Grant preferred at pivot
9 Feb 2010
Peter Grant will play flyhalf this Saturday as Willem de Waal isn’t match-fit.
De Waal struggled in last Saturday’s warm-up match against Boland, his first appearance in competitive rugby since July 2009. While he’s been cleared medically, Keo.co.za has it on good authority the Stormers coaches aren’t willing to risk him in the Super 14 opener against the Lions.
De Waal needs more game time, albeit at a lower level. The coaches aren’t willing to start him in such an important game against the Lions, as the jump in intensity could do his confidence more harm than good.
Although the Vodacom Cup is yet to get underway, Western Province will play the SWD Eagles in a friendly match this weekend. Those omitted from the Stormers’ match 22 will feature for WP, and De Waal should be among them.
Coach Allister Coetzee told this website on Saturday he’s fortunate to have a settled 10-12-13 combination in Grant, Juan de Jongh and Jaque Fourie, the same trio that faced the Force and Sharks in the Tri-Series. In a subsequent interview, he explained how the Stormers couldn’t go into the Super 14 with a player short on match-fitness.
Grant will spearhead the Stormers’ backline this Saturday, although it’s believed that when De Waal is ready, Grant will move back to No 12. De Jongh will be the unlucky loser in this situation, with Springbok Jaque Fourie holding a monopoly on the No 13 position.
De Jongh and Fourie formed a solid partnership in the warm-ups against the Force and Sharks, but the game at Ellis Park will require a lift in intensity. As Coetzee explains, the Lions are an unpredictable bunch, a fact that’s amplified with Carlos Spencer likely to start at flyhalf.
‘We saw just how physical they can be during the Currie Cup, and how they love to place you under pressure with that rush defence,’ Coetzee said. ‘Spencer will be a handful on attack. He has a few tricks up his sleeve and has plenty of experience to boot, but while we need to shut him down on attack, we can’t afford to forget about the other dangermen in the Lions team.
‘Earl Rose, Doppies la Grange, Alwyn Hollenbach and Deon van Rensburg are all dangerous players, and as a rule you can never write the Lions off. Our defence has been excellent in the warm-ups, but it will be another test this Saturday. We have to back our systems to withstand their all-out attack.’
Grant is one of the better backline defenders in South Africa while Fourie is known for his sharp decision-making in the outside channels. The possible weak link is De Jongh, a natural No 13 who has no experience at No 12 beyond the Currie Cup and no Super Rugby experience to speak of.
The 21-year-old is an aggressive defender with a robust attitude belying his small stature, but could find the Super 14 vastly different to the Currie Cup. He’s a talented player who will need to adjust quickly if he’s going to survive.
Apart from Grant, the Stormers are short on No 12 options given Paul Bosch’s elbow dislocation in the win over Boland. Coetzee has confirmed Bosch will be sidelined for six to eight weeks while Morgan Newman will only be available for selection after the fourth round of competition.
By Jon Cardinelli

60 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
9 Feb 2010, 05:43 am
Make the most of your chance Grant…here’s hoping for a firey Stormers Dragon!
9 Feb 2010, 06:45 am
Grant is no 12 not enough race for center, he’s a 10 and must stay there with Cronje on bench. If anything then bring Cronje into 12 but not Grant, keep him at 10. De Waal should only be used as a bench option if full back or fly half gets injured but should not ever start any Stormers games as long as Grant, Cronje, De Jongh, and Joe Pietersen remain fit.
9 Feb 2010, 06:45 am
Imo…. Lions will get klappped!
They will be competitive but at the end just not good enough…
I am known to be wrong but that’s the way i see it.
9 Feb 2010, 06:50 am
Spencer, Le Grange and Hollenbach, with speedy wings Mentz and Chavanga is no mean backline. Le Grange one of the most under rated inside centers in the country. I wouldn’t write them off just yet, could spring quite a surprise on the fancied Stormers backline.
9 Feb 2010, 07:03 am
Ai tog.
The mere thought of having to see popgun kicker Grant wearing a no 10 jumper for the Stormers or WP is enough to send shivers down my spine.
In my mind I still see him kicking the ball time and again down the throats of the Bulls back three during the semi last season.
Hopefully the strict application of the new breakdown law interpretations will make spoiler Grobbelaar less effective and lead to a more open game where kicking is less important.
Not that Grant has ever really excelled in an attacking role either with his one dimensional and predictable attempts to attack the advantage line that usually makes him a sitting duck for an alert and organized defense.
We could be in for a long Saturday afternoon against king Carlos and his “trawante”
9 Feb 2010, 07:16 am
Rob…..skop….
Impasse arrived at ….2 very interesting ,albeit opposite pole views….
There is a solution
Lionel Cronje…
9 Feb 2010, 07:19 am
Peter Grant is not a kicking fly half and anyone trying to foster a kick style game around him don’t know what his strengths nor his capabilities are. Stop kicking the ball and run it straight and true directly at the opposition and watch them scatter like flies. If Luke Watson had instructed Grant and Duvenhage NOT to kick the damn thing once we had the overrated Nulletjies on the ropes in that semi then Van Den Heever would not have careered down the touch line for Nakalakukivukikuki to coat hanger him and give Bulls the get out of jail card he did.
Grant and De Jongh and Fourie and Habana and Aplon, Nakalavuki and Pietersen must run at Spencer and co. all day long and they’ll crack wide apart. Kick it to the heavens as our mule De Waal would have done and then we done for. Grant must play his natural game, the Henry Honiball of the modern era.
9 Feb 2010, 07:21 am
@Robzim:
Hi Rob
Yep but Grant is the best stormers have right now
9 Feb 2010, 07:25 am
Lionel Cronje must come off bench and can slot in at 10 or 12. Rather play Cronje at 12 than Grant. If Grant can’t play 10 then Cronje must start, and likewise for 12. If any of Grant, De Jongh or Fourie gets injured, Cronje is the man to step in at 10 or 12, but not Grant, who hasn’t got the pace for center. Grant must play pivot and stick at pivot all season long with Cronje as back up, not ou doos mule De Waal who can cover 15 or 10 off bench only.
9 Feb 2010, 07:46 am
Ag shame, now De Jongh is a possible weak link, say no more
9 Feb 2010, 08:08 am
Lots of Pressure on the Stormers this weekend! No Pressure on the Lions! Can the stormers handle it? Under Pressure!!
9 Feb 2010, 08:11 am
What is it with SA rugby and kicking flyhalves and scrummies?
Oupa de Waal should retire!
FdP and Morne Steyn! Should I say more?
At least Carlos is in town to entertain us!
9 Feb 2010, 08:16 am
Juan de jongh….
weak link?
Kak…he will be a star.
9 Feb 2010, 08:16 am
I am guessing Rose will be playing Fullback and kicking for posts for the Lions? Because King Carlos cant kick for ****!
9 Feb 2010, 08:17 am
@grant10:
So G10 you must be nervous for this game? Season could come crashing down!
9 Feb 2010, 08:19 am
@Sonito:
No he’ll just be kicking at every opportunity as per normal.
Someone once told him it prevents you from being tackled.
9 Feb 2010, 08:20 am
At least the Lions will score 5 pointers!
9 Feb 2010, 08:20 am
s14 Fantasy manager http(colon)//s14fantasy(dot)foxsports(dot)com(dot)au/M/home(dot)mc join the league using the code 501-127. Time to see who really knows their rugby.
9 Feb 2010, 08:21 am
@Sonito: seriously scared shitless Sonito….Ellis Park a 6 point advantage to Lions….Spencer a real threat….and Stormers confusion at 10 and 12 continues to be a problem.
This is going to be a physcal confrontation of epic proportions…
No swagger from me here…..
Lions by 4 …
9 Feb 2010, 08:24 am
@grant10:
Wise man! Talking down your team. No need to F#ck with the mocker gods!
Do I sense a bit of cockiness coming from the Lions camp…who da thunk it, Lions showing some confidence befroe we’ve even seen the frist S14 game kick of, how cute…lol
With Bash: Stormers by 15
With Oupa: Lions by 6
9 Feb 2010, 08:28 am
Off the topic guys – I love the way the bulls are going about their title defence.
No promises, no predictions, actually nothing at all.
Somehow the Stormers hype and the sharks demise is all everyone is talking about, and this suits the bulls just fine.
The last time they were defending champs they got a new coach in January, complained about the rules, lost their captain and just tried to sell themselves to the press and country too much.
Now no-one hardly reports on them, leaving the team to focus on what is important – The actual competition.
You do not win the S14 in the press and I am glad the bulls recognise this.
Just my 2c.
9 Feb 2010, 08:30 am
@FireStraeuli:
No it looks more like a bit of Nerves from the stormers camp! Thats what happens when you talk yourself up preseason.
9 Feb 2010, 08:32 am
The Brokeback Mountain Goats do the same thing every year..it always ends in tears and broken dreams.
9 Feb 2010, 08:35 am
I think guys are talking spencer up too much! From what I have seen of him in the premiership, he has been absolute garbage! He is slow and all his own players dont have a cooking clue what he is doing.
9 Feb 2010, 08:35 am
@Sonito: Hehehe, I know the feeling, Sharks last year…still hurting, I’m so glad they are the underdogs this year.
Ja, I doubt however the Stormers will loose, I kinda see them heading the same direction as the ’09 Sharks…ontspooring when it matters most.
As for the Lions I think they’ll be the surprise packeage in the 2nd half of the comp, but they still have a lot of gelling to do.
9 Feb 2010, 08:38 am
@FireStraeuli:
Yeah 100% agree.
9 Feb 2010, 08:45 am
anyway….look forward to seeing the teams once selected….
Roll on weekend.
Cheers all
9 Feb 2010, 08:54 am
@onerb:
Very true. The Bulls are a class side, they’ll do well in this Super 14.
I’m just concerned about injuries, they will bear the brunt in my opinion since so many of their players were Bok stalwarts last year and are coming off a LOT of gametime.
I think a title defence by the Bulls would rely on some excellent player management (i.e. rotation) and some luck to avoid injuries. But they have good depth.
9 Feb 2010, 09:05 am
@Mighty Horua:
Entertainment, fine, let carlos entertain you and losing and us bulls supporters will watch the boring games but stay on the + balance of the winning ratio.
9 Feb 2010, 09:09 am
@WP Till I Die:
The bulls have never started the S14 with a full strength side.
Last year Habana was out for 4 weeks, Matfield injured in the first match and was out for 4 weeks.
We started last season without a couple of star players too.
I would rather have them be out now and in shape for the business end of the comp, injuries are inevitable.
Plus, vic, fourie, steyn all got a 5 week break away from rugby. Spies has been resting since October last year.
That is our core players well rested and ready to go.
9 Feb 2010, 09:11 am
Will still be a great backline with the puny boot of Grant.
9 Feb 2010, 09:18 am
Who will kick at goal? Pietersen?
9 Feb 2010, 09:23 am
Yeah Joe will
9 Feb 2010, 09:24 am
@onerb:
In all likelihood, yes.
9 Feb 2010, 09:26 am
Joe’s developed into a pretty prolific kicker in the last season or two. Hopefully he can keep it up and improve from the Sharks game at Newlands
9 Feb 2010, 09:27 am
@onerb: @ 31: Distinctive genetic trait of Blue Bull rugby! Kick and hope that we’ll win!
9 Feb 2010, 09:30 am
@Mighty Horua: Who do you support?
9 Feb 2010, 09:31 am
@Mighty Horua:
Hope? I’m sure that is all it is. Well believe what you want. This conversation will obviously go nowhere if that is your reasoning.
9 Feb 2010, 11:08 am
thank goodness
9 Feb 2010, 11:09 am
@Sonito: In regards to your comments about Spencer , the Lions players are clueless most of the time so he should fit in well !!!! On a serious note i am glad Spencer is back still think was a great loss to NZ rugby
9 Feb 2010, 11:55 am
Real pity about Bosch being injured as with him and Fourie I would feel really confident about our defense in the Centre channel.
Once Newman is back we’ll have some real depth in the Stormers backline.
De Jongh being written off at 12 because he’s small – typical SA mentality. Inexperienced yes, but his defense has looked fine since I’ve been watching.
9 Feb 2010, 12:06 pm
@Yetirat: In fact it was his hard hitting defence that brought the spotlight on him, now suddenly he is a weaklink?
9 Feb 2010, 12:21 pm
Consider this backline:
9. Januarie
10. Grant
11. Habana
12. de Jongh
13. Fourie
14. Aplon
15. Joe Pietersen
One might accuse them of being a bit small and light in places, but that must be one of the most attacking backlines one can possibly have.
I went to the first to warm up games and I was particularly impressed with the de Jongh/Fourie and the Aplon/Pietersen combinations.
9 Feb 2010, 12:38 pm
this is gonna be a good game. the lions should not be underestimated but lets be honest, they don’t have a chance in hell.
the stormers really have to play badly to lose this game and you lions fans know that.
they say that an injured lion is dangerous but in the wild an injured lion gets thrown out of the pride.
even paying spencer a record amount of money can’t save you, and don’t get even get me started on that idiot **** muir.
good luck lions cos its gonna be a long night for you othis weekend
9 Feb 2010, 12:55 pm
Grant is the right #10 for the playing conditions under the new rules. We must keep ball in hand and string fases together.
Take our time, the holes will open if we keep attacking. Just please if we kick, kick out and compete at the lineout.
With the rule change you don’t want to be giving ball away for them to run at us.
9 Feb 2010, 13:59 pm
Both Grant and De Waal possess only half the skill set a good flyhalf needs. If they are the only two serious starting candidates the stormers have in mind, they are going to have to follow a horses for courses strategy which is going to limit their playing options. The sooner Cronje is blooded into the side as a regular the better. And what about Conrad Hoffman? in SA we tend to keep the promising young players on the horizon for way too long before backing them at the top level. We have been hearing about the Eberson twins’ potential for two years now and they are still kept on the fringes. Meanwhile James O’Connor and Zac Guildford are internationals. Fransie apart, who is the last young gun to have his coaches back him all the way?
9 Feb 2010, 14:43 pm
@siener:
It’s a very good backline at S14 level in my opinion!
We could make things easier on ourselves though by finding touch consistantly when kicking as Stormer23 says rather than handing opportunities for attacking backline players to test our “small” backs on defense.
My only issue is Grant at 10. He is great on defense and getting the backline moving and attacking the gain line. The problem is the predictability for defences we create by playing a flyhalf who is so strong in one area and clearly weak in another.
9 Feb 2010, 14:50 pm
@stormer in a teacup:
Brussow probably and even that was party injury enforced.
I completely agree though and as mentioned above in my previous post the strength of a good flyhalf is to be able to keep the defences guessing like Carter does so well. Grant, as good as he is at what he does well, is not going to keep them guessing.
Don’t forget the added pressure we will have when playing Grant when we’re camped out in our 22 and he has to kick for touch off a lineout to gain some ground. How much ground will be gained and safety through territory achieved before the opposition take their next lineout? Will they still be in an attacking position, with Grant’s weak boot….most likely yes.
To be fair to Grant we have a very powerful kicking back 3 in Apolon, Pieterson and Habs.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All