Stegmann favoured at 6

Frans Ludeke has selected Deon Stegmann ahead of Derick Kuün for the Bulls’ Super 14 opener against the Cheetahs.

With the return of hooker Gary Botha from Harlequins, Kuün will make the transition back to his favoured position of openside flank this year – creating a selection conundrum for Ludeke as Stegmann has claimed the incumbent No 6 spot in recent seasons.

However, Stegmann will start ahead of Kuün, while the latter finds a place on the wood.

Meanwhile, Botha will earn his 50th cap for the Bulls when he starts at Vodacom Park after a two-year stint in England.

The Bulls – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Jaco Pretorius, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Pedrie Wannenburg, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Bees Roux, 18 Flip vd Merwe, 19 Derick Kuün, 20 Heini Adams, 21 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22 Stephan Dippenaar.

56 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

Steggie is n Dragon! Hou hom dop!

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

great fetcher….2nd only to brussow

• 3.grant10: Reply to this comment

thought bulls would go for a 5….2 …bench split….but stuck with convention..

• 4.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

What a team.

Once Bakkies, Potgieter and Ndungane are back, well then we’ll say “What a bench” as well.

A team with Dewald Potgieter, Danie Rossouw, Derick Kuun, Akona Ndungane and Jaco vd Westhuizen on the bench will be quite a challenge for any opponent.

• 5.onerb: Reply to this comment

Only 1 reserve prop? Lets hope we don’t have any injuries there. I would have had another prop and sadly omitted Adams.

We all know that Fdup will not be subbed unless injured.

• 6.gunther: Reply to this comment

One back up prop vs the cheaters that’s a big call…

• 7.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Would have left out Dippenaar and add a prop.

• 8.Rum And Maple: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: Bulls going for the “Rassie Erasmus Uncontested Scrum” trick…

• 9.onerb: Reply to this comment

Maybe with the fatties there they bent the scrum machine and argue that the cheetahs would rather need replacements :) Still risky though!

• 10.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: Taciturn, we still have a few youngsters as well that can come through. They not big names, but hopefully they can get an opportunity somewhere.

But, ja, our team is awesome this year on paper, I just hope we can defend that koppie this year.

• 11.SamM: Reply to this comment

Good side , def need a prop on the bench – should be a cracker – Cheetahs always raise their game against the bulls

• 12.stormloop: Reply to this comment

bulls are gonna battle in the scrums. but they will win the breakdown area. the line-outs could go either way.

morne steyn will kick and van den heever will chase. without the size advantage of danniler at fullback the cheetahs will suffer.

if naka domsky thinks that riaan viljoen is the cheetahs answer at winning close games by 60m drobgoals then i fear a long and painfull season for them.. again!!!

the bulls have all the ingredients to defend their title but if you can neutralize morne steyn they too will find winning difficult

• 13.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

Kuun is going to have to prove he is better than Steggies but its a big ask. Did not help his career moving to hooker. Waste of time.

• 14.Staal: Reply to this comment

Ratel is the best… but Steggies is soooooo close imo….

In fact in the S14 up to Steggies injury in the final i think he was even beter than Ratel.

Ratel will have to watch-out because the ball he wants to steal on the ground may already be stolen by Steggies.

I rate this youngster… totally ouclassed Ratel in the CC final after having a serious injury in the S14 final…

Cheaters have a massive fetcher… Bulls as well imo…. i will watch this contest

• 15.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Staal:

Agree with regards to CC final, said it then already…

Had a lot of okes disagree with me though…

• 16.Rebels_Shark: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009:

Waste of time?

He won two S14 cups playing at hooker… go figure!

• 17.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: The Bulls nullified Brussouw in that game as a team, with Steggman leading the charge. The secret is for the ball carrier not to get isolated-he always needs support close in. After he has been tackled, first man in clears Brussouw and that way secures the ball.

• 18.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:

Hear you, and valid argument, just remember…Brussow had team mates too :lol:

• 19.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

@stormloop: Naka Domsky?/
    Pot calling the kettle black???

Well for a “domsky” he sure gets alot out of a relatively unknown team compared to Ludeke with about 12 Boks…

Go figure!! Not even to mention the Blue Bull hero Heyneke, that despite taking the Bulls to a few “stone last” in the S12/14 is still hailed as the messiah of Blue Bull rugby!!

• 20.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva:

Now why are you attacking our Bulls again to protect your beloved wooden spoon contenders ?

• 21.scar: Reply to this comment

Bring it on!

• 22.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva:

How much exactly does he get out of his team…14th place ?

Go figure…

• 23.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

Lol, sowy Blouste, was more aimed at the person being derogatory towards Drotsky…

You have my humble apology!! But wait, you guys had the wooden spoon, much more than we did…. three against one in fact, but then you also have two trophies to our none, so I will give you that!!

• 24.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I would be interested to see how both Spies and Juan recovered.

The loosies are rather even imo, where the Cheetahs have the better 7 the Bulls have the better 8…

Cheetahs has got some serious pace on the outside and I would be concerned with the Jaco Pretorius, Van Den Heever channel – and of course Kirchner has to up his game from the last couple of games he played.

Tough one to call, but if the Cheetahs start moering the Bulls upfront this might be a very bad start for the defending champs.

• 25.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva:

Aag ok

Net reg vir ‘n lekker fight… :lol:

By the way, ek dink nie daai man skree vir die Bulle nie, kan verkeerd wees.

• 26.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva: I guess if the Cheetahs were to start being successful in the Super 14 he wouldn’t be domsky any more, in accordance with stormloop?

Heyneke’s earlier failures are irrelavent. It takes a while to build a squad, especially when he have a situation like with the Bulls in the past were they had almost no-one of any talent.

The measure of a coach is the systems and quality he leaves in place after he has left. This is something that can be seen at the Crusaders. Despite losing a lot of players, they have remained competative – great work Robbie Deans. Look at Leicester – any coach that has taken on that team since Dean (the guy that has name ruined his name by Bloodgate) has had success. This is due to the structures, players etc in place.

Earlier losses are irrelevant.

• 27.Poenie Fourie: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva: That “stone last” gets wiped cleaned by the fact that the Bulls won the Super 14 under Heyneke.
    So really if you want to attack someone attack Naka for picking Tewis at scrumhalf.
    Thats the type of selections that is gonna help the Cheetahs secure their beloved wooden spoon.

• 28.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

In fact, the Bulls outside backs are arguably the most inexperienced they have fielded in a long time.

Teams will target them.

• 29.Cheetah 4 Eva: Reply to this comment

Gee whiz, seems like the Cheetahs have really achieved recognition with this wooden spoon story…

Now if they were the only recipient of the wooden spoon, I could almost understand it!!

First time I hear that earlier failures are negated by later success??

Far as I know the statitics stay!!

In my own humble opinion, a union with the size and tradition of the Bulls should never accept an excuse for coming stone last in any competition…

So I think old Naka, does admirably well with what he has to work with!!

• 30.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva:

Like what?

En moenie met die CC kalwers ploeg nie, bere dit vir die CC…

• 31.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt:
    Hear you.

But I reckon we’ll be just fine…

• 32.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt:

Already stepped up in the CC final.

• 33.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Cheetah 4 Eva: Get some perspective. When a coach inherits a team that is terrible, he needs some time to build it up. Heyneke can’t be blamed for the weaknesses of the administration and coaches before him.

Statistics are irrelevant without context, every-one knows that.

In fact, you are arguing the same thing. What is Naka’s win/loss ratio? How often have the Cheetahs won the Super 14? How many games did they win last year? The answers to those questions would reflect that Naka is a terrible coach and the Cheetahs are a terrible team, statistically speaking. Put some context in to it – limited resources, injured players, terrible schedule, and you suddenly realise that Naka is doing alright.

• 34.thesaint: Reply to this comment

I can’t believe there was even a question between Puffy Cheeks Kuhn and Stegman…

Kuhn is a walking yellow card, when Dewaldt Potgieter returns, I bet that he will lose his place on the bench to Wannenburg as well. Much better for the Bulls.

The Bulls and the Sharks looks exploitable from No. 10 upwards, I don’t think the Bulls will have the same presence as in 2009. The french showed the world how you take on a weakened scrum, I see painful days ahead for Kruger and co.

• 35.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:

I disagree. The cheetahs are much better team than there last 3 log positions. They do not have any more limited resources than the Aus sides. So I conclude Naka is doing a kak job because the team is not realising there potential. For example how can they beat the Sharks and crusaders and then loose to other **** teams.

• 36.thesaint: Reply to this comment

Chester Williams to coach the Cheetahs.

• 37.Sonito: Reply to this comment

Another thing, why put the Aus and Nz teams on a pedestal? The Boks are world champs and dominated both Aus and Nz last year. Why can the cheetahs give a Bok dominated Sharks team a leasson and then surrender to a **** Reds or Highlanders team.

So I cant see how anybody can say Naka is doing a admirable job. How can you be happy with a bottom 3 finish? Standards must be set higher!

• 38.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: Yep, fair enough, I would agree with that. You can’t be good in the Currie Cup and fail in the Super 14. That post was mainly making a point to Cheetah 4 eva.

It will be interesting to see if they can string some good performances together this year. Their first team looks pretty good on paper, and they have some depth with good Griquas players coming through.

They always get very negative when playing overseas, using time wasting tactics and negative play. They appear to be able to get up for 3 or 4 games a year, normally the Bulls and then a couple of others.

Surely their Currie Cup form has to have a positive influence on their Super 14 form?

• 39.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:

There Currie Cup form never seems to carry over into the super 14! My opinion is that they have the players but I am not sure about there coaches. Honestly if they dont perform this year, Naka must go!

They only seem to perform when there backs are against it. Even in last years currie cup they only started to play well after losing there first couple of games and had to come back from a impossible position. You cant do that in the super 14.

• 40.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: Maybe it will be different this year? The most important thing for them and the Lions is to show development this next season. Even if they are in the bottom half, they can’t self-destruct like they often do. Set out to win 4 or 5 or 6 games and be competitive in the rest.

This atleast gives them something to build on in the next season, although the Super 15 will probably change every-thing. The Cheetahs and Lions can normally get fired up for games against other SA teams, so the new format will probably be quite helpful to them.

• 41.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:

Thats what I hope every year but the cheetahs and lions always fail to deliver so I am not holding my breath. I dont think it is much to ask to win 5 games.

• 42.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: they dont have enough quality to compete throughout the competition, having depth is one thing but the replacements need to be quality not sub standard vodacom cup level. Obviuosly its hard for these smaller unions given there resources and difficult having continuity if you going to lose players every year

• 43.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Stegmann is better the kuun no doubt

he does play with a lot of heart but to me the big diffs between him and ratel is 2 things

1) strength
    2) brain power ( being able to think on his feet )

this is where brussouw is a demon

• 44.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: Realistically, the Cheetahs should target the Reds (home or away), the Highlanders (if at home), the Force (if away), the Lions (any where), and after beating them last year in the Currie Cup, perhaps the Sharks, especially with the problems the Sharks appear to be having.

They might get lucky against a team like the Hurricanes if they are struggling or perhaps the Stormers, depending on how things go with the Cape team. They do also tend to get fired up with the Bulls, so this Friday could be interesting.

I reckon atleast four games this year, and ensure they win overseas.

• 45.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Mustard: This year though, their smaller franchise members have provided some high quality players. Griquas did well in the Currie Cup last year and have added to the depth and quality of the Cheetahs this year.

• 46.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: yes they did well in last years currie cup but the super14 intensity is completely different. Lets hope they do well

• 47.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

@thesaint: I don’t think the Bulls are weak from 10 up, c’mon M. Steyn is very good think he proved that against the B&I Lions and NZ last year, under pressure the best kicker in the world.

Apart from Habana ( who will be missed ) and Akona it is the same back division that kept the Crusaders and Chiefs out and ran them ragged.

Think the Bulls will be fine.

• 48.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

Some Questions vir de rugby community. What is a Ratel and why is oom Heinrich called this name ? Danie Rossouw is still very good yes ?

• 49.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rugbygenius:

A Ratel is a honey badger, pound for pound one of the fiercest creatures around…..also was the symbol on my flash when I was in the army…….there is only 1 SAI…….and that’s 1 SAI

• 50.Ratel Brussow : Reply to this comment

@rugbygenius: For once I agree with JS. Google honey badger or ratel and you’ll see a creature resembling Brussowtjie!

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.