Muller intent on Ulster move
1 Feb 2010
Johann Muller has requested an early exit from his Sharks contract in order to leave at the end of the Super 14.
Muller’s contract with the union runs until the completion of this year’s Currie Cup, but last season’s captain has asked to leave before the tournament begins in order to join Ulster. Sharks CEO Brian van Zyl told keo.co.za that the future of the Bok lock will be resolved next month.
‘Johann has spoken to me and asked to leave,’ Van Zyl told this website. ‘The matter still has to be ratified at our quarterly board meeting in March.’
Reports stated that Ulster’s operations manager David Humphreys flew out to Durban recently to speak to the 29-year-old Muller about a two-year deal. It has also been reported that Ruan Pienaar has been approached by the Belfast-based club, but his financial demands could rule him out.
‘That is news to me,’ said Van Zyl. ‘Ruan’s young [25] and we’d never allow him to go at this stage of his career.’
The pair are the latest Sharks players to be linked with moves away from Durban, as last week reports suggested Bismarck du Plessis was in talks with French big-spenders Toulon.
‘I don’t know anything about that. I have no idea why there are so many stories going around about our players, probably because we have so many Boks,’ said Van Zyl.
Meanwhile, the Willem Alberts and Louis Ludik contract saga is no closer to being resolved. Last week, Saru were forced to get involved in the matter when the Lions laid an official complaint as Alberts made his debut against the Force last Tuesday.
Saru referred the matter to judge Lex Mpati, the chairman of the judicial committee, who will appoint a disciplinary committee to hear the matter.
‘I thought I would have received a letter from Saru by now, but we still haven’t had any response,’ said the Sharks CEO. ‘It would be nice if this matter could come to an end soon.’
By Grant Ball

94 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
1 Feb 2010, 13:01 pm
lots more pain to come i am afraid.
1 Feb 2010, 13:04 pm
Things falling apart at the Sharks?
1 Feb 2010, 13:08 pm
Go Muller, go! I hate watching you play
1 Feb 2010, 13:08 pm
Because Muller is leaving? Hardly cause for concern.
1 Feb 2010, 13:09 pm
@Tacitus: starts at the coach….and permeates through…
Plum in a catch 22….and he is not going to be there long.
Heard that Burden, Carstens, Jannie dup, Bissy, Kockott, murray, Ruan all want out….
But then i get accused of being an alarmist?
Bloody hell, best the sharks have a good bit of introspection, before a proud franchise is brought to its knees.
1 Feb 2010, 13:10 pm
Something smells rotten in the state of Denmark!
1 Feb 2010, 13:16 pm
@Staal:
it is the stench of pap snoek after a healthy turbo reverse with the handbrake on…
1 Feb 2010, 13:17 pm
@gunther: LOL
Classic…
Slappes is scarce??
1 Feb 2010, 13:17 pm
@grant10: sheesh, you must have the biggest ears in capetown grant
i heard that rassie is unhappy with his salary and because wp wont allow him onto the roof at newlands. alastair is unhappy because he is colour blind and cant read rassie’s signals.
gio aplon is unhappy because another hobbit (joe petersen) has been allowd out of the shire (as an aside how was that smashin tackle by jpp? expect more of the same as joe also injures his arse, elbows and ****(sic) )
funnily enough, i heard schalk is about the only happy man at wp as the days have been improving, along with his tan
1 Feb 2010, 13:20 pm
@gunther:
1 Feb 2010, 13:21 pm
@rangerman: Schalk unhappy at seeing his arse whilst trying to tackle Deysel! He actually then just used his legs to trip him! Schalk vs Rugby laws, always an interesting battle.
1 Feb 2010, 13:22 pm
Heard Ruan also wanted to go but his salary demand was to high.
1 Feb 2010, 13:23 pm
@Dantalian: I see it’s mentioned above.
ostrichman and Ratel….i look forward to seeing the reduction in humour as the losses rack up ….
@Staal:
staal I have something I would like to discuss with you but not here … to do with rugby, something for the players, can I get roy to give you my email?
1 Feb 2010, 13:24 pm
Schalla is getting a tan from all the camera lights as the media is going “dilly” regading the Tri Cup the Stormers has won…
by the way….when last has smit started a game where his team has won??
@grant10:
Carstens/J.Dup-replacable by Cilliers/Herbst
-Only downside is experience but Jannie has done nothing since moving to Sharks much like overrated/expensive softie Kees Lensing.Biggest flop in franchise history.
Bissy-would be huge loss.marquee player for union
Kockott-has been surpassed by McCleod in recent season.Plus is known to be a hothead,unstable.Makes instinctual often bad decisions
Murray-needs a big yr by all accounts.Has been on injured list on and off from 18+ months.Leaving wont solve his problems.But plum messed up by not including him last yr’s CC final and telling press he was injured.That was a misrepresentation of the fact-I know for a fact Waylon want injured that day.He felt betrayed by Plum that why huge uncertainty at last of season.but he is staying put for now.
Ruan-he isnt the great flyhalf hope.He isnt even the great scrumhalf hope.He needs a big yr otherwise HE IS GAFFIE DU TOIT
1 Feb 2010, 13:27 pm
**CC semi final
Muller-good riddance.Even Greg Rawlinson was a better player and thats not saying much.AB or not,he was decidedly avg/mediocre
1 Feb 2010, 13:28 pm
@Staal:
actually he is out with tennis elbow after spending the weekend cleaning the cobwebs in the province trophy cabinet…
1 Feb 2010, 13:28 pm
@mshiniwami: i agree with what you are saying
But my point is missed….why do they want out??
Therein lies the poison….ostrichman reckons i have big ears….well maybe i do know someone close to the set up….and all i hear is bad news…
But the feathered osterich rather chooses to make jokes and brag about 1 scrum….
Perhaps thats half the sharks problem …a loser attitude and soft approach.
1 Feb 2010, 13:30 pm
@grant10: seeing that you know all aout Barney our skipper, please answer this question.
Barney has applied JWhite’s advice for ages, he says JWhite knows his game inside out and he respect Jake’s rugby knowledge…..
so why didn’t he retire when JWhite advised him to go.
komaan, jy weet mos als oor Baney…..
1 Feb 2010, 13:30 pm
@grant10: Italy, before that the 3N and the Lions Series.
1 Feb 2010, 13:31 pm
@gunther: o – sorry nie gesien nie… 100%
1 Feb 2010, 13:33 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): thanks…italy…great scrum that….once BJ came on…before…TURBO REVERSE…0 TO A 100 IN 2 SECONDS!
1 Feb 2010, 13:33 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
did you see jpp smash joe petersen?
i think a hair moved out of place. nothing that Primrose’s Perms cant fix luckily
@grant10: why would our humour decrease grant? didnt seem to decrease your chirps when wp didnt make the semis last year?
@grant10:
now i thought after your win you would have far more of a sense of humour.
big ears.
1 Feb 2010, 13:34 pm
glad you boys finally picked up on this one
1 Feb 2010, 13:36 pm
@grant10:
answer me this Rutman, did js “turbo reverse” against the stormers after wicus “layed into him”???
1 Feb 2010, 13:36 pm
@Staal: It was always the plan….retire after B Lions….
In fact it was Jakes contention that he would never have played smit at 3 …
But Smit has…for some obscure reason, decided to try and hang in….and on record now that he will only go when the coaches tell him too!!
I dont know much except some stuff that i hear more out of the mate accidentally slipping the info…i dont ask him…not fair on the guy….similar to you…dont like to put you in difficult positions…but appreciate the hints!
1 Feb 2010, 13:37 pm
@rangerman:
Did you see Sharks defeders including Bismark bounce off Luislang !!!
Did you see Brock dump Deysel ???….hell it was a thing of beauty !!
1 Feb 2010, 13:40 pm
@rangerman: ostrichman….JS was poor against Stormers…and a lot worse against W Force.
So now getting parity against the weak Stormers tight 5 is acceptable?
Wow…Sharks are letting standards slip.
Kanko and Beast must be thrilled…getting the bullet while turbo reverse slap snoek smit gets to play.
Poison comes in all forms…..thin about it ostrichman
1 Feb 2010, 13:40 pm
@rangerman:
The question should be did Smit lay into Blaauw ?? , after all he is our Bok no3 and the strongmman in our side……the answer is NO…….and that is a worry if you are a Bok supporter
1 Feb 2010, 13:41 pm
think
1 Feb 2010, 13:41 pm
@justrugby: did you see deysel monster schalk?
what about the high tackle on kocky that had him spin 360?
joubert didnt.
1 Feb 2010, 13:42 pm
anyway….Sharks…sort out the root cause of the problem….or the wheels going to seriously come off…and Bok and saffa rugby will be the weaker for it.
Outta here
1 Feb 2010, 13:42 pm
Mannnnnnnnne….
slooooooooow down……..
1 Feb 2010, 13:43 pm
@rangerman:
Nah, saw squat !!
1 Feb 2010, 13:43 pm
ostrichman…sharks were better…dont worry about the scoreboard….just believe it….
Hell cuckooland is a lekker planet.
1 Feb 2010, 13:46 pm
@grant10: Rutman
what are you on about now? in what way was js poor against the stormers.
just by the bye, rugby is a game with 30 men on the field (barring the ref). if you concentrate on js all the time, you will only be getting about 3.33% value of money for your ticket
rather keep your eye on the ball Rutman
@justrugby: how could he? every time the scrum went down, jdup tried to do a one armed pressup to show the ct girls how strong he is
@grant10: enjoy the walk on the beach Rutman.
1 Feb 2010, 13:48 pm
@grant10: Good-bye oh great guru of the scrum. Preaching the retirement of our captain after the best Sringbok year on record and 1 year from a WC is total lunacy. You should start a cult. I’m not suprised, cause the other cancer started in the the Cape too. The conspiracy to get rid of another great Shark and Springbok captain. Never turn your back on a lawyer, especially when he comes from the cape.
Did you also want Gary dropped brutus?
1 Feb 2010, 13:49 pm
@justrugby: open the other eye then buddy
@grant10:
no need to be childish now Rutman. i congratulated the stormers on the night and said they deserved to win.
i just feel our pack was fine, the problem was our backline, notably the gaping hole at centre and the flyhalf who was small town hero once upon a time.
1 Feb 2010, 13:49 pm
Anyway, 2 weeks to go, Sharks if they pick properley should be ready……..quality players all round, except 10, 3,and their midfield combo uncertain !!
1 Feb 2010, 13:51 pm
@rangerman:
Can’t……. you okes say we stormers fans have cement in our eyes
1 Feb 2010, 13:53 pm
@grant10: No Grant, we believe the scoreboard, unlike you. Stormers were better in the Neo-whateva. Well done. You see when the scoreboard tells me something I normally believe it. Last year it told me SA is the best in 3N and better than Lions. All this with turbo-reverse gear.
Another thing I notice is that most Sharks fans were disappointed with our CC, yet most WP fans were happy with their ‘progress’. This tells me that it is you and not me that is happy with mediocrity.
1 Feb 2010, 13:55 pm
@justrugby:
so js is not quality eh?
he must be kak if he could only win the world cup, 3n (twice), a currie cup and a BIL trophy.
thats more trophies than the stormers have won in the last 15 years
1 Feb 2010, 13:56 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Stop being selective in your posting……how may more times must the man say that JS is a great captain and no 2 ????
the problem is playing him at 3 where he is poor !!!!!
Also this “captain, my captain” thing is a heap of bulldung !!!
Js is a great captain but life and Springboks would go on if he was not the Bok captain…….Juan and Vic are able repalcements !!!
1 Feb 2010, 13:59 pm
@rangerman:
This is despite the fact that JS is at 3 …not …..definetely not because of it !!!
1 Feb 2010, 14:00 pm
@justrugby: i never said that.
i may agree with it though
1 Feb 2010, 14:02 pm
anyways, no offence intended to stormers fans in general.
i am simply ti8red of hearing the same old line being regurgitated ENDLESSLY by grant, day in and day out, with very little substance.
js will play 2 and 3 this season. like he did last year.
and nothing grant or i say will make any difference.
now i must do some work.
a good day to you all.
1 Feb 2010, 14:04 pm
@justrugby: ok, ok, you won the argument.
well, you and grant
(i say whilst muttering bullshit! under my breath)
have a good day.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All