Stormers down shoddy Sharks
29 Jan 2010
The Stormers beat a mediocre Sharks side 29-14 to finish the pre-season Tri-series undefeated.
Both of these teams have plenty of work to do. The Stormers were far better than the scoreline suggests, but considering the Super 14 is two weeks away, they should be concerned with their performance at the breakdown in the first half. The Sharks were poor in this area too, but the worrying thing for John Plumtree is that their problems are not limited to this department.
Sharks’ scrumhalf Rory Kockott fluffed his first few penalty attempts, while at the other end, Joe Pietersen pushed the hosts to a 6-0 lead. The Stormers also scored a fantastic try off the first phase – although special mention must go to the porous Sharks defence.
Their dominant lineout, spearheaded on this occasion by Duane Vermeulen, secured possession and the ball flew to Schalk Burger. The Stormers captain surprised the opposition by throwing a flat pass to flyhalf Peter Grant who in turn found Gio Aplon with a lovely inside ball. Aplon lined up Sharks fullback Patrick Lambie before feeding Burger who had run a great supporting line.
The problem for the Stormers was their inconsistent tactical kicking display and their failure to release the tackled player at the breakdown. The Sharks won a number of penalties thanks to the law adjustment that cuts down the contest on the deck. Similarly, the Sharks battled on defence, and at times the game never went through more than five phases without Craig Joubert blowing a penalty.
The Stormers were accurate with some of their kicks, whereas the Sharks were simply abysmal. Lambie had a forgettable night with the boot and, unsurprisingly Stefan Terblanche ran out at the start of the second half.
The visiting scrum also looked weak for the most part. Captain John Smit also looked tired, and it’ll be interesting to see how he fares when the tempo is lifted in the first match against the Chiefs. The scrum looked steadier when Jannie du Plessis moved to tighthead and Beast Mtawarira came on at loosehead, but they also didn’t have things all their own way.
Nevertheless, the Sharks managed to level the scores in the second stanza, capitalising on a yellow card to Stormers flank Francois Louw. Terblanche and new recruit Steve Meyer seemed to galvanise the Sharks backline, and in the 45th minute, Luzuko Vulindlu crossed for an important try.
Pietersen nudged the hosts ahead in the 50th minute with a well-struck penalty. The Stormers began to apply themselves more and a rolling maul was illegally snuffed right on the Sharks’ tryline – an incident that led to the sin-binning of Jannie du Plessis.
The Stormers had botched a lineout from a similar position in the first half, but this time they showed the necessary determination to bash through the black and white wall. Tiaan Liebenberg was credited with the try, a score that signalled an end to the game as a result-driven contest.
The Stormers really began to find their rhythm in the final quarter and it was all the Sharks could do to spoil. Aplon was unceremoniously clotheslined by Deysel, a transgression that earned the Bok flank a yellow card.
The Sharks managed to hold a subsequent Stormers surge, Joubert reviewing the play on the television behind the dead-ball line. But finally the Sharks capitulated, a brilliant piece of individual running earning Sireli Naqelevuki a try in the right-hand corner.
The Stormers, winners of this Tri-series, will go back to the training field in order to curb their breakdown inaccuracies, but will be buoyed by one or two instances of attacking brilliance. The Sharks have a lot more to do if they’re going to be ready for their first clash on 13 February.
By Jon Cardinelli

270 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All
29 Jan 2010, 22:42 pm
Earlier today this was the conversation between Charlie and me.
197. CharlieReply to this comment :
January 29th, 2010 at 9:41 am
@nama1: Let’s see what happened, and keep in mind that this match will have no effect on the Super 14 log
201. nama1Reply to this comment :
January 29th, 2010 at 9:54 am
@Charlie:
Very well aware of that, Charlie.
Psychologically it may just play a role when we meet again in the S14.
Anybody who watched the game tonight will know how much mention there were made by the commentators of the psychological edge Stormers could gain , if they win this match tonight.
29 Jan 2010, 22:42 pm
@grant10: burden played flank with alberts and kankowski ,while john smit was at th
29 Jan 2010, 22:43 pm
but sharks….keep on spinning….not my team….no tears my side…just dont play smit at 3 for boks…then its a war!
29 Jan 2010, 22:44 pm
Look i for one want Smit at hooker. He is not a prop, BUT is he really the problem? I think we should have a look at Beast, and not just tonight. He has been performing below par – 2nd test against the B&I Lions.
Good win for the Stormers, but really guys these games mean nothing, well scoreboard wise.
29 Jan 2010, 22:45 pm
@baw: not at that scrum….i was there…and i aint blind boet.Smit was on the sidelines….right in front of me….but keep on spinning….maybe you convince yourself….but you wont convince me.
29 Jan 2010, 22:46 pm
@grant10: he wasnt bad tonight with jannie at lh for the 1st time i was expecting to be killed up front but we wernt…how ever our backline was murdered ,bring back bad brad please !
29 Jan 2010, 22:46 pm
@Hop Hop Spinnekop: it is Smit….beast was not even playing ….FFS
Who next to blame….Stefan Terblanche?
29 Jan 2010, 22:47 pm
@baw: he wasnt bad? So thats ok for you/ Come on ….wake up man….ffs…no wonder you okes sucking so bad….accepting mediocrity…shame on you!
29 Jan 2010, 22:49 pm
Grant
Just for the record mate, our scrum was very solid v italy with adriaan strauss (a 2 who can actually scrum), js at 3 and wian at 3.
Then we dominated with js at 2 and bj on.
super turbo reverse? good imagination mate
29 Jan 2010, 22:49 pm
Grant
Just for the record mate, our scrum was very solid v italy with adriaan strauss (a 2 who can actually scrum), js at 3 and wian at 1.
Then we dominated with js at 2 and bj on.
super turbo reverse? good imagination mate
29 Jan 2010, 22:50 pm
@WP_: ****.
29 Jan 2010, 22:51 pm
@nama1: Your mind set is not the same when you play games like this compared to a proper S14 game. Trust me. I don’t see a “psychological edge”. My a boost in confidence for one team. Then again I don’t see that the Blue Team of the Bulls will ge a boost when they play my Lions Black or Red team =)
29 Jan 2010, 22:51 pm
@grant10: well i have it taped on pvr ,i saw what i saw and ill watch it again ,if im wrong i will apologise but i dont think i am .now shut up and acept the praise i have for youre team because it realy pains me to do so …haha
btw “wp” when u comented earlier about vermulen being better than deysel-i cant even take anything you say seriously anymore youre view is so clearly jaded !litle hooped sun glasses ,they play two completely difernt positions and roles -anyways as i said verry nice wp !some absolutely stunning rugby at times
29 Jan 2010, 22:52 pm
Grant
With ALL due respect sir, what do you really know about scrumming?
Given that you were a 10 in your day and the fact that you can blame a weak scrum all just on 1 person. Wow, I’d say you should stick to the backs boet!
29 Jan 2010, 22:53 pm
averahe performance by stormers….no where near good enough….potential is there…but only at 65%
29 Jan 2010, 22:53 pm
@WP_: smit is not a 3….
simple
29 Jan 2010, 22:54 pm
@grant10: why is it my fault we sucking so badly ?i dont select, i dont coach ,you have made such a big dig at john smit ,now when he does have an average showing ,that wasnt terrible ,youre convinced(or atleast you have convinced yourself ,despite what you know and see)otherwise-out of all the wp blogers here you are the least biast and most objective ,accept for one issue haha
29 Jan 2010, 22:54 pm
61 Grant
Get hold of the tape and go and watch it. Your memory’s failing you.
29 Jan 2010, 22:56 pm
66 grant10
So you’ve said… ad nauseum…
29 Jan 2010, 22:57 pm
@grant10: Believe what you want. What game did you watch? Beast played and he was poor. I agree with you that Smit is not a no 3. but at the rate you going you blame the ****** Bok srum on Smit and now the Sharks too. Not much was said during the 3N. Really sad the way you hammer on this.
29 Jan 2010, 22:58 pm
67 baw
I agree with you. Good man!
29 Jan 2010, 23:01 pm
Bismark isnt a strong scrummager either
29 Jan 2010, 23:06 pm
@WP_: i dont believ the sharks front row is bad ,infact i believe it is still the best we have to offer ,i know grant is going to throw in the fact that i blame evry 1 but smit ,but 08 end of year tour smit at prop was fine ,perhaps having a smaller flanker in brusouw has put strain on the scrums ,perhaps ? food for thought ,why do we wheel ?because one side is greater than the other…none the less brussouw is to valuable to discredit with wild acusations as such ,just perhaps ,worth noting…
29 Jan 2010, 23:07 pm
baw
Deysel and Vermeulen play “completly different positions and roles”
Nice try there. But no.
Both of them have played the majority of their rugby at blindside flank. DV is playing 8 now, which is very similar to 7.
They are both frequent ball carriers and both do it strongly…
I could go on, but it’s boring… And you probably wouldnt understand.
How do they play “completly difference roles”?
Mind numbingly dim comment from you there, congrats
29 Jan 2010, 23:08 pm
@baw: 45
How many scrums were there actually in the game? It seemed to me there were very few. Especially in the first half. Can’t recall the 2nd half as I was in and out braaiing for the family.
Anybody can give an exact count?
29 Jan 2010, 23:10 pm
@Hop Hop Spinnekop:
The Beast is lousy, not just poor at the set piece and the rucks while he never joined Smith or the Dups in a front row defensive blocking.
Sharks got away so far with the lenient scrum and breakdown laws’ enforcement by the the Super14 referees, however if that changed they are in a bigger trouble.
29 Jan 2010, 23:13 pm
73 Baw
Maybe similar with a small guy like Keegan Daniel…
Also Bissy tends to come up/ get forced up a lot in his scrumming (a weakness of his). This makes it very hard for props to keep their binds.
That’s why with a stronger scrummager at 2 like Adriaan Strauss, JS looked more assured at 3.
BTW baw, Apologies for the previous post. Take it with a pinch of salt.
29 Jan 2010, 23:16 pm
75 nama
Ah, if it isnt Mr. Mini Cricket himself! How are you sir
29 Jan 2010, 23:19 pm
@nama1: dont know man sorry
@WP_:well 8 does far more cover defence and acts as a sought of sweeper -similar to an opensider , at 8 you are in the lime light much more as you cover deep in youre territory gathering kicks and support ,where as blind sider is much more similar to a locks role …
they seem verry difernt to me ,just becuase they are labled as loose forwards ,doesnt limit them to the same role…
vermulen was good tonight but id rather have deysel and id rather have kankowski …
and im trying to be as un biased as i possbley can be
29 Jan 2010, 23:20 pm
There were about 8 scrums up to the 70min mark if which Sharks were penalised on most occasions
Beast was blown up for not binding/touching the grass and Wickus for scrumming into JS
Stormers scrum looked stronger as a unit, well done Proudfoot
29 Jan 2010, 23:21 pm
@WP_: haha no worries mate , we may argue over pointless things now ,but as soon as those sheep shaging guys come and stir you know i got ure back haha
29 Jan 2010, 23:27 pm
@WP_:
Come WP. Grant10 has stated on numerous occasions that he has the utmost respect for JS as captain and as a no2, but not at no3. Why is it that some of you guys attack his rugby knowledge for his stance on that. The fact that he played fly half does not mean that he can’t have an opinion on who is the weak link in the pack.
I would suggest that the fly half, given his position at scrum time, is in a very good position to be able to tell where it went wrong in the scrum, be it TH or LH just by being able to observe from his position in the back line. He may not know the technicalities of the scrum but it sure is there for anybody see when a prop struggles against his direct opponent.
Jannie reverted to “hy’t in my oog gekrap. P**s” tonight when he could not take it anymore.(around the 54th min. Check it out tomorrow morning) I had the feeling he could not take it anymore.
29 Jan 2010, 23:32 pm
Not even Naas comments on frontrow play as he knows blow all about it just like Grant but Grant most probably heard from a uncles friends buddy
29 Jan 2010, 23:32 pm
@baw:
Usually if a front row look bad on their put ins, that means the opposing TH did his job
The Cheetahs scrum nearly pulverised the Sharks at the CC Semi, they did it with Brussow, not the heaviest back rower, so what did it tell us about JS at TH?
29 Jan 2010, 23:34 pm
@WP_: 78
Very well sir. How are you. Long time, no speak.
29 Jan 2010, 23:34 pm
Baw
Fair enough mate, I just reckon DV’s little underrated..
Yeah, it is hard to stay partial sometimes…
Agreed that JD, DV and Kanko are all players most teams would enjoy having.
I hope you’ll agree with me that the Stormers loose trio is stronger this year last…
No selfish prima donna’s walking around with a water melon under each arm…
Haha, yeah when the convicts and the kiwi pitch up I’ve got you’re back too boet, haha got stand united
29 Jan 2010, 23:37 pm
@baw:
I wouldn’t put any significance to the warm ups, the 1st choice players are instructed to give it 60%, not more.
29 Jan 2010, 23:37 pm
@nama1: no assualt on his rugby knowledge ,if anything i respect most of what he says,that being said ,this is a blog and we are all intitled to our own opinion,so i gues his john smit at 3 saga is his own belief and worry ,just how he goes on about it ,even when there realy isnt that much to go on about (now im talking about when he does have an average game or whatever -rather than john smits ability as a whole)…i just feel that hes dug his heels into the ground so hard that he finds it hard to be completley fair on john smit preformances at th ,no disrespect meant in anyway to grant …however i take a different stance ,that john smit is still the boks best otpion at th so far ,and 2nd or third at hooker ,so to me ,being the undisputed leader that he is (and sought of go to man for the bokke) it makes sense to play him at th…now im open to admit that i may be wrong if ever the day comes where i am
29 Jan 2010, 23:38 pm
@Hondo: good point mate
29 Jan 2010, 23:39 pm
well done stormers.
how predictable, grant reckons js to blame.
didnt see a turbo reverse tonight.
in fact, the stormers backline was the difference but their scrum got dealt.
anyone care to argue?
how many turnover scrums does it take? lets see, 8 scrums and 3 turnovers to the sharks. pretty good. sort our backline and we will be fine, as usual.
Exactly.
82 nah, dont buy it.
@WP_: no doubt ,stormers are shaping up ! this can only be good for springbok rugby ,so long as the sharks still play decently ,and the bulls ofcourse
29 Jan 2010, 23:40 pm
@baw: 79
I can guarantee you, there weren’t many. I’ll watch the replay tomorrow and tell you.
Or maybe we can leave that to Hondo. I see he is here. That is his specialty. Watching replays, especially if he has to down players of colour. Like his trying to do with Beast at the moment.
29 Jan 2010, 23:42 pm
If the SA teams win their home games the there could be 3 SA teams in the top
29 Jan 2010, 23:44 pm
fantastic to watch two players of dv and j deysels calibre going at it hammer and tongs.
titanic.
bismark was his destructive self.
and jannie the pap snoek popped and screwed the province lad at will at the end after smitty had worn him down.
this is not the cc.
29 Jan 2010, 23:46 pm
@baw:
Thanks
Comes the half way season and the Sharks’ position is at the bottom of the log, then we are vindicated
29 Jan 2010, 23:47 pm
Good to watch Ranger after having to watch the crappy premiership and the overated Heineken Cup
@nama1: LOL!:) just because hes black and white haha:)
@JL1:
Thanks for that. I’ll confirm tomorrow.
@JL1:
How much does Naas actually knows about rugby, aside from kicking the ball the moment you receive it.
29 Jan 2010, 23:48 pm
Nama
Good mate.
No, I never attacked Grant’s knowledged, I’m sure he’s knowledgable and he loves his rugby. It’s just tedious the way he goes on about JS the whole time.
All i mean is that he should probably stick to his area of expertise, the backline, as he’s saturated his comments re JS at 3.
Enough of that now though.
92 baw
No doubt, we have all the players at our disposal… Bok rugby is in good healthi
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All