Stormers down shoddy Sharks
29 Jan 2010
The Stormers beat a mediocre Sharks side 29-14 to finish the pre-season Tri-series undefeated.
Both of these teams have plenty of work to do. The Stormers were far better than the scoreline suggests, but considering the Super 14 is two weeks away, they should be concerned with their performance at the breakdown in the first half. The Sharks were poor in this area too, but the worrying thing for John Plumtree is that their problems are not limited to this department.
Sharks’ scrumhalf Rory Kockott fluffed his first few penalty attempts, while at the other end, Joe Pietersen pushed the hosts to a 6-0 lead. The Stormers also scored a fantastic try off the first phase – although special mention must go to the porous Sharks defence.
Their dominant lineout, spearheaded on this occasion by Duane Vermeulen, secured possession and the ball flew to Schalk Burger. The Stormers captain surprised the opposition by throwing a flat pass to flyhalf Peter Grant who in turn found Gio Aplon with a lovely inside ball. Aplon lined up Sharks fullback Patrick Lambie before feeding Burger who had run a great supporting line.
The problem for the Stormers was their inconsistent tactical kicking display and their failure to release the tackled player at the breakdown. The Sharks won a number of penalties thanks to the law adjustment that cuts down the contest on the deck. Similarly, the Sharks battled on defence, and at times the game never went through more than five phases without Craig Joubert blowing a penalty.
The Stormers were accurate with some of their kicks, whereas the Sharks were simply abysmal. Lambie had a forgettable night with the boot and, unsurprisingly Stefan Terblanche ran out at the start of the second half.
The visiting scrum also looked weak for the most part. Captain John Smit also looked tired, and it’ll be interesting to see how he fares when the tempo is lifted in the first match against the Chiefs. The scrum looked steadier when Jannie du Plessis moved to tighthead and Beast Mtawarira came on at loosehead, but they also didn’t have things all their own way.
Nevertheless, the Sharks managed to level the scores in the second stanza, capitalising on a yellow card to Stormers flank Francois Louw. Terblanche and new recruit Steve Meyer seemed to galvanise the Sharks backline, and in the 45th minute, Luzuko Vulindlu crossed for an important try.
Pietersen nudged the hosts ahead in the 50th minute with a well-struck penalty. The Stormers began to apply themselves more and a rolling maul was illegally snuffed right on the Sharks’ tryline – an incident that led to the sin-binning of Jannie du Plessis.
The Stormers had botched a lineout from a similar position in the first half, but this time they showed the necessary determination to bash through the black and white wall. Tiaan Liebenberg was credited with the try, a score that signalled an end to the game as a result-driven contest.
The Stormers really began to find their rhythm in the final quarter and it was all the Sharks could do to spoil. Aplon was unceremoniously clotheslined by Deysel, a transgression that earned the Bok flank a yellow card.
The Sharks managed to hold a subsequent Stormers surge, Joubert reviewing the play on the television behind the dead-ball line. But finally the Sharks capitulated, a brilliant piece of individual running earning Sireli Naqelevuki a try in the right-hand corner.
The Stormers, winners of this Tri-series, will go back to the training field in order to curb their breakdown inaccuracies, but will be buoyed by one or two instances of attacking brilliance. The Sharks have a lot more to do if they’re going to be ready for their first clash on 13 February.
By Jon Cardinelli

270 Comments
29 Jan 2010, 21:02 pm
**** dude, you think you could open the other eye before writing your next match report?
29 Jan 2010, 21:08 pm
As a Lions supporter, I think JC’s match report is objective and spot on. Well done, JC.
29 Jan 2010, 21:12 pm
If this is way the season is going to unfold with unbelievably boring rugby being decided by refs more suited to ballet and brown mouthed SkinCity’s I mean Skinstads, I’ll give it a miss.
29 Jan 2010, 21:18 pm
the shark players would do well to concentrate on their rugby than trying to sway referee decisions…groot bek
29 Jan 2010, 21:20 pm
#ROBDYLAN.. Spot on the match was nowhere as one sided as suggested
. Also serious dodge scrum from stormers, I thought they were very lucky to only get pinged once.
29 Jan 2010, 21:20 pm
I thought the boys looked alot sharper than the toothless sharks side. Joe is great at 15 and he links up well with Gio
and Brian. Can someone tell me wat the hell is wrong wit Bissie coz all him and his over weight brother wanna do is box the whole time. Our props were 24 and 23 and they still out scrummed the sharks.
Cronje looks to be a great talent and must def get some game time this super14. I think we still lacking one reali physical tight forward. Hopefully Fondse will be ready soon.
Duane V, wat a beast,him and flo were flippin good all nite.kegan Daniels is reali useless and more like an irritating fly. Sireli scored a great try,well done bugger
STORMERS
29 Jan 2010, 21:21 pm
Good match practice for the Stormers. Pity bout the mediocre opposition.
29 Jan 2010, 21:23 pm
I’m still not convinced we have enough depth in our pack,Jc,Deon,Decock and Piet M are good but still a lil young and lack that hard edge which comes with age and experience.
29 Jan 2010, 21:26 pm
I’ve said it for a looooooooooooong time. The Sharks are an incredibly average and over-rated team. Without the likes of Deysel, Kankowski and Terblanche, the Sharks would battle against Boland. Almost every factor of Shark rugby is a joke. More and more people are starting to agree with me, even after years of everyone telling me what an idiot I supposedly am. Well it looks like all my predictions have come true and the Sharks are rapidly losing support as well as matches. The Sharks used to have an incredible ammount of support but I knew it was only a matter of time until people started waking up. I, as a full-on “engelsman” who has lived my whole life in Durban, am a proud Blue Bull supporter. I am sick and tired of the Sharks getting everyone all excited with lots of big names but then playing rugby like a bunch of schoolboys. Clearly none of the Sharks’ combinations work together and honestly they have the worst back-line I have ever seen in a Super14 team. They also have no quality locks to choose from (Maybe Hargreaves in time). Muller is pathetic and way over the hill. Also, who the hell is Mostert? And Plum still insists on playing Fatboy Smit at tighthead when one would think that any living species could identify that he is a useless prop. Don’t even getme started on fly-halves. Then they have Waylon Murray and Adi Jacobs. I know they don’t normally play together but you should never have these two in the same team. Then Ndungane. Why is this guy still allowed on the rugby field? He is possibly the most useless person to ever get paid to play a sport. And what is so great about that toddler Patrick Lambie? Come on! He is so incredibly average it’s frightening! The Sharks may have some big names, but they also have some of the worst names in rugby.
29 Jan 2010, 21:27 pm
hope flo is not unfairly labeled an eye gouger.
vermuelen is so much better when playing at 8.
stormers looking alright – might be worth a punt at the odds being offered.
29 Jan 2010, 21:31 pm
jeez that John Smit is seriously overweight and out of condition. That Boytjie should retire and save himself and every other decent Sa rugby supporter a whole lot of embarrassment. Come on John do yourself a favor along with the rest of the rugby public. Call it a day or else you gonna undo all that goody two shoes bunk that everyone thinks shines out your you know what.
29 Jan 2010, 21:41 pm
Bekker a better captain than Burger. Burger should play 7 not 6 Flo should play 6 like last year. Vermeulen should be bok 8 ahead of Spies. Alberts and Deysel should be with Lions where they belong. Then Lions and Stormers would be top 2 teams in the country. Sykes and Hargreaves are great prospects. The 2 Dup bro’s are nothing but trouble, not the great shakes they reckon they are.
Duvenhage had a cak game kicking like a delinquent mule and kicking way too deep with a poor service to his line to boot. Conradie on tonights showing a better 9 than Duvenhage. When Bolla came on the backs got some rigting at long last.
Smokin Joe Pietersen got Bok full back written all over him. Naka kaka vuki kuki at least looks like he might mean some business this year, looking a little leaner and meaner with some proper intent for a change.
29 Jan 2010, 21:47 pm
Skop is back! yeah skop Sharks are k@k, at least the ones in the sea are talented.
29 Jan 2010, 21:51 pm
@rugbywriter: Ja the sharks backline is looking very scrappy they were killed on defense. Muller is over the hill and should step up or step out. I thought Mostert did well for the team and Alberts put in a better showing than Kanko. Smitty must go to no.2, Deysel was fkn good.
29 Jan 2010, 21:52 pm
@robdylan: well said, the Sharks were a bit shoddy but the Stormers didn’t exactly shine.
29 Jan 2010, 21:53 pm
rangerman…ratel Brussow….if you still truly …really …deep down…believe Smit the answer at 3….
Well then you okes seriously insane….
5 m Scrum….Bok Front row….smashed!!!!!!
That could be a WC quarter final….you want to risk it?
I dont.
29 Jan 2010, 21:54 pm
Sharks look hellava ordinary this year.
Stormers were solid and encouraging but played within themselves.
Could and should have won by more.
Good hit out
29 Jan 2010, 21:55 pm
This was a very poor performance gy the stormers….and still an easy win….a canter…
29 Jan 2010, 21:56 pm
Duane Vermeulen > Jean Deysel.
Any day of the week.
29 Jan 2010, 21:57 pm
18 Grant10
Never very poor. solid but never poor…
29 Jan 2010, 21:58 pm
sharks been overrated for long time already. But the real problem at Sharks is Muller Smit and the two Dup boys. Only guys with some graft in that team are the new locks Sykes and Hargreaves and Deysel and now Alberts. Plus evergreen Terreblanche. Kanko still the lightweight Flash Gordon he’s always been, same with Daniels.
Sharks in for a long season but Stormers better do something about scrum half because the way Duvenhage played tonight we may as well not have a back line.
29 Jan 2010, 21:59 pm
@grant10: agree with you there man, there is no way Smitty should play at 3. 2 2 2 2 !
29 Jan 2010, 22:01 pm
@WP_: that is a colossal match up i wouldn’t say its a one way, Deysel played fkn well tonight Vermeulen was also on fire
29 Jan 2010, 22:01 pm
as long as Smit is at 3 ….the problems will persist….saffas are so ready to underestimate the importance of a solid scrum.
Boks must wake uop too,,,,PDV…be smart….seems plum in a catch 22 but Boks cannot and must not allow pap snoek turbo reverse smit to play 3…..it is suicide!
29 Jan 2010, 22:03 pm
guys,
tonight i paid special attention to brock harris – looking for good hands, linking, positional play.
didn’t really show up this evening.
but was pretty solid in the tight phases.
but not so sure he is all he is made out to be.
29 Jan 2010, 22:05 pm
Smit must just retire and save everyone plus himself a whole lot of unnecessary angst. The guy is seriously past it. He wobbles up to the ref huffing and puffing like an overgrown tele tubby and between him and Jannie Poep I’m not too sure who got more wobbly flab bounceing round their rotund girth.
29 Jan 2010, 22:09 pm
All i can say is WELL DONE REF. It is the first game I have seen in years, that the rules have ever been dealt with properly.
If the rest of this years S14/15 is as good with refs.
Maybe just Maybe it will be worth watching for a change and maybe even a trip to the local Stadium.
Go Refs go
29 Jan 2010, 22:09 pm
the sharks backline is very blunt, i see plumtree hasn’t done anything dramatically different from last year, still trying to score tries off turnover ball…
29 Jan 2010, 22:10 pm
23 byoboy
Both great players but Duane offers more all round.
29 Jan 2010, 22:10 pm
well….lets see how the Rangerman and Ratel Brussow react….i will be accused of high treason for saying Smit must get fit and fight for the 2 spot….or call it a day…seems maybe we see the scrums through different eyes??
Confuses me….all i know is some sharks fans at the game are saying what a lot of people are now…….
Seems the aura and presence doesent help much when you unfit and scrumming towards your own line…..this against the much mocked little storers front row….
29 Jan 2010, 22:11 pm
storers is stormers
29 Jan 2010, 22:11 pm
congratulations to the warriors for winning the MTN40 trophy!!! You did it boys; we’re proud of you!! Russell Domingo take a bow.
Now give us a S14 franchise….
29 Jan 2010, 22:13 pm
Bekker looking good watch out Matfield. Deysel, Vermeulen, Louw should all be in Bok setup. Perhaps Alberts too. Alberts should have stayed at Lions, did his career a big backward step hooking up with the sardines. Deysel too.
Bekker Sykes Hargreaves locks for the future. Get the has been’s out the system NOW before it gets too late. Don’t say I never warned ya.
Drop the overweight over traded dead beats and move on or taste bitter medicine. Am tuning you straight ma bra.
29 Jan 2010, 22:16 pm
@grant10:
G10. You know that that NAMAI guy on the other thread wasn’t me.
@charo:
You should have paid special attention to Jannie Dup, brother. First scrum in the 17th minute. Jannie penalized for hand on the floor. Seasoned international like that?
Sharks were lucky tonight. They should have been thumped. Stormers need to get a killer instict if they want to go far in the super 14.
I hope nobody’s going to say that this was just a friendly.
29 Jan 2010, 22:18 pm
This was just a friendly
29 Jan 2010, 22:20 pm
@nama1: yes…no sweat…impostors….you got a fan club…congrats …welcome to the club.
29 Jan 2010, 22:21 pm
@charo: 25
Did you compare him to your boys? If so, what was your conclusion?
Brock vs Jannie, who won on the night?
29 Jan 2010, 22:22 pm
cheetahs…vs sharks….turbo reverse
boks …france…turbo reverse
boks italy….super turbo reverse
sharks … w force…turbo reverse
stormers…sharks ….turbo reverse…
Common denominator?
29 Jan 2010, 22:23 pm
@nama1:
mate, took me an hour to get home so missed the first 30 mins.
don’t recall ever saying that jdp had good hands, positional play or provided a link between forwards and backs.
or did i?
29 Jan 2010, 22:25 pm
@grant10:
Same fan… I want my own man…
@Transformation:32
Warriors won? Congrats,
Saw earlier that Ash was on fire tonight.
29 Jan 2010, 22:25 pm
There is no way John Smit lasts this year
He is looking tired already and the season hasn’t even started
Rest him, please or he will break down
29 Jan 2010, 22:30 pm
@charo: 39
I’m talking scrum time. Not one of those who look at a prop’s ability in open play. That’s a bonus if he can do that.
29 Jan 2010, 22:35 pm
38 Grant
Are you on drugs?
“boks italy – super turbo reverse”
um, smit played 2 that day with wian at 1 and we dominated the pasta guzzlers mate.
29 Jan 2010, 22:36 pm
@nama1:
i was referring to earlier posts.
from ufo i think.
anyway, it’s taking my an eon to reload a page.
will try again tomorrow.
cheers boys
29 Jan 2010, 22:37 pm
evening guys, good showing by the stormers i thought ,de jongh impressed me alot ! as did youre back three ,i must admit i havnt been litle joe pietersens bigest fan but tonight he put in a good preformance -
must be said that the sharks 10 12 channel is a huge concern of mine !
i thought the sharks forwards where actually fairly good -mostert deysel beast and surprisingly kanko all where fairly decent -and the scrums where not shoved back ,infact they where their usualy disruptive self-but the sharks front row wasnt humiliated if were all completely honest here…infact they gained some ascendancy towards the end even…
Lambie not ready for this level yet ,was incredibley average…terblanche and kanko made an impression on me as did charl mcleod ,the kearsney boy was a bit average …sharks have reason for concern 10 12 -eish ,burger was back to his usual distructive ways tonight ,great,wish the sharks had been more disciplined though!
29 Jan 2010, 22:37 pm
@WP_: check again….only when BJ came on we dominated
An apology may be in order?
29 Jan 2010, 22:38 pm
@charo:
my = me
29 Jan 2010, 22:40 pm
@baw: at the end sharks hasd Jannie dup at 3….burden at 2 and Beast at 1….best scrum of the night….against stormers kritzinger aT 3…fOURIE AT 2 AND gUINZAU AT 1….
spin it however you like….stick your head in the sand….smit is klaar at 3…all over rover!!!
29 Jan 2010, 22:41 pm
@grant10: i believe beast had one over on the italian actualy grant
29 Jan 2010, 22:42 pm
@baw: yes…agreed …with smit at 2 and bj at 3…
Earlier today this was the conversation between Charlie and me.
197. CharlieReply to this comment :
January 29th, 2010 at 9:41 am
@nama1: Let’s see what happened, and keep in mind that this match will have no effect on the Super 14 log
201. nama1Reply to this comment :
January 29th, 2010 at 9:54 am
@Charlie:
Very well aware of that, Charlie.
Psychologically it may just play a role when we meet again in the S14.
Anybody who watched the game tonight will know how much mention there were made by the commentators of the psychological edge Stormers could gain , if they win this match tonight.
@grant10: burden played flank with alberts and kankowski ,while john smit was at th
29 Jan 2010, 22:43 pm
but sharks….keep on spinning….not my team….no tears my side…just dont play smit at 3 for boks…then its a war!
29 Jan 2010, 22:44 pm
Look i for one want Smit at hooker. He is not a prop, BUT is he really the problem? I think we should have a look at Beast, and not just tonight. He has been performing below par – 2nd test against the B&I Lions.
Good win for the Stormers, but really guys these games mean nothing, well scoreboard wise.
29 Jan 2010, 22:45 pm
@baw: not at that scrum….i was there…and i aint blind boet.Smit was on the sidelines….right in front of me….but keep on spinning….maybe you convince yourself….but you wont convince me.
29 Jan 2010, 22:46 pm
@grant10: he wasnt bad tonight with jannie at lh for the 1st time i was expecting to be killed up front but we wernt…how ever our backline was murdered ,bring back bad brad please !
29 Jan 2010, 22:46 pm
@Hop Hop Spinnekop: it is Smit….beast was not even playing ….FFS
Who next to blame….Stefan Terblanche?
29 Jan 2010, 22:47 pm
@baw: he wasnt bad? So thats ok for you/ Come on ….wake up man….ffs…no wonder you okes sucking so bad….accepting mediocrity…shame on you!
29 Jan 2010, 22:49 pm
Grant
Just for the record mate, our scrum was very solid v italy with adriaan strauss (a 2 who can actually scrum), js at 3 and wian at 3.
Then we dominated with js at 2 and bj on.
super turbo reverse? good imagination mate
29 Jan 2010, 22:49 pm
Grant
Just for the record mate, our scrum was very solid v italy with adriaan strauss (a 2 who can actually scrum), js at 3 and wian at 1.
Then we dominated with js at 2 and bj on.
super turbo reverse? good imagination mate
29 Jan 2010, 22:50 pm
@WP_: ****.
29 Jan 2010, 22:51 pm
@nama1: Your mind set is not the same when you play games like this compared to a proper S14 game. Trust me. I don’t see a “psychological edge”. My a boost in confidence for one team. Then again I don’t see that the Blue Team of the Bulls will ge a boost when they play my Lions Black or Red team =)
29 Jan 2010, 22:51 pm
@grant10: well i have it taped on pvr ,i saw what i saw and ill watch it again ,if im wrong i will apologise but i dont think i am .now shut up and acept the praise i have for youre team because it realy pains me to do so …haha
btw “wp” when u comented earlier about vermulen being better than deysel-i cant even take anything you say seriously anymore youre view is so clearly jaded !litle hooped sun glasses ,they play two completely difernt positions and roles -anyways as i said verry nice wp !some absolutely stunning rugby at times
29 Jan 2010, 22:52 pm
Grant
With ALL due respect sir, what do you really know about scrumming?
Given that you were a 10 in your day and the fact that you can blame a weak scrum all just on 1 person. Wow, I’d say you should stick to the backs boet!
29 Jan 2010, 22:53 pm
averahe performance by stormers….no where near good enough….potential is there…but only at 65%
29 Jan 2010, 22:53 pm
@WP_: smit is not a 3….
simple
29 Jan 2010, 22:54 pm
@grant10: why is it my fault we sucking so badly ?i dont select, i dont coach ,you have made such a big dig at john smit ,now when he does have an average showing ,that wasnt terrible ,youre convinced(or atleast you have convinced yourself ,despite what you know and see)otherwise-out of all the wp blogers here you are the least biast and most objective ,accept for one issue haha
29 Jan 2010, 22:54 pm
61 Grant
Get hold of the tape and go and watch it. Your memory’s failing you.
29 Jan 2010, 22:56 pm
66 grant10
So you’ve said… ad nauseum…
29 Jan 2010, 22:57 pm
@grant10: Believe what you want. What game did you watch? Beast played and he was poor. I agree with you that Smit is not a no 3. but at the rate you going you blame the ****** Bok srum on Smit and now the Sharks too. Not much was said during the 3N. Really sad the way you hammer on this.
29 Jan 2010, 22:58 pm
67 baw
I agree with you. Good man!
29 Jan 2010, 23:01 pm
Bismark isnt a strong scrummager either
29 Jan 2010, 23:06 pm
@WP_: i dont believ the sharks front row is bad ,infact i believe it is still the best we have to offer ,i know grant is going to throw in the fact that i blame evry 1 but smit ,but 08 end of year tour smit at prop was fine ,perhaps having a smaller flanker in brusouw has put strain on the scrums ,perhaps ? food for thought ,why do we wheel ?because one side is greater than the other…none the less brussouw is to valuable to discredit with wild acusations as such ,just perhaps ,worth noting…
29 Jan 2010, 23:07 pm
baw
Deysel and Vermeulen play “completly different positions and roles”
Nice try there. But no.
Both of them have played the majority of their rugby at blindside flank. DV is playing 8 now, which is very similar to 7.
They are both frequent ball carriers and both do it strongly…
I could go on, but it’s boring… And you probably wouldnt understand.
How do they play “completly difference roles”?
Mind numbingly dim comment from you there, congrats
29 Jan 2010, 23:08 pm
@baw: 45
How many scrums were there actually in the game? It seemed to me there were very few. Especially in the first half. Can’t recall the 2nd half as I was in and out braaiing for the family.
Anybody can give an exact count?
29 Jan 2010, 23:10 pm
@Hop Hop Spinnekop:
The Beast is lousy, not just poor at the set piece and the rucks while he never joined Smith or the Dups in a front row defensive blocking.
Sharks got away so far with the lenient scrum and breakdown laws’ enforcement by the the Super14 referees, however if that changed they are in a bigger trouble.
29 Jan 2010, 23:13 pm
73 Baw
Maybe similar with a small guy like Keegan Daniel…
Also Bissy tends to come up/ get forced up a lot in his scrumming (a weakness of his). This makes it very hard for props to keep their binds.
That’s why with a stronger scrummager at 2 like Adriaan Strauss, JS looked more assured at 3.
BTW baw, Apologies for the previous post. Take it with a pinch of salt.
29 Jan 2010, 23:16 pm
75 nama
Ah, if it isnt Mr. Mini Cricket himself! How are you sir
29 Jan 2010, 23:19 pm
@nama1: dont know man sorry
@WP_:well 8 does far more cover defence and acts as a sought of sweeper -similar to an opensider , at 8 you are in the lime light much more as you cover deep in youre territory gathering kicks and support ,where as blind sider is much more similar to a locks role …
they seem verry difernt to me ,just becuase they are labled as loose forwards ,doesnt limit them to the same role…
vermulen was good tonight but id rather have deysel and id rather have kankowski …
and im trying to be as un biased as i possbley can be
29 Jan 2010, 23:20 pm
There were about 8 scrums up to the 70min mark if which Sharks were penalised on most occasions
Beast was blown up for not binding/touching the grass and Wickus for scrumming into JS
Stormers scrum looked stronger as a unit, well done Proudfoot
29 Jan 2010, 23:21 pm
@WP_: haha no worries mate , we may argue over pointless things now ,but as soon as those sheep shaging guys come and stir you know i got ure back haha
29 Jan 2010, 23:27 pm
@WP_:
Come WP. Grant10 has stated on numerous occasions that he has the utmost respect for JS as captain and as a no2, but not at no3. Why is it that some of you guys attack his rugby knowledge for his stance on that. The fact that he played fly half does not mean that he can’t have an opinion on who is the weak link in the pack.
I would suggest that the fly half, given his position at scrum time, is in a very good position to be able to tell where it went wrong in the scrum, be it TH or LH just by being able to observe from his position in the back line. He may not know the technicalities of the scrum but it sure is there for anybody see when a prop struggles against his direct opponent.
Jannie reverted to “hy’t in my oog gekrap. P**s” tonight when he could not take it anymore.(around the 54th min. Check it out tomorrow morning) I had the feeling he could not take it anymore.
29 Jan 2010, 23:32 pm
Not even Naas comments on frontrow play as he knows blow all about it just like Grant but Grant most probably heard from a uncles friends buddy
29 Jan 2010, 23:32 pm
@baw:
Usually if a front row look bad on their put ins, that means the opposing TH did his job
The Cheetahs scrum nearly pulverised the Sharks at the CC Semi, they did it with Brussow, not the heaviest back rower, so what did it tell us about JS at TH?
29 Jan 2010, 23:34 pm
@WP_: 78
Very well sir. How are you. Long time, no speak.
29 Jan 2010, 23:34 pm
Baw
Fair enough mate, I just reckon DV’s little underrated..
Yeah, it is hard to stay partial sometimes…
Agreed that JD, DV and Kanko are all players most teams would enjoy having.
I hope you’ll agree with me that the Stormers loose trio is stronger this year last…
No selfish prima donna’s walking around with a water melon under each arm…
Haha, yeah when the convicts and the kiwi pitch up I’ve got you’re back too boet, haha got stand united
29 Jan 2010, 23:37 pm
@baw:
I wouldn’t put any significance to the warm ups, the 1st choice players are instructed to give it 60%, not more.
29 Jan 2010, 23:37 pm
@nama1: no assualt on his rugby knowledge ,if anything i respect most of what he says,that being said ,this is a blog and we are all intitled to our own opinion,so i gues his john smit at 3 saga is his own belief and worry ,just how he goes on about it ,even when there realy isnt that much to go on about (now im talking about when he does have an average game or whatever -rather than john smits ability as a whole)…i just feel that hes dug his heels into the ground so hard that he finds it hard to be completley fair on john smit preformances at th ,no disrespect meant in anyway to grant …however i take a different stance ,that john smit is still the boks best otpion at th so far ,and 2nd or third at hooker ,so to me ,being the undisputed leader that he is (and sought of go to man for the bokke) it makes sense to play him at th…now im open to admit that i may be wrong if ever the day comes where i am
29 Jan 2010, 23:38 pm
@Hondo: good point mate
29 Jan 2010, 23:39 pm
well done stormers.
how predictable, grant reckons js to blame.
didnt see a turbo reverse tonight.
in fact, the stormers backline was the difference but their scrum got dealt.
anyone care to argue?
how many turnover scrums does it take? lets see, 8 scrums and 3 turnovers to the sharks. pretty good. sort our backline and we will be fine, as usual.
Exactly.
82 nah, dont buy it.
@WP_: no doubt ,stormers are shaping up ! this can only be good for springbok rugby ,so long as the sharks still play decently ,and the bulls ofcourse
29 Jan 2010, 23:40 pm
@baw: 79
I can guarantee you, there weren’t many. I’ll watch the replay tomorrow and tell you.
Or maybe we can leave that to Hondo. I see he is here. That is his specialty. Watching replays, especially if he has to down players of colour. Like his trying to do with Beast at the moment.
29 Jan 2010, 23:42 pm
If the SA teams win their home games the there could be 3 SA teams in the top
29 Jan 2010, 23:44 pm
fantastic to watch two players of dv and j deysels calibre going at it hammer and tongs.
titanic.
bismark was his destructive self.
and jannie the pap snoek popped and screwed the province lad at will at the end after smitty had worn him down.
this is not the cc.
29 Jan 2010, 23:46 pm
@baw:
Thanks
Comes the half way season and the Sharks’ position is at the bottom of the log, then we are vindicated
29 Jan 2010, 23:47 pm
Good to watch Ranger after having to watch the crappy premiership and the overated Heineken Cup
@nama1: LOL!:) just because hes black and white haha:)
@JL1:
Thanks for that. I’ll confirm tomorrow.
@JL1:
How much does Naas actually knows about rugby, aside from kicking the ball the moment you receive it.
29 Jan 2010, 23:48 pm
Nama
Good mate.
No, I never attacked Grant’s knowledged, I’m sure he’s knowledgable and he loves his rugby. It’s just tedious the way he goes on about JS the whole time.
All i mean is that he should probably stick to his area of expertise, the backline, as he’s saturated his comments re JS at 3.
Enough of that now though.
92 baw
No doubt, we have all the players at our disposal… Bok rugby is in good healthi
29 Jan 2010, 23:50 pm
@nama1:
No significance in these warm ups Nama, I say don’t waste your time, you won’t take away anything of value for the 2010 season, a lot of deception there.
29 Jan 2010, 23:52 pm
Nama
Naas did release a 1 page best seller on running rugby I think he met Danie Gerber the first time on Boots and All
29 Jan 2010, 23:53 pm
Hi Ranger,
According to me the Stormers scrum had the upper hand for most of the match – that was also the general feeling of most people sitting around me in the pavilion.
The Sharks only had the upper hand at the end when Harris, Liebenbergh and Blaauw (and John Smit) were all replaced.
I also have to tell you that John is looking terribly out of shape – far too fat and cumbersome to meet the demands of a modern day hooker. He also seemed tired even before the season has properly kicked off.
The best Sharks player was Deysel who had a very strong game.
29 Jan 2010, 23:56 pm
Naas could definately kick a rugby ball.
I once saw him kick a drop goal when then was an overlap outwide. Classic
30 Jan 2010, 00:00 am
Craig Joubert seemed like he was merely guessing in regards to a few of the scrum and breakdown decisions
30 Jan 2010, 00:01 am
@baw:
Good one.
Ranger, I realised again tonight that Deysel is a donkey. You have to get someone with brains, my man.
30 Jan 2010, 00:05 am
@nama1:
Deysel certainly does not have the rugby brains and flair like Luke Watson for example but he kept at least 3 people busy right through the game. I was actually very impressed with him tonight.
Tough donkey that one
30 Jan 2010, 00:05 am
@Robzim: Hi Rob…Yeyyy, the Stormers won…!!
BET THE POST MATCH BEER TASTED REAL GOOD!!
30 Jan 2010, 00:07 am
@JL1: Your team did it!! heheheh
How is London tonight?
30 Jan 2010, 00:09 am
Yes Deysel is not the brightest around.
Can bloody well play rugby though, but lacks the mental aspect
30 Jan 2010, 00:10 am
@carol:
Hi Carol,
Yip, it was nice to beat them – unfortunately had to leave straight after the game and no time for beer – had a few before the game though.
Your’e weekend going ok so far?
30 Jan 2010, 00:13 am
@WP_: he seems a fine sportsman too, when he dove into aplon and we all cringed ,he fairly enough got yellow carded ,but he apologised …an honest ,powerfull big flank ,another thing is he doesnt get involved in off the ball stuf-probably my favorite player in sa next to juan smith -same workmanship qualities that i admire
30 Jan 2010, 00:13 am
@Hondo:
Let’s for arguments sake agree on that.
What then do you think were the value of the games played in the week for the Stormers and the Sharks?
30 Jan 2010, 00:24 am
@baw:
It was a fairly clean game – At least the players did not set out to maim each other as it is often the case when local super 14 teams meet.
30 Jan 2010, 00:27 am
@skopskiet: 21 – wow the sharks are overrated? I’d love to know who is rating to them because Keo ain’t and neither are most Sharks fans!
I’m now convinced this is a myth being peddled by Stormers fans to draw attention away from the fact they are the most arrogant fans in the world. The Stormers hype machine never seems to amaze me. After one pre-season match I saw a blogger on here saying it was going to be the Stormers in the final – all it took was beating a tentative 2nd string Force side to convince them it was a fullgone conclusion.
I don’t think any Stormers supporter has the right to call us overrated, every year we hear about how they’re going to go all the way and where do they end up? Near the bottom. At least the Sharks were within inches of winning the S14 in 2007 and took the CC in 2008, remind me when last did the Stormers make it to a final? Sorry what’s that you’re mumbling? They never made it?! Surely not?! Not the best rugby team in the world?! They’ve won nearly every S14 haven’t they?! Wait no you must be confusing those pretenders from Cape Town with the Crusaders.
30 Jan 2010, 00:29 am
@baw: Smith and Deysel cut from the same cloth – hard as hell but wise enough not to get involved in the drama.
30 Jan 2010, 00:30 am
Guys, every team needs a donkey.
Schalk for years seemed to be the donkey for WP/Stormers and the Boks until Jake’s sidekick in WC 2007, EJ, taught him to pass the ball.
@baw:
Agree. Wonderful sportmanship shown by him after that tackle.
Also by Aplon, just getting up, knowing that it was unintentional and getting on with the game. No, “wat de hel meen jy om my so hoog te tackle nie”
30 Jan 2010, 00:34 am
@Robzim: Mates to stay, wine sliding down nicely…..
Would be nice to have been at Newlands though!!
30 Jan 2010, 00:35 am
@nama1:
He is still a very reluctant passer.
Got very good hands though and even tried a little chip kick tonight.
30 Jan 2010, 00:36 am
@nama1: Yes now you see the Sharks know they a lot to work on – a huge amount to fix before the opening match and as fans we’re not optimistic.
But the Stormers think they’re going all the way to the top. The value of these games stop at the point that they’re pre-season. they’re practice sessions. For some players the fact they mean nothing in terms of log standing might discourage them somewhat from giving it their all and risking injury before the start of the season – thats not an excuse by the way.
I agree though that we’re in trouble with Smit. We really need to address this problem but at centre and fly-half we also got probs. Hopefully Meyer will make a difference. Our no.12s just aren’t good enough. Just hope we can fix these problems in time.
30 Jan 2010, 00:37 am
@nama1: Deysel makes one mistake and all of a sudden he’s a donkey?
30 Jan 2010, 00:38 am
@Robzim:
Somebody needs to talk to bissy, I think.
Hy raak te groot vir sy skoene en hy gaan ons ‘n paar geel kaarte kos as hy nie in sy bek geruk word nie.
30 Jan 2010, 00:39 am
@Robzim: Did Grant enjoy John Smits performance btw?
We wait with baited breath…….!!!
Loved his ‘lock the fridge comment’…….
30 Jan 2010, 00:40 am
@KZN King Shark:
What was his mistake?
30 Jan 2010, 00:40 am
@carol:
Are u sneaking away to the computer leaving the Welsh supporter all alone to entertain the guests?
Yip it was cool although I had a Welsh born Irishman now living in CT sitting next to me who insist on high fiving every time the Stormers scored.
30 Jan 2010, 00:43 am
@nama1:
True, besides the yellow card gaan iemand hom nog hard moer ook!
30 Jan 2010, 00:46 am
@Robzim: Heheheh, laptop allows me to do both……!! They are chatting I am keeping tabs on you lot!
I love technology?
So, whats on this weekend?
30 Jan 2010, 00:46 am
@carol:
He did not think John covered himself with glory
The Fridge comment was lovely and true.
30 Jan 2010, 00:47 am
Does anyone else here think that the posts of “skopskiet” are not from the real skoppie? Something not quite right!
Go Stormers, could be a big season. Shakies I think are in for a looooonnnng season.
JS, leave No3 alone boet!
30 Jan 2010, 00:50 am
@Robzim: John has alot of ground to make up to satisfy Grant!!
Poor guy, should he be loosing weight or retaining it? I am confused……
30 Jan 2010, 00:53 am
@carol:
#128 and 130
Will check the sea out for surf and do a bit of mtb training.
Must also paint a wall at home !!! terrible just thinking of it.
John should loose quite a few imo – he looks terrible even for a prop!
Are u doing steps or circuits lately?
30 Jan 2010, 00:55 am
@KZN King Shark:
You seemed to be on the defense tonight. The game is over. Your team lost, my team won.
Let’s rather concentrate on where our teams can get better to be a threat in the S14.
I already said earlier that the Stormers don’t have a killer instinct to put the opposition away, because they should have done it with the Sharks in the first half.
What problems have you observed with your team that they should work on to be a force in the S14 this year?
30 Jan 2010, 00:58 am
@Robzim: Think John should follow your training routine! He would be as slim as as a lath!
Running and circuits…..for me……’Fark’ to coin a phrase….!!
30 Jan 2010, 01:01 am
@nama1: 132
You already answered my question. Sorry.
@KZN King Shark: 120
I agree though that we’re in trouble with Smit. We really need to address this problem but at centre and fly-half we also got probs. Hopefully Meyer will make a difference. Our no.12s just aren’t good enough. Just hope we can fix these problems in time.
30 Jan 2010, 01:10 am
@carol:
Are u also taking part in the point to point or are u only a supporter?
30 Jan 2010, 01:22 am
@Robzim: These days a spectator!!
Bed calls, see you….!
Have a good weekend, catch you soon!
30 Jan 2010, 01:26 am
@carol:
Cheers, I am also out – we can share the nite owls’ “last person standing” title tonight.
Enjoy the weekend.
30 Jan 2010, 02:57 am
2 Big points of note:
Schalk Burger has learnt to pass the ball. Now there is a notable change!
I am please that the usual Saffa local derby had no malice as of prevoius genarations.
30 Jan 2010, 05:17 am
@nama1:
It was Eddie Jones for that matter
30 Jan 2010, 05:41 am
@nama1:
Rugby is a team game, teams need several warm up games to get their rhythm back, their synchronization and their on field cohesion, raising the intensity as they progressed.
Teams know who their best players are in the Pro era, the warm ups not used to unearth new gems, for the reason that without a formal competition, these games don’t mean a damn in asessing players’ capabilities
And then there is the injuries issue: you don’t want to have un necessary injuries at this stage, you do want to see how players returning from last season cope by playing them against a stronger opposition than say your B team.
30 Jan 2010, 06:52 am
Has anyone else seen this bit of news, from BBC sport, this morning? Looks like the Sharks aren’t going to get BJ back either.
Ulster are expected to confirm next week the signing of South African lock Johann Muller on a two-year deal.
The abrasive Muller made the last of his 23 appearances for South Africa against the Lions during the summer.
Muller will link up with his former Springbok and Sharks colleague BJ Botha who has intimated that he will be staying with Ulster.
30 Jan 2010, 06:56 am
Looks like a strange time to be moving, at the start of the S14 and when this years contracts and squads have already been decided, unless it’s for the end of the S14.
Mullers obviously realised that he’s not a contender for a WC spot next year.
30 Jan 2010, 07:32 am
Most of the Sharks Boks look like they are still on end of year tour! Does not look good for springbok rugby this year.
30 Jan 2010, 07:48 am
141.DAVID
“The abrasive Muller”??????
I hope you don’t believe this nonsense, Johann Muller is terribly meek.
Somebody please tell Grant 10 to drop the Smit “turbo-reverse” crusade, I’m losing the will to live.
Bok front row of Beast Bismark and John struggles for the following reasons:
1. Beast is great in the loose (when he gets in the mood) but he’s a retreaded flanker with bad scrumming technique – just needs proper coaching.
2. Bismark also fantastic in the loose but again bad scrumming technique – stands too tall and doesn’t go in on the hit
It’s easy to blame the TH but John can’t do it all on his own, it’s an 8 man effort and it’s all in the timing.
Well done Stormers (choke…) deserved the win and backline looking promising. Didn’t realise Schalk was that quick and he passed a bit as well, nice one.
30 Jan 2010, 07:56 am
@David:
If we’ve learned anything from last November’s EOYT it is that BJ has no real challengers at TH, so the Boks will call him for their RWC campaign unless a better TH will emerge, Nel from OFS is a possibility.
In that case I am sure they will call up Mujati too, passport issue not withstanding. The nature of the Quota,,,,
It varied: the ABs already devising a plan to get Hayman back, the Wallabies secured Elsom’s services etc
30 Jan 2010, 08:06 am
@imashark:
The Beast is a shy tackler and a lousy defender in the rucks which he seldom joins at the point of impact.
He also turns over the ball on average 4 times and penalised in the scrum about 2 times, could be higher.
All that hype about him aside, it will be a blessing if that knuckle head politician succeeds in his crusade against the Beast’s Test career.
30 Jan 2010, 08:24 am
@Hondo:
Mujati is also a Zimbabwean, so I can’t see him being included.
As much as I despise Komphela, I agree with him in enforcing the citizenship requirement.
30 Jan 2010, 09:24 am
@Hondo: #146 hehehe, i applaud you on consistency alone.
There you have it folks, Hondo says the quota player that is Beast must never play for the Springboks. And he is fully behind butana khompela’s campaign to end Beast’s Test career!
30 Jan 2010, 10:39 am
Hondo you doos
Leave Beast alone. The Boks need him.
30 Jan 2010, 10:59 am
@Hondo:
The NZRU did a mailout to anyone who was named in a wider AB training group since 1974. They can’t all get back in the team
30 Jan 2010, 11:04 am
@chch – welcome back Carter:
Morning bro,
All the best for 2010.Next year RWC…
GO BOKKE!
30 Jan 2010, 11:10 am
@Fern:
Good luck for you too
Tomorrow I get my season tickets with give me preferential access to WC tickets. All good.
30 Jan 2010, 11:13 am
Season tickets for where?I heard that the Lions played in Mangatainoka,havent been there but got the rugby jersey,cap,boxers and t-shirts!I love Tui gear,their ads are awesome,good drop as well.
30 Jan 2010, 11:31 am
@Fern:
I have no TV so had missed all that. Yep
30 Jan 2010, 11:36 am
@Fern:
The Lions would have lost some ‘south of the Bombay’ NZ underdog support now that Carlos is with them.
30 Jan 2010, 11:53 am
@rangerman: hiyas ranger im done arguing re JS
he was solid and only has one scrum where he went back as deysel was off
we had one short in the scrum
jannie was bad at LH
30 Jan 2010, 11:54 am
we had one short in the scrum at the time , that shoud read
30 Jan 2010, 12:02 pm
Did the band “Southside of Bombay” sing ‘What’s the time Mr Wolf” from the movie “Once were warriors”?Directed by Lee Tamahori and Jake “The Muss”Heke played by Temuera Morrison?
Awesome movie.
30 Jan 2010, 12:04 pm
@Fern:
Now you must have Googled that
30 Jan 2010, 12:10 pm
Nah
My non blood brother is maori.I know the culture,respect and love it.Tight with my whanau.
Got the dvd’s.If you have been to NZ the movies are more poignant because you can relate to small detail.
Lee is a crossdresser as well.
30 Jan 2010, 12:10 pm
156 – Sharky, Howzit mate,
I never watched one minute of the game due to not having any signal last night. So have no clue how it went.
What went wrong and what went right?
30 Jan 2010, 12:11 pm
160 – Fern, howzit mate. How you doing buddy?
30 Jan 2010, 12:14 pm
@Puma:
Awesome buddy,stopped over in Amsterdam for 2 hours on my way to Dublin.
Jeepers that place is flat!
All the best for 2010!
30 Jan 2010, 12:17 pm
@Fern: Fern that is my old turf. Lived there for awhile once. In Amsteelveen LOVED Amsterdam flat and all brilliant place. Moved eventually to The Hague.
Now that is a place I want to visit is Dublin. How was it Fern?
I wished you on a thread a few days ago but what the heck, all the best for 2010 buddy.
30 Jan 2010, 12:20 pm
@Puma:
I used to live in Dublin too
30 Jan 2010, 12:21 pm
Have been to Amsterdam and New Zealand too
30 Jan 2010, 12:22 pm
@sharks_lover: Yes Jannie is not an LH. The weakness lies in the backline.
30 Jan 2010, 12:22 pm
165 – Howzit CHCH how you mate, hope well. All the best for 2010 chch. Have not seen you here for a long time
You get around hey!! Oz and Dublin. How did you find Dublin? I would enjoy to visit there.
30 Jan 2010, 12:24 pm
@Puma: Sharks backline was klapped. Plus played a large portion of the game with 14 men. Also Jannie was placed at LH where he suffered a bit. Mostert and Alberts stood up.
30 Jan 2010, 12:26 pm
@byoboy: agreed , we need ruan back at 10 ASAP
centers are not good,
odwa is over the hill and mvovo should be left wing
30 Jan 2010, 12:27 pm
@Puma:
Cheers Puma, back for S14
Dublin is a great place to visit but when I lived there was as they say ‘mad’. The Celtic Tiger meant double the population Dublin could handle. TV sets on streets to entertain people in bank queues etc
Great moments like taking photos of horses owned by people in govt project apartment blocks and having them bang rubbish bin lids on the ground to warn others thinking I am the SPCA. Or standing in a lock-in at 3am in the morning with work the next day and having some 8 year old kid tug on your arm and try to sell the new days paper.
Great stuff
30 Jan 2010, 12:29 pm
Let me tell you that Sharks pack is physical. In the 1st half we were good (ref and backline defense). But that pack with Mostert, Alberts and Deysel was owning it. Excited for the season!
30 Jan 2010, 12:29 pm
@Puma:
Awesome bud,the locals reckon the Boks are “over physical”
Give me a game against the AB’s any day.World rugby is Boks vs All Blacks.They dont *****.Hard out.
When we play rugby is not a contact sport but a collision sport.Lots of heavy hearts in NZ after the news of Ruben.He was one of their own.
30 Jan 2010, 12:30 pm
@byoboy: Thanks boyboy. Never saw the game at all had no signal last night. Good to hear that Mostert and Alberts done okay. Think we need Ruan to get fit quick. How was Meyer?
Just pleased we never got a fat 0 again
Hope we learned a few things from these warm-ups.
30 Jan 2010, 12:32 pm
More…
Driving home after the pub to pass burning cars. Because of the Celtic Tiger everyone got new cars so the only way to get good money for an old car was to arrange for it to be stolen and burnt.
As I say, mad, but good crack
30 Jan 2010, 12:33 pm
@Fern: 173 – Fern, Sounds great in Dublin.
Yip, mate nothing better than a Boks/All Black game. Nothing can compare really. That is for sure ABs never complain just get on with the game.
Sad, sad news about Ruben. What a brilliant player and to pass away so young. Only 39. Very sad man. Yes I can imagine the kiwis feeling like that about Ruben. The rugby family is huge.
30 Jan 2010, 12:34 pm
I went to a pub in Ireland and this old chap says he knows rugby.Tells me BOD is the best 13 ever.Asked him about Danie Gerber.Did not know who that is!WTF?
30 Jan 2010, 12:36 pm
@chch – welcome back Carter: Good to see you back here chch.
Really want to visit Ireland sometime mate. Especially want to see Dublin.
@Puma: hiyas bro hope you are well??
i felt the sharks allowed the stormers to bulls them in as much as the ref allowed it
there was a lot of uncertainty , i dont think forwards were to bad , its our backline that leaves a lot to be desired
lambie was good and so to stefan and jpp wasnt to bad
odwa murray and swannie did not play well
du mond is nothing more then a vodacom cup player AND is out of his depth at this level
cockott was quite good in general play but was not on song with his kicking
in all honesty puma mate do not take to much to heart to what some stormers supporters are saying in here
there eyes are cemented closed , i think in 2 weeks time the sharks team will be more settled when it counts
again my big concern though stays 10, 12, 13
i think adi should maybe play 10 while ruan is injured,
backline till ruan and ludick gets back should be
meyer was not to bad but also couldnt read the rest of the backline as he to is new
@Puma:
Spent time in the Galway area.Was awesome.Love their hatred for the english,and rightfully so.
The music in pubs was awesome.
@Fern:
Kiwis would though.
30 Jan 2010, 12:38 pm
@sharks_lover: as the season goes on we can see how Monty and Meyer do at 10, I rek Ruan would be better at 9 especially if Meyer or Monty step up at 10, if they don’t, let Ruan play 10 with Kokkit at 9. At the moment 12 is a problem and Murrey looked average at 13. Kokkit was a bit off with the kicking but he is usually good in this dept. which makes him an asset at 9.
30 Jan 2010, 12:41 pm
@Puma:
Yep they would and also respect a enforcer like Bakkies.Not moan and *****,if you do that it means you are a softcock
30 Jan 2010, 12:43 pm
@Puma: tough one with no signal mate, must have been friggin frustrating. Ja we need Ruan back in the mix quik, but is he really a 10? Meyer was not too brilliant at 10, but maybe the team need to get game time under their belts to get fully fired up (hope that’s the case. When the old war vet (Stefan) was put on on at the back he didn’t impress, he needs to stop kicking possession away.
30 Jan 2010, 12:48 pm
@sharks_lover: 179 – Sharky, Thanks for the information. That is why I asked you to get a honest answer about that game last night.
I never take anyone here really serious about what they say about my team.
Ruan will have to play FH. How long will it take for him to be fully over that op? Yip, Adi can play FH too. Then who will slot into 13?
NOW maybe some of the supporters will see what he had in Fransie. How we going to miss him this year. What a loss. Would really have loved to have had him still at inside centre.
Stefan always gives his best. Good to hear that Lambie and JPP was okay. I would play Mvovo instead of Odwa to be honest.
Still two weeks to train and get a lot sorted. Hope we ready for the Chiefs.
30 Jan 2010, 12:48 pm
@sharks_lover: I agree with you on the fowards – were pretty decent, Deysel was an ox, excellent play from him. I dono what you thought of Kanko when he came on? needs to pack on about 20kg of muscle.
30 Jan 2010, 12:49 pm
@Fern: Agree Fern, they sort of like us mate.
30 Jan 2010, 12:52 pm
@byoboy: Plenty rain here last night. Think that is why no signal. Also had plenty visitors but we all Shark Supporters so none of us got to see the game.
Not serious just being a warm-up. Will be very angry if it happens when we play the Chiefs
Really hope we are ready for that game. Think we will take a lot from these two warm-up games and work on what never worked for us.
Kockott will get his kicking back. He is a good kicker.
30 Jan 2010, 12:54 pm
Okay out of here now. Going to get some lunch.
Cheers all. Thanks for the information about the game.
GO SHARKS.
30 Jan 2010, 12:55 pm
@byoboy: you have muscle in alberts and deysel
kanko has enough bulk mate , he just needs to show more heart
and form,kanko is not weak
ruan is a ten mate , nor meyer or du mond is in that class
30 Jan 2010, 12:56 pm
@Puma:
nah
they play the same brand.
they know what a test between us means and vica versa.
John Hart going to the hospital to hand Ruben a All Black jacket says a lot.
30 Jan 2010, 13:06 pm
@Puma: cheers mate
30 Jan 2010, 13:07 pm
Serena just won her 12th Grand Slam title matching Billie Jean King’s record. Go SERENA!!!
30 Jan 2010, 13:10 pm
@sharks_lover: ja Alberts and Deysel definitely add muscle to the pack. Hope Kanko can pick up his game he seems to have taken the back seat. I thought Monty was pretty decent at 10 before Argie came on board, suppose time will tell. I’m sure Sharks will pick up a lot from the warm up and be ready to go come Feb 13th. lunch is calling cheers.
30 Jan 2010, 13:11 pm
@byoboy: Argie = Hernandez
30 Jan 2010, 13:36 pm
Sharkslover, Ratel, Rangerman……….you are delusional in thinking the pack was ok, if that is what you are happy with then so be it, they in the land of the blind the one- eyed man is King, you guys are King, queen and prince !!!!
I quitely laughing here at you pinning your hopes on Ruan to sort out your no 10 posistion ……..with him getting ball under pressure he will crack as he is prone to do.
He will never last a season injury free so don’t get your hopes up. What happens when the ball goes past 10 ?
But if you believe that in 2 weeks time all will be hunky dory, well don’t let me or any other cement eyed stormers fan piss on your parade !!!
30 Jan 2010, 14:13 pm
@justrugby: How are you JR. Looked out for you guys at Forries last night. Enjoyed being back at Newlands again. Good buzz. Plenty of Sharks support in the stands though. I agree with your assessment. Sharks forwards were ‘owned’ in the 2nd half. If I were them I’d be slightly concerned. Perhaps the new law adjustments confused the 2nd half set. Sharkie backline were toothless in my opinion and I don’t buy Ruan being the great saviour. Stormer pack was impressive in the 2nd half and seemed better off, after Schalk was benched. Bekker was excellent but the best player on the park(total consensus amongst folk surrounding me, was Vermeulen. He was brilliant. Finally boys, the Stormers backline was streeks ahead of the Sharkies backline on average. I’d say that they are going to be a handfull this year. Watch this space.
30 Jan 2010, 14:36 pm
@TASSIES:
Hi Tassies…..had a few cold ones at Cubannas before the game, closer to the ground !!!!
Yeah, I believe the Stormers still have plenty to do before we can really call them geniune contenders but it does look promising !!
DV is a very ,very good footballer, in my opinion his versatility (can play lock, flank, eightman)makes him a wonderful aquistion , if he continues with this sort of form he could force himself into the Bok side !!
The Sharks have a very good pack but this experiment with JS at TH and JduP at LH failed miserabely !!
Sharks have to sort their front row out and Plum has to make the hard calls.
I agree their (sharks) backline is looking average, some good players but the balance seems all wrong, most glaringly is the lack of pace in the backline.
But I think the Sharks and their woes have received enough “air time “……some of their supporters will find every reason to convince one that they have no problems…..they seemingly believe that come start of S14 they will deliver !!!!………time will tell !!
Hope they get it right, however I would not bet my house on it!!!
30 Jan 2010, 14:57 pm
the sharks are in a bit of a mess it seems!it looks like that not only will their front-row be in super turbo reverse mode this year but their whole bloody team.start dusting the varnish tin off for that wooden spoon delusional shark supporters!
30 Jan 2010, 15:14 pm
Here we go Stormers here we go!
30 Jan 2010, 16:21 pm
@rangerman: 95
Classic….absolute classic….
Seriously delusional ….but classic all the same.
30 Jan 2010, 16:22 pm
@WP_: 100
Tedious?
Because kak selections like that will cost the Boks the WC my friend….
30 Jan 2010, 16:26 pm
Anyway….over to Plumtree….
Not my concern…..just dont have the hooker at 3 PDV….please.
30 Jan 2010, 16:28 pm
@grant10: heard you were there?
30 Jan 2010, 16:50 pm
@grant10: TR is seen as a “positive” over the in sharks country because they are “trying out combinations “, as you said: now over to plumtree.
Lauaki and the Chiefs are waiting and rubbing the hands with glee to face these sharks.
30 Jan 2010, 17:06 pm
@Valkyrie: Delusional? Kindly show me where we’re disillusional? All Sharks supporters on here are admitting we’re going to be kak this year. Jeez man cut us some slack! Doos.
30 Jan 2010, 17:12 pm
@Hondo: Do you see any shy tackling here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGSWz8PYHro
Why do you hate the Beast so much?
30 Jan 2010, 17:23 pm
@SpringbokSarah: yes…grandstand…halfway line…great seats…
Stormers were at about 65% ….lots of errors at breakdowns…but we are at least showing potential.
@Transformation: Transie….they are turning a positive into a negative….[ 2 of the bst hookers in the world ]…
But i am going to stop this Smit stuff now….over to Plum…
30 Jan 2010, 17:31 pm
Just a point though…..how a team with Deon Carstens,Pat Cilliers, Beast. Jannie Du Plessis and Wiehahn Herbst can still continue with Smit at 3 is simply beyond my comprehension.
30 Jan 2010, 17:52 pm
i see Bulls beat Lions 25 to 3 in the 1 st of 2 games at Polokwane…3 trys to nil….
30 Jan 2010, 18:01 pm
@KZN King Shark:
Go read Sharkslover, Ratels and Rangermans comments……delusional about spot on !!
Nobody intentionally wants to give the Sharks a hard time, they are a proud side and can still get it right.
Some Shark supporters however are in denial !!!, far to over sensitive when highlighting obvious problems………geez Stormers supporters have been ridiculed by these self same shark supporters for years !!!
30 Jan 2010, 18:08 pm
@justrugby: enjoying the birthday my man??
30 Jan 2010, 18:10 pm
@justrugby: rangerman reckons Smit klapped Wickus Blaauw last night….in all my Keo time i have never ever remotely seen a more delusional quote ever….
Like saying Freshly Ground are bigger than theBeatles….it just defies belief….
30 Jan 2010, 18:14 pm
@grant10:
All good boet, just went and hit some balls at the range in preparation for tomorrows outing , otherwise relaxing ………..until reading comments like those from Ostrichman !!!!!
30 Jan 2010, 18:15 pm
@grant10:
“Like saying Freshly Ground are bigger than the Beatles”
Classic !!!
30 Jan 2010, 18:22 pm
@justrugby: enjoy the round tomorrow…and the rest of the day…i am off to dinner with the blonde…some of her mates down from Dubai…
Cheers boet
If ostrichman comes in tell him i said there is medication for one eyedness….
Outta here
30 Jan 2010, 18:37 pm
@grant10: Maybe they are bigger. Not greater though.
By the way, who are they? (not the Beatles, of course).
30 Jan 2010, 18:42 pm
@Nils: local band….not bad actually…
30 Jan 2010, 18:49 pm
Stormers have a problem at 9. I reckon get January back or find another substitute. Even Bolla was head and shoulders ahead of Duvenhage last night.
Stormers at last have possibly the most potent backline in the competition. If the half backs start kicking the damn thing up in the air and like Duvenhage was doing last night kicking it too far right down full back or wings throat its going to become another year of heartache. Total rugby has to be played.
Stormers didn’t totally dominate at forward yesterday it was pretty much even Steven’s from word go.
Alberts and Deysel are potent force at 7 and 8. Kanko maybe should try revert to open side can’t be worse than Daniels. Between Botes, Deysel and Alberts they got some firepower in the loose. Also with Sykes and Hargreaves coming through their 2nd row got some spunk. Burden might be their way forward at hooker and Smit and Muller should both simply get out the way they both hampering progress. Smit must retire, he’s way past sell by date, way way over done. I fear if the lad don’t throw in the towel he might suffer a coronary, after the way he huffs and puffs and drags that overweight body around the field he’s actually asking for trouble. Give it up John, its verby, times up as the hour glass is empty.
30 Jan 2010, 19:08 pm
@grant10: ok, that “bigger” observation reminded me some story about Napoleon. He ws shorty and once could not reach a book on the upper shelf. Some high ranking soldier offered to help, saying ‘I am bigger’. Napoleon coldly replied “You are only TALLER’.
30 Jan 2010, 19:08 pm
@skopskiet: what a lame attempt at impersonating skopskiet!
Skop’s prose is light years ahead of your nonsense.
30 Jan 2010, 19:25 pm
The poster at no 218 makes a few very valid points .
The tactical kicking of Duvenhage and Grant left a lot to be desired and it will cost the Stormers dearly against stronger opposition.
Another problem is that they do not have a number 4 lock in the Bakkies Botha mould (at least until Adriaan Fondse is available again).
Otherwise they are fairly well covered at the moment.
With regards to Smitty, he was already puffing during the warm up and had to stop for a breather when trying to jog the 20 meters to the sideline when the warm up was completed.
30 Jan 2010, 19:33 pm
@Pearl Rose: Skop would also know that January is spelt Januarie!!
30 Jan 2010, 19:35 pm
@Robzim: Perhaps Smittie has developed asthma!!!
30 Jan 2010, 19:36 pm
@carol:
Or forgot to switch on the turbo
30 Jan 2010, 19:43 pm
@Robzim: That phrase will come to haunt him…..
Sorry about the joke mail btw!! Hate to put you off your favourite food!! Hehehehheh………
30 Jan 2010, 19:44 pm
@carol: #222 my point exactly carolina, or he would have referred to him as ricky. I really do hate this nic stealing ****.
to answer your question about whether keo is a secret society or the masons…well when i registered, they did not issue me with a manual about any clandestine activities.
30 Jan 2010, 19:48 pm
@carol:
Ag, it’s OK. That stuff is overrated anyway
Noticing Januarie was spelled incorrectly is sharp.
No white wine so far I guess?
30 Jan 2010, 19:50 pm
@Pearl Rose: At the risk of repeating myself RT likes to be able to block bloggers that cause ‘kak’, to do that you do need a certain amount of info….some see it as intrusive some like it as it reduces stuff like nic stealing ****!!
Do tell me some of your clandestine activities….sounds interesting!!
30 Jan 2010, 19:53 pm
@Robzim: Yip, quite good for a foreigner!!
Oh yes, sorry about the bad typing…..Sort of lost my coordination!!! Blame the ‘Blanc’!!
30 Jan 2010, 20:01 pm
Once again a couple of players proved they arent of much quality namely:
Jannie Du Plessis
Monty Dumond
Johan Muller
Stefan Terblanche(time to retire)
The following are in danger of becoming also rans:
Rory Kockott
Ryan Kankowski
Waylon Murray
The following look terribly conditiones and need to sort it out,2 weeks before S14 its unacceptable:
Willem Alberts
John Smit
Was impressed by:
Charl Mcleod-service much better thsn KOCKOTT
Gerhard Mostert-looks the real deal
Luzuko Vulindlu-physicality
Odwa Ndungane-looked for work
The rest avg.
Sharks need a 10 and maybe get young Wessels from Cheetahs as backup fetcher
Lastly-Wake UP!!!
30 Jan 2010, 20:02 pm
@carol:
I am off to braai meat for a few people and prepare a few carrots for me (thanks).
Maybe later, but by then I will very likely also be without coordination.
30 Jan 2010, 20:05 pm
Stormers need to look at their tactical kicking it seems that the defense is even closer to the offside line than last year
30 Jan 2010, 20:06 pm
@carol: but what compels a grown up to steal someone else’s nic? I blog on other websites – music, current affairs – this is the first time i have ever heard of nic stealing. sane people formulate concrete arguments to win debates, they do not stil nics…
I can tell you but i would have to kill you afterwards
30 Jan 2010, 20:10 pm
@Robzim: Enjoy your braai!! And the carrot crunching….Have fun and behave!!
Inconsistant kicking was due to FARKING south-easter…jeez,cut the guys some slack hey..!!
So you are a conditioning coach, WP Nel must be way of the pace
Odwa will not shine against any opposition way too slow, sorry he would actually do well in the Guiness Premiership
30 Jan 2010, 20:14 pm
@Pearl Rose: Well the nic stealing does cause mayhem and upset just what the ‘stealer’ intended!!
OK, keep your secret, I’m too young to die!!
30 Jan 2010, 20:14 pm
OK so the wind was a factor could see that online
30 Jan 2010, 20:16 pm
@JL1: I thought you fell asleep during the last Guinness match you went too….It was boring wasn’t it?
30 Jan 2010, 20:19 pm
Carol
Compare Premiership or Heineken to S14/15 it is like watching slo-mo rugby v. Super14
Good nap though
30 Jan 2010, 20:21 pm
@JL1: Or like watching blokes run through treacle!!
Did enjoy Munster v Northampton Saints last Fri tho!
30 Jan 2010, 20:24 pm
Treacle! That could be the problem
There should be an international tournament or the winner S15 v H winner
30 Jan 2010, 20:29 pm
@JL1:well some bloggers do not appreciate the quick nature of s14 rugby, they often refer to it as “basketball”, so i guess it’s different strokes…
@carol: that was one boring game…tedious to a fault…leinster vs london irish was better…the premiership is boring though
30 Jan 2010, 20:37 pm
@Transformation: S14/15 is growing here in the NH from speaking to the locals. Sometimes you are just used to the product being served
I watched Quins v Wasps at Twickenham and the amount of High School handling errors were terrible
Boland and Griquas would beat them both
30 Jan 2010, 20:39 pm
@JL1: That would be a great match….Hey, great the Boks are over this Autumn!!
30 Jan 2010, 20:40 pm
@Transformation: Why do you think I enjoy the Super 14….It’s great fun!
30 Jan 2010, 20:42 pm
@carol: I will not waste money on them…. well maybe do Scotland
You in for a trip with the lads?
30 Jan 2010, 21:06 pm
@JL1: Great plan…a trip would be great fun!
Any ideas?
30 Jan 2010, 21:33 pm
@JL1: Nov 13th Wales v SA, Nov 27th England v SA and 4th Dec SA v Barbarians……or something before?
30 Jan 2010, 22:25 pm
@carol: Maybe do Barbarians and Scotland
What do you think?
30 Jan 2010, 22:43 pm
@JL1: I think…..You only live once!!!
30 Jan 2010, 23:27 pm
@carol:
Hehe, I think I got banned for that opinion
30 Jan 2010, 23:50 pm
@chch – welcome back Carter: What opinion?
Confused?
31 Jan 2010, 00:32 am
@David:
You are right of course, I forgotten
Mujati was whiskered away by the Lions to the Cape after the story of his family siezing white farms in Zim had been published, there was a concern for his safety on the High veld
31 Jan 2010, 00:46 am
@Pearl Rose: Also skop would never give any credit to Deysel
He definitely doesn’t rate him.
31 Jan 2010, 02:06 am
@Hondo:
Ai Hondo, and of course you have all the evidence of that bull **** you’re talking about here.
I think you should get your passport in order to go back to your country of origin. The one that have won more soccer world cups than I can imagine?
Deutschland, is it?
31 Jan 2010, 06:50 am
@nama1:it is so good to start a morning with a bit of mirth. I remember Hondo’s claim that in his country they play great football & they have won more world cups than you can imagine. At the time i wondered where he might be from, brazil maybe, because they have only won it 5 times, but i was not sure if you could not imagine past the number 5
@KZN King Shark: lol forget deysel, skop would never compliment “powderpuff” kankowski let alone suggest that he is a better openside flanker than keegan daniels!
there is so much that is not skopskiet about that post it is ridiculous!
31 Jan 2010, 10:43 am
Charo @ 25
So the ball didn’t really come his way this game… that doesn’t mean what I said is not true… Habana is a try-scorer of note… does the fact that he didn’t score a try in this game mean he isn’t…?
Firstly Brok had it over Jannie… First three scrums Jannie was penalised for putting his hand on the ground and going to ground… When Beast came on Brok shoved him backwards… twice… the second time Beast went to ground…
So not only did Brok NOT let us down in the scrums as I said… he made Jannie look like a Tannie and had a Feast on The Beast…
He may not have had the opportunity to shows his open-game skills but was twice in a position to do so but decision making didn’t go his way…
He did take one pass high above his head… and every time he carried the ball up he retained possession and got the ball back… Beast especially but also JS and other props… often knock the ball on when carrying it up…
I was asked if he was better than JS and Beast in the loose…? Well besides being shunted in the scrums… what did Beast or John do in the loose…?
But Harris will get his chances in the season… I have no doubt…
Guys laughed on Friday when we suggested Brok had upped his game last season… You may all still laugh…
But I bet you Jannie and Beast aren’t laughing…!
31 Jan 2010, 10:48 am
@ufo: you are absolutely spot on UFO….but why waste your breath….they will never take the blinkers off….well Charo is objective…but forget with most other sharks okes on this blog….objectivity not part of there agenda.
31 Jan 2010, 11:00 am
@grant10:
cheers Grant…
Just had to respond so Charo didn’t think I’d run away and couldn’t defend my statements on Friday…
31 Jan 2010, 11:01 am
@ufo:
Yeah…
Dunno what game Rangerman watched… Jannie putting it over the Stormers “at will”…???
31 Jan 2010, 11:53 am
@grant10: @ufo: hahahaha you guys are killing me, the season has not started and already the banter is hitting high levels!! Love it!
be patient guys, all you wp/stormers are highly experienced in being disappointed after running your mouths hard at the beginning of the season, these sharks fans are still rookies at this.
They won the currie cup in ’08 and thought they had arrived, so for the wheels to come off so soon after that supposed high is a bit unsettling if one has been hankering for it for so long.
31 Jan 2010, 12:45 pm
anyone have an update on the tennis??
31 Jan 2010, 13:33 pm
@grant10:
Fedrer won his 7th Aus Open title.
31 Jan 2010, 13:34 pm
Fedrer….Federer
31 Jan 2010, 14:10 pm
@nama1: thank you.
31 Jan 2010, 15:19 pm
@ufo:
BTW…
Brok Harris also monstered Deysel back in a huge driving tackle…!! (or was it Alberts?? can’t remember and not near a TV)
One of the biggest (legal) tackles in the game…!
31 Jan 2010, 17:21 pm
@ufo:
hi ufo,
my post was mainly tongue-in-cheek.
not having a dig at your boys – who i’m expecting to do well this season
1 Feb 2010, 09:23 am
hey charo…
cool bud…
just didn’t want you to think I was being windgat on Friday…