Stormers down shoddy Sharks

The Stormers beat a mediocre Sharks side 29-14 to finish the pre-season Tri-series undefeated.

Both of these teams have plenty of work to do. The Stormers were far better than the scoreline suggests, but considering the Super 14 is two weeks away, they should be concerned with their performance at the breakdown in the first half. The Sharks were poor in this area too, but the worrying thing for John Plumtree is that their problems are not limited to this department.

Sharks’ scrumhalf Rory Kockott fluffed his first few penalty attempts, while at the other end, Joe Pietersen pushed the hosts to a 6-0 lead. The Stormers also scored a fantastic try off the first phase – although special mention must go to the porous Sharks defence.

Their dominant lineout, spearheaded on this occasion by Duane Vermeulen, secured possession and the ball flew to Schalk Burger. The Stormers captain surprised the opposition by throwing a flat pass to flyhalf Peter Grant who in turn found Gio Aplon with a lovely inside ball. Aplon lined up Sharks fullback Patrick Lambie before feeding Burger who had run a great supporting line.

The problem for the Stormers was their inconsistent tactical kicking display and their failure to release the tackled player at the breakdown. The Sharks won a number of penalties thanks to the law adjustment that cuts down the contest on the deck. Similarly, the Sharks battled on defence, and at times the game never went through more than five phases without Craig Joubert blowing a penalty.

The Stormers were accurate with some of their kicks, whereas the Sharks were simply abysmal. Lambie had a forgettable night with the boot and, unsurprisingly Stefan Terblanche ran out at the start of the second half.

The visiting scrum also looked weak for the most part. Captain John Smit also looked tired, and it’ll be interesting to see how he fares when the tempo is lifted in the first match against the Chiefs. The scrum looked steadier when Jannie du Plessis moved to tighthead and Beast Mtawarira came on at loosehead, but they also didn’t have things all their own way.

Nevertheless, the Sharks managed to level the scores in the second stanza, capitalising on a yellow card to Stormers flank Francois Louw. Terblanche and new recruit Steve Meyer seemed to galvanise the Sharks backline, and in the 45th minute, Luzuko Vulindlu crossed for an important try.

Pietersen nudged the hosts ahead in the 50th minute with a well-struck penalty. The Stormers began to apply themselves more and a rolling maul was illegally snuffed right on the Sharks’ tryline – an incident that led to the sin-binning of Jannie du Plessis.

The Stormers had botched a lineout from a similar position in the first half, but this time they showed the necessary determination to bash through the black and white wall. Tiaan Liebenberg was credited with the try, a score that signalled an end to the game as a result-driven contest.

The Stormers really began to find their rhythm in the final quarter and it was all the Sharks could do to spoil. Aplon was unceremoniously clotheslined by Deysel, a transgression that earned the Bok flank a yellow card.

The Sharks managed to hold a subsequent Stormers surge, Joubert reviewing the play on the television behind the dead-ball line. But finally the Sharks capitulated, a brilliant piece of individual running earning Sireli Naqelevuki a try in the right-hand corner.

The Stormers, winners of this Tri-series, will go back to the training field in order to curb their breakdown inaccuracies, but will be buoyed by one or two instances of attacking brilliance. The Sharks have a lot more to do if they’re going to be ready for their first clash on 13 February.

By Jon Cardinelli

270 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.Fern: Reply to this comment

@chch – welcome back Carter:
    Morning bro,
    All the best for 2010.Next year RWC…
    GO BOKKE!

• 152.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

@Fern:

Good luck for you too

Tomorrow I get my season tickets with give me preferential access to WC tickets. All good.

• 153.Fern: Reply to this comment

Season tickets for where?I heard that the Lions played in Mangatainoka,havent been there but got the rugby jersey,cap,boxers and t-shirts!I love Tui gear,their ads are awesome,good drop as well.

• 154.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

@Fern:

I have no TV so had missed all that. Yep

• 155.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

@Fern:
    The Lions would have lost some ‘south of the Bombay’ NZ underdog support now that Carlos is with them.

• 156.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: hiyas ranger im done arguing re JS

he was solid and only has one scrum where he went back as deysel was off

we had one short in the scrum

jannie was bad at LH

• 157.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

we had one short in the scrum at the time , that shoud read

• 158.Fern: Reply to this comment

Did the band “Southside of Bombay” sing ‘What’s the time Mr Wolf” from the movie “Once were warriors”?Directed by Lee Tamahori and Jake “The Muss”Heke played by Temuera Morrison?
    Awesome movie.

• 159.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

@Fern:
    Now you must have Googled that

• 160.Fern: Reply to this comment

Nah
    My non blood brother is maori.I know the culture,respect and love it.Tight with my whanau.
    Got the dvd’s.If you have been to NZ the movies are more poignant because you can relate to small detail.
    Lee is a crossdresser as well.

• 161.Puma: Reply to this comment

156 – Sharky, Howzit mate,

I never watched one minute of the game due to not having any signal last night. So have no clue how it went.

What went wrong and what went right?

• 162.Puma: Reply to this comment

160 – Fern, howzit mate. How you doing buddy?

• 163.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Puma:
    Awesome buddy,stopped over in Amsterdam for 2 hours on my way to Dublin.
    Jeepers that place is flat!
    All the best for 2010!

• 164.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Fern: Fern that is my old turf. Lived there for awhile once. In Amsteelveen LOVED Amsterdam flat and all brilliant place. Moved eventually to The Hague.

Now that is a place I want to visit is Dublin. How was it Fern?

I wished you on a thread a few days ago but what the heck, all the best for 2010 buddy.

• 165.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

@Puma:

I used to live in Dublin too

• 166.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

Have been to Amsterdam and New Zealand too

• 167.byoboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: Yes Jannie is not an LH. The weakness lies in the backline.

• 168.Puma: Reply to this comment

165 – Howzit CHCH how you mate, hope well. All the best for 2010 chch. Have not seen you here for a long time

You get around hey!! Oz and Dublin. How did you find Dublin? I would enjoy to visit there.

• 169.byoboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma: Sharks backline was klapped. Plus played a large portion of the game with 14 men. Also Jannie was placed at LH where he suffered a bit. Mostert and Alberts stood up.

• 170.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@byoboy: agreed , we need ruan back at 10 ASAP

centers are not good,
    odwa is over the hill and mvovo should be left wing

• 171.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

@Puma:

Cheers Puma, back for S14

Dublin is a great place to visit but when I lived there was as they say ‘mad’. The Celtic Tiger meant double the population Dublin could handle. TV sets on streets to entertain people in bank queues etc
    Great moments like taking photos of horses owned by people in govt project apartment blocks and having them bang rubbish bin lids on the ground to warn others thinking I am the SPCA. Or standing in a lock-in at 3am in the morning with work the next day and having some 8 year old kid tug on your arm and try to sell the new days paper.

Great stuff

• 172.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

Let me tell you that Sharks pack is physical. In the 1st half we were good (ref and backline defense). But that pack with Mostert, Alberts and Deysel was owning it. Excited for the season!

• 173.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Puma:
    Awesome bud,the locals reckon the Boks are “over physical”
    Give me a game against the AB’s any day.World rugby is Boks vs All Blacks.They dont *****.Hard out.
    When we play rugby is not a contact sport but a collision sport.Lots of heavy hearts in NZ after the news of Ruben.He was one of their own.

• 174.Puma: Reply to this comment

@byoboy: Thanks boyboy. Never saw the game at all had no signal last night. Good to hear that Mostert and Alberts done okay. Think we need Ruan to get fit quick. How was Meyer?

Just pleased we never got a fat 0 again :D

Hope we learned a few things from these warm-ups.

• 175.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

More…
    Driving home after the pub to pass burning cars. Because of the Celtic Tiger everyone got new cars so the only way to get good money for an old car was to arrange for it to be stolen and burnt.
    As I say, mad, but good crack

• 176.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Fern: 173 – Fern, Sounds great in Dublin.

Yip, mate nothing better than a Boks/All Black game. Nothing can compare really. That is for sure ABs never complain just get on with the game.

Sad, sad news about Ruben. What a brilliant player and to pass away so young. Only 39. Very sad man. Yes I can imagine the kiwis feeling like that about Ruben. The rugby family is huge.

• 177.Fern: Reply to this comment

I went to a pub in Ireland and this old chap says he knows rugby.Tells me BOD is the best 13 ever.Asked him about Danie Gerber.Did not know who that is!WTF?

• 178.Puma: Reply to this comment

@chch – welcome back Carter: Good to see you back here chch.

Really want to visit Ireland sometime mate. Especially want to see Dublin.

• 179.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma: hiyas bro hope you are well??

i felt the sharks allowed the stormers to bulls them in as much as the ref allowed it

there was a lot of uncertainty , i dont think forwards were to bad , its our backline that leaves a lot to be desired

lambie was good and so to stefan and jpp wasnt to bad

odwa murray and swannie did not play well
    du mond is nothing more then a vodacom cup player AND is out of his depth at this level

cockott was quite good in general play but was not on song with his kicking

in all honesty puma mate do not take to much to heart to what some stormers supporters are saying in here

there eyes are cemented closed , i think in 2 weeks time the sharks team will be more settled when it counts

again my big concern though stays 10, 12, 13

i think adi should maybe play 10 while ruan is injured,
    backline till ruan and ludick gets back should be

meyer was not to bad but also couldnt read the rest of the backline as he to is new

• 180.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Puma:
    Spent time in the Galway area.Was awesome.Love their hatred for the english,and rightfully so.
    The music in pubs was awesome.

• 181.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Fern: :lol: Kiwis would though.

• 182.byoboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: as the season goes on we can see how Monty and Meyer do at 10, I rek Ruan would be better at 9 especially if Meyer or Monty step up at 10, if they don’t, let Ruan play 10 with Kokkit at 9. At the moment 12 is a problem and Murrey looked average at 13. Kokkit was a bit off with the kicking but he is usually good in this dept. which makes him an asset at 9.

• 183.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Puma:
    Yep they would and also respect a enforcer like Bakkies.Not moan and *****,if you do that it means you are a softcock

• 184.byoboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma: tough one with no signal mate, must have been friggin frustrating. Ja we need Ruan back in the mix quik, but is he really a 10? Meyer was not too brilliant at 10, but maybe the team need to get game time under their belts to get fully fired up (hope that’s the case. When the old war vet (Stefan) was put on on at the back he didn’t impress, he needs to stop kicking possession away.

• 185.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: 179 – Sharky, Thanks for the information. That is why I asked you to get a honest answer about that game last night.

I never take anyone here really serious about what they say about my team.

Ruan will have to play FH. How long will it take for him to be fully over that op? Yip, Adi can play FH too. Then who will slot into 13?

NOW maybe some of the supporters will see what he had in Fransie. How we going to miss him this year. What a loss. Would really have loved to have had him still at inside centre.

Stefan always gives his best. Good to hear that Lambie and JPP was okay. I would play Mvovo instead of Odwa to be honest.

Still two weeks to train and get a lot sorted. Hope we ready for the Chiefs.

• 186.byoboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: I agree with you on the fowards – were pretty decent, Deysel was an ox, excellent play from him. I dono what you thought of Kanko when he came on? needs to pack on about 20kg of muscle.

• 187.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Fern: Agree Fern, they sort of like us mate.

• 188.Puma: Reply to this comment

@byoboy: Plenty rain here last night. Think that is why no signal. Also had plenty visitors but we all Shark Supporters so none of us got to see the game.

Not serious just being a warm-up. Will be very angry if it happens when we play the Chiefs :D

Really hope we are ready for that game. Think we will take a lot from these two warm-up games and work on what never worked for us.

Kockott will get his kicking back. He is a good kicker.

• 189.Puma: Reply to this comment

Okay out of here now. Going to get some lunch.

Cheers all. Thanks for the information about the game.

GO SHARKS.

• 190.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@byoboy: you have muscle in alberts and deysel

kanko has enough bulk mate , he just needs to show more heart
    and form,kanko is not weak

ruan is a ten mate , nor meyer or du mond is in that class

• 191.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Puma:
    nah
    they play the same brand.
    they know what a test between us means and vica versa.
    John Hart going to the hospital to hand Ruben a All Black jacket says a lot.

• 192.byoboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma: cheers mate

• 193.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Serena just won her 12th Grand Slam title matching Billie Jean King’s record. Go SERENA!!!

• 194.byoboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: ja Alberts and Deysel definitely add muscle to the pack. Hope Kanko can pick up his game he seems to have taken the back seat. I thought Monty was pretty decent at 10 before Argie came on board, suppose time will tell. I’m sure Sharks will pick up a lot from the warm up and be ready to go come Feb 13th. lunch is calling cheers.

• 195.byoboy: Reply to this comment

@byoboy: Argie = Hernandez

• 196.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Sharkslover, Ratel, Rangerman……….you are delusional in thinking the pack was ok, if that is what you are happy with then so be it, they in the land of the blind the one- eyed man is King, you guys are King, queen and prince !!!!

I quitely laughing here at you pinning your hopes on Ruan to sort out your no 10 posistion ……..with him getting ball under pressure he will crack as he is prone to do.

He will never last a season injury free so don’t get your hopes up. What happens when the ball goes past 10 ?

But if you believe that in 2 weeks time all will be hunky dory, well don’t let me or any other cement eyed stormers fan piss on your parade !!!

• 197.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: How are you JR. Looked out for you guys at Forries last night. Enjoyed being back at Newlands again. Good buzz. Plenty of Sharks support in the stands though. I agree with your assessment. Sharks forwards were ‘owned’ in the 2nd half. If I were them I’d be slightly concerned. Perhaps the new law adjustments confused the 2nd half set. Sharkie backline were toothless in my opinion and I don’t buy Ruan being the great saviour. Stormer pack was impressive in the 2nd half and seemed better off, after Schalk was benched. Bekker was excellent but the best player on the park(total consensus amongst folk surrounding me, was Vermeulen. He was brilliant. Finally boys, the Stormers backline was streeks ahead of the Sharkies backline on average. I’d say that they are going to be a handfull this year. Watch this space.

• 198.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES:

Hi Tassies…..had a few cold ones at Cubannas before the game, closer to the ground !!!!

Yeah, I believe the Stormers still have plenty to do before we can really call them geniune contenders but it does look promising !!

DV is a very ,very good footballer, in my opinion his versatility (can play lock, flank, eightman)makes him a wonderful aquistion , if he continues with this sort of form he could force himself into the Bok side !!

The Sharks have a very good pack but this experiment with JS at TH and JduP at LH failed miserabely !!

Sharks have to sort their front row out and Plum has to make the hard calls.

I agree their (sharks) backline is looking average, some good players but the balance seems all wrong, most glaringly is the lack of pace in the backline.

But I think the Sharks and their woes have received enough “air time “……some of their supporters will find every reason to convince one that they have no problems…..they seemingly believe that come start of S14 they will deliver !!!!………time will tell !!

Hope they get it right, however I would not bet my house on it!!!

• 199.Valkyrie: Reply to this comment

the sharks are in a bit of a mess it seems!it looks like that not only will their front-row be in super turbo reverse mode this year but their whole bloody team.start dusting the varnish tin off for that wooden spoon delusional shark supporters!

• 200.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Here we go Stormers here we go!

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.