Muller intent on Ulster move
1 Feb 2010
Johann Muller has requested an early exit from his Sharks contract in order to leave at the end of the Super 14.
Muller’s contract with the union runs until the completion of this year’s Currie Cup, but last season’s captain has asked to leave before the tournament begins in order to join Ulster. Sharks CEO Brian van Zyl told keo.co.za that the future of the Bok lock will be resolved next month.
‘Johann has spoken to me and asked to leave,’ Van Zyl told this website. ‘The matter still has to be ratified at our quarterly board meeting in March.’
Reports stated that Ulster’s operations manager David Humphreys flew out to Durban recently to speak to the 29-year-old Muller about a two-year deal. It has also been reported that Ruan Pienaar has been approached by the Belfast-based club, but his financial demands could rule him out.
‘That is news to me,’ said Van Zyl. ‘Ruan’s young [25] and we’d never allow him to go at this stage of his career.’
The pair are the latest Sharks players to be linked with moves away from Durban, as last week reports suggested Bismarck du Plessis was in talks with French big-spenders Toulon.
‘I don’t know anything about that. I have no idea why there are so many stories going around about our players, probably because we have so many Boks,’ said Van Zyl.
Meanwhile, the Willem Alberts and Louis Ludik contract saga is no closer to being resolved. Last week, Saru were forced to get involved in the matter when the Lions laid an official complaint as Alberts made his debut against the Force last Tuesday.
Saru referred the matter to judge Lex Mpati, the chairman of the judicial committee, who will appoint a disciplinary committee to hear the matter.
‘I thought I would have received a letter from Saru by now, but we still haven’t had any response,’ said the Sharks CEO. ‘It would be nice if this matter could come to an end soon.’
By Grant Ball

94 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
1 Feb 2010, 14:04 pm
chers all …going get ready to watch some varsity rugby !!
1 Feb 2010, 14:25 pm
5 Grant
and Kankowski is also not happy, there is big trouble in little Bombay.
1 Feb 2010, 14:27 pm
@RedLion:
Why is he not happy?
1 Feb 2010, 14:34 pm
lol speculation
1 Feb 2010, 14:42 pm
@justrugby: lucky sod!
1 Feb 2010, 15:03 pm
Tac
he is not happy because he is losing his spot to Alberts.
1 Feb 2010, 15:07 pm
Sounds like a mass exodus is on the cards @ the Shark tank…I believe there is something smelly brewing,the rotten stench of shark biltong…Pity…
1 Feb 2010, 15:16 pm
@RedLion: Thats the diff between Bulls & other unions, Bulls do it for the team, and if a players seems better than you…. the competition should make you better….. wtf, did Kanko think his place is guaranteed?
Why would JL Potgieter go to the Bulls under Morne
Danie Rossouw stay under Bakkies
Hougaardt/Adams under du Preez
Botha under Chillyboy (or vice versa)
And that lock signing for Bulls under Victor
Look, listen and learn boys!
1 Feb 2010, 15:18 pm
@Tisme: well said!
1 Feb 2010, 15:20 pm
@Tisme:
Although, I don’t think it’s that simple. Guys aren’t just happy to play second fiddle. Instead, it’s about how they are managed, and their career expectations are met and honestly discussed with them.
Not sure what’s going on in Durban at the moment.
1 Feb 2010, 15:26 pm
Story about Kanko not being happy is all speculation.For all intensive purposes Alberts is being looked at in a multitude of positions as in all loosefwd positions as they try find best combo or at no.4 lock but with Mostert looking good there(but injury prone) its been shelved for time being.
Kankowski should be unhappy of his form the last 12 months,forget Alberts acquisition.
Interesting fact: Did u know Willem Alberts was the boerseun on the documentary that looked at kids in their pre-teens then fast fwd 10 years and see how theyve adapted to modern days SA.had a very “segregational”(politically correct) midset as a kid.But years later changed immensely.
Played junior rugby with the guy,good man he is.
1 Feb 2010, 15:32 pm
So, the Lions had two ex Sharks in their team for the warm-up on saturday, both players contracts already expired.
And the Lions had to withdraw both of them due to the Sharks not giving them their release certificates. The one player’s dad came down from Cape Town to watch, but was told the player couldn’t play because the Sharks hadn’t issued him with a release certificate.
Two players far from first choice at the Sharks, and both players’ contracts wasn’t renewed by the Sharks.
And every-one calling the GLRU childish….Eish….
1 Feb 2010, 16:06 pm
@justrugby: Not Juan, he is not suited to the role, he can’t handle the pressure as Captain he starts yelling at his players and Victor is a damn cry baby sometimes. We need someone who is going to inspire the team in the same way as Smit. I think JdV is too relaxed. The only other player for me that ticks the leadership qualities is Habana but he’s in the wrong position to captain. So then that leaves us with Dewald Potgieter but then you’d have to drop Schalk to accommodate him. Unless we can find a suitable captain to plug that hole fast we’re going to have to persist with Smit.
1 Feb 2010, 16:12 pm
I see Bulls have signed Juandre Kruger
1 Feb 2010, 16:17 pm
Rangerman
The problem at the moment is last week every shark was bantering us, how we WILL lose to the sharks……now we win the game and we are not allowed to say ANYTHING….
We won the game but all Sharks shout premature season hype etc…..but imagine if we lost…..most shark would then write us off!!!
Here is my view…..we played a good game for pre season and lokked the part in the backs. Not too much moves was done….keeping some back for the real deal!
Forwards fronted up to most of the bullying tactics the sharks get away with o often these days as Bissie and his brother just want to klap everyone!
Our scrum dominated in most instances……NO MATTER HOW MUCH YOU HATE IT! Listen to Toks and you wil hear more balanced views on it. Most Sharks and Bulls took comfort in our Light Five because it meant easy posseson for your teams….and rightly so….we had some seriuos show ponies playing(Big Joe etc)…but now we sorted this out and it is not rubbing the other supporters the right way! I say TUFF! We are here this year to play good basic rugby and finish and klaar!
The push over tries from line outs are more frequent than ever from WP/Stormers and it is all signs that the forwards are up for the task!
So…are we going to win the S14…Hell yes!!….just like any other supporter…including the Lions would say! Would I put my house on it….No way…..I’m just a fan who is supporting my team and hoping for a good season!
We should all look forward to the S14….that is what keeps it alive!!
1 Feb 2010, 16:18 pm
NOW WHEN CAN WE HAVE SOME NEWS ON H.BRUSSOW GRANT ?
1 Feb 2010, 16:21 pm
@mshiniwami:
Really? Was recently on Aus tv, I didn’t even pick that. Was a fairly sad show in the end.
1 Feb 2010, 16:21 pm
@WilladieLeeu:
Ok…but does the contracts look the same?
1 Feb 2010, 16:23 pm
If the GLRU had a case they would play them and fight it out with SARU…..just like the sharks played Alberts and will face SARU regarding this….cause they have a case!!
1 Feb 2010, 16:35 pm
@Rebels_Shark:
That is if it was the BBC ‘UP’ series following youngsters in a few countries as they grow, the RSA one was 7UP then 14UP and 21UP.
Quick google, yes it was Willem and yes the same sad endings, pollies have failed those kids, well those that didn’t die of AIDS!
1 Feb 2010, 17:18 pm
@RedLion: you’re making that up
1 Feb 2010, 17:21 pm
@WilladieLeeu: reap what you sow, dude. Doubt the Sharks would have taken that line if Manie and the clowns hadn’t gone down that route first.
1 Feb 2010, 17:29 pm
No loss at all. He’s useless.
1 Feb 2010, 19:32 pm
@Tisme:
Hmmm,,
FdP spot is under a threat from Adams?
Botha’s place under a threat from Chilliboy??
You forgot Steenkamp’s place, was it intentional?
1 Feb 2010, 19:33 pm
the beauty of mercenary professionalism. Not satisfied with pilfering talent from E. Cape, OFS, and rest, now Gauteng gets the *** end of the Guppie deal. What Alberts was thinking when he ducked for greener pastures only he could know but I reckon he’s made one big mistake. Ludick too.
Kanko should saddle up and head for the sunset.
1 Feb 2010, 19:33 pm
@Rebels_Shark:
What about their parents? no responsibilies?
1 Feb 2010, 19:39 pm
Adams streaks ahead of Fdp
As for quota wit boy kom huis toe, Gary the has been Botha, nai daai ou gaat sy gat sien long before Chilli shakes his bones.
1 Feb 2010, 19:45 pm
daamn one would think the Mullar was the B all and end all of Sharks rugby the way some folk are going on about his departure. he served the sharks well and had some good games but no cause for alarm, his form had dropped and with Mostert on board as well as Sykes etc etc he may have taken the wood in any event.
1 Feb 2010, 20:13 pm
@robdylan:
Big difference between the two scenarios.
WA and LL have valid contracts until end of 2011. These two guys’ contracts ended already.
But it seems that you guys need WA and LL more than we need the two Sharks. So we’ll then just hold on to those release papers until ANYBODY declares those contracts non-binding.
1 Feb 2010, 20:19 pm
@robdylan:
Doubt Manie would have gone that route if Van Zyl and co hadn’t approached or taken the players while still under contract.
1 Feb 2010, 20:55 pm
@WilladieLeeu: would you say the way WP/stormers with Frikkie Erasmus approached the Mossie contract situation is different to the way the Sharks have? And if so can you quickly elaborate, if it not too much to ask.
1 Feb 2010, 21:30 pm
@Hoops:
Which Sharks supporters were saying that?
All the Sharks supporters I have spoken to (including me) before the warm ups were very worried about this year.
The warmups have just increased this.
We have trouble, no argument.
Why does it make you (and others) feel good.
Surely making the semis (or winning like the Bulls did is what should make you feel good?
I am still hopeful. We have a decent pack. Lets see what ahppens.
Every side has lost players overseas at short notice.
1 Feb 2010, 21:44 pm
cmon hoops, i personally congratulated province on the night and the next day.
what makes me laugh is the windgat attitude of some supporters.
sure, times change. but i think it is a bit premature to start proclaiming the demise of the sharks franchise after a warmup game?
also guys calling the sharks mercenaries whilst crowuing about players like jf and habana, duane vermeulen etc etc is a little rich no?
its just rugby mate, banter is what it is supposed to be about.
good luck to the stormers!
1 Feb 2010, 21:47 pm
@Transformation:
Both were wrong in the way it was done.
But the difference is that Fourie waited until his contract was declared non-binding in an arbitration hearing, and for the GLRU to issue the release papers before joining up with the Stormers.
The Sharks approached SARU without their contracts declared the same, to FORCE the GLRU to release them, even though the contracts might still be binding. (AND UNTIL IT IS DECLARED AS SUCH, THEY ARE STILL LIONS PLAYERS) And they’ve played Alberts in two matches even though SARU warned them not to.
Why should the GLRU issue release papers for Alberts and Ludik, when the contracts have not yet been declared the same as Fourie’s? Makes no sense whatso-ever.
They took a fat chance in approaching SARU, and this while at the moment they are still contracted to the GLRU.
1 Feb 2010, 21:53 pm
@Transformation:
But remember that Frikkie Erasmus is also behind this debacle. He is all of these players agents.
1 Feb 2010, 21:59 pm
@WilladieLeeu: mate, what if the contracts are not binding and the lions will not sign the release forms just to spite them?
should they sit out the s14?
or just until after the sharks/lions game is over?
no man, let this come to a head which is exactly what the sharks are aiming for. lets let the judge decide who is right should we?
and all this negativity after we gave you guys henno?
the reality is that you cannot hold onto staff/employees who are intent on leaving and the lions are probably better off without the negative influence in the changeroom or on the practice field.
imagine the comments after the two rebels had been in durbs for a few weeks:
Alberts: “jis, the sea is lekker there in durbs and the sharks girls are always willing to rub in a bit of sunscreen!”
Ludick: “ja, and we had a bigger crowd when they took us around the stadium during the pre-season cleanup than we did last time the lions played province!”
these kind of reports can only lead to jealousy.
which leads to the dark side (sharks) for more leeus.
1 Feb 2010, 22:08 pm
@WilladieLeeu: i’d like to believe this frikkie chap is not dom, so after wangling mossie out of his contract on a technicality, lets agree that he set out to untangle his other two players from the lions. Now what approach do you think frikkie should’ve taked would have been satisfactory to the glru willa and would have expedited the process?
1 Feb 2010, 22:34 pm
@Transformation: They should have approached these players after requesting the GLRU to do so – as SARU regulations stipulate. Then offer the GLRU a transfer fee for these playersp If this was done, none of this shite would have happened.
But they want to take these players without paying. Think the GLRU is correct in expecting a return on their investments. And thats all they want.
2 Feb 2010, 03:39 am
i read with interest and worry at this Muller departure !!!!
It would seem to me that the Sharks are imploding …….( exploding would be external issues dictating circumstaces ) where-as all this strife and upheavel stems from the inside !!
There are a series of events that support this theory……..
Straeli get’s cannned as the Bok’s coach where by all who know the situation can have absolutely no beef..he end’s up getting hired to the Sharks front office ,and get’s the responsibity of then being the chief negotiator for player contract’s ??Huh??
Plumtree get’s top coaches job…..and we have developed “who”
as local players ??
Lose the C.C and beefed the squad ,how exactly ?With two contoversial signee’s in W.A. and L.L. …still not under contract !!!
**** around with Waylon….!!!!
never settle the F.H. situation !!!!
After having coached the Sharks to almost obscurity,shows no hard-ware…get’s uncemoniously dumped Hugh Reece-Whatever then coaches Port Shepstone and follows that to Crusaders !!!His achievement’s are “blank Blank and Blank “..NOW he get’s rehired as an assistant ( ? ) .ON WHAT RECORD !!
With Plums position as the coach to carry Sharks forward tenuious as best..it seems like H.R.E. was brought in as the coach in waiting !! This begs the question of What was Grant Bashford’s job ? If he was the backline coach ,howcome H.R.E. now leap frogs him ?
It is my opinion when the UNION starts defending their coach this is the kiss of death .I have seen it far to often and across too many sporting codes to ignore the signs and warnings .Plum is on the way out …and he has lost heart in coaching the SHARKS . With talk already surfaced about John Mitchell being sucked in as asistant to Plum. (Remember Hugh was only appointed AFTER rumours died that John was coming .Sources tell me THE SHARKS WERE turned dowm by J.M.
Seems to me there are a lot of bad decision’s being made by the Union bosses.. Brian will be retiring soon …and the susession plan is……nothing !! He too has lost the heart to Govern well !!
Seems to me all is not well down in Durb’s ..
Players truely feel they have have no-one at the helm of their ship !!!! While the players blow into the sails of the ship directing massive amount’s of forward momentun ..there is nobody at the helm ??
Leadership bouncers from one player to another ….positional changers are the order of the day …players are continually asked to play out of position .
i ask that those in charge …it must start at the top …start demanding accountability and please start by pointing the finger directly at yourselves .!!!
2 Feb 2010, 04:44 am
@WilladieLeeu:
Here we go again,,,
Too simplistic analysis, you got to assume following:
1. Both players have an agent, the agent(s) are usually lawyers by training too and they all have the copy of the contract included the Sharks
2. The Sharks have their own lawyers as well, Strauli himself is a UK Barister in case you’ve missed it!
3. The FIRST question that will be raised in court is: are the players – if still under contract – still being paid by the GLRU?
4. If the GLRU stopped paying wages at any point to Albert and Ludik but without suspending them with a formal notice to SARU, the contracts are NULL and VOID
As far as we know, no suspension issued by the GLRU nor any notice to SARFU has been published.
2 Feb 2010, 06:30 am
@durbs2atl: it’s better that all of this is coming from you mate than any other non-sharks supporter, because anyone else will be accused of bias & jealousy.
2 Feb 2010, 08:49 am
@Hondo:
Eish, sometimes I wonder why….
The contracts are not the same. FACT. Fourie’s contract was until 2010, and WA and LL signed new contracts 3 months prior to moving to the Sharks until 2011.
The technicality that Mossie got off, does not exist in their contracts.
If so confident, why not then go to Arbitration immediately, rather then trying a fast one and approach SARU? It’s now been 3 months, and neither Erasmus or the Sharks have requested an arbitration or anything.
I get your point of not paying and contract being NULL and VOID. But you need to ask who was in breach of contract first? Did the GLRU stop paying the players while still training with the Lions, or did the pair go AWOL before the GLRU stopped paying them.
The two went AWOL, and after that the GLRU stopped paying them, as ANY employer would do – and that definitely does not make the contract NULL and VOID.
But anyway, Sharks should pay the GLRU a transfer fee for these players and everything will be resolved. Easy as that.
2 Feb 2010, 10:52 am
@durbs2atl:
Vocken brilliant post bru.
You put alots of things into perspective. It now makes sense why the players are scattering like rats.
I wonder who’s idea it was to change the jerseys for this season…maybe a sneaky way to make a bit of cash before the union collapses..
2 Feb 2010, 22:01 pm
@WilladieLeeu:
I did address the issue of stop payments WITHOUT suspending the players for their illegal negotiation with other team while still under contract and without notice to SRFU
In that case the contract is null and void, anything else the boys are in trouble
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All