‘Splinters’ gets Lions lifeline

Former Bok hooker Hanyani Shimange will join the Lions Super 14 squad on a trial basis.

Shimange’s career has been in free fall since he was axed from the national squad in 2006, after winning nine Test caps off the bench. He is currently WP’s third-choice hooker behind Tiaan Liebenburg and Deon Fourie, and therefore not part of the Stormers’ plans for 2010.

‘Shimange’s [WP] contract expires at the end of next year and he is simply not getting enough game time with us,’ WP senior professional coach Rassie Erasmus told News24. ‘Deon and Tiaan [Liebenberg] are using their opportunities.

“Shimmy and myself both feel he is the kind of player who must play himself into the team. He doesn’t get into top form in just one or two games and must play often to get [match] fit. I simply do not see him getting any game time ahead of Tiaan and Deon.

‘[Lions coach] Dick [Muir] phoned to say he need players and I mentioned Shimmy to him. If he doesn’t make the Lions’ Super 14 squad, he will return to Cape Town and play Vodacom Cup rugby for Western Province.’

Shimange will be accompanied to Jo’burg by lock George Earl, who is behind Adriaan Fondse, De Kock Steenkamp, Andries Bekker, Anton van Zyl and Martin Muller in the WP pecking order.

284 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

• 201.carol: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah: Without Jean and Percy the WP boys have lost their lustre!!

Now Bakkies and Victor are real pin ups!! ;-)

• 202.carol: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: I prefer the Tiger Woods jokes!!

Best use of a golf club I have seen for ages!

• 203.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

You mean if the sharks do not finish me off you will do it next year?

• 204.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@carol:

There are many things that keo does not do.

I was not surprised.

• 205.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@carol: EEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWW

Have you seen Joe? In the tunnel there’s this old picture of Monty and I swear it looks just like Joe… I did a double take.

Peter Grant and Duane Vermeulen are just the cutest things since bunnies and puppies.

And there’s something about Flo and Conrad

and of course JJ Engelbrecht… omg talk about hot

• 206.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Heheheh, you be careful in Mossel Bay. How will we know if you have been eaten by a shark, your wife will not know how to contact us!!

We got worried enough when you went to Australia for rather too long!!

• 207.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

Supporting any other team than the Sharks would be unnnatural to me. I might as well support the All Blacks. Both thoughts horrify me.

• 208.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah:

I dont really care how they look, they must just deliver.

Deliver, deliver and deliver.

They must refrain from the usual pre-season hype and simply win the Super14 or CC.

• 209.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

Do you know Victor uses a GHD?
    Ask Sarah if you do not believe me.

Bunch of moffies :)

• 210.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@carol:

Poor Tiger. Got owned by a blonde Swede.

• 211.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@carol: think about how I’ll feel in about 30-50 years

• 212.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

Yeah in the end justice prevailed!

• 213.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: I have proof

look on the bright side, at least it’s not pink

• 214.carol: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah: I must look!!

• 215.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

How does he use it while on tour? Does he room with Wynand Olivier? They must do one another’s hair…while in lingerie.

• 216.carol: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: Are you really banned from RT?

• 217.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: 207 I have no idea what a GHD is Rob, could you enlighten me?

• 218.carol: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: Wynand, now you are talking!

• 219.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@carol:

Yebo. Quite some time ago. Me and stan. He apparently made sarky comments about the grammatical mistakes in some of the threads.

• 220.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@carol: I swear, I’ve got some good pics on my profile

• 221.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

GHD = an implement that ensures a girl has a Good Hair Day (GHD)

• 222.carol: Reply to this comment

Bed calls and I am two hours behind you lot!!

Night All….

Rob have a great trip!

• 223.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Ok, its getting late here.

Let summarise:

a. Province – yeah they continue to have my support
    b. To RT or not – some say “just do it” others are very quiet.

It might be easier if RT themselves can step forward and send a personal invite. It would be presumptious to respond to general invites.

• 224.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah: Oh and Carol Schalk Ferreira is the hottest prop to ever live

• 225.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Predawn:

LoL, for your sake (as a shark) I hope it is not Victor and Frans S who is sharing the GHD.

• 226.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Yep outta here too.

Probably get woken up by my baby in a few minutes.

• 227.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@carol: hair straightener

must go, it’s early

• 228.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

Cheers, I hope you have checked the clip??

• 229.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

Never thought about that. Maybe Frans has his own. He looks like he could be selfish the *****.

• 230.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Your stand against RT. A blog.

Actually I think they are well within their rights of association to ban any political commentary.

No one has to go there.

• 231.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff:

Just stay here man
    The place will get better next year again.

• 232.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Who the fkuc cares anyway. I even offered to proofread their articles due to the shocking spelling. Ai tog.

• 233.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff: 182. Try supporting the Lions. And Leeds United. That’s a hair shirt for anyone, actualy a hair track suit.

• 234.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Predawn:

LoL, I hope the baby gives you a break. Thank god I am finished with that.

On second thoughts, it was not that bad.
    Check u.

• 235.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: Spoken like someone too young to have ever done military service. Pathetic.

• 236.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

Ja only four weeks but so cute. Ciao!

• 237.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Just had a 15-year-old die on me.

Honestly, life’s too short. Still have the blood that was spurting from his carotid on my forearm.

Fark this petty ****. Are we human or not?

A ******* kid, dead for what?

Gather ye rosebuds.

• 238.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Thanks bru. I wish I was.

• 239.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: yawn.

• 240.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die:

Paramedic? My boet is also one in Cape Town.

• 241.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

I’m tired of this blog, it depresses me.

• 242.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Siriaaaaaaaas!

• 243.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: Ah boet , bummer, tragic. Sorry mate.

• 244.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: Me too.

• 245.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: You gave it away with your talk of your Mom, and Stan. Another douche bag.

• 246.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Having a mom means I’m young? Okay then.

stan was a character. A bit older than me but not by too many years.

• 247.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Joe, I have no official “anti RT” stand
    I mean, who the hell would in any event care whether I like RT or not or what my stand or anyone else’s stand is on such a matter.
    It is a free world – we can all go where we want to.
    It is no big deal.

• 248.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

Site is as boring as a box of dandruf.

Too many backslappers. Like being at a Malema speech.

• 249.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Absolutely bud. By the way enjoy Morsel Baai. Don’t become a morsel of tender treat for a shark. We lost Cab, and I don’t need to lose you too.

Grant has lost his mind.

Skops was always lost.

• 250.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

That’s why they’re called looney lefties….

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.