Hayman seeks farm sweetener

Keo.co.za brings you the latest news from New Zealand.

Hayman seeks farm sweetener

The three parties responsible for Carl Hayman’s impending return to New Zealand will help the tighthead acquire a dairy farm to sweeten the deal.

Taranaki, the Hurricanes and the New Zealand Rugy Union have all been in talks with Hayman, who’s contract with English club Newcastle expires this May. According to reports Down Under, the 30-year-old Hayman will return to play for Taranaki in the 2010 New Zealand Cup.

It’s also been reported that the three parties would facilitate buying a dairy farm in the Taranaki province. Taranaki chairman Peter Crawford, however, claims to have not heard about this part of the deal, and said there would be no deal if the three parties and Hayman couldn’t come to an agreement.

‘If that does come up [the farm issue] we will seriously look at it, but it hasn’t been discussed,’ he told the Taranaki Times. ‘If we can get it to that stage we will be giving everything to get it done.’

Hurricanes chief executive Greg Peters told Fairfax Media it was wrong for anyone to suggest that a farm would be given to Hayman as part of any deal.

‘It is not a payment to Carl Hayman. It’s Taranaki facilitating him getting into a farm. That means pointing him in the right direction and, potentially through other means, to help him on to a farm. It doesn’t mean Taranaki’s buying him a farm. It’s part of the total package.’

Peters added that Hayman’s return would be long-term, in other words, the All Blacks prop is likely to be signed for two years.

‘It’s a statement that he wants to be part of the New Zealand framework. He’s not, as we understand it, going to just waltz back in for the Tri-Nations. He will play the New Zealand Cup and then be available for the end-of-year tour.’

This thread will be updated throughout the day.

222 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

• 51.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: you mean Zimbabweans play for SA, who would have ever thought… looks like animals are not the only thing poached in the continent of Africa huh :lol:

• 52.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@cane: Where the cotch are you coming from son…please name one Dutch player ever having worn the green and gold?

Time for those meds, or maybe you should watch some more History/NatGeo to get your historic facts straight.

I’m guessing you’re pulling our legs huh…stranger things

• 53.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

Yer did you understand the word rarely? Over the last 15 years who would you say has had the better scrum?

• 54.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

What’s your beef with Cape Town, it’s residents and it’s rugby teams ??

It’s unhealthy man …..go see a shrink !!!

One dominant scrum against the AB’s and we out scrummed them ??, Ostrichman…..living up to your name !!

• 55.katman: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Um, he’s talking about van Riebeeck and his ilk. Lots of Dutchies there.

• 56.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Very good point Rangerman, and I do agree with what you are saying about that front row in the B&I series and the 3Ns.

BUT I reckon the critics have some basis for concern, based on the performance on the EOYT – although none of the Boks played very well…

• 57.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA: hmm…….why so defensive?

if you re-read my post, after a few deep breaths you will see the dig was not aimed at you my china.

over the last 15 years?

well i would say its been about even actually but your backline has been the major difference, what would you say?

• 58.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan: well to be honest, I mean, they did ALMOST play as many tests as the ABs, and it did prove that once the accuracy of the kick chase game fell away, so did the teams capacity to win games… Id be alarmed too…

• 59.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@katman: Now quickly bring van Riebeek and South African rugby together please. A quick history lesson…..

The Afrikaans nation stems from the Dutch, does not make us Dutch.

Wanna know more, I suggest Google.

• 60.katman: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: 46. Are we talking about the Turbo Reverse 3000® front row?

• 61.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: jr, i have no beef with capetown and its residents :lol:

just their rugby acumen (not all but it seems i smoked you out :lol: )

we were decidedly dominant in all 3 games vs the abs jr. we battled when that little ozzie hobbit bored in under smitty.

if you cant remember that, i suggest a short review of the games.

@THEBokFan: ja, the eoyt was a balls up, no question. lets see how the s14 goes.

• 62.katman: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Woosh! Right over your borselkop.

• 63.gunther: Reply to this comment

Black Panther

its not about paying to bring Carl back…

its about “facilitation”…

you can help by allowing carl to practice his milking technique on you…

take one for the team as it were…

• 64.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@katman: hope you got permission to use that, otherwise thats a serious breach of copyright..

• 65.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: There has even been the odd Namibian donning the green and gold.

• 66.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@katman: Ag so sorry i’m so slow, dont worry, by tonight after discussing it with my wife I’ll probably pack out laughing…:razz:

• 67.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: :lol: i would be alarmed that the “kick chase” game worked so well against nz mate.

@katman: the very same :lol:

apparently they got murdered by everone and their dog whilst winning games. an anomaly some are not keen to see repeated.

• 68.katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: I cleared it with the lawyers of Turbo Reverse Inc.™

• 69.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

We had parity at times………. at best !!!!! never dominant, that’s why everyone remembers one great scrum, it was very unexpected !!

• 70.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

The G10 turbo reverse band wagon seems to be filling up, carefull fellows, the wheels might just come of after a few more wagon-eers jumping on.

• 71.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

I would say the Bokke scrum hasn’t been a platform for the Bokke to attack from since readmission, whereas it has been for the Ab’s for several vintage teams with the Brown/Dowd – Hayman/Woodcock combinations, your thoughts?

• 72.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: :D its only subterfuge mate, we all know how well SA perform as favourites..

butI noticed when I was at the airport this morning that the NZRFU had chartered an emergency flight to the islands, apparently in the far reaches of the outermost islands theres a couple of fijians that can actually catch a high ball… weve promised them and their whole extended family a two year sojourn in NZ if theyll play for us, so exciting news..

• 73.cane: Reply to this comment

Sorry Fireman.

Forgive me………I was just trying to be ironic………but as usual………..I ended up looking stupid.

But hey……………Life is a box of chocolates. Or in my case a 6 pack of Fosters.

• 74.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Like I can ALMOST give a f#ck about what you think?

Thats a convenient synopsis for history maybe, the AB tests did not get near to the level required for the Lions Series and winning the S14.

Although France did beat you at home, and then almost won the 2nd game…

• 75.gunther: Reply to this comment

I bought my turbo reverse from the verimark store last week…

I am very please with the product…

it comes with a mini replica of the world cup, the tri-nations trophy and a lions mascot with a largew stick of biltong up its ***….

i must say a quality product… I can see ot lasting well into 2011..

• 76.katman: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli: Let me spare your wife the hassle. Saffas are always giving Kiwis grief (rightly so) for pillaging the islands for talent to supplement their European rugby teams. Cane knows how wrong this is – almost like the slave trade of the 1700’s – and attempts to make light of the situation by pointing out our “similar” raiding of European talent, albeit over 400 odd years as opposed to their 10 year version. It’s funny, in a dark kind of way.

• 77.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@FireStraeuli:

The truth trouble you ? :)

• 78.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan:

Mate beating the Lions is only something the Bokke make difficult, they are easy beats when they come to NZ, I think they beat you around about 50% of the time you play them.

• 79.cane: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

Ooooooh Gunner that was good….very good.

• 80.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Will they be joining Hayman on his farm?

• 81.Nils: Reply to this comment

@katman: “for pillaging the islands for talent”

Does 2 year or so olds qualify as “pillaged talent”?

• 82.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan: the Lions Series? oh, didnt you get your complimentary armband at the gate? shame man, you missed out..

cmon, we’ve gone through the best of the British in 05, and havent had a try scored by any British or Irish side in the last two tours..

but keep going, maybe we can burst that vein thats obviously bulging atop your feeble mind…

tell me, did the irish and french test (that you lost) get anywhere near that level? and did it occur to you that the Lions Series may have been the catalyst for you guys hitting the 3Ns running?

• 83.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

Another ostrich who chooses to let victory cover the cracks !!!

Don’t you understand that we could be even better ???

• 84.FireStraeuli: Reply to this comment

@katman: She will be ever thankfull katman…and now my mind can take a break as well, I just about got myself a headache deciphering it…LOL

• 85.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: sorry, I meant hitting the 3Ns kicking ???

vatso katvis!!

• 86.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nils: Could be. Depends on the intent of the pillager. Normally they’re guilty.

• 87.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: yes yes yes jr :lol:

i think the hamilton scrum is remembered because it came at a vital time in the game and prevented a the kiwis assaulting our line.

but to each their own :lol:

@NZINCHINA: hmmm……i think we had an awesome scrum around 1998-2000, you know, when we were scoring all those magnificent tries.

the 1995 vintage wasnt too bad either.

and in 2007 we did beat the same england team that subsequently raped aus upfront, by 36 points to….ja, zero.

but again, memories are such fickle things.

• 88.gunther: Reply to this comment

I have said before and I will say it again I don’t much care where barney plays as long as he plays…

I am not convinced there is much better available…bj is a reasonable scrummager but does nothing in the loose and if you say cj to me you will be the recipient of the first ever internet headbutt…

now take that carrot out your *** and rejoin the human race…

• 89.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: :lol: well maybe you should get yourselves a few ozzie rules players.

those guys can catch.

meanwhile, we are looking for a georgian roid freak to play th for the boks.

• 90.gunther: Reply to this comment

@cane:

I take it the new zealand model doesn’t come with these “extras”?

• 91.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

MMMMM…a certain captain was not playing TH in 2007 !!!

Might have something to do with it ???

But as you say selective memories and all that !!

• 92.Nils: Reply to this comment

@katman: They (pillagers) must have crystall ball to see which milk sucking toddler in small jungle village will be a rugby star after 20 or so years.

The same crystall ball tells them even which unaware adults to import as their children yet to be born will be a stars.

9-11 conspiracy pales in comparision, really.

• 93.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

there are lots of roid freaks in george…the problem is they suffer seperation anxiety whenver they leave the virhin active….

which makes touring a problem…

• 94.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: lol yeah, one of them apparently caught his teammates wife a few years back, ala Terry in England…

if you do get that georgian, make sure you get someone competent to fill in his visa and citizenship papers first..

dont want him refused entry in NZ or anything :D

• 95.cane: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

I Totally agree gunner……”I don’t much care where barney plays as long as he plays”.

For …..If Smitty plays ……..One of your best Props will not. And most certainly your best Hooker will not.

• 96.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

That is such a childish statement,………….. “just as long as he plays” !!!

Grow up man ,Smit might get injuured in the game against the Chiefs, out for the season, you think all will come crumbling down for the Boks ?

Kak man !!!!….You feel my headbutt !!!

• 97.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby: oh ja, sorry, i forgot the 42-6 pounding of the poms in 2008 (remind me who played th that day jr?)

and the 1st test vs the bil’s?

ag, its a pointless discussion because in a years time everyone will be so happy to see js run onto the field.

tell me, were you a gary botha supporter in 2007?

@gunther: roid use has taken a dive in george since you have started having to mix the roids with brannewyn. water is the new gold in those parts.

• 98.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: we will be sure to do things right poppa.

btw, the biggest roid freak to ever play rugby against south africa, was a saffa lock playing for nz.

• 99.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nils: The raders of the lost prop are a crafty bunch. And you’ll often find that they use the dragnet approach – lure a few dozen families in the hope that one youngster turns out to be a Sivivatu. Doesn’t cost much, and they quickly wash their hands of those who turn out to be fat PSP playing dolekids.

• 100.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok, til later then people.

have a memorable day.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.