Stormers down shoddy Sharks

The Stormers beat a mediocre Sharks side 29-14 to finish the pre-season Tri-series undefeated.

Both of these teams have plenty of work to do. The Stormers were far better than the scoreline suggests, but considering the Super 14 is two weeks away, they should be concerned with their performance at the breakdown in the first half. The Sharks were poor in this area too, but the worrying thing for John Plumtree is that their problems are not limited to this department.

Sharks’ scrumhalf Rory Kockott fluffed his first few penalty attempts, while at the other end, Joe Pietersen pushed the hosts to a 6-0 lead. The Stormers also scored a fantastic try off the first phase – although special mention must go to the porous Sharks defence.

Their dominant lineout, spearheaded on this occasion by Duane Vermeulen, secured possession and the ball flew to Schalk Burger. The Stormers captain surprised the opposition by throwing a flat pass to flyhalf Peter Grant who in turn found Gio Aplon with a lovely inside ball. Aplon lined up Sharks fullback Patrick Lambie before feeding Burger who had run a great supporting line.

The problem for the Stormers was their inconsistent tactical kicking display and their failure to release the tackled player at the breakdown. The Sharks won a number of penalties thanks to the law adjustment that cuts down the contest on the deck. Similarly, the Sharks battled on defence, and at times the game never went through more than five phases without Craig Joubert blowing a penalty.

The Stormers were accurate with some of their kicks, whereas the Sharks were simply abysmal. Lambie had a forgettable night with the boot and, unsurprisingly Stefan Terblanche ran out at the start of the second half.

The visiting scrum also looked weak for the most part. Captain John Smit also looked tired, and it’ll be interesting to see how he fares when the tempo is lifted in the first match against the Chiefs. The scrum looked steadier when Jannie du Plessis moved to tighthead and Beast Mtawarira came on at loosehead, but they also didn’t have things all their own way.

Nevertheless, the Sharks managed to level the scores in the second stanza, capitalising on a yellow card to Stormers flank Francois Louw. Terblanche and new recruit Steve Meyer seemed to galvanise the Sharks backline, and in the 45th minute, Luzuko Vulindlu crossed for an important try.

Pietersen nudged the hosts ahead in the 50th minute with a well-struck penalty. The Stormers began to apply themselves more and a rolling maul was illegally snuffed right on the Sharks’ tryline – an incident that led to the sin-binning of Jannie du Plessis.

The Stormers had botched a lineout from a similar position in the first half, but this time they showed the necessary determination to bash through the black and white wall. Tiaan Liebenberg was credited with the try, a score that signalled an end to the game as a result-driven contest.

The Stormers really began to find their rhythm in the final quarter and it was all the Sharks could do to spoil. Aplon was unceremoniously clotheslined by Deysel, a transgression that earned the Bok flank a yellow card.

The Sharks managed to hold a subsequent Stormers surge, Joubert reviewing the play on the television behind the dead-ball line. But finally the Sharks capitulated, a brilliant piece of individual running earning Sireli Naqelevuki a try in the right-hand corner.

The Stormers, winners of this Tri-series, will go back to the training field in order to curb their breakdown inaccuracies, but will be buoyed by one or two instances of attacking brilliance. The Sharks have a lot more to do if they’re going to be ready for their first clash on 13 February.

By Jon Cardinelli

270 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

• 101.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1:
    No significance in these warm ups Nama, I say don’t waste your time, you won’t take away anything of value for the 2010 season, a lot of deception there.

• 102.JL1: Reply to this comment

Nama

Naas did release a 1 page best seller on running rugby I think he met Danie Gerber the first time on Boots and All

• 103.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Hi Ranger,

According to me the Stormers scrum had the upper hand for most of the match – that was also the general feeling of most people sitting around me in the pavilion.

The Sharks only had the upper hand at the end when Harris, Liebenbergh and Blaauw (and John Smit) were all replaced.

I also have to tell you that John is looking terribly out of shape – far too fat and cumbersome to meet the demands of a modern day hooker. He also seemed tired even before the season has properly kicked off.

The best Sharks player was Deysel who had a very strong game.

• 104.WP_: Reply to this comment

Naas could definately kick a rugby ball.

I once saw him kick a drop goal when then was an overlap outwide. Classic :lol:

• 105.WP_: Reply to this comment

Craig Joubert seemed like he was merely guessing in regards to a few of the scrum and breakdown decisions

• 106.nama1: Reply to this comment

@baw:
    Good one. :lol:

Ranger, I realised again tonight that Deysel is a donkey. You have to get someone with brains, my man.

• 107.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@nama1:

Deysel certainly does not have the rugby brains and flair like Luke Watson for example but he kept at least 3 people busy right through the game. I was actually very impressed with him tonight.

Tough donkey that one :)

• 108.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Hi Rob…Yeyyy, the Stormers won…!!
    BET THE POST MATCH BEER TASTED REAL GOOD!!

• 109.carol: Reply to this comment

@JL1: Your team did it!! heheheh ;-)
    How is London tonight?

• 110.WP_: Reply to this comment

Yes Deysel is not the brightest around.

Can bloody well play rugby though, but lacks the mental aspect

• 111.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

Hi Carol,

Yip, it was nice to beat them – unfortunately had to leave straight after the game and no time for beer – had a few before the game though.

Your’e weekend going ok so far?

• 112.baw: Reply to this comment

@WP_: he seems a fine sportsman too, when he dove into aplon and we all cringed ,he fairly enough got yellow carded ,but he apologised …an honest ,powerfull big flank ,another thing is he doesnt get involved in off the ball stuf-probably my favorite player in sa next to juan smith -same workmanship qualities that i admire

• 113.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hondo:
    Let’s for arguments sake agree on that.

What then do you think were the value of the games played in the week for the Stormers and the Sharks?

• 114.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@baw:

It was a fairly clean game – At least the players did not set out to maim each other as it is often the case when local super 14 teams meet.

• 115.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 21 – wow the sharks are overrated? I’d love to know who is rating to them because Keo ain’t and neither are most Sharks fans!

I’m now convinced this is a myth being peddled by Stormers fans to draw attention away from the fact they are the most arrogant fans in the world. The Stormers hype machine never seems to amaze me. After one pre-season match I saw a blogger on here saying it was going to be the Stormers in the final – all it took was beating a tentative 2nd string Force side to convince them it was a fullgone conclusion.

I don’t think any Stormers supporter has the right to call us overrated, every year we hear about how they’re going to go all the way and where do they end up? Near the bottom. At least the Sharks were within inches of winning the S14 in 2007 and took the CC in 2008, remind me when last did the Stormers make it to a final? Sorry what’s that you’re mumbling? They never made it?! Surely not?! Not the best rugby team in the world?! They’ve won nearly every S14 haven’t they?! Wait no you must be confusing those pretenders from Cape Town with the Crusaders.

• 116.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@baw: Smith and Deysel cut from the same cloth – hard as hell but wise enough not to get involved in the drama.

• 117.nama1: Reply to this comment

Guys, every team needs a donkey.

Schalk for years seemed to be the donkey for WP/Stormers and the Boks until Jake’s sidekick in WC 2007, EJ, taught him to pass the ball.

@baw:
    Agree. Wonderful sportmanship shown by him after that tackle.

Also by Aplon, just getting up, knowing that it was unintentional and getting on with the game. No, “wat de hel meen jy om my so hoog te tackle nie”

• 118.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Mates to stay, wine sliding down nicely….. :-)
    Would be nice to have been at Newlands though!! :-(

• 119.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@nama1:

He is still a very reluctant passer.
    Got very good hands though and even tried a little chip kick tonight.

• 120.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@nama1: Yes now you see the Sharks know they a lot to work on – a huge amount to fix before the opening match and as fans we’re not optimistic.

But the Stormers think they’re going all the way to the top. The value of these games stop at the point that they’re pre-season. they’re practice sessions. For some players the fact they mean nothing in terms of log standing might discourage them somewhat from giving it their all and risking injury before the start of the season – thats not an excuse by the way.

I agree though that we’re in trouble with Smit. We really need to address this problem but at centre and fly-half we also got probs. Hopefully Meyer will make a difference. Our no.12s just aren’t good enough. Just hope we can fix these problems in time.

• 121.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@nama1: Deysel makes one mistake and all of a sudden he’s a donkey?

• 122.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:
    Somebody needs to talk to bissy, I think.

Hy raak te groot vir sy skoene en hy gaan ons ‘n paar geel kaarte kos as hy nie in sy bek geruk word nie.

• 123.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Did Grant enjoy John Smits performance btw?
    We wait with baited breath…….!!! ;-)

Loved his ‘lock the fridge comment’…….

• 124.nama1: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark:
    What was his mistake?

• 125.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

Are u sneaking away to the computer leaving the Welsh supporter all alone to entertain the guests?

Yip it was cool although I had a Welsh born Irishman now living in CT sitting next to me who insist on high fiving every time the Stormers scored.

• 126.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@nama1:

True, besides the yellow card gaan iemand hom nog hard moer ook!

• 127.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Heheheh, laptop allows me to do both……!! They are chatting I am keeping tabs on you lot!
    I love technology?
    So, whats on this weekend?

• 128.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

He did not think John covered himself with glory :)

The Fridge comment was lovely and true.

• 129.whatever: Reply to this comment

Does anyone else here think that the posts of “skopskiet” are not from the real skoppie? Something not quite right!

Go Stormers, could be a big season. Shakies I think are in for a looooonnnng season.

JS, leave No3 alone boet!

• 130.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: John has alot of ground to make up to satisfy Grant!! ;-)

Poor guy, should he be loosing weight or retaining it? I am confused……

• 131.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

#128 and 130

Will check the sea out for surf and do a bit of mtb training.
    Must also paint a wall at home !!! terrible just thinking of it.

John should loose quite a few imo – he looks terrible even for a prop!

Are u doing steps or circuits lately?

• 132.nama1: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark:
    You seemed to be on the defense tonight. The game is over. Your team lost, my team won.

Let’s rather concentrate on where our teams can get better to be a threat in the S14.

I already said earlier that the Stormers don’t have a killer instinct to put the opposition away, because they should have done it with the Sharks in the first half.

What problems have you observed with your team that they should work on to be a force in the S14 this year?

• 133.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Think John should follow your training routine! He would be as slim as as a lath!
    Running and circuits…..for me……’Fark’ to coin a phrase….!!

• 134.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1: 132
    You already answered my question. Sorry.

@KZN King Shark: 120
    I agree though that we’re in trouble with Smit. We really need to address this problem but at centre and fly-half we also got probs. Hopefully Meyer will make a difference. Our no.12s just aren’t good enough. Just hope we can fix these problems in time.

• 135.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

Are u also taking part in the point to point or are u only a supporter?

• 136.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: These days a spectator!!
    Bed calls, see you….!
    Have a good weekend, catch you soon!

• 137.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

Cheers, I am also out – we can share the nite owls’ “last person standing” title tonight.

Enjoy the weekend.

• 138.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

2 Big points of note:
    Schalk Burger has learnt to pass the ball. Now there is a notable change!
    I am please that the usual Saffa local derby had no malice as of prevoius genarations.

• 139.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1:
    It was Eddie Jones for that matter

• 140.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1:
    Rugby is a team game, teams need several warm up games to get their rhythm back, their synchronization and their on field cohesion, raising the intensity as they progressed.
    Teams know who their best players are in the Pro era, the warm ups not used to unearth new gems, for the reason that without a formal competition, these games don’t mean a damn in asessing players’ capabilities
    And then there is the injuries issue: you don’t want to have un necessary injuries at this stage, you do want to see how players returning from last season cope by playing them against a stronger opposition than say your B team.

• 141.David: Reply to this comment

Has anyone else seen this bit of news, from BBC sport, this morning? Looks like the Sharks aren’t going to get BJ back either.

Ulster are expected to confirm next week the signing of South African lock Johann Muller on a two-year deal.

The abrasive Muller made the last of his 23 appearances for South Africa against the Lions during the summer.

Muller will link up with his former Springbok and Sharks colleague BJ Botha who has intimated that he will be staying with Ulster.

• 142.David: Reply to this comment

Looks like a strange time to be moving, at the start of the S14 and when this years contracts and squads have already been decided, unless it’s for the end of the S14.
    Mullers obviously realised that he’s not a contender for a WC spot next year.

• 143.Sonito: Reply to this comment

Most of the Sharks Boks look like they are still on end of year tour! Does not look good for springbok rugby this year.

• 144.imashark: Reply to this comment

141.DAVID
    “The abrasive Muller”??????
    I hope you don’t believe this nonsense, Johann Muller is terribly meek.

Somebody please tell Grant 10 to drop the Smit “turbo-reverse” crusade, I’m losing the will to live.

Bok front row of Beast Bismark and John struggles for the following reasons:
    1. Beast is great in the loose (when he gets in the mood) but he’s a retreaded flanker with bad scrumming technique – just needs proper coaching.
    2. Bismark also fantastic in the loose but again bad scrumming technique – stands too tall and doesn’t go in on the hit

It’s easy to blame the TH but John can’t do it all on his own, it’s an 8 man effort and it’s all in the timing.

Well done Stormers (choke…) deserved the win and backline looking promising. Didn’t realise Schalk was that quick and he passed a bit as well, nice one.

• 145.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@David:
    If we’ve learned anything from last November’s EOYT it is that BJ has no real challengers at TH, so the Boks will call him for their RWC campaign unless a better TH will emerge, Nel from OFS is a possibility.
    In that case I am sure they will call up Mujati too, passport issue not withstanding. The nature of the Quota,,,,
    It varied: the ABs already devising a plan to get Hayman back, the Wallabies secured Elsom’s services etc

• 146.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@imashark:
    The Beast is a shy tackler and a lousy defender in the rucks which he seldom joins at the point of impact.
    He also turns over the ball on average 4 times and penalised in the scrum about 2 times, could be higher.
    All that hype about him aside, it will be a blessing if that knuckle head politician succeeds in his crusade against the Beast’s Test career.

• 147.David: Reply to this comment

@Hondo:
    Mujati is also a Zimbabwean, so I can’t see him being included.
    As much as I despise Komphela, I agree with him in enforcing the citizenship requirement.

• 148.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@Hondo: #146 hehehe, i applaud you on consistency alone.

There you have it folks, Hondo says the quota player that is Beast must never play for the Springboks. And he is fully behind butana khompela’s campaign to end Beast’s Test career! :D hehehe

• 149.WP_: Reply to this comment

Hondo you doos

Leave Beast alone. The Boks need him.

• 150.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

@Hondo:

The NZRU did a mailout to anyone who was named in a wider AB training group since 1974. They can’t all get back in the team

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.