Muller void must be filled

The Sharks are facing a second row and leadership crisis when Johann Muller leaves for Ulster.

Ironically, on the day the Bulls secured the signature of impressive lock Juandre Kruger to boost their second row, news broke that their closest rivals in recent times were heading in the opposite way.

Muller’s move hasn’t yet been confirmed but it is set to be ratified by the Sharks’ board next month. Even if he isn’t allowed to depart after the Super 14 as his contract only expires at the end of the year, the Bok lock has requested the move and is in all likelihood gone – whether it’s in the middle of the year or at the end.

With his departure the player drain – that has seen the likes of Brad Barritt, BJ Botha, and Frans Steyn among others leave – continues at the union, with few adequate signings replacing the big names who have left before reaching their potential. The Sharks’ backline depth has been severely effected in recent times, and the second row is now looking like another area with insufficient quality to compete at the highest level.

With Gerhard Mostert, Steven Sykes, and Alistair Hargreaves as the remaining locks left after Muller moves to Belfast, the class simply isn’t there if the Sharks hope to claim an elusive Super Rugby title in future. Mostert has potential but is injury-prone and hasn’t completed a full season in recent times, while 36-year-old Albert Van den Bergh also departed for Japan last year.

After Muller leaves, the Sharks will have to buy quality second-rowers – which is easier said than done – otherwise they’re merely an injury or two away from a second row crisis.

Hargreaves has been earmarked as Muller’s direct replacement as lineout linchpin, and although he came with big wraps after leading the country at age-group level, at 23 he hasn’t yet delivered on his potential. Hargreaves’ age suggests he does have time on his side on a personal level, but from the Sharks’ perspective John Plumtree and co will be hoping 2010 is the year he delivers as he makes his way through the senior ranks.

The Sharks will realise locks can, and need to be bought to replace Muller. However, what is more difficult to acquire is leadership, which is one of Muller’s greatest strengths.

John Smit is current captain of the side, with Muller and Stefan Terblanche his deputies. With the senior Boks set to be rested for the Currie Cup, that rules Smit out, and at 34 Terblanche is also in the twilight years of his career.

In the remainder of the squad, there are no real leaders, and all championship winning teams are characterised by influential captains and senior players. If the Sharks don’t move quickly and these problem areas aren’t rectified there is no reason why the Sharks won’t suffer severely in the near future.

By Grant Ball

Rx Viagra
Us Viagra
Viagra Rx
Cialis Uk
Cialis Us
Uk Cialis
Uk Viagra
Viagra Us
Viagra Uk
Cialis Rx
Rx Levitra
Levitra Uk
Cialis Buy
Uk Levitra
Buy Viagra
Us Levitra
Buy Cialis
Viagra Buy
Viagra Sale
Sale Viagra
Levitra Buy
Viagra Uses
Sale Cialis
Viagra Free
Viagra Drug
Pill Viagra
Drug Viagra
Viagra Pill
Buy Levitra
Drug Cialis
Cialis Cost
Cost Viagra
Cialis Drug
Cialis Sale
Cialis Pill
Cialis Free
Viagra Cost
Cialis Uses
Cialis Order
Cialis Sales
Buy N Viagra
Cialis No Rx
Viagra Sales
In Uk Viagra
Viagra Price
Cialis In Uk
Levitra Drug
Buy 1 Cialis
Cialis Price
Cialis Pills
Levitra Sale
Levitra Pill
Viagra Uk 32
Order Cialis
Buy P Viagra
Levitra Free
Levitra Cost
Buy Viagra 1
Sale Levitra
Cialis Costs
Viagra Cheap
Drug Levitra
Cialis Cheap
Sales Cialis
Cheap Viagra
Viagra Drugs
Sales Viagra
Viagra In Uk
Cialis Drugs
Cost Levitra
Viagra Costs
Viagra Pills
Pills Cialis
Pills Viagra
Cheap Cialis
Price Viagra
Price Cialis
Order Viagra
Viagra Order
No Rx Viagra
Buy Uk Viagra
Buy Viagra 32
Buy Viagra Uk
To Buy Viagra
Cialis Canada
2 Free Viagra
Cialis Europe
Viagra Canada
Levitra Order
Cheap Levitra
Price Levitra
Canada Cialis
Levitra Price
Prices Viagra
Europe Cialis
Re Buy Viagra
Viagra For Uk
Canada Viagra
Prices Cialis
Levitra Sales
Online Cialis
Levitra Pills
Viagra Europe
Viagra Prices
Otc Uk Viagra
Cialis To Buy
Buy Cialis Uk
Buy Cialis Re
Levitra Drugs
Cialis Uk Buy
Cialis Orders
Viagra Uk Buy
Cialis Online
Viagra To Buy
Buy Cialis We
Levitra Cheap
Viagra Buy It
6 Free Viagra
Cialis Prices
1 Drug Cialis
Levitra In Uk
Viagra Buy Uk
Order Levitra
Buy Cialis 32
Buy Cialis Fda
Mail Uk Viagra
Online Levitra
Viagra From Uk
Buy Cialis Now
Canada Levitra
Prices Levitra
Fake Uk Viagra
Rx Corp Cialis
Viagra Onlines
Buy Now Viagra
Levitra Online
424 Buy Viagra
Buy Now Cialis
Order Viagra 1
Buy Levitra Uk
Buy Levitra Us
Buy Say Viagra
Viagra Sale Uk
Buy Viagra Ups
Viagra Uk Sale
Buy Viagra Now
Viagra Pill Uk
Viagra Uk News
Levitra Canada
From Uk Viagra
Viagra On Sale
Viagra Cost Uk
Cost Of Cialis
Cost Of Viagra
Cialis Ed Drug
The Buy Cialis
Levitra Prices
Cialis Sale Uk
Viagra 50mg Uk
Us Meds Viagra
Sale Uk Viagra
Sale Of Viagra
Viagra And Buy
Buy Line Viagra
Cost Low Viagra
Cialis For Sale
Buy Levitra Now
Cialis For Free
Viagra Price Uk
Buy Pill Viagra
Viagra Pills Uk
Buy Real Viagra
Buy Sale Viagra
Viagra Cheap Uk
Cialis Discount
Viagra Capsules
Order Viagra Uk
Uk Viagra Sales
Cut Viagra Pill
Cost Of Levitra
Buy File Viagra
Buy Cialis Site
Buy Cialis Soft
Cialis Sales Uk
Viagra Best Buy
Cialis Sale Usa
Buy Cialis Pill
Cialis Price Uk
Cialis Pharmacy
Buy Cialis Line
Order Cialis Uk
New Drug Cialis
Viagra Sales Uk
Cialis Uk Sales
Buy Site Viagra
Viagra Sale Buy
Viagra Rx Cheap
Cialis Low Cost
Cialis Uk Cheap
Levitra Cost Of
Buy Deal Viagra
Us Viagra Cheap
Order Uk Viagra
4.26 Buy Cialis
Cheap Viagra Nz
Discount Viagra
Cheap Viagra Bi
Viagra For Free
Cheap Viagra St
Cheap Viagra Uk
Price On Viagra
The Drug Viagra
The Buy Levitra
For Sale Viagra
Cheap Uk Viagra
Viagra The Pill
Viagra Jelly Uk
Viagra For Sale
Rx Giant Cialis
Sales Of Viagra
Viagra Low Cost
Cheap Cialis Uk
Cheap Uk Cialis
Cheap Cialis 32
Sales Uk Viagra
Red Pill Viagra
By Viagra In Uk
Price Of Cialis
Buy Viagra Inte
Buy Viagra Line
Buy Viagra Onli
Pharmacy Cialis
Buy Viagra Ebay
222 Pill Viagra
Cialis Cost Low
20mg Buy Cialis
Discount Cialis
Buy Viagra 50mg
Viagra Pharmacy
Pharmacy Viagra
4.24 Buy Viagra
Viagra Order Uk
Cheep Viagra Uk
Viagra Discount
Try Cialis Free
Cialis Best Buy
Buy Viagra Pill
Buy Viagra Sale
Uk Cialis Sales
Buy Soft Cialis
Price Of Viagra
Viagra Uk Sites
Viagra Uk Cheap
Levitra Sale 32
Viagra Uk Sales
Levitra Onlines
Low Cialis Cost
Viagra Uk Forum
Low Cost Viagra
Viagra To Order
Levitra On Sale
Best Buy Viagra
Low Cost Cialis
Cialis Uk Online
Pharmacy Levitra
Viagra Drug Test
Pfizer Viagra Uk
Cialis Low Price
Viagra Drug Name
The Drug Levitra
Discount Levitra
Womens Viagra Uk
Buy Viagra In Uk
Levitra Sex Pill
Viagra Discounts
Cheap Viagra Uks
Viagra Drug Info
Levitra Sales Uk
Viagra Pfizer Uk
Pill Sale Viagra
Low Cost Levitra
Australia Viagra
Viagra For Cheap
Buy Viagra Where
Levitra Cost Low
Viagra Best Used
Viagra Blue Pill
But Cialis In Us
Cialis 5mg Cheap
Cialis Toll Free
Buy 10 Mg Cialis
Soft Pill Cialis
Viagra Buy Do Nu
Viagra Overnight
1low Cost Cialis
Best Pill Viagra
Levitra Shop Buy
Uk Viagra Prices

141 Comments

• 1.whatever: Reply to this comment

Don’t think this Dragon will be missed!

• 2.ThaiCheetah: Reply to this comment

Seems like a great loss for the Sharks, not a particularly serious loss for SA Rugby…

• 3.Transformation: Reply to this comment

surely the correct words are “affected” and “elusive?”.

• 4.posts: Reply to this comment

Sharks have suffered for a long time already can’t see what will be different in the future.

• 5.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Get that chequebook out, Brian van Zyl.

• 6.grant10: Reply to this comment

seems they are signing Dollie .

• 7.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Hargreaves will come to the party dont worry.

This lad is hugely talented and with all the game time he will get now, I expect him to become one of the leading locks by the end of this year’s Currie Cup.

• 8.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

The Sharks recruiting has been piss poor the last 3 years and boy has it ‘cost’ them.

• 9.nh7: Reply to this comment

just hope this does not start a slide and end up like the LIONS.

but remenber BLZCK & WHITE NOTHING ELSE MATTERS…..

• 10.Predawn: Reply to this comment

There has never been a better time for The Sharks to start pulling those young players from The Sharks Academy.

No more excuses. Homegrown talent is the better and more satisfying option. Ask the Bulls.

• 11.grant10: Reply to this comment

i agree with Pissant….give Hargreaves a full go…he will deliver

• 12.Predawn: Reply to this comment

I thought Van den Bergh was off to Japan this year? My brother in law plays touch rugby with him so that was the last I heard.

• 13.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: ja…he is not with sharks anymore

• 14.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Guess he’s off there then.

• 15.toughnrumble: Reply to this comment

With all due respect to Muller, this is hardly a ‘crisis’. Muller is a solid player and definitely an admirable grafter, but he is not in the same league as Matfield, Botha or Bekker. He’s a player who is not quite physically up to the enforcer role and not quite athletic enough to excel in the lineout king role, but is just generally solid.

In Mostert, Sykes and Hargreaves the sharks have 3 of the most talented youngsters in the country and I think these three will all be ahead of Muller in terms of ability by the end of the season. I’m far more concerned about our lack of quality at 6, 10 and 12 to be honest.

• 16.robdylan: Reply to this comment

check Sharksworld for the rebuttal to this fanciful nonsense.

• 17.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@robdylan:

Check out durbs2atl post on the other Muller thread. Excellent!

• 18.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: will do, thanks

• 19.grant10: Reply to this comment

@robdylan: your view on the imminent Dollie acquisition Rob?

• 20.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@robdylan: a little one-sided, that. Completely glosses over the huge progress that’s been made since the dark days of the Putt era. One would be forgiven for not realising that we won a Currie Cup and made a Super 14 final, reading that

• 21.SimiJan: Reply to this comment

This certainly isn’t a second row crisis. It will be a shame to see him go, he’s a Sharks man through and through and an exceptional grafter, but he is replaceable. The perfect replacement, positionally and in terms of leadership is already in the ranks, Ali Hargreaves will be big this year…

• 22.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@grant10: my view is that I ain’t heard of it :) Can you point me to a credible source?

• 23.gunther: Reply to this comment

@robdylan:

G”eaking news” 10 is a very credible source…

he is so credible that he believes everything he hears and reads…

Reuters is missing out….

• 24.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@gunther: have since found out that the story comes from Asfak Mohamed… that dude is so way off base he wouldn’t even crack the nod here at Keo :)

I’m trying to get my hands on the article now, since the stone age dinosaurs at Independent New Media Limited haven’t seen fit to put it on the Internet.

• 25.stew: Reply to this comment

Sharks need a new coach

• 26.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@robdylan: Just read your article on Sharksworld. Good one.

• 27.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@stew: but who? I’m thinking of applying, but doubt the old boys club will have me.

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Thanks dude. It’s a little thing I do called “research” :) Doesn’t take too much extra time. You should sign up there and join the discussion.

• 28.gunther: Reply to this comment

@robdylan:

ahhh Afkak Mohamed…

• 29.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

Sharks side to start against Chiefs:

Beast
    Bissie
    Smit
    Mostert
    Muller
    Daniels
    Deysel

McCleod
    Meyer
    JPP
    Swanepoel
    Jacobs
    Ndungane
    Terrablanche

• 30.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@robdylan: I enjoy debating with Stormer ‘pundits’ rather. I’ll be sure to read the articles though.

Hey Rob have you heard Beast and Terrablanche have been dropped from the Sharks starting 15. Grant10 told me so it must be true!

• 31.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What is wrong with you people.

Stop letting your Islamophobia hang out everywhere.

• 32.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): oh yeah… I also heard that Keegan Daniel will be captain for the Super 14 and that Odwa Ndungane will be the starting flyhalf :)

To give Grant his due, though, the Dollie story does appear to have some legs. I’ll put up my take on it shortly.

We also have a fair few Stormers guys over at Sharksworld… in fact, about half the admin team are WP ouens.

• 33.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

You are trying hard to be funny……unfortunately you don’t cut it !!!!

Stick to your one eyed views, next thing you will be telling us Dollie is the best thing since sliced bread, after ridiculing him previously.

I by the way think he is better than anything you got there, especially after Pienaar has made it clear he wants to play 9.

For the record I think you are an egotistical idiot, have you actually played the game ??…..even 5th tean for Collegians ???……ever ????

• 34.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Powerful front row and the pace in the backline is frightenning !!!!

Go Sharks !!!

• 35.HulkSmash: Reply to this comment

Don’t the sharks have 3 SA u20 locks in the academy? Muller hasn’t been great and was i danger of losing his place anyway.

• 36.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Of course you think Dollie is better than anything the Sharks have currently, you’re a moron.

Have I played rugby, what a stupid question. Of course I have, but not professionally.

• 37.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Ya our backline requires a bit of work, but I’ve never denied this. With Ruan and Ludick returning it should improve.

• 38.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

So the entire Sharks brains trust must all be morons then for wanting to sign him…….geez , I wonder who the real moron is ??

• 39.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@HulkSmash: Sharks have 8 locks in the system who have all played for the Baby Boks.

Sykes, Mostert, Hargreaves, Jandre Marais, Peet Marais, Luvo Lusaseni, Kene Okafor and Johan Schoonbie

• 40.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: If he is being signed, it is for depth and future purposes. If you think he’s going to walk into the Sharks S14 starting line-up over Meyer, Monty and later Pienaar, then there really is no hope for you.
    And by your statement “I by the way think he is better than anything you got there, especially after Pienaar has made it clear he wants to play 9″ it seems you think he should. Once again, I say to you, moron.

• 41.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Once agin I say to you that the Sharks would not be going to the lenghts they are to contract him if they are happy with Pienaar , Meyer and Dumond….how much cover do you want ??

Dolly has stated that he sees this as a stepping stone to eventual;y playing for the Boks……so yeah I think he will definetely feature otherwise just a waste of money…..not !!……shake your head ….your eye balls are stuck , you obviuosly can’t see that well…..or is it a bigger problem …..idiot springs to mind !!!

• 42.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): @justrugby: you guys are both starting to look just a little silly now. Possible to debate the issue without the schoolyard name-calling?

• 43.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@robdylan: \

You are right, no more from me !!

• 44.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Let me just re-iterate the idiotic conclusions you have been making in the last 24 hrs:

1stly that Heinke should start for the boks instead of Beast, despite being injured for most of 2009.
    2ndly that Dolly will start most S14 games this season as he is the best option the Sharks have.
    3rdly the clincher, that Beast will warm the bench for the Sharks in the S14 and Jannie will be 1st choice 1.

Now those are absurd conclusions to draw from some pre-season friendlies and some transfer speculation. So I disagree with you and if you can find anyone else, other than Grant10 (I believe Carstens is a better 3 than Smit and Cilliers is a better option at 1 than Jannie and am in fact also retarded) who believes what you are saying I will be surprised.

• 45.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@robdylan: I know, but seriously?

• 46.Leon Schuster: Reply to this comment

Honestly, is this debate still going on?

• 47.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: @Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): just walk away from the keyboard and take a deep breath :) You’re both good guys, no need to get so worked up.

It’s just a game… (YEAH RIGHT!)

• 48.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Again you are selective in what you post to get YOUR point across

I never said Heinke must start , I said if I had MY preference for a Bok front row it would Henke, JS and BJ !!!

All things being equal yes I belive a fit Heinke is a better LH than Beast. I am not saying that Beast is not a good player and if he is in the Boks starting side i won’t lose any sleep.

WShere did I say that Dollie will start most S14 games ?? I said he would feature , otherwise a waste of money !!

I never ever said Beast would be on the bench for the S14 ??where do you get that from ?? I said that Beast was dropped for the Stormers game never mentioned a thing about the S14 !!!

Where did I mention anything about JDUP playing LH during the S14????

If you cannot print fact then do not comment.

I promised Robdylan that I would not resort to name calling……..but print facts pal, cos i’m getting seriously pissed off whith the wrong quotes !!!

• 49.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@Leon Schuster: @robdylan: Look, it’s not a debate, I’m simply calling out JR and Grant10 on what must be some of the most ridiculous rugby conclusions made on this website for a long time. And there are a lot.

I mean does any of this make sense?
    Heinke over Beast
    Dollie to start S14
    Jannie will oust Beast from no. 1
    Carstens is a better 3 then Smit
    Cilliers is a bettr option at LH than Jannie

I’m sorry all that in less than 24 hrs, from so called knowledgeable and respected bloggers. I can’t just walk away from that kind of propaganda.

• 50.robdylan: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): fair enough, but leave the “moron” comments out… just inflames matters further

• 51.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Called out again. Now you were replying directly to a post about Beast. You concluded that he was dropped for the Sharks. Here it is in black and white.

54. justrugbyReply to this comment :
    February 1st, 2010 at 4:14 pm

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

LOL….me stupid !!!!, he wa dropped for the Sharks moron !!!! Heinke imo best LH we have !! but of course you wouldnt see that !!!!!!!I said WHEN have no better then go and fetch and play the best……… read properley !!!!!!!!

No advocating picking on mass from overseas……..geeez you read and see what you want….. dingbat !!!

So basically you think because Beast didn’t start a pre-season friendly he is “dropped” – a bit silly.

Then regarding Dollie:

“I by the way think he is better than anything you got there, especially after Pienaar has made it clear he wants to play 9.”

This concludes that Dollie will be the best no. 10 in our S14 squad – madness

• 52.justrugby: Reply to this comment

you are seriously blinkered !!

So where did I say that Beast won’t start thhe S14 ??, I said he was dropped for the STORMERS game ….fact , warm up game or not….he did not start…. fact !! Never mentioned a word about the S14 , that’s YOUR conclusion !!

How does me saying that I believe Dollie is better than anything you got equate to me saying he will startt the S14, that your mngt must deccide, my opinion is that he has more talent than dumont and from what little I have seen, Meyer as well !! As for him starting never mentioned anything like that !!

Where have i said anything about JDUP ??

Get your facts right and stop making your own conclusions and trying to get it exposed as mine !!

• 53.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: cmaon jr.

how can a player be dropped from a warmup match?

warmup matches are about testing combos and trying new things.

you know that and i know that. to even suggest that beast was dropped was a bit silly imo.

that said, the name calling is not good JuniorRutman :lol:

• 54.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@justrugby: Well quite simply you believed Beast was dropped “for the Sharks” and that was for JDUP at loosehead. If you believe Dollie is the best the Sharks have and that we aren’t buying him for depth, then surely you believe he SHOULD start?

But whateva you are back tracking fast, at least you know you were not thinking clearly.

• 55.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Hey Rangerman, good to have you back. JR is seriously trying to avoid all those silly things he said yesterday! He’s desperately looking for loopholes, like “he was dropped for the friendly” and “Dollie is the best but I don’t thin he should start”. Its quite funny to see him trying to squirm his way out!

• 56.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

2010 ain’t gonna be our year that’s for sure. It’ll be a bloody miracle if end mid-table the way things are going. Hey look everyone a humble non-arrogant Sharks fan! Amazing.

• 57.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): howdy man.

i dont have the time to banter today, have a good one guys.

• 58.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: Everybody loves a pessimist.

• 59.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: :lol:

LMAO!!!

• 60.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Ya, its getting over-board. JS not nearly as bad as G10 though. Now that guy is plain deluded.

• 61.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

Cheers guys, and JR, sorry if I went a bit aggressive, I just disagree with you that: Dollie is the best 10 at the Sharks currently; that Beast is dropped for Jannie Dup and that Heinke should be bok 1st choice.

Is that correct? Our have I put words in your mouth again. Anyway over and out.

• 62.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

junior rutman….lmao

mini reverse….

• 63.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):

Who’s better than Dollie ?, Dumont?, Meyer ?? Cry me a river, I would play Dollie before both of those !!!

Strange that the Sharks want him so badly ??
    Must be happy with the current crop of FH’s then hey !!!

Bottom line it’s your and the Sharks problem so I actually don’t give a continental !!!

Stormers still have issues at 9 and 10 …..now that worries me ?? Not your blinkered views, like water off a ducks back !!!

• 64.grant10: Reply to this comment

Ratel Brussow….and Ostrichman…. love it….a laugh a minute…

Go sharks….!

• 65.grant10: Reply to this comment

seems i cant turn my back for a minute and its G10 this and G10 that….bunch of babies….

Not my fault Smit is a kak3 and plum experiments by dropping beast to play jannie kan nie duplessis at loosehead?

Blame plum man….and so sorry Ruan dont want the 10 jersey and now you boys want Dollie….talk to Plum…he is in charge ,,,not JR or Me?

My take on Smit has never changed….kak 3….very good when fit 2….simple.

• 66.grant10: Reply to this comment

agree with JR …Dollie better than Dumond….i like the look of S Meyer….he deserves time to claim the jersey.

• 67.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: dollie is better than dumond on what basis grant?

how many s14 matches has he played?

• 68.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: same amount as Dumond?

• 69.grant10: Reply to this comment

and to be honest i have not seen enough of Dumond or Dollie to make a comparison…just really playing with my best friend Ratel Brussow.

• 70.grant10: Reply to this comment

but see old Ratel was full of prune juice today….sprouting on and having a full o at JR and I….

Very interesting oke that ratel….i reckon he is a bit physchotic….forgot his medication today….grumpy sod!

• 71.grant10: Reply to this comment

at least with ostrichman we know it is sleep deprivation….and a huge dose of naievety and plain stupidity….and throw in the blinkered head in the sand Ostrich flu and one can understand…..

But Ratel….no real excuse there…just plain insanity….

• 72.grant10: Reply to this comment

and ratel loves to say what he believes we thinking….i find it so funny.

G10says….Smit is a kak 3….

Ratel says…G10 says smit is a kak 3 and if we move him to 2 g10 will say drop smit for bissy…..

Insane , paranoid and a little dumb….

but to be fair to the old Ratel….he probably right….Smit should retire…time up i reckon.

• 73.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: dumond has played s14 for the sharks mate.

has dollie played s14?

when was the last time you saw dollie play? i am just asking on what basis you state this as a fact as i havent seen dollie play since he was booted from wp and sent to boland.

a bit like dumond (who i dont rate all that highly) ending up at the valke dont you think?

• 74.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok, i see you were just spinning for bass.

but now you are sounding a bit like you are stuck in a rut.

Rutman? ja, i think it fits :lol:

• 75.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: see 69….i agree…just dont know enouh about them….i know i wasnt too impressed the last 2 games i saw with Dumond….but to be fair it was behind a turbo reverse pack.

• 76.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 75 LOL

beach time…cheers Ostrichman

Go Sharks..

• 77.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: haha, if you had your way we would have seen smit retired before we won the BIL series and the 3n.

lunacy.

but once you are in a rut grant, i will give it to you, you dont try and turn the wheels. you just keep sliding along :lol:

• 78.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: The last time I saw Dollie play Ranger was in the under 21′s. I think it was that long time back. Not sure if he has ever played in a S14. So no-one can compare him to Dumond who I don’t rate either but Dollie? Why are we getting him? Not so sure if that is the right thing. I would play Meyer at FH until Ruan is over that op.

• 79.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 77

ja…he is over the hill i am afraid….a liability…and deep down you know it….but you a sentimental oke…nothing wrong with it…just dont cry when you lose Bissy , and a few games!

Outta here..

• 80.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: :lol: they must have been turbo reversing over your forwards when they won a turnover on the wp line eh?

keep watching grant, keep watching buddy.

p.s. do you think any of the improved spirit in the stormers camp can be attributed to lukes departure? i see bekker seems to think so.

• 81.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Puma: ja, lets see how he goes puma.

@grant10: haha, says the king of sentimentality. give us another speech about luke being the messiah of non racialism and peace and love and and and grant.

your FAVOURITE FAVOURITE FAVOURITE all time superhero isnt he grant? :lol:

sentimental i am. sentimental about winning BIL series and the 3n :lol:

enjoy the beach and say hi to schalk would you?

• 82.Rebels_Shark: Reply to this comment

Same guys same ignorance!

Grant why would Bismarck leave, he is the first choice hooker at the Sharks? Smit is being played at 3 as per the national coaches request!

As I stated earlier, Dollie started two games for a club rugby side, Quaynbeans 1st XV. He was then dropped to the 2nds and subsequently disappeared. So much for playing his way into the Brumbies. And you guys are touting him as a S14 player!

• 83.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 81 – What you think of Meyer Ranger?

• 84.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Puma/Ranger/Ratel

I’m a little concerned about the stories on this site of a lack of team spirit in the Sharks camp. Even if you don’t have the best skills in the game you can go a long way towards overcoming other sides with a good team spirit/effort. I’m not sure how much of this is true but you guys are nearer the source than I am. Is this indeed the case?

• 85.Puma: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: Howzit Bananaboy, I have heard nothing mate. Just read what I see here about that stuff. Only a few here saying it and mostly the same few. So not really sure at all.

Have to wait until the game against the Chiefs to be sure.

Also read that all the Boks in the squad all had a full 4 week break. So maybe why they are not so ready yet. Talking about the conditioning part as well.

I don’t think we will get a semi spot this year and that has nothing to do with our front row at all. More worried about our centre and FH postions. Also don’t our wing Odwa. I would play Mvovo to be honest. He was great in the CC.

• 86.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma: Sorry 2nd last line meant. Also don’t thin our wing Odwa should start.

• 87.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma: another typo, sorry end of the day here..lol. thin – think

• 88.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Puma:
    The thing I remember about Dollie is that he has tons of pace, and has the ability to get his line away, something Dumond is not able to do, the fact that Dumond has played S14 means nothing, it was out of despeartion, little else.

I think dollie could be an interesting option, don’t write him off just yet !!!

He is small though so might battle in S14, but lets see.

Personally i think the Sharks should get Butch back until the youngsters come through !!

• 89.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Puma:

Bissy, JPP, Beast ,Deysel,kanko in great shape, JS and Willem Alberts will need to play catch up !!

• 90.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Puma: what little i have seen i like puma, hopefully he can fit well into the side.

we need him to do well.

@bananaboy: i have heard no such reports barring here on keo…from wp fans :lol:

i take it as a sign of respect.

• 91.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

Believe what you want, you will be the dissapointed one !!

• 92.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 80

Spirit in Stormers camp seems very good…as it was in the CC under LW…

bET YOU SHARKS WOULD LOVE TO HAVE lw AT 6 IN THAT CURRENT PACK OF YOURS …BE HONEST NOW??

Sorry caps

• 93.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: ja, and to think butch asked for a 2 year contract from bj van zyl in 2007 dec and was refused.

what a joke and a sad way to treat a true sharks hero.

anyways, i am off all. rugby practice.

tjorts.

• 94.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 81…My all time favorite Bob Skinstad….then LW..

• 95.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: haha, you keep believing the “breaking news” mate :lol:

@grant10: no thanks, we discarded him once already. cancer in the team.

gotta go guys, stay as cool as the cucumbers you are :lol:

• 96.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Rebels_Shark: Not sure…ask Bissy …you guys are there…ask Rob Dylan about his talks with Toulon, Bulls and others….perhaps he doesent want to be there anymore? Not sure.

I dont know much about Dollie….seems he is on the sharks shopping list…ask Plum why?

• 97.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: haha, you keep believing the “breaking news” mate :lol:

@grant10: no thanks, we discarded him once already. cancer in the team.

gotta go guys, stay as cool as the cucumbers you are :lol:

and lmao!

• 98.Puma: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 88 – JR, I remember seeing Dollie in the under 21′s. He was actually superb then. Then nothing came of it since. Not too sure about him playing at this level. Then like you say never write off a player. Just have my doubts mate.

• 99.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

You get the article ?

• 100.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: we agree…Butch a superstar….how sharks lost him,bj,f steyn, barritt,

Jeez guys!!

• 101.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: That is good news Ranger. Also heard he is a big strong player like Butchie. We always done well with big strong FHs. With Butch and Honiball.

• 102.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: yeah…thanks…you should paste it here boet

• 103.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 93 – Ranger that was just very, very daft of the Sharks to not give Butch that 2 year contract. We sure could do with him now.

• 104.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Puma:

Yip, not much to go on since the u21′s….but the Cape Times reported that the Sharks are in negotiation with him to play for them in the S14, I will “watch this space” as they say !!

• 105.grant10: Reply to this comment

there are more headlines i want to see…

Smit reverts to 2 ….calls it a day at 3……..

BJ heads to stormers

CJ heads to Bulls

JDV back to Cape Town

Frans Steyn heads to Joburg…

France and England to tighten up on foreign players….

Joe van Niekerk heads to Joburg

Ronnie Cooke to bolster sharks

Marius Joubert to lend sharks a hand…dreams are good friends

• 106.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

I would not give Ratel the satisfaction……let him believe what he wants !!

Next I will be accused of “doctoring” newspsper reports !!

• 107.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 92 – Grant mate, Don’t think any Sharks will want LW back mate. There was trouble at the Sharks when he was there.

I feel good for him playing overseas now. Best for him. Think his dad had a huge influence over him too. Getting away from SA was a good thing for him mate.

• 108.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

LOL, well not impossible !!

Add…….. Butch ends sharks FH woes !!

• 109.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma: well i wish him all the best….great player…hardly ever injured….a true warrior…..

Very proud that we had him here ….

• 110.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: may very well happen that ….wouldnt be surprised at all if butch heads home….my favorite that oke…

• 111.Puma: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 104 – Maybe there is no-one else. I would play Meyer there for now. See how he does. Heard he is a big oke too. Good hands and defence. Sharks play well with a FH like that. I really would just give Meyer the time there see what he can do.

• 112.grant10: Reply to this comment

cheers …till later

• 113.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma: 111

agree

• 114.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@justrugby:

Nah !!!! change that to…….. Butch ends Stormers FH woes :)

• 115.race of tan: Reply to this comment

This is due to the national coach ignoring Muller as a player and a leader.

• 116.Puma: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: :lol: Wishful thinking…hehe.

• 117.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Puma:

He certainly deserves a chance to prove himself, absolutely !!

• 118.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10: 109 – He was a good player Grant and probably still is. Just good for him to get out of SA for now. Do him the world of good really.

• 119.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Puma:

LOL !!

• 120.Puma: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 117 – I hope he is our answer to FH. Think that is where we will struggle once again this year. Remember Ruan got injured last year and Fransie had to play there. Fransie really no FH but awesome inside centre and FB. Such a pity Sharks let him go. HUGE pity really for SA rugby too.

• 121.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@race of tan:

I tend to agree, I somehow think Muller is going to leave a bigger hole than many Sharks fans think, a year or two ago Muller was playing great rugby, he will be more missed at the Sharks than for the Boks though !!

He just did not seem the same player over the last year…..digruntled is a word that comes to mind !!

• 122.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Listen guys don’t tell anybody but I am a bit of a Binnelanders and Egoli fan………. so till later !! :)

• 123.Puma: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 122 – JR, Okay then :roll:

• 124.Puma: Reply to this comment

Cheers all out of here.

• 125.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: I would say injured rather than disgruntled. He spent last year in the gym and not on the field.

He is realising that PDV & co are overlooking him so why not go and make some real money.

• 126.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009: Gots to agree with disgruntled, how many players and staff have the Sharks, and, are the Sharks in process of loosing, rumours are picking up over the Duppies brothers seeking greener pastures, Frans Steyn left (which idiot allowed that to happen), how was Jacques Fourie not signed for the Sharks, Plumtree seems to be getting out, the list is growing quite rapidly……I blame one man for all this.

• 127.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Great. Now the Guppies will be forced to find a lock that actually works on the field. Their shocking performance at the rucks and inability to get gop-forward can be directly attributed to Muller I believe. Ditto for teh boks when he played for them.

• 128.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: You ar probably not too far wrong – gee Straueli managing badly – who would have thought? What a surprise!!

• 129.kevin w: Reply to this comment

What about Deysel? Is he tall enough and will mean more mobile and Keegan Daniel can be accommodated.

Jaques Botes has captained the side before.

• 130.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Iagine if the NRU had Criag Jameson in Dinosaur van Zyl’s chair and **** Muir as his deputy.

All that’s missing is a Natal coach and Sharks academy youngsters to fill the gaps left by the foreign imports and Freestate inbreds that only want to play in Dirtbin for the money.

The Sharks are lacking fire and purpose. Get rid of the fencesitters and mercenaries and start nurturing our homegrown talent.

• 131.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Imagine if the NRU had Craig Jameson in Dinosaur van Zyl’s chair and **** Muir as his deputy.

All that’s missing is a Natal coach and Sharks academy youngsters to fill the gaps left by the foreign imports and Freestate inbreds that only want to play in Dirtbin for the money.

The Sharks are lacking fire and purpose. Get rid of the fencesitters and mercenaries and start nurturing our homegrown talent.

• 132.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: I Wouldnt write them off Predawn….a lot of quality there still…and pride.

Super 14 not won in Jan …

• 133.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

Would be nice to see more KZN youngsters. The Bulls are a South African success story and they pride themselves on their homegrown knuckledragging little Bulls. Good for them I say.

I saw Waylon Murray in CNA at the Pavilion in December and he’s looking fit. Hope the rest did him some good.

• 134.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: waylon looks in great shape…

W Alberts and Smit look a month away from full fitness still

I still rate sharks chances…..hope they pleasantly surprise.

Agree about the home talent….need to trust there boys from the academy a bit more.

• 135.Predawn: Reply to this comment

A change of leadership is just the medicine The Sharks need.

We don’t want the NRU to become another eThekwini Municipality…

• 136.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: Yes, lets start by putting pressure on the Sharks management to get rid of straeuli, he should have been sent to robin island after ‘kamp staaldraad’, how can he have such a hold on the Sharks, every year he’s in a different position with more and more pull, and the higher his position the more senior players and staff we loose….I blame all SA problems on straeuli and eskom. They should merge.

• 137.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: I hear Straulli is trying to sign Dollie for Super 14,must be desperate…

• 138.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

Blah blah blah, Sharkies gonna surprise people this year.

• 139.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: …maybe he’ll do better to ask for ER from the Lions,can treat it as a swap then like Chavanga for Mossie ;)

• 140.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: The Pavilon? Do people still go there? I thought Gateway was the next big thing!

• 141.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@grant10: To blame losing those players on the Sharks is unfair! Bj saw Euro signs, so did Butch, while Barritt is a glory hunter who wants to be in a national side so much he’d happily sell his soul to play for the Poms and Frans Steyn had no reason when he is on the verge of greatness as Bok 15, he’s just a greedy bugger!

In that case should we blame Rassie for JdV going? Quit your Sharks bashing, I’m getting sick of it!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.