‘Splinters’ gets Lions lifeline

Former Bok hooker Hanyani Shimange will join the Lions Super 14 squad on a trial basis.

Shimange’s career has been in free fall since he was axed from the national squad in 2006, after winning nine Test caps off the bench. He is currently WP’s third-choice hooker behind Tiaan Liebenburg and Deon Fourie, and therefore not part of the Stormers’ plans for 2010.

‘Shimange’s [WP] contract expires at the end of next year and he is simply not getting enough game time with us,’ WP senior professional coach Rassie Erasmus told News24. ‘Deon and Tiaan [Liebenberg] are using their opportunities.

“Shimmy and myself both feel he is the kind of player who must play himself into the team. He doesn’t get into top form in just one or two games and must play often to get [match] fit. I simply do not see him getting any game time ahead of Tiaan and Deon.

‘[Lions coach] Dick [Muir] phoned to say he need players and I mentioned Shimmy to him. If he doesn’t make the Lions’ Super 14 squad, he will return to Cape Town and play Vodacom Cup rugby for Western Province.’

Shimange will be accompanied to Jo’burg by lock George Earl, who is behind Adriaan Fondse, De Kock Steenkamp, Andries Bekker, Anton van Zyl and Martin Muller in the WP pecking order.

284 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

• 251.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Predawn:
    @SodaJoe:

Cheers guys, have a good time during the remainder of the the festive season.
    Strangely enough I still enjoy Keo.
    See u around.

• 252.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Predawn, no, police reservist. Bloody kid. All his life to live. Everything right now seems petty. I have a bottle of vodka though.

• 253.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Predawn, your boet is a hero. I have all the respect in the world for paramedics.

• 254.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: Yak Skiier. Stay cool. Dop is not going to help, only drink for fun.

• 255.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Some paramedics apply dressings while being shot at by rival gang members – I salute paramedics, I’ll buy them a drink any time.

• 256.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Minnesota Joe, I long for the old keo. I still pist here in remembrance, I guess. Keo needs an active Ig like back in the old days.

Amazing how witnessing death centers you again, everything else pales in significance.

Ah well, **** it, another double, thanks.

• 257.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

totally anom question ..is polygamy legal in south afica ??

• 258.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: Bud I am off, it’s my 20′th wedding anniversary. I punched way above my weight in terms of my wife.

You don’t need IG, just filter it yourself.

Go to bed, and put the bottle away.

• 259.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Depends – under Roman-Dutch law, or under African customary law? Legal under customary law, which is recognised by the Constitution. Also, the Recognition of Customary Marriages Act legitimises polygamous (customary) marriages, if they conform with the procedural requirements.

• 260.mbaxman93: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: thnx for clearing that up. got a bit confused when i read tht president zuma would be taking his sixth wife

• 261.Nils: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: Congrats for a milestone :)

• 262.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Ain’t it just a hoot when you get some lost **** calling others lost. These poor deluded souls don’t know the beginning of the term ‘lost’. If only they caught just a miniscule peep at the real situation, but then how could they, they live in fairy god mother delusions of what reality comprises. No one to blame, just a product of their programming.

• 263.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: lol

Just irony and a play on words.

• 264.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Nils: merci beacoup Msr. Latvia.

Good Night.

• 265.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Well Soda if anyone really wanted to get the inside scoop on where lost or found happened to be, everyone would realise exactly how emphatically lost they actually are, but then how can any poor lost deluded soul realise quite what lost or found is unless they’d found themselves, then they can determine the difference between being ‘lost’ or ‘found’. We think we know who or where we ‘are’ yet I can categorically guarantee you without any doubt whatsoever, no one has even half a vague clue.

• 266.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Hope your 20th w.a. went well, before you know it its half a century on the clock. I’m more for that customary law setup, you know where polygamy rules, but then unfortunately I was born into the ‘wrong’ setup so guess one gotta try play by those sets of rules somehow. Dunno how nature made man horny enough to carry enough seed to breed thousands yet religion decreed he’s only allowed one. I guess somebody gotta be right, either nature or religion, not quite sure which one quite yet, surely soon to find out.

• 267.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Now I’m depressed.

• 268.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Well best of luck to Shimmy.

**** seems desperate but who the hell can blame him?

I still find it amazing that in this day and age in professional rugby that a South African Super 14 coach with a national player base of a couple of 100 thousand players struggle to put a decent team together…

• 269.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

****, you have enough players in Gauteng, just get the culture right there.

• 270.Jozi: Reply to this comment

WPTID, you should never make the mistake of taking this blog too seriously. There are some threads which are written with the sole purpose of provoking a reaction and some posters who are just beyond repair.

The past few weeks have seen a rise in wind up merchants.
    their mission is to divide and cause mayhem.
    If good guys start leaving then they win….mission accomplished.
    Best thing to do is to ignore….totally ignore them and they’ll get bored and leave but give them attention and they’ll hang around and cause a big stink in the place.

I watched Louis Theroux’s documentary on Johannesburg and I have nothing but respect, total respect for Police and Police reservists. An unappreciated task but a vital one nonetheless…….things could be so much worse if it weren’t for them.

Cheer up man!

• 271.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt: I agree PA. There’s no excuse with the amount of players in SA why a S14 coach cannot put together a good team.

Either their structures are a complete mess and their youngsters are not being developed correctly/given enough gametime or there is some serious inhouse fighting. Also, changing coaches so often cannot be good for the players -with each coach comes new ideas and new gameplans. Unfortunately one coach might purchase players and get them geared for a forward onslaught, and then the next coach pitches up and decides to play an expansive game with a bunch of heavies he inherited.

• 272.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Jozi:

I watched that too.

Must say Louis really looked like a square peg in a round hole!

Brilliant show though.

• 273.Jozi: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Excellent show……One thing about him or his producers is that they do their research.

A lesson for the likes of Simon and his award winning journo mates here on Keo.

• 274.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Johannesburg – Former Springbok centre Japie Mulder, his wife and their three children were driven around in a nightmare hijacking ordeal by four robbers in the East Rand on Sunday, after the 1995 Rugby World Cup hero was locked in the boot of his own BMW.

8O

• 275.Karoolander: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah: Karma?

• 276.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die:

Big respect for you taking on that thankless task bru. Be safe.

• 277.groenie: Reply to this comment

Shimange!!!!!

The highest pay’d rugby player in the world, that is if you consider the game time he only played 5 minutes of rugby and has something like 9 test caps and benched over 20 odd

I think Chili and maku wont be happy with him making a return, bad enough to fight over the wood but 3 contenders that is pushing it “that is my bench punk”

• 278.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Karoolander: What? Huh? What did he do to deserve that?

• 279.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah: Molesting girls younger than you.

But his family certainly don’t deserve to be hijacked, or him neither I suppose.

• 280.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: holy poop don’t lie!

sheesh whats with all the Boks…

• 281.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@groenie:

commentt of the year. sooo true of thesee quota selectionns

• 282.King_Mufasa: Reply to this comment

Here we go again with more rag tag no name brands, also rans, wannabes and has beens. Left anyone out? So much tallent yet so much mediocrity as well.

• 283.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@groenie:
    Hehehe,,,
    It’s gonna be crowded on the Boks bench soon, maybe the quota lords will off load one or two of those 3 ‘Test’ hookers onto the 7s squad?

• 284.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Oh Chiliboy wasn’t the same guy that played in the 04 Tri-nations…. I was confused between these two quotas.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.