today they’re taken pretty seriously. Pakistan have recently come away with only a squared three-test series.
And they have exactly the same amount of historical silverware in their trophy cabinet as South Africa.
So, they didn’t screw up the record-books. As, indeed, neither did Sri Lanka.
But Zimbabwe and Bangladesh have been dreadful to the record-books and the historical averages. They HAVE been the most abysmal easybeats — in spite of one or two freaky flukish shock results (like the Proteas losing to Holland about a decade ago)
30 Dec 2009, 05:54 am
@skopskiet: Harris got a blimming FIVEFER in the very most recent test innings he played in two weeks ago against this same England team and you’re seriously beating the speculative drum to have him dropped? On a famously-turning wicket like Durban? Are you truly plain stupid or are you just bloody pug ignorant? Sheesh! Get a grip!
30 Dec 2009, 05:57 am
Colonialist sports are for old hackneed colonialists who take themselves far too seriously. One can’t take any of these minority sports types all that seriously unless you live in India or Pakistan where it becomes a religion. But out here in the old empirical colonies its just another means of passing the time between real time eventualities.
30 Dec 2009, 08:23 am
@skopskiet: Bull.
30 Dec 2009, 09:38 am
I smell A Rat
30 Dec 2009, 09:45 am
Lets be honest, the Proteas is chokers.
30 Dec 2009, 09:46 am
ARE chokers.
30 Dec 2009, 09:48 am
TheTackler are a joke.
30 Dec 2009, 09:56 am
Hey there is a few players who is in the team purely on past. These guys are out of sorts and need to step down. Hey the proteas dropped Gibbs, why not Makaya and Prince give the form players a go.
30 Dec 2009, 11:00 am
So we’ve just lost the test. Instead of looking at scapegoats within the team or coaching staff, I’d rather like to see Procter step down as convener of selectors. It’s become clear that neither Arthur or Smith seem to have any say in team selection. Yet they will take the most heat for this loss. Gibbs was hurried back into the one-day side after after the first game. Arthur also wanted Parnell for the test series. There is now forward planning.
Ntini has become out of his depth for international cricket. It’s also the duty of selectors to ensure a long serving player leaves the international scene gracefully. Instead Ntini is now being mentioned on many occasions as having a blunt bowling attack. The keep him in the team smacks of tokenism, which is hardly fair on a player who once was the best bolwer in the world.
There was also a mention made of Prince. Remember that he’s playing out of position. It may well be better to look at Amla to open and Prince as number two. That would be too sensible.
30 Dec 2009, 11:02 am
****… at least 09 is almost over
30 Dec 2009, 11:40 am
@Karoolander: lol.can dish it out but can’t take it!problems with is and are today?
30 Dec 2009, 11:42 am
@Valkyrie: Don`t you get it?
Yes the first one i made a mistake, blame it on the hangover,but the second one was to lure Tackles into a trap.
He didn`t fall for it though.
30 Dec 2009, 11:44 am
@superbok: i would prefer prince at five because when i last checked number two was a opener as well!
30 Dec 2009, 11:47 am
And in any case, pointing out grammar mistakes, especially on Keo, is very petty.
30 Dec 2009, 11:48 am
@Karoolander:
Eugene!
Hoe gaan dit vandag.
30 Dec 2009, 12:10 pm
@Karoolander: agree with you on that one.imo anything goes on the net as long as you understand what the next chap wants to tell you but unfortunately here on keo there are bloggers that want to show off their superior english abilitity.sometimes you feel like coming to an english class here on keo!
30 Dec 2009, 15:58 pm
This was a huge embarrassment to us South Africans. Clearly we are not the same force on the cricket field we were a year ago.To allow a pretty good but not great England team manhandle us like that on our own turf has to have serious repercussions. Maybe we have been too complacent for too long now and not read the warning signs. Maybe, without being alarmist, we need to ask whether Mickey Arthur’s time hasn’t come. He has had a good term but maybe its time for a new coach with a new style and new ideas.With regards to short term answers to be able to come back and win the series I have some suggestions. We need less left handers in our batting lineup. Currently the left handers (mainly) are making Swann look world class. I would bring in Alvero Peterson in place of Prince and Neil Mackenzie in place of Duminy. Mackenzie will bring experience too batting at 5 or 6. This isnt the time to blood a Rilee Roussouw, Elgar or Vandiar, all lefties and too inexperienced. Australia are not afraid to drop players who are not performing e.g. Phil Hughes, who got plenty against us but was caught out against England. I would also freshen up our attack, leaving out Ntini, a great player who’s time has come to an end. Either Parnell, Tsotsobe or De Wet would make a real difference. Hopefully Kallis can bowl at 140km again soon or we need an extra bowler too. Whatever happens, more of the same is not going to cut it. Please guys, lets make brave decisions for the sake of the series and the poor loyal supporters who are all hurting right now!
31 Dec 2009, 00:44 am
Agreed with pretty much all of that.
I’m not sure Mickey Mouse should hang around too much longer.
Duncan Fletcher should be ushered in.
31 Dec 2009, 06:59 am
@ant: Balbyter, not too sure about letting McKenzie back in. He had his opportunities but never took them. IMO the problem lies with our poofta bowling attack. Steyn was rushed back a couple of weeks too early and Ntini, as we all know, is a has-been. Why not stick with new boy Friedel and bring back Wayne? I still don’t get why they dropped Wayne. The guy will become the next Protea legend.
31 Dec 2009, 09:03 am
The writing has been on the wall for quite a while now…..
What silverware had Mickey Mouse or Biff brought home since their tenure??? ZILCH
What other team gets rewarded with continuous selection after continuous failure? Only SA Cricketers.
Coaches must Go, Captain must be changed, players living on their laurels must Go.
Team must be selected on current form and be results based selection, no performance, out you go.
In any other business (which sport is) the majority would of been fired long ago.
So this is how I see it: (Test Team)
Selectors: Captain/Vice Cpt/Bowling Coach/Batting Coach
Coach: Ray Jennings
Fielding Coach: Jonty Rhodes
Bowling Coach: Allan Donald/Fanie De Villiers/Shaun Pollock
Batting Coach: Kepler Wessells/Graeme Pollock
Squad:
Captain: Johan Botha
Vice: Graeme Smith
Openers: Smith / Rudloph
Keeper: Boucher/ AB
Above Certainties, Balance of match 11 to be selected from:
Bowlers: Steyn / Parnell /De Wet/ Morkels /Mclaren
Batsmen: Kallis/Amla/Prince/Puttick/Mckenzie/Peterson/Gibbs
Spin: Harris/Van der Merwe
31 Dec 2009, 10:49 am
213 kwas
McKenzie averaged 50 odd in the tests since his return to the fold, then dropped?