Grand Slam tour confirmed

The Springboks will play all four Home Unions and the Barbarians on their year-end tour.

Reports last year suggested the Boks would embark on the Grand Slam tour, and this was confirmed by Saru on Friday. Keo.co.za also has it on good authority that the senior Boks will be rested for the Currie Cup and will only play the the first game of the November tour – against Ireland to open the new Aviva Stadium – but this hasn’t been confirmed.

The Boks then play Wales, Scotland, England and the Baa Baas on consecutive weekends less than a year before the 2011 World Cup commences.

Meanwhile, the location of the Boks’ opening Test of the year hasn’t been confirmed. Saru are hoping to meet the local organising committee of the Fifa 2010 World Cup to arrive at a final decision on the availability of Newlands, while other grounds such as Wembley or even a venue in France have been viewed as possible alternatives.

Boks’ year-end tour:

Saturday, November 6, Ireland v South Africa (Aviva Stadium, Dublin)
Saturday, November 13, Wales v South Africa (Millennium Stadium, Cardiff)
Saturday, November 20, Scotland v South Africa (Murrayfield, Edinburgh)
Saturday, November 27, England v South Africa (Twickenham, London)
Saturday, December 4, Barbarians v South Africa (TBC)

78 Comments

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

Let’s hope these Bok Dragons can do it!

• 2.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Unless the Boks seriously shape up in 2010 we’re in for a hell of a snotklap on this tour.

• 3.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Ah jeez just realised that yet again I won’t be able to watch any of the matches as I’ll be travelling :(

• 4.JL1: Reply to this comment

I will not follow them on this tour, I cannot handle the disappointment anymore
    I hate crying in a rugby stadium

• 5.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

So are we sending our second stringers?
    Who negotiate these things?
    That loser Marinos?

• 6.Transformation: Reply to this comment

hey, just walked in @ my regular friday afternoon pub and guess who is sitting @ the table by the door, old kepler wessels with the grey college headmaster…he he…

• 7.Transformation: Reply to this comment

now to observe some serious turbo reverse!!!! Hahahahaha

• 8.Transformation: Reply to this comment

omg, two penalties by the king “aura” fetcher captain!

• 9.Transformation: Reply to this comment

now kockerrot is kicking k@k…

• 10.David: Reply to this comment

A beautfully constructed try.

• 11.Transformation: Reply to this comment

jannie dup is pap snoek!

• 12.Transformation: Reply to this comment

little joe is also kicking k@k!

• 13.klippies101: Reply to this comment

well sounds like a challenge for the boks
    lekker lets take it head on no mercy to who ever we play

• 14.David: Reply to this comment

Keegan’s an idiot.

• 15.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

What’s the score?

• 16.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

14-9.

• 17.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@Leon Schuster: to who?

• 18.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Stormers are dominating possession. Francois Louw yellow carded. Stormers have had most of the attacking opportunities, a lot thrown away though.

• 19.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@Leon Schuster: Yes but who is in the lead?

• 20.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Stormers lead. Two/three kicks apiece missed by Pietersen and Kockott each.

• 21.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@Leon Schuster: Deary me we really are kak this year.

• 22.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Scrums at this stage are equal. Jannie Dup has conceded one or two penalties though. Smit looks adequate, nay, average. All very even, but once the ball gets to the Stormers backs they look dangerous.

Deysel and Bismarck playing well.

• 23.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Terlance and Beast on for the Sharks. Match on!

• 24.rangerman: Reply to this comment

oops, did little joe get smashed by jpp?

shampies.

at least he is in good company. the little hobbit fro wales knows how he feels.

• 25.rangerman: Reply to this comment

so did js get beaten in that scrum (the 3rd scrum of the game)??

no.

wicus saw the inside of his arsehole.

in fact, i think he got some flying hours actually.

hmmm……..

• 26.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Much better scrum from the Sharks, with Beast, Smit and Jannie. Flo back on. Joe kicks another penalty, Stormers back in the lead.

• 27.rangerman: Reply to this comment

bismark has had a…….uhm……stormer?

ja, beast shows his mettle.

• 28.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Leon Schuster: ja, i see bissie is off.

not good imo as bismark stole some vital ball.

• 29.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Ai…Jannie off. Stupid from him.

• 30.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Sharks have to be careful, there might be another card here.

• 31.rangerman: Reply to this comment

4 or 5 scrums in 56 mins.

*** me joubert is a doos.

• 32.carol: Reply to this comment

Fantastic, I get possibly 3 chances to see the Boks this Autumn….. :lol:

• 33.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Leon Schuster: what did he do?

• 34.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Rangerman, dissent.

• 35.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Leon Schuster: ?

i must say, he is a bit of a hothead.

• 36.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ag, joubert just ended the game.

• 37.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Howcome there is no game thread ? Kinda sucks but thanks for the updates guys. Please keep them coming. I am on the road going away fishing and appreeciate the updates

• 38.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

YC for Deysel, high tackle, bit harsh imo.

• 39.gunther: Reply to this comment

no sign of turbo reverse?

• 40.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Good consistency from Joubert though.

• 41.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sparticus: where you fishing?

@Leon Schuster: ag, the doos hates the sharks and is playing to the local crowd.

good game this actually.

• 42.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther: :lol:

no sign.

but grant is at the game, dont forget, he is at the game.

so he is probably seeing it better than us :lol:

• 43.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

ahhh but this time there is tv coverage…we will be watching closely….

• 44.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Stormers dominating here.

• 45.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Stormers deserve to win this match. Lots of work ahead for both teams, though.

• 46.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Stormers Dominating The Sharkies, are my eyes deceiving me.

• 47.Transformation: Reply to this comment

turbo reverse…

• 48.Wezwp: Reply to this comment

Leon schuster are you at the game ?

• 49.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: huh?

are you seeing the same game?

looks to me like js is holding his end up nicely.

• 50.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

transie is being the devil’s avocado…

• 51.rangerman: Reply to this comment

oops, its jannie.

was watching from the stoep, sorry.

• 52.sparticus: Reply to this comment

On my way to arniston bredarsdorp in the cape. Its league comp for me. I fish in the wpsaa league

• 53.rangerman: Reply to this comment

turnover.

• 54.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sparticus: tight lines!

ag no, another try stormers.

they definately deserve the win.

• 55.gunther: Reply to this comment

try from the jabberwokkie…

• 56.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Toeniesokaknie scores a try. Overs skadovers.

• 57.gunther: Reply to this comment

nice scrum from the pap snoek…

• 58.rangerman: Reply to this comment

stormers scrum gets monstered.

turnover again.

another scrum on the stormers 5m.

• 59.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Score ?

• 60.rangerman: Reply to this comment

crossing, monty in the way.

pretty badly executed.

• 61.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

your backs look confused…

• 62.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sharks arent protecting the ball at the breakdowns.

good counterrucking by the stormers.

but they are being paddled in the scrums.

• 63.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

29-14 Stormers final score.

• 64.rangerman: Reply to this comment

game over 29-14 to the stormers, well done.

see you guys at kings park.

• 65.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

probably a fair reflection of where these two teams are…

• 66.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

It’s just a warm-up.

Sharks, don’t play Smit at 3, please.

• 67.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther: i agree, the backs were not too good.

this will be a recurring theme this year i fear unless ruan steps up tot he plate.

mcleod had a better game than rory imo. crisp service.

nice to watch rugga again i must say.

• 68.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

yep that 10 spot a worry lambie playing like a chop…

• 69.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther: agreed.

@Leon Schuster: :lol: why would you care? in fact, you should be hoping the sharks would seens as you are a lions supporter.

lmao!

have a good evening man.

• 70.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther: meyer was ok.

lambie was great at 15.

but ruan must step up.

low batt. have a good one gunther!

• 71.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:
    cheers rangerdad…

• 72.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Thanks guys. Cheers enjoy the w/end

• 73.charo: Reply to this comment

@sparticus:

fish well boet.

what are you targeting – galjoen and kob?

• 74.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

World cup next year. Dont do the Kiwi thing of trying to win everything and rest crucial players especailly in the scrums at the end of year tour.
    If they dont like it and want the Europe jolly with their wives like last year(how can we forget), sack em! Rest, rest …like Noakes keeps telling us.

• 75.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack: Yah…good time to send over the second-stringers and bench warmers…not much chance of a grand-slam but will test the depth…and probably show up Divvy’s coaching style ;)

• 76.GreenLion: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack: I agree. We mustn’t get tempted into trying to do the grand slam and then wreck our WC hopes..

• 77.ufo: Reply to this comment

So we have a Grand Slam Tour to look forward to…

fan-farking-tastic…

You better believe that we must take our strongest possible team on tour this time…

so the Boks sitting out the CC is a done deal… or should be IMO…

• 78.Mutant: Reply to this comment

@ufo: Still gonna be tough on the guys, and this might just jeopardize our World Cup…

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.