Stormers fire then fade
13 Feb 2010
A powerful first-half performance set the platform for the Stormers’ 26-13 win over the Lions in Johannesburg.
The visitors scored all of their points before the break, and at that point, it seemed the Stormers would leave with the rarest of rewards: five log points away from home.
They had the lion’s share of both possession and territory in the first half, and although they botched a few early opportunities, their two tries arrived in such an emphatic manner that a four-try bonus seemed a formality. Unfortunately, the Lions switched from Hyde to Jekyll in the second period, lifting the tempo when they received more ball. You could accuse the Stormers of being more complacent, but the truth is the Lions were twice as dangerous in the second half.
Pietersen kicked four penalties to lay the platform the visitors, but the Stormers took 35 minutes before breaching the defence for their first try. Juan de Jongh spun a lovely pass to put Bryan Habana through a hole, and the Springbok winger then gifted the final pass to Pietersen. It looked to be a telling blow right before half-time, but the bad news for the Lions was that the Stormers were only just getting started.
The forwards started to hit their straps with the ball recycled swiftly at ruck time. A sustained build up ultimately ended with Jaque Fourie rounding the posts to the dismay of his former home crowd. Both Fourie and Habana proved their worth in this fixture, and the encouraging thing for the Stormers is the Bok pair do have that extra gear for the bigger occasion.
The Lions won a few penalties early in the second stanza and opted to drive for the Stormers’ line. The visitors repelled a determined surge, captain Schalk Burger and Andries Bekker responsible for a try-saving tackle apiece. All the pressure amounted to nought as Fourie smashed the final surge back to earn his side a turnover.
Carlos Spencer battled to put his unique stamp of proceedings, but you could hardly blame him given the dearth of possession on offer in early stages. The handling of the hosts was poor, and the air of desperation that characterised the 2009 campaign was prominent and certainly cost the Lions at crucial moments.
Reserve back Michael Killian brought the game to life when he cruised through the Stormers’ defence in the 63rd minute. The Lions started to come into their own as the play grew looser in the final quarter, but again poor handling culled many promising movements.
The scoreline will suggest the Stormers took their foot off the pedal in the second stanza, but credit must go to the Lions for their lift in intensity and tempo. Pietersen also had a chance to put the game out of reach, but missed two penalties in quick succession. In the big matches, this could be the difference between a win and a loss.
The Stormers fullback did rack up 21 of his side’s points and was a threat whenever he joined the line. Although Habana and Fourie added a touch of class, plaudits should go to Peter Grant, Gio Aplon and De Jongh for their all-round efforts. Scrumhalf Dewald Duvenage was also a key man with his boot spearheading the much-publicised kick-chase.
There’s plenty to think about following the first game of the season. The Stormers will hope to improve on their execution, as some poor decision-making and knock-ons in contact cost them possession early on. They also need to put teams like the Lions away when they have the chance, as they will know one log point could be the difference between play-off qualification and oblivion. If you’re not in the top four by the end of the round robin, you might as well be last.
The Cape side play the Waratahs at Newlands week and will fancy their chances. If they can maintain the standard seen in the first 40 minutes at Ellis Park, they will be strong favourites to down the Sydney-siders.
By Jon Cardinelli

177 Comments
13 Feb 2010, 15:35 pm
Stormers are the dragons.
13 Feb 2010, 15:37 pm
Log leaders by the end of the day. Go you Stormers!!!
13 Feb 2010, 15:39 pm
Bring it on…!!!…it’s gonna be a Fine day today…!!!
13 Feb 2010, 15:45 pm
I dunno about this one. I can’t see the stormers losing, but I don’t think the game will be as big as the Cheetahs vs Bulls game.
I predict a score in the 20′s for both teams.
13 Feb 2010, 15:51 pm
@Cide: It’ll be big…the Lions got huge pride and will throw everything in the first 30..including the kitchen sink….but will likely lose their puff and if the Stormers stand strong and keep their heads should take it comfortably…**** Muir also a huge factor in talking up his team…
13 Feb 2010, 15:56 pm
@Storm outta hell: True True.
I just hope the Stormers still have their brilliant defense, at least for the first 30 minutes.
13 Feb 2010, 15:57 pm
LIIIOOOONNNSSSSSSS!!!!!
13 Feb 2010, 16:00 pm
This game will be close until the last quarter. Bonus point win for the Stormers.
13 Feb 2010, 16:00 pm
@stolen_nic: …meeow…
13 Feb 2010, 16:01 pm
Earl Rose – key man
13 Feb 2010, 16:01 pm
@stolen_nic: Ed, is that you?
13 Feb 2010, 16:02 pm
@WP Till I Die: Whoohooo…off to the saloon bar in Gansbaai to watch the match amidst much cigarette smoke and drunken revelry…
13 Feb 2010, 16:02 pm
@Big Hit: Earl to be broken by a Big Hit..!!
13 Feb 2010, 16:04 pm
Actually I don’t support the Lions. Just the side that plays against the Stormers. Unless they play the Bulls.
13 Feb 2010, 16:10 pm
Don’t mean to be a Stormers party pooper, but…
Actually I don’t mind being a Stormers party pooper at all. This is a Lions thread (we’re mentioned first) and that means we call the shots here. My little boy and I both have our Lions jerseys on, so I’m afraid it’s tickets. 28-20. You heard it here.
13 Feb 2010, 16:10 pm
Hmmm, keo’s muppits have made no posting on the 10-5 victory by the Baby Boks yesterday. Why is that, I wonder. I bet that a loss would have seen the result posted here minutes after the match finished.
13 Feb 2010, 16:13 pm
@katman: Even cats cower before the storm
13 Feb 2010, 16:14 pm
@Big Hit: for what? knock-ons
13 Feb 2010, 16:17 pm
Cape Doctors blow out.
13 Feb 2010, 16:21 pm
the battle for 12th and 13th place?
13 Feb 2010, 16:22 pm
@stolen_nic: Only after wrecking havoc:-)
13 Feb 2010, 16:29 pm
My super-bru prediction was Stormers by 8, but I think it was a bit conservative. Looking at the sides on paper, Stormers should win by 15-20.
13 Feb 2010, 16:31 pm
Michael – nah, just a wet patch.
13 Feb 2010, 16:31 pm
My pick for semi’s before the weekend started was Crusaders, Brumbies, Bulls, Stormers. So far I’m happy, lets see what the Stormers will do. Hurricanes looked good, so did Reds.
13 Feb 2010, 16:35 pm
King Carlos !!!
13 Feb 2010, 16:37 pm
@Charlie: Hero or Zero.
13 Feb 2010, 16:38 pm
@stolen_nic: drowning everyone in its path
13 Feb 2010, 16:52 pm
@Johan Fourie: hope your right Johan, I have stormers by 15, need the points lol
13 Feb 2010, 16:57 pm
@poppa69: Actually hoping for a Lions upset! So far my predictions have been ok. Bulls I had by 15 (17), Crusaders I had by 13(15), Brumbies I had by 3(8), Tahs I had by 5(2). Only 1 I ‘m out was Blues/Canes, I had a Blues win.
13 Feb 2010, 16:59 pm
anyone got a streaming link for this match ?
go STORMERS !
13 Feb 2010, 17:01 pm
@Johan Fourie: way better then me, I had the blues, Brumbies (with the margin), cheetahs were my upset, I was the one upset lol .. Tahs I had by more, Mackenzie is an astute coach and didnt give his team the credit for his input..
so I have stormers and chiefs in the remaining games..
13 Feb 2010, 17:03 pm
@Black Panther: Im torn now, the way the Scots are going I dont know which one to watch.. though ant to see if the hype is founded for the stormers..
13 Feb 2010, 17:04 pm
BP, also looking for streaming… let me know if you find one…
13 Feb 2010, 17:04 pm
21-9 Scot
13 Feb 2010, 17:05 pm
@poppa69: Yeah, the Reds really surprised me! They could be a dark horse! I have Sharks by 2, but Chiefs might just pull this off!
Crusaders, Brumbies, Bulls, Canes look good so far.
13 Feb 2010, 17:06 pm
BP try this one justin.tv/super14_rugby#r=KLhkq48
13 Feb 2010, 17:07 pm
@Johan Fourie: me too, they didnt deserve to lose… Should be a cracker the sharks/chiefs, looking forward to that game..
13 Feb 2010, 17:10 pm
3-0 Stormers!
13 Feb 2010, 18:36 pm
How fat is Ricky Januarie? *****!
13 Feb 2010, 18:37 pm
back on line whats up with this web site
Stormers playing poorly this half at half pace. Running outa gas.
13 Feb 2010, 18:42 pm
Now he has lost his pace play habana at centre with Jacque at the stormers so that they can do it for the Boks then put Mapoe on the wing
13 Feb 2010, 18:42 pm
dropping the ball like a bunch of mofo’s wtf got into these simonks
13 Feb 2010, 18:43 pm
About time this thread is back!
13 Feb 2010, 18:43 pm
Egads. Where did the Lions import those women? England?
13 Feb 2010, 18:44 pm
Hahahahaha. Two Lions players knock themselves going up for the high ball.
13 Feb 2010, 18:47 pm
Mapoe must come into the reckoning most exciting talent to come through in a long time and De Jongh too but he must learn to pass.
13 Feb 2010, 18:52 pm
Why would anybody rate 34 year old Carlos Spencer over Earl Rose?
13 Feb 2010, 18:53 pm
scrappy game on this form Stormers going nowhere in a hurry. Better get a proper captain to lead them else its mid table again I’m afraid. With all these fancy pants imports.
13 Feb 2010, 18:54 pm
Anyway, Lions to get relegated
13 Feb 2010, 18:56 pm
Roar!
13 Feb 2010, 18:57 pm
rugga …cause Earl is the k@Kkest player in the world?
13 Feb 2010, 18:57 pm
The Stormers ran out of wind. I expected them to kick on but they got above themselves. Still, it is a win and 4 points.
Fourie played well. Habana went to sleep but was industrious in the first half. Pieterson needs to practice his kicking in the latter stages of a match. Grant was ok and Ricky has shed most of his fat.
13 Feb 2010, 18:59 pm
Take the win……… not great but a win is a win……. this helter skelter aimless rugby is not for me !
Happy with the scrumming, Brock stood up well to Heinke, but bring back the real rugby…..please !!
13 Feb 2010, 19:00 pm
WHAT IS THE POINT OF HAVING LOOSE FORWARDS?
Was there a single turnover from a loose forward in this game? every time a 6/7/8 tackles somebody the ref starts shouting “Release!Roll Away!” as load as he can.
This was bs.
13 Feb 2010, 19:01 pm
Lions always play upsetting rugby against the Stormers … I’ll take the win
13 Feb 2010, 19:01 pm
@rashied:
I disagree, dont jump on the bandwagon, think and motivate why you feel this way
13 Feb 2010, 19:02 pm
cide….in 3 years time you’ll see a Habana at 6… Fourie @ 7 and a Steyn @ 8 lol
@Cide:
Loose forwards should now focus on retaining the ball
No points in the 2nd half from Stormers against a no-name brand Lion’s team!
Well, at least we can console ourselves with the fact that it was an away win.
13 Feb 2010, 19:03 pm
rugga …. i’ll send you the CC tapes of 2007 – 2009
13 Feb 2010, 19:03 pm
Penalty Rugby: What a boring game Paddy and his half witted refs have created. 99% of those infringements don’t deserve a penalty, just a free kick, something that Soccer learn’t 100 years ago. 10 minutes after another penalty for the Stormers I switched channels
13 Feb 2010, 19:04 pm
So we comprehensively beat the WP in the second half 7-0 and it was only 2 very soft tries saved these once again over rated WPians with their light five pack from defeat.
As for my Lions I would say the first half was a very, very, very, very rusty performance by a young, inexperienced and exciting team.
Folks you could see the threat the Lions pose especially when Rose moved to FH and Killian came on. So please let us only talk about the second half performance. I say this team another match or 2 together for fireworks to happen … so far I am satisfied.
13 Feb 2010, 19:05 pm
Lions made far too many mistakes.Stormers will have to
improve 100% if they have semi-finals ambitions.On today’s
performance they would have battled to put the Cheetahs away.
For the Lions it is going to be heavy going.
If they had been able to hold on to a couple of players
it could have been a different story.The bulk of Alberts close to the try line was sorely missed.
13 Feb 2010, 19:07 pm
what you have to remember is that its the first week or Super rugby…refs will be more strict etc… to set a principal…they’ll relax in week 3 or so… why so surprised… its the same story since 2005 … Andre Watson’s brain ****
Lions replacement S/H was all over his opposite numbers. Nippy little fellow. Coetzee I think is the name.
@RedLion: Stormers relaxed too much. They made the pussies look good in the second half:-)
13 Feb 2010, 19:09 pm
redlion…if you are happy with the Lion’s performance you have serious issues…Stormers went to sleep …. its simple…the lions to take the wooden spoon
13 Feb 2010, 19:10 pm
for me, the biggest dissapointment was the 19yr old Lions wing…. tipped as the new Bok hero … he was k@k
13 Feb 2010, 19:11 pm
@Michael: naaaa, I do not think so. we have a brand new team with a brand new coach playing our very first match … AC baically is using his CC team that he has coached for the past 2 years … WP will again fail to launch.
13 Feb 2010, 19:11 pm
Boring match! Same rules, but the Cheetahs/Bulls match was superior in every respect! Sofar by far the most exciting match in the S14 this year.
13 Feb 2010, 19:12 pm
Na al die lawaai met die aankoop van Habana en Jaque Fourie was die Kaapse Kapenartjies nie eintlik indrukwekkend nie. Opreg dankbaar is is nie ‘n Stormer supporter nie – die seisoen kan nog lank word!
13 Feb 2010, 19:12 pm
Stormers need a captain and some direction quick or else its big hopes with little sunshine on the horizon one more time.
9 and 10 not functioning and light 5 still little on the ‘light’ side.
Cohesivenes around the loose also no great shakes. Only loosie worth his salt on that showing was Duanne Vermeulen.
This no contest at the break down a waste of time. May as well make it rugby league, every time player gets tackled then stand up and start again.
13 Feb 2010, 19:14 pm
@Cheetah 4 Eva: Nothing boring about a team that can keep a a clean scoreboard for an entire half and dominate a light 5 pack.
13 Feb 2010, 19:15 pm
@RedLion:
ps Cheetah, was it exciting watching the farm boys leak 6 tries?
13 Feb 2010, 19:16 pm
@RedLion: The Lions will get better. There just wasn’t anything in this match to trouble the Stormers.
What worries me is the lack of a killer instinct which they need to grow, fast.
13 Feb 2010, 19:16 pm
wtf people…. lions always plays upsetting rugby….keeping the scoreboard low boue …. but a bulls & lions supporter will always judge a team by the score ..
13 Feb 2010, 19:18 pm
26 – 6 @ halftime says it all …. even zuma will fall asleep after such a pakslae
13 Feb 2010, 19:19 pm
A powerful first-half performance set the platform for the Stormers’ 26-13 win over the Lions in Johannesburg.
Come on JC get with the times. You could have said something like WP saved by rusty first half Lions … not so?
13 Feb 2010, 19:21 pm
They had the lion’s share of both possession and territory in the first half, and although they botched a few early opportunities, their two tries arrived in such an emphatic manner that a four-try bonus seemed a formality
yeah yeah just like a bonus point victory was a formality so too is a WP semi final place … not so?
NOT!
13 Feb 2010, 19:23 pm
redlion …. maak plek vir die Kings my bra
13 Feb 2010, 19:23 pm
@RedLion:
Hey, your team lost and got zero bonus points at home against an out of sorts Stormers team. Nothing to be so excited about.
13 Feb 2010, 19:25 pm
Froggy’s waltzing all over Paddy’s
The Marselles on the march all the way to RWC 2011
13 Feb 2010, 19:26 pm
robzim lol…for the lions supporters in the last 3 years or say, a loss under 20 is considered as win
13 Feb 2010, 19:26 pm
The Lions started to come into their own as the play grew looser in the final quarter
WTH JC … looser and looser. No ways man what game were you watching. We camped in the WP 22 for 7 minutes and kept the ball tight dominating WPian forwards at will … then when the backs realised who their team mates you could see the hard work **** put into this team. My MOM was Clever, Killian, Coetzee, Burton …. hell our entire bench.
Next week **** will start with these players and fine tune his starting 15.
13 Feb 2010, 19:27 pm
@skopskiet:
The Irish are also helping them a bit – I have not seen them playing so pathetic for a long time.
One of those days I guess.
13 Feb 2010, 19:28 pm
@Robzim: admit it the WP were lucky to run into a rusty Lions team.
redlion are you for real??
redlion did you by any chance kuier with pedrie, earl & aswill last night?
13 Feb 2010, 19:29 pm
@rashied: shut up prawn let the big men talk.
13 Feb 2010, 19:30 pm
@rashied:
Yeah, indeed, they do not have many supporters but the few they have are on a roll. I guess they gonna paint Joeys red tonight.
Big day for them to lose by only 13 points at home.
redlion….soos jy tekere gan klink jy soos ‘n f0kken clown … weet jy van rugby
Redlion. It leaves a bad taste in one’s mouth when we see comments like yours. As for leaking tries, your team leaked the fourie try, after having him on your team for a few seasons surely you’d have marked him as one of the biggest threats and made plans to counter him. As for for farm boys, freestate has probably produced more Bokke than all the other provinces with the exclusion of northern transvaal. I await your witty reply..
13 Feb 2010, 19:32 pm
Jip, Redlion, the Cheetahs leaked 6 tries against the S14 champs, and scored 3 of their own. If u r happy with the Lions/WP match, then I really am amazed. The Lions did well considering. The Stormers were poor in relation to their hype, and pre season form. And yes in comparison it was zzzzzz!
13 Feb 2010, 19:32 pm
There’s plenty to think about following the first game of the season. The Stormers will hope to improve on their execution, as some poor decision-making and knock-ons in contact cost them possession early on.
JC why no talk about what the Lions have to improve on? I know that you are a WPian but as a journalist you have to be impartial.
13 Feb 2010, 19:36 pm
Smitty taking a walk coming through the ruck.
Boring rugga so far. Chiefs gonna have to spark some life in this game else its gonna be a dead bore.
13 Feb 2010, 19:39 pm
redlion …. weet jy die Stormers het met 13 gewen dude?
13 Feb 2010, 19:41 pm
wrong thread, Sharks – Chiefs showing why Nz rugby so much more exciting than ours.
13 Feb 2010, 19:42 pm
They also need to put teams like the Lions away when they have the chance, as they will know one log point could be the difference between play-off qualification and oblivion
oblivion
13 Feb 2010, 19:42 pm
Redlion. Your just looking at the lions and not at all at the stormers. The Stormers played **** rugby in BOTH halves in my opinion. The weak link was Peter Grant. Once he was off it looked much better. Also Tiaan Liebenberg’s defense is a joke. Twice he let attackers run past him without even moving a muscle.
All I’m saying is that this wasn’t a good showing by the Stormers. You want us to judge your Lions when they find their groove, but you should do the same for the Stormers. They will improve in the next game or two, but hopefully they wont drop a home game.
13 Feb 2010, 19:43 pm
@RedLion: 84
Coetzee played very well from the moment he step onto the field. Just that one knock on after the break by Earl that I can think of was his only mistake. Could have led to a try for you guys.
13 Feb 2010, 19:47 pm
Am i missing something? Was it just in HD that the Stormers “rook’ed” the lions 26 – 6 @ half time? lions julle is maar met min tevrede!
13 Feb 2010, 19:48 pm
Come on guys, give RL a break. All he is doing is to look at the positives they can take forward from this game, the way I read him.
What positives are there for us Stormer fans besides the win?
@Cide: I have to look at the Lions … I mean JC is only looking at the WP. The WP will have to improve big time because the they will no longer encounter rusty teams from next week onwards. The WP backs were good but they are missing something up front … I think Fodse was missed big time … that de Kok guy did nothing.
@nama1: Coetzee was lively compared to JP and I think he just earned hinself a starting jersey.
So far so good, I got already 6 out of 7 right, the Sharks might surprise me though
Read below my prediction from Thu, the RESULTS in brackets:
6. Hondo :
February 11th, 2010 at 8:08 pm
Blues- Hurricanes – Canes by 7. RESULT: Canes 34: Blues 20
Forces- Brumbies: Brumbies by 5. RESULT: Brumbies 24-Forces 15
Cheetahs – Bulls: Bulls by 13+ (RESULT: Bulls 51-Cheetahs 34) Only the margin is in question
Saders – Highlanders: (RESULT: Saders 31- Highlanders 17) Saders by 20+ a bunker
Reds – Warathahs: Warathas by 10 (RESULT: Tah 20-Reds 18) Reds are not as bad as the portrayed
Lions – Stormers: Stormers by 12+ (RESULT: Stormer 26-Lions 13) Lions a write off before it started
Sharks – Chiefs: Chiefs by 7 hot weather will restrict the Chiefs
Cide don’t let grant10 see you talking about peter grant that way. Although i must say my perception about of the bloggers has changed dramatically. Any blogger who rather talks about his team’s own flaws and applauds the opposition has my vote
13 Feb 2010, 19:53 pm
Stormers were not good enough today. Cheetahs , Reds , Highlanders , anyone could have beaten that Lions side.
Still a long way to go , but its nice to start with a win
13 Feb 2010, 19:56 pm
@Cide:
Agree, PG should never play at 10 for Stormers – he just does not have it in him to take control and dominate a match – against stronger opposition it will be fatal.
They also need a decent tight lock (Fondse) while the lack of a linking loosie (like Watson) is also a problem.
Another concern is the throwing into the lineouts by the reserve hooker Fourie – it is so bad that it nearly guarantees the opposition a line out steal every time he throws in.
13 Feb 2010, 19:56 pm
@wp_boytjie:
Agree. An away win at that.
13 Feb 2010, 19:59 pm
When a good 9/10/12 passes to the backs, they always pass with accuracy and force. Have a look at grant though, he passes like his arms are a sling. So the ball comes in at a sharper angle to the people on his outside, and not flat.
I think thats why de Jongh is having some trouble, although he did work hard tonight.
Anybody but Grant at 10, even Ricky will do.
13 Feb 2010, 20:03 pm
@Cide: lol even Ricky will do, naaaa play Pietersen at 10, good step, quick hands and nippy then play the big kicking Lionel Cronje at 15 … this will scare teams.
13 Feb 2010, 20:03 pm
I didn’t watch, a Super14 Team that consistantly selected a creep such as Rose is not worth my time, so I can’t comment on the Stormers’ performance.
I advised the Stormers not to go the chest pumping self exciting ritual about beating the Lions, better adapt to the Bulls’ business like undertoned approach , respectability starts right there.
If De Waal is fit next week, the Stormers’ selectors will be under pressure to keep De Jongh and to bring January back, we shall see.
13 Feb 2010, 20:06 pm
@nama1:
Who is RL?
13 Feb 2010, 20:08 pm
@Robzim:
Did they play Anton Van Zyl?
13 Feb 2010, 20:08 pm
So far we have identified three problem areas (thanks Robzim & Cide).
A tight lock, a linking loosie and a flyhalf who can ignite our potent back line. Do we have any people in our squad who can fill these positions?
13 Feb 2010, 20:09 pm
@RedLion: de Jongh and Pietersen 10 / 12.
That’s an easy channel to attack. I’d say
10 de Waal, or Cronje if de Waal can only pass with his feet.
11 Habananana
12 Grant ( don’t worry de Waal will throw the ball over his head)
13 Fourie / de Jongh
14 Aplon / de Jongh
15 Pietersen
13 Feb 2010, 20:10 pm
@Hondo:
RedLion
13 Feb 2010, 20:14 pm
@Hondo: yip and he too was useless, just like de Kok.
13 Feb 2010, 20:17 pm
@nama1: Bekker hangs out in the backline enough to be considered the linking loose forwad haha.
Fondse will be back in the next 2/3 weeks. Van Zyl should be starting the next match.
The Sharks have Monty Dumond , the Cheetahs have Naas Olivier and the Lions had to import a flyhalf. Grant is not 5 star package but in comparison to the other SA teams(except Bulls)he’s actually quite allrite. Cronje is too young and inexpierienced to start he has to be phased in slowly. Pieterson is not a flyhalf option , he needs space to be at his best , Like Frans Steyn he is best hanging out at the back
13 Feb 2010, 20:20 pm
I want to see a flyhalf do some cross kicks to Habana. That will never happen with Grant at 10.
13 Feb 2010, 20:25 pm
@nama1:
Anton v.Z is better than Fondse at 4, he is stronger and heavier, he has a brain on him too(Oxford)
Vermulen isn’t the loose FWD he was at Bloem, that was my impression from last year CC and he’s the one who should have fit the bill at #8.
Grant was mad not to take the offer from the Forces 2 years ago, he will never make it at the Stormers because of the pressure to field backs of colour, indeed he is better at 12 but with a decent No.9 he is more than adequate at #10, when January will be back (eventually), Grant is done at WP
13 Feb 2010, 20:27 pm
@RedLion:
Hmmmm,
Anton was their best Forward in 2009 S14 season, interesting
13 Feb 2010, 20:28 pm
@Hondo:
I meant the Lions’ best forward in 2009 S14 Campaign,
13 Feb 2010, 20:32 pm
@Hondo: at lineout time he was mostly dominated … Fondse is a better lineout player, taller, more physical and heavier than Van Zyl who is similar in stature to Burger and Vermeulen … but you have to watch him to make up your conclusions.
13 Feb 2010, 20:33 pm
@wp_boytjie:
I am glad to see someone sees it the same as I do!
But don’t kid yourself, January will be back by hook or by crook soon, and then what?
January already made De Waal and Grant look worse than Lance Sherrell, which was unthinkable at the time.
13 Feb 2010, 20:36 pm
@RedLion:
Next week I’ll watch but Anton got a lot of praises from the Aussis and the NZ Commentators.
Fondse is injuries prone, I wouldn’t hold my breath on his return!
13 Feb 2010, 20:49 pm
Happy Valentines Day!
13 Feb 2010, 21:05 pm
Wasn’t impressed, really. Too much rubbish still hanging on in the team. Wayne Julies version 2 is getting in the way of Habana and Jaque.
Bekker thinks he’s a wing, someone should stomp on his knees so he becomes slower, then maybe he’ll decide to hit the rucks.
Burger, man possessed.
13 Feb 2010, 21:14 pm
@Kobus Kitty: Sour grapes?
13 Feb 2010, 21:16 pm
@Windhoek.Lager:
Why?
13 Feb 2010, 21:18 pm
@Kobus Kitty: now that would be a very stupid idea
imagine… the longest legs, being chopped down for being too fast. it doesn’t matter who score the tries, as long as they get scored
13 Feb 2010, 21:18 pm
@Cide:
Grant can’t kick that far.
13 Feb 2010, 21:22 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
They weren’t being scored because every time the ball went out wide BEKKER would be there to make sure all momentum is stopped.
I was expecting more from the Stormers. Seems like they haven’t developed the Blue Bull instinct yet, even with their two world class imports.
13 Feb 2010, 21:29 pm
@Kobus Kitty: You know how many metres Bekker gained?
Tries weren’t being scored due to knock-on’s… good grief was our handling bad! But I hope that will clear up with more game time… also the altitude seemed to get them… but they want to go up the day before!
one of those imports happens to be a Bull
13 Feb 2010, 21:36 pm
Kobus, they won. Deal with it.
13 Feb 2010, 21:43 pm
Whoop,whoop…bring on da ‘Tahs…!!
13 Feb 2010, 21:51 pm
@SpringbokSarah: bokSarah, congratulations on your teams victory … they may have the match but the Lions won the fight, yip there is many a bruised WPian sleeping in their bath tubs filled with ice
13 Feb 2010, 21:55 pm
burger is a penalty machine. playing on reputation. starting to think he is totally over-rated.
de jong is all class!!!
am no stormer supporter – but play mr lionel cronje and your super backline will get bored of scoring tries. play de waal if you DONT wan’t your outside backs to get the ball. Play Bash if you want burger and co to run off the 10 channel all day long. Play the super talented cronje, he will make some mistakes, but he will grow in that pos and you will see fourie and habanananana running free.
not impressed by the lions one bit. showed that **** “****” Muir is NOT the great coach everybody thought he was. He is panicky. Got a “wiff” of that in uncle john smit’s book, and saw it today first hand. Lions won’t win much this year.
my poor cheetahs……..ai ai ai. Like my good mate says: the centers looked like balls in ‘n pinball machine. Bouncing off tackles. There are awesome youngsters like philip snyman and the young shimla captain wayne stevens who will tackle anything that moves. Get rid of the “reputations” (not that bosman and uys ever deserved any reputations except kak reputations). and mr Verster, what the F is up with that KAK ugly jersey!!!! Why do we have to see the poublou and purple-people-eater colors in that thing. ever heard of marketing your team you old **** verster??????? Second year running we will get the “ugliest” jumper award from the commentators. Not even laerskool Bloem will look good in that kots-ugly rubbish.
anyway – happy the those whiney irish got there …… handed to them
13 Feb 2010, 22:03 pm
@Slappes:
@RedLion: hey thanks man, Lions actually played well… never gave up (the buggers
) sorry Jaque had to be the one to score…
14 Feb 2010, 00:17 am
Interesting game.
Contrary to belief, **** used this game as trials. Wanted to see what he has in a game.
Expect a couple of changes next week against the Chiefs.
Two things are for certain….
1) The Lions onluy tested and tried.
2) Mossie is the biggest *** I have ever seen.
Lions will starts targeting wins when they return.
Sat in a suite with the best Lions backline…
Venter, Hollenbach en Noble.
**** is using the first couple of games as trials. Not too bad.
14 Feb 2010, 00:34 am
@WilladieLeeu:
I bet you never thought Mossie is a big *** when he still played for the Lions.
Sour grapes?
14 Feb 2010, 00:37 am
@Robzim:
Not sour grapes.
He’s a doos.
Refused to come out with the players to sign autographs.
14 Feb 2010, 00:43 am
@WilladieLeeu:
I was not there and has never met Fourie (so I cannot really comment)but from what I heard he is quite friendly with the fans in CT and a likeable fellow.
Maybe there was a reason that he did not come out to sign autographs?
14 Feb 2010, 00:46 am
@Robzim:
Ya, ’cause he is a doos.
14 Feb 2010, 00:49 am
@WilladieLeeu:
If it makes you happy.
14 Feb 2010, 00:50 am
@Robzim: Robbie I am pleased that I am still totally crushing you on SuperBru.
14 Feb 2010, 00:51 am
@Robzim:
It doesn’t.
Had a good evening with some of the Lions players, he doesn’t even take their calls.
14 Feb 2010, 00:53 am
@SodaJoe:
Hey Joe,
Not again??!!
I missed out on the Blues and Sharks – had the Stormers by 14.
What do you think of your team’s performance?
14 Feb 2010, 00:53 am
@WilladieLeeu: willa – we looked ok in second half. But not exactly world beaters. Scrum looked good, locks “ok”, loosies were “ok”. Carlos looked good, wasn’t quite sure why he didn’t come back out.
Earl played well. Obvioulsy defensively frail, but he takes a gap like few can (I am worried about him under the high ball – he has overcome the fear and catches it, but perhaps lacks strength to hold on inthe ensuing maul and we lose it).
Doppies had a great game today. I thought Clever was also good.
Vermulen was outstanding today for me.
14 Feb 2010, 00:55 am
@Robzim: We are tied in the lofty position of 67.
14 Feb 2010, 00:56 am
@WilladieLeeu: Willa. Let it go. He was very loyal for a long time.
He was not very present today any way, despite the try.
14 Feb 2010, 00:57 am
@WilladieLeeu: What is happening with Buys?
What changes do you see next week?
14 Feb 2010, 00:58 am
“Doppies had a great game today.”
Your kidding me???
The three tackles he missed?????
Spencer got a high tackle from Schalk….injured his neck. Ref apparently didn’t see.
14 Feb 2010, 00:59 am
Fourie wanted to come out and sign some stormers jerseys but his security detail forbade it…
14 Feb 2010, 01:02 am
@SodaJoe:
Buys will be fine next week.
Jacques will start.
Walter will start. Hollenbach will start. George Earl will start.
Clever will start. Dusty will start.
14 Feb 2010, 01:02 am
@WilladieLeeu: Harsh. He made his tackles too, made hospital passes look better than they were, broke the line and also played that “fetcher” role he does so well excellently.
The high tackle was more King Carlos slipping boet.
14 Feb 2010, 01:03 am
@gunther: Hello Shunts.
14 Feb 2010, 01:04 am
@WilladieLeeu:
Carlos ducked into the tackle. It was pointed out to the ref by Marius Jonker (you can trust him to never miss anything from a Stormer) and he reprimanded Schalk for not using his arms. The commentators thought it was a bit harsh.
14 Feb 2010, 01:05 am
My bloody Mighty Whites need to start winning a few. I cannot cope with another playoff.
14 Feb 2010, 01:08 am
@SodaJoe:
walaykum my old mucker sorry bout your boys today, even the normally hot dancing girls looked a bit rough if i’m honest…
14 Feb 2010, 01:09 am
@SodaJoe:
Your thinking of the first tackle. There was a second one.
14 Feb 2010, 01:09 am
@Robzim:
to be fair carlos isn’t very tall…
still very naughty of the stormers to try and sink the lions battleship…
14 Feb 2010, 01:14 am
@gunther: I made the same comment. Really – they might do better getting some of the “ladies” in Ponte Towers or Yeoville. And wtf were they wearing?
14 Feb 2010, 01:15 am
sa take the field in the vegas sevens (this is not a card game) to the sound of bruce springstein’s well known rock anthem born in the rsa…
14 Feb 2010, 01:16 am
@SodaJoe:
actually the lions girls from last year were smoking hot… apparently they are all pregnant now…
14 Feb 2010, 01:19 am
@gunther: Classic. I’ve missed this.
14 Feb 2010, 01:22 am
@SodaJoe:
they did try some of the ponte tower “ladies” but their ***** were distracting the players…
14 Feb 2010, 02:54 am
@Slappes:
What do you mean? I wanted them to win with a bonus point.
These new “law interpretations” are ridiculous. Out of all the games I watched, I only saw a handful of actual steals. Only way to turn the ball over now is from a knock on/forward pass, pathetic. These Australasians are ruining my rugby, they have no clue. Someone should punch John O’Neil really hard right in his stupid convict face.
14 Feb 2010, 05:23 am
May as well get rid of the 2 props and turn it into the 13 man game. When player gets tackled defending team gotta get the hell out the way. So why not just blow the whistle and let attacking team start with a tap kick. Get up stand up and start all over again. If no contest on the ground then rugga union is pretty much dead and buried, may as well call it rugga league and get the snot en trane right out the way.
14 Feb 2010, 06:13 am
Well i have always backed Fourie that his ego has not got ahead of him but his arrogant display after his try must have got the Lions management smarting – dont think it was called for from such a world class player
14 Feb 2010, 06:27 am
The biggest disappointment for me was when the Stormers opted to go for poles with 10 mins to play. They were up by thirteen. That was the moment to go for the 4 try bonus point. Bonus points don’t seem to be valued at the beginning of the season, but when it is all wrapping up teams find themselves having to chase those points or miss out. How many times do we see this belated regret over points left behind?
14 Feb 2010, 06:38 am
@WilladieLeeu:
As if the tackle would have had a bearing in the match. Face it, the Lions were nowhere, attacked the Stormers line continuously, pounding phase after phase…nothing.
Heinke van der Merwe wasn’t terrific, in fact he was mediocre, I think they should stop doing interviews with the guy. Honestly, leave him on the field playing, communicating…or perhaps it should be, thinking seems to be difficult for him.
Quote from yesterday…
Worst dressed player?
Heinke: Uh Tod Clever..uh..because he is American…and uh in America…uh…he is funny
Brilliant.
14 Feb 2010, 07:43 am
very dissapointing Stormers performance. Really they must be bold and give L Cronje a run at 10…
14 Feb 2010, 10:22 am
@WilladieLeeu:
That wasn’t a high tackle at all…
Spencer lost his footing and was going down… and smacked his face into Schalk’s arm… had he not slipped the tackle would’ve been around waste height…
BUT… Stormers were not good enough on the night to be serious contenders…
they have to up their game and play for the full 80 minutes if they’re gonna come anywhere close to contending…
14 Feb 2010, 10:55 am
I like the new law or strict way on the old law!!
Too many times in the past teams got away by slowing down the ball when a team is attacking in the red zone….now there is no hiding behind this and also no players just simply lying on the ball!! I love that they get pinned for it for a change!
Allister must go I must say…..any coach worth his salt should have seen in the second halve that the lions were not going to kick and run everything, sure against most other teams the kick for territory would be great but come on…..
READ the game AC…..they ran everything….just keep the ball in hand and grind them and make them tackle!!!! A good coach would have read this and send the message out to the players….but in the second half we were still playing the same plan instead of reading the game and situation!!!?????
That is why we have no silver ware….AC will tel you we ticked the boxes, BUT we are not a champion side like the bulls……we should have finished this weak lions with a 75-14…instead we went with defending an ordinary lead and that is what we will stay if we keep on defending weak leads!!!!!
14 Feb 2010, 19:25 pm
@Hoops: Yep…we actually seem to be suffering from Bull/Bok sickness…in that if the game plan is not working-what do we do…stick to the gameplan of course…
14 Feb 2010, 21:49 pm
@Storm outta hell: We won FFS!!! First game of the season and an away win – 4 log points. They will get better – Relax!
14 Feb 2010, 21:58 pm
@RedLion: For a team that just got THUMPED at home by a side playing “poorly” you have a lot to say for yourself.