Hayman seeks farm sweetener

Keo.co.za brings you the latest news from New Zealand.

Hayman seeks farm sweetener

The three parties responsible for Carl Hayman’s impending return to New Zealand will help the tighthead acquire a dairy farm to sweeten the deal.

Taranaki, the Hurricanes and the New Zealand Rugy Union have all been in talks with Hayman, who’s contract with English club Newcastle expires this May. According to reports Down Under, the 30-year-old Hayman will return to play for Taranaki in the 2010 New Zealand Cup.

It’s also been reported that the three parties would facilitate buying a dairy farm in the Taranaki province. Taranaki chairman Peter Crawford, however, claims to have not heard about this part of the deal, and said there would be no deal if the three parties and Hayman couldn’t come to an agreement.

‘If that does come up [the farm issue] we will seriously look at it, but it hasn’t been discussed,’ he told the Taranaki Times. ‘If we can get it to that stage we will be giving everything to get it done.’

Hurricanes chief executive Greg Peters told Fairfax Media it was wrong for anyone to suggest that a farm would be given to Hayman as part of any deal.

‘It is not a payment to Carl Hayman. It’s Taranaki facilitating him getting into a farm. That means pointing him in the right direction and, potentially through other means, to help him on to a farm. It doesn’t mean Taranaki’s buying him a farm. It’s part of the total package.’

Peters added that Hayman’s return would be long-term, in other words, the All Blacks prop is likely to be signed for two years.

‘It’s a statement that he wants to be part of the New Zealand framework. He’s not, as we understand it, going to just waltz back in for the Tri-Nations. He will play the New Zealand Cup and then be available for the end-of-year tour.’

This thread will be updated throughout the day.

222 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

what???

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

see the lengths these kiwis will go for a world class tighthead?

And we choose a hooker?

Hope you taking note PDV.

• 3.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@grant10: I do however think the Kiwis are a bit more desperate for a wc win than we will be. They’ll pimp out their own granny just to be able to at least touch old William Web Ellis’s cuppa.

Btw, John Smit to single handedly destroy the stormers scrum. LOL

• 4.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Don’t give the South African authorities any ideas. They’ll expropriate a farm to get Mujati back..

• 5.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

How many teams will ever be able to boast of a RWC and the Tri-nations…not to mention a few others…*sigh*

• 6.Draken: Reply to this comment

s14 Fantasy manager http(colon)//s14fantasy(dot)foxsports(dot)com(dot)au/M/home(dot)mc join the league using the code 501-127. Time to see who really knows their rugby.

• 7.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Lol. I admire your focus!

This sounds pretty funny – perhaps he will be allowed to use the academy players as farm help? Become the sole provider of dairy products to the NZ rugby board? Become the new shirt sponsor?

Carl “The milk man” Hayman.

• 8.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: Australia.

• 9.grant10: Reply to this comment

Best we start deciding if WC 2011 going to be a serious attempt to retain the title….or a tribute to the aging 2007 stars…

i am dead serious….

no time to mess around….those kiwis are not fannying about.

Hayman scares the hell out of me…

• 10.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:

..and the others…there is a long list.

It’ll never happen in this century.

• 11.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

Well SARU… why have you not thought of this?

We have much more farmland available than New Zeeland…

Quickly start buying farms for BJ & CJ…

• 12.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: Oh…

And maybe a wine farm for JvD…

And a nice farmgirl (or boy) for Frans Steyn…

That shoul’d do it!

• 13.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: Good chance of it happening this decade I reckon.

Only three teams can do it – NZ, Aus and South Africa.

• 14.poppa69: Reply to this comment

should only be 4074 articles youve “written” JC, I read this very article word for word yesterday in the Wellington Dominion Post…

your ctrl-c and ctrl-v buttons must be that worn…

though selectively, you missed this line, gutter journalism at its finest, still breeding the hate huh..

“He said the talk of a farm in any deal had surprised him, given that there had been no discussions about it with Hayman’s agent. “

• 15.poppa69: Reply to this comment

and more from the Dominion Post..

“Hurricanes chief executive Greg Peters told Fairfax Media it was wrong for anyone to suggest that a farm would be given to Hayman as part of any deal.

“Taranaki is the province he would be contracted to and that’s where the farm thing comes into it,” he said.

“It is not a payment to Carl Hayman. It’s Taranaki facilitating him getting into a farm. That means pointing him in the right direction and, potentially through other means, to help him on to a farm. It doesn’t mean Taranaki’s buying him a farm. It’s part of the total package.”

• 16.stew: Reply to this comment

Return of the real Beast – let see how the SA pretender handles the Hayman !!!!!

• 17.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Where do I pay ?

• 18.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

He should contact Mugabe. He’s got plenty to give away.

• 19.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Predawn: @5

perhaps you should just concentrate on defending a TriN title for now. That would be another 1st for SA.

• 20.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

(intro music please) Pink Panther

• 21.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: Yes, give old Fransie a chance to farm with some Stallions.

• 22.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

This is the best news Ive heard all week. Its even better than Smit signing on to cover both prop and hooker.

• 23.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

Fransie will probably want n stud fram.

• 24.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Pink Panther: What? Hayman getting a farm…is he that good a farmer?

• 25.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: @20

you know what, you guys are just the funniest.

Whatever has his ‘apple’ jokes

You have your ‘Pink Panther’ jokes.

Everyone has their own ‘sheep’ jokes.

I just dont where you all get em. We’re all rolling in the aisles here. Such fresh exciting new material, the comedy clubs in SA must do a roaring trade.

Keep it up !!!!!

• 26.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Pink Panther: You have no idea, and we’re just the amateurs, you should hear the pro’s going at it…a laugh a second.

• 27.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:
    @Black Panther:

Great that he’s coming back though chaps, massive boost for 11′.

• 28.cane: Reply to this comment

Not only will the Canes be getting the best TH going, but a great line-out lifter as well. 1.93 metres of skytower.

Come in Haymaker.

• 29.katman: Reply to this comment

@cane: Well I guess he has to, while the sun shines. Carl is no spring chicken.

• 30.cane: Reply to this comment

All Black front row 2011.(possible)

The Haymaker.
    Timber ****.

Should keep a few Teams honest.

• 31.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@stew: Ag shame, NZ suffering from a bit of Beast envy?

• 32.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@katman:

Think he’s 29, perfect age for props.

• 33.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@cane: You wanna scrum or mate?

• 34.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

The finest prop Zim as ever produced.

• 35.cane: Reply to this comment

@katman:

Front Rowers peak 29-32yrs. Providing of course they have had no debilitating injuries.

You Okes should get Eddie Andrews back.

• 36.stew: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: In your dreams as soon as the Big man is back your beast will be running back to Zim !!!

• 37.katman: Reply to this comment

@cane: Take the ***** out and put Kevin in and we’re talking business. Mind you, that front row has an awfully familiar look about it. Wish we had that kind of consistency up front.

@NZINCHINA: Yep, he’s thirty. But you kiwis break down a couple of years earlier than most. So he’s got about two seasons left.

• 38.stew: Reply to this comment

@cane: Would like to see Corey Flynn in the mix

• 39.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@katman:

Thats great 2 seasons is all we need him for!

• 40.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: Well, shame on AB’s then, Best of Zim able to outscrum the mighty AB’s…I wont be telling anyone else if I were you.

• 41.katman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: Alongside Olo Brown, perhaps?

• 42.cane: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

I am only suggesting Fireman, that it might be wise for opposing front rows to liberally slap on some ky jelly, particularly around their more sensitive areas.

They will be rogered.

• 43.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

NZ very rarely gets outscummed

@katman:

Are you talking about his quality being up there with Olo?

• 44.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: Very true, it only happens three times a year.

• 45.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@cane: Okay, so it will be mating season then it seems…lol

• 46.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: they were outscrummed in the 3n 2009.

by the same front row all the capies are rushing to discard.

its odd, but we have to live with the republic of capetown and its residents.

• 47.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

Why a dairy farm? Surely they mean a sheep farm?

• 48.Nils: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Only happens three times in 2009.

• 49.cane: Reply to this comment

You Saffas would have a pathetic Scrum if it were not for all the Dutchies you have stolen/burgled/poached over the last 350 years.

You lot have done nothing for the growth of The Hollanders as a Rugby Nation.

• 50.cane: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan:

At heart we are all Cowboys.

• 51.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: you mean Zimbabweans play for SA, who would have ever thought… looks like animals are not the only thing poached in the continent of Africa huh :lol:

• 52.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@cane: Where the cotch are you coming from son…please name one Dutch player ever having worn the green and gold?

Time for those meds, or maybe you should watch some more History/NatGeo to get your historic facts straight.

I’m guessing you’re pulling our legs huh…stranger things

• 53.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

Yer did you understand the word rarely? Over the last 15 years who would you say has had the better scrum?

• 54.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

What’s your beef with Cape Town, it’s residents and it’s rugby teams ??

It’s unhealthy man …..go see a shrink !!!

One dominant scrum against the AB’s and we out scrummed them ??, Ostrichman…..living up to your name !!

• 55.katman: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Um, he’s talking about van Riebeeck and his ilk. Lots of Dutchies there.

• 56.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Very good point Rangerman, and I do agree with what you are saying about that front row in the B&I series and the 3Ns.

BUT I reckon the critics have some basis for concern, based on the performance on the EOYT – although none of the Boks played very well…

• 57.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: hmm…….why so defensive?

if you re-read my post, after a few deep breaths you will see the dig was not aimed at you my china.

over the last 15 years?

well i would say its been about even actually but your backline has been the major difference, what would you say?

• 58.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan: well to be honest, I mean, they did ALMOST play as many tests as the ABs, and it did prove that once the accuracy of the kick chase game fell away, so did the teams capacity to win games… Id be alarmed too…

• 59.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@katman: Now quickly bring van Riebeek and South African rugby together please. A quick history lesson…..

The Afrikaans nation stems from the Dutch, does not make us Dutch.

Wanna know more, I suggest Google.

• 60.katman: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 46. Are we talking about the Turbo Reverse 3000® front row?

• 61.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: jr, i have no beef with capetown and its residents :lol:

just their rugby acumen (not all but it seems i smoked you out :lol: )

we were decidedly dominant in all 3 games vs the abs jr. we battled when that little ozzie hobbit bored in under smitty.

if you cant remember that, i suggest a short review of the games.

@THEBokFan: ja, the eoyt was a balls up, no question. lets see how the s14 goes.

• 62.katman: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Woosh! Right over your borselkop.

• 63.gunther: Reply to this comment

Black Panther

its not about paying to bring Carl back…

its about “facilitation”…

you can help by allowing carl to practice his milking technique on you…

take one for the team as it were…

• 64.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@katman: hope you got permission to use that, otherwise thats a serious breach of copyright..

• 65.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: There has even been the odd Namibian donning the green and gold.

• 66.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@katman: Ag so sorry i’m so slow, dont worry, by tonight after discussing it with my wife I’ll probably pack out laughing…:razz:

• 67.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: :lol: i would be alarmed that the “kick chase” game worked so well against nz mate.

@katman: the very same :lol:

apparently they got murdered by everone and their dog whilst winning games. an anomaly some are not keen to see repeated.

• 68.katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: I cleared it with the lawyers of Turbo Reverse Inc.™

• 69.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

We had parity at times………. at best !!!!! never dominant, that’s why everyone remembers one great scrum, it was very unexpected !!

• 70.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

The G10 turbo reverse band wagon seems to be filling up, carefull fellows, the wheels might just come of after a few more wagon-eers jumping on.

• 71.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

I would say the Bokke scrum hasn’t been a platform for the Bokke to attack from since readmission, whereas it has been for the Ab’s for several vintage teams with the Brown/Dowd – Hayman/Woodcock combinations, your thoughts?

• 72.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: :D its only subterfuge mate, we all know how well SA perform as favourites..

butI noticed when I was at the airport this morning that the NZRFU had chartered an emergency flight to the islands, apparently in the far reaches of the outermost islands theres a couple of fijians that can actually catch a high ball… weve promised them and their whole extended family a two year sojourn in NZ if theyll play for us, so exciting news..

• 73.cane: Reply to this comment

Sorry Fireman.

Forgive me………I was just trying to be ironic………but as usual………..I ended up looking stupid.

But hey……………Life is a box of chocolates. Or in my case a 6 pack of Fosters.

• 74.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Like I can ALMOST give a f#ck about what you think?

Thats a convenient synopsis for history maybe, the AB tests did not get near to the level required for the Lions Series and winning the S14.

Although France did beat you at home, and then almost won the 2nd game…

• 75.gunther: Reply to this comment

I bought my turbo reverse from the verimark store last week…

I am very please with the product…

it comes with a mini replica of the world cup, the tri-nations trophy and a lions mascot with a largew stick of biltong up its ***….

i must say a quality product… I can see ot lasting well into 2011..

• 76.katman: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Let me spare your wife the hassle. Saffas are always giving Kiwis grief (rightly so) for pillaging the islands for talent to supplement their European rugby teams. Cane knows how wrong this is – almost like the slave trade of the 1700’s – and attempts to make light of the situation by pointing out our “similar” raiding of European talent, albeit over 400 odd years as opposed to their 10 year version. It’s funny, in a dark kind of way.

• 77.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

The truth trouble you ? :)

• 78.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan:

Mate beating the Lions is only something the Bokke make difficult, they are easy beats when they come to NZ, I think they beat you around about 50% of the time you play them.

• 79.cane: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

Ooooooh Gunner that was good….very good.

• 80.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Will they be joining Hayman on his farm?

• 81.Nils: Reply to this comment

@katman: “for pillaging the islands for talent”

Does 2 year or so olds qualify as “pillaged talent”?

• 82.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan: the Lions Series? oh, didnt you get your complimentary armband at the gate? shame man, you missed out..

cmon, we’ve gone through the best of the British in 05, and havent had a try scored by any British or Irish side in the last two tours..

but keep going, maybe we can burst that vein thats obviously bulging atop your feeble mind…

tell me, did the irish and french test (that you lost) get anywhere near that level? and did it occur to you that the Lions Series may have been the catalyst for you guys hitting the 3Ns running?

• 83.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

Another ostrich who chooses to let victory cover the cracks !!!

Don’t you understand that we could be even better ???

• 84.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@katman: She will be ever thankfull katman…and now my mind can take a break as well, I just about got myself a headache deciphering it…LOL

• 85.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: sorry, I meant hitting the 3Ns kicking ???

vatso katvis!!

• 86.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nils: Could be. Depends on the intent of the pillager. Normally they’re guilty.

• 87.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: yes yes yes jr :lol:

i think the hamilton scrum is remembered because it came at a vital time in the game and prevented a the kiwis assaulting our line.

but to each their own :lol:

@NZINCHINA: hmmm……i think we had an awesome scrum around 1998-2000, you know, when we were scoring all those magnificent tries.

the 1995 vintage wasnt too bad either.

and in 2007 we did beat the same england team that subsequently raped aus upfront, by 36 points to….ja, zero.

but again, memories are such fickle things.

• 88.gunther: Reply to this comment

I have said before and I will say it again I don’t much care where barney plays as long as he plays…

I am not convinced there is much better available…bj is a reasonable scrummager but does nothing in the loose and if you say cj to me you will be the recipient of the first ever internet headbutt…

now take that carrot out your *** and rejoin the human race…

• 89.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: :lol: well maybe you should get yourselves a few ozzie rules players.

those guys can catch.

meanwhile, we are looking for a georgian roid freak to play th for the boks.

• 90.gunther: Reply to this comment

@cane:

I take it the new zealand model doesn’t come with these “extras”?

• 91.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

MMMMM…a certain captain was not playing TH in 2007 !!!

Might have something to do with it ???

But as you say selective memories and all that !!

• 92.Nils: Reply to this comment

@katman: They (pillagers) must have crystall ball to see which milk sucking toddler in small jungle village will be a rugby star after 20 or so years.

The same crystall ball tells them even which unaware adults to import as their children yet to be born will be a stars.

9-11 conspiracy pales in comparision, really.

• 93.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

there are lots of roid freaks in george…the problem is they suffer seperation anxiety whenver they leave the virhin active….

which makes touring a problem…

• 94.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: lol yeah, one of them apparently caught his teammates wife a few years back, ala Terry in England…

if you do get that georgian, make sure you get someone competent to fill in his visa and citizenship papers first..

dont want him refused entry in NZ or anything :D

• 95.cane: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

I Totally agree gunner……”I don’t much care where barney plays as long as he plays”.

For …..If Smitty plays ……..One of your best Props will not. And most certainly your best Hooker will not.

• 96.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

That is such a childish statement,………….. “just as long as he plays” !!!

Grow up man ,Smit might get injuured in the game against the Chiefs, out for the season, you think all will come crumbling down for the Boks ?

Kak man !!!!….You feel my headbutt !!!

• 97.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: oh ja, sorry, i forgot the 42-6 pounding of the poms in 2008 (remind me who played th that day jr?)

and the 1st test vs the bil’s?

ag, its a pointless discussion because in a years time everyone will be so happy to see js run onto the field.

tell me, were you a gary botha supporter in 2007?

@gunther: roid use has taken a dive in george since you have started having to mix the roids with brannewyn. water is the new gold in those parts.

• 98.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: we will be sure to do things right poppa.

btw, the biggest roid freak to ever play rugby against south africa, was a saffa lock playing for nz.

• 99.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nils: The raders of the lost prop are a crafty bunch. And you’ll often find that they use the dragnet approach – lure a few dozen families in the hope that one youngster turns out to be a Sivivatu. Doesn’t cost much, and they quickly wash their hands of those who turn out to be fat PSP playing dolekids.

• 100.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok, til later then people.

have a memorable day.

• 101.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: was that Rawlinson?

he must have gone to the same school as Pierre Spies did? :wink:

• 102.Nils: Reply to this comment

@katman: Must try harder. There still are inhabitants left.

• 103.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

You just don’t get it do you , now for the million and one time let me say it again……

I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH JS AT HOOKER, if they play him at hooker and he is fit no probblem…….tough on Bissy but that is the way it is !!!!!!

AT 3 I HAVE A HUGE PROBLEM WITH JS as HE IS TECHNICALLY NOT UP TO THE POSITION AND IS A LIABILTY.

NOW DO YOU UNDERSTAND !!

caps fully intended !!

So no, in 2007 I was not a Gary botha fan, sorry to dissapoint you !!

• 104.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nils: Problem is, Niewzillund is about the size of Bophuthatswana. To fit more Tongans and Samoans in – even in the cramped conditions that they do – you have to ship existing Niewzillunders off elsewhere. This is why more than 10% of their population – mostly wide-eyed youngsters – can be found wandering the streets of London at any given time.

• 105.cane: Reply to this comment

I wish Rawlinson was still among us.

He improved immeasurably every year he stayed.

• 106.Nils: Reply to this comment

@katman: There will be so many islands empty. Let’s colonize them again.

As for London, it’s hard to imagine which country representatives do not live there en masse.

• 107.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cane: most do Cane, with the notable exception of whatever … even that man thats now the English coach, dont think he would have been the same without his stint in the land of the long white cloud..

• 108.justrugby: Reply to this comment

All over SA win by an innings and 6 runs !!

• 109.cane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Whatever is a refugee on the North Shore. He is a hopeless case. As is the case with most Refugees.

His children will however be shining lights of culture and endeavour.

• 110.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: congrats SA, smashed them..

@cane: question is, would we have any wahines that would be willing to propogate such a disturbed lineage?? lmao..

• 111.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cane: @49

I lost my coffee all over the screen with that one.

And its even better when they take you seriously….better watch out for Straueli tho, he’s sharper than most. He’s probably got a whole file full of sheep shagging jokes to really put you in your place.

• 112.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@gunther:@63

what Big Carl wants, Big Carl gets.

Anything to oil the wheels of facilitation. Im starting the bidding with my 1st Born.

• 113.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: @71

Olo remains the best AB technician in my lifetime and, because they had Fitzy squeezed between, that front row (Dowd/Fitzy/Olo) remains our best of modern era.

BUT, noone has systematically destroyed opponents like Big Carl. If deMalmuncher learned to throw a half-decent lineout, he could make up a really destructive 3 for the ABs because he scrums like an ox. I dont see it in him tho, he bottles at lineout time. Hore, I like his workrate and old-school no-nonsense approach. He came on really well after a slow start in ’09 too. Mealamu is the perfect benching 2, just not strong enough at scrumtime to demand a starting spot.

Boks took their chances well in ’09. But McCaw was on 1 leg for 1st 2-3 Tests; DC was on crutches and Big Carl was eating Newcastle coals for brekky.

what time is it ?

Thats right baby, its Business Time.

• 114.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

quite right lets all pull toegether for 2011…

• 115.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: @78

and, lets be honest, if Burger had been given his due, it was good night nurse. Again.

ABs put 100+ pts on the last Lions to visit their shores.

The 2009 Lions outscored the Boks by 8pts over that Series.

@cane: @105

you ARE farken jokin, surely ?

Being a Wellingtonian, I assume, Im sure you remember Chris Tregaskis ? aka ‘Zigzag’ (as in, cant get a zigzag paper under his feet when he ‘jumps’).

Well I think Rawlinson made Zigzag look like Matfield. Nice jawline profile tho, must be said. Rawlinson was truly a blackmark on AB records, an embarrassing poach if there ever was one.

• 116.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

It will be alot closer this year, still got some niggle at lock though so we will continue to struggle for parity come lineout time unfortunately, can’t believe we haven’t sorted this problem out its being going on longer than the building of the Mangere bridge.

• 117.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: perhaps Jack may be the solution… the man has height, probably understands afrikaans a little now, should be in the greater squad for his experience alone..

• 118.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Totally agree, he is quality and as you say has the height, Thorn has plenty of ticker but a locks primary job is to win lineout ball which is doesn’t really do – love or hate Williams he is the man to combat the Boke 2nd row and with Jack there it would be very solid, all we are looking for is 50% of the ball at lineout and we will beat the Bokke.

• 119.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: yeah, Thorn is our baxxies but is not an option in the lineout, his only weakness in my opinion… I think having a target such as jack, and with hayman there to provide that extra added lifting exponent, we would at least secure 90% of our own lineout ball… lets face it, our hookers were zapped of confidence by the skills of Matfield specifically…they were like stunned mullets every time they had to take a throw, and I have never known an AB lineout to be that bad in my lifetime..

Im a blues fan, so have always been a fan of williams, was most disappointed he re-injured himself…

• 120.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: @116

unfortunately we simply dont have class locks now that Ali W has been shot down again. I dont see an aerial kings coming thru either, but lots of otherwise good ball-handling locks coming up – King at NH, Berquist (sp?) at Southland, Evans at Canes. Meanwhile they need to keep Boric & Eaton healthy but I suspect neither are the answer. Atleast Donnelly proved that perseverance has its rewards, he was excellent when taking his chances. Lets hope Jack keeps injury free and does enough to convince the 3 Blind Mice.

Im a massive Ali W fan, he’s an incredible loss. Has anyone ever come back from a dble-archilles ? hate to say it, but he’s a gonner.

Let Thorn continue to play the wrecking ball for now. He’s vital if only to show these other guys the standards expected of an AB.

to be honest fellas, Im not concerned if results go against us again this year. In fact, the worst thing going in to a home RWC would be sweeping all before us. We want these guys HUNGRY and desperate to play well, not jumping about in the pool at Corsica.

kia kaha

• 121.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:
    @Black Panther:

Yer Ali a huge loss, he won ball but was also very keen to throw one when required i.e when Bakkies is biting or ball grabbing.

• 122.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA:

I believe ‘mongrel’ is the word youre looking for, a must in any pack. Thorn provides it at the moment, and let him continue until he falls apart. 2010 is all about sifting the wheat from the chaff.

The last time Henry put the mortgage on a mongrel over a more talented player, it backfired massively tho (Robinson for Jack at Cardiff).

• 123.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: 103

Justrugby.

They dont deserve your time or energy or bandwidth. Seriously.Ignore them.

• 124.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

Yip shambles of a decision for such a big occasion, we need one of these 2nd tier guys to step up this year and be ready for WC. The Bokke are really the only side we currently struggle at lineout time so much that it changes the outcome of the game, if Jack was fit and playing well he would have to be selected he will only be in his early 30′s.

• 125.gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

calm down tiger otherwise you will have to start apologising…

again….

• 126.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

Mate you need some time on the couch, your obsession with big bum is a little scary.

• 127.Rebels_Shark: Reply to this comment

@justrugby:

You see this is where you fall down in your logic.

Currently in RSA there are three world class hookers, in the following order… BDP, Liebenberg and Andries Strauss!

Currently in RSA (BJ and CJ do not count due to the Bok coach’s stipulation, so don’t even bring them up) there are ‘arguably’ NO world class TH’s… so hypothetically there is a young vettie with potential in WP Nel who had a good session for the Barbarians, another vettie in a world cup Bok in JDP… and a test cap hero captain who happened to pummel the British Lions and then secure a rare 3N win whilst in only his second year as a test TH!

I struggle to see your point pal?

• 128.grant10: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: my only obsession is that the boks dont go back at a rapid rate of knots in turbo reverse ….as they are prone to do with Smit at 3….

seems you boys share the same obsession, hence your farm buying for a world class tighthead.

Talk about obsessive!!!!

Sick of apologists for a retreating scrum from some star struck ladies here on keo.

• 129.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Rebels_Shark: Ag mate……

go play fatty at 3 for sharks….with our blessing…

In fact…against Stormers…please just do it…

Stupid wallys that accept such mediocrity…

• 130.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Ag no Grant…

Not the same tune again…

I told you to get a new soap-box, but did you listen…No…

• 131.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: howzit grant?

• 132.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: 130

i didnt start it….

check the thread.

its the other 2 ladies strumming the guitar.

• 133.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Rebels_Shark:

No surprises there , your’e a Shark !!

• 134.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: hi young lady.

• 135.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Ag, ok…whatever…

Moving right along…

The question is will Schalk afford my Lions 10 minutes against 14 men to rack up some points…

My bet is he will…

• 136.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: :lol: still angry?

why not take a stroll on the beach?

• 137.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

How about our own quota system? You are only allowed to mention something a certain number of times and then retire from that subject. After all life must go on. Alternatively we could go the other way and just put everything on continuous loop and know that at any given moment we could just read the same old lyrics to the same old songs. This opinion ventured in the hope it may have some freshness to it.

• 138.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Im with you BP, so long as we show improvement in the 3Ns this year, not the be-all if we dont win it… more importantly, I want some of the new blood to continue furthering their development, guys like Read, Donnelly et al to continue improving, who knows, we may end up peaking at the right time for a change…

am still worried about the cartel and how their approach will be come 2011…

• 139.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: 135

He may not play….

i am very worried about Sat….nerves are bad….Ellis Park ”’ai…tough game i reckon….nothing in it.

• 140.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 136

16 h00….a bit hot still

• 141.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Nah, I think Schalla will play…

And if Nagalafoki plays, that equals 20 min against 14 men…

Yes, you shoul’d be worried…

• 142.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

Wow, the beaten drum…drum….drum….drum….drum

• 143.justrugby: Reply to this comment

If they considering giving Hayman a farm, I suggest we offer BJ the whole of Clifton !!

• 144.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Sheesh…!!…you got no confidence in yr team…the Lions are poor…I’m not saying it’s gonna be a walk in the park…but Stormers will win…and win well ;)

• 145.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: You BJ the whole of Clifton if you want to. I don’t know most of those people. :lol:

• 146.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Chiefs wiil be beating that drum this week-end I’m afraid…Sharks not good enough…

• 147.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup: i missed that, could you tell me again?

@grant10: ag, you can jump in the water if its too hot?

• 148.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: @130

give G10 a break. Keo is a place for saddo rugby-obsessives like us.

I admire G10s campaign, every season needs one. ‘Turbo reverse’, I like it.

Now where was that other saddo from 2009 and his ‘Justice4 BaXXies’ war cry.

@NZINCHINA: @126

I met Big Bum just before Christmas. And I think youre being rather kind, its way bigger than that.

@poppa69: @138

Im simply not convinced by Read, not dynamic enough for no8. He’s a 6, and is he that much better than Kaino ?

• 149.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

Because some are thick as sh$t ?Need to be told a 1000 times before they finally understand, seems the lads from surf city a bit dof !!

• 150.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: (this is not a comment)

• 151.Rebels_Shark: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

The Sharks will have the PDV’s first choice front row… now why have I never heard you take him to task for that?

Nor for the fact he won’t allow over seas players in the 22?

You’re piss weak pal (with all due respect).

Dawn outed you the other night as not even watching local live games properly.

Not being nasty, just happy guys like you and your old boy toy JR don’t make the selections.

So why have you never taken PDV to task on Keo for the above?

You seem to blame Sharks supporters, Plumtree… or all and sundry before PDV… strange that!

• 152.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup:

• 153.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Yip, but really…

How much can one oke harp on the same thing again and again and again and…

• 154.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: (this is a fire fire extinguisher)

• 155.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

How about we discuss whether John Smit should be playing at 3 or not. Seems to come up very rarely for discussion on this site. :roll:

• 156.grant10: Reply to this comment

lions at ellis park will be very physical…stormers not sure about there 10…12 axis….and i see F Louw and Schalk struggling with injury.

Spencer ..if on form…may also fire up the lions….

Yes…stormers may be favorites….but altitude and Lion pride means a tough game. A 1 point away victory will make me very happy.

Sharks will beat Chiefs…..even if they turbo reverse….chiefs are slow starters and the weather going to assist sharks….who will keep it tight.

Bulls …cheetahs…..tough as well….bulls by 3 or 4 i reckon..cant believe Cheetahs choose tewis de bruyn over Sarel Pretorious.

• 157.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….

(a beaten drum)

• 158.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Rebels_Shark:

Just say after me ……….JS is not a TH……….. JS is not a TH………….JS is not a TH……see not so bad is it !!!

You are now on the road to redemption !!

Fark my job here is tough !!

• 159.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: @153

well, he HAS just signed on for 2 more seasons so…..

Nah, G10 is to be admired. He knows, like any decent rugby guru-saddo, that the tight-5 is NOT the place to fudge skills and squeeze in to others jerseys. Your winger might double as a fullback, your centre can switch betw 12 & 13 and fill 11 & 14 at a squeeze, your loosies can be interchangeable.

But front row, especially, is a place reserved ONLY for specialists. And he knows it.

• 160.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Dantalian: What, John Smit at 3, my word old chap, you’re a genius, that way we can play Bis at 2 and effectively have the best of both…you should become pdv’s technical advisor…LOL

• 161.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: problem is with Kaino he was hot and very cold last year, probably because he was the only Blues player who could really hold his head high… fatigue may have been a factor for him.. on his day our best 6 at the moment..

who would you have as 8? Soialo on last years form is no longer an option, messam has shown he doesnt have it as does Luaki…

also BP, how do you think Afeaki will go for the Chiefs?

• 162.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Rebels_Shark: of course i have taken PDV on about that…..in fact i reckon he should be fired if he continues with the madness….

As for Dawn outing me….please man…we were watching stormers b against Boland….and i had a swedisg guest i was explaining rules to next to me…..

But you seem to be very judgemental and full of yourself. So be it.

• 163.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@grant10: You really shoul’d not be so negative on the Stormer’s chances.

I think if you just stick to your guns you will win it…

My Lions consist of are all new combos and need some time to gel…

The Lions will however come out firing, but, I do not think we’ll win it…

• 164.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: I have my moments. :mrgreen:

• 165.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: I agree, would rather have JS @ 2 myself, but, I do not get sleepless nights because he plays @ 3.

• 166.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: Farking Gramatix…

Me struggles now big wiff da tale of English…

• 167.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: 159

Tough being a knowledgeable chap on keo…..

Dont know why i bother.

Truth of the matter is these kids debating here re probably just that….kids.

Anyway BP….you guys there in kiwiland on the right track…Kayman and Jack….that tight 5 will sadly be hard to beat, especially if we continue to pursue this path of insanity.

Rangerman is right about 1 thing though….a walk and a aDIP.

CHEERS ALL

OUTTA HERE

• 168.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Weak Chiefs side, some big names not available, Sharks will win a scrappy game because of the humidity, I have them by 8 !!

• 169.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Cheers Grant…

Remember to take your pills!!!

• 170.gunther: Reply to this comment

groundhog day here on keo…

some people never learn…

• 171.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@grant10: see how long you can hold your breath old timer.

my personal record is just on 12 minutes.

if you beat that, i will join your campaign for js to retire :lol:

disclaimer: i havent held my breath for 12 minutes and if grant ccomes up after 12 mins, 3 secs and has had an epiphany about js’s value at 3, yet cant communictae it to jr or the world at large because his lips are frozen and he loses digits to frosbite, i take no responibility.

• 172.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

Exactly !!

• 173.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: That’s Nasty…

He may just try it… he is so desperate for people to join his crusade…

• 174.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther: scattergun approach is more like it.

we have been told the sneaky kiwis are not to be trusted, they will tell us they want js at 3 to confuse us. but when one agrees with the anti js stance, he is enlightened.

i love keo and its characters but grant keeps on coming on to me and calling me young lady. should i be worried? :lol:

• 175.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Rum And Maple: ja, sorry grant.

DON’T DO IT!!!!

unless you want to :lol:

• 176.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok, i am out.

jr and grant, just kidding around guys. rugby is starting and we will have plentsch more to talk about soon.

have a great day all!

• 177.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: has the chiefs side been named already?

• 178.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Well I will not worry if I were you…

Grant is clearly BONKERS!!!

How else can you reason his Anti-JS crusade…

• 179.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

Unlike you who can breathe and talk through his arse while his head is still stuck in the sand !!

• 180.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: @161

no, no8 is absolutely a problem for us. Ive never been Soaiolos biggest fan, altho he is a warrior and spills claret for the jersey. I hear he’s bulked up considerably and power was always his problem, couldnt breach the advan line enough.

Read, well he’s a 6. So is Messam, yet like Jerry C, he’s too short to factor as a lineout option (key to no6).

Kaino, yep, too hot’n'cold. Ive always been weary of him since he was intro’ed as ‘the next Michael Jones’. Well Im sure he said a huge THANKS for that one. But he can play a blinder on his day and had a few superb Tests in ’09. Persevere with him, experience will be key and he’s slowly getting it.

Please forget Lauaki. His early season “Ive forgotten about ABs” was a cringeworthy cry for help. And that interview he gave as Capt should surely have nailed Fozzies credentials to the dunny.

Havent seen enough of Afeaki, to be honest. You like ?

Bring Back Buck ?

@Rum And Maple:

Good, because I dont get sleepless nights when he’s on the pitch either.

@grant10:

Yep, might just take a dip myself, the snowflakes are about to arrive here Im told.

• 181.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Cheers, see later…

• 182.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

I think he is just lonely junior turbo doesn’t strike me as the affectionate type…

which is, admittedly, unusual for cape town…

• 183.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

Maybe with G10 we should employ the tactics which has a proven track record with Bulls fans….

….give him anada chance…

• 184.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

OK. I’m out…

See tomorrow…

• 185.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: You hear that Straeuli…..

Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….Drum….

The joke has now entered the turbo reverse category on keo…

it’s a beaten drum….

and btw…

stop with the beaten drum…drum…drum….drum

Self implosion imminent.

• 186.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Just what I read on the Selction posers for Plum, thread, see below !!!

Turning his attention to the Chiefs, Reece-Edwards is fully aware of the attacking threat the Kiwis pose, even without Mils Muliaina and Lelia Masaga.

‘We lost two pre-season matches which was a big concern for a lot of people, but we weren’t unhappy in terms of our aims.

‘We know they have fantastic backs, but their strength can also be negated by the weather. From our perspective, it’s more of a case of looking at our own attack, rather than looking at it defensively. We know we have to look for extra bonus points this season.

‘There are a couple of big names missing from the Chiefs, but the quality is still there.’

• 187.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: believe me, Im not wanting Luaki back there, hes had more then enough chances to prove that he just isnt up to it…

wanting to get a look at Viliami Ma’afu, apparently had a good provincial season with NH.

Havent seen any of Afeaki either, thought you may have.

• 188.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: cool… still think they will have a formidable team, the likes of kahui, leonard, Sivi, Callum Bruce etc… question marks over some new forwards my only concern, but I believe they will beat the sharks this weekend..

• 189.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

look out for Nanai-Williams, a good Counties boy. He could barry burn them up on the fast tracks of SA.

Fingers crossed that daMalmuncher hits his targets, vital fringers like him come on BIG this season. pressure pressure pressure !

Also Latimer. If McCaw goes down, we need him to step up.

Cheifs like Sweeney never let anyone down. And who is the no12 again ? he’s a handy organiser.

The only player we want in 1 piece is King Kahui, a potential RWC star.

• 190.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Callum bruce is the 2nd 5 I believe.. unless they want the Duck there (orders from higher up??) hope not..

yep, know the potential Nanai has. I have been praying all off season that someone, somewhere in NZ has taken Aled aside and forced him to throw darts all day every day… such promise..

most of these guys are young, so it is pleasing to see that even with all these defections to the Nh we have new blood coming through, shame we didnt keep a few older heads to assist their development, but we are blessed that we have astute rugby people all through the game to pick up some of that slack..

• 191.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Will be a very interesting game, I will go with the home side, not sure Chiefs have mentally overcome the scarring that the Bulls inflicted on them in the final.

• 192.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: yeah, it is a concern, but what better way to put that behind you then by playing a team that isnt quite sure of itself either..first hit out of the season and a few players will have a point to prove, especially to the SA public… I think the game could swing on one or two mistakes.. tough one to call actually..

• 193.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Bruce Wayne, thats the one.

SURELY someone has glued a ball’n'string to Aled over the off-season because he NEEDS to own this season. And where better place to start than again Bismarck. Or Big Bum.

The loss of the 2nd-tier guys over past 15yrs has been a massive drawback for NZ rugby, those old heads that test out the new fellas. Imagine likes of Jerry still bashing scones, Jack schooling locks, Mauger sharing his knowledge etc.

• 194.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: @190

btw – you had me quite excited until you mentioned the Duck. Go ahead, break my day !

Maybe we can export him in to the Engl team, he’s certainly a classic Engl 10, no ?

• 195.Rebels_Shark: Reply to this comment

You’d have to be a tool to want to try and make a living out of dairy, even if you are close to Australia’ where the food revolution of organics has long taken over and they demand the best price in the world for their pristine produce.

• 196.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: hopefully Aled is smart enough to realise he can make the posi his own and has done the work, nothing like gametime to prove it though… Im still a fan of the *****, was a very below par season for him last year..

Donald as the eng 10, huh… hed be a superstar there, and think how easily he’d slot in, half the backline would probably be familiar with his calls :D

• 197.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Rebels_Shark:

Oh yes, and since when did Kiwis take dairy farming advice from Safas ?

Unless youre thick, ignorant or both, you would have read that dairy farmers have had a boom decade on the back of commodity prices going thru the roof and Chinas middle classes buying tanker loads of the stuff.

NZ has these horizon’less fields of bizarre green stuff all over the place that cows and, yes, sheep seem to thrive on. Its called ‘grass’.

• 198.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

The only things I really like about the ***** is his name and that ‘mo. And the fact he’s a farmer from Taranaki.

His throwing was woeful in ’09. NEXT !

• 199.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: I liked the work he does around the park, no nonsense and not afraid to get stuck in.. agree totally on his season last year, but everyones allowed one bad one.. big test for him this year

• 200.Rebels_Shark: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

Hey farkwit, I’m an Aussie, look up Blackmores Wagyu.

And more to the point, the world’s most sought after lamb is in fact a RSA strain, perfected by us Aussies too in Dorper.

Then you need to look into the current best graded goat meat in the top end restaurant market, yep Yarpie strain perfected by Aussies too!

You still want to argue farming of world class produce with an Aussie with RSA connections?

• 201.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Rebels_Shark: 200

Glad you an expert at something…..

because you know fkall about rugby.

• 202.Rebels_Shark: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

That’s where you are wrong old pal, dig deeper I’ve put it there on a plate.

• 203.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Rebels_Shark: 202

Well…for one professes to know this game it stikes me that you happier trying to impress with your schoolyard bully attitude and ganging up with the ladies than engaging in decent rugby discussion.

• 204.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Rebels_Shark:

So clever are you that youre w@nking on about lamb & goat MEAT when the topic YOU raised, and the topic of Hayman here, was ‘dairy farming’, as was my reply.

‘dairy’ is the production primarily of milk, not meat. ‘dairy products’ are milk, cheese and butter, not chops, steaks and sausages.

As for lamb, who gives a sh*t. The best stuff is from NZ, all the Safas I know willingly and happily acknowledge it anyway. As do I with their seafood and game.

@grant10:

He knows more about rugby than he does about dairy farming. Im born and bred on one and I still own one.

Some people are so desperate for a fight that they cant see sanity for the red mist. Aussies….

• 205.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: Finest ever Zim/Rhodie prop was Andy McDonald. He also killed a lion which had attacked him by stabbing it with a hunting knife. Won’t get any tougher than that.

• 206.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: #57 of course it’s the backline which has been the difference, it’s been packed full of Fijians and Samoans

@justrugby: #54 it was more than one scrum, Franks was giving up pens all over the place and sourpuss Henry subbed him

this thread is polluted with cycloptic kiwis, they spoil threads with their backwater nattering

• 207.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler: Mujati pushed over Nigel Owens, tuff as nails :)

• 208.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: @206

just like Flutey, a Maori, made a difference to Engl & Lions in 2009 and like Catt, a Safa, made the difference in the Semi vs France & when he came on in the RWC Final 2003.

Hows the Morris Haka coming on ?

“this thread is polluted with cycloptic kiwis…..” gee, BH, you almost blend in seemlessly with the Safas, as you have always done. You may have noticed this is a thread about Kiwi rugby, what gives you the right to be here polluting it with your myopic poison ?

Oh, I forget, its a Sth African blog.

• 209.katman: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: Owens was hovering like a senile and confused old bird in a busy parking lot. Mujati did him a favour.

• 210.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: let’s be honest, we haven’t been a team to rely on backs, fair point about it being a NZ related thread.

@katman: lol Owens wasn’t even in his path, Mujati went out of the way to push him

• 211.gunther: Reply to this comment

Biggie anybody called nigel is fair game on a rugby field ..

especially if he is welsh..

• 212.katman: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: Seriously, Owens was in the wrong place. He often is. In this incident he wasn’t only in Mujati’s way to get to the ruck, he was also pretty much standing at first receiver. So when I say Mujati was doing him a favour, I mean that ball could have been instinctively passed inside to where the scrummie was expecting a fckoff big old lock to run onto it and crash it up into a wall of loosehead props and nasty flanks. And instead he passes it to Nigel, who quietly shts himself before it hits him and ends up coughing up bits of spleen and liver for a couple of years. Trust me, this ended well for Nigel.

Besides, Mujati is huge. Pretty much everything in a 45 degree wedge in front of him is “in his path”.

• 213.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit:

I read a report in the Times that Stephen Jones is fully suportive of England poaching more 2nd rate Kiwi’s for the England team, can you confirm this please?

• 214.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: @213

that would hardly be the first time he has illustrated double standards.

My favourite 1 was just prior to the RWC’99 and the ABs were the first to have these new adidas strips made out of clingy hi-tech fibres. SJ took the piss and made some analogy to these ‘shirts you wouldnt be seen dead in in a nightclub’ with the “arrogance of the modern AB” and that Meads would never have worn one (30yrs previously….).

Fast fwd only 3 years and Engl produce a similar new snazzy strip with clingy hi-tech fibres. SJ said it was “an example of Woodwards unbelievable attention to detail and striving for innovation and perfection” and raved like a lunatic

Seriously, you couldnt make it up.

We all know the Poms are the masters of hypocricy, always have been.

• 215.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

He certainly writes what they want to read, I look forward to Big tits reply, key words Samoa, wait for the AI’s, injuries, Cipriati ( spelling) is twice the player Carter was at his age, we should have won and 03′ wasn’t that long ago.

• 216.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA:

Dont hold your breath, BHs tactic when he is wrong or been shown up is to stop blogging. He prefers it that way to acknowledging the opposition. Similarly you’ll note that S.Jones usually writes some negative AB piece leading up to an Engl vs ABs Test but wont write up the match report himself when the ABs win, leaving that task up to a fellow Times contributor. Actually, Nov’09 was an exception and for the first time since ’03 he did the match report himself, he must have been sensing an upset. Despite going out of his way to damn the triumphant ABs with faint praise – he called them “full of journeymen” – he completely disappeared the following week as the ABs put in that sensational performance in Marseille and ended the year as no1.

Anyway, Im entirely unconvinced BH is in fact a Pom but rather a Safa who has lived here for years (like myself) but with English-rugby knowledge. If youd seen his contributions after the 2nd Lions Test and all the furore over Burger and Bakkies, it was sickeningly pro-Boks, the 1 opportunity he would ever have plainly had to come out swinging in behind ‘his’ Lions team. And the obvious ante-AB gig is a giveaway, Ive yet to meet a Pom here like that and only Boks can hate us with such passion.

• 217.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: Jones is Welsh, his views are of no relevance yet in chokerland they hang on his every word. Weirdos!

• 218.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: I’ve never been to SA in my life BP and I wasn’t pro-Boks during the Lions tour, i just wasn’t an anti-Bok nutter like you! :) It’s time you stopped reading Jonesy’s prose it can’t be good for your heart old boy.

• 219.Kiwisamoan: Reply to this comment

Typical Southland man will only come back he gets a farm classic :) :). we really do need him though.

• 220.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit:

thats B-S.Hit, BH. You go out of your way to brown nose your way to pro-SA and anti-NZ (and, therefore, pro-SA) at any given opportunity. You also have a strangely in-depth knowledge of local SA players that get no media coverage here in UK whatsoever. You are definitely not all you make yourself out to be.

besides, I wasnt ‘anti-Bok’ during the Lions series. My stance re Bakkies was anti-hypocricy, which has never and will never change. Im happy for others to criticise my teams/country just as long as they apply the same to theirs.

• 221.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Dude, you should head over to the “Ex-AB sorry for teen assault” thread. Come on now, there we can realy take cheap shots at you guys, even throw in the odd sheep joke or 5…LOL

• 222.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

Actually, I never thought you smart enough to have anything but cheap shots or cliches in your armoury. And I think you’ll find my contribution on the Brooke thread hardly reeks of hypocricy either.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.