Stormers down shoddy Sharks
29 Jan 2010
The Stormers beat a mediocre Sharks side 29-14 to finish the pre-season Tri-series undefeated.
Both of these teams have plenty of work to do. The Stormers were far better than the scoreline suggests, but considering the Super 14 is two weeks away, they should be concerned with their performance at the breakdown in the first half. The Sharks were poor in this area too, but the worrying thing for John Plumtree is that their problems are not limited to this department.
Sharks’ scrumhalf Rory Kockott fluffed his first few penalty attempts, while at the other end, Joe Pietersen pushed the hosts to a 6-0 lead. The Stormers also scored a fantastic try off the first phase – although special mention must go to the porous Sharks defence.
Their dominant lineout, spearheaded on this occasion by Duane Vermeulen, secured possession and the ball flew to Schalk Burger. The Stormers captain surprised the opposition by throwing a flat pass to flyhalf Peter Grant who in turn found Gio Aplon with a lovely inside ball. Aplon lined up Sharks fullback Patrick Lambie before feeding Burger who had run a great supporting line.
The problem for the Stormers was their inconsistent tactical kicking display and their failure to release the tackled player at the breakdown. The Sharks won a number of penalties thanks to the law adjustment that cuts down the contest on the deck. Similarly, the Sharks battled on defence, and at times the game never went through more than five phases without Craig Joubert blowing a penalty.
The Stormers were accurate with some of their kicks, whereas the Sharks were simply abysmal. Lambie had a forgettable night with the boot and, unsurprisingly Stefan Terblanche ran out at the start of the second half.
The visiting scrum also looked weak for the most part. Captain John Smit also looked tired, and it’ll be interesting to see how he fares when the tempo is lifted in the first match against the Chiefs. The scrum looked steadier when Jannie du Plessis moved to tighthead and Beast Mtawarira came on at loosehead, but they also didn’t have things all their own way.
Nevertheless, the Sharks managed to level the scores in the second stanza, capitalising on a yellow card to Stormers flank Francois Louw. Terblanche and new recruit Steve Meyer seemed to galvanise the Sharks backline, and in the 45th minute, Luzuko Vulindlu crossed for an important try.
Pietersen nudged the hosts ahead in the 50th minute with a well-struck penalty. The Stormers began to apply themselves more and a rolling maul was illegally snuffed right on the Sharks’ tryline – an incident that led to the sin-binning of Jannie du Plessis.
The Stormers had botched a lineout from a similar position in the first half, but this time they showed the necessary determination to bash through the black and white wall. Tiaan Liebenberg was credited with the try, a score that signalled an end to the game as a result-driven contest.
The Stormers really began to find their rhythm in the final quarter and it was all the Sharks could do to spoil. Aplon was unceremoniously clotheslined by Deysel, a transgression that earned the Bok flank a yellow card.
The Sharks managed to hold a subsequent Stormers surge, Joubert reviewing the play on the television behind the dead-ball line. But finally the Sharks capitulated, a brilliant piece of individual running earning Sireli Naqelevuki a try in the right-hand corner.
The Stormers, winners of this Tri-series, will go back to the training field in order to curb their breakdown inaccuracies, but will be buoyed by one or two instances of attacking brilliance. The Sharks have a lot more to do if they’re going to be ready for their first clash on 13 February.
By Jon Cardinelli

270 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All
30 Jan 2010, 16:21 pm
@rangerman: 95
Classic….absolute classic….
Seriously delusional ….but classic all the same.
30 Jan 2010, 16:22 pm
@WP_: 100
Tedious?
Because kak selections like that will cost the Boks the WC my friend….
30 Jan 2010, 16:26 pm
Anyway….over to Plumtree….
Not my concern…..just dont have the hooker at 3 PDV….please.
30 Jan 2010, 16:28 pm
@grant10: heard you were there?
30 Jan 2010, 16:50 pm
@grant10: TR is seen as a “positive” over the in sharks country because they are “trying out combinations “, as you said: now over to plumtree.
Lauaki and the Chiefs are waiting and rubbing the hands with glee to face these sharks.
30 Jan 2010, 17:06 pm
@Valkyrie: Delusional? Kindly show me where we’re disillusional? All Sharks supporters on here are admitting we’re going to be kak this year. Jeez man cut us some slack! Doos.
30 Jan 2010, 17:12 pm
@Hondo: Do you see any shy tackling here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGSWz8PYHro
Why do you hate the Beast so much?
30 Jan 2010, 17:23 pm
@SpringbokSarah: yes…grandstand…halfway line…great seats…
Stormers were at about 65% ….lots of errors at breakdowns…but we are at least showing potential.
@Transformation: Transie….they are turning a positive into a negative….[ 2 of the bst hookers in the world ]…
But i am going to stop this Smit stuff now….over to Plum…
30 Jan 2010, 17:31 pm
Just a point though…..how a team with Deon Carstens,Pat Cilliers, Beast. Jannie Du Plessis and Wiehahn Herbst can still continue with Smit at 3 is simply beyond my comprehension.
30 Jan 2010, 17:52 pm
i see Bulls beat Lions 25 to 3 in the 1 st of 2 games at Polokwane…3 trys to nil….
30 Jan 2010, 18:01 pm
@KZN King Shark:
Go read Sharkslover, Ratels and Rangermans comments……delusional about spot on !!
Nobody intentionally wants to give the Sharks a hard time, they are a proud side and can still get it right.
Some Shark supporters however are in denial !!!, far to over sensitive when highlighting obvious problems………geez Stormers supporters have been ridiculed by these self same shark supporters for years !!!
30 Jan 2010, 18:08 pm
@justrugby: enjoying the birthday my man??
30 Jan 2010, 18:10 pm
@justrugby: rangerman reckons Smit klapped Wickus Blaauw last night….in all my Keo time i have never ever remotely seen a more delusional quote ever….
Like saying Freshly Ground are bigger than theBeatles….it just defies belief….
30 Jan 2010, 18:14 pm
@grant10:
All good boet, just went and hit some balls at the range in preparation for tomorrows outing , otherwise relaxing ………..until reading comments like those from Ostrichman !!!!!
30 Jan 2010, 18:15 pm
@grant10:
“Like saying Freshly Ground are bigger than the Beatles”
Classic !!!
30 Jan 2010, 18:22 pm
@justrugby: enjoy the round tomorrow…and the rest of the day…i am off to dinner with the blonde…some of her mates down from Dubai…
Cheers boet
If ostrichman comes in tell him i said there is medication for one eyedness….
Outta here
30 Jan 2010, 18:37 pm
@grant10: Maybe they are bigger. Not greater though.
By the way, who are they? (not the Beatles, of course).
30 Jan 2010, 18:42 pm
@Nils: local band….not bad actually…
30 Jan 2010, 18:49 pm
Stormers have a problem at 9. I reckon get January back or find another substitute. Even Bolla was head and shoulders ahead of Duvenhage last night.
Stormers at last have possibly the most potent backline in the competition. If the half backs start kicking the damn thing up in the air and like Duvenhage was doing last night kicking it too far right down full back or wings throat its going to become another year of heartache. Total rugby has to be played.
Stormers didn’t totally dominate at forward yesterday it was pretty much even Steven’s from word go.
Alberts and Deysel are potent force at 7 and 8. Kanko maybe should try revert to open side can’t be worse than Daniels. Between Botes, Deysel and Alberts they got some firepower in the loose. Also with Sykes and Hargreaves coming through their 2nd row got some spunk. Burden might be their way forward at hooker and Smit and Muller should both simply get out the way they both hampering progress. Smit must retire, he’s way past sell by date, way way over done. I fear if the lad don’t throw in the towel he might suffer a coronary, after the way he huffs and puffs and drags that overweight body around the field he’s actually asking for trouble. Give it up John, its verby, times up as the hour glass is empty.
30 Jan 2010, 19:08 pm
@grant10: ok, that “bigger” observation reminded me some story about Napoleon. He ws shorty and once could not reach a book on the upper shelf. Some high ranking soldier offered to help, saying ‘I am bigger’. Napoleon coldly replied “You are only TALLER’.
30 Jan 2010, 19:08 pm
@skopskiet: what a lame attempt at impersonating skopskiet!
Skop’s prose is light years ahead of your nonsense.
30 Jan 2010, 19:25 pm
The poster at no 218 makes a few very valid points .
The tactical kicking of Duvenhage and Grant left a lot to be desired and it will cost the Stormers dearly against stronger opposition.
Another problem is that they do not have a number 4 lock in the Bakkies Botha mould (at least until Adriaan Fondse is available again).
Otherwise they are fairly well covered at the moment.
With regards to Smitty, he was already puffing during the warm up and had to stop for a breather when trying to jog the 20 meters to the sideline when the warm up was completed.
30 Jan 2010, 19:33 pm
@Pearl Rose: Skop would also know that January is spelt Januarie!!
30 Jan 2010, 19:35 pm
@Robzim: Perhaps Smittie has developed asthma!!!
30 Jan 2010, 19:36 pm
@carol:
Or forgot to switch on the turbo
30 Jan 2010, 19:43 pm
@Robzim: That phrase will come to haunt him…..
Sorry about the joke mail btw!! Hate to put you off your favourite food!! Hehehehheh………
30 Jan 2010, 19:44 pm
@carol: #222 my point exactly carolina, or he would have referred to him as ricky. I really do hate this nic stealing ****.
to answer your question about whether keo is a secret society or the masons…well when i registered, they did not issue me with a manual about any clandestine activities.
30 Jan 2010, 19:48 pm
@carol:
Ag, it’s OK. That stuff is overrated anyway
Noticing Januarie was spelled incorrectly is sharp.
No white wine so far I guess?
30 Jan 2010, 19:50 pm
@Pearl Rose: At the risk of repeating myself RT likes to be able to block bloggers that cause ‘kak’, to do that you do need a certain amount of info….some see it as intrusive some like it as it reduces stuff like nic stealing ****!!
Do tell me some of your clandestine activities….sounds interesting!!
30 Jan 2010, 19:53 pm
@Robzim: Yip, quite good for a foreigner!!
Oh yes, sorry about the bad typing…..Sort of lost my coordination!!! Blame the ‘Blanc’!!
30 Jan 2010, 20:01 pm
Once again a couple of players proved they arent of much quality namely:
Jannie Du Plessis
Monty Dumond
Johan Muller
Stefan Terblanche(time to retire)
The following are in danger of becoming also rans:
Rory Kockott
Ryan Kankowski
Waylon Murray
The following look terribly conditiones and need to sort it out,2 weeks before S14 its unacceptable:
Willem Alberts
John Smit
Was impressed by:
Charl Mcleod-service much better thsn KOCKOTT
Gerhard Mostert-looks the real deal
Luzuko Vulindlu-physicality
Odwa Ndungane-looked for work
The rest avg.
Sharks need a 10 and maybe get young Wessels from Cheetahs as backup fetcher
Lastly-Wake UP!!!
30 Jan 2010, 20:02 pm
@carol:
I am off to braai meat for a few people and prepare a few carrots for me (thanks).
Maybe later, but by then I will very likely also be without coordination.
30 Jan 2010, 20:05 pm
Stormers need to look at their tactical kicking it seems that the defense is even closer to the offside line than last year
30 Jan 2010, 20:06 pm
@carol: but what compels a grown up to steal someone else’s nic? I blog on other websites – music, current affairs – this is the first time i have ever heard of nic stealing. sane people formulate concrete arguments to win debates, they do not stil nics…
I can tell you but i would have to kill you afterwards
30 Jan 2010, 20:10 pm
@Robzim: Enjoy your braai!! And the carrot crunching….Have fun and behave!!
Inconsistant kicking was due to FARKING south-easter…jeez,cut the guys some slack hey..!!
So you are a conditioning coach, WP Nel must be way of the pace
Odwa will not shine against any opposition way too slow, sorry he would actually do well in the Guiness Premiership
30 Jan 2010, 20:14 pm
@Pearl Rose: Well the nic stealing does cause mayhem and upset just what the ‘stealer’ intended!!
OK, keep your secret, I’m too young to die!!
30 Jan 2010, 20:14 pm
OK so the wind was a factor could see that online
30 Jan 2010, 20:16 pm
@JL1: I thought you fell asleep during the last Guinness match you went too….It was boring wasn’t it?
30 Jan 2010, 20:19 pm
Carol
Compare Premiership or Heineken to S14/15 it is like watching slo-mo rugby v. Super14
Good nap though
30 Jan 2010, 20:21 pm
@JL1: Or like watching blokes run through treacle!!
Did enjoy Munster v Northampton Saints last Fri tho!
30 Jan 2010, 20:24 pm
Treacle! That could be the problem
There should be an international tournament or the winner S15 v H winner
30 Jan 2010, 20:29 pm
@JL1:well some bloggers do not appreciate the quick nature of s14 rugby, they often refer to it as “basketball”, so i guess it’s different strokes…
@carol: that was one boring game…tedious to a fault…leinster vs london irish was better…the premiership is boring though
30 Jan 2010, 20:37 pm
@Transformation: S14/15 is growing here in the NH from speaking to the locals. Sometimes you are just used to the product being served
I watched Quins v Wasps at Twickenham and the amount of High School handling errors were terrible
Boland and Griquas would beat them both
30 Jan 2010, 20:39 pm
@JL1: That would be a great match….Hey, great the Boks are over this Autumn!!
30 Jan 2010, 20:40 pm
@Transformation: Why do you think I enjoy the Super 14….It’s great fun!
30 Jan 2010, 20:42 pm
@carol: I will not waste money on them…. well maybe do Scotland
You in for a trip with the lads?
30 Jan 2010, 21:06 pm
@JL1: Great plan…a trip would be great fun!
Any ideas?
30 Jan 2010, 21:33 pm
@JL1: Nov 13th Wales v SA, Nov 27th England v SA and 4th Dec SA v Barbarians……or something before?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All