Matfield cleared

Victor Matfield has been found not guilty of foul play in their match against the Brumbies.

The Bulls captain was cited under Law 10.4 (a) for striking Brumbies flanker Rocky Elsom around the head area in the 16th minute of the match. The Springbok lock was also cited under Law 10.4 (k) for charging into a ruck without binding onto another player.

If found guilty Matfield faced at least a one match suspension, but the verdict clears him to front the Waratahs at Loftus on Saturday.

There was more good news for the Bulls when it was revealed that Pierre Spies and Danie Rossouw will be available for selection.

Rossouw missed the Brumbies match with neck spasms, while scans have shown no structural damage to Spies’ knee, which he injured on Saturday. Spies won’t train with the team until Friday, while Rossouw is on light duty throughout the week.

Keo.co.za reported on Sunday that loose forward Dewald Potgieter has recovered from a knee injury and will be available for selection.

Centre Jaco Pretorius (quad strain) will miss the match, but is expected to be fit for their clash with the Highlanders on 13th March (the Bulls have a bye next week).

Rossouw and Potgieter are likely to be thrust straight into the run-on side in place of Flip van der Merwe and Pedrie Wannenberg respectively. Stephan Dippenaar will continue at outside centre in Pretorius’ absence.

Coach Frans Ludeke is now faced with a selection poser on the bench. He’ll have to decide whether to include Van der Merwe, who performed brilliantly against the Brumbies, at the expense of Wannenberg, or whether to axe the young lock in favour of the 100-cap veteran.

Both players could be accommodated if he opts to exclude Derick Kuün, although his dynamism off the bench has served the Bulls well to date.

Bulls (likely) - 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Stephan Dippenaar, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Bees Roux, 18 Pedrie Wannenburg/Flip van der Merwe, 19 Derick Kuün/Pedrie Wannenberg, 20 Heini Adams, 21 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22 John Mametsa.

189 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@ploos: @91

and I just LOVE the way YOU accused little old MOI of “bias…..factually flawed”

only to then turn around with your clincher

“We are without a doubt one of the best behaved teams in world rugby”.

BTW – when you say “it is a well known fact…”, by whom exactly ?

• 102.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: The lad has his head on straight. My father instilled, hard tough clean tackles/hits rewards you with ascendancy. My husband has adhered to exactly the same principles. It works, must do, my youngest is studying Law.

• 103.ploos: Reply to this comment

@Atreides: Bakkies has even cleaned up his act. I must admit he was bordering on ‘thug’ a few years back.

• 104.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@ploos: @103

oh please

can you be the Chosen One ?

the Oracle told me I would meet the Chosen One here, it has been foretold.

Are YOU the Sth African with a sense of humour ?

• 105.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: hahaha the ORACLE

He was on fire yesterday.

• 106.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@ploos: Bakkes is one helluva enforcer. All teams need a bit of mongrel… but you just know when he about to or has just committed an evil act. He gets this devilish sneer on his face. Almost resembles the twitching Elizabeth Montgomery’ character, Samantha from ‘Bewitched’

• 107.ploos: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: As Peter de Villiers says, ‘this is a contact sport’.

Why the need to be so contraversial all the time? Talk rugby, not your one sided attacks on Sa players, its getting old now.

• 108.ploos: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: Thats why Bakkies goes down on his knees and prays before each game, he is asking the lord to forgive him for he is about to do.

• 109.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

BP there is one flaw in your assertion concerning Bakkies thuggery and that is that it is well known in rugby circles that if someone is known to be a thug on the field that the opponents will target them. Bakkies as far as I am aware has never been targetted as such by opponents and don’t tell me there aren’t any Kiwis willign to give it a go. They seem to respect our Bakkies.

• 110.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: You really don’t like the Bulls players do you?

• 111.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@ploos: I am not an overtly religious person, but geez he is going to push it one day. Can just see him getting frazzled by a bolt from the blue.

After that he will qualify as a kwota, frazzled and all.

• 112.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: #97 classic WakaNathan stuff :D lmao…

• 113.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@ploos:
    No he prays that he doesnt kill anyone

• 114.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@ploos: @107

erm

“talk rugby…….but……not players”

?

• 115.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy: Players with Bakkes reputation target themselves. Eventually it all comes down to swings and roundabouts… another culture refers to it as karma.
    I believe skop has already visited this area, so no point re-hashing it.

• 116.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@ploos: No he is praying that he doesn’t “miss”…

• 117.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@JA-JA: @110

I leave the tribalism to the neanderthals.

No slight intended.

• 118.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie:
    must be lekke playing with him rather than against him

• 119.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy:

I dont remember too many players targetted Sir Richard Loe either.

And that guy was a thug.

• 120.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: of course , he is the enforcer of all enforcers hahaha

• 121.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

And I leave the tribadism to the women’s rugby team…

• 122.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

I am not surprised he was cleared. I just had another look at it on youtube and he rucked Rocky out the way. He didn’t swing his arm, didn’t dive in and made every effort to shift the player, and based on clip, it wasn’t after the whistle.

No problems there.

• 123.vasteses: Reply to this comment

BOKKE 1981 what a team

Hennie Bekker, WP
    Darius Botha, NTVL
    Naas Botha, NTVL
    Thys Burger Ntvl
    Wynand Claasen Natal
    Robert Cockrell WP
    Willie Du Plessis WP
    Hempies Du Toit, WP
    Burger Geldenhuys,NTVL
    Schalk Burger WP
    Gerrie Germishuys, OVS
    Johann Heunis,
    Johan Wilhelm NTVL
    Eben Jansen, OVS
    Willie Kahts, NTVL
    Fredrich Krantz,OVS
    Rob Louw WP
    Louis Moolman, NTVL
    Ray Mordt, TVL
    Ockie Oosthuizen, TVL
    Shaun Povey, WP
    Divan Serfontein WP
    Theuns Stofberg NTVL
    Henning v aswegen WP
    Flip Van der Merwe, SWD
    Gawie Visagie, NATAL
    Div Visser WP
    Barry Wolmarans OVS

• 124.Partizan: Reply to this comment

Mm tribadism :) lol Bakkies is really religious. Most, if not all of the Bulls players are

• 125.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

And so Big Victorious marches on…… good riddance, more titles!

• 126.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: jeepers, all pale-faced males :shock:

• 127.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: in saying that… they were very good pale-faced males! :lol:

but they were met by n very very pale faced-male from Wales called…. Norling! :lol:

• 128.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

citings for things like punches should be handled differently. here’s why.

Often in a game, a punch will get thrown and then before the “victim” can react, it will erupt in a mass brawl and he never really gets any “justice”.

So- if you get cited for a punch or a kick and you are found guilty, rather than an immediate ban, your “victim” should get the opportunity to request a bare-knuckle brawl. Last man-standing gets to play the following weekend.

It’s time we separated the men from the boys. This isn’t tiddlywinks.

• 129.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

@Partizan: Almoust all of them go to church together on Sundays.

• 130.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Transformation:
    shame you see colour i see great rugby players

• 131.vasteses: Reply to this comment

I wonder who will win palaying one game 80 rules, and one todays rules

15 Johann Heunis NTVL Kirshner BB
    14 Ray Mordt, TVL Peterson shrks
    13 Willie Du Plessis WP Jaques PROV
    12 Colin Beck WP Wynand BB
    11 Gerrie Germishuys, OVS Habana PROV

10 Naas Botha, NTVL Morne BB
    9 Divan Serfontein WP Fourie BB

8 Wynand Claasen Natal Pierre BB
    7 Schalk Burger WP Juan chts
    6 Rob Louw WP Skalk PROV

5 Hennie Bekker, WP Vic BB
    4 Louis Moolman, NTVL Bakkies BB

3 Ockie Oosthuizen, TVL Beast Shrks
    2 Willie Kahts, NTVL Bissie Shrks
    1 Hempies Du Toit, WP Smit Shrks

• 132.vasteses: Reply to this comment

sorry palaying = playing had a quick shut eye before dinner not completely my self yet

• 133.byoboy: Reply to this comment

Matfield cleared – justice has been done

• 134.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: @53 You conveniently forget the mischief that Thorn was up to before Smit came in.

That tackle during play would have been a dangerous tackle and worth a red- that he only got a week for play after the whistle means that he got away with assault – and there WAS harm done- the bok captain out for the WHOLE season. VERY different circumstances.
    TOSSER.

And if you see your team mate with an opponents elbow on his throat, of COURSE you get involved – that is what team mates do – you suggesting that he should have left him like that is downright laughable.

• 135.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Oh, and the other charge smakcs of the B& I tour when teams who have no answer for good rugby resort to “the law” to find a chink in their armor. VERY unsporting I think.

• 136.poppa69: Reply to this comment

havent seen the incident, but thank goodness he got off..

My “justice4 Rocky” armband hasnt arrived yet :D

• 137.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@SjamBok:

Smit got no less than he deserved, his large buttcheeks launched moonside

Victor got away with, as you say, ‘assault’.

learn to quit when youre ahrad.

• 138.whatever: Reply to this comment

The usual anti SA brigade out in force…… doos’s!

• 139.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Thorn got what he deserved in Hamilton, the aussie league fossil crumpled like a used dishcloth

• 140.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit:

Yeah, good clean payback! :)

• 141.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever: funny that, still awaiting you taking Stormer in a teacup to task over his unsavoury comments on the R.McCaw thread..

oh hang on, hes SA, its different, then its funny…

your double standards are laughable

• 142.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Whoa mate, have not seen what Stormer in a teacup has said, so don’t label me there boet………. and I did not mention any names….. you feeling a tad guilty? :)

What did Stormer say?

• 143.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever: no guilt here :mrgreen: something about sleeping with your dinner before eating it.. pretty tasteless and crass really… he generalised

its not like I couldnt come back at him, the mere mention of the word mortuary you’d think would stop the sheep jokes, but hey, different strokes for different folks.. :lol:

• 144.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

hehe, yeah, for me I’m tired of the continuous one upmanship here on Keo. Both countires have players that are dirty, both have players that abuse women and booze, both countries have shite ref’s etc. If we accept that and not geta “bonner” when one or the other country stuffs up. I’m cool :)

• 145.whatever: Reply to this comment

and………..if we don’t generalise, then even better :lol:

• 146.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever: it does get tiresome doesnt it.. and agree, both have their good and bad… theres only so many times you can rehash the same old tired lines (or banter haha)…

Not sure the Bulls would have missed Matfield anyways, they are playing some great footy at the moment..

• 147.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Black Panther seems to be kaking his panties. He sees how easily the Bulls are putting 50+ past teams.

If it were up to him he’d want every Bulls player cited.

Chiefs defense is looking real nice and solid, getting 65 points put on them by the Lions, hey guys? Lets just indulge in the thought of what the Bulls will do to them if they don’t clean up their act.

It wont be 60 this time, It’ll be 90.

• 148.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty:
    Shame you seem to forget that the lowly cheetahs managed to get 34 points against the Bulls and might i add the Cheetahs were the wooden spooners last year.
    Cheetahs have just about scored 18% of there overall points scored last year in this one game.

• 149.Aus_Rebel: Reply to this comment

Now where is that ignoramus Skopskiet (does that mean bullsheet in Afrikaans) and his Matfield and karma bollocks?

• 150.bazzamacca: Reply to this comment

Hometown judiciary. Crooked as a dogs hind leg. Bulls wil win the thing though.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.