WP close in on De Villiers

Western Province and the Stormers have signalled their intent on signing Jean de Villiers on his return to South Africa later this year.

Former captain De Villiers is currently playing for Irish outfit Munster, but will come back to his home country in order to win a spot in the 2011 World Cup squad. Although De Villiers is technically a free agent from June this year, the Western Province Rugby Union have stated their intentions.

‘WP Rugby noted Jean de Villiers’ media statement on the Munster website yesterday, confirming that he will return to South Africa at the end of the European season,’ said WP Rugby MD Rob Wagner.

‘Jean is a world class player who has excelled on the international stage. He has played all his rugby in the Cape having represented both WP and the Stormers. We will be contacting him to learn more of his intentions and explore opportunities.’

In a recent interview with SA Rugby magazine, De Villiers acknowledged it’s a professional era, but admitted he can’t really see himself playing for another South African province.

169 Comments

• 1.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

Good.

• 2.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

Bad

• 3.Dantalian: Reply to this comment

Ugly

• 4.Troedels: Reply to this comment

No man, go to the Cheetahs. Come on Naka, make him an offer he cant refuse aka ‘n beesplaas!

• 5.wpw: Reply to this comment

Well done to the WP rugby union for being proactive!!
    Jean is still in the prime of his career and along with Fourie and Habana will bring some much needed potency to the WP backline!! :cool:

• 6.wpw: Reply to this comment

Just read the last paragraph now. So there you have it, Jean doesnt see himself playing for another team in SA. :grin:

• 7.vasteses: Reply to this comment

I do not think he will fit in any other province budget, he will definetaly not fit into the bulls game plan nor the sharks for that matter, only Lions and Cheetahs and obviosly stmrs.

• 8.saffer13: Reply to this comment

Great news! It’s going to be interesting to see just how much use WP get from their Boks in the Currie Cup with the 3N’s and player resting going on…

• 9.vasteses: Reply to this comment

WPW, you should not confuse, running scared (scared of loosing him to another province), with being proactive

• 10.grant10: Reply to this comment

well….this will make UFO extremely happy….

and will be a great boost for the 2011 Super 14 prospects for stormers.

Still feel we a top class prop and a thinking mans loosie away from the real deal….

and please lets give L Cronje a shot at 10…..

• 11.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

YES!

I will have a captain!!!!!!

• 12.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

It is between WP and the Sharks for his signature, in my opinion. Wouldn’t be surprised if the Sharks snap him up. They need some backline stars desperately.

The Cheetahs and Lions can’t afford him, and the Bulls don’t want him and even if they did want him, it is against their policy to bring guys in who are just after the money.

• 13.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah:

Not just yet

• 14.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: good day tacci , and agreed we do need some stars , as we lost many and never replaced

top notch players dont fall out of trees or experience that they bring

• 15.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:
    I agree that the Bulls wouldn’t want him, but they do need him , and a wing

• 16.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:

Why do you say the Bulls need him?

• 17.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: why? who else is gonna buy him?

Bulls don’t want him, Lions and Cheetahs can’t afford him… **** I forgot about the Sharks…

Rassie… get moving.

• 18.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

for me….it’s between the sharks and the lions.

and if Muir is serious about turning the entire union around, he’ll need a general.DeVilliers would also enjoy the kind of rugby Muir always wants his side to play as well as the added responsibility and junior players playing around and off him.

Before even thinking of the sharks, I’d wait and see if plumtree is going to hang around.
    A move back to the Cape would be a move backwards.

• 19.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl:

…and let’s face it, everyone seems to get messed around at the sharks, he’ll probably end up as fullback or scrumhalf?

• 20.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Random side note… 9 of our teachers are pregnant (possibly 10), 2 of whom are dating male teachers at the school… I think they should attend out ***-ed classes… don’t you?

• 21.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl: A move to the Cape would be a move home. Where is brother, mother, father and fiance’s family is

• 22.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

And besides, Schalk is missing Jean ;-)

• 23.katman: Reply to this comment

No, it will be Province. There is no other way. It’s not about the rugby – it’s the lifestyle. If he was still a wet behind the ears youngster eager for a contract he’d go elsewhere. But he’s calling the shots on this one. And once you’ve lived in Cape Town… well let’s just say it would be like turning down the Table Bay hotel for the airport Formula One.

• 24.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl: uhm you forget it is the self same **** muir that more then most shifts players around and out of position

he did so at the sharks and the boks

ruan become a flyhalf at the sharks at the request of muir and snorre

• 25.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah: :lol:

• 26.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@katman: oh dear… lol… Flo’s been dropping hints for 2 months… let’s wait and see I guess

• 27.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: the sad part is… Schalk said it first :roll:

• 28.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

lol , hey you guys do have broke back mountain there :lol: guess its natural down there hehehehe

jokes aside look hes a cape boy by heart and soul , i would be surprised if he went elsewhere

and of course we need him at the sharks , him and adi could again be a great partnership

• 29.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: well i do think that the Bulls are in need of a top class 13,

• 30.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: but Jean and Jaque would be even better…

• 31.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:

But he’s a 12.

SA’s short on talented, well behaved 13′s…

• 32.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah: this is true but you already have another young good 12

and then you have newman also a 12

• 33.grant10: Reply to this comment

JDV to Sharks

in return for

B J Botha.

• 34.grant10: Reply to this comment

just keep that those other 3 turbo reverse front row in Durbs please

• 35.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

I’m out… one last thing…

JEAN COME HOME DAMMIT! Who’s Schalla gonna room with? Do you really want somebody else subjected to his snoring which you once described as “some animal devouring his prey in the Serengeti” … not my cup of tea… but hey whatever you’re in to…

• 36.stormloop: Reply to this comment

lets hope jean is a man of morals and take wp up on their offer. i would hate, hate, hate, seeing him play for the sharks.

PS. adi jacobs is OVERRATED!!!!!

• 37.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: But who would be a better mentor for Juan than Jean?

@grant10: if he does… Gillian will make sure he can never have kids…

ciao

• 38.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

Hehehe.

By the way, what was with John Smit sarcastically telling the ref “Welcome to the S14″, when he was getting yellow carded nogal?

That didn’t make sense to me. They gives you your marching orders and you reply with a comment that suggests you have him at a disadvantage? Seems like Jonno was the one at the disadvantage, marching off the field.

Was that meant as some kind of psychological dig at the ref? Because I guarantee all that did was reinforce the ref’s antagonism towards the Sharks, as demonstrated by his subsequent decisions.

• 39.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@stormloop: you’re my new favourite blogger ;-)

• 40.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:
    well if you are looking for well behaved look no further than JP NEL. lol, Jean can play 13

• 41.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

lol @ sarah

• 42.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:

Ignore the weird typing in the second paragraph. It’s been a longish day at work.

• 43.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:

JP is very well behaved. He lines you up. He takes your head off. He quietly trots back to his position.

No theatrics, no weird hand gestures, no tappitt hairstyles.

Just gets on with his job…

• 44.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

wp would just be dof to recruit him.

Rassie would be putting the finishing touches to an “ageing” backline.

januarie
    de waal
    de villiers
    fourie
    habana
    jantjies

….not a hell of a lot of mileage beyond 2011 in my opinion.

big targets and nothing I’d be afraid of challenging if i was an up-and-coming 23 year old something.

outside of burger…the pack still has a young look about it and the better performance reflect this.

it’s a fine line between an experienced squad and an “old” one.

• 45.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl:

Good point.

• 46.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: 38

When last smit captained a team to a win?

Italy?

Matfield will skipper Boks in 2011 WC…..

• 47.grant10: Reply to this comment

The Brig makes sense as well….for me i would spend the bucks on a hardebaard prop….

and of course if we could lure my mate LW back….bonus!!

• 48.grant10: Reply to this comment

when are those Sharks going to name there team SL???

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

well behaved blue bull players that snort cocaine and binge drink? Oxymoron of the day…

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

it appears Bulls will make 2 changes for Bumbies clash….F Hougaard for Mametsa…and Stefan Dippenaar for Jaco Pretorious…..

Dippenaar…21 years old…up against Mortlock….

moer him stefan!!

• 51.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10: not sure grant depends on an injury or 2 they waiting on

• 52.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Stirling will chew up this kid and spit him out like chewing gum that has lost flavour!

• 53.grant10: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: 51

Thanks

Helleva important game SL…helleva nb mate…

• 54.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: 52

ja…..at least Bulls prepered to back the youngster….

here L Cronje still waits….dammit

till later

• 55.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:
    That is getting old now, at least P3 had the guts to talk about his problem and do someting about it. Thus i only know of one moron

• 56.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: lmao, :D you can believe that bullsh*t of “atleast P3 talked about it” that is fine, what choices did he have? His coach knew about it, someone out there had a tape of him snorting in a nightclub, his mother found straws in his room, methinks pedrie was cornered!

Well behaved blue bulls players my ar*e, the sanctimonious attitude stinks.

• 57.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:

Your quite an angry man/woman, aren’t you? Watch out for them ulcers, my man.

@grant10:

The Bulls have a designated no.1 and no.2 in each position. Dippenaar is the bakcup 13. So if Pretorius is injured, he steps in. Unless strategy dictates differently for a particular game.

So each guy at the Bulls knows exactly where he stands.

• 58.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:

Well said!!!

These Bulls and their double standards makes me wanna puke!!! :twisted:

• 59.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: since we’re into being judgemental….you are quite a polarising figure Tac, a stain in the fabric of this blog.

• 60.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:

Still angry, I see.

• 61.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10: as XhosaKid mentioned it earlier it is strange that WP/Stormer would be more that eager to play Matt To’omua a flyhalf in the last games of the currie cup but are somehow reluctant to start Lionel Cronje.

The Brumbies started with To’omua pivot on friday, with Christian Leallifano as his back up, both players are young…

• 62.stormers604: Reply to this comment

de jongh on the wing…….

duvenhage/ januarie
    cronje ( bigger upside than grant)
    de villiers( jean will have a calming affect of nerves with cronje)
    fouries
    habana
    de jongh
    pietersen/jantjes

• 63.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:

wasn’t a whole bunch of blokes injured during that period?

also, I remember their was a rule withregards to minutes being played, addmittedly can’t remember the full story but they didn’t want to chuck a youngster in at the deep end vs the bulls who still had a long career with WP.

Basically, they had no problem fcking up an ozzies career. And he only sat on the bench most of the game anyway.

anyway, what’s all the hype with this cronje bloke? Has he even played vodacom cup yet? Or Currie Cup?

rightfully, the WP management aren’t betting their entire season on a unproven greenhorn flyhalf in the worlds toughest rugby tournament.Flyhalf is such an important position.

• 64.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl:

Cronje has not played CC or Vodacom cup rugby. He is still a youngster, played SA under 20 last year at the IRB world championship and was also picked up the SA under 21 player of the year award.

When To’omua (brilliant player) came to CT to play cc rugby he already had Super 14 experience behind him – could not really compare him to any of the young flyhalves available in the WP at that time.

WP also has another brilliant young flyhalf/scrumhalf available in Conrad Hoffman – Sadly his talent is currently wasted at Varsity cup rugby.

• 65.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl: hi brig…only willem de waal was injured.

Peter Grant was fully fit when Matt came to town, i even remember the story was that Bash was going to go fetch him @ the airport and show him around before going to Newlands…

Grant started the game against the Lions at ellis park and matt was to come on in the second half, then Bash moved to 12 & de jongh to 13

But i guess it was as you say, they were okay with messing up an aussie’s career :D

• 66.grant10: Reply to this comment

i would back L Cronje….but have no problem with him being introduced gradually.

• 67.grant10: Reply to this comment

James o Connor about to start at 10 for WF sat as well i see…Toomua a damn fine 20 year old 10…..

Sometimes maybe take a chance…..Grant seemingly not really the answer at 10….

Tough one

• 68.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:

They did not mess up his career at all – he slotted in without any problems at CC level – in fact, WP was so impressed with him that they were keen in signing him up for the 2010 Super 14 but the Aussies would not even consider it to let him go.

• 69.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

I will also take the chance and start with Cronje and have Grant on the bench covering 10 and 12.

btw I heard Wikkelspies had a solid game for a WP Xv against SWD the past weekend. It is now only a matter of time…..

• 70.WP_: Reply to this comment

Damn right he’ll come back to WP.

Jean and Jaque in the centres…

Nothing better

• 71.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: LOL

Yeah….although somehow WPmanaged to lose that game!!

But i would throw L Cronje into the 2 nd half Sat…..will be a helleva baptism…..gonna be tough….

But if Dippenaar and Toomua and O Connor , as well as a host of young Kiwis are being thrown in, then we too should be prepared to throw in Cronje….IMO

• 72.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Hello Ladies.

Still going on about Lionel.

• 73.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: 72

My kingdom for a 10 !!!

For Stormers

And a 3

for boks

• 74.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

how serious can you take a rugby player called “lionel” in south africa?

he sounds like a Paff if you ask me.

• 75.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Matchup:

Scrum : Tahs (with Blaauw out)
    Lineouts: Stormers by a mile
    Defence: Equal
    Kicking game: Tahs (Barnes in a class of his own)
    Rucks/breakdowns – Tahs by a whisker
    Outside Backs : Stormers

50/50 game imo.

• 76.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl: I have to agree. But WP have always been La Cage Au Folle. So he should fit in well.

The tutu section will have their ballet pumps all in a flutter.

• 77.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@grant10: We have many good 3′s – BJ, WP Nel, Buys. Enough for the Boks. We just have to play tehm.

I am very concerned with Beast. He is not scrumming at all well, and hasn’t for some time.

• 78.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Have to say that I might be betting on the Tahs. But if Stormers can win, it bodes very well for chances to finish very high up at the end of the season.

• 79.carol: Reply to this comment

Can’t say I blame Jean. Ireland in the winter is fairly grim!!
    Wonder if he has become a Guinness or Jamesons man?

• 80.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: 77
    true….but hell WP Nel was given a harsh lesson by Guthro ….went down a peg or 2 in my estimation….at times reminded me of smit against that aussie robinson.

• 81.carol: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: Lionel or Percy both very Victorian names!!
    No one in Britain under 70 is called Percy or Lionel!!

• 82.carol: Reply to this comment

@grant10: ;-) Howdy..

• 83.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: :-) Same to you!!

• 84.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Ja Joe, It might be a good bet – I am also concerned about Saturday.

on another issue: have you ever read the Clapton autobiography – I am busy with it at the moment – great read – the man is one hell of a survivor.

• 85.grant10: Reply to this comment

this weekend a litmus test for stormers aspirations….

And the Rubicon for Sharks and Cheetahs….

And Bulls must be wary of them Brumbies….

Lions need to bounce back…..and by the way Chiefs never ever win in Joburg before…..

• 86.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@grant10: I watched the game. But not all the time. So I can’t really with authority say what happened in the scrum.

But I can’t say I’ve ever seen Guthro scrum anyone, so if he did that’s disappointing.

WP Nel was excellent last year anyway.

• 87.grant10: Reply to this comment

hi carol….trust you well?

I got 2 mates by name of Lionel….quite a common name here….

• 88.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: I haven’t read his book Robbie, not ahuge Clapton fan. I did love him whn he played with John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers though – genius.

Shakey – the neil Young biography is excellent by the way.

• 89.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: 86

Ja….he was murdered by Guthro….popped almost every scrum….Guthro magically improved….may have something to do with Gary Botha?

Of course OS would have cheetahs hard at it this week….Sharks may cop another front row mauling if they not careful…

• 90.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@carol: Stormers are famous for retreading ballet dancers.

• 91.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@grant10: I have NEVER EVER SEEN Gary Botha scrum for ****.

Completely overrated imo.

But who knows, these guys come back from Europe very improved it seems?

• 92.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Even if you are not a fan I am sure you would like his book – very direct and honest – one of the best autobiographies I have ever read.

I will give Shakey a go, thks

• 93.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Carol, just in Cape Town.

We have much more manly names every where else. Like Joe. Usually they call me Big Joe. or King Joseph. Normal manly stuff like that.

It’s the Speedophiles in Cape Town that are called Lionel or Percy or Claude.

• 94.grant10: Reply to this comment

man u 1 AC Milan 1

39 minutes gone

At the san siro

away goal

luv it

• 95.carol: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: The ballet dancing comment just flew over my head, lots of talk about tutu’s and cross dressing about today but speed reading Afrikaans did not really enlighten me much!!

Percy had the fine legs of a ballet dancer on reflection!

• 96.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: 93

or Gilbert….

my mate here in Clifton is Gabrielle

but he aint no angel

• 97.carol: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Still amazed at some of your christian names over there.
    Wynand for one!

• 98.carol: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Gabrielle of Clifton SMOULDERS!! Grrrrrr

Well he did when I met him!! ;-)

• 99.grant10: Reply to this comment

@carol: 98

Ja, he is supercool…..

His wife still pops in for my peanut butter sandwiches….Gabrielle very strict on his eating habits…..so she loves visiting me!

• 100.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

if WP are gonna try and bring JDV back to the Cape, they going to lose the talented De Jong.
    the sharks are better off taking JDV. seems his short stay in ireland could be have been a ploy to get a short holiday in with his fiance and also to raise his earning value in SA.

think it might also do his rugby a bit of good by getting further exposure playing for another province in SA.

c’mon sharks get cracking.

i wouldnt shift de jong to wing to accomodate JDV, as it would take 2 promising players out of position. aplon and de jong. aplon is an awesome talent.

• 101.grant10: Reply to this comment

1 each half time….
    go man u !

• 102.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

A 28-year-old Cape Town man has just won the Mr. World *** pageant. He is called Carl van den Berg from Sea Point.

Quite a manly name?

• 103.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tomsta: ja….some valid points there

but he will comeback to wp…of that i am sure.

but we need a prop here….

and LW loss will be felt …

• 104.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: 102

Thank the merciful angels he is not from Clifton!!

Another 400 m up the road and some okes on the other blog sites would have died laughing!!!

• 105.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

Did you watch the Luke Watson/Butch James video that Elliot2 mentioned yesterday?

• 106.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Oh I thought that Gilbert was a Durban name, like Clifford. Those Modern Dance names.

• 107.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: *** Pagent, Bwahahahahah now that is good.

Have to eat, see you guys!!

Grant, not peanut butter sandwiches although I too am partial!!

• 108.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Scholes missed it completely, hit his other leg and trickled in. Luckyest goal ever. Typical Man u flukery.

• 109.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Carol V Berg is not so manly to me.

• 110.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

LoL, he might not be from Clifton but is probably a honorary citizen of 3rd Beach by now.

• 111.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@grant10: It is rumored that he is coming to The Lions to be backline coach as well. So he will have a pleyr coach type role, which will see him through RWC and tehn he will start coaching in earnest.

With him and Carlos we will be good.

• 112.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: 105

No Rob….

• 113.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Come on you guys. I know you like Luke, think he’s good, etc, etc. But the Stormers loose trio were outstanding and Duane Vermulen got man of the match. WTF?

• 114.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

hehehe, sharp!

• 115.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

You guys writing of Peter Grant giving him the same phobia’s and self doubt that they hang around Ruan Pienaar’s head.

This Lionel Cronje looks like another Gaffie du Toit to me. Whole lot of promise but does he have the spunk? Saffa’s love kicking fly halves thats why the running variety never make it. Peter grant starting to believe all the negative press they all laying on him like here on this site.

• 116.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: 111

Swop JDV for Heinke anyday…..juan de jongh deserves a run …

• 117.grant10: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 115
    Well skop he is given another chance Sat….so lets see how he goes…L Cronje a lot more than a kicking 10 from what i have seen.

• 118.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Stormers went awol after half time like Bob would say, no direction known, like a complete unknown, lie a rolling stone. Zero coherence, Lions were running rings around them. Lucky we got those 2 first half tries else would have been panic stations second half.

• 119.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: I can’t comment as I only saw him as a sub last week. But there is a tendency to say that guys are world beaters when they’ve hardly played a game.

By the way what has happened to Nick Koster?

• 120.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

They were good, but imo all 3 are very similar type of players and the balance will be better if they have someone who is a bit of a lateral thinker/”linkman” in the mix.

I think a player like Koster could also add another dimension – apparently he is another 4-6 weeks from playing.

• 121.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Grant had so many chances but he has failed to improve his kicking game and imo his distribution skills is nothing to write home about either.

To me he is only a journeyman flyhalf whose best asset is his tackling.

• 122.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Is Koster as good as everyone says he is? If he is he needs to go and play somewhere where he can be an 8′th Man – in SA or Europe or Australia. Playing on the wing was and always will be the height of stupidity.

• 123.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Robie I have to take this criticim with a pinch of salt. You’re a guy who thinks Willem De Waal is the answer.

I am with Skops – Grant is a very good flyhalf, international class. He is however a better 12.

• 124.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Fkn Leeds are going to break my heart this year. Again. I can see it. 0-1 Walsall up.

• 125.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

1-1. Thank you god.

• 126.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

All I can say about Koster is that he was absolutely brilliant at school level – one of the best schoolboy talents I have ever seen.

I agree, he should not play wing again and must try and make the Stormer team as a no 8 or otherwise go to another Franchise where he can get game time in that position.

• 127.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Peter Grant played for Pieter de Villiers in 2007 in the Bok development side and should have been incumbent fly half straight into 2008 season. If they would have done that and played January instead of Fdp in 2008 and Grant instead of Butch 2 things would have happened. We wouldn’t have come stone last in the 3N. We wouldn’t have gone into this kick and chase malignancy, and Peter Grant would have realised the potential that was denied him and which he now doubts he ever had.

Poor player management and piss poor decision taking which cost us a whole season of realignment. Fdp, Butch, Percy, Jdv and F. Steyn proceeded to lose 19-0 at Newlands because of it.

• 128.grant10: Reply to this comment

Koster must get fit….and go back to 8
    IMO

• 129.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

see how passionate we are about rugby. 1 week into the new season and all sorts of comments made on potential of players :)

whats PDV have to say on the new attitude of the refs wrt to breakdown rules, etc?

• 130.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: he will struggle to get game time with vermuelen there. he might have to go to Melbourne Rebels.

@skopskiet: be serious, no coach in their right mind would drop a talent like fdp to try and redirect the state of play. PDV is making progress and im especially looking fwd to seeing what he comes up with for this test season. there is noise that these new ‘rules’ will be applied for incoming tests in june.

• 131.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Rooney header 2-1 United

• 132.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

That is fair (the pinch of salt part).

The moment the Stormers lose a match they will pick Willem again. And he will win matches for them. Mark my words.

Many people do not realise that he is a better distributor who has much better ball skills, tactical awareness and flair for the game than Grant will ever have. They only see the kicking part and do not realise that he is playing according to a game plan that was/is designed by Rassie and Alister.

Conrad Hoffman and L Cronje are also potentially much better flyhalves than Grant imo.

• 133.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

Hoffman has the same silky skills as Ruan Pienaar and probably kicks better.

• 134.grant10: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 131
    yES!!!

lOVE IT!

• 135.grant10: Reply to this comment

that 10 spot giving me sleepless nights….

• 136.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

in 2008 Fdp and Butch James were our absolute Achilles Heel’s. Should never have played either of them. January won the game in Dunedin then got dropped for Perth and Fdp and Butch lost us that one then Cape Town and Durban. Fdp is no genius imo and if were me Pretorius and Pienaar or Grant would be half backs.

What did Fdp and M. Steyn achieve in Europe this last Eoyt? More up n under kick and chase one dimensional rubbish.

Only time bok’s looked like anything resembling a running rugby team was when Adams and Pienaar were running the back line against Saracens with Rose in able support until Hougaard came on and produced more Fdp clone trash and proceeded to undo all the positives and stuff it all up again.

Another Rooney header ManU 3-1

• 137.grant10: Reply to this comment

rob and wikkelspies….a passionate love affair

me and smit….the exact opposite….

amazing how we al have our favorites….1 mans drink is another mans perfume…

Skop and FDP springs to mind

Justrubys aversion to Ruan Pienaar…

• 138.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

LoL, that is how it goes.

Some more examples:

Tacitus and the whole blue bull team
    Carol and Percy
    Puma and Francie (sic)
    Sarah and the whole Stormer team
    Soda and Leeds United (WTF)

• 139.Robzim: Reply to this comment

2-3

• 140.charo: Reply to this comment

greatest fc in the world – 3

sorry eyeties – 1

hope hater hasn’t slit her wrists.

on a serious note….

robzim, i am right behind you…peter grant is very ordinary.
    has always been, even at maritzburg college.

sorry eyeties got one back — 3-1 to manu

• 141.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Seedorf gets one back 2-3

• 142.charo: Reply to this comment

@charo:

sorry 3-2

• 143.carol: Reply to this comment

138 – Hey Rob, there was one point when it was Grant and Francie (that was until Jake’s Barbarians Match) !!

Actually, Percy and Carol does have a ring to it! :grin:

• 144.carol: Reply to this comment

@charo: Hiya Charo, what’s new in your neck of Africa?

• 145.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Peter Grant is no flash fly half, some might say he’s ordinary. But the real issue is not Grant but the style and game plan we play to. Correct coaching would have identified players strengths and weaknesses and brought out positives instead of relying on negatives. Bok rugby gas reverted to negative rugby to win ugly and win without the ball.

We were playing far more enterprizing rugby in 2008 except were not converting it to tries until Ellis Park and Twickenham. Then we got hijacked back into stereotype negative kick n chase mode and reverted to 2007 type. So we won some prestige but lost our rugby soul, now lets see if we can get it back again. Somehow playing our 2007 dead beats I doubt it.

• 146.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

I remember about Grant and Frans – it was quite intense :)

Carol and Percy sounds quite alright, at least much better than Carol and Bakkies!!

• 147.gunther: Reply to this comment

carol would do well to snare bakkies quite a catch I must say…

• 148.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Intense, however Grant was gracious enough to recognise that was not Fransies finest hour (ok 80 mins)!!

I still have a bit of a crush on Bakkies!! :oops:

Rob and Eva….! Hahahahah

Whats with the ‘Shaky’ nick name Soda has given you btw?

• 149.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@grant10: With incumbents like Fourie, JdV and Habana hardly allows new talent like Juan deJongh to get experience and game time. WP don’t need JdV I’m afraid wherein the Sharks have non-existent talent at 12. I wonder how a JdV/Murray combo would work.

• 150.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: I sort of agree there but we’ve been playing like this for years. What is needed is a culture change and the golden – do not kick ball if you’re outside your own half, PASS IT! Ok Boks repeat after me – gee die bal vir Bryan, gee die bal vir Bryan *cue weird ukelele music*.

• 151.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

south africa aren’t the only ones who tend to pick kicking flyhalves. Fact of the matter is, is that a flyhalf that can kick you into the right areas on the field is going to be a hell of a lot more consistant than a player who tries to run you into the right areas.

First prize is still the flyhalf that can do both equally well.

look at the best flyhalfs in the last 20 years…

Carter and Wilkenson(pre-injury)

Giteu…is a brilliant running flyhalf but can’t kick for toffee out of hand really. Certainly not to the point to which I would say that he is singele handedly dominating a game in all aspects.

There’s also something to be said for “Kop” and “Composure”.

In south africa, the player that comes closest to doing all aspects equally well is morne steyn.

PS:….I’m sure no one is stopping Grant from improving his kicking out of hand on his own.

PPS:…I’m far happier when the boks win ugly than I am when we lose pretty. Not that I call 3-0 against the kiwis as ugly wins.

• 152.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@carol:

No, I think it was Adam and desperate Eva the snake
    Rob and Jessica (Alba)sounds more or less right to me.

Shakey is the name of the biography of Neil Young (the ancient Canadian rocker).

• 153.carol: Reply to this comment

@gunther: Imagine trying to snare something like Bakkies….

You would need a big dose of tranquiliser to bring that beast down!!

• 154.gunther: Reply to this comment

@ carol or a crossbow…

• 155.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Do you ever go to bed before midnight Rob?
    I’m off, goodnight…

• 156.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@carol:

only if it’s with someone else…..

• 157.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

Or on the odd occasion a headbutt by a French forward who grew up in the backstreets of Marseille

• 158.gunther: Reply to this comment

@ robzim in the backstreets of marseilles a headbutt is considered foreplay..

• 159.garth: Reply to this comment

JDV to come to the Stormers and Grant to be sold off to the Sharks.

• 160.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@garth: actually Grant would be useful right about now, grant and james would be two good signings, the real problem is at lock however

• 161.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: 160

Biggest problem is that pap snoek,turbo reverse,soft as melted butter front row that keep on getting shunted.

• 162.ufo: Reply to this comment

Good to see they’re being proactice and not leaving anything to chance…

:cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool:

• 163.ufo: Reply to this comment

:oops:

just seen the other thread way down at the bottom of the list…

• 164.ufo: Reply to this comment

sheesh… wrong thread again…

farking :oops:

• 165.Ned: Reply to this comment

I hear the Sharks and The Bulls are lining up massive offers for De Villiers…can it be true?

• 166.Original Pierre: Reply to this comment

@Ned: I doubt very much whether the Sharks have anything left to offer after the JMH fiasco . .

But surely Jean won`t go anywhere but CT??

Unless his gf is still in P/town . ..

• 167.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

It will be depressing to see Jean play elsewhere, but its the nature of the game in this day and age. The professional era

• 168.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10: they didn’t go in reverse against the chiefs and they’re hardly soft as butter come on :)

• 169.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Habana, De Villiers, Fourie, Aplon and Pietersen in 1 backline. thats dangerous.

All they need is a 10 capable of giving them good ball.

SA teams should look at investing in more american players.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.