Hayman seeks farm sweetener
9 Feb 2010
Keo.co.za brings you the latest news from New Zealand.
Hayman seeks farm sweetener
The three parties responsible for Carl Hayman’s impending return to New Zealand will help the tighthead acquire a dairy farm to sweeten the deal.
Taranaki, the Hurricanes and the New Zealand Rugy Union have all been in talks with Hayman, who’s contract with English club Newcastle expires this May. According to reports Down Under, the 30-year-old Hayman will return to play for Taranaki in the 2010 New Zealand Cup.
It’s also been reported that the three parties would facilitate buying a dairy farm in the Taranaki province. Taranaki chairman Peter Crawford, however, claims to have not heard about this part of the deal, and said there would be no deal if the three parties and Hayman couldn’t come to an agreement.
‘If that does come up [the farm issue] we will seriously look at it, but it hasn’t been discussed,’ he told the Taranaki Times. ‘If we can get it to that stage we will be giving everything to get it done.’
Hurricanes chief executive Greg Peters told Fairfax Media it was wrong for anyone to suggest that a farm would be given to Hayman as part of any deal.
‘It is not a payment to Carl Hayman. It’s Taranaki facilitating him getting into a farm. That means pointing him in the right direction and, potentially through other means, to help him on to a farm. It doesn’t mean Taranaki’s buying him a farm. It’s part of the total package.’
Peters added that Hayman’s return would be long-term, in other words, the All Blacks prop is likely to be signed for two years.
‘It’s a statement that he wants to be part of the New Zealand framework. He’s not, as we understand it, going to just waltz back in for the Tri-Nations. He will play the New Zealand Cup and then be available for the end-of-year tour.’
This thread will be updated throughout the day.

222 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
9 Feb 2010, 12:40 pm
@rangerman: was that Rawlinson?
he must have gone to the same school as Pierre Spies did?
9 Feb 2010, 12:40 pm
@katman: Must try harder. There still are inhabitants left.
9 Feb 2010, 12:44 pm
@rangerman:
You just don’t get it do you , now for the million and one time let me say it again……
I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH JS AT HOOKER, if they play him at hooker and he is fit no probblem…….tough on Bissy but that is the way it is !!!!!!
AT 3 I HAVE A HUGE PROBLEM WITH JS as HE IS TECHNICALLY NOT UP TO THE POSITION AND IS A LIABILTY.
NOW DO YOU UNDERSTAND !!
caps fully intended !!
So no, in 2007 I was not a Gary botha fan, sorry to dissapoint you !!
9 Feb 2010, 12:45 pm
@Nils: Problem is, Niewzillund is about the size of Bophuthatswana. To fit more Tongans and Samoans in – even in the cramped conditions that they do – you have to ship existing Niewzillunders off elsewhere. This is why more than 10% of their population – mostly wide-eyed youngsters – can be found wandering the streets of London at any given time.
9 Feb 2010, 12:47 pm
I wish Rawlinson was still among us.
He improved immeasurably every year he stayed.
9 Feb 2010, 12:48 pm
@katman: There will be so many islands empty. Let’s colonize them again.
As for London, it’s hard to imagine which country representatives do not live there en masse.
9 Feb 2010, 12:49 pm
@cane: most do Cane, with the notable exception of whatever … even that man thats now the English coach, dont think he would have been the same without his stint in the land of the long white cloud..
9 Feb 2010, 12:58 pm
All over SA win by an innings and 6 runs !!
9 Feb 2010, 13:01 pm
@poppa69:
Whatever is a refugee on the North Shore. He is a hopeless case. As is the case with most Refugees.
His children will however be shining lights of culture and endeavour.
9 Feb 2010, 13:02 pm
@justrugby: congrats SA, smashed them..
@cane: question is, would we have any wahines that would be willing to propogate such a disturbed lineage?? lmao..
9 Feb 2010, 13:08 pm
@cane: @49
I lost my coffee all over the screen with that one.
And its even better when they take you seriously….better watch out for Straueli tho, he’s sharper than most. He’s probably got a whole file full of sheep shagging jokes to really put you in your place.
9 Feb 2010, 13:12 pm
@gunther:@63
what Big Carl wants, Big Carl gets.
Anything to oil the wheels of facilitation. Im starting the bidding with my 1st Born.
9 Feb 2010, 13:20 pm
@NZINCHINA: @71
Olo remains the best AB technician in my lifetime and, because they had Fitzy squeezed between, that front row (Dowd/Fitzy/Olo) remains our best of modern era.
BUT, noone has systematically destroyed opponents like Big Carl. If deMalmuncher learned to throw a half-decent lineout, he could make up a really destructive 3 for the ABs because he scrums like an ox. I dont see it in him tho, he bottles at lineout time. Hore, I like his workrate and old-school no-nonsense approach. He came on really well after a slow start in ’09 too. Mealamu is the perfect benching 2, just not strong enough at scrumtime to demand a starting spot.
Boks took their chances well in ’09. But McCaw was on 1 leg for 1st 2-3 Tests; DC was on crutches and Big Carl was eating Newcastle coals for brekky.
what time is it ?
Thats right baby, its Business Time.
9 Feb 2010, 13:27 pm
@Black Panther:
quite right lets all pull toegether for 2011…
9 Feb 2010, 13:32 pm
@NZINCHINA: @78
and, lets be honest, if Burger had been given his due, it was good night nurse. Again.
ABs put 100+ pts on the last Lions to visit their shores.
The 2009 Lions outscored the Boks by 8pts over that Series.
@cane: @105
you ARE farken jokin, surely ?
Being a Wellingtonian, I assume, Im sure you remember Chris Tregaskis ? aka ‘Zigzag’ (as in, cant get a zigzag paper under his feet when he ‘jumps’).
Well I think Rawlinson made Zigzag look like Matfield. Nice jawline profile tho, must be said. Rawlinson was truly a blackmark on AB records, an embarrassing poach if there ever was one.
9 Feb 2010, 14:03 pm
@Black Panther:
It will be alot closer this year, still got some niggle at lock though so we will continue to struggle for parity come lineout time unfortunately, can’t believe we haven’t sorted this problem out its being going on longer than the building of the Mangere bridge.
9 Feb 2010, 14:09 pm
@NZINCHINA: perhaps Jack may be the solution… the man has height, probably understands afrikaans a little now, should be in the greater squad for his experience alone..
9 Feb 2010, 14:13 pm
@poppa69:
Totally agree, he is quality and as you say has the height, Thorn has plenty of ticker but a locks primary job is to win lineout ball which is doesn’t really do – love or hate Williams he is the man to combat the Boke 2nd row and with Jack there it would be very solid, all we are looking for is 50% of the ball at lineout and we will beat the Bokke.
9 Feb 2010, 14:22 pm
@NZINCHINA: yeah, Thorn is our baxxies but is not an option in the lineout, his only weakness in my opinion… I think having a target such as jack, and with hayman there to provide that extra added lifting exponent, we would at least secure 90% of our own lineout ball… lets face it, our hookers were zapped of confidence by the skills of Matfield specifically…they were like stunned mullets every time they had to take a throw, and I have never known an AB lineout to be that bad in my lifetime..
Im a blues fan, so have always been a fan of williams, was most disappointed he re-injured himself…
9 Feb 2010, 14:35 pm
@NZINCHINA: @116
unfortunately we simply dont have class locks now that Ali W has been shot down again. I dont see an aerial kings coming thru either, but lots of otherwise good ball-handling locks coming up – King at NH, Berquist (sp?) at Southland, Evans at Canes. Meanwhile they need to keep Boric & Eaton healthy but I suspect neither are the answer. Atleast Donnelly proved that perseverance has its rewards, he was excellent when taking his chances. Lets hope Jack keeps injury free and does enough to convince the 3 Blind Mice.
Im a massive Ali W fan, he’s an incredible loss. Has anyone ever come back from a dble-archilles ? hate to say it, but he’s a gonner.
Let Thorn continue to play the wrecking ball for now. He’s vital if only to show these other guys the standards expected of an AB.
to be honest fellas, Im not concerned if results go against us again this year. In fact, the worst thing going in to a home RWC would be sweeping all before us. We want these guys HUNGRY and desperate to play well, not jumping about in the pool at Corsica.
kia kaha
9 Feb 2010, 14:41 pm
@poppa69:
@Black Panther:
Yer Ali a huge loss, he won ball but was also very keen to throw one when required i.e when Bakkies is biting or ball grabbing.
9 Feb 2010, 14:45 pm
@NZINCHINA:
I believe ‘mongrel’ is the word youre looking for, a must in any pack. Thorn provides it at the moment, and let him continue until he falls apart. 2010 is all about sifting the wheat from the chaff.
The last time Henry put the mortgage on a mongrel over a more talented player, it backfired massively tho (Robinson for Jack at Cardiff).
9 Feb 2010, 14:47 pm
@justrugby: 103
Justrugby.
They dont deserve your time or energy or bandwidth. Seriously.Ignore them.
9 Feb 2010, 14:52 pm
@Black Panther:
Yip shambles of a decision for such a big occasion, we need one of these 2nd tier guys to step up this year and be ready for WC. The Bokke are really the only side we currently struggle at lineout time so much that it changes the outcome of the game, if Jack was fit and playing well he would have to be selected he will only be in his early 30′s.
9 Feb 2010, 14:53 pm
@grant10:
calm down tiger otherwise you will have to start apologising…
again….
9 Feb 2010, 14:54 pm
@grant10:
Mate you need some time on the couch, your obsession with big bum is a little scary.
9 Feb 2010, 15:13 pm
@justrugby:
You see this is where you fall down in your logic.
Currently in RSA there are three world class hookers, in the following order… BDP, Liebenberg and Andries Strauss!
Currently in RSA (BJ and CJ do not count due to the Bok coach’s stipulation, so don’t even bring them up) there are ‘arguably’ NO world class TH’s… so hypothetically there is a young vettie with potential in WP Nel who had a good session for the Barbarians, another vettie in a world cup Bok in JDP… and a test cap hero captain who happened to pummel the British Lions and then secure a rare 3N win whilst in only his second year as a test TH!
I struggle to see your point pal?
9 Feb 2010, 15:14 pm
@NZINCHINA: my only obsession is that the boks dont go back at a rapid rate of knots in turbo reverse ….as they are prone to do with Smit at 3….
seems you boys share the same obsession, hence your farm buying for a world class tighthead.
Talk about obsessive!!!!
Sick of apologists for a retreating scrum from some star struck ladies here on keo.
9 Feb 2010, 15:16 pm
@Rebels_Shark: Ag mate……
go play fatty at 3 for sharks….with our blessing…
In fact…against Stormers…please just do it…
Stupid wallys that accept such mediocrity…
9 Feb 2010, 15:17 pm
@grant10: Ag no Grant…
Not the same tune again…
I told you to get a new soap-box, but did you listen…No…
9 Feb 2010, 15:19 pm
@grant10: howzit grant?
9 Feb 2010, 15:19 pm
@Rum And Maple: 130
i didnt start it….
check the thread.
its the other 2 ladies strumming the guitar.
9 Feb 2010, 15:20 pm
@Rebels_Shark:
No surprises there , your’e a Shark !!
9 Feb 2010, 15:20 pm
@rangerman: hi young lady.
9 Feb 2010, 15:22 pm
@grant10: Ag, ok…whatever…
Moving right along…
The question is will Schalk afford my Lions 10 minutes against 14 men to rack up some points…
My bet is he will…
9 Feb 2010, 15:22 pm
@grant10:
still angry?
why not take a stroll on the beach?
9 Feb 2010, 15:24 pm
How about our own quota system? You are only allowed to mention something a certain number of times and then retire from that subject. After all life must go on. Alternatively we could go the other way and just put everything on continuous loop and know that at any given moment we could just read the same old lyrics to the same old songs. This opinion ventured in the hope it may have some freshness to it.
@Black Panther: Im with you BP, so long as we show improvement in the 3Ns this year, not the be-all if we dont win it… more importantly, I want some of the new blood to continue furthering their development, guys like Read, Donnelly et al to continue improving, who knows, we may end up peaking at the right time for a change…
am still worried about the cartel and how their approach will be come 2011…
@Rum And Maple: 135
He may not play….
i am very worried about Sat….nerves are bad….Ellis Park ”’ai…tough game i reckon….nothing in it.
@rangerman: 136
16 h00….a bit hot still
9 Feb 2010, 15:27 pm
@grant10: Nah, I think Schalla will play…
And if Nagalafoki plays, that equals 20 min against 14 men…
Yes, you shoul’d be worried…
9 Feb 2010, 15:27 pm
Wow, the beaten drum…drum….drum….drum….drum
9 Feb 2010, 15:28 pm
If they considering giving Hayman a farm, I suggest we offer BJ the whole of Clifton !!
9 Feb 2010, 15:29 pm
@grant10: Sheesh…!!…you got no confidence in yr team…the Lions are poor…I’m not saying it’s gonna be a walk in the park…but Stormers will win…and win well
9 Feb 2010, 15:30 pm
@justrugby: You BJ the whole of Clifton if you want to. I don’t know most of those people.
9 Feb 2010, 15:30 pm
@FireStraeuli: Chiefs wiil be beating that drum this week-end I’m afraid…Sharks not good enough…
9 Feb 2010, 15:31 pm
@stormer in a teacup: i missed that, could you tell me again?
@grant10: ag, you can jump in the water if its too hot?
9 Feb 2010, 15:31 pm
@Rum And Maple: @130
give G10 a break. Keo is a place for saddo rugby-obsessives like us.
I admire G10s campaign, every season needs one. ‘Turbo reverse’, I like it.
Now where was that other saddo from 2009 and his ‘Justice4 BaXXies’ war cry.
@NZINCHINA: @126
I met Big Bum just before Christmas. And I think youre being rather kind, its way bigger than that.
@poppa69: @138
Im simply not convinced by Read, not dynamic enough for no8. He’s a 6, and is he that much better than Kaino ?
9 Feb 2010, 15:32 pm
@FireStraeuli:
Because some are thick as sh$t ?Need to be told a 1000 times before they finally understand, seems the lads from surf city a bit dof !!
9 Feb 2010, 15:32 pm
@Storm outta hell: (this is not a comment)
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All