Bulls just getting better
1 Mar 2010
An injection of youth has allowed the Bulls to soar instead of stagnate, writes Keo in his weekly Business Day column.
The Sharks are sinking and the Bulls are on a stampede, with the former terribly out of sorts and showing no sign that the view will get any better.
The Lions, given another year’s grace in that they don’t have to win anything, continue to leak tries and for the second successive match gifted the opposition a four-try bonus point, and the Cheetahs again confirmed their inability to put together two winning weekends in succession.
The Stormers were simply the Stormers. If they were red hot a week ago against the Waratahs then they were the opposite against the Brumbies, who weren’t much better. A draw would have been the fairest reflection, although the defeat means no player in Cape Town should believe his hype. Not just yet anyway.
The Bulls will have more difficult nights on the road, when they have to battle without the delights of the most fanatical home support in the competition and the magic wand called altitude.
But they will win more away from their Pretoria fortress than they will lose if they continue to embrace the most complete game in the competition. There were moments against the Waratahs when they were sublime. What they lacked in the first half was accuracy because the intent to play with intensity and width was a presence throughout. That the Waratahs attitude was as positive made for the weekend’s best match – something you would associate with the Bulls in the first three rounds of the competition.
The usual individuals continue to give world-class performances, but the biggest beneficiary of the Bulls this season is inside centre Wynand Olivier, whose attacking lines are starting to match his ruthless defence. Olivier destroyed the Waratahs midfield and the momentum he gave the Bulls compensated for their first half lack of dominance at the breakdown. This was largely due to the combination of loose forwards that started the match and when Potgieter and Stegman entered the festivities in the second half, all that was festive ended for the visitors.
Olivier now has the edge on Springbok inside centre regular Jean de Villiers, whose season with Munster has been difficult enough without Olivier torturing the best midfields in the southern hemisphere.
It is the composition of the Bulls team that has been as appealing as their results, with coach Frans Ludeke trusting youth to add a dimension to a Bulls team that could easily have stagnated. Instead they are soaring.
Every neutral would want to watch the Bulls play at the moment. They play intelligently, always back themselves to score tries as well as force penalties and they aren’t afraid to move the ball if it is on. Their counter attacks are clinical and there is nothing frantic about the way they use the ball. That is the major difference between Bulls and Lions at present. The Lions run with hope and the Bulls do so with purpose. The Lions say they want to entertain and the Bulls say they want to win.
Just what the Sharks want to achieve in terms of game plan is a mystery only eclipsed by the signing of England reject flyhalf Andy Goode. Why not play a local lad, ala the Bulls? Why not play Guy Cronje, so highly rated yet so sparsely used.
Questions are rightfully being asked of the Sharks because nothing can justify why a starting team with 11 Springboks and led by the country’s most successful captain can’t fashion a win.
The coach John Plumtree does not become a poor coach in three weeks and the players are among the best in the competition, so something else has to be wrong. I have heard all sorts of rumours from within Kwazulu-Natal, but in the early stages of the competition refused to give them merit. Now the talk of a split camp is becoming more believable, as is the whisper that Plumtree has lost the support of a faction within the squad and the administration.
The Sharks, as against the Chiefs and Cheetahs, were diabolical and in 240 minutes have produced one five pointer, while conceding seven. There has to be accountability and consequence if the franchise with the biggest chequebook offers a one try and no win return in the first three weeks of a competition, in which there is rightly so much expected from them.

206 Comments
1 Mar 2010, 12:04 pm
Soft heads and marshmallow hearts when they fly away Down Under…
1 Mar 2010, 12:05 pm
I’m a Province fan for life… nothing will change that…
but the Bulls are playing awesome rugby at the moment… a pleasure to watch and flying the SA flag really high and proud at the moment…
all kudos and strength to them for 12 weeks…
then…
Go Stormers…!
seriously… well done Bulls…!!
1 Mar 2010, 12:08 pm
These Bully Boys work on my nerves……..
Ok lemme gooi this out there…
Bulls need to change and be more innovative regarding their kick-offs and their receiving there-of. Hell they are one dimensional and keep making the same mistakes…. this area is costing them points and unnecessary stress..
Defence around the fringe is an absolute nightmare and more offensive defence is needed….and in saying that they need to give vd Heever some sieriaaaaas dosage of guts so that he for once in his life makes a good tackle. I saw Vic going to him and chatting to him on the field about that….& soos Bissie sê, as Vic praat moet jy luister…
Regarding not going for the 3 points on the penalties… interesting…. I read Barney’s (the best captain for the Boks ever according to media) book (which imo was a good read)and in it he states that Vic and other senior players “help” him captain. He also mentions that FdP reads the game better than any player on the planet … (big words)
In getting these penalties (Bulls vs Tahs) i saw that Vic had a chat to FdP and together they decided to go for the line-out…… interesting… i also said while sitting in the stand and chowing my nails off that they should go for the line-outs.. but afterwards i couldn’t believe how many “points” we could have, would have, should have – gotten if we took the kicks?
How good is Meisiekind this year? He made 700 gazillion tackles… i am impressed. Also with Guthro and Klein Flipie, they seem to be a bit better than 09.
Lastly lemme just say that i am not of the opinion that the Bulls will win all their games this year (as some bloggers and DScott do) but i think they will win a few more…. having a look at the tries they scored i saw them practising all of those moves in the warm-up while Slaptjips (and the Tahs on the field) were watching them….
… i think on the attack they are more innovative than on defence…
They are not a complete team but when i left Roftus Saturday i said to someone that maybe this Bulls side is actually a better than i think… contradiction
i know…
1 Mar 2010, 12:08 pm
It seems all the young ones is at the Bulls
1 Mar 2010, 12:11 pm
So many things one could highlight with the Bulls.
Firstly I mentioned this to boredom now but it is so relevant. It is not what they do by introducing their youth, it is how they do it that makes them so successful.
It is a union and setup which is well organised, and well-oiled.
Compare this to the Sharks who have lost a plethora of young players (to the Lions of all unions) earlier this year and their insistance of not investing in fringe/youth players and the difference is plain to see.
Secondly, their no-panick, composure they have shown in each match speaks volumes of the leadership and belief in the team. This comes down to effective team management at all levels.
Lastly, too little credit is given to Morne Steyn of whom I have been a critic as-well as being a simple distributing flyfalf with a good boot.
He said pre-season he wants to be even better and hell did he step up.
He is the best 10 in the competition currently with an all-round game to boot, and given he has the best 9 and 12 inside and outside of him, one can only imagine what a pleasure it must be to be an outside back to those 3 and why those youngsters are having the time of their lives.
1 Mar 2010, 12:12 pm
@Staal:
Staal bud…
nitpicking…!!
sure they could do some things better… but hell… they ARE playing great at the mo…
they may not win all their games… but I can tell you no one will put REAL money against them…
I think they’ll surprise overseas too…
1 Mar 2010, 12:13 pm
@TheTackler: This happened to you too, it seems.
1 Mar 2010, 12:14 pm
Bully Boys are playing sublime rugby. Meisiekind has been the form 12 and I was extremely impressed with Gurthro Steenkamp’s play in the loose. This is how professional rugby players should bounce back after a difficult season. That all said, it will be interesting to see how they get on outside of Loftus.
1 Mar 2010, 12:16 pm
@PissAnt: I agree. Morne Steyn is a revelation this year. He now resembles a true all-round flyhalf in the mould of a Johnny Wilkinson or a Dan Carter at their peaks. He and Wynand Olivier are the stand-out players in this team.
1 Mar 2010, 12:17 pm
All the young ones ARE… not IS.
(Something must be done about those wretched English grammar lessons at Bapsfontein High, pilgrims. Those poor folk know nothing at all about concord. And they can’t ALL become speedcops. And we’re not even talking about the dummies who STILL can’t spell “losing” and “lose” properly. They want two o’s in it and spell it “loose” and “loosing”! Can you believe it? Are the kids there being taught by Julius Malema, perhaps?)
Bulls look like potential championship material again with their attack and no panicking, although 3rd worst defence in the comp is a worry. 70 leaked points at home and 104 overall at altitude.
Cmon, even 2rd worst Force leaked meagre 4 points more and they are dead bottom team.
The nice thing is that the Bulls have already won the S14 when they had the nightmare 5 match tour Down Under. In fact, they’ve done so twice.
So they are rightly rewarded by having only 4 games on tour this year, and not against the toughest opposition either. To everyone who says they won’t win all their games on tour I just say:
THEY DON’T HAVE TO! They only need to win 1. If they win 2, then they’re sitting pretty and can rest some of their stars later on.
For now, well done Bulls. But please, tighten up your defense.
2nd worst, I mean.
1 Mar 2010, 12:18 pm
@Tacitus: 4 games. Force, Blues, Chiefs, Reds.
Time for Plumtree to come home. And smartly.
Before the African horde destroy yet another good man.
@TheTackler: A4Y’s
@Tacitus: My apologies, I read too casually.
1 Mar 2010, 12:19 pm
UFO#2
You see…you can by nice!!!
1 Mar 2010, 12:19 pm
@cane:
1 Mar 2010, 12:21 pm
@TheTackler: It is not “proper” English to start a sentence with “and”. Back to Pta for you
1 Mar 2010, 12:23 pm
i smark the Bulls are the best team and his players is all the better than that the others and I carnt see them losing on there forin legg to Ostralya and Nuwe Zeelandt
1 Mar 2010, 12:23 pm
Bulls should obviously look to win all of those away games but the Force/Reds are the ones to target.
1 Mar 2010, 12:25 pm
@ufo: LMAO!
1 Mar 2010, 12:25 pm
As for my Sharkies.
A blind man can see that Sharks camp is not happy. Even Smit looks down.
Plum needs to move on.The Muir/Plum combo was very good, apart they are suspect.
1 Mar 2010, 12:26 pm
@Pienkdas de Villiers:
i try hey…??
1 Mar 2010, 12:26 pm
Cheers – got to go to the pro shop. (helse klomp o’s hier)
Chat later!
1 Mar 2010, 12:27 pm
@Staal: Koop net Taylormade.
1 Mar 2010, 12:28 pm
@cane: @ 15
sadly not before he destroyed a great team…
1 Mar 2010, 12:29 pm
Hey Miss Tackle
What is concord means??I only know a concord(e) plain or is it plane??
Do you know a jet??….well I can`t beleive somebody has`nt moered you jet!
1 Mar 2010, 12:30 pm
A Bulls article! Happy now Tac?
1 Mar 2010, 12:31 pm
@Taahirah:
Should I be satisfied with the fact that I had to wait twice as long for one measly Bulls article as the Stormers fans had to wait for 2 or 3 Stormers threads?
I think not.
1 Mar 2010, 12:35 pm
@Michael: It is currently VERY chic stylistically to start a sentence with either of the co-ordinating conjunctions. Fowler would approve.
1 Mar 2010, 12:36 pm
@ufo: #28.
Something is rotten in Durbanville, and it ain’t Plum and it ain’t Tess.
1 Mar 2010, 12:37 pm
@TheTackler:
Plumbers in New Zealand are quite well spoken, I take it…
1 Mar 2010, 12:38 pm
@cane:
Durbanville is actually an area in Cape Town. See how easy misunderstandings can occur?
1 Mar 2010, 12:38 pm
I@Pienkdas de Villiers: Your vocabulary appears to be as execrable as your wardrobe. You surely are a denizen of Snor City, where grey lace-ups are — I am told — still de rigueur in the staatsamptenaar petit bourgeois one finds there.
1 Mar 2010, 12:39 pm
@TheTackler: I pioneered that trend. And I don’t really approve of your imitation.
1 Mar 2010, 12:41 pm
@katman:
1 Mar 2010, 12:42 pm
@Tacitus:
1 Mar 2010, 12:45 pm
@Tacitus:
@cane:
I thought I saw Plummo jogging at Blouberg beach the other day!!!
Guess it’s the daily commute that’s put paid to the Sharks season…
1 Mar 2010, 12:45 pm
lekker to be a shark supporter at the momentg… lekker k@k ja…
and jislaaik, those tappits from pretoors is possibly playing the best S14 rugby any side (even the saders in their prime yes) have ever played… my pain just keep growing… …
1 Mar 2010, 12:46 pm
36#
LOL I wish.
You were told wrong.The NEW IMPROVED staatsamptenaar does`nt have snorre and they don`t wear grey lace-ups!But lets not go there.
1 Mar 2010, 12:49 pm
@Staal: “Klein Flip” ? Lol. No Staal, this team is maybe at 50% at where it can be, and that is something that other teams are afraid of.
In one game this year, we are going to hit our straps, and it will be ugly, and beautiful depending on who you support.
This team is very young, I would love to know the average age, probably 25 at most.
1 Mar 2010, 12:49 pm
@TheTackler: a “staatsamptenaar” looks a bit different these days as from how you remember them.
1 Mar 2010, 12:50 pm
plummie is more a shark than a kiwi, i mean he played bulk of his ruggas here… he is just not a backline coach and it is becoming more evident, tricky dicky still helped a little but now they both poof apart… at the moment he doesnt look like much of a coach at all… and i surely dont think ‘ brain trust’ strauli is helping much, heaven help if that is our brains we trust in… jy kan mos sien, hy lyk sommer dom…
i mean give me 18+ springboks in a team and i can stuff it up less… make ‘em fit, very fit, kick when you are in ur 22 and play instinctively when out of there, how tough can it be?!
1 Mar 2010, 12:57 pm
Honestly, when a Bulls supporter asked me this weekend why I loved the Stormers so much I struggled to come up with much more than honour, tradition, history and loyalty.
He replied that he loved the Bulls for the same reasons, but threw in form, physical, clinical rugby and an unbelievable winning culture.
I commenced to drink alot.
1 Mar 2010, 12:58 pm
@TheTackler: Whether it is chic or not doesn’t make it linguistically correct
@Skim: All I’ve got is “I already have the jersey”. You can imagine how much I drink.
@katman: LOL
1 Mar 2010, 13:00 pm
@katman: Tough times….
@Skim: Ask him if he supported the Bulls when they couldn’t buy a win a decade ago
Alot? Is “alot” a common beverage?
Or do you mean ” a lot”, two words, meaning “ample amounts”?
@Skim:
He he he skim…
All is not lost yet… keep the faith…
But I must admit, it’s even nicer being a Bulls supporter at the moment…
shame that a lot of bloggers still doubt Matfields ability to lead the boks…damn shame i tell you!
1 Mar 2010, 13:01 pm
Butch James is on his way to CPT in 2011 as he concluded a deal with the Stormers…
1 Mar 2010, 13:01 pm
@Michael: Exactly… a decade ago… thats the last time Province won anything.
1 Mar 2010, 13:02 pm
@Skim: Well, 8 and a half years ago for WP to be precise. Hey, I have to grasp at something!
@TheTackler: Tackler, as always you seem to miss the point. Heaven knows why you hang around this website so much….
@PissAnt: seriously????
That is the best news my man!!!
1 Mar 2010, 13:03 pm
@PissAnt: Ooohhhhh, where did you hear this news? Grant10 will be needing a few stiffies now
@PissAnt: Good news… Province are starting to build both a potent and physical backline. I really like the look of young Cronje though.
@grant10: I thought you believed Butchie was a has-been and that Grant is better?
1 Mar 2010, 13:04 pm
Sharkies….how the hell you lose Butch>????
Are you okes sleeping there?
Next BJ…watch this space!
1 Mar 2010, 13:04 pm
@Skim: Tackler hangs around to get a taste of home before he rejoins his sheep.
1 Mar 2010, 13:05 pm
@Michael: 62
What?
No way my man….Butch my favorite 10….you have me mistaken?
My nick is my 1 st name and i played 10…maybe thats confusing you?
@grant10:
I dont joke about things like this! Recent report from a UK news website.
Butch will probably be injured during 2011…
1 Mar 2010, 13:06 pm
@TheTackler: If you’re going to go to the effort of correcting people’s spelling and grammar, at least make sure your own house is in order. Unless inserting a space between the quotation marks and the quoted word is a common New Zealand practice. Get it right, pilgrim.
pissant…are you 100% sure?
I dont want to open the champers for no good reason!
@PissAnt: Fourie, Habana, Butch… must have cost a fortune..
1 Mar 2010, 13:07 pm
@PissAnt: 66
Thanks man….i know you dont ….cool bananas….this is great news for me….that okes a great 10….hope he stays fit!!
1 Mar 2010, 13:08 pm
will he ever actually get on the park…
not sure about this move… good…? bad…?
next year is another year… hopefully cronje has come on a bit… where does this put his career…
if we could have butch THIS season I’d be chuffed…
(being lazy here PA…
)
1 Mar 2010, 13:08 pm
@grant10:
News of the world dot co dot uk…
They reported on this.
1 Mar 2010, 13:11 pm
@ufo:
Butch’s understudy in my books.
De Waal will most probably finish off this season with the Stormers and questions surrounding Grant’s play at 10 simply won’t go away where most believe him to be a better 12.
Expect roles to be shared between Butch and Cronje – very similar, physical flyhalfs.
You need two good 10′s in the competition.
1 Mar 2010, 13:11 pm
@grant10: I apologise. I formed the impression from your posts on the 2008 season when you wanted Peter Grant in the Bok side ahead of Butchie.
Damn good signing by Erasmus…
1 Mar 2010, 13:14 pm
newsoftheworld.co.uk/sport/742064/WORLD-CUP-winner-Ben-Kay-has-agreed-to-join-Jonny-Wilkinson-at-French-high-rollers-Toulon.html
Butch might be over the hill by the time he arrives in CPT
The above url has the news about Butch joining the Stormers.
1 Mar 2010, 13:17 pm
Stormers betting big time here..
1 Mar 2010, 13:17 pm
@PissAnt:
The problem is the News of the World is more a tabloid type paper like the The Sun with topless ladies and the sorts, so anything they report i take with a pinch of salt.
Hell i hope it is true, but until i see an official statement, i wont get my hopes up!
1 Mar 2010, 13:18 pm
@PissAnt:
fair enough PA… certainly a better package than we have at the mo… just hope Butch stays fit for (most of) the season…
gotta love it… these guys ALL secretly wanna come and be Stormers…!!
Super 14 week 2
Recent reports from the UK suggested that former Bok and World Cup winning flyhalf, Butch James has concluded a deal with the Stormers for the 2011 Super 15.
James has again suffered an injury (shoulder) shortly after he returned from a knee injury which kept him sidelined for months for his club Bath.
To add to Bath’s woes of losing the player to injury yet again they seem resigned to the fact that James will also look to return to South Africa in 2011 where he apparently struck a deal with Super 14 team the Stormers.
The Stormers currently have Willem de Waal, Lionel Cronje and Peter Grant on their books who can all fill the flyhalf role but with De Waal arguably in his last season for the Cape franchise, and questions continually asked over Grant’s ability at 10, the move might be a masterstroke from the Stormers management where experience and direction seems to be lacking in the 10/12.
News of the world is not the most reliable site looking at their other content but where there’s smoke there is fire.
I thought Butch was hanging the boots up.
1 Mar 2010, 13:19 pm
In my opinion, the Stormers getting Butch is right up there with the Lions signing Carlos, and the Force signing Pretorius. Not a good decision. It is a short term decision which will end up back firing. If you have the youngsters, let them play.
This Cronje lad has been hyped up. He should be given 20 minutes for the next couple of weeks, and then some starts later on in the season. He should play the Currie Cup, and then be given the big job next year. Why sign him if you don’t want to play him?
The Stormers backline doesn’t need Butch, it is their forwards that need to become butch.
directly from sharksworld
Stormers 2011:
9 D Duvenage
10 B James
11 B Habana
12 J De VIlliers
13 J Fourie
14 J Pietersen
15 C Janjtes
20 R Januarie
21 L Cronje
22 J de Jongh
???
1 Mar 2010, 13:20 pm
OK so why dont they buy Jdiv?
@Dazzler: Well, if the deal doesn’t go through all is not lost. We will be done with Carlos Spencer in a few months’ time and you guys could probably pick him up quite cheap by then.
@Blouboerseun: They are in talks.
Hhmmmm. Butchie and Steyn as our WC flyhalves! Now THAT is enticing…
1 Mar 2010, 13:21 pm
This is a marketing stunt they pull every season. Buy the names and the hordes will come. They still wont win the super14.
1 Mar 2010, 13:24 pm
@katman: As far as I am aware, the sneaky buggered has a two year contract at the Lions!
1 Mar 2010, 13:25 pm
I am happy with my bulls team. We dont have to buy these guys.
I am happy thank you.
Enjoy your short term investment.
1 Mar 2010, 13:27 pm
@WOLFMAN21: No it’s a Lions contract, remember. Also known as the holey scripture.
1 Mar 2010, 13:28 pm
@katman:
Thanks but no thanks, ”King” Carlos reminds of the devils dad in the movie Little Nicky. Once great, now just a wayward senile old man…
What they should do is give Lionel Cronje a go, the kid’s got serious talent
1 Mar 2010, 13:32 pm
Guys all…
Just another bitta news…
Grant… Grant10′s… son Jayde won the Bat Run… up and down Devil’s Peak, Table Mountain AND Lion’s Head… at NIGHT…!!
in 3h42m…!!
obviously got his Dad’s sporty genes…
congratulations Grant!!!
1 Mar 2010, 13:36 pm
UFO,
1 Mar 2010, 13:36 pm
@WOLFMAN21:
Yeah I agree. The stormers should look at how the Canes are introducing Cruden to super 14 rugby.
1 Mar 2010, 13:40 pm
@Blouboerseun:
it’s a seriously awesome achievement…!!
1 Mar 2010, 13:43 pm
Butch signed a 3 year extension to his Bath contract at the end of 2008?
He is under contract until end of 2011/2012 season.
Unless Stormers are buying him out of his contract?
1 Mar 2010, 13:46 pm
As a Bulls supporter my only concern is tha they are peaking too early but watching the highlights on Saturday was awesome.
For those of you who watch your rugby in the UK – did anyone else see the highlights program on saturday evening? They showed an archive game (Bulls vs. Blues) in the 90′s. Blues had Fitzpatick, Spencer etc and the Bulls had Richter, Brooks, van der Westhuizen etc.
The thing tha struck me was how much the phisiques (spelling) of the playes have changed in the 10 years. The guys today are huge in comparison.
1 Mar 2010, 13:46 pm
@Oubaas2009: If this season has taught us one thing, it’s that contracts are like the points on “Who’s Line Is It Anyway?” They don’t matter.
1 Mar 2010, 13:48 pm
Here’s an extract from News24′s Rugby Guru in his latest blog post, where he echoes my complaints about the Bob and Mat comedy show (known as Stormers rugby commentary) almost to the letter. Enjoy:
…Of course I am deliberately being facetious, and Stormers fans need not worry there is still a lot to come from this team providing they can put aside the hype and concentrate on the task at hand. There are undoubtedly many South African fans that gave a wry smile or perhaps even allowed themselves a few extra beers when the Stormers’ lost and while I consider that unpatriotic dare I say that the Cape fans and the Cape media are their own worst enemies. All of which brings me to the real point of this post the one eyed drivel dished up by Bobby Skinstad and Mathew Pearce whose commentary was absolutely nauseating.
If I could actually bring myself to watch the game again I could provide an accurate transcript for those of you who were fortunate enough to have been at the game or to have listened to the Afrikaans commentary but if you will allow me a little poetic license the following are Rugby Guru’s interpretations of some of the shamelessly pro-Stormers drivel that actually made this boring game worth watching if only for its comedic value…
That’s a knock on by Aplon. How unfortunate – he is after all such a magnificent player. Yes Bobby you are so right, dare I say it’s almost a shame that the referee has to blow a knock on when such a fine specimen of Cape manhood is involved.
Duane Vermeulen. Oh good heavens just the sound of his name has me sitting up erect in my seat. Definitely the greatest player ever to walk onto a rugby pitch. In fact I have it on good authority that Vermeulen is so admired by opponents that they hold special practices just to study his playing style and dedicate two and sometimes even three players just to tackle his awesomeness. That’s a huge tackle on Vermeulen but he simply doesn’t feel it, what a player.
I tell you Mattie, this must be a real experience for Matt Giteau. He has undoubtedly never ever seen such perfectly manicured grass before. His entire body must be tingling as he lines up this kick, its almost a shame that he is going to place a kicking tee on this truly magnificent horticultural masterpiece. (Ok I probably took that one a bit too far – it’s unlikely either of them knows a word like Horticulture!)
That was definitely a try from the first angle. Perhaps if we could look at the second replay again we could Photoshop out the line and claim a try. Absolutely Mattie, a great player like Pieter Louw deserves a try. He deserves a try for Fleckie. Fleckie deserves a try. Fleckie deserves two tries. Oh my goodness isn’t Fleckie just the most awesome backline coach. We love you Fleckie.
The Fridge Magnets! Not since the Beatles have such truly talented individuals played the guitar. They play the guitar and they play rugby, what talent. Fleckie used to be that talented. I wish I was a Fridge Magnet. I wish Fleckie was a Fridge Magnet. Joe Pietersen is a Fridge magnet, Joe Pietersen is simply awesome.
Juan De Jongh. Oh my goodness what a talent. He reminds me of Fleckie. He reminds me of an even more talented Fleckie than Fleckie was. Juan De Jongh my God he should join the Fridge Magnets!
Oh Habana is so unlucky there. He is on the wrong side and he is offsides but he doesn’t see the ball so it’s not his fault. It can’t be his fault, I think Craig Joubert got that completely wrong. You are only offside if you do it on purpose, Habana is such a fine athlete he is not actually offside it just looks that way! Already he is a hero here in Cape Town, heroes cannot be offsides.
I must tell yo Mattie. As indeed I will tell Fleckie later. This Brumbie side might be leading but they are no match for the wonderful Stormers. I only saw the highlights but I have no doubt that the Bulls were lucky to get fifty points last week. There is no way that the Bulls can score 50 points while the Stormers have only nine. The Brumbies are much better than the fifty points the Bulls scored against them.
And then – as if to crown off the evening – the man of the match, who I believe is selected by the commentators was announced as Tiaan Liebenberg! (Are you shitting me!) It is only in Cape Town that the losing team gets to have the man of the match! Wouldn’t Fleckie be proud? Come on Tiaan if you haven’t already spent the money on tickets for the next Fridge Magnets Concert perhaps you could do the honourable thing and post the money to:
Mr Adam Ashley Cooper
c/o Brumbies Rugby
Canberra
Australia
1 Mar 2010, 13:51 pm
Not surprised he’s going to Stormers given all the grief within the Sharks camp, so we hear. Stormers obviously want to try and be the new contenders against the Bulls…
1 Mar 2010, 13:51 pm
@katman: Agreed but only if they are written by someone in Lion land.
June 2012 thats when Butch’s contract officially expires according to my knowledge.
Obviously they can release him earlier if they want but both player and club have to agree.
I can see the Keo headline, “Stormers sign Bok Legend.” whilst if he had gone to the Sharks it would be, “Desperate Sharks sign buggered Butch”
Good old one eyed Keo!
1 Mar 2010, 13:55 pm
Hilarious…
1 Mar 2010, 13:56 pm
@Tacitus: 102 That is good humour if I ever saw it. LOL!
1 Mar 2010, 13:56 pm
@Oubaas2009: Or if the Bulls had signed him “Bully Boys sign bully boy butch”
1 Mar 2010, 13:57 pm
I also Belive Matfield is more than capable of Captaining the Springboks… Then again im not sure on how he tacks up with Piet Snor…
I reckon John Smit should have to compete for 2 or even 3 (Don’t really support him at 3) based on merit and not his “Captaincy Immunity bracelet” That could sort out some of this cuck because then no player can have a right to be pissed of if he plays ahead of them…
Who knows the better the bulls get the more pressure Vic’s leadership will create for Smit to preform better, especially with the sharks losing, and if JSmit is this great Leader as the Legends proclaimed then he should be one of the first guys to pull the sharks camp back together!
Coming from s Sharks fan…
1 Mar 2010, 13:57 pm
@ufo: 95
Thanks….i am helleva proud….the kid has his moms genes i reckon!
1 Mar 2010, 14:02 pm
@grant10:
good on you bud… every right to feel proud… it’s an helluva tough race… mate of mine does it… won the Tuffer Puffer this year but came nowhere in the Bat Run…!!
1 Mar 2010, 14:05 pm
@gunther:
And to make it even worse, where the Stormers get the Bob and Mat WP supporters choir, the Bulls get Joel Stransky, who delights in praising the opposition and questioning every decision that goes the Bulls way.
I really can’t stand that guy. Thankfully we have Hugh Bladen who is clearly a Bulls fan, but who has the profesionalism to produce a proper commentating job nevertheless.
1 Mar 2010, 14:07 pm
@grant10: Grant if your kid is that fast and you used to be a 10, you could be the next Stormers flyhalf. Come on out of retirement. John Smit would love it
1 Mar 2010, 14:07 pm
@Tacitus: That’s funny and sad at the same time. As true stories so often are.
1 Mar 2010, 14:09 pm
@Tacitus: Agree on Stransky.
I think he tries to play the impartial commentator role.
Listen to him when the Boks play too. Supports the opposition and he soooooo boring. I hate listening to him. They should remove ‘Joel’s spot’ from the turf at Ellis for his sins.
1 Mar 2010, 14:13 pm
no commentator is worse than gavin cowley.
ok….maybe garth wright
1 Mar 2010, 14:14 pm
@Oubaas2009:
agree…
he was even worse before 2007 always saying when we (the 95 World Cup Champs who walk on water and know EVERYTHING about rugby and these current players just aren’t worthy to be mentioned in the same room as us…) when WE played or when I played… blah blah…
if for no other reason i love John Smit for winning the World Cup in 2007 and putting a sock in it for Joel…
don’t think he’s even trying to be biased… think he genuinely gets excited when the Boks/Bulls/Stormers/anything SA/etc etc get beaten…
1 Mar 2010, 14:15 pm
@charo: Anyone but The Broz.
@charo: Agreed on Garth.
Why oh why can’t we find some decent blokes with a little humour out there?
Ex players preferably. Bob is at least making an effort, Robbie K too, Warren B so so.
I’d even be pissed off to listen to Bob Skinstad if I was a Stormers supporter. Seriously. He is embarrassing. Like when he tried to claim that Habana was harshly penalized, despite the fact that Habana was a repeat infringer who was borderline yellow card material at that point in time.
4 penalties for the same infringement? If I was a Stormers supporter, I’d want the commentator to give the offender a roasting, not constantly make excuses for him. Habana cost the Stormers that game more than Pietersen did.
1 Mar 2010, 14:16 pm
@Tacitus: The afrikaans is not much better. That shouting you hear in the background when you listen to the English commentary is not coming from the South Stand. that is actually Toks you hear from the sound tight booth next door…
Tacitus
I’m not sure what the bulls what the bulls have done to deserve Joel “over he goes” Stransky..
TAC
Here is Marius Jonker’s thoughts!!
Marius Jonker : ” OK…..I’m going to pis myself…the bulls my heros are playing right infront of me!!!…..blow a fair game and see what happens…..O my God …here comes Victor…..faaart faartttt….maybe I can leave the field like kaplan……….no I will pull this game back and make sure I am loved again and not get a hidding from Andre Watson and Victor…..OMG what a move from Stegman….he is doing as he please…….F*&k you Phil…..the ball was not illegaly hit from the scrummie’s hands….just go f*$#ck a sheep….I love those jokes……ok wait…….my team is countering….I will just run along and look at this team who dares come to loftus and play rugby and make sure they are in line….I will not watch what the bulls are doing….of course not….they are perfect……like our ref record…..3/3 SA refs….11/15 SA refs last year….hell not even the devil will stop us now!
1 Mar 2010, 14:17 pm
@ufo: Maybe we should start a crusade.
“Erase ‘Joel’s spot’ for treason” campaign. Next time I go to Ellis, I’m gonna pee on it.
1 Mar 2010, 14:20 pm
@Hoops:
Your rant may carry more weight if Marius hadn’t been so super lenient to the Waratahs, refusing to yellow card Phil Waugh despite repeated infringements in the red zone.
How many mauls did the Tahs collapse?
How many times did they go offsides to prevent Bulls attacks on the tryline?
How many balls did they slow down illegally?
Sorry, Hoops, pull the other one. They should have received MULITPLE yellow cards. But I understand Marius’ reluctance, after he was a bit quick on the yellow card trigger in the Lions Chiefs game.
So the Bulls unfortunately paid the price for it. But we dealt with it. Now it’s time for you to deal with it.
@Oubaas2009:
don’t erase it… leave it there for the reason you mentioned…
Hugh (he went to [insert name of school] and I’m sure they are back in the clubhouse cheering) Blayden is the Master.
I did hear a good story the other day about the late Chick Henderson. He captained a Scottish Barbarians team against the French. At the evening do everyone got so bladderd (him included) that when he got up to speak he forgot and did his speech in Afrikaans. The French though he was speaking Gaellic and the Scottish though he was speaking in french….those were the days
1 Mar 2010, 14:22 pm
@Tacitus: I agree Tac. Skinstad and Pearce are painful to listen to. Also they talk rubbish, not calling them game properly. But no one is worse than Andy Capastagnio. NO ONE! He wins hands down as the worse commentator EVER!
1 Mar 2010, 14:23 pm
@Hoops:
A bit sour are we?
1 Mar 2010, 14:23 pm
@Train: Chickie H, now he was a beauty! You could hear him and Hugh opening the gin bottle if you listened carefully.
1 Mar 2010, 14:24 pm
TAC
And who was man of the match at the bull ring?????
How they got that one I’m not even sure?????
I do agree on some of the comment from Bob, but most of the times I’m irritated by the commentary….they will alwyas say stupid things like….and the refs calls a knock on….and it clearly was offside….or they will say…..that is a penalty for offside…then it was for not releasing the ball!!! FFS…they are there and have the audio to hear what is going on but 98% of the time I know what the ref called while they must be at 60%!!!!????/ How do they keep jobs!
1 Mar 2010, 14:24 pm
@Train: Hugh loves the Bulls and is unapologetic about it! He cheers for them openly.
Same as Greg Martin for the Reds. He supports them unapologetically. I love Marto. He is so biased it’s funny.
1 Mar 2010, 14:25 pm
Andy Cap, the only oke in the world who as an ex British postman qualifies to commentate on our Rugby and Cricket! He must know Julius Malema.
1 Mar 2010, 14:26 pm
@Oubaas2009: That is the other problem with Bladen. Sometimes he is just plain drunk, and screams try for the Bulls, then it was for the other team. Scary stuff.
1 Mar 2010, 14:27 pm
TAC
One thing you bulls have is winning at your side….just like Jake White. Not much one can say against the winning team/coach!
But I look at it very carefully!
@rossoneri: I know but as a Bulls supporter I’m kinda ok with it (slightly embarassing I know).
The most biased guy I ever heard was Trevor Quirk when he did cricket commentary. According to him and Edwil van Aarde every South African was simply the best – no debate….
@Oubaas2009: And he does a **** job at both rugby and cricker commentary.
The most biased commentator award has to go to that walsh pr*ck who commentates on the Welsh games.
1 Mar 2010, 14:28 pm
@Oubaas2009:
He married into sport…
1 Mar 2010, 14:29 pm
@Train: I would prefer the openly biased guys, than the ones that pretend. Just say at the beginning your heart is with this team, and go for it.
I thouroughly enjoy the Skysports fanzone commentators during football games. One fan from the two sides playing and they give eachother hell for 1.5 hours. LOL! The funniest stuff I tell you.
1 Mar 2010, 14:29 pm
@Sonito: With the high pitched voice? Hell that guy can whine!
1 Mar 2010, 14:31 pm
Brian Moore and Dewi Morris are annoying
I like Will Greenwood and Phil Kearns sounds like his on the way to the pub…
Murray Mexted sounds like he would rather be on the field getting stuck in and Kobus W gets boring – the joke about ‘agreeing where the braai is tonight’ after each scuffle wears thin after a while
1 Mar 2010, 14:32 pm
@Sonito: And the Irish commentators.
Flannery kicks a Frenchie who has the ball in his hand, and the commentators say “Oh poor Flannery, he was going for the ball. Unlucky that time.”
1 Mar 2010, 14:32 pm
The turn over when the tahs was pressing when the ball was slapped from the scrummie was yellow at least…not even penalty!! Not even seen!!!!!
When you lost last year against the Brumbies all of Pretoria including NAAS was lashing the ref…no sour grapes called then……????? That is how it is at the moment!!!!
1 Mar 2010, 14:33 pm
@Beertjie: You guys are on the money with that guy. Sometimes I wish he’s just shut up! He spoils the game with his whinning.
1 Mar 2010, 14:36 pm
@Hoops: Stop your moaning. You call up one debatable example and then call the ref biased. Since when has a slap down been a yellow card?
1 Mar 2010, 14:37 pm
Thing that irritates me most bout Skinstad’s commentary is his use of Australian slang. “Jet shoes” (4 speedy players). “Guns” (4 muscles). Pathetic.
1 Mar 2010, 14:38 pm
If you turn off the picture, you can hardly tell who is Jonathan Davies and who is Nigel Owens. Their voice is perfectly suited to annoy the hated neighbors in the night.
1 Mar 2010, 14:42 pm
Wolfman…shal I start a minute by minute report for you?????
Pofessional foul = yellow!
1 Mar 2010, 14:43 pm
@Taahirah: I know. He must come up with his own style. It’s pathetic when he tries to do what other guys do.
1 Mar 2010, 14:45 pm
@Tacitus: 102 Laughs
@Hoops: 122 More laughs
1 Mar 2010, 14:45 pm
@Hoops: Yeah dude, because if someone kills the ball in their own 22, they always get yellow-carded for a professional foul.
If that was the case, the Waratahs would have been down to 4 players.
1 Mar 2010, 14:47 pm
@Hoops:
You seem to be the only one moaning about the ref…
What’s up?…
Can’t handle a Bulls win…well get use to it buddy…
1 Mar 2010, 14:48 pm
Must say Bob fixation with Flekkie is a bit worrisome….
Well to be truly honest…. i actually must say that the Cape’s fixation with Bob is peculiar… always thought he was a good 8′th man… not more than that…
taking about a Stormers player that can become a great… imo.. Andries Bekker…. this guy has got it all. way better than what his dad was…. i rate him as the pinnacle of Wp/Stormers rugby….. hope he stays injury free cause we gonna need him in 2011.
1 Mar 2010, 14:51 pm
Bob was king!
So happy about the butch rumour…..dammit i can sing!
Now want 2 more headlines….
CJ signs for Bulls
and
BJ to Stormers…
Heehaaa
1 Mar 2010, 14:57 pm
@Tacitus: Who was man of the match at Loftus???
1 Mar 2010, 14:59 pm
The Poms are the worst when it comes to biased commentary. I didn’t watch the full England Ireland game this weekend, but the bit I saw had me waving the Jacob Zuma salute at the screen in protest at regular intervals. One of them will make a bold statement about some horrible travesty of breakdown justice just visited upon the English heroes by the out-of-his-depth referee and the other one will solemnly agree. Only for us to immediately cut to a slow-mo replay of said incident (don’t they know we’re all going to be watching it again, slowed down, in close-up, from three angles?) and be presented with reams of undeniable evidence that the two clowns on the microphones got it completely wrong. Enough to make any commentator feel sheepish, one would think. But one would be wrong if said commentators were citizens of Her Majesty’s Muddy Meadow and Mouldy Carpeted Bathroom. They just “Aaaah…” and “Well…” and “Hard to tell…” until they have each other convinced that the rugby watching public of the world is in agreement with them that England have now not only been denied by the ref, but also by dodgy camerawork.
1 Mar 2010, 14:59 pm
@Kea-Cat: Luke Burgess.
1 Mar 2010, 15:02 pm
Wolfman
The waratahs deserved at least 3 yellow according to me!
But look at the whole game and how advantage et is played….look at it from pure rules….and you will see the tendency like Shane Warne getting those close calls when going for LBW!!!
1 Mar 2010, 15:07 pm
@Hoops:
Bwahahahaha
Now I get it….jealousy !!!
1 Mar 2010, 15:08 pm
@Hoops: Every ref misses things, and calls things incorrectly. It is human error. Rugby is a chaotic sport with plenty going on at every point in the game.
If the ref gets a couple wrong, the question is, is one team constantly benefiting, or is it simple an error from the ref? For every rulling you bring up in support of your theory that the ref loves the Bulls, there will be one I can bring up which suggests he wasn’t harsh enough on the Waratahs.
Shane Warne got LBW’s because he was a genius bowler and a stroppy git who intimidated the umpire. The whole Aussie team did.
The Bulls don’t. The only 2 players recently that I can remember who had the ref in their pocket, were Gregan and to a lesser extent McCaw.
1 Mar 2010, 15:09 pm
@grant10:
The stormers can have James by all means, if this super 14 doesn’t prove that you cant win the comp with a checkbook then the WP will never learn.
Grown young talent, that is what this thread is about, the Bulls are so good because they do just that!
1 Mar 2010, 15:28 pm
i actually were pro-active and had the portion of my brain that “notches” the ref all the time – surgically removed…. thus i can handle the utter snot that Pro dish up every weekend better..
in saying that another part of my brain did see Mister Bullethead Waugh going into the first ruck from the side like a friggen scud missile and the ref (don’t wanna noem his name… blood pressure) didn’t even had a clue… o-ja.. it was from the kick-off and they score from the turnover ball…
but ya – i just ignore these Watson type untouchable semi-gods…. but Pro will make me remove a bigger part cause he is honestly Clive Norling quality….
1 Mar 2010, 15:43 pm
Blouste
Not at all!
All I’m saying is just keep the ‘God” tag away for a few more weeks!
1 Mar 2010, 15:49 pm
@Hoops:
Well I for one agree on that…
1 Mar 2010, 16:00 pm
Having said that, we are a quality side….
1 Mar 2010, 16:01 pm
Blouste
My wife is a bulls supporter so I get enough banter to last me a life time! Hehehe
But I watched the game with bulls fans other than my usual bulls friends…..and they were a bit in the untouchable mould about their way they called for another 50 pointer etc.
When my team is playing and ref gets it wrong for them I am also pissed off cause I want these bafoons to perform their task! That i after all what they are paid for!
I did not see the Stormers game but will watch it tonight….on PVR in great pain……
I did the Sabie MTB this weekend and came off really bad….so not a good weekend, and therefore missed the game cause I had to register on friday night!
I heard only what we did wrong from Provvas!
1 Mar 2010, 16:09 pm
Hoops
We’ll I’m not sure if I should say enjoy…
1 Mar 2010, 16:10 pm
Blouste
I wil not take away the rightful praise the bulls deserve….
The things I love about them is as follows:
1. Panic is not in their vocabulary. They keep calm and just play their game…..even when they are well in front
2. They mix things up….their is no pattern….some times it is kicking …..other times nice counters…then chip and chase…then forwards driving….very strong point for them
3. None of the players are getting invloved in the tussles at the moment…like bismark thinks no one is allowed to tackle or even touch him…even Duane Vermeulen got that attitude that no ons should mess with his hair r something….they are there to play rugby first and that is it.
4. Apart from hougaard there is no side shows when scoring tries….just pure elated happiness! Not like JF tapping his mouth when he scored against the lions….or pistol shots etc….
5. Ludeke is almost non existent. He’s not for ever telling the world exactly what his plan is….like AC…OMG!!!
1 Mar 2010, 16:14 pm
The only thing I think you should realise is that without 3 r 4 players (like most teams) you will come down hard back to earth!
The last few CC the boks had to come save you every time…either to make the semi or to get to the final.
Without FDP, Steyn, Victor and Spies the thing kind of come apart badly…..
I foresee that the Bulls will strugle when these big names leave…….and they will leave….
So enjoy this rampant team you have….it is not going to last that long!
1 Mar 2010, 16:22 pm
See article below from Tank Lanning, while some could not care less about what Tank says, I think he knows a littlle bit about scrumming…………………….seems to me Grant10 and tank are the sdame oke !!!!!
Obviously I am talking about the section regarding JS at 3……enjoy !!
——————————————————————————–
Thank heavens for the Bulls
Sun 28 Feb 2010, 07:55 10 Comment(s) Report Abuse A truly dark weekend for us Saffers, the saving grace being the silver lining provided by the Bulls in the final game of the weekend. And what a silver lining it was. Platinum with studded diamonds, in fact! Down 17-0 at one stage, the Bulls came back at Loftus to hammer the Tahs by 10 points.
And after the muck that had been dished up in the previous games – my word, but this game I love needs a proper make over – it was fitting that the defending champs dished up their fightback in a really classy and entertaining affair …
Of major concern me are the Sharks. And I could leave it at just that given their dramatic demise, but specifically at hooker and tighthead. I will say it for the millionth time on this blog – John Smit is not a tighthead. For me the solution is so blatantly obvious that I struggle to comprehend what John Plumtree and Peter de Villiers are on about. John Smit should start at hooker as he really is a scrumming machine in the middle of the scrum. If and when the game opens up, bring Bismarck du Plessis on as the impact player, pulling Smit from the field completely. He should not touch the number three jersey – ever! Jannie du Plessis should start at tighthead every game. Smit could then train as a hooker, and lose the excess weight he has gained in order to try and pretend that he is a prop. At the moment he is neither prop, nor hooker, and it’s unfair on the national captain. He gets his ears stuffed up his arse come scrum time, shuffles morosely to the next breakdown, and argues with the ref …
I know there are those of you that think Bismarck should wear his underpants outside his shorts, but just watch how many tackles that man falls off, how many lineouts he misses, and how many penalties (and yellow) cards he gives away. It’s also key for a side to have a solid scrum, especially in the opening half hour or so, and with Smit at hooker, you are virtually guaranteed that
Much like the SA SuperRugby weekend, and with too much faith being placed in the SA sides, so too went my SuperBru effort. Mid table morass in most of my pools after only getting four predictions correct, with only one of them warranting a margin point:
Bulls 48 – 38 Waratahs (My prediction: Bulls by 5)
Cheetahs 24 – 31 Highlanders (My prediction: Cheetahs by 6)
Western Force 19 – 37 Chiefs (My prediction: Chiefs by 10)
Reds 18 – 27 Blues (My prediction: Reds by
Hurricanes 33 – 18 Lions (My prediction: Canes by 32)
Stormers 17 – 19 Brumbies (My prediction: Stormers by 12)
Crusaders 35 – 6 Sharks (My prediction: Crusaders by 2)
I do not have much faith in the Lions, Cheetahs or Sharks, but I think this will prove to be a comma, rather than a fullstop, on the Stormers campaign …
How awesome was Andrew Hore’s try! The Canes hooker and captain smashed through about 5 tackles in a 30 metre bustling run to the tryline – it was a thing of absolute beauty. Even better, though, was the lack of even a smile afterwards – just the odd hand shake, and a trot back to the halfway line. Asked afterwards why he did not show any emotion, he said he would get too much stick from his mates! Perhaps our fatties should stick to the hard work up front, and move away from the peacock positions out wide?
Here’s to a good week, my friends, and what better way to start it than with a few classic Varsity Cup matches on Monday. Up first on the goggle box the Maties take on Tukkies at Coetzenberg, and that is followed by the UJ vs Ikey clash in Joburg.
Gavin Cowley and I are together again for the Maties game on SuperSport 1, so do not say you have not been warned. Perhaps go for a few double Cane and Crème Sodas rather than the plain old amber liquid?
Cheers,
Tank
1 Mar 2010, 16:26 pm
Aha!!!!
So Tank says it a million times….
i am only at about 32072 times …so a way to go still…..
Smit aint a 3 !!!
1 Mar 2010, 16:26 pm
and i aint Tank!!
1 Mar 2010, 16:51 pm
If i may ask a question…..
I see that people would prefer John to be a 2…
How is his general play?
Is he cleaning the ruck hard…… is he making tackles etc etc.
just wanna know – have not seen the sharks play…
just seen a bit of clip on SS and he looks huge….
1 Mar 2010, 16:52 pm
@justrugby:
I got a better prediction than Tank, only the Cheetahs bungled my perfect day included the 6 Nations results.
There is no way to tell of course what Tank REALLY put on his TAB card, a knowledgeable rugby writer would be careful with his money betting on the Stormers team with Aplon, January and De Jongh in the line up
1 Mar 2010, 16:57 pm
@Staal:
The problem isn’t JS the problem is The Beast
5 turn overs in 60 minutes, committed one tackle, never seen in the ruck at point of impact, always on the fringes in defence.
The Saders were looking for him the whole evening but barely found him twice in their pick and drive.
JS had a reasonable game outside the scrum
1 Mar 2010, 17:01 pm
@Hondo: o – ok. Just wanna say if he wants to play 2 he will have to be in sieriaaaaaas shape – like all International 2′s should be. But if he is in shape – no problem.
1 Mar 2010, 17:03 pm
@Staal: @Hondo: Guys….Smit was nowhere…be fair Hondo….i know your rep towards players who do not fit your stereotypical approval.
Lots of better 2 s around….at least 4 i can think of!
1 Mar 2010, 17:18 pm
@grant10: the thing is that the game is so fast nowadays that the hookers, props and locks must be able to cover the park for 80min.
if he can do it every game – then it’s fine – if he can’t …. he’s going to get exposed….
1 Mar 2010, 17:19 pm
@grant10: Has your opinion changed over the last month or so? Because from what I can remember, you were pro-Smitty at 2, against him at prop.
Has you opinion changed due to form?
1 Mar 2010, 17:20 pm
@Staal: 178
He will be exposed…..sadly.
Unless he regains full fitness….
1 Mar 2010, 17:21 pm
@WOLFMAN21: yes…changed due to form…and i dont think he is fit enough to be at 2….he needs a break and conditioning programme.
1 Mar 2010, 17:29 pm
@grant10: Yeah, we will see. Currently, it appears like it will be a mediocre end to a great career. If he is in the Bok team at prop, we will struggle, if he hasn’t in the team it will be the end of an era, and a brave new world.
Matfield would really have to step up, or maybe a dark horse like JDV (if selected).
1 Mar 2010, 17:29 pm
hasn’t should be isn’t
1 Mar 2010, 17:30 pm
@WOLFMAN21: 182
IMO….Smit should have listened to Jake White…and left on top of the world end 2009….
1 Mar 2010, 17:31 pm
@WOLFMAN21: 182
I would go with Matfield…any other skipper would not get 100% support that Matfield will get…IMO
1 Mar 2010, 17:32 pm
@grant10: Yep, I agree with you. I wonder if sense will prevail this year? It does feel like he is holding on too long.
Players like Matfield are still very fit and competitive, I would back Bakkies to make the next world cup, although not Schalk Burger. I also can’t see Smit there, unless something changes, or unless PDV doesn’t want to make the tough decisions.
1 Mar 2010, 17:37 pm
@WOLFMAN21: 186
I concur….glad we have A Bekker playing well…and i hear great things about Juandre Kruger….so lock stocks seem good. It is vital though that BJ and CJ come back IMO…..
and i know there are mixed feelings about Butch….but i do believe he will….if fully fit…add value to a bok squad as back up to M Steyn.
LW as 8 back up would also add a bit of spice IMO…..
but lots of water can flow under the bridge!
1 Mar 2010, 17:40 pm
@grant10:
My rep is backed by my predictions on this site and the games’ statistics, give credit when credit is due!
When I say the Stormers with January will lose, they lost, when I said the same about the Sharks and the Lions I was right again, a wistful thinking not my style.
1 Mar 2010, 17:43 pm
@Staal:
That’s correct as far as the Super14 is concerned
Test rugby is different: structured and slower, JS at 2 is adequate there IMO
1 Mar 2010, 17:44 pm
@grant10: I don’t rate CJ as a scruming prop, but BJ back in the squad would be sweet. We have a lot of strength at lock, so no real problems there.
Butchy depends on if his body can still take it after all the injuries. He is breaking down regularly at the moment. There is a big difference in quality between the Guiness Premiership and Super 14, and at the age of 32 I think the world cup will be a bridge too far. Older players struggle to make it back in Southern Hemisphere rugby.
Luke Watson will never play for South Africa again unless he is given the team, as John Smit was given the team. It is not only the coach who isn’t likely to select him again, but I doubt he would want to play, and the other players certainly won’t welcome him in the team. With Steggmann, Potgieter, Spies, Smith, Brussouw, Alberts, Deysel and Vermeulen, we have enough strength in the back row, making it unneccesary to select Watson and all the baggage that comes with that.
1 Mar 2010, 17:47 pm
@WOLFMAN21:
It’s a political appointment, Matfield doesn’t fit in.
Super14 isn’t a Test rugby, there are different criteria
1 Mar 2010, 17:54 pm
cheers all…..wolfman..you make some good points…
Hondo…new sa boet …great place…loosen the shackles that bind you…you sound like an intelligent oke!
1 Mar 2010, 17:58 pm
@WOLFMAN21: @grant10:
In the unlikely event that the Boks will be whacked again like they were on the EOYT, perceptions will be changed.
1 Mar 2010, 18:05 pm
@grant10:
I love the new sa, it made me wealthy,,,,
Please take a note this is a pro sport today,
so
rule number one: you can’t make money if you don’t win
rule number two: you can’t win if you select your players on reasons other than ability and form.
1 Mar 2010, 18:33 pm
@Hoops:
as a stern Bulls and Sa Rugby in general supporter i do agree, the time will come that Vic and backies will leave the Bulle, altough Vic will be added to the coaching staff imediately. Spies is still very young. Waitng in the wings are Flippie, Potties, Hougardt and a few more. It wil take the bulls a season or two to be up there again. It will be a bigblow to the bokke also
1 Mar 2010, 18:46 pm
Saffa S14 team after round 3 purely on performance
15. Kircner
14. Hougaart
13. Fourie
12. Olivier
11. Habs
10 Steyn
9 Du preez
8 Frans Viljoen
7 SMith
6 Brussouw
5 Vic
4 Bekker
3 Kruger
2 Botha
1 Steenkamp
1 Mar 2010, 19:10 pm
@vasteses:
Surely you cannot choose Habana…
He gave away 4 penalties that I can remember just now…
He was more responsible for the Stormers loss than J.Peterson with the missed convertion.
1 Mar 2010, 19:38 pm
@grant10:
If you’re talking current form, G10 you are correct, but having said that, in all fairness, Smit is probably carrying about 7-10 kg’s extra if my eyes are not deceiving me, having bulked up to play 3.
If he is at all interested in working to discard that having just gone and bulked up, probably at the coaching staff’s behest, and is prepared to overlook being stuffed around major league by everybody, I believe that a fit John Smit still has some value to add come WC 2010 as a starting hooker to soften up some packs, with a relief hooker coming on with 40 to go when we want to speed things up.
Whether for me that would be Bissie right now is debatable, because it looks to me as if the man has become bigger than the game in his own mind, what with his loose cannon aggression, ill discipline and ***** attitude that certainly seems to be part of the problem at the Sharks currently. I reckon he has gone in my eyes the past two years from a +6 point value player to a -6 point player, and no serious WC contender can afford to play a guy like him who represents a 12 point swing.
I say this because he seems to be focusing on on playing the man rather than the ball, which is a pity because we all know what a difference a properly focused Bissie can make.
And all the more the pity because for me, in spite of the Tiaan Liebenbergs, Gary Botha’s, Adriaan Strauss’, Chilliboy Ralepele’s and Bandise Maku’s of this world, he is streets ahead of them when he is on top of his game.
So I reckon we need to start praying that Smit is prepared to re-reinvent himself.
1 Mar 2010, 20:32 pm
@WOLFMAN21: CJ is not s crumming prop, but he is the biggest MOFO wing I ever saw…
1 Mar 2010, 20:58 pm
@katman: Re: Post 7 – I know the acronym “LOL” is vastly overused, but your post did actually make me laugh out loud. Classic!
1 Mar 2010, 21:08 pm
@Tacitus: Post 101 – Oh jees! Not another one! Next thing I will be ROFL-ing. Maybe it’s the Alcohol, but this blog is very funny tonight.
1 Mar 2010, 21:12 pm
@Croc: I can’t take credit for that. Old Tackles leaves it out there like low-hanging fruit. I just happened upon it.
1 Mar 2010, 21:21 pm
@katman: He did set himself up, but it still takes a certain level of sharpness to capitalise on the opportunity. He was probably so chuffed about getting the first post in and making a sarky comment, and then you went and fuxed it up for him
1 Mar 2010, 21:29 pm
Re Tacitus’ post about Bobby Skinstad and Matthew Pearces’ commentary – In Pearces’ favour, when Morne Steyn kicked his lucky packet, snot-nose, prima donna, f’ckadilly (insert favourite Skopskietism here) to sink Western Province in the CC semi-final, he showed appropriate levels of excitement and kept his disappointment to himself.
1 Mar 2010, 23:11 pm
@Tacitus: 111 yeah bladen is the most impartial since Bill McLaren, wish he could commentate on a few 6N games
@grant10: 172 sup tank
2 Mar 2010, 10:27 am
Getting Heynecke Meyer back to loftus was a masterstroke by the bulls management as it is basically his team before he went to leicester and now that he is back you can see the confidence in the bulls,he is to the bulls what Kitch Christie was to the springboks.Franz Ludeke has done an excellent job for the bulls in his absence(i was one of the anti FL brigade and i humbly eat humble pie on his appointment
as coach)but having HM back at loftus is the icing on the cake for the bulls.Another peice of good work was getting Gary Botha back as our first choice hooker has already made a big difference to the scrum werner kruger is alredy beniffiting from gary`s return and when bakkies returns and spies is fit our scrum as a unit is good enough to play for the boks as a unit.I mean no disrespect to derek, bandise, or chilliboy but gary is our best hooker.F VD MERWE has came on a lot since he joined the bulls and will continue to improve and with Juandre Kruger also coming back the bulls management are providing cover for VIC@BAKKIES when they retire.With youngsters dippenaar hougard and vd heever breaking through the future looks good for the bulls.There has been posts saying the bulls will win every super14 game this year i sincerely hope they do but i do no think that is possible with the logistics of the competition not even the great crusaders teams of the past managed that,but here`s to the bulls and i hope they win the super14 for a third time GO BULLS.