Matfield cleared
22 Feb 2010
Victor Matfield has been found not guilty of foul play in their match against the Brumbies.
The Bulls captain was cited under Law 10.4 (a) for striking Brumbies flanker Rocky Elsom around the head area in the 16th minute of the match. The Springbok lock was also cited under Law 10.4 (k) for charging into a ruck without binding onto another player.
If found guilty Matfield faced at least a one match suspension, but the verdict clears him to front the Waratahs at Loftus on Saturday.
There was more good news for the Bulls when it was revealed that Pierre Spies and Danie Rossouw will be available for selection.
Rossouw missed the Brumbies match with neck spasms, while scans have shown no structural damage to Spies’ knee, which he injured on Saturday. Spies won’t train with the team until Friday, while Rossouw is on light duty throughout the week.
Keo.co.za reported on Sunday that loose forward Dewald Potgieter has recovered from a knee injury and will be available for selection.
Centre Jaco Pretorius (quad strain) will miss the match, but is expected to be fit for their clash with the Highlanders on 13th March (the Bulls have a bye next week).
Rossouw and Potgieter are likely to be thrust straight into the run-on side in place of Flip van der Merwe and Pedrie Wannenberg respectively. Stephan Dippenaar will continue at outside centre in Pretorius’ absence.
Coach Frans Ludeke is now faced with a selection poser on the bench. He’ll have to decide whether to include Van der Merwe, who performed brilliantly against the Brumbies, at the expense of Wannenberg, or whether to axe the young lock in favour of the 100-cap veteran.
Both players could be accommodated if he opts to exclude Derick Kuün, although his dynamism off the bench has served the Bulls well to date.
Bulls (likely) - 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Stephan Dippenaar, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Bees Roux, 18 Pedrie Wannenburg/Flip van der Merwe, 19 Derick Kuün/Pedrie Wannenberg, 20 Heini Adams, 21 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22 John Mametsa.

189 Comments
22 Feb 2010, 12:54 pm
Rock on Big Vic. Looks like Pierre will be ok as well..
22 Feb 2010, 12:56 pm
Of course, was there ever any doubt?
22 Feb 2010, 12:58 pm
Easy really, straight swop, potties for maku.
22 Feb 2010, 13:02 pm
Very good news. Some may consider Victor a tad lucky but I’m sure the commission considered the circumstances and that’s why he was cleared.
22 Feb 2010, 13:03 pm
Justice for Viccie!!!
22 Feb 2010, 13:04 pm
OJ!!!
22 Feb 2010, 13:04 pm
Brilliant news. Very pleased for the Bulls.
22 Feb 2010, 13:05 pm
@BlueBlood: broer, imo there was sierieeeeeaaaaaaas doubt….
i thought he was a goner!
22 Feb 2010, 13:05 pm
@ratel: Yes, the consensus amoungst the bloggers was the he would have to sit out a game or two. Good news that Danie is back.
22 Feb 2010, 13:07 pm
Well done..!!!!!!!!!
Jaaaaaaaaaaaaa
nou die blou….!!
22 Feb 2010, 13:10 pm
I remember listening to an interview with Vic in 2008. He sad one thing that the Bulls still want to achieve in Super rugby is to go unbeaten through a season. Well…… I recon this season could be it…
22 Feb 2010, 13:10 pm
@XhosaKid:
22 Feb 2010, 13:11 pm
Wow – this is surprising. Looked like 2 weeks for sure. Must have taken into account that it was a rescue effort for a team mate half the size of either him or Elsom, else he would have been taking a breather for a couple of weeks.
22 Feb 2010, 13:14 pm
The Vodacom Bulls tight head, Werner Kruger, not only gave the Brumbies a very hard time in the scrums last weekend, he also showed a lot of effort in the tight phases of play.
Kruger walked away with the Bison award after team management made their usual post-match awards following the Bulls 50-32 win over the Brumbies.
The Bison goes to the player who cleans up the most rucks and mauls and Kruger did that 30 times in 71 minutes. Deon Stegmann also managed the same number, but played 80 minutes.
Stegmann was again awarded the Sniper award for most tackles, after equaling the 16 tackles he made against the Cheetahs
Morné Steyn, who scored 35 points on his own, was given two awards, but it was Flip van der Merwe who walked away with the prestigious Bumble Bee award. This award goes to the player who had the biggest influence on the match due to an exceptional performance.
The winners are:
Bison (most cleans): Werner Kruger (30 in 71 min), 2nd Deon Stegmann (30 in 80 min)
Sniper (most tackles): Deon Stegmann (16 in 80 min)
Hitman (Best hit): Wynand Olivier on Stirling Mortlock
Ant (best back): Morné Steyn
Workhorse (highest work rate): Morné Steyn
Bumble Bee (exceptional performance): Flip van der Merwe:
Brumbies Review:
Johan van Graan (forwards coach): “It was two high caliber teams that took each other on and this was a very good indication of their abilities. The restarts and line-outs were very competitive, with both teams winning two of the opponent’s balls.
“We are very happy with the scrums and we again scored two tries from this phase.”
On discipline and ball control: “We again reacted and adapted very well to the referee’s interpretation of the rucks and mauls. We had possession 80 times and recycled the ball 80 times.”
General: “The ball was in play for 4 minutes longer as it was in the Cheetahs match (33 min against 29 min).”
John McFarland (defence coach): “We became stronger defensively as the game went on. This was quite pleasing as we had a couple of rookies out wide and they became better when a quality side like the Brumbies started applying pressure.
The new application have brought about changes to techniques and require a high level of conditioning to defend for 80 minutes. We did that with some success and made 112 tackles with a 90% completion.”
22 Feb 2010, 13:20 pm
Was nice to see some Bulls and Brumbies having a good chat on the field afterwards.
Bulls must stop giving away so many easy points so early on in the game.It happened in both games so far and away from home against a decent team it will cost them.
That penalty 1st up.Elsom try was straight forward bad defending from Dippenaar and the stuff up between du Preez and Spies for Smith`s try.That is 15 points you gotta catch up again!!!
22 Feb 2010, 13:22 pm
@Blouboerseun:
This will be a great feat, however I think it highly unlikely. The Reds, chiefs, and blues at home will be extremely difficult. The bulls should target all the home games and the Stormers away. Well if the Chiefs keeps on defending the way they have against the Lions the bulls might be in with a shot.
Great news on Matfield
22 Feb 2010, 13:25 pm
VAST…
Hold on to your hat…. I know the Bulls is going for it..!!
22 Feb 2010, 13:26 pm
@Pienkdas de Villiers:
I trully do not believe taht we have seen the best of the Bulls yet. The did not give a very convincing performance on saturday. This however is not good news for any of the other franchises. however the teams to watch.
Chiefs
Canes
Crusaders
Bulls
Brumbies
Stmrs
no particular order
With the REDS upsetting a few apple carts
22 Feb 2010, 13:27 pm
WWWWHHHAAATT!!!! Victor should have got at least 6 weeks, his a thug. This is typical, if it was an Aussie or Kiwi, it would have been 6 weeks at least. The SA’s get away with it all the time. Imagine if it was a Brad Thorn or Rocky Elsom that did the same offence as Matfield, 10 weeks MIN china’s.
Citing………….Pffft, LOL.
22 Feb 2010, 13:32 pm
VAST
I always sad, the sign of a champion team is: To win while you are not playing to your full potential. They have a lot of things to work on at this stage of the season. The Bulls love working towards goals. 1 would be to sort out their defense. We lost a couple of balls in the lineout against two Wallaby locks.
I think there is a huge season on the way. AND would not be surprised to see them become only the second team in Super rugby to go all the way unbeaten!
22 Feb 2010, 13:34 pm
I am a massive Bulls supporter, possibly the most passionate in the whole of the Eastern Cape. The Bulls have had some awesome teams in the past, but this team right here gives me goosebumps!
This team is probably the best all-rounded team we’ve ever had. I thought our one major weakness last year was Derick Kuun (at hooker), but now with Gary Botha back that gap has been closed.
I’m not over the moon with Zane Kirchner so far this year. He makes to many basic mistakes, but I am confident he’ll lift his game.
Seriously (and trying to be as unbiased as possible), I think other teams are going to struggle to beat us this year. Ironically the Kiwi press don’t rate us at all. Obviously they’re backing the Crusaders to lift the trophy, but I’m think they’re seriously short-sighted if they can’t spot a Championship team.
22 Feb 2010, 13:34 pm
There is a huge difference in mind set if you are telling yourself that you want to win your home games. AND you want to win all your games. If you change your mind set you would be able to achieve much more!
Why settle for only winning your home games if you’re good enough to win all of them……..
22 Feb 2010, 13:36 pm
Blouboerseun
Carefull.You starting to sound like a Sharks fan(where are they??)!
You are just giving amo to some dooos that can`t wait for the Bulls to loose a game, which will happen the 3rd game on the road.
22 Feb 2010, 13:38 pm
PIENKDAS,
I understand what you are saying, thanks. But I recon I would bet my house on it…….
22 Feb 2010, 13:40 pm
PIENKDAS,
Where are they???
Have not seen them around….
It not easy to find Shark fans in this their darkest hour…
22 Feb 2010, 13:48 pm
@Kea-Cat: Bwa ha ha ha ha ha ha, your a funny man I got to hand it to you
22 Feb 2010, 13:49 pm
what BS
Matfield aimed a titanium-reinforced armblade at Elsoms head, having not been involved in the incident, and gets OFF ???!!!!
thats a straight 1-2 weeks off in anyone elses books.
it seems SA players have been dealt with far too leniently yet again. Always have been, always will.
22 Feb 2010, 13:50 pm
@Black Panther:
your just as funny as Kea-Cat
22 Feb 2010, 13:50 pm
Good news for the Bulls.
22 Feb 2010, 13:52 pm
@Black Panther: Mitigating circumstance… Elsom asked for it
No harm done, Elsom was sporting the snotted nose, that was why he snotted Stegman and pinned the lad before any real damage was done.
Big Vic would have gone in a clean-skin and came out just a tad tarnished. Luckily no one was really hurt, so no harm – no foul.
22 Feb 2010, 13:53 pm
Anyway this is good, Dewald and Danie back I can’t wait for the weekend.
22 Feb 2010, 13:54 pm
For once a South African gets a fair call
22 Feb 2010, 13:55 pm
Black Panther
You forgot about the Minora Blades sticking out of the armgaurd.
Is your name Kevin Putt you plonker??
22 Feb 2010, 13:58 pm
@RugbyRulz:
Looks like Stegman was the 1st to get bolshey, Elsom was only responding to that. Matfield should not have got involved, thats 1-2 weeks off for foul-play, irrefutably.
No harm, no foul ? I seem to remember a different version after BaXXies removed Jones’ ribcage and out of rugby for 6mths.
isnt Playdough wonderful the way it can be moulded in to so many different shapes ?
22 Feb 2010, 13:58 pm
Team for the weekend
15. Zane
14. vdHeerver
13. Dippenaar
12. Wynand
11. Houghaard
10. Morne
09. Fourie
08. Spies
07. Dewald
06. Steggie
05. Vic
04. Danie
03. Werner
02. Botha
01. Steenkamp
What a team.
22 Feb 2010, 13:59 pm
@Black Panther:
SA players always get the short end of the stick ,i.e Bakkies on the Lions Tour. This is the right call Elsom was choking Stegman, and should have received a week’s ban for choking, and that is how I see it through my thickest SA shades
22 Feb 2010, 14:00 pm
@vasteses:
what about the boys from Bloem.
They did better against the Bulls than the Brumbies and beat the Sharks in Durban!
They will also make sure of a few big upsets!
But the best team is the Bulls
22 Feb 2010, 14:00 pm
Staal please tell me where you gets those Bulls internal awards. I saw them posted once and ya highly intrigued
22 Feb 2010, 14:01 pm
To quote our good friend, this is KARMA!
22 Feb 2010, 14:02 pm
@Black Panther: Just wondering, what about Brad Thorn spear tackling John smit afetr the whistle? He received a week! I can write you a book on all the bs decisions against SA players and the leniency afforded to the Aussies and kiwi players.
@Pienkdas de Villiers:
Have you gained access to Kings Park again since youre namechange, Piet ?
afetr=after
@Blouboerseun:
they should keep Danie on the bench and have him hand out some palslae the last 30 min. Same with Pottie
They post them on the bulls website after every game
22 Feb 2010, 14:04 pm
@ploos:
Just the 1 book ?
The complete Encyclopedia Brittanica would hardly seem sufficient. For Chapter 1.
We’ve heard them all already, thanks all the same.
22 Feb 2010, 14:04 pm
sorry palslae = pakslae
22 Feb 2010, 14:06 pm
@Black Panther: Pleasure prick.
22 Feb 2010, 14:07 pm
VASTES…. LOL f@k
22 Feb 2010, 14:08 pm
SA team based on performance after 2 weeks
15. Petersen
14. Mapoe
13. Fourie
12. Olivier
11. Habanero
10 Steyn
9 Du preez
8 Spies
7 Smith
6 Steggies
5 Vic
4 Bekker
3 Kruger
2 Botha
1 Steenkamp
22 Feb 2010, 14:12 pm
@vasteses: That’s a fair call.
22 Feb 2010, 14:12 pm
Many thanks my good man
22 Feb 2010, 14:14 pm
so i guess the conspiracy theory about saffas being nailed by judicial officers has been put to bed? Great if that is the case. Vic did not intend to injure Elsom, only to remove him from Stegman
22 Feb 2010, 14:15 pm
@ploos: @40
The Thorn v Smit WWE bout compared to the Elsom v Stegman showdown is an interesting 1.
Smits elbow ‘accidentally’ appears in Thorns neck, who responds by lifting him like a wet teddy bear. Not driving him down (a ‘spear’) but instinctively dropping him.
Thorn receives ban, fair enough. Smit got shown his lardy-arse, fair enough.
Stegman attacks Elsom, Elsom responds by locking Stegmans arms from doing it again.
An uninvolved 3rd person, Matfield, attacks the head of the responder Elsom.
and gets off.
Double standards if there ever has been.
22 Feb 2010, 14:15 pm
@Black Panther: I am as surprised as most, expected 1-2 weeks at Camp Recreation Loftus… but no big deal. Seen a lot worse at schoolboy games and not even a slap on the wrist handed out. Vic is not a notorious blight on the game, so I reckon he is allowed one brain explosion.
Elsom was snotted during the lead up, retaliated on Stegman and pinned the lad, he didn’t choke him, he was breathing and more worried about his bloodied nose… Vic thought it far more serious and came to the lads defense. I agree it is retaliatory. Handbag stuff really. Elsom isn’t dirty and neither is Victor, so if I can live with it I am sure you can.
22 Feb 2010, 14:19 pm
oh the righteous indignation.
it reminds me of a carly simon song…..
22 Feb 2010, 14:20 pm
They should drop Maku from the bench as Derick Kuün can cover both flank and hooker
22 Feb 2010, 14:20 pm
@RugbyRulz:@54
that too is fair to a point.
I seem to remember a few too many of Victors armblade moves taking out opposition in the past – only to be told it was ‘unintentional’ – to fall for that one tho.
1 Ring to Rule them All….
22 Feb 2010, 14:25 pm
@Black Panther:
The system has flaws and always will have especially when seen from different camps. Case in hand Waugh elbowed Aplon, Aplon hit him although with a small object, still a punch. Punishable by at least two weeks. We will always debate this, and the calls made will always seem unfair for someone.
22 Feb 2010, 14:26 pm
Black Panther
Get over it.Why are you really sulking???Tell us…don`t keep it all cropped up.
Hope your day gets better and the Bulls don`t hurt one more person/team on the field.(it leads to a few sh!theads being paranoid)
Is that better?
22 Feb 2010, 14:26 pm
@vasteses: Not even close, and that is scary. We don’t even have a fulls trenght team yet. Bakkies, Pakslae, Jaco, Wacko Jacko even.
When we have an excellent game it is going to be ugly, over 80 – 0, that type of thing.
22 Feb 2010, 14:28 pm
@Black Panther:
o yes and Vic slipped the ajudicator a 50
22 Feb 2010, 14:31 pm
@BlueBlood:
ja that is scary, what to do who to choose isnt it great being a bull. hopefulle this will continue. we will have to be at our best on tour it will be extremely tough.
@vasteses: No way, a gold watch.
@Black Panther: Victor doesn’t even look mean. He pulls those Herman Munster faces but really he is a big puppy dog. Now if you were riding Bakkes, then I would not waver in support.
Cut him some slack, the South Africans have cleaned up their act 10 fold. I can remember watching tests, the moment you hit the lead the dirt would start. Guys get stomped, king hit and so on. The latest lot are far more skilled and relatively keep the hard stuff to good solid hits… not punches, swinging handbags and girly bi^ch slapping.
22 Feb 2010, 14:33 pm
@Black Panther: I see your playdough is keeping you very busy as well!!!
22 Feb 2010, 14:34 pm
@Kea-Cat:
ja one worth only 50
22 Feb 2010, 14:37 pm
@JA-JA: And silly me thought only wicket-keepers used play-dough/plasticine.
22 Feb 2010, 14:37 pm
@RugbyRulz:
i have the DVD of SA Rugby’s greatest hist made by James “i will Bliksem you broken” Dalton.
Man but Gert Small could pack a puch and Kobus Wiese only moered the Welsh lock one time. nogal funny get it from your local rental
22 Feb 2010, 14:38 pm
@vasteses: Eish, I forgot about Dewald Potgieter. Future Bok captain. How can I forget someone who re-arranges the Drakensberge in his spare time?
22 Feb 2010, 14:38 pm
Strapped a few in my day, rest assured you don’t need to add anything to the strapping… sweat sets it.
22 Feb 2010, 14:40 pm
@vasteses: Nah, not interested. Seen far too much brutality in a game where once the guys move on from Colts the purism of the game is lost.
I like a good hard legitimate hit that knocks the wind out of the sails but cheap shots… nah. That is for cowards.
22 Feb 2010, 14:44 pm
@RugbyRulz:
our brave captain mr John Smith get clapped in a u/20 match against the lions also look out for a young Frikkie Welsh the with the Lions. noggal in a suit and tie trying to get a peice of the action
22 Feb 2010, 14:45 pm
peice = piece
22 Feb 2010, 14:50 pm
@vasteses: You would get along famously with my husband and son, both know how to hit. Years of rugby and dojo workouts.
22 Feb 2010, 14:50 pm
@RugbyRulz:
Youre a fair man. And I agree almost entirely. Its nothing more than an old-school snot on the nose, Matfield doing the right thing by his younger teammate. If it was 1976.
But
I DO laugh at the oft-repeated idiom around these here parts that people “want consistency in Citings and Penalties…..thats all we ask”.
what a load of complete boll*x, what people want is everyone else getting done severely and their guys off scot-free. They want Thorn banned and Matfield off. Every single time.
They want ‘consistency’ ?
GTFOH
No, apparently its called ‘justice’.
Mr Kelleher recieved justice from Victor a few years back and now it was simply Elsoms turn. Thats consistent alright.
22 Feb 2010, 14:52 pm
@Black Panther:
Cry me a river, Pink Panther…
22 Feb 2010, 14:54 pm
@Black Panther: I am not disagreeing with you. The rub of the green lays with the fact Rocky wasn’t bothered with Vic’s attempted square up. It was feeble but totally consistent. Victor really isn’t a thug.
I do not recall the incident on Kelleher, so I cannot comment.
@Black Panther:
She’s a fair lady…
@Black Panther: not that this has any bearing on the Elsom case, don’t forget that Brad Thorn wasn’t just waltzing around a ruck when Smit got to him, He in fact went on with force, elbow first on Conrad Jantjies’ head, i hope you weren’t deliberately forgetting that part.
22 Feb 2010, 14:56 pm
Haven’t read all the posts… but…
have to say Ithink this is a great ruling by the commission…
perhaps this new three-man citing team who have to watch every game and confer will bring a lot more consistency to the whole process…
it certainly looks promising… kudos to SANZAR for tackling this issue with great political will to sort it out…
having said that…
Big Vic must keep cool on the field… he could’ve removed Elsom without the flying forearm… and he may not be so lucky next time…
really not cool these captains having on-field meltdowns… Vic, Smit, Elsom, Waugh… sheesh guys… you’re the LEADERS…!!
also have to say that Elsom had a GREAT game… pity Schalk’s not gonna be on the field at Newlands on Friday…
Duane and the Louws… (Afrikaans Rock Group…) are gonna have their work cut out putting a lid on Rocky and George… pity Hoiles (spelling) is injured…
22 Feb 2010, 14:57 pm
@RugbyRulz:
I dont propogate fist fighting in rugby, altough i have been smaked around a few times and have obviously handed out some as well. but that was in the 80′s when you could still give a guy a good old high tackle and sommer late also without being sent off. ag the good old days.
22 Feb 2010, 14:59 pm
Lets look at Round 2 for what it was worth.
Cheeky bugger January and Aplon (girly punch) revved up ogre Waugh
Stegman snotted Elsom, who snotted Stegman and Vic tried to muscle up.
I cannot comment on the Luaki incident as I did not watch the game and will have to rely on the findings. 2 Weeks Luaki and 1 for the other guy.
All pretty pedestrian… about time this was as good/bad as it gets. Looks like the game is getting cleaner for the better.
22 Feb 2010, 15:02 pm
@RugbyRulz:
Thought you were far too fair for these here parts, maam.
Kelleher had his entire proboscis (an easy target, I know) removed from the greater Western Province region by an open-play swinging arm attached to one ‘V.Matfield’, an arm that was bearing the same titanium-reinforced NASA-designed ‘arm blade’ that he wears to this very day. Y’see, his arm is broken, still mending 5years later…
22 Feb 2010, 15:04 pm
@Black Panther:
You give Vic to much credit, there is no titanium on his arm it is a rusty old VW beatle bumper
22 Feb 2010, 15:09 pm
I remember reading John “Aren’t I just the greatest ever” Smit’s book when he talks about elbowing the french captain in the throat, and he “honestly” didn’t mean to do it…haha what a laugh, pull the other one.
22 Feb 2010, 15:10 pm
oepsedaisy, this Bulls outfit seems to be comming together only Bakkies still to come into the fray, must say i liked Hougaard, around the loose when Fouriewas not there brings someting different.
22 Feb 2010, 15:10 pm
@vasteses:
I believe that is what they refer to as his ‘brain’.
22 Feb 2010, 15:11 pm
@Black Panther: Kelleher….never a more deserving candidate for a snot-klap, it must be said….other than Marshall or Cowan that is…what is it with scrummies, you just want to smash them??
22 Feb 2010, 15:13 pm
@Black Panther:
Well you have me stumped with that comment, i am not sure what you are getting at.
22 Feb 2010, 15:13 pm
@vasteses: Both my boys were playing a game (2 seasons ago), eldest son hooker (karate kid) get jammed up pretty bad in the scrum… calls mayday. The opposing TH keeps driving up… real scumbag. Mayday is not thrown about lightly. Obviously he is carted off for a few weeks of physio.
Other son is the 8 man… Team has a 9 point lead with 5 minutes until full-time. He waits for his opportunity, didn’t give a rats ar$e about the ref and hung the guy out to dry. He didn’t even wait for the whistle, turned and walked off the field. This is the pacifist too. That was the first and last red card ever issued to either of my boys.
The first thing my son did was apologise to team, then coach and to his parents.
22 Feb 2010, 15:14 pm
@Black Panther: Your opinions are so biased and factually flawed that it makes you nothing but a whinging bigot who is incapable of having logical discussions.
It is a well known fact that Sa players are always handed harsher penalties. Yes, maybe that is due to the fact that there was a stage that Sa players were dirty at times.
Our players, especially the boks have cleaned up their acts. We are without a doubt one of the best behaved teams in world rugby, but we still get punished for clearing out a ruck.
22 Feb 2010, 15:15 pm
@RugbyRulz: Good for him…blood is thicker than water!!
I think Black Panther has a point, although I must admit I haven’t seen the incident. We (Saffers) musn’t cry foul when a Kiwi/Ozzie gets off scot free for a retaliation incident of a similar nature. This has to be judged on the basis of whether or not it was an offence that warranted a tougher sanction on the field of play had the ref been aware of it.
I must admit though I am relieved for the Bulls that he got off.
@RugbyRulz:
That is brilliant! Your son (the 8th man) is made of the right stuff!
22 Feb 2010, 15:16 pm
@ploos: Not sure Bakkies has ever been accused of being one of the best behaved dude…
22 Feb 2010, 15:17 pm
@bananaboy: Yea agreed…what’s good for the goose…sometimes the application of double standards by SA fans is embarrassing!
22 Feb 2010, 15:20 pm
@Atreides:
Kelleher probably deserved a snotting more because he had a pornst*r girlfriend, than anything else. You know it.
Marshall did and still does deserve both edges of Big Vics blade, I’d even be happy to administer it myself. His recent emergence as a comments man here on UK Sky is giving me cause for some distress. 1 more pink tie and matching shirt could tip me over the edge.
Cowan ? dont be fooled by the Bogan. He’s just trying to man-up because, deep down, he knows he’s not really good enough. The mullet hair, the Amish beard, its all reeking of sheer desperation. Leave Jimmy alone, he’s graduated from the Al Baxter ‘Mean Face’ school of Masquerade.
22 Feb 2010, 15:21 pm
@RugbyRulz:
My eldest son plays 6, and is now in grade 9 he puts in quite a few hard tackles which obviosly hurts the opp.From the age of 7 there has only been 3 games that he has not left the field with a swolen and blue eye, obviosly i get frustrated and wants him to pack a punch also but he refuses. he rather tackle the guy even harder if he gets the ball.
22 Feb 2010, 15:22 pm
@Black Panther: Lol must be the same school Ricky went to!
22 Feb 2010, 15:23 pm
In all fairness the old adage, what happens on the field stays on the field is ok by me. The referees catch most indiscretions and the ones they miss the citing commissioner has a crack at. Now if in all reality, if it has no bearing then let it go. But! put the wind up them as a reminder that they are not above the law.
Victors judiciary hearing was more of a wake-up call. Lets hope that the guys settle (as Mark Lawrence suggested) and move on.
22 Feb 2010, 15:23 pm
@ploos: @91
and I just LOVE the way YOU accused little old MOI of “bias…..factually flawed”
only to then turn around with your clincher
“We are without a doubt one of the best behaved teams in world rugby”.
BTW – when you say “it is a well known fact…”, by whom exactly ?
22 Feb 2010, 15:26 pm
@vasteses: The lad has his head on straight. My father instilled, hard tough clean tackles/hits rewards you with ascendancy. My husband has adhered to exactly the same principles. It works, must do, my youngest is studying Law.
22 Feb 2010, 15:26 pm
@Atreides: Bakkies has even cleaned up his act. I must admit he was bordering on ‘thug’ a few years back.
22 Feb 2010, 15:28 pm
@ploos: @103
oh please
can you be the Chosen One ?
the Oracle told me I would meet the Chosen One here, it has been foretold.
Are YOU the Sth African with a sense of humour ?
22 Feb 2010, 15:30 pm
@Black Panther: hahaha the ORACLE
He was on fire yesterday.
22 Feb 2010, 15:34 pm
@ploos: Bakkes is one helluva enforcer. All teams need a bit of mongrel… but you just know when he about to or has just committed an evil act. He gets this devilish sneer on his face. Almost resembles the twitching Elizabeth Montgomery’ character, Samantha from ‘Bewitched’
22 Feb 2010, 15:35 pm
@Black Panther: As Peter de Villiers says, ‘this is a contact sport’.
Why the need to be so contraversial all the time? Talk rugby, not your one sided attacks on Sa players, its getting old now.
22 Feb 2010, 15:37 pm
@RugbyRulz: Thats why Bakkies goes down on his knees and prays before each game, he is asking the lord to forgive him for he is about to do.
22 Feb 2010, 15:39 pm
BP there is one flaw in your assertion concerning Bakkies thuggery and that is that it is well known in rugby circles that if someone is known to be a thug on the field that the opponents will target them. Bakkies as far as I am aware has never been targetted as such by opponents and don’t tell me there aren’t any Kiwis willign to give it a go. They seem to respect our Bakkies.
22 Feb 2010, 15:39 pm
@Black Panther: You really don’t like the Bulls players do you?
22 Feb 2010, 15:40 pm
@ploos: I am not an overtly religious person, but geez he is going to push it one day. Can just see him getting frazzled by a bolt from the blue.
After that he will qualify as a kwota, frazzled and all.
22 Feb 2010, 15:41 pm
@Black Panther: #97 classic WakaNathan stuff
lmao…
22 Feb 2010, 15:42 pm
@ploos:
No he prays that he doesnt kill anyone
22 Feb 2010, 15:44 pm
@ploos: @107
erm
“talk rugby…….but……not players”
?
22 Feb 2010, 15:45 pm
@bananaboy: Players with Bakkes reputation target themselves. Eventually it all comes down to swings and roundabouts… another culture refers to it as karma.
I believe skop has already visited this area, so no point re-hashing it.
22 Feb 2010, 15:45 pm
@ploos: No he is praying that he doesn’t “miss”…
22 Feb 2010, 15:47 pm
@JA-JA: @110
I leave the tribalism to the neanderthals.
No slight intended.
22 Feb 2010, 15:49 pm
@wp_boytjie:
must be lekke playing with him rather than against him
22 Feb 2010, 15:50 pm
@bananaboy:
I dont remember too many players targetted Sir Richard Loe either.
And that guy was a thug.
22 Feb 2010, 15:52 pm
@vasteses: of course , he is the enforcer of all enforcers hahaha
22 Feb 2010, 15:57 pm
@Black Panther:
And I leave the tribadism to the women’s rugby team…
22 Feb 2010, 16:26 pm
I am not surprised he was cleared. I just had another look at it on youtube and he rucked Rocky out the way. He didn’t swing his arm, didn’t dive in and made every effort to shift the player, and based on clip, it wasn’t after the whistle.
No problems there.
22 Feb 2010, 16:33 pm
BOKKE 1981 what a team
Hennie Bekker, WP
Darius Botha, NTVL
Naas Botha, NTVL
Thys Burger Ntvl
Wynand Claasen Natal
Robert Cockrell WP
Willie Du Plessis WP
Hempies Du Toit, WP
Burger Geldenhuys,NTVL
Schalk Burger WP
Gerrie Germishuys, OVS
Johann Heunis,
Johan Wilhelm NTVL
Eben Jansen, OVS
Willie Kahts, NTVL
Fredrich Krantz,OVS
Rob Louw WP
Louis Moolman, NTVL
Ray Mordt, TVL
Ockie Oosthuizen, TVL
Shaun Povey, WP
Divan Serfontein WP
Theuns Stofberg NTVL
Henning v aswegen WP
Flip Van der Merwe, SWD
Gawie Visagie, NATAL
Div Visser WP
Barry Wolmarans OVS
22 Feb 2010, 16:54 pm
Mm tribadism
lol Bakkies is really religious. Most, if not all of the Bulls players are
22 Feb 2010, 17:03 pm
And so Big Victorious marches on…… good riddance, more titles!
22 Feb 2010, 17:16 pm
@vasteses: jeepers, all pale-faced males
22 Feb 2010, 17:21 pm
@Transformation: in saying that… they were very good pale-faced males!
but they were met by n very very pale faced-male from Wales called…. Norling!
22 Feb 2010, 17:23 pm
citings for things like punches should be handled differently. here’s why.
Often in a game, a punch will get thrown and then before the “victim” can react, it will erupt in a mass brawl and he never really gets any “justice”.
So- if you get cited for a punch or a kick and you are found guilty, rather than an immediate ban, your “victim” should get the opportunity to request a bare-knuckle brawl. Last man-standing gets to play the following weekend.
It’s time we separated the men from the boys. This isn’t tiddlywinks.
22 Feb 2010, 17:51 pm
@Partizan: Almoust all of them go to church together on Sundays.
22 Feb 2010, 18:45 pm
@Transformation:
shame you see colour i see great rugby players
22 Feb 2010, 18:49 pm
I wonder who will win palaying one game 80 rules, and one todays rules
15 Johann Heunis NTVL Kirshner BB
14 Ray Mordt, TVL Peterson shrks
13 Willie Du Plessis WP Jaques PROV
12 Colin Beck WP Wynand BB
11 Gerrie Germishuys, OVS Habana PROV
10 Naas Botha, NTVL Morne BB
9 Divan Serfontein WP Fourie BB
8 Wynand Claasen Natal Pierre BB
7 Schalk Burger WP Juan chts
6 Rob Louw WP Skalk PROV
5 Hennie Bekker, WP Vic BB
4 Louis Moolman, NTVL Bakkies BB
3 Ockie Oosthuizen, TVL Beast Shrks
2 Willie Kahts, NTVL Bissie Shrks
1 Hempies Du Toit, WP Smit Shrks
22 Feb 2010, 18:51 pm
sorry palaying = playing had a quick shut eye before dinner not completely my self yet
22 Feb 2010, 19:13 pm
Matfield cleared – justice has been done
22 Feb 2010, 22:06 pm
@Black Panther: @53 You conveniently forget the mischief that Thorn was up to before Smit came in.
That tackle during play would have been a dangerous tackle and worth a red- that he only got a week for play after the whistle means that he got away with assault – and there WAS harm done- the bok captain out for the WHOLE season. VERY different circumstances.
TOSSER.
And if you see your team mate with an opponents elbow on his throat, of COURSE you get involved – that is what team mates do – you suggesting that he should have left him like that is downright laughable.
22 Feb 2010, 22:07 pm
Oh, and the other charge smakcs of the B& I tour when teams who have no answer for good rugby resort to “the law” to find a chink in their armor. VERY unsporting I think.
22 Feb 2010, 22:58 pm
havent seen the incident, but thank goodness he got off..
My “justice4 Rocky” armband hasnt arrived yet
22 Feb 2010, 23:06 pm
@SjamBok:
Smit got no less than he deserved, his large buttcheeks launched moonside
Victor got away with, as you say, ‘assault’.
learn to quit when youre ahrad.
22 Feb 2010, 23:09 pm
The usual anti SA brigade out in force…… doos’s!
22 Feb 2010, 23:11 pm
@Black Panther: Thorn got what he deserved in Hamilton, the aussie league fossil crumpled like a used dishcloth
22 Feb 2010, 23:14 pm
@Big Hit:
Yeah, good clean payback!
23 Feb 2010, 00:20 am
@whatever: funny that, still awaiting you taking Stormer in a teacup to task over his unsavoury comments on the R.McCaw thread..
oh hang on, hes SA, its different, then its funny…
your double standards are laughable
23 Feb 2010, 00:25 am
@poppa69:
Whoa mate, have not seen what Stormer in a teacup has said, so don’t label me there boet………. and I did not mention any names….. you feeling a tad guilty?
What did Stormer say?
23 Feb 2010, 00:29 am
@whatever: no guilt here
something about sleeping with your dinner before eating it.. pretty tasteless and crass really… he generalised
its not like I couldnt come back at him, the mere mention of the word mortuary you’d think would stop the sheep jokes, but hey, different strokes for different folks..
23 Feb 2010, 00:48 am
@poppa69:
hehe, yeah, for me I’m tired of the continuous one upmanship here on Keo. Both countires have players that are dirty, both have players that abuse women and booze, both countries have shite ref’s etc. If we accept that and not geta “bonner” when one or the other country stuffs up. I’m cool
23 Feb 2010, 00:49 am
and………..if we don’t generalise, then even better
23 Feb 2010, 01:17 am
@whatever: it does get tiresome doesnt it.. and agree, both have their good and bad… theres only so many times you can rehash the same old tired lines (or banter haha)…
Not sure the Bulls would have missed Matfield anyways, they are playing some great footy at the moment..
23 Feb 2010, 01:37 am
Black Panther seems to be kaking his panties. He sees how easily the Bulls are putting 50+ past teams.
If it were up to him he’d want every Bulls player cited.
Chiefs defense is looking real nice and solid, getting 65 points put on them by the Lions, hey guys? Lets just indulge in the thought of what the Bulls will do to them if they don’t clean up their act.
It wont be 60 this time, It’ll be 90.
23 Feb 2010, 02:21 am
@Kobus Kitty:
Shame you seem to forget that the lowly cheetahs managed to get 34 points against the Bulls and might i add the Cheetahs were the wooden spooners last year.
Cheetahs have just about scored 18% of there overall points scored last year in this one game.
23 Feb 2010, 02:32 am
Now where is that ignoramus Skopskiet (does that mean bullsheet in Afrikaans) and his Matfield and karma bollocks?
23 Feb 2010, 02:49 am
Hometown judiciary. Crooked as a dogs hind leg. Bulls wil win the thing though.
23 Feb 2010, 03:48 am
@Hurricane:
Shame, you seem to think teams can’t improve. Cheetahs were Currie Cup finalists and have plenty of talent in Mapoe, Brussow, Smith, front row, Nokwe, Olivier and Viljoen.
The Bulls haven’t allowed a team to score a bonus point try against them by the way… so this myth that they have bad defense is utter rubbish.
23 Feb 2010, 04:58 am
lets see how their opposition go when they dont have to contend with the rarefied air at places like Loftus, a distinct advantage to the bulls…
lets see them do the same thing to teams at sea-level.. because lets face it, none of the anzac sides train at high altitude… an overwhelming advantage, but the way some talk, seems the bulls have it wrapped up already…
23 Feb 2010, 06:05 am
@poppa69:
Yeah popps, but what about your travel advantage hey? I’ll ignor the travel if you ignor the “highveld”. An excuse is an excuse is an excuse me thinks ?
23 Feb 2010, 06:35 am
@whatever: One would have thought by now, any excuse to travel would be grabbed with both hands.
Travel takes its toll on all teams no doubt. Altitude is definitely an entirely different story. Ask any athlete that has had the opportunity to do so
23 Feb 2010, 06:37 am
Train at altitude that is. A prerequisite for most swimmers.
23 Feb 2010, 08:42 am
@whatever: yeah, the point was the Bulls have over-run teams as they tire from altitude, no excuse, just fact
…if they can still do it at sea-level then they deserve all the plaudits..
23 Feb 2010, 09:41 am
Where is Skopskiet?
23 Feb 2010, 10:55 am
@Kobus Kitty: @147
WTF are you on about, KKK ?
trying to make out Ive got a ‘Bulls thing’ now ?
all your other piegonholes full now, are they ?!
there are enough of your locals here that hate the Bulls, take it up with them.
23 Feb 2010, 11:03 am
WHAT’S THIS………”Victor the Mad Bully Boy cleared”.
Surely not. The whole friggen world saw it.
What is it with you lot in the Republic of Eye Gougers. Blind as well……come on now.
23 Feb 2010, 11:11 am
@Aus_Rebel: Post 149.
A word of caution Aussie Reb. To jab a stick at Skoppie, is like kicking a grizzly bear in the arse.
It feels good straight off. Quite daring actually………….but there are usually repercussions sooner than later.
23 Feb 2010, 11:12 am
@cane: mr cane, need I remind you that the whole world saw 2 men in black try to cripple that great paddy Brian O’Driscoll.
23 Feb 2010, 11:24 am
@Black Panther:
You do realize you’re named after a racially driven group, so calling me “KKK” just because I have an Afrikaans name proves you aren’t named after the animal.
@cane:
What the whole world saw was Rocky Elsom attacking an off balance Stegman at the ruck, pushing his hand into his eye/nose area and then pressing his forearm upon his throat. Matfield saved Stegman and should be rewarded for his efforts. Elsom should have been cited.
Just a note, see how CANE (a KIWI) comes to the aid of his Australian brothers? Its called ANZAC spirit and its what the South African teams are always up against.
23 Feb 2010, 11:27 am
Blue Thugs!
23 Feb 2010, 11:33 am
@RedLion:
Here is a little challenge for you RL.
Find footage of the incident. (BOD tackled by Sts Tana and Kevin.)
No match footage exists. That is why the Saffa Citing Official stated there was no case to answer.
So……..In short, “The Whole World did not see Bod get nailed”.
23 Feb 2010, 11:37 am
@Kobus Kitty:
So Kobe…………..Victor is now Captain, Law Enforcer, Judge and Jury. And of Course above the Laws that govern the game for lesser mortals.
Did he, or did he not strike St Rocky?
23 Feb 2010, 11:37 am
@cane:
I give you the smoking gun.
youtube.com/watch?v=daTU2nAcJGo
23 Feb 2010, 11:44 am
@RedLion: here is another kiwi guilty of spear tackling. This time he tried to end Smitty.
youtube.com/watch?v=GZchPz1xQII
23 Feb 2010, 11:46 am
and here the victim Smitty speaks about his ordeal
youtube.com/watch?v=Zuk5YwuWYx8&feature=fvw
23 Feb 2010, 11:48 am
I love this video too … poor BOD
youtube.com/watch?v=OsXJyDHFKn0
23 Feb 2010, 11:57 am
@RedLion: Post 167.
Is that the one where Thorn drops Lardarse for kneeing him in the back.
Brad should have been yellowed I agree. But Smitty should be ashamed to call himself a man. He should have accepted Brads apology made later in the match. But Oh no Smitty whined like a stuck pig for weeks.
Smit even had the gall to blame his groin injury on the incident.
And you Mothers are still whining years later. And will continue too for years to come no doubt.
23 Feb 2010, 12:09 pm
@RedLion: Where does Smit speak about the ordeal when he crushed French captain’s Thion’s larynx with his elbow, eh?
23 Feb 2010, 12:14 pm
@cane: You are Ill informed!Read smit’s book, he never blamed BT for his groin injury….. media did that all by himself….. futhermore when Brad came to apologise, Smit said “no need to, I started it, you finished it”
23 Feb 2010, 12:15 pm
himself = itself
23 Feb 2010, 12:19 pm
Brad Thorn is probably in his last year of Pro Rugby.
There has been no greater ambasssador of fair but hard play, than Brad. For 15 years.
Hard, humble, committed, and a true sportsman. Ask anyone in Queensland or NZ. (But don’t bother your arrse asking a Saffa).
23 Feb 2010, 12:24 pm
@Tisme:
I am humbled by your post Tissie.
Perhaps I may have to re-evaulate my opinion of Mr Smit.
(The interviews I saw told a different story.)
23 Feb 2010, 12:31 pm
@cane: Howzit Cane, Yip Tisme’s post 172 is correct. In Smits book he said that to Thorn. He never blamed Thorn on his groin injury.
How you Cannie? hope well. Your Canes doing well so far hey!! Big one coming up against the Bulls soon.
My Sharks just not doing it so far this season.
23 Feb 2010, 12:32 pm
@cane: I know he is not your favourite, but read his book…. you will find great insight in other players aswell
23 Feb 2010, 12:46 pm
@Puma:
I thank both you and Tisme for your posts. And for what it worth, I have always thought Smit a great Capt. But NOT the best in either position the SA Selectors place him.
SA has a vast array of talent, managing this talent is a tall order.
23 Feb 2010, 12:53 pm
@cane: now that I have changed your preception of Smit, may I suggest you support a real rugby team like…….THE BULLS !!!!
23 Feb 2010, 12:58 pm
@Kobus Kitty: @162
thanks for the history lesson, KKK, but dont waste your breath. Waka Nathan was also known as the ‘Black Panther’. Deal with it, move on. Just like Gunther did.
@RedLion: @167
Smit had his lardy-butt dropped, not driven down. Once St Brad dropped him, he had no control, not a hand on him as Smit fell.
Smit then played the innocent-vitim but he was anything butt, he should have left it there but did not. However, after last years armband disgrace, we see that it most clearly was not in him to leave things on the pitch.
There was also a subsequent ruse to say Thorn caused Smits injuury thereafter. He did not. Smit was with Clermont leading in to that match and had been nursed thru many games due to that injury. Ledesma had been starting, Smit was benching.
@cane:
In person, Smit is a real gentleman, of that I can vouch for. Its his supporters that have the real problem.
23 Feb 2010, 12:59 pm
@Tisme:
While the Bully Boys demand great respect Tissie……………Some things a Caanite cannot do.
And besides…..that arse-hole Bakkies plays for them.
23 Feb 2010, 13:00 pm
@cane:
Does Brad Thorn ever make the advantage line? He has the “hard man” look but all in all I think he’s a man who is too small to be a world class lock and too slow/not strong enough to be a world class flank. What do you do with someone like that?
As soon as he came on against the reds, the reds ran away with the game.
23 Feb 2010, 13:09 pm
@Tisme: 179.
I was born in a cross-fire Hurricane
And I howled at my ma in the driving rain,
I was raised by a toothless, bearded hag,
I was schooled with a Cane right across my back,
But it’s all right now, in fact, it’s a gas!
Go Da Canes!
(Thanks to Mick and Keith).
23 Feb 2010, 13:20 pm
@Kobus Kitty:
Brads record against SA.
Played 8.
Won 5.
Lost 3
That kind of average will do me just fine.
23 Feb 2010, 13:38 pm
@Black Panther: Post 180.
Thank you for your enlightenment BP.
23 Feb 2010, 20:15 pm
Matfield kan gelukkig wees, was hy in NZ or Ozzzzzz, sou hy ‘n paar weke gekry het. Seker was die Voorsittende beampte’ ‘n Bulls fan.
Victor was nie naby die bal nie, en het betrokke geraak by twee spelers wat aan mekaar was, met ‘n voorarm teen die kop.
Reg of verkeerd, geen speler sal toelaat dat ‘n ander span een van sy manne boelie nie. hy moes maar eerder soos Brussow gemaak het en Elsom se JOCKY oor sy ore getrek het!
23 Feb 2010, 22:38 pm
@CP:
thanks for that, C3PO
24 Feb 2010, 04:29 am
@CP:
And here it is in English
“Matfield says hello to NZ and OZ,he is and always will be n Bulls fan
Victor was nine when he first noticed he had talent as a rugby player.
Reg his father also noticed this. Meanwhile the street bully Brussow met a guy named Elsom the ROCKY and they became good friends.”
What do you all reckon,my Afrikaans to English pretty much spot on
24 Feb 2010, 10:48 am
@Hurricane
LOL!